GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 12:17:21 PM

Title: Ros V Donegal Hyde Park 21/7/18
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 12:17:21 PM
Someone has to put it up I suppose.
The wooden spoon game.
Be some craic if we win  :D
Title: Re: Ros V Donegal Hyde Park 21/7/18
Post by: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 12:22:05 PM
Will Saturdays performance have an effect on how many supporters we have at the game?
Talking to a good few people yesterday who would be loyal supporters and id say 50 percent are staying at home.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 12:30:22 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 12:22:05 PM
Will Saturdays performance have an effect on how many supporters we have at the game?
Talking to a good few people yesterday who would be loyal supporters and id say 50 percent are staying at home.

Luckily the match is at home so!!

If anyone calls themselves loyal supporters and don't turn up for a home AIQF against a team around our level, fûck 'em. They're not supporters in my eyes.
Post by: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 12:40:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 12:30:22 PM

If anyone calls themselves loyal supporters and don't turn up for a home AIQF against a team around our level, fûck 'em. They're not supporters in my eyes.

It doesn't matter a bean where  the match can you seriously envisage a big crowd of Roscommon fans at this game?

You are deluded if you think we are at the level of Donegal or anything near it.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 12:44:57 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 12:40:54 PM

It doesn't matter a bean where  the match can you seriously envisage a big crowd of Roscommon fans at this game?

You are deluded if you think we are at the level of Donegal or anything near it.

You're deluded if you think we're not.
Post by: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 12:48:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 12:44:57 PM

Brilliant reply you must be a hoot in the playground
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 12:58:38 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 12:48:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 12:44:57 PM

Brilliant reply you must be a hoot in the playground

You must be a hoot in the pensioner ward if your memory only stretches back to the last game a team plays.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2018, 01:06:22 PM
I suppose, Donegal drew with Mayo in the league. Ros drew with Mayo last August. Therefore the two teams are on a very similar level.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 16, 2018, 01:12:25 PM
You'd think Saturday may have chastened the boul Syf's perspective on the bigger picture. It appears not.

I'd be pretty certain Donegal are a level above but i'd most definitely give Ros a big chance in this game. If McStay is well thought off in the dressing room then those lads would want to go out and die with their boots on next week. With the game being at home and Donegal's defensive system not as well oiled as ours I'm going for a 2 point Ros win. The fact that this will significantly aid our qualification for an AI semi has no impact on my thinking here ;)
Post by: JoG2 on July 16, 2018, 01:32:52 PM
Roscommon are far too porous in defense and Donegal should win pulling up. Aside from the forward / midfield units, the likes of McGlynn, Ban Gallagher, McGrath etc will carve the Rossies up all day long from deep. Donegal by 7+
Post by: trailer on July 16, 2018, 01:50:07 PM
Donegal by 15+
Roscommon threw the towel in 10 mins into the 2nd half against Tyrone. They have no hope of beating Dublin and no hope of qualifying for the SF's. They should try and put in a performance for the integrity of the competition but the reality is they're hugely outclassed at this level and that includes management.

Post by: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 01:59:39 PM
While i don't think it will be as bad as a hammering as Saturday i cant see us keeping it below 6 points.
With all the good intentions in the world Saturdays hammering will have knocked the stuffing out of these guys and unless the naivety on the line changes i.e defence set up properly then we will be in for a long day.
Pride and heart will only get you so far this at this stage of championship and Donegals physique and fitness will ensure us chasing a game up until 55 minutes before we fall away.

As far the resident clown from Roscommon he reminds me a bit of Kim Jong in North Korea its only true if i believe it.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 02:17:53 PM
I'd say the crowd will hardly cross 10k.
Depends on how many Donegals come.
Ros Town about 75 miles from Bundoran.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 02:20:01 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 01:59:39 PM
While i don't think it will be as bad as a hammering as Saturday i cant see us keeping it below 6 points.
With all the good intentions in the world Saturdays hammering will have knocked the stuffing out of these guys and unless the naivety on the line changes i.e defence set up properly then we will be in for a long day.
Pride and heart will only get you so far this at this stage of championship and Donegals physique and fitness will ensure us chasing a game up until 55 minutes before we fall away.

As far the resident clown from Roscommon he reminds me a bit of Kim Jong in North Korea its only true if i believe it.

You need to stop being an internet tough guy. The mouth on you.
Post by: Rudi on July 16, 2018, 02:29:11 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2018, 01:06:22 PM
I suppose, Donegal drew with Mayo in the league. Ros drew with Mayo last August. Therefore the two teams are on a very similar level.

No we beat them in a challenge game ;D
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 02:34:12 PM
That's the clincher 😊
AI Semis here we come.
Post by: SkillfulBill on July 16, 2018, 02:38:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 02:20:01 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 01:59:39 PM

You need to stop being an internet tough guy. The mouth on you.

This lad Syferus is some toolbag...Catch a grip of yourself man your county just took the mother of all hammerings from at team in the top 5 teams in Ireland and your still kidding yourself that Roscommon are on a power wih another of the top 5 teams.  The reality is that tbe super 8s was always in danger of throwing up one or two teams who are seriously out or their depth that run the risk of taking 2-3 serious hammerings as the top side hit their peak season in july/August.....Take a chill pill and get some perspective.
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2018, 03:25:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2018, 01:06:22 PM
Donegal got relegated. Ros got promoted. Ships passing in the night.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2018, 03:26:35 PM
This is nicely set up for a Rossie ambush.
Post by: SkillfulBill on July 16, 2018, 03:30:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2018, 03:26:35 PM
This is nicely set up for a Rossie ambush.

No chance Donegal on a par with Tyrone Roscommon don't have the capacity for an ambush either on the field and certainly not on the line Donegal + 5
Post by: J70 on July 16, 2018, 06:28:08 PM
I think it still remains to be seen whereabouts Donegal are at. We were hammered by Tyrone and Galway only a year ago, although we have improved dramatically, at least tactically, this year. Roscommon owe their supporters an extremely serious effort here, so Donegal will have to match that intensity. I'd be very happy with a one point win to (presumably) keep our hopes alive for the Tyrone game (if Tyrone beat the Dubs, we are done).
Post by: Whitnail on July 16, 2018, 07:17:24 PM
Yea..... difficult match. If the Rossies get off to a good start with the crowd behind them it could be  a difficult afternoon. Id like to think we can extend our championship for another week at least though
Post by: macdanger2 on July 16, 2018, 08:12:34 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 16, 2018, 06:28:08 PM
I think it still remains to be seen whereabouts Donegal are at. We were hammered by Tyrone and Galway only a year ago, although we have improved dramatically, at least tactically, this year. Roscommon owe their supporters an extremely serious effort here, so Donegal will have to match that intensity. I'd be very happy with a one point win to (presumably) keep our hopes alive for the Tyrone game (if Tyrone beat the Dubs, we are done).

