Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

Richiej

Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2012, 08:30:09 PM
Anyone at the game. I am interested to read how it all panned out and am trying to avoid reading the usual "sack the manger", "players are useless" and "bring back Seanie" shite thats been written on hoganstand as I type. We need a point against Antrim to stay up so its in our own hands. For the good of football in the county it is my belief we should stick with these players and try and develop them. We will no doubt have to take some pain for a year or two in order to do that. In my opinion Hyland is the man for the seniors but not yet, maybe next year but I think even the year after next. He is a Cavan man and has a proven track record at underage. Thats the type of background Micky Harte had when he came to the Tyrone management job. Hyland should have the respect of 2/3 very decent u21 teams the year after next. Question is do we stick with Andrews for the end of this season  and the whole of next season. It is very unlikely he will stay at this rate but I think bringing Hyland in too early might not be a good idea.

hyland has been there for 4 years so surely he has had an imput into tactics,team selection, substitutions.If he didnt agree with what Andrews was doing why did he not resign?

yes your right these players need to be allowed and helped develope............but by Andrews??..You really are having a laugh.. he is completely clueless... and he has proved that

cogito

Quote from: Richiej on March 25, 2012, 08:51:35 PM
Anyone at the game. I am interested to read how it all panned out and am trying to avoid reading the usual "sack the manger", "players are useless" and "bring back Seanie" shite thats been written on hoganstand as I type. We need a point against Antrim to stay up so its in our own hands. For the good of football in the county it is my belief we should stick with these players and try and develop them. We will no doubt have to take some pain for a year or two in order to do that. In my opinion Hyland is the man for the seniors but not yet, maybe next year but I think even the year after next. He is a Cavan man and has a proven track record at underage. Thats the type of background Micky Harte had when he came to the Tyrone management job. Hyland should have the respect of 2/3 very decent u21 teams the year after next. Question is do we stick with Andrews for the end of this season  and the whole of next season. It is very unlikely he will stay at this rate but I think bringing Hyland in too early might not be a good idea.

hyland has been there for 4 years so surely he has had an imput into tactics,team selection, substitutions.If he didnt agree with what Andrews was doing why did he not resign?

yes your right these players need to be allowed and helped develope............but by Andrews??..You really are having a laugh.. he is completely clueless... and he has proved that

Didn't Hyland step down from co-manager to a selector? I think that states clearly where his priority lies at the minute. I like how he refers to creating a conveyor belt with the u21 teams in his interviews. It makes you feel like he is working towards something rather than just taking it one game at a time and hoping for the best.

The fact is that as a stand alone manager with a backroom team he chose to put together Hyland has brought us to two Ulster u21 finals in a row and an All Ireland final. Please god they can beat Derry in two weeks and make it three in a row. I think Hylands u21 record reads Played 9, Won 7 Lost 2. I think he deserves more credit than you give him Richie.

Can anyone tell me the full senior management team and the full u21 management team? I presume the overlap ends with Hyland.

Richiej

Quote from: cogito on March 25, 2012, 09:06:43 PM
Quote from: Richiej on March 25, 2012, 08:51:35 PM

Didn't Hyland step down from co-manager to a selector? I think that states clearly where his priority lies at the minute. I like how he refers to creating a conveyor belt with the u21 teams in his interviews. It makes you feel like he is working towards something rather than just taking it one game at a time and hoping for the best.

The fact is that as a stand alone manager with a backroom team he chose to put together Hyland has brought us to two Ulster u21 finals in a row and an All Ireland final. Please god they can beat Derry in two weeks and make it three in a row. I think Hylands u21 record reads Played 9, Won 7 Lost 2. I think he deserves more credit than you give him Richie.

Can anyone tell me the full senior management team and the full u21 management team? I presume the overlap ends with Hyland.

Hyland has to be commended on his u21 achievements this past 3 years. But he has added absolutely nothing to the Senior set up. He has to take a certain about of the blame as he has a voice and if he dont like whats happening speak up.What actually is his imput in training? does he specialise in working with the defenders? or forwards? Or is he that selfish to stand by and let Val make a rod for his own back in the hope he will get the Senior job himself??
Anyway its all make it up as you go along management that is plain to see from team selections and team substitutions
This clown Andrews is on the verge of bringing Cavan football to its knees and there still posters here willing to back him without ONE SHRED OF IMPROVEMENT IN 2 YEARS...WHY???
Because Andrews has convinced the CB that this is a long process
I just wish he was chairman of the Dublin CB....because he is bound to be good at something.... Because he is no team manager

Westside

It genuinely astounds me that people believe there is a quick fix and that if Cavan aren't challenging it's solely and completely the managers fault.

