GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2017, 10:15:35 PM

Title: Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, April 2nd @2pm
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2017, 10:15:35 PM
A damned frustrating day in Healy Park today, with possession and chances enough to take both points but, for whatever reason, failing to capitalise with all going a begging (but mostly into the keeper's hands or wide). Hope all you Mayo hardies made it home safely ;)

Still, something of a chance to rescue the latter half of the NFL campaign with a performance in Kerry, however unlikely that might appear to be right now; Kerry not going particularly well, and neither are we last two days out, and never an easy place to go with any realistic expectations unless firing fully on all cylinders. We'll just have to give it one hell of a lash. :)

Title: Re: Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, April 2nd @2pm
Post by: Hereiam on March 26, 2017, 11:17:20 PM
Wouldn't really want the team as it is now to play the dubs in a league final. They will need the ulster championship/back door football before that.
Title: Re: Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, April 2nd @2pm
Post by: johnpower on March 26, 2017, 11:18:27 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2017, 10:15:35 PM
A damned frustrating day in Healy Park today, with possession and chances enough to take both points but, for whatever reason, failing to capitalise with all going a begging (but mostly into the keeper's hands or wide). Hope all you Mayo hardies made it home safely ;)

Still, something of a chance to rescue the latter half of the NFL campaign with a performance in Kerry, however unlikely that might appear to be right now; Kerry not going particularly well, and neither are we last two days out, and never an easy place to go with any realistic expectations unless firing fully on all cylinders. We'll just have to give it one hell of a lash. :)

Yes Fear both teams not going well compared to the dubs survival in division 1 would be ok and then time to championship. At this stage a league final versus the dubs is not a very attractive match up for either team
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2017, 11:20:28 PM
True John, I don't think either of the two would be too disappointed with failing to reach the NFL Final. More about putting in a decent end to the NFL campaign I suppose.
Post by: Ball Hopper on March 27, 2017, 12:43:23 AM
Made for a draw.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 27, 2017, 07:33:51 AM
Will be hoping for a Kerry win here, as it will make it more difficult for ourselves to get relegated
Post by: macdanger2 on March 27, 2017, 08:47:52 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on March 27, 2017, 07:33:51 AM
Will be hoping for a Kerry win here, as it will make it more difficult for ourselves to get relegated

Other way around I think deeler, a kerry loss would make it more difficult for us to go down
Post by: Fuzzman on March 27, 2017, 10:31:49 AM
After such a great start to the season it has been a very disappointing 8 days with defeats to Donegal and Mayo and our U21s knocked out.
Brings us back to reality with a bang as most of us were looking forward to a league final against the Dubs who we usually run close.

With Monaghan's last gasp penalty yesterday to salvage another draw it leaves the door slightly ajar for us to sneak in should results run the right way.
Cavan's surprise draw to Kerry yesterday would give us hope though we know nothing rouses the Kerry ones more than a red hand in their faces.

I for one would still rather be getting to a league final for the experience as a lot of these players need as much big game exposure as possible.
Post by: Jinxy on March 27, 2017, 11:14:15 AM
Looking forward to this veritable feast of pulling, dragging and sledging.
Post by: seafoid on March 27, 2017, 11:18:04 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 27, 2017, 10:31:49 AM
After such a great start to the season it has been a very disappointing 8 days with defeats to Donegal and Mayo and our U21s knocked out.
Brings us back to reality with a bang as most of us were looking forward to a league final against the Dubs who we usually run close.

With Monaghan's last gasp penalty yesterday to salvage another draw it leaves the door slightly ajar for us to sneak in should results run the right way.
Cavan's surprise draw to Kerry yesterday would give us hope though we know nothing rouses the Kerry ones more than a red hand in their faces.

I for one would still rather be getting to a league final for the experience as a lot of these players need as much big game exposure as possible.
June 18th v Donegal (say) and Donegal seem to have benefited more from this league
Mickey will be busy
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 27, 2017, 12:25:07 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 27, 2017, 08:47:52 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on March 27, 2017, 07:33:51 AM

Other way around I think deeler, a kerry loss would make it more difficult for us to go down

Sorry, wasn't paying attention  when I posted that. Of course, we want Kerry to lose so they would also be level with us should we lose, taking head to head out of the equation
Post by: omagh_gael on March 30, 2017, 11:14:19 AM
Mattie Donnelly suspended for one game after his idiotic showing at the end of the Mayo game. Ronan McNamee also to miss out after he broke a bone in his hand.

With that in mind I'd go with the following team:

O'Neill
Hampsey
Justin McMahon
McCarran
McCann
McNabb
McGreary
Colm
McNulty (up against a high fielding Kerry midfield)
Meyler
Sludden
Harte
Bradley
Sean
McCurry 

No one really making a strong claim for our last FF spot so I'd go with McCurry again. Would have been interesting to see McAliskey this, really pity he is missing out. Finally, if we see Mark Bradley out round our 13 metre line taking short balls off the keeper then we may as well stay at home!