I'm that (unlikely) situation, a win for ye v Tyrone the following week would leave three teams on 4 points
Post by: inthrough on July 16, 2018, 08:31:59 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 16, 2018, 08:12:34 PM

I'm that (unlikely) situation, a win for ye v Tyrone the following week would leave three teams on 4 points
If we beat Ros by one point & Tyrone beat Dublin, we would need to hammer Tyrone by at least 12 points & I don't see that happening.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 08:33:11 PM
Quote from: inthrough on July 16, 2018, 08:31:59 PM

If we beat Ros by one point & Tyrone beat Dublin, we would need to hammer Tyrone by at least 12 points & I don't see that happening.

Tyrone ain't beating Dublin, though.
Post by: inthrough on July 16, 2018, 08:36:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 08:33:11 PM

Can't see it either, but you never do know.
Post by: Therealdonald on July 16, 2018, 09:07:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 08:33:11 PM

You so sure Syf? It hasn't been a great year for any of your predictions.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 16, 2018, 09:09:26 PM
He will get one right eventually and it will be like the rest never happened ;D
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2018, 09:41:16 PM
Ros are better than the last day. The team didn't play in the second half and they know they are better than that. They owe it to the fans to deliver a performance.
Donegal are a challenge but if everything goes well Ros could do it.
This team has more potential than getting steamrollered by Tyrone would suggest.
Ivan Lendl says there are losses people learn from and useless losses.
John Trudell said it''s not about whether we can or we can't.  It''s about whether we will or we won't. 

And anyone who thinks Tyrone will beat Dublin has notions.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 16, 2018, 10:03:16 PM
2-20,2-16,2-22 and 2-18 is what Donegal scored in their games in Ulster this year. One of the main reasons why Dublin won last Saturday was because they stopped Donegal from scoring goals but  Donegal still managed to score 0-16.  The main question here is how much will Donegal score this weekend against a Roscommon team that conceded 5-43 in their last two games?

Post by: weareros on July 16, 2018, 10:37:03 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 16, 2018, 10:03:16 PM
2-20,2-16,2-22 and 2-18 is what Donegal scored in their games in Ulster this year. One of the main reasons why Dublin won last Saturday was because they stopped Donegal from scoring goals but  Donegal still managed to score 0-16.  The main question here is how much will Donegal score this weekend against a Roscommon team that conceded 5-43 in their last two games?

Would not want to disrespect Donegal after the hammering we got from Tyrone, but they put up big scores in Ulster against teams we would put big scores up against (base this based on our league final against Cavan, and R4 v Armagh). Of course we concede way more to these type of teams than Donegal ever would. Still, I would be surprised if there's more than 4 points in it either way.
Post by: Rossfan on July 17, 2018, 09:26:12 AM
Will our lads go out and burst themselves or will they be so shattered after Saturday that they'll just want to get the finterest out of the way to Hell?
I see our manager talking about strategic change , in other words become a defensive orientated team next year.
Then wonders will the Ros public watch that sort of football! !
Can't see them watching much more of what we saw v Tyrone anyway.
Everyone and his mother knew after last years Quarter Final replay we needed a defensive system and game plan.
11 months later and another hammering and it dawns on our manager.
If we have it in us to tear into Donegal from the start who knows what might happen?
Post by: westbound on July 17, 2018, 09:50:22 AM
I can see us tearing into them for the first 20-30 mins. Then i expect  Donegal to put us away with a goal or two!

Post by: Aaron Boone on July 17, 2018, 09:32:42 PM
The mechanics of Super 8's means a Roscommon win here would put Tyrone in strong position, regardless of their 7pm Dublin game. Final positions could be Dubs 6pts, the rest all on 2.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 17, 2018, 09:53:37 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 17, 2018, 09:32:42 PM
The mechanics of Super 8's means a Roscommon win here would put Tyrone in strong position, regardless of their 7pm Dublin game. Final positions could be Dubs 6pts, the rest all on 2.
Can you provide a decent argument for Roscommon to win this game? It would be major turnaround from such a heavy defeat last weekend and Donegal are similar ranked side to Tyrone.

I think at best Roscommon are looking at a five or six point defeat here and even for that to happen they would need to improve massively in defence. Dublin should do enough to win in Omagh so the Tyrone v Donegal game in round 3 a likely play off for a semi final spot.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 17, 2018, 10:57:03 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 17, 2018, 09:53:37 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 17, 2018, 09:32:42 PM
Can you provide a decent argument for Roscommon to win this game? It would be major turnaround from such a heavy defeat last weekend and Donegal are similar ranked side to Tyrone.

I think at best Roscommon are looking at a five or six point defeat here and even for that to happen they would need to improve massively in defence. Dublin should do enough to win in Omagh so the Tyrone v Donegal game in round 3 a likely play off for a semi final spot.
A lot of assumptions there obvious based solely on last weekends set of results, Ros will run Donegal all the way and I expect them to pull off a result.
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 01:08:03 AM
We win, Dublin bate Tyrone and Donegal bate Tyrone.
All quite possible.
We'll defo lose out on score difference sadly (or thankfully :o)
Post by: Syferus on July 18, 2018, 01:10:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 01:08:03 AM
We win, Dublin bate Tyrone and Donegal bate Tyrone.
All quite possible.
We'll defo lose out on score difference sadly (or thankfully :o)

Yeah. Imagine the extension McStay will get for making the semis! The horror!
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 01:15:51 AM
Post by: Syferus on July 18, 2018, 01:28:37 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 01:15:51 AM

+2 more years.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2018, 01:55:35 AM
will both teams be wearing their away kits?
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 02:27:53 AM
We'll probably be in blue anyway.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2018, 03:03:18 AM
Or Donegal could wear the Roscommon blue jerseys again

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DeB4K04WsAAdDEy.jpg)
Post by: dlgael on July 18, 2018, 08:01:29 AM
Classic photo. What year? Colm Anthony and Christy were only nippers. Re the game I am worried. If Roscommon hadn't shipped such a catastrophic defeat we'd be in a stronger position than now. It's unlikely we'll  win by a similar margin in the Hyde if we do win. We therefore need Dublin to win to make the Ballybofey game a simple winner takes all contest. Home advantage is a big plus for the Rossies on Saturday.
Post by: J70 on July 18, 2018, 09:38:33 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2018, 01:55:35 AM
will both teams be wearing their away kits?

I'd imagine Donegal and O'Neills would like the green with the gold hoop jersey given an airing.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 18, 2018, 09:59:59 AM
Quote from: dlgael on July 18, 2018, 08:01:29 AM
Classic photo. What year? Colm Anthony and Christy were only nippers. Re the game I am worried. If Roscommon hadn't shipped such a catastrophic defeat we'd be in a stronger position than now. It's unlikely we'll  win by a similar margin in the Hyde if we do win. We therefore need Dublin to win to make the Ballybofey game a simple winner takes all contest. Home advantage is a big plus for the Rossies on Saturday.

