Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2019, 12:19:26 AM

Title: Things people do on TV / in films that never happen in real life
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2019, 12:19:26 AM
Getting into the shower and then turning on the water without testing the temperature with their finger first.

Driving for long periods without looking at the road without crashing.

Hanging up the phone without so much as a goodbye.
Title: Re: Things people do on TV / in films that never happen in real life
Post by: omaghjoe on February 07, 2019, 12:48:34 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2019, 12:19:26 AM
Getting into the shower and then turning on the water without testing the temperature with their finger first.

Driving for long periods without looking at the road without crashing.

Hanging up the phone without so much as a goodbye.

Do it all the time, you need to grow a pair eamonn if your afeared of a wee drop o cawl water
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2019, 12:53:45 AM
Any lock can be picked with a credit card or paperclip. Talking into a mirror to boost your own confidence.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 07, 2019, 08:28:14 AM
Getting a parking space outside the building you are visiting no bother.

Dodging bullets in a shootout, but your one shot is enough to take out the bad guy.
Post by: MoChara on February 07, 2019, 08:42:13 AM
"Wanna go on  date tomorrow"

"Sure "

"Cool, I'll see ya there"

No time, no location, no swapping phone numbers f**k all organised the whole evenings going to be a disaster
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2019, 10:09:29 AM
Bad guys using machine guns or automatic rifles, spraying hundreds of rounds all over the place and only hitting glass dividers, sofas, tables or filing cabinets. Good Guy picks them off one by one with a handgun without changing clips.
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2019, 10:12:55 AM
Knock someone's door. Give them half a second to answer, before knocking again.

Everyone always has a crystal clear mobile reception. There's none of this "houl on, I can't hear you. Let me take this into another room"

Someone having a lazy day at home, yet are dressed up like they're in a fashion show. No track bottoms and an old football shirt there!
Post by: declan85 on February 07, 2019, 10:14:18 AM
Putting the USB stick in correctly at the first attempt. No need to turn it over and try again!
Post by: Orior on February 07, 2019, 10:17:30 AM
Getting the right cord to pull when opening blinds or curtains. It's always the other cord.
Post by: trailer on February 07, 2019, 10:19:17 AM
Anyone can land a plane as long as someone can talk you down.

Nobody ever goes out on the lash and is completely dying the next day.
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2019, 10:21:36 AM
Ordering a beer in pub. Without saying which type.
Post by: Dolph1 on February 07, 2019, 10:30:21 AM
Accepting the results of an election without resorting to unhinged mass hysteria. Circa 2016. In the USA.
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2019, 10:34:55 AM
Spend three weeks as a person with a disability inspiring a group of misfits and being accepted as their friend.

Never seen again.
Post by: Boycey on February 07, 2019, 10:45:22 AM
Crooks always wait til the cops are just about to have their coffee and donuts before speeding past them. 
Post by: north_antrim_hound on February 07, 2019, 10:51:24 AM
American car chase, the bad guys drive cars that explode and burst into a fire ball sometimes before they

1 hit another car
2 drive over any verge
3 roll over
4 shot at with small hand gun

Obviously these cars don't comply with EU manufacturing safety regulation and Brexit could see an influx of these four wheeled ovens if Sammy Wilson is right and we join the WTO
Post by: Puckoon on February 07, 2019, 02:47:32 PM
Everyone's brown paper grocery bag always contains a baguette and a bunch of fresh vegetables

3 days of carnage and near death escapes, wearing the same clothes, no one has brushed their teeth in a week - but the hero and the pretty girl are gonna snog the bake off each other

The magical L shaped bed sheets. Waist high on the leading man, but up to the shoulder on the girl
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2019, 02:57:21 PM
Order a drink, take one sip, then piss off.
Post by: sensethetone on February 07, 2019, 03:16:43 PM
Order a beer and a Royale with cheese in McDonald's.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 07, 2019, 03:27:31 PM
Ridin good lookin wemen.

Not me. You
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2019, 03:31:28 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 07, 2019, 02:47:32 PM
The magical L shaped bed sheets. Waist high on the leading man, but up to the shoulder on the girl

Aye, and woman sits up in bed covering up her top half with the bed sheets. Hasn't the man seen everything already?!
Post by: trailer on February 07, 2019, 03:46:07 PM
Anal including Anal to mouth and her loving it. 

