Leinster Senior football championship 2024

Started by Blowitupref, April 01, 2024, 09:25:11 PM

Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 07, 2024, 11:21:32 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on April 07, 2024, 10:27:44 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on April 07, 2024, 10:19:51 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on April 07, 2024, 10:09:23 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 07, 2024, 10:04:21 PMI imagine the mental side of that is tougher than the physical.
Wicklow got relegated 2 weeks ago but yeah God help Westmeath and their mental turmoil of winning the league a week ago.

Give teams a few days to get over knocks and fatigue without going straight into a championship game, especially with teams playing week after week on heavy pitches.

Not everyone has a squad like a Derry or Dublin. Leitrim in the same boat today. You just will not get the best version of a team with a weeks break. 
I don't agree with that. I think we've just been used to our season being dragged out all year and now it's not we're struggling to get used to it. Other physically demanding sports from tennis to rugby don't yap about a week turnaround. We've seen AI finals replayed in 6 days.

It's equal for both teams in that regard.  Today was Westmeath's 4th match in 4 weeks while Wicklow had two weeks to prepare and without taking away from their win they certainly had a scheduling advantage.

4 matches in 4 weeks! Mad Ted!

Quote from: JoG2 on April 07, 2024, 11:28:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 07, 2024, 10:04:21 PMI imagine the mental side of that is tougher than the physical.
Wicklow got relegated 2 weeks ago but yeah God help Westmeath and their mental turmoil of winning the league a week ago.

Give teams a few days to get over knocks and fatigue without going straight into a championship game, especially with teams playing week after week on heavy pitches.

Not everyone has a squad like a Derry or Dublin. Leitrim in the same boat today. You just will not get the best version of a team with a weeks break. 
I don't agree with that. I think we've just been used to our season being dragged out all year and now it's not we're struggling to get used to it. Other physically demanding sports from tennis to rugby don't yap about a week turnaround. We've seen AI finals replayed in 6 days.

It's equal for both teams in that regard.  Today was Westmeath's 4th match in 4 weeks while Wicklow had two weeks to prepare and without taking away from their win they certainly had a scheduling advantage.

Club players in Armagh will play 12 in 12 weeks now. Any I've spoke to are loving it.

Fine if it was 4 in 4 weeks for both teams Ted!

Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 07, 2024, 11:43:26 PM

Get to bed Dougal!  ;D

Quote from: JoG2 on April 08, 2024, 12:00:06 AM

Get to bed Dougal!  ;D

Knock yourself out Jack if you wan't to ignore any fixture scheduling advantage.

Dunneroyal

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 07, 2024, 10:23:28 PMMeath would want to find a goalkeeper before they play Dublin.

Westmeath not much better. No point crying about fixtures if you can't defend high balls kicked in.

Be great to see Wicklow beat Kildare, not totally out of the question.
[/quote

The point is Meath have actually got two good goalkeepers in the hogan brothers. But Colm has set his face against that. Billy (the current 16) is still a bit young. But Harry has the experience and know how to be the number 1, not having a go at young Brennan he did well in TC last year. But this is different, imo we are putting the 3rd best keeper in county in as the no1. That's managements fault.  Harry hogan to start v dubs has the long kick outs and is very comfortable under the high ball.
Hon the royal

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 08, 2024, 01:18:46 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 08, 2024, 12:00:06 AM

Get to bed Dougal!  ;D

Knock yourself out Jack if you wan't to ignore any fixture scheduling advantage.
Ach wise up, they'll have also trained about 30 times in that 4 weeks and not a word about it.
Not a blind bit of difference will that extra week have made for Wicklow. In fact, in McConville's interview he said he lost players with injuries in between.

Mc Guinness complaining about the schedule also but Donegal, I think, had a free run at Meath, but Mc Brearty was played and got injured.

These managers want more time but at the same time, they'll be training away 3 or 4 times a week yet they'll complain about injuries and tight schedules.

I, as well as many others, see through that.