I don't scoring difference is going to matter at all. In the likely event of a Donegal and Dublin win this weekend then it comes down to a straight knock out in Ballybofey.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2018, 01:59:18 PM

The year is on the bottom of the photo.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2018, 10:33:57 PM
Roscommon team named. Two changes with Brian Stack and Sean McDermott given starts.

Colm Lavin (Eire Og)
David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
Niall McInerney (St Brigids)
Sean McDermott (Western Gaels)
John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)
Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
Conor Devaney (Kilbride)
Tadgh O'Rourke (Tulsk)
Cathal Compton (Strokestown)
Ciarain Murtagh (St Faithleachs)
Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)
Enda Smith (Boyle)
Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleachs)
Brian Stack (St Brigids)
Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 11:30:54 PM
In effect Seànie and Brian Stack replace Niall Daly and Donie Smith.
Post by: Orchard park on July 18, 2018, 11:36:31 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 18, 2018, 09:59:59 AM

I don't scoring difference is going to matter at all. In the likely event of a Donegal and Dublin win this weekend then it comes down to a straight knock out in Ballybofey.

What happens if there  is a draw  in ballybofey  ???
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 11:47:42 PM
Score difference
Post by: ballinaman on July 19, 2018, 08:24:31 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 11:30:54 PM
Niall Daly played for Pearses in Leo Kenny cup final in Bekan last night
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 19, 2018, 12:47:37 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 19, 2018, 08:24:31 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2018, 11:30:54 PM
Niall Daly played for Pearses in Leo Kenny cup final in Bekan last night
He's named on the Roscommon bench for this Saturday i see. A bit odd that we would be allowed to play for his club on a Wednesday night after starting for Roscommon last weekend.
Post by: Rossfan on July 19, 2018, 03:03:26 PM
Hmmmmmm. ......
Maybe management wanted him to get more "game time"??
I see Fitzmaurice is named on the bench too.
Will he go down in history as being the only Inter County player to have never played in anything but AI Qtr Finals? ?
Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2018, 10:43:45 AM
This thread seems to have died!
Good luck to Ros today and hope they can pull a performance from somewhere.
It's hard to see us winning but let's hope we have one kick in us before we guarantee 4th place......
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2018, 05:02:08 PM
Des Cahill in Hyde Park and on the Radio seems to be amazed that there are very few Rossie fans at the game?
Post by: Ringfort on July 21, 2018, 05:03:04 PM
Stream anyone?
Post by: tippabu on July 21, 2018, 05:13:26 PM
Brannigan not giving Donegal a whole lot so far
Post by: tippabu on July 21, 2018, 05:27:33 PM
Beginning to look ominous here, roscommon awful last 10/15 mins.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 21, 2018, 05:29:58 PM
Roscommon are clueless. One man up front and hoofing the ball in.
Post by: JoG2 on July 21, 2018, 05:33:04 PM
Quote from: Ringfort on July 21, 2018, 05:03:04 PM
Stream anyone?

Nothing says modern GAA HQ like someone asking for a stream to Murdoch's Sky for one of our quarter finals. Sorry Ring Fort, no stream, haddy dip for an IPTV subscription
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 21, 2018, 05:35:55 PM
Not sure what Roscommon are trying to do here? Hoofing long ball into a one man full forward line with 2 or 3 Donegal men around him.

Some of their tackling too leaves something to be desired. Donegal forwards powering through weak arm tackles.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 21, 2018, 05:38:56 PM
McStay pushing linesman. Long ban coming??
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 21, 2018, 05:40:09 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 21, 2018, 05:38:56 PM

Academic in all likelihood. What has incensed him so?
Post by: larryin89 on July 21, 2018, 05:41:25 PM
Roscommon are just not able for this tier of football at all and it's nothing much to do with the ability of the players , it's their strength and conditioning , it's attrocious , management are fookin clueless too.
Post by: oliverkelly on July 21, 2018, 05:42:27 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 21, 2018, 05:40:09 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 21, 2018, 05:38:56 PM

Academic in all likelihood. What has incensed him so?

The blatant free in not given i presume ridiculous decision given them the far end the field all game
Post by: Kurtz on July 21, 2018, 05:42:46 PM
Awful stuff from Ros
Junior B
Post by: oliverkelly on July 21, 2018, 06:11:57 PM
Quote from: Kurtz on July 21, 2018, 05:42:46 PM
Awful stuff from Ros
Junior B

Yeah we are shite but branigan is having a laugh out there given Donegal everything
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 21, 2018, 06:18:35 PM
The ref has been lamentable,:in fairness.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 21, 2018, 06:21:29 PM
Score lads?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 21, 2018, 06:23:10 PM
16 points to 11 for the Donegal men, latest.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 21, 2018, 06:29:28 PM
18-12 now
Post by: Hound on July 21, 2018, 06:34:30 PM
Great performance by Murphy and even better by Mc Niacalas. I'd no idea he could be so good in the full forward line.

Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2018, 06:36:11 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 21, 2018, 06:29:28 PM
18-12 now

The last minute has the sound of the Rossies being well beaten

https://youtu.be/u2W1Wi2U9sQ
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 21, 2018, 06:36:34 PM
Last 3 games the Rossies have started well before completely losing their way.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 21, 2018, 06:37:47 PM
20-13 @ full-time.

Ros gave Murphy far too much space to operate, and couldn't capitalise on his enforced absence from midfield.
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2018, 06:45:35 PM
In fairness to Ros there aren't 8 teams good enough for 2 groups of 4 . Cavan or Tipp would have had a similar experience 
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 21, 2018, 06:48:02 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 21, 2018, 06:45:35 PM
In fairness to Ros there aren't 8 teams good enough for 2 groups of 4 . Cavan or Tipp would have had a similar experience

Mayo maybe
Post by: thebar on July 21, 2018, 06:48:51 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 21, 2018, 06:48:02 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 21, 2018, 06:45:35 PM