Sorry that's a different type of movie.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on February 07, 2019, 04:24:35 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 07, 2019, 03:46:07 PM
Anal including Anal to mouth and her loving it. 

Sorry that's a different type of movie.

Different yes but the same detachment from reality.
Post by: Jim Bob on February 07, 2019, 04:39:40 PM
Looking round at a phone when it starts to ring

That sound when someone is punched on the chin
Post by: laoislad on February 07, 2019, 05:34:57 PM
Build a time machine out of a DeLorean.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2019, 08:47:13 PM
Driving about with soft tyres so they squeak like blazes when even going around a slight corner.
Post by: ONeill on February 07, 2019, 11:28:19 PM
Turning off the TV news halfway through a juicy bit. 
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2019, 11:53:24 PM
Nobody happens to get a call from some bollix trying to sell them PPI.
Post by: Main Street on February 08, 2019, 11:42:39 AM
Nobody ever gets caught red handed downloading files onto a usb stick. And this despite the painfully slow movement of the progress   bar, the sound of footsteps outside in corridor getting closer, unbearable Hitchcockian tension building up,  the nerves of steel downloader always manages to grab the usb stick and vanish into thin air, just as the person enters the room.

And nobody ever notices the warning on the screen "device not ejected properly"

Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 08, 2019, 06:00:33 PM
Operating a computer where there's an annoying bleep every single time something happens on a computer monitor, and not wanting to demolish the damn thing with a sledgehammer after five minutes.
Post by: BennyCake on February 08, 2019, 06:37:32 PM
People getting caught out in a thunderstorm, and not shitting themselves about getting struck by lightning.

Sitting bolt upright after having a bad dream.

Any email, text or instant message is grammatically perfect.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 08, 2019, 06:53:44 PM
I don't know if this happens in real life!!!!

Someone puts a Plastic bag over your head from behind and you are suffocating. Your hands are free to punch a hole in the bag and breath but you just wail  around struggling to breath and suffocate.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 08, 2019, 07:23:02 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on February 08, 2019, 06:53:44 PM
I don't know if this happens in real life!!!!

Someone puts a Plastic bag over your head from behind and you are suffocating. Your hands are free to punch a hole in the bag and breath but you just wail  around struggling to breath and suffocate.

That's nearly as bad as running down the street on foot and trying to outrun the chasing car rather than ducking in sideways into a building or alleyway.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 08, 2019, 07:24:08 PM
Statement + person's name + end of sentence + repeat statement.

"I think I have, Mike. I think I have."

"You've got no choice, Mary. You've got no choice."

I have yet to meet anyone who talks like this, folks. I've yet to meet anyone who talks like this.
Post by: BennyCake on February 08, 2019, 07:45:19 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 08, 2019, 07:24:08 PM

I have yet to meet anyone who talks like this, folks. I've yet to meet anyone who talks like this.

Neither have I, Eamonn. Never have I.
Post by: Boycey on February 08, 2019, 07:48:46 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 08, 2019, 07:45:19 PM

So close  ;D
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 08, 2019, 10:01:50 PM
Quote from: Boycey on February 08, 2019, 07:48:46 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 08, 2019, 07:45:19 PM

So close  ;D

Is it not the same as the way people from Armagh (maybe other areas too) say 'so I did' out similar at the end of every sentence.

I was at the game yesterday,  so I was
Post by: Targetman on February 08, 2019, 10:40:58 PM
That's Jim Mc Donald, so it is!!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 08, 2019, 11:37:04 PM
To be fair, there are people who talk like Jim McDonald. So there are.
Post by: RedHand88 on February 09, 2019, 12:29:58 AM
Car chases through fruit stalls. Are fruit stalls even a thing anymore?

Smoke a cigarette and actually look cool doing it.