BigMac

Westside, I don't think any genuine supporters or followers of Cavan football think there is a quick fix solution or that it is all the managers fault. Spoofers / gobsh!tes like Richie J talking nonsense might think that (or let on thats what they think - probable WUMs), but anyone with a brain in their head know the problem is about 10 years old, not all Vals /managements fault.

Look Richie, Its time someone pulled you up on this total bullshit you are writing on here. You seem to have a free reign to say what you want on HS. First off, were you at the game today or not? You live in the UK, do you fly home every weekend for the match. If you weren''t at the game then you know nothing about the tactics or lack of them except what someone told you. For all we know that someone could have the same vendetta that you have. The fact is you are primarily against Andrews because he had the balls to tell Seanie Johnston to piss off and take his rotten attitude with him. You've been constantly attacking him after every defeat, as if he should just take this young team from nothing to beating everyone.

Not happy with attacking Andrews you now have a go at Hyland for "added absolutely nothing to the Senior set up". How do you know that Richie, did Seanie tell you? Again, you are against Hyland because he too was part of the set-up that booted out Johnston. This man has had Cavan in the last 2 U21 finals and has a super record as a manager.

We are a team that has done nothing, absolutely nothing, in the championship for years. You would have us believe that the same players that were involved in winning nothing are now some sort of inspired leaders with sage like knowledge of football who will guide the young players. Total rubbish and everyone knows it. If there are better defenders in Cavan, that are willing to train, for Cavan, perhaps you could tell me who they are?? Perhaps you could name a star studded 15 that will win division 3 next year? 

Finally, you want Joe Kiernan to manage us (have you a spare 100k- thats what Galway gave him with tremendous results). Martin McHugh - of course, he hasn't managed a team in 12 years but he knows it all and no doubt he'd love to manage a team that would play against his own son in the 1st round of the championship.

It is a long process Richie, its the politics of quick fixes that got us where we are today. Putting up with bad attitudes, bad trainers and lads that don't give enough to the cause. We played a Roscommon team today that did exactly what we are doing a couple of years ago, I remember them getting tanked by Mayo in the championship. They stuck at it and now they are a decent team with a connacht title to their name.

I'm no fan of Andrews but I give him this, the young lads are busting a gut on the field and are doing there best which is more then Seanie Johnston ever did in a blue jersey.

Quote from: BigMac on March 25, 2012, 09:51:39 PM
Westside, I don't think any genuine supporters or followers of Cavan football think there is a quick fix solution or that it is all the managers fault. Spoofers / gobsh!tes like Richie J talking nonsense might think that (or let on thats what they think - probable WUMs), but anyone with a brain in their head know the problem is about 10 years old, not all Vals /managements fault.

Well said Bigmac.

Richiej

Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2012, 09:58:44 PM
Look Richie, Its time someone pulled you up on this total bullshit you are writing on here. You seem to have a free reign to say what you want on HS. First off, were you at the game today or not? You live in the UK, do you fly home every weekend for the match. If you weren''t at the game then you know nothing about the tactics or lack of them except what someone told you. For all we know that someone could have the same vendetta that you have. The fact is you are primarily against Andrews because he had the balls to tell Seanie Johnston to piss off and take his rotten attitude with him. You've been constantly attacking him after every defeat, as if he should just take this young team from nothing to beating everyone.

Not happy with attacking Andrews you now have a go at Hyland for "added absolutely nothing to the Senior set up". How do you know that Richie, did Seanie tell you? Again, you are against Hyland because he too was part of the set-up that booted out Johnston. This man has had Cavan in the last 2 U21 finals and has a super record as a manager.

We are a team that has done nothing, absolutely nothing, in the championship for years. You would have us believe that the same players that were involved in winning nothing are now some sort of inspired leaders with sage like knowledge of football who will guide the young players. Total rubbish and everyone knows it. If there are better defenders in Cavan, that are willing to train, for Cavan, perhaps you could tell me who they are?? Perhaps you could name a star studded 15 that will win division 3 next year? 

Finally, you want Joe Kiernan to manage us (have you a spare 100k- thats what Galway gave him with tremendous results). Martin McHugh - of course, he hasn't managed a team in 12 years but he knows it all and no doubt he'd love to manage a team that would play against his own son in the 1st round of the championship.

It is a long process Richie, its the politics of quick fixes that got us where we are today. Putting up with bad attitudes, bad trainers and lads that don't give enough to the cause. We played a Roscommon team today that did exactly what we are doing a couple of years ago, I remember them getting tanked by Mayo in the championship. They stuck at it and now they are a decent team with a connacht title to their name.