Mayo maybe
And why are they not there? :D
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 21, 2018, 07:40:43 PM
Murphy gets away with so much stuff
Steps - he overcarries all the time,  twice he dangerously jumped into a Roscommon player, he backed into enda Smith without even going for the throw up yet wasn't penalised.
Oh, and he throws most handpasses.
Referee was a joke. Joke
Post by: StephenC on July 21, 2018, 07:42:28 PM
Good win for us. Michael, Frank, Ryan and Odhran all very impressive. Hopefully the injuries to Eoin Ban, Frank and to Shaun Patton are not serious.
Post by: inthrough on July 21, 2018, 07:42:59 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 21, 2018, 07:40:43 PM
Steps - he overcarries all the time,  twice he dangerously jumped into a Roscommon player, he backed into enda Smith without even going for the throw up yet wasn't penalised.
Referee was a joke. Joke
Rearrange the following words, grapes & sour.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 21, 2018, 08:12:10 PM
Quote from: inthrough on July 21, 2018, 07:42:59 PM
Referee was a joke. Joke
The rules have to be applied equally and fairly to all players and both teams
Post by: inthrough on July 21, 2018, 08:15:50 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 21, 2018, 08:12:10 PM
Quote from: inthrough on July 21, 2018, 07:42:59 PM
Referee was a joke. Joke
Roscommon were beat out the gate & only poor Donegal shooting kept any respectability on the scoreboard. The referee was the least of their problems.
The rules have to be applied equally and fairly to all players and both teams
Post by: JoG2 on July 21, 2018, 08:53:25 PM
Referee was a joke. Joke

Not a patch on Enda 8 steps
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 21, 2018, 09:13:28 PM
Well that puts to bed the nonsense that these two teams were at the same level. Talk about keeping at arms length

Can any of the Rossies explain how after three years an U-20 team would fancy their chances of bullying these lads in the tackle?
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2018, 11:46:25 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 21, 2018, 06:36:34 PM
Last 3 games the Rossies have started well before completely losing their way.
Lack of fitness almost as bad their loose marking defence. I'd say its a long time since Murphy was given the time and room to play ball as he was allowed in Hyde Park today. 

Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2018, 12:29:27 AM
Ban Gallagher looked to have done the shoulder. Any word on him?
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 01:31:08 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 21, 2018, 09:13:28 PM

Can any of the Rossies explain how after three years an U-20 team would fancy their chances of bullying these lads in the tackle?
No!
You'd better just address that to Syfīn's cool clean hero.
He's been in charge since October 2015.
Unfit, unconditioned, unorganised, no defensive structure, irrational team selections, blaming players, throwing balls at linesmen. ......
Time to fall on the sword Kevin.
I know you meant well but......
A few lads round Boyle no doubt have a few wry smiles on their faces tonight.
A few others in southern parts maybe regretting  their actions in August 2016?
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 01:53:22 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 01:31:08 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 21, 2018, 09:13:28 PM

No!
You'd better just address that to Syfīn's cool clean hero.
He's been in charge since October 2015.
Unfit, unconditioned, unorganised, no defensive structure, irrational team selections, blaming players, throwing balls at linesmen. ......
Time to fall on the sword Kevin.
I know you meant well but......
A few lads round Boyle no doubt have a few wry smiles on their faces tonight.
A few others in southern parts maybe regretting  their actions in August 2016?

You are a troll.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 22, 2018, 02:07:28 AM
Let him have his moment. rosstats has spent 3 years as a keyboard warrior sticking the knife into Mcstay any chance he gets. he harks back to the successful era we had before Mcstay. The 7 yrs without a Nestor Etc. remember the days of getting beat by Sligo. We were going places then!!!!

I don't care who manages ros, I don't think anyone would do much better as we don't have the players to compete with the top teams.  Maybe if Harney and Compton can get a year injury free, Sean mul comes back we can compete better.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 22, 2018, 02:22:27 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on July 22, 2018, 02:07:28 AM
Let him have his moment. rosstats has spent 3 years as a keyboard warrior sticking the knife into Mcstay any chance he gets. he harks back to the successful era we had before Mcstay. The 7 yrs without a Nestor Etc. remember the days of getting beat by Sligo. We were going places then!!!!

I don't care who manages ros, I don't think anyone would do much better as we don't have the players to compete with the top teams.  Maybe if Harney and Compton can get a year injury free, Sean mul comes back we can compete better.
What have John Maughan, Tommy Carr, Fergie O'Donnell x2 and John Evans got in common? ;D
And now it looks as if Kevin Mac is a dead man walking..
Janey Mac! The Rossies get through managers like nobody else!
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2018, 02:24:32 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 21, 2018, 06:34:30 PM
Great performance by Murphy and even better by Mc Niacalas. I'd no idea he could be so good in the full forward line.
A lot of players can look good against that poorly organised Roscommon's defence sure Richie Donnelly with 1-4 from play looked like the next big thing against them last week.
Post by: weareros on July 22, 2018, 02:29:12 AM

Let's not forget good Galway and Mayo teams were beaten by Sligo. In fact when a Div 4 Roscommon managed by Fergal O'Donnell beat Sligo in 2010 Connacht final, Sligo had already beaten Mayo and Galway that Summer. Sligo put an end to our great 4-in-a-row team in 1981. Managers like John Evans took awful abuse from former county players like Shane Curran and Tony McManus, when working with far less resources than McStay. Fergal O'Donnell - who recognised we needed to be more defensive - was hung out to dry by our county board. I like McStay. Think his heart is in the right place. But he is a limited manager who has been blessed with embarrassingly easy draws for the last 3 years. He has shown he has learned little in 3 years, too. Hopefully his sideline antics do not prevent a quick return to RTE. Doubtful as Tommy "head but the referee" Carr is there and a few other other nuthjobs. He will not bring this Roscommon team any further. Anyone who thinks otherwise is living in cloud cuckooland. Syferus of course has already proclaimed him the greatest Ros manager in the last thirty or forty years and is still belittling Kevin Walsh. Enough said there.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 02:35:11 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 22, 2018, 02:29:12 AM

Let's not forget good Galway and Mayo teams were beaten by Sligo. In fact when a Div 4 Roscommon managed by Fergal O'Donnell beat Sligo in 2010 Connacht final, Sligo had already beaten Mayo and Galway that Summer. Sligo put an end to our great 4-in-a-row team in 1981. Managers like John Evans took awful abuse from former county players like Shane Curran and Tony McManus, when working with far less resources than McStay. Fergal O'Donnell - who recognised we needed to be more defensive - was hung out to dry by our county board. I like McStay. Think his heart is in the right place. But he is a limited manager who has been blessed with embarrassingly easy draws for the last 3 years. He has shown he has learned little in 3 years, too. Hopefully his sideline antics do not prevent a quick return to RTE. Doubtful as Tommy "head but the referee" Carr is there and a few other other nuthjobs. He will not bring this Roscommon team any further. Anyone who thinks otherwise is living in cloud cuckooland. Syferus of course has already proclaimed him the greatest Ros manager in the last thirty or forty years and is still belittling Kevin Walsh. Enough said there.

We are a limited team that were more limited before he arrived. He's took us to the top eight and the last eight twice - more than any manager since the early 90s has, nice draws and all. Facts are facts and those stick.
Post by: weareros on July 22, 2018, 02:38:28 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 22, 2018, 02:22:27 AM

What have John Maughan, Tommy Carr, Fergie O'Donnell x2 and John Evans got in common? ;D
And now it looks as if Kevin Mac is a dead man walking..
Janey Mac! The Rossies get through managers like nobody else!