Buy a plane ticket at the airport last minute.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 09, 2019, 05:38:15 PM
Walking across a busy street without looking left nor right
Post by: laoislad on February 09, 2019, 05:39:08 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 09, 2019, 05:38:15 PM
Walking across a busy street without looking left nor right
Happens all the time in Dublin ffs.
Post by: markl121 on February 11, 2019, 09:42:42 PM
Drink driving in films, especially American films where they go to a bar get hammered and drive home.
Post by: ziggysego on February 11, 2019, 09:50:46 PM
Quote from: markl121 on February 11, 2019, 09:42:42 PM
Drink driving in films, especially American films where they go to a bar get hammered and drive home.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 11, 2019, 10:57:15 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 11, 2019, 09:50:46 PM

Actually it doesn't. Drink driving in Dublin is one of the lowest in the country. Monaghan/Cavan area is the worst
Post by: omaghjoe on February 11, 2019, 11:07:29 PM
Happens alot in USA, not the same level of social stigma attached to it as there is in Ireland
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 11, 2019, 11:31:46 PM

Noticed this a lot recently. And more jarringly (or maybe not) in cop shows.
Started watching Line of Duty (late to the uptake on that one) and they're full time having a few jars and hopping into the car afterwards
Post by: Hound on February 12, 2019, 07:48:39 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 11, 2019, 11:07:29 PM
Happens alot in USA, not the same level of social stigma attached to it as there is in Ireland
Friend of mine lives in New Jersey and says it's absolutely rampant. He can't believe how accepted/unquestioned it is. Says you're unlikely to be caught, unless you're in an accident, in which case they'll come down very hard on you.
Post by: markl121 on February 12, 2019, 08:54:09 AM
Quote from: Hound on February 12, 2019, 07:48:39 AM
Friend of mine lives in New Jersey and says it's absolutely rampant. He can't believe how accepted/unquestioned it is. Says you're unlikely to be caught, unless you're in an accident, in which case they'll come down very hard on you.
Another thing I never got was why they do the walk in a straight line test, or say the alphabet backwards etc. Could they not just breathalise you like they do here?
Post by: TheOptimist on February 12, 2019, 10:34:55 AM
Quote from: markl121 on February 12, 2019, 08:54:09 AM
Another thing I never got was why they do the walk in a straight line test, or say the alphabet backwards etc. Could they not just breathalise you like they do here?

I know, I can't do this sober Mark. I can't do it sober so I can't
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 12, 2019, 08:57:51 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on February 12, 2019, 10:34:55 AM
Quote from: markl121 on February 12, 2019, 08:54:09 AM

I know, I can't do this sober Mark. I can't do it sober so I can't

Post by: BennyCake on February 12, 2019, 10:06:56 PM
A dead body found always has photographic ID in their coat pocket.

I mean, who carries their driving license around with them?
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on February 12, 2019, 10:38:59 PM
Family members or a couple have a heavy argument with really low digs, and somehow it makes their relationship stronger.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 12, 2019, 11:08:04 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 12, 2019, 10:06:56 PM

Really?!
Post by: BennyCake on February 12, 2019, 11:17:42 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on February 12, 2019, 11:08:04 PM

Really?!

Aye
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 12, 2019, 11:32:58 PM

Um, me and just about everybody I know.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 12, 2019, 11:35:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 12, 2019, 11:32:58 PM

Um, me and just about everybody I know.

same
Post by: BennyCake on February 12, 2019, 11:51:24 PM
Really? Youse boys are weird  ;D
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 13, 2019, 12:01:45 AM
USA residents versus Irish habits, I reckon.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 13, 2019, 12:37:52 AM
I always did this in Ireland and now do in USA also.

You sort of need to in America tho along with you medical card as if your in an accident the ambulance with dump you off at the side of the road if they think you have no insurance.

Sure does any1 in the free-state even have a licence? I know I wouldn't bother me hole if I could drive around without passing a test.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2019, 07:17:48 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 12, 2019, 11:51:24 PM
Really? Youse boys are weird  ;D

I never did when it was the little booklet, but since my license was renewed it comes on the little credit card sized laminated card, and that's in my wallet all the time. In Arizona the license was like that too, so I carried it there as well.
Post by: Hardy on February 13, 2019, 02:21:25 PM
You are requited by law to carry your licence in Ireland.

Road Traffic Act, 1994
PART IV

Driving Licences

Requirement to carry driving licence while driving vehicle.

