The future of laois hurling

Started by Tobias, October 27, 2015, 08:08:58 PM

Laois man

I think they were expecting 7 or 8 thousand but about 12 or 13 were there. Sure what's 10 mins on a great occasion.

LOVEGAA

Bit unfair to the teams who had warm up done and had to go back into dressing rooms.

The queues were building well before 7pm so they could have done something then

But that aside it was a great atmosphere

Helix.

A disappointing result last night on reflection. Offaly far superior all over the field. Won most of the 1:1 battles and we were heavily reliant on frees to stay in the game. Offaly had some excellent athleticism particularly 2 half backs got on a mountain of ball. Ball never seemed to stick any time got into forwards and seemed to try run through tackles and get turned over. Don't know if that's a Laois things as seen the seniors do similar this year. Some positive shoots for the future and hopefully over coming years some of last night's players will see senior action.
Clare and Galway will be good battles and will only bring the minors on.

Super crowd the guts of 12'500. Probably one of biggest attendances for a Leinster match outside of Croker this year. Bloody madness 1 turnstile open for terrace when I went in. If not mistaken Laois offaly football qualifier match few years back delayed for something similar not opening enough turnstiles.You'd think the county board would have learned.

You'd hope in this decade to get to a few more minor finals and eventually breaking a hoodoo and winning one. How the Setanta programme will be some indicator how we go along with clubs getting up to standard (including my own club).

clonadmad

Quote from: Helix. on May 17, 2022, 04:27:33 PM
A disappointing result last night on reflection. Offaly far superior all over the field. Won most of the 1:1 battles and we were heavily reliant on frees to stay in the game. Offaly had some excellent athleticism particularly 2 half backs got on a mountain of ball. Ball never seemed to stick any time got into forwards and seemed to try run through tackles and get turned over. Don't know if that's a Laois things as seen the seniors do similar this year. Some positive shoots for the future and hopefully over coming years some of last night's players will see senior action.

Super crowd the guts of 12'500. Probably one of biggest attendances for a Leinster match outside of Croker this year. Bloody madness 1 turnstile open for terrace when I went in. If not mistaken Laois offaly football qualifier match few years back delayed for something similar not opening enough turnstiles.You'd think the county board would have learned.

You'd hope in this decade to get to a few more minor finals and eventually breaking a hoodoo and winning one. How the Setanta programme will be some indicator how we go along with clubs getting up to standard (including my own club).

The Setanta is for u10's only this year

i hope to God we wont be waiting or dependent on that bunch for our next final appearence in 2030

Theres a lot that could be done right now .

This years u15's need resources put into them as a matter of urgency

the u14's manager was only put in place for this year in the last 10 days and they have had only one session done so far,they are going to be going out against counties shorty who have been training  as development squads one day a week since November

If we want to replicate last night as opposed to patting ourselves on the back for the "occasion",like what some are doing today that I spoke to.

We would box off every Saturday or Sunday for hurling development

And get every hurler in the county from u10 to u15 into a Setanta program

But we won't

Laois man

Robbo

Quote from: clonadmad on May 17, 2022, 05:05:21 PM
Quote from: Helix. on May 17, 2022, 04:27:33 PM

The Setanta is for u10's only this year

i hope to God we wont be waiting or dependent on that bunch for our next final appearence in 2030

Theres a lot that could be done right now .

This years u15's need resources put into them as a matter of urgency

the u14's manager was only put in place for this year in the last 10 days and they have had only one session done so far,they are going to be going out against counties shorty who have been training  as development squads one day a week since November

If we want to replicate last night as opposed to patting ourselves on the back for the "occasion",like what some are doing today that I spoke to.

We would box off every Saturday or Sunday for hurling development

And get every hurler in the county from u10 to u15 into a Setanta program

But we won't

Agree with this. Pump everything into our underage structures. Take loans if needed to fund it. We als find a way to balance the books.

Great to see setanta back and no criticism intended to all those running it but needs to be seen as a minimum requirement. Strike now while the interest is high.
We missed the Joe Mc train, here's another we need to get on.

Laois man

Any dates yet for minor Round Robin games or who we play first?

G@@

Heartbreaking for the lads, to be honest I think the occasion fazed them. Our first touch was jittery at times - we looked nervous, whereas against KK we were much more clinical, so it's safe to say we didn't perform as good as we could have. Our aerial battles let us down too, Offaly had tall lads in key positions and we were unable to compete - especially in the HF and FF lines.  Offaly worked alot of diagonal which tested us to defend - and while we did cope well, off the shoulder running put us under further pressure - so with that a huge credit goes to the HB and FB lines for keeping their goal threats out (I think Offaly managed just 1 goal chance). A bit of panic in the second half with on the ground clearances, twice we ground cleared the ball and Offaly unmarked converted these gifts to points. Our workrate and heart was brilliant though - we fought for everything even down to the last whistle. Including kids there was rumoured to be close on 18K there last night which made the atmosphere electric. Fair play for everyone who organised busses of kids to come in - no easy task!
Hopefully we can grab a win over Clare or Galway which puts us into a semi-Final v Tipp.

Quote from: Laois man on May 17, 2022, 09:18:53 PM
Any dates yet for minor Round Robin games or who we play first?

We play whoever loses Clare V Galway on May 28th; We play who ever wins Clare V Galway on June 6th. Clare play Galway on May 21st. https://www.gaa.ie/hurling/news/electric-ireland-all-ireland-minor-hurling-quarter-finals-draw/
"I can't get over you - 'till you come out from under him" - Pat Shortt - Class!

Gmac

Laois gaels sponsorship money collected is supposed to go to the improvement of underage structures in the county , needs to be a big effort to raise as much as possible.

portlaoisekid

Very disappointing night for the minors Monday night, they just didn't hurl atall and showed way too much respect to Offaly.

The night in itself shows the level of passion there is in the county for hurling, it was brilliant to see. Lets hope we see more and more of it ...

SCFC

Quote from: portlaoisekid on May 18, 2022, 11:52:05 AM
The night in itself shows the level of passion there is in the county for hurling, it was brilliant to see. Lets hope we see more and more of it ...
All we want is a little bit of success in either hurling or football. You could see that Monday night, a few years ago with the Joe McDonagh Cup and further back with the footballers.
People will support Laois GAA but only if they see things being done the right way.
Fierce important that the seniors stay up.

Spiritof86

Best team won Monday night . Plenty to be encouraged about though with that team . Great to see such a large Laois support .
Crowd control outside OMP was a farcical. Lack of stewards very evident and a couple of Gardai roaring and shouting for people to keep in from passing traffic added to a very amateurish set-up around the ground .

G@@

Galway 0-25 v 0-09 Clare.

We've Clare then next week.

A win will see us through to the AI Semis.

If we draw, we need to not loose by more than 15pts to Galway and we will get through on scoring difference.

It's all in our hands now.
"I can't get over you - 'till you come out from under him" - Pat Shortt - Class!

Laois man

Is it not galway first at home next week?

Spiritof86

No . Next Saturday 2pm against todays loser .