In that same time period, Mayo have had:

Mickey Moran (tears)
John O'Mahoney (tears)
James Horan (house of pain)
Pat Holmes/Noel Connelly (tears)
Stephen Rochford (house of pain)

And likely a new manager for 2019...
Post by: weareros on July 22, 2018, 02:50:24 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 02:35:11 AM

We are a limited team that were more limited before he arrived. He's took us to the top eight and the last eight twice - more than any manager since the early 90s has, nice draws and all. Facts are facts and those stick.

Look the draw meant, beat Leitrim and you have two chances at Super 8. We lost to Galway, and had to beat Armagh (a team just promoted from Div 3 and minus players like Jamie Clark).

Last year was a fantastic, but at same time, we only had to beat Leitrim to make a Connacht final. We should not over embellish it. As I have said here many times, the Ros team of 77-80 that won 4 in a row beat Galway and Mayo combined every one of those years, in a time of no second chances.

Kevin has brought this team as far as he can. To succeed in 2019 needs a big reboot. I have seen nothing to suggest he is the manager to come up with a new approach. Not saying we have the players. But he has been all over the place playing forwards in key defensive rolls that they are ill equipped for. The body language shows players totally drained of confidence. That is a sure sign that it is time for a change. Even Kevin himself needs a change. Good for all concerned.

Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 03:04:33 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 22, 2018, 02:50:24 AM

Look the draw meant, beat Leitrim and you have two chances at Super 8. We lost to Galway, and had to beat Armagh (a team just promoted from Div 3 and minus players like Jamie Clark).

Last year was a fantastic, but at same time, we only had to beat Leitrim to make a Connacht final. We should not over embellish it. As I have said here many times, the Ros team of 77-80 that won 4 in a row beat Galway and Mayo combined every one of those years, in a time of no second chances.

Kevin has brought this team as far as he can. To succeed in 2019 needs a big reboot. I have seen nothing to suggest he is the manager to come up with a new approach. Not saying we have the players. But he has been all over the place playing forwards in key defensive rolls that they are ill equipped for. The body language shows players totally drained of confidence. That is a sure sign that it is time for a change. Even Kevin himself needs a change. Good for all concerned.

You're either Rossfan's alt account or on a pisstake if you think the best answer to a few beatings is throwing the manager under the bus.
Post by: weareros on July 22, 2018, 03:19:48 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 03:04:33 AM

You're either Rossfan's alt account or on a pisstake if you think the best answer to a few beatings is throwing the manager under the bus.

You love going for the fundamentalist position. I like McStay and feel sorry for how this has ended. I am also a realist and know when things have reached their "natural end". I could say the same for several other county mangers. Three years is a good innings. We need a serious change of direction. Either you think McStay is the man for that, or some new blood. I think new blood. Have no idea who. But I know the same approach will not work.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 03:31:14 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 22, 2018, 03:19:48 AM

You love going for the fundamentalist position. I like McStay and feel sorry for how this has ended. I am also a realist and know when things have reached their "natural end". I could say the same for several other county mangers. Three years is a good innings. We need a serious change of direction. Either you think McStay is the man for that, or some new blood. I think new blood. Have no idea who. But I know the same approach will not work.

No matter how many times you try to will it into existence by saying it's over, McStay will be there next season. And rightfully so.
Post by: weareros on July 22, 2018, 03:46:26 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 03:31:14 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 22, 2018, 03:19:48 AM

No matter how many times you try to will it into existence by saying it's over, McStay will be there next season. And rightfully so.

Not trying to will it into existence. If McStay wants another year he will get it. He will get no hassle from local media, county board, sponsors, etc. He's a good guy and he has only ever worked in the the best interests of Roscommon and happy to say I was there in Salthill and Portlaoise and they are as good as days as I've ever had supporting Ros. I just think he's had his 3 years and we now need a change of direction. Another year will yield the status quo. It's not personal. You like to portray opinions like mine as an Anti-McStay agenda. Nothing could be further from the truth. While change is a risk, it's a risk we have to take. I still believe this is the most talented generation we have had since the 77-80 team. I would like to see a new approach before we waste this opportunity.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 09:39:08 AM
I am not an "alternative account" of weareros.
Only the hardcore Ros support turned up yesterday. We must have been outnumbered 3 to 1.
If Padraichenry and the Co Board are happy to see ill prepared unfit unconditioned disorganised teams continue to represent Ros .......fair enough.
Attacking posters here won't give the team a defensive structure or game plan that might make us as competitive as we can be v the top teams.
It won't give our team the fitness and conditioning needed to be competitive as we can v those teams.
It won't disguise the fact that after 3 years the management are still acting as if they were in their first FBD competition.

I intend going to Croke Park to give our ill prepared unconditioned players a bit of support in what will likely be a humiliating experience for them.
I hope our younger players don't get put off permanently afterwards.

Post by: skeog on July 22, 2018, 10:20:19 AM
Kevin i believe is a retired Army man didnt see much discipline in his behaviour yesterday.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 22, 2018, 10:34:00 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 09:39:08 AM
Only the hardcore Ros support turned up yesterday. We must have been outnumbered 3 to 1.
If Padraichenry and the Co Board are happy to see ill prepared unfit unconditioned disorganised teams continue to represent Ros .......fair enough.
Attacking posters here won't give the team a defensive structure or game plan that might make us as competitive as we can be v the top teams.
It won't give our team the fitness and conditioning needed to be competitive as we can v those teams.
It won't disguise the fact that after 3 years the management are still acting as if they were in their first FBD competition.

I intend going to Croke Park to give our ill prepared unconditioned players a bit of support in what will likely be a humiliating experience for them.

who are the these players? that are unconditioned? after 3 year we have 3 provisional finals 2 qfs and back in d1. previous 3 years were worst remember Sligo giving us a master class in tactics yet people wanted 1 more year and let's not forget the 25 years before that. no issue if mcstay goes but people need to lol at what we have vs the big teams and readjustvtheir expectations.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 10:56:32 AM
Not a cheerleader for Evans but he got us to Div 1 as well.
He parked the bus as they say v Tyrone 2013 and Mayowestros 2014 and we only lost by a kick of a ball to them, not by 18 and 23 points.
After Sligo/Fermanagh 2015 he was always a goner.
We've  got to 3 CFs in a row by beating NY, Leitrim, Sligo, Leitrim and Leitrim.
No matter who is Manager for 2019 needs a kick out strategy, defensive plan, give some impression of knowing what they are doing in team selections etc.
We need a S&C guru, fitness and defensive coaches and the € to pay for them.
We probably also need to be dumped into the Qualifiers and go on the road to make or break us.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 22, 2018, 12:41:56 PM
Is it time Roscommon went for a Roscommon man to manage them? If so, who would be the ideal ones?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 22, 2018, 01:01:55 PM
Quote from: skeog on July 22, 2018, 10:20:19 AM
Kevin i believe is a retired Army man didnt see much discipline in his behaviour yesterday.