25.—The following section is inserted in the Principal Act in substitution for section 40 of that Act:

"40.—(1) (a) A member of the Garda Síochána may demand, of a person driving in a public place a mechanically propelled vehicle or accompanying pursuant to regulations under this Act the holder of a provisional licence while such holder is driving in a public place a mechanically propelled vehicle, the production to him of a driving licence then having effect and licensing the said person to drive the vehicle, and if the person refuses or fails so to produce the licence there and then, he shall be guilty of an offence.
Post by: HiMucker on February 13, 2019, 02:30:20 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 13, 2019, 12:37:52 AM

You sort of need to in America tho along with you medical card as if your in an accident the ambulance with dump you off at the side of the road if they think you have no insurance.

Sure does any1 in the free-state even have a licence? I know I wouldn't bother me hole if I could drive around without passing a test.
Is this not a myth?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2019, 02:54:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 13, 2019, 02:21:25 PM

Road Traffic Act, 1994
PART IV

Driving Licences

25.—The following section is inserted in the Principal Act in substitution for section 40 of that Act:

"40.—(1) (a) A member of the Garda Síochána may demand, of a person driving in a public place a mechanically propelled vehicle or accompanying pursuant to regulations under this Act the holder of a provisional licence while such holder is driving in a public place a mechanically propelled vehicle, the production to him of a driving licence then having effect and licensing the said person to drive the vehicle, and if the person refuses or fails so to produce the licence there and then, he shall be guilty of an offence.

While driving. That means having it in the car would suffice, which is where I had it when it was a booklet. Now it's in my wallet..
Post by: omaghjoe on February 13, 2019, 03:02:26 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on February 13, 2019, 02:30:20 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 13, 2019, 12:37:52 AM

Is this not a myth?

Yeah pretty much, they'll just bankrupt you instead  ;)
Post by: Hardy on February 13, 2019, 03:08:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 13, 2019, 02:54:03 PM

Road Traffic Act, 1994
PART IV

Driving Licences

While driving. That means having it in the car would suffice, which is where I had it when it was a booklet. Now it's in my wallet..

Ah. However (and this may be another myth) is it not a bad idea to be reaching into your glove compartment (are they still called that?) when the US cops stop you?
Post by: BennyCake on February 13, 2019, 03:20:01 PM

Road Traffic Act, 1994
PART IV

Driving Licences

What's the story in the north?
Post by: johnnycool on February 13, 2019, 04:23:14 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 13, 2019, 03:20:01 PM

Road Traffic Act, 1994
PART IV

Driving Licences

What's the story in the north?

Not sure what the exact law is but I got stopped in my younger days by the peelers driving late at night with no license ( I didn't have one at the time) gave my cousins name and DOB who was in the passenger seat blocked and had to show the license at the local cop shop within 24hrs, which he duly did when he sobered the next day.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 13, 2019, 04:56:46 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on February 13, 2019, 12:01:45 AM

In fairness, it's easy to carry here because it's the size of a credit card. How big is a license in the free state?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 13, 2019, 04:58:08 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 13, 2019, 03:08:29 PM

Ah. However (and this may be another myth) is it not a bad idea to be reaching into your glove compartment (are they still called that?) when the US cops stop you?

Only if you're black. (Sorry Dolph, I know how offended you get by facts like this.)
Post by: Denn Forever on February 13, 2019, 05:42:10 PM
Or wake up suddenly  and make a movement.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2019/feb/12/california-police-shooting-willie-mccoy
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2019, 05:44:47 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 13, 2019, 04:56:46 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on February 13, 2019, 12:01:45 AM

In fairness, it's easy to carry here because it's the size of a credit card. How big is a license in the free state?

In the Republic, it's the size of a credit card now too. Hence my earlier post :)
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 13, 2019, 06:57:18 PM

Road Traffic Act, 1994
PART IV

Driving Licences

It is recommended to have both hands on the steering wheel at all times, especially when the cop is approaching from behind.  If he/she asks for your licence, and it is in the vehicle or in your pocket/wallet or wherever, just state where it is.  "It's in my wallet in my left rear pocket officer" and don't move a hand towards it till he/she tells you to do so. 

Before allowing you to reach for it. he/she will probably ask if you have any guns or weapons in the vehicle - and they tend to believe your answer most of the time. 

Of course, when you are pulled over in the US the first thing the officers will do is run your plates for any flags that might be raised.  That can take a few minutes and will determine the attitude (sometimes) of the officer as he/she approaches the vehicle. 

If they draw a weapon as they approach the vehicle, before any conversation at all, you will have a long day.

