Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

anglocelt39

Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 27, 2007, 12:23:43 PM
I'd like nothing better, have family and friends in Claremorris and all, but won't make Castlebar I'm afraid. I've gotten to more Ulster SFC games this year than ever before and then the weekend of a Cavan game, I'm tied up. Typical!

I'll just have to rely on the sagely publishings of Cavan4ever, Ballyhaiseman, thatstheball etc. as well as yon reprobate anglocelt39 who I expect will wake up and post his opinion on the game fairly soon. ;)

Out of circulation for a while Maniac, just back in and finding it hard in the land of exile to get excited about this one. This whole six week break for defeated teams before the qualifiers makes it all difficult to predict what the state of minds of the teams will be. Hope we can put up a show and who knows, if that is the case the new management team will be claiming progress for the season. We've gone back a fair bit on where we were when the late Eamon Coleman was calling the shots with Marty providing backup doing what he does best. Discussions post the match will be interesting.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

cavanmaniac

Yeah I suppose promotion, bit of spirit shown against Down (but with the negatives of poor fitness in some quarters and bad decisions on sideline) isn't that great a return on the year if we lose to Mayo, but if we see the emergence of a few new contenders for the team to replace the outgoing Larry and Jason et al., then it might not have been too bad. The manner of the display will indicate alot as regards the new management's effectiveness and how worhty they are of serving their full term with genuine hope of progression next season and beyond.

I expect they'll give it a rattle and frighten Mayo but in the heel of the hunt, Cavan teams are too often content with the moral victory.

Johnny Crowe, Ronan Flanagan, hopefully Dermot Sheridan and Martin Reilly would all be new players unearthed from the end of the Marty era, while Hannon, Lyng, Fannin etc. are all young yet, so that's not too bad I guess. But it's all ifs buts and maybes isn't it?

trim blue

No Lyng, what do you make of that chaps ???
ah sure tog out anyway

cavanmaniac

I think he was injured in the recent challenge against Fermanagh and hasn't been able to tain, hamstring I think.

trim blue

Cheers maniac, only now saw earlier posts where it was mentioned...
ah sure tog out anyway

Not sure yet if im going to Castlebar,can be assured of a full report Sunday if im there.

so Gallagher for Jason.

At least someone who can kick the ball off the ground,
Sean Brady is a very good player,but a free kick specialist he is not,another point of sh**y preparation for the Down game.
He has to contribute from play though,something he hasnt done in the county shirt much this year.

Will the game be on any internet radio station where I can listen to commentary?

Quote from: Denn Forever on July 07, 2007, 11:34:54 AM
Will the game be on any internet radio station where I can listen to commentary?

You can listen to the match on www.northernsound.ie - God help you!

anglocelt39

Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 07, 2007, 12:34:24 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 07, 2007, 11:34:54 AM

You can listen to the match on www.northernsound.ie - God help you!

And you can be assured of some mind expanding revelations of very limited relevance to the game in progress, such as the hairstyle adopted by the bold Beethoven the last time I tuned into a game there. Mere detail like the score at any given time, the number of minutes played, scorers etc. tend to be a bit more elusive.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

well that was erhm interesting yesterday in Castlebar.

1- 19 conceded is just great ::)
10 scores in 70 minutes of championship football is poor.

good thing about this year for me is the emergence of

Martin Reily
Dermot Sheridan(outstanding when he came on)
Jonathon Crowe
Ronan Flanagan(not good yesterday but will be a top class performer in future)

we still need to find

a full back
a centre half back

2 midfielders(Walsh was atrocious)

and play McCabe on the 40,i know he good yesterday,but i wonder how many more years he will have the legs for midfield.

and will someone please teach our inside forwards how to make decent runs please!!!
Jason and Larry should be impact subs in future no more.
Mark McKeever has been very poor in the championship this year.

Look for Paul Grimley to get the Armagh job and Julie Davis to join him as Fitness Trainer,
wouldnt be suprised if we are looking for a manager if that occurs,although id like to see them give it one more year.

The Bottom Brick

Was very impressed with Martin Reilly

Walsh was class by his standards in my opinion (still only middling by inter county standard though). He actually caught a ball cleanly Saturday, I swear I haven't seen him do that in about 2 years

Agree about Flanagan, poor on Saturday but an amazing talent and applies himself too

McKeever has had a desperate year

Sheridan did well

McCabe was our best player on Saturday, as he is in 75% of our games.

Forde was too preoccupied with pestering the ref and ensuring that any 50/50 decsions would go Mayo's way

This management team don't fancy Pierson, his attitude stinks by all accounts, and he won't be there next year, mark my words...

Larry will hang up the boots too probably

The Bottom Line The Bottom Brick - jaysus lads you were scraping the barrell there!

33, 35, 47, 48, 52, 07!

cavanmaniac

Quote from: The Bottom Brick on July 09, 2007, 02:34:53 PM
This management team don't fancy Pierson, his attitude stinks by all accounts, and he won't be there next year, mark my words...

Heard this from more than one source. Practically has to be dragged to training and just can't be arsed putting it in. So typical of talented Cavan footballers in recent years, lazy and no dedication. Himself and McKeever have had two absolute stinkers of seasons.

Cromagh

You lads cudnt wait to get rid of McIlkennon & Cassidy last year.......u have done as bad this year......as both of them said...if the players dont want it, it wudnt matter if O'dwyer was in charge!!!!

The Bottom Brick

Yippie ky ay motherfucker

Cromagh you think the nail on the head there!
33, 35, 47, 48, 52, 07!

Hollow Man

anyone got the link to the preview from the echo last week? six steps to beating mayo or something...

cant find the link on their site