His behaviour was a disgrace. I hope he gets the heaviest possible punishment.
Post by: Jinxy on July 22, 2018, 01:03:40 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 22, 2018, 12:41:56 PM
Is it time Roscommon went for a Roscommon man to manage them? If so, who would be the ideal ones?

A combined Cake/Paddy Joe ticket would have them running through brick walls.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2018, 01:14:26 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on July 22, 2018, 10:34:00 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 09:39:08 AM

who are the these players? that are unconditioned? after 3 year we have 3 provisional finals 2 qfs and back in d1. previous 3 years were worst remember Sligo giving us a master class in tactics yet people wanted 1 more year and let's not forget the 25 years before that. no issue if mcstay goes but people need to lol at what we have vs the big teams and readjustvtheir expectations.
The team fades in every game they play as their conditioning and fitness is poor. Not going to name players but a good number them still look like underage age footballers as they haven't bulked up at all. The big teams don't fade and they don't have many if any light players starting on their teams. 

Defensively Roscommon are Cork bad. Played with 13 men back yesterday but for the majority of time they just stood around marking space as Murphy,MacNiallais kicked scores for fun totally unchallenged. 
Post by: Itchy on July 22, 2018, 01:27:57 PM
Roscommon were shit no doubt but I do think Donegal has an all Ireland in them in the coming years. They would make the final this year. They are a very good team.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 01:52:50 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 22, 2018, 01:27:57 PM
Roscommon were shit no doubt but I do think Donegal has an all Ireland in them in the coming years. They would make the final this year. They are a very good team.

You were watching a different match it everyone else so. A decent team would have beaten us by 15 yesterday.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 22, 2018, 01:56:04 PM
Hay Sheerin

Post by: Itchy on July 22, 2018, 02:00:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 01:52:50 PM

You were watching a different match it everyone else so. A decent team would have beaten us by 15 yesterday.

They didn't need to waste energy doing that.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2018, 02:02:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 22, 2018, 01:03:40 PM

A combined Cake/Paddy Joe ticket would have them running through brick walls.
plus Syf on PR and psy ops
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2018, 02:18:40 PM
Depends on their younger players and how they develop as senior footballers. For this year Donegal are more likely to make their championship exit in their next game than reach the final.
Post by: The Black Mamba on July 22, 2018, 06:51:40 PM

Why do you defend the current set up so fervently then? We had a comfortable path into the super 8s, and are being awfully exposed. The team's preparations for this stage of the competition have been woeful, how can you be 3 years in a job and still use strength and conditioning as an excuse?
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 07:10:22 PM
Syf is so far up KMc's rear end it's unbelievable.
He refuses to see what's before his eyes because it belies his personal belief that Mc is the best manager we ever had.
That's bad enough if he'd just piss off and suffer the disappointment but no!!
He's all over GAAboard and stolen-sheep attacking every post and poster that is in any way critical of the manager.
Post by: The Black Mamba on July 22, 2018, 07:13:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 07:10:22 PM
Syf is so far up KMc's rear end it's unbelievable.
He refuses to see what's before his eyes because it belies his personal belief that Mc is the best manager we ever had.
That's bad enough if he'd just piss off and suffer the disappointment but no!!
He's all over GAAboard and stolen-sheep attacking every post and poster that is in any way critical of the manager.
3 years in and the defence is worse, we're taking maughan era like defeats, and conditioning is way off the standard required for this level. A manager he consistently derides in Walsh has just got his county to an AISF ...
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 07:21:10 PM
Quote from: The Black Mamba on July 22, 2018, 06:51:40 PM

Why do you defend the current set up so fervently then? We had a comfortable path into the super 8s, and are being awfully exposed. The team's preparations for this stage of the competition have been woeful, how can you be 3 years in a job and still use strength and conditioning as an excuse?

I defend them because anyone who thinks we're going to be better off with anyone who is likely to replace them are off their tîts on the last of the Christmas port.

You have to have absolutely no understanding of where Roscommon football has sat for most of the last 30 years to think this is a time to wield knives. Back to square one because you don't have the sense to see the forest for the trees. Let a fûcking management learn from their mistake for once in your bloody lives and we might actually make more progress than we already have.
Post by: The Black Mamba on July 22, 2018, 07:26:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 07:21:10 PM

I defend them because anyone who thinks we're going to be better off with anyone who is likely to replace them are off their tîts on the last of the Christmas port. You have to have absolutely no understanding of where Roscommon football has sat for most of the last 30 years to think this is a time to wield knives. Back to square one because you don't have the sense to see the forest for the trees. Let a fûcking management learn from their mistake for ones in your bloody lives and we might actually make more progress than we already have.
But surely those lessons should have been learned after the Mayo drubbing last year? I'm not saying the knives should be out, but the coaching department needs an overhaul in certain areas, our level of conditioning/lack of it is unacceptable imo.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2018, 07:42:11 PM
The world and its brother knew during our awful NFL campaign in 2017 that we needed a defence plan to stop the concession of big scores.
The Mayowestros replay strengthened that view plus showed up our poor S&C.
So we had an off season to fix both but no!
We waved the Nestor Cup at critics and continued doing the same wrong stuff.
What ages are McStay and McHale? Mid 50s and 40s?
How long are they in the Ros gig? 3 years.
When are they going to start this learning process?
When that is complete when will they implement what the rest of the world knew needed implementing in March and August 2017?
I'm fed up of the spin and lack of remedial action.
Post by: Orchard park on July 22, 2018, 08:51:00 PM

I defend them because anyone who thinks we're going to be better off with anyone who is likely to replace them are off their tîts on the last of the Christmas port.

You have to have absolutely no understanding of where Roscommon football has sat for most of the last 30 years to think this is a time to wield knives. Back to square one because you don't have the sense to see the forest for the trees. Let a fûcking management learn from their mistake for once in your bloody lives and we might actually make more progress than we already have.

Seriously SLOW learners in fairness Syf....
Post by: weareros on July 22, 2018, 09:14:48 PM

That is spin. McStay inherited a team that had just risen to Div 1, on the back of our most successful underage success ever (with the exception of possibly 39, early 40s). Other managers (and yes we had some awful ones) did not inherit the same level of talent.

If after 4 years, we are still getting hammered by teams that physically overpower us, and with no semblance of a defensive structure, it will have been a very costly learning exercise.