Quote from: JoG2 on April 07, 2024, 08:23:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 07, 2024, 07:55:48 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 07, 2024, 07:31:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 07, 2024, 07:15:33 PM
Quote from: Dunneroyal on April 07, 2024, 05:26:05 PMAt this stage I think we should get Donald Duck to manage Meath. Colm so out of his depth it is unreal. No disrespect to Longford but to concede 3.12 is an absolute disgrace Dublin could inflict the biggest ever defeat on Meath. With the return of Jordan Morris and the best player not on Meath team last few years James Conlon we looked better upfront. But we are so so bad defensively it is unreal. I fear what will happen next weekend but worse still I fear what will happen to Meath going forward if we don't change management at end of championship.
Why should Meath be arsed about taking the Leinster football championship seriously? They can't win it and they need to focus on the Round Robin. Why should fans pay to see matches in the Dublin side of the Leinster championship ?  Nobody who voted for the system at Congress did much forward thinking.
Or they could tighten up and start competing with Dublin. Derry can do it. Mayo did it for years.

Easy excuses.
If Derry went into Leinster they'd have MHKE Stockholm syndrome after a decade too. Meath and Kildare are serious football counties with a combined total of 11 times Derry's or Armagh's all Ireland tally. Meath are 5th in the roll of honour. Kildare are 9th. Derry and Armagh are joint 18th. Leinster used to produce a variety of all Ireland winners. The Leinster championshio used to be a great testing ground for emerging teams.
Mayo never beat financially doped Dublin in a final. Neither did Kerry.
If they get you asking the wrong questions they don't have to worry about the answers. 

Holy mo, rolling out the roll of honours list from decades ago, what does that have to do with 2024? They were serious football counties in the AI series, not at the moment, and not in the league either tbf. If they've given up, that's on them and no one else
It's the system. Blaming the victims for what is wrong is geting it arseways.
Gaelic football is about Dublin and Kerry versus the rest.
If you don't like the honours list, how would you project your favourite team  into the future ? Are they going to join Dublin and Kerry in the permanent Government or are they are going to rise and fall like everone else  ?

This was last week

Westmeath manager Dessie Dolan questioned the GAA's fixtures scheduling after his side won the Allianz Football League Division 3 title, just eight days before they have to play a Leinster SFC quarter-final.
"It is hectic," Dolan told RTÉ Sport. "This is our third week in a row and we're playing Wicklow in the championship next week. It's hard to believe the championship is only a week away after a national final.
"The winners play the following weekend as well, so there's the possibility of five weeks in a row. It is extremely busy.
"It's difficult to get the lads regrouped and focused for match after match after match but that's what we have to do.

It'll be very interesting how wicklow go against Kildare. Kildare have really dropped off though you would expect would still be favourites.

Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2024, 11:31:50 AMThis was last week

Westmeath manager Dessie Dolan questioned the GAA's fixtures scheduling after his side won the Allianz Football League Division 3 title, just eight days before they have to play a Leinster SFC quarter-final.
"It is hectic," Dolan told RTÉ Sport. "This is our third week in a row and we're playing Wicklow in the championship next week. It's hard to believe the championship is only a week away after a national final.
"The winners play the following weekend as well, so there's the possibility of five weeks in a row. It is extremely busy.
"It's difficult to get the lads regrouped and focused for match after match after match but that's what we have to do.

Did Dessie not see the fixtures months ago and plan training etc accordingly?

He sounds like he only discovered the fixtures a week or 10 days ago!

Yeah like they only had a few months running the shite out of them and playing challenge games...but God forbid players would be expected to play games!!!

The whole rest issue is never managed properly by the GAA managers. Like I know soccer is pro, but the top teams play twice a week with massive table topping games and then European nights too.

These lads are getting grants and are talked of as eilte athletes.

I'm happier as a Kildare man playing Wicklow. I think we will lift it a bit, but there will be some tankings later in the summer...

I don't blame any manager complaining about the scheduling of games.

If done right there should be a two week gap between each championship game to prepare properly and most certainly shouldn't be a situation whereby one team is playing 4,5 consecutive weeks in a row while facing a team that hasn't played for a few weeks.

And it's not just provincial games the issue. All-Ireland Quarter finals scheduling needed adjusting after year one under this new format but weren't by HQ. We'll be be lucky to get one of those four games to be close competitive contest again.

Quote from: Rossfan on April 08, 2024, 11:53:16 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2024, 11:31:50 AMThis was last week

Did Dessie not see the fixtures months ago and plan training etc accordingly?

He sounds like he only discovered the fixtures a week or 10 days ago!
The players are amateurs. The GAA expects punters to pay to watch dead rubbers in Leinster and teams who are not ready . Climate change is also in the mix now. If cows can't be allowed out of sheds presumably matches will have to be called off as well.

I was talking to a butcher today who said that it is crazy. The hurling final on Saturday would have been called off in the past but there is no margin in the schedule.