I'm no fan of Andrews but I give him this, the young lads are busting a gut on the field and are doing there best which is more then Seanie Johnston ever did in a blue jersey.

Ive seen 2 national league games and a mckenna cup game so am entitled to coment , just like you are. if you dont like dont read. its a discussion board is it not? or do we all just agree with your opinion.. You hate and slag off hoganstand but your always looking there ..
dont read my posts because ive no intention of reading or commenting on yours

Well richie - your refusal, yet again, to address any points in my post speaks volumes.

Richiej

Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2012, 10:25:42 PM
Well richie - your refusal, yet again, to address any points in my post speaks volumes.

Myles we have a crop of young committed raw talent who need direction, developement, need to be used correctly, confidence built up slowly..

We have a manager who demanded time, got it,
Manager who almost played his championship team in the mckenna cup this year
Manager who went for promotion from the word go.
Manager who made excuse after excuse after every single game this year in his post match interviews.
A manager who has shown absolutely no improvement in 15 competitive games since taking over winning 5 of these games despite Donegal being the only team of any kind of decent quality in that 15 games.
Im not questioning the talent or the commitment in the county, im questioning the way Andrews is wasting it and the way we are happy to let him waste it.
Thats my main gripe

You have still ignored the majority of my post.

whats my name

Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2012, 09:58:44 PM
Look Richie, Its time someone pulled you up on this total bullshit you are writing on here. You seem to have a free reign to say what you want on HS. First off, were you at the game today or not? You live in the UK, do you fly home every weekend for the match. If you weren't at the game then you know nothing about the tactics or lack of them except what someone told you. For all we know that someone could have the same vendetta that you have. The fact is you are primarily against Andrews because he had the balls to tell Seanie Johnston to piss off and take his rotten attitude with him. You've been constantly attacking him after every defeat, as if he should just take this young team from nothing to beating everyone.

well said myles im sick of going on hoganstand and gaa board looking at the same drivel being talked by Richie he's like a broken record and a bad one at that. There is no quick fix solution to cavans problems these lads need time to develop and bond as a unit you cant expect them to be world beaters over night they are putting in a huge effort this year and hopefully this effort will pay off in the next few years as i believe we have the makings of a good team if we can keep them at it. I know a good few players on the county panel and i can tell you they are putting in a huge effort this year training 3 times a week with games at the weekend as-well as gym sessions in the morning inbetween these sessions their dedication this year has to be commended as a lot of these lads in the past were only going through the motions doing just enough to get by and no more so hopefully with this change of attitude we will see the benefits but it will take time.

Richiej

Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 25, 2012, 10:45:59 PM
You have still ignored the majority of my post.
.          Yes I have because all you want to do is nit pick about Seanie Johnston.. I hope he never plays for Andrews again.. And if you hang on a few weeks you will see another Gaels lad ready to pull out because he is totaly fed up with what's going on .. If you read back on (seeing you are so fond of it) to when Andrews was appointed you will see where I was totally against the idea. Mr chairman Tom Reilly had a bee in his bonnet about getting Andrews appointed quickly he didn't even interview anyone else.. Now it's all backfiring like it always was going to.. This is the 2nd year in a row we fighting relegation. And yes we need someone like Joe kiernan in for the rest of this year to keep these young lads interested. Because intrest can wane very quickly with a clown like Andrews at the helm.

Richiej

If ye don't like hoganstand why do ye go on it for a nosey??? Or do you not like anyone coming on here having an opinion that might be different to any of yours?? We have for the first time in years have a commited raw bunch of potentially talented footballers.. We all agree on that... But letting Val andrews get his hands on them is not the way forward.. That's my point. Now I'm off.. Ye lads keep your little click of a message board to yourselfs where ye all agree with each other and clap each other on the back when Cavan win 2 games in a row.. Bye bye!!

Westside

Well thank God Richie is gone, let's hope he stays away from message boards everywhere and keeps his deluded nasty opinions to himself.

This notion of quick sack Andrews and get in Kiernan/McGrath/McHugh etc is a load of muck. That is not what Cavan are trying to do, Andrews natural successor is Hyland. Hyland's successor to the U21s is McCabe. We are trying to build a conveyor belt in terms of players and management, not reaching out for 'high profile' big money guys. Andrews was the man to come in initially and consolidate, build a base on which we could build. Get the camp right in terms of personnel and work ethic and perhaps make a charge for Div 2.

What annoys me most about this is that Andrews is a genuinely decent guy, he is not managing Cavan for the money or the status. He deserves better from supporters than the likes of Richie badmouthing him constantly. If he moves on and Cavan make strides he might well be forgotten for making brave decisions for the betterment of Cavan football.