Have seen no evidence that he is willing to learn unlike Kevin Walsh who took action to solve Galway's defensive issues and upped their physical intensity. By the way, according to our manager's theory, they should have been gassed by now after their performances in the league. I recall you espousing the same view.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 22, 2018, 09:30:20 PM
mcstay also got them to d1 too. won a nestor. we were losing to teams below us in championship prior to him.

I'm not saying he has done great but just better than previous managers. the talent wasnt there it was potential and  players havent delivered like the rossies thought. our expectations are too high imo. we are also very unlucky with injuries and  players opting out and with our small pool of players it doesnt help.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 22, 2018, 10:53:51 PM
The excuse previous years, especially with Evans when ye lost to Mayo was 'well we're a few years behind Mayo S&C wise'. Ye should have caught up by now, Galway have, they were bullied for a couple of years but not now.
Yesterday you saw Rossies losing the ball in the tackle time and again, it's not good enough. Lads just fucked out of the way by Donegal players. Lennon, Compton, Cregg, Stack all thrown around like rag dolls.
That's all down to management. And it is the basic of the basic!
Post by: Orchard park on July 22, 2018, 10:57:15 PM
Mayo4sam

Hye had a lucky escape.....

Mcstay arguably  is a spoofer once it gets beyond playing Leitrim
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 11:04:02 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 22, 2018, 10:57:15 PM
Mayo4sam

D1 semis, promotion, back-to-back AIQFs and a Nestor Cup - some spoofing lad! I think the spoofer here may be you.
Post by: weareros on July 22, 2018, 11:19:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2018, 11:04:02 PM
Mayo4sam

D1 semis, promotion, back-to-back AIQFs and a Nestor Cup - some spoofing lad! I think the spoofer here may be you.

Had McStay got the draw Galway got the last three years, we'd have made a quick exit every year. As Mayo4Sam correctly pointed out, Galway decided  to develop a team that would no longer be bullied. We are still waiting and that's on our management.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 22, 2018, 11:23:25 PM
Quote from: weareros on July 22, 2018, 11:19:31 PM
Mayo4sam

Had McStay got the draw Galway got the last three years, we'd have made a quick exit every year. As Mayo4Sam correctly pointed out, Galway decided  to develop a team that would no longer be bullied. We are still waiting and that's on our management.

they have better players and that's without some excellent corofin players not on the panel. when we had Sligo 4 years ago we lost. you can only play the team in front of you.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2018, 12:08:45 AM
Mayo4sam

If if if if had. C'mon, you don't have a leg to stand on - just let him get on with his job without trying to invent another circus. You're part of the faction who have never liked McStay and we all know it.
Post by: weareros on July 23, 2018, 01:05:49 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2018, 12:08:45 AM
Mayo4sam

If if if if had. C'mon, you don't have a leg to stand on - just let him get on with his job without trying to invent another circus. You're part of the faction who have never liked McStay and we all know it.

Already said I like him and the positive way he wants to play football. There's a thing called realism and the big teams don't allow you to to play that way. Something needs to change. Is he the man to accomplish that. Afraid, I don't think we have the luxury of wasting a 4th year on what clearly are not strengths of the two Macs.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2018, 01:21:03 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 23, 2018, 01:05:49 AM
Mayo4sam

Already said I like him and the positive way he wants to play football. There's a thing called realism and the big teams don't allow you to to play that way. Something needs to change. Is he the man to accomplish that. Afraid, I don't think we have the luxury of wasting a 4th year on what clearly are not strengths of the two Macs.

If you seriously think he can't get his S&C coach to whip up a more intensive conditioning program and find a tackling coach I don't know what to say. Whoever replaces him in your fantasy world would have to do the exact same things and it would likely take months to appoint them, putting us behind the ball for 2019 immediately. Let the man do the job he was hired to do ffs.
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2018, 10:46:53 AM
Pity he didn't do it since he was appointed almost 3 fkn years ago FFS!!!
€250k later..
Blind hero worship loyalty v hard evidence.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 23, 2018, 11:10:25 AM
D1 semi final  - 3x Connacht finals 1 Nestor and draw in Croke Park in championship Qf. D2 title. Got to S8.

Name another manager at snr since 93 that has done better or even comes close. No hero worship but there has been some progress. Only Monaghan has a population similar to ours are doing better than us.

If the players are good enough which I don't believe they are. Mcstay might or might  not be the right person to take us on but he hasn't deserved the rough ride  he has received from certain rosssies since day 1.

Post by: spuds on July 23, 2018, 11:13:13 AM
Listened to game on the radio, seemed to be a big Donegal following there. Has the Roscommon public stopped going to support their own in the usual large numbers?
Post by: theyellowbus on July 23, 2018, 11:16:50 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2018, 01:21:03 AM
Mayo4sam

If you seriously think he can't get his S&C coach to whip up a more intensive conditioning program and find a tackling coach I don't know what to say. Whoever replaces him in your fantasy world would have to do the exact same things and it would likely take months to appoint them, putting us behind the ball for 2019 immediately. Let the man do the job he was hired to do ffs.

Probably the most stupidest thing you have come out with on here and that's saying something.
What the hell has he been at the last number of years.Since Kerry hammered us in the league semi a defensive set up should have been worked upon if Mcstay actually believed what he was saying about being at the top table.
He threw his original colleague under the bus in year 1 for even contemplating such a set up.
Your term of just whipping up a more intensive programme just proofs what kind of a spoofer/bandwagoner you really are.You just don't whip something like that and expect it to work in the short term.S+C takes time to evolve and progress and players have to work hard at it and it has to be married into a teams game plan.
Its not a short term philosophy.
We tried a defensive approach last Saturday and it just proofs how long teams have to work at a set up like that to reap results.
We had Diarmuid isolated and when he won his ball the only players he could see within 40 yards was three or four donegal defenders.Our runners weren't fit enough to get up and support.
For me he is a busted flush at this stage as the last two games and the next one will have put this group back a good bit in terms of their mentality which was fragile against top sides anyway.
The dogs in the street knew we should have worked on this after the Mayo game last year and its shocking how far back we have gone and as far as i can see he is too blame.
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2018, 11:21:04 AM
As I said earlier we were outnumbered 2 or 3 to 1.
We were down to the 3k or so who never miss a Championship game.
We'll probably be down to the "NFL 500" for the Dublin game.

