Holidays

Started by Oakleafer93, June 03, 2009, 01:17:25 PM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 16, 2016, 01:21:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 16, 2016, 11:23:50 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 15, 2016, 10:43:21 PM
Just reading through this thread lads and it has struck me that in comparison to other European capitals Dublin has fcuk all to offer only the "crack" and a big brewery. ??

Any idea why?

Maybe, just maybe, it was down to centuries of non-development of stately buildings, grand chateaus, villas or indeed anything in Ireland due to the extraction of wealth by London? It is very notable that there are few impressive buildings here built since we were building castles. Other than the odd cathedral of course, but then the Church got their money from the same impoverished source as the British.
The only decent buildings in the place were built by the Brits. Youse lads would still be burning turf in thatched cottages if it wasn't for them bringing a bit of civilisation.  :D

The great buildings you see in other cities are almost always built by the aristocracy. Our aristocracy was impoverished by the Brits, so you are correct about the thatched cottages. They were replaced by British aristocracy who sent most of the money to London.

Quote from: muppet on June 16, 2016, 11:23:50 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 15, 2016, 10:43:21 PM
Just reading through this thread lads and it has struck me that in comparison to other European capitals Dublin has fcuk all to offer only the "crack" and a big brewery. ??

Any idea why?

Maybe, just maybe, it was down to centuries of non-development of stately buildings, grand chateaus, villas or indeed anything in Ireland due to the extraction of wealth by London? It is very notable that there are few impressive buildings here built since we were building castles. Other than the odd cathedral of course, but then the Church got their money from the same impoverished source as the British.
Very good point Muppet. The Michelin guide says Dublin has SFA worth seeing other than the cathedrals and points punters towards Russborough house.  London, Paris etc are full of colonial era glory . Brussels was built on Congo loot.

There's an interesting book on treasures of Irish christianity. Some fabulous stuff all the way up to the Middle ages but it all dried up after 1600 

Would anyone recommend going to Atlantic City in New Jersey USA?

Is it like a poor man's version of Las Vagas? Would it have that run-down feeling? It was obviously thee place in the 1940's and 1950's but what about now?

I'm worried that it would be like Dun Laoghaire / Bray / Portrush.

Quote from: Orior on June 28, 2016, 10:10:56 AM

Is it like a poor man's version of Las Vagas? Would it have that run-down feeling? It was obviously thee place in the 1940's and 1950's but what about now?

Very much a smaller and scruffy version of Las Vegas. From what I saw it was gamblers bussing in from NY to gamble smaller amounts than LV.

Nice boardwalk, some casinos eh and that's it. Ok for a weekend and that's it. An hour from Philadelphia on the train. Glad I went, but won't go back.

Thanks - you confirmed my suspicions

Aristo 60

Quote from: Canalman on June 28, 2016, 10:33:11 AM

Very much a smaller and scruffy version of Las Vegas. From what I saw it was gamblers bussing in from NY to gamble smaller amounts than LV.

Nice boardwalk, some casinos eh and that's it. Ok for a weekend and that's it. An hour from Philadelphia on the train. Glad I went, but won't go back.

I concur

GJL

Was in it and thought it a sh1t hole. A few casinos etc but if you walk 5 minutes away from them in any direction it is a very rough and run down city. Avoid IMO.

oakleafer

Vilnius - anyone been? recommend it or not?

Guys is a visa required for the following? (Irish passport)

Thailand - 10 days
Hong Kong 4 days

Cheers!

If you like France and a bit off the beaten track this guide is very good
http://www.chateauxhotels.com/

Jeepers Creepers

Quote from: oakleafer on July 05, 2016, 08:22:45 PM

Some work colleagues just returned from there not long ago said they would love to back. A Medieval city with alot of the original architecture still in place.

Quote from: oakleafer on July 05, 2016, 08:22:45 PM
It is good value and the people are friendly. In a very interesting part of Europe if you are into history. Down the road from Prussia and the former Königsberg now Kaliningrad.  Hitler had his wolf's lair in the area.

I was in Vilnius about 10 years ago, even then it was looking well having had a lot of British EU money spent on it. It is grand for a few days, I would have thought. I also went to Trakai castle nearby as a day trip.

Anyone have any experiences of Enniscrone? Is there plenty to do?any attractions nearby?

Quote from: BennyCake on July 16, 2016, 12:35:24 AM
Anyone have any experiences of Enniscrone? Is there plenty to do?any attractions nearby?

Seaweed baths.