Post by: Main Street on February 13, 2019, 07:43:01 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on February 13, 2019, 06:57:18 PM

Road Traffic Act, 1994
PART IV

Driving Licences

It is recommended to have both hands on the steering wheel at all times, especially when the cop is approaching from behind.  If he/she asks for your licence, and it is in the vehicle or in your pocket/wallet or wherever, just state where it is.  "It's in my wallet in my left rear pocket officer" and don't move a hand towards it till he/she tells you to do so. 

Before allowing you to reach for it. he/she will probably ask if you have any guns or weapons in the vehicle - and they tend to believe your answer most of the time. 

Of course, when you are pulled over in the US the first thing the officers will do is run your plates for any flags that might be raised.  That can take a few minutes and will determine the attitude (sometimes) of the officer as he/she approaches the vehicle. 

If they draw a weapon as they approach the vehicle, before any conversation at all, you will have a long day.
Basically, in this relatively passive situation, the movies mirror real life.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 13, 2019, 10:20:54 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on February 13, 2019, 06:57:18 PM

Road Traffic Act, 1994
PART IV

Driving Licences

Thats alot of info there Ball Hopper. Anythin you want to tell us?  :P

Only interaction ive had with the police on the road is after pulling out it got flashed by a cop and he told me to turn the lights on through the side window
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 05, 2019, 08:18:38 PM
(https://scontent-sjc3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/53027814_2111864492233617_6647806988417761280_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&_nc_ht=scontent-sjc3-1.xx&oh=1a4a1285f9c35c4358eb2b75dd7a3efb&oe=5D0F2F2F)
Post by: The Subbie on March 06, 2019, 07:34:46 AM
Some boys having a shave , he's only just started , has about 1/3 of it done , gets a phone call and gallops out the door wiping the remaining shaving foam off with a towel

Would never happen in real life.
Post by: johnnycool on March 06, 2019, 10:13:26 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on March 06, 2019, 07:34:46 AM
Some boys having a shave , he's only just started , has about 1/3 of it done , gets a phone call and gallops out the door wiping the remaining shaving foam off with a towel

And is clean shaven underneath. That must be veet rather than shaving foam...........
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2019, 10:35:14 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 06, 2019, 10:13:26 AM

And is clean shaven underneath. That must be veet rather than shaving foam...........

I woke up one night after a feed of drink when I was a student...remembered very little.  There was a lovely ladies cream smell so I thought I must have struck gold and got a bit of action... I got up and looked in the mirror....action alright....Veeted the eyebrows clean off me the bastards did!
Post by: johnnycool on March 06, 2019, 10:38:56 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2019, 10:35:14 AM

I woke up one night after a feed of drink when I was a student...remembered very little.  There was a lovely ladies cream smell so I thought I must have struck gold and got a bit of action... I got up and looked in the mirror....action alright....Veeted the eyebrows clean off me the b**tards did!

Veet smells far from lovely IIRC.

Reminded me of these reviews on Amazon. Still funny after all these years.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R3GDDEL1SC1QQ5 (https://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R3GDDEL1SC1QQ5)

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2019, 11:43:29 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 06, 2019, 10:38:56 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2019, 10:35:14 AM

I woke up one night after a feed of drink when I was a student...remembered very little.  There was a lovely ladies cream smell so I thought I must have struck gold and got a bit of action... I got up and looked in the mirror....action alright....Veeted the eyebrows clean off me the b**tards did!

Veet smells far from lovely IIRC.

Reminded me of these reviews on Amazon. Still funny after all these years.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R3GDDEL1SC1QQ5 (https://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R3GDDEL1SC1QQ5)

It might have been Imac but whatever it was I had no eyebrow!
Post by: BennyCake on March 16, 2019, 01:14:51 PM
Someone always answers the door about a second after it's been knocked.

Then, the knocker will give them about 2 seconds to answer, before knocking again.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 16, 2019, 01:51:01 PM
Nearly all sitcoms have a Staircase in their sitting room.

Don't think I've ever been in a family home where this was the case.

(https://3t27ch3qjjn74dw66o1as187-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/cosbys1.jpg)

(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/Td7YNKhjFJw/hqdefault.jpg)

(http://dtlon6z3v1kfl.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/05101604/family.jpg)