Any management that after 3 years hasn't seen the need for S&C  and defensive systems (basic requirement at County level) should climb off their high horse and admit they got it wrong and ride off into the sunset before they do any more damage to our current squad of reasonably decent players.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2018, 11:31:08 AM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 23, 2018, 11:16:50 AM
Mayo4sam

Probably the most stupidest thing you have come out with on here and that's saying something.
What the hell has he been at the last number of years.Since Kerry hammered us in the league semi a defensive set up should have been worked upon if Mcstay actually believed what he was saying about being at the top table.
He threw his original colleague under the bus in year 1 for even contemplating such a set up.
Your term of just whipping up a more intensive programme just proofs what kind of a spoofer/bandwagoner you really are.You just don't whip something like that and expect it to work in the short term.S+C takes time to evolve and progress and players have to work hard at it and it has to be married into a teams game plan.
We tried a defensive approach last Saturday and it just proofs how long teams have to work at a set up like that to reap results.
We had Diarmuid isolated and when he won his ball the only players he could see within 40 yards was three or four donegal defenders.Our runners weren't fit enough to get up and support.
For me he is a busted flush at this stage as the last two games and the next one will have put this group back a good bit in terms of their mentality which was fragile against top sides anyway.
The dogs in the street knew we should have worked on this after the Mayo game last year and its shocking how far back we have gone and as far as i can see he is too blame.

This is a very long-winded way of saying "I don't like McStay and I never did". Frankly it's a pathetic attitude and one that's been at the heart of a lot of the pointless nonsense in this county over the years. Always assuming you know best. Results say something very different in this case so take yer medicine and move on.
Post by: theyellowbus on July 23, 2018, 11:54:30 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2018, 11:31:08 AM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 23, 2018, 11:16:50 AM
Mayo4sam

This is a very long-winded way of saying "I don't like McStay and I never did". Frankly it's a pathetic attitude and one that's been at the heart of a lot of the pointless nonsense in this county over the years. Always assuming you know best. Results say something very different in this case so take yer medicine and move on.

I don't care who is manager as long as they are doing the job they are entrusted to do.
RESULTS?? Beating Leitrim and Armagh and losing to galway in a home connacht final and then being made look worse than we actually are because we have  a manager who only likes one way of playing football.
We beat louth in the league,managed to pull the game out of the bag against Tipperary when for the majority of the game we were second fiddle,lost to a Down team which i don't recall ever being as bad in my lifetime and we were worse that day,drawing to meath at home when meath decide to actually start playing in the last 15 minutes.In fairness we have had some sprinkling of good performances but you would swear by you that we were a top five side.
If you and your like want to bury the head in the sand and not look at facts and be realistic then that's your problem but unless this management team changes tact substantially although i think at this stage thats even too late for them or is changed then we are in for a very rude awakening next year.

You haven't once made one comment on how our style of play is making us whipping boys?
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2018, 12:34:28 PM
Clown thinks repeating sh1te over and over proves we're all wrong except him, that Tyrone didn't score 4-24, that McStay is doing a great job and blah bloody blah.
Then when reality is pointed out to him it's "Ye hate McStay".
Post by: Oldira on July 23, 2018, 01:05:26 PM
I ahve to admit I am in tow minds about McStay staying on. Yes we have had easy draws and two of our defeats have been utter catastrophes but we idi acheice our stated objectives for 2018. Kenin Walsh was nearly ousted last year and a lot of Galway fans were calling for his head but he changed tack and brought in somer outside help. We need to do that. If McStay goes who do we replace him with? There is nobody within Roscommon that I can think of and as for an outsider who could we get? Banty? Canavan? McGrath?All yesterdays men. We do nee3d a defensive coach and certainly a lot more work to be done on fitness and S&C. Maybe its worth giving McStay the same chane Walsh got. I dont think another manager is the answer unless its Jim McGuiness or Jim Gavin. 
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2018, 01:27:36 PM
If he has the humility to admit he's got it wrong, get the right people into his backroom team and maybe get surgery to separate himself from McHale. ....
Pity he didn't do that after the Croker mauling last year but I suppose better late than never.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 23, 2018, 01:28:53 PM
Quote from: spuds on July 23, 2018, 11:13:13 AM
Listened to game on the radio, seemed to be a big Donegal following there. Has the Roscommon public stopped going to support their own in the usual large numbers?
Donegal Ulster champions and were competitive v Dublin were always going to out number a team in support that had lost their last game by 18 points.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2018, 01:51:29 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 23, 2018, 01:28:53 PM
Donegal Ulster champions and were competitive v Dublin were always going to out number a team in support that had lost their last game by 18 points.
Roscommon outnumbered Galway at connacht final.
Support has disappeared since
Post by: Jinxy on July 23, 2018, 01:56:12 PM
Losing isn't the problem.
Fans can handle losing.
When it goes beyond that, however, it takes all the good out of the thing.
Post by: theyellowbus on July 23, 2018, 01:58:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 23, 2018, 01:56:12 PM
Fans can handle losing.

Exactly we are well used to losing down through the years but its the almost the feeling of inevitability that surrounds us is the killer for a lot of people.
Post by: spuds on July 23, 2018, 02:21:47 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2018, 01:51:29 PM
Donegal IMO were never going to beat Roscommon by a big score and being outnumbered at home by a support with for example a 3 hour drive from Letterkenny is surprising to me.

Can totally understand why very few will travel to Croke park for Dublin game.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2018, 02:26:20 PM
Quote from: spuds on July 23, 2018, 02:21:47 PM
Donegal IMO were never going to beat Roscommon by a big score and being outnumbered at home by a support with for example a 3 hour drive from Letterkenny is surprising to me.

Our second game in Croke Park
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 23, 2018, 02:29:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 23, 2018, 01:56:12 PM
Fans can handle losing.

Most knowledgeable Roscommon supporters knew with the way they are so poorly organized in defence that they had little or no chance to be competitive in any of their super 8 games.  It shouldn't be too much for supporters to expect Roscommon to be more organized and that way they will then be more competitive in games against the better teams. They are a side that has taken enough hammerings and will get another year experience in Div one to live and learn at this stage if not then McStay is clearly not the right manager to bring this group of Roscommon players forward.
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2018, 02:30:28 PM
The casual fans and bandwagon error will hitch themselves if they think there's a bit of hope.
Unlike some people they knew after Tyrone that we were a busted flush and jumped overboard.
I got me season ticket email today for the Dublin game.
I wonder will even some of us now opt out?
The Club Rossies held off their draw a few weeks ago after the Armagh game no doubt hoping we'd hold our own in the Qtr Finals and sell a load more  :-\
Post by: spuds on July 23, 2018, 02:31:12 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2018, 02:26:20 PM
Quote from: spuds on July 23, 2018, 02:21:47 PM

Our second game in Croke Park
Gavin could give a few of the Dubs a rest for this game e.g. throw Sherlock in at wing forward as looks tired the last while with all these incursions.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 23, 2018, 07:31:19 PM
McStay must have shook hands with Syferus sometime.  Kevin Walsh knew Galway were poor defensively and brought in a defensive Coach from Tyrone. Even Dublin knew they had to look at their defence after Donegal beat them in 2014.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 24, 2018, 09:15:22 AM
I wonder what the scruffy man from Strokestown makes of it all.