All Ireland finals will be played on BRITISH soil. Happy now ?.

Started by orangeman, July 14, 2009, 04:40:58 PM

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0714/1224250639550.html

The picture looks like right vandalism, but pitch due to be replaced next year anyway apparently.

2.75 million Euro from U2. So 2.6125 million after the GPA cut is taken out. Not bad though  :)

mckieran

I would be interested to know if an Irish company could have been sought to tdo this job.

At the time of opening up croke park, one of the key arguments was that one of the gaa's objectives was to aid irish economy. Not sure if this is true as I cant find a mission statement from the GAA. But certainly, going abroad for this seems to contradict this objective.

Then again, if they dont think an irish company is up to scratch, then they are right to go with a company that they feel will do a better job

eireogatron

Quote from: mournerambler on July 14, 2009, 11:39:47 PM
The pitch was supposed to be playable irrespective of how much rain fell on it due to the high tech pumping system installed, this however turned out to be a load of nonsense when the pitch was deemed unplayable for some games last year & the fact that artificial turf had to be laid along the sideline in front of the stand doesn't help their argument for being good at what they do.

to be fair the amount of rain that fell last year was unprecedented and constant throughout the year. Remember the motorway floods?

We were playing up in Cross last week and I have to say that their new pitch - a Prunty pitch -  is probably the most impressive pitch I've ever seen in my life. Like a carpet.

brougherboy

prunty definately makes a great job of any pitch he does and he stands over them!! my own club was done 3-4 years ago still like new!!  prunty started out draining fields in waterlogged fermanagh, he could make a job of any wet field in Ireland! Croker relay must be very specialist job!

Quote from: eireogatron on July 15, 2009, 11:48:12 AM
The pitch was supposed to be playable irrespective of how much rain fell on it due to the high tech pumping system installed, this however turned out to be a load of nonsense when the pitch was deemed unplayable for some games last year & the fact that artificial turf had to be laid along the sideline in front of the stand doesn't help their argument for being good at what they do.

to be fair the amount of rain that fell last year was unprecedented and constant throughout the year. Remember the motorway floods?

We were playing up in Cross last week and I have to say that their new pitch - a Prunty pitch -  is probably the most impressive pitch I've ever seen in my life. Like a carpet.

Urney have a Prunty pitch. There was heavy rain up in North Tyrone about two months ago and Urney was the only game that was able to go ahead.

antoinse

The job Prunty did on the Kiltoom pitch, Roscommon, has been remarkable. Been there a few times during and after heavy rain and the pitch was brilliant

Well lads i have to say it doesn't matter who builds the pitch (Prunty or Richardson's) as they build it to what Engineers design it for, yes the playing surface is what you see and if it's given the proper attention then it will look and be the part. The pitch is designed on it's usage and if it's not given enough time to recover from matches or training then it will deteriorate (some quicker than others depending on it's design and quality). As for the drainage it again is designed by the engineers who will tell Prunty/Richardson's what sewers to put in and where, the problem with sewers is they could be perfect for the pitch and are capable of taking any flash floods. However, they are only as good as the sewers upstream to which they discharge so what I'm saying is if the sewers out on the road are not capable of taking the flash floods and the system backs up then the water from the pitch will not have anywhere to go...know what I'm saying...

anyway getting back to them 2 contractors mentioned, they are both reputable with Prunty slightly ahead on quality and this is only because Prunty only takes on what he can manage whereas Richardson's take everything on and usually have too many contracts on in anyone time and sometimes neglects them a bit as he's too much on although i would think Croke Park will receive his full attention.

the firm in Scunthorpe will have got info from Croke Park on the type of surface needed for both Hurling and football this info is passed to an "Agronomist" who design the actual make up of the surface i.e. 100mm top soil with 50mm of some type of sand which will have 225mm pea gravel (that sort of sh1t) and the sod will be grown in Scunthorpe to the Agronomist's spec and shipped across where Richardson's will then apply their orange fingers hands to it

Naomh Pol CLG

Quote from: Frank Casey on July 14, 2009, 11:35:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2009, 11:07:25 PM
lol i think you guys took me up wrong ::)

as for low IQ yep there not from the united kingdom soooooo ;) next time you get money from the British government to build pitches SAY NO!!

& finally hanging myself :D well I'm a rossies fan if i haven't done it already hardly now ;)

now hush hush & we can all look forward to the great Irish ulster final that is ANTRIM V TYRONE :P

Ross4life - a little baiting is grand for a while but we've had enough cr*p on this island arguing as to who is Irish, British, United Kingdomish or whatever.

As a Kerryman and Irishman I take pride in my national sports. I've never met an Irishman from the alternatively administrated part of the island who didn't either.

I know the lads from up north sometimes slag us as mexicans - so what - we'll call them
yanks.

Well since you lot sold us down the river in 1921, I think you have got off lightly ;)

I see the Irish News have picked up on this thread They must be monitoring this site.

Quote from: orangeman on July 15, 2009, 03:58:36 PM
I see the Irish News have picked up on this thread They must be monitoring this site.

why Orangeman wat the say, haven't read the Irish news yet. Thats for the bog later saan. If i'm not mistaken i believe they have wrote a few things from the board b4

Quote from: Frank Casey on July 14, 2009, 11:35:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2009, 11:07:25 PM
lol i think you guys took me up wrong ::)

as for low IQ yep there not from the united kingdom soooooo ;) next time you get money from the British government to build pitches SAY NO!!

& finally hanging myself :D well I'm a rossies fan if i haven't done it already hardly now ;)

now hush hush & we can all look forward to the great Irish ulster final that is ANTRIM V TYRONE :P

Ross4life - a little baiting is grand for a while but we've had enough cr*p on this island arguing as to who is Irish, British, United Kingdomish or whatever.

As a Kerryman and Irishman I take pride in my national sports. I've never met an Irishman from the alternatively administrated part of the island who didn't either.

I know the lads from up north sometimes slag us as mexicans - so what - we'll call them yanks.

As Daire O'Brian once said "We know ye call us Mexicans, ye Canadian b@5t@'d5"

mournerambler

Quote from: eireogatron on July 15, 2009, 11:48:12 AM

A lot of people were told that it didn't matter how much rain fell that the pitch would still be playable, this was an ambitious statement to say the least, i've nothing against Mr Prunty either in case peolpe think I have.

Quote from: illdecide on July 15, 2009, 04:48:32 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 15, 2009, 03:58:36 PM

why Orangeman wat the say, haven't read the Irish news yet. Thats for the bog later saan. If i'm not mistaken i believe they have wrote a few things from the board b4

Basically the same stuff. The headline is " Turf war as Croke clash will be played will be played out on British soil."

And then they just repeat the exact same story - the Clive Richardson contract, the boys in Scunthorpe, the FF politician who was giving out.

That was all in the Dublin(and Cork boyyyyy) papers yesterday.

Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 09:47:41 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 14, 2009, 09:43:48 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 09:41:23 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 14, 2009, 09:37:31 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 14, 2009, 06:56:17 PM
i don't see the problem? sure nobody complained when United Kingdom Teams Tyrone, Derry, Down & Armagh won All Irelands on irish soil :P

That is so original... not! At least people remember when they won an All Ireland, west brit boy.

Bit like the Kerry lads asking when "the British national anthem" was going to be played before the AI final.

really orangeman? never heard that...

So they say. Don't know whether to believe it or not.

So they say , eh ? who would "they" be ?

...btw, and have you ever used the term "free-stater" in a derogatory fashion ?