The worrying thing for us is that, not only aren't we scoring goals, but I can hardly remember any clear cut goal chances. I'm genuinely finding it hard to think of 4-5 chances when we should have scored goals. This in a season when the long ball in to FF line was designed with this in mind!!
Not feeling good about this game at all, I'd call it Kerry 2-09 Tyrone 0-12.

Post by: redhandefender on March 30, 2017, 11:30:10 AM
time for lee brennan
Post by: macdanger2 on March 30, 2017, 11:45:55 AM
Odd that donnelly gets a ban but yer man who hit COC doesn't, I would definitely have it the other way around
Post by: omagh_gael on March 30, 2017, 12:22:46 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on March 30, 2017, 11:30:10 AM
time for lee brennan

I was the same at the start if the year but, tbh, he didn't pull up any trees in both games against Donegal in u21s and I'm sure Mickey would have given him some game time earlier in the league if he was showing up well in training. He's plenty of time to develop yet. Although, it'd be interesting to see him have a go at the free kicks.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 30, 2017, 12:49:49 PM
Hardly that odd,the game was over when Donnelly threw the punch.
Post by: skeog on March 30, 2017, 01:38:43 PM
Matty needs to curb his MMA instincts be big loss with Ronan also missing leaves a big hole down the middle.
Post by: Man Marker on March 30, 2017, 01:50:10 PM
Quote from: skeog on March 30, 2017, 01:38:43 PM
Matty needs to curb his MMA instincts be big loss with Ronan also missing leaves a big hole down the middle.

His form at the minute means he is not a big loss
Post by: Fuzzman on March 30, 2017, 02:04:30 PM
From Declan Bogue in Belfast Telegraph

Retrospective judgement will not be served on Tyrone debutant Harry Loughran, who caught Cillian O'Connor in the face towards the end, as the incident was dealt with.

At least Mattie will be back for the final.  ;D
Post by: redhandefender on March 30, 2017, 03:32:27 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 30, 2017, 12:22:46 PM
time for lee brennan

I was the same at the start if the year but, tbh, he didn't pull up any trees in both games against Donegal in u21s and I'm sure Mickey would have given him some game time earlier in the league if he was showing up well in training. He's plenty of time to develop yet. Although, it'd be interesting to see him have a go at the free kicks.

So what? Give him a shot nothing to lose. We already know whats coming with mc curry, 2 wonder scores several wides and will give the ball away in his own half resulting in a score at least once.

We won't know til he gets a shot, hes nearly 21 not like hes 17
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 30, 2017, 07:01:13 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 30, 2017, 11:14:19 AM
Mattie Donnelly suspended for one game after his idiotic showing at the end of the Mayo game. Ronan McNamee also to miss out after he broke a bone in his hand.

With that in mind I'd go with the following team:

O'Neill
Hampsey
Justin McMahon
McCarran
McCann
McNabb
McGreary
Colm
McNulty (up against a high fielding Kerry midfield)
Meyler
Sludden
Harte
Bradley
Sean
McCurry 

No one really making a strong claim for our last FF spot so I'd go with McCurry again. Would have been interesting to see McAliskey this, really pity he is missing out. Finally, if we see Mark Bradley out round our 13 metre line taking short balls off the keeper then we may as well stay at home!

The worrying thing for us is that, not only aren't we scoring goals, but I can hardly remember any clear cut goal chances. I'm genuinely finding it hard to think of 4-5 chances when we should have scored goals. This in a season when the long ball in to FF line was designed with this in mind!!
Not feeling good about this game at all, I'd call it Kerry 2-09 Tyrone 0-12.

I'd look to mix it up anyway.

1. O'Neill
2. HP McGeary
3. Hampsey
4. Munroe
5. McNabb
6. Burns
7. McCann
8. C Cavanagh
9. McNulty
10. McGeary
11. Sludden
12. Harte
13. Bradley
14. S Cavanagh
15. L Brennan
Post by: southtyronegael on March 30, 2017, 08:09:26 PM
i hope to god lee brennan doesnt get anywhere near playin for tyrone this year. weve had enough good forwards ruined already.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2017, 09:13:35 PM
Right lads, go get them! ;)

Tyrone team v Kerry Allianz Football League 2/4/17

Cluiche: Ciarraí v Tír Eoghain
Ionad: Cill Airne

1 – Mickey O'Neill – Cluain Eo
2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
5 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair
6 – Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mhór
7 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
9 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn
10 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chlochair
11 – Niall Sludden – An Droim Mhór
12 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn
13 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair
14 – Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
15 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc

16 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc
17 – Lee Brennan – Trí Leac
18 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac
19 – Frank Burns – Cabhán a'Chaortainn
20 – Declan McClure – Cluain Eo
21 – Hugh Pat McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn
22 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
23 – Cathal McShane – E. R. Uí Néill
24 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh
25 – David Mulgrew – Ard Bó
26 – Jonathan Monroe – An Charraig Mhór
27 – Ronan McHugh – Achadh Uí Aráin
Post by: Fuzzman on March 30, 2017, 09:19:26 PM
Mickey can still surprise us with his team selections with Conal McCann getting a start and a big test for that full back line.
Are any of ye going down on the Sat night?
Post by: seanmc123 on March 30, 2017, 09:44:21 PM
Best defence in all of the leagues, think our defence is alright, up front trying to put the ball over the bar is where we are struggling I'm afraid
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 30, 2017, 09:56:08 PM
Quote from: seanmc123 on March 30, 2017, 09:44:21 PM
Best defence in all of the leagues, think our defence is alright, up front trying to put the ball over the bar is where we are struggling I'm afraid
That's right, the tackling is now superb back in defence. Unfortunately Tyrone have forgone the same tactical intensity in attack, confidence has sapped out of the forwards who all thrive on early ball.

That week off when Healy Park was flooded would be so useful now, Tyrone's 4th weekend on the trot &  travelling to Killarney.
Post by: Dire Ear on March 31, 2017, 11:03:24 AM
Quote from: southtyronegael on March 30, 2017, 08:09:26 PM
i hope to god lee brennan doesnt get anywhere near playin for tyrone this year. weve had enough good forwards ruined already.
Wonder will young Bradley look as sharp this time next year as well
Post by: LeoMc on March 31, 2017, 03:14:15 PM
time for lee brennan
We could carry him for the frees but Mark Harte was crucified when he was carried for the frees 10 years ago.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 31, 2017, 03:25:07 PM
The game has changed a lot since then LeoMc and it's not as if Lee is not capable of taking a score from play if he gets the chance. The game has changed a lot lately and I think a big part of the reason Dublin, Mayo and Kerry are at a level above us are because they are regularly scoring 5+ points a game from a good free taker.
I'd love to see stats on how many wides we've hit from frees in the last 3 years.
Of course it's a lot of pressure to put on a young lad but as someone said he's not 18/19 he's 21.
Post by: In hiding on March 31, 2017, 03:51:21 PM
Quote from: seanmc123 on March 30, 2017, 09:44:21 PM
What do you mean by the bit i have highlighted ?
Do you mean we have the best 6 defenders as a unit in the league or that we have the best defensive set up in the league ?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 04:12:53 PM
Or best defensive record maybe?

*Edit, it's not though. Tyrone have conceded 69. Dublin 66.
Post by: In hiding on March 31, 2017, 04:42:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 31, 2017, 04:12:53 PM
Or best defensive record maybe?

*Edit, it's not though. Tyrone have conceded 69. Dublin 66.
They way tyrone play it is as unfair to give defenders credit for a good defensive record as it is to criticise forwards for a poor scoring record
Post by: macdanger2 on March 31, 2017, 04:45:54 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 31, 2017, 03:25:07 PM
The game has changed a lot since then LeoMc and it's not as if Lee is not capable of taking a score from play if he gets the chance. The game has changed a lot lately and I think a big part of the reason Dublin, Mayo and Kerry are at a level above us are because they are regularly scoring 5+ points a game from a good free taker.
I'd love to see stats on how many wides we've hit from frees in the last 3 years.
Of course it's a lot of pressure to put on a young lad but as someone said he's not 18/19 he's 21.

Yeah, without a decent free taker, Tyrone won't win an AI
Post by: seanmc123 on March 31, 2017, 04:50:11 PM
I mean we have the best defense... Every-team everyteammmmm in Ireland has a defense system, even the so called mighty dubs. We also have some pretty good defenders also. What would you think now Inhiding ?
Post by: Dire Ear on March 31, 2017, 04:51:02 PM
This being televised ?
Post by: In hiding on March 31, 2017, 05:04:44 PM
Quote from: seanmc123 on March 31, 2017, 04:50:11 PM
I mean we have the best defense... Every-team everyteammmmm in Ireland has a defense system, even the so called mighty dubs. We also have some pretty good defenders also. What would you think now Inhiding ?
I think its unfair to criticise your forwards when they have to spend most of their energy covering for 6 defenders which the county management obviously have very little faith in. Not everyteammmmm relies on their midfielders and forwards to help out with their defence, particularly in their own half, as Tyrone do.
Post by: seanmc123 on March 31, 2017, 05:48:19 PM
Do you watch football ? only man helps out in defense really is colm cav and he is a midfielder ? what does the rest of them do tell me? The other 6 are defenders look how they set up on Sunday and come back to me Monday. I hope to see you down in Killarney that is if you aren't a fair weather supporter ;)
Post by: In hiding on March 31, 2017, 06:16:41 PM
Quote from: seanmc123 on March 31, 2017, 05:48:19 PM
Do you watch football ? only man helps out in defense really is colm cav and he is a midfielder ? what does the rest of them do tell me? The other 6 are defenders look how they set up on Sunday and come back to me Monday. I hope to see you down in Killarney that is if you aren't a fair weather supporter ;)
Im sure you have a better idea what goes on on the pitch than i do, but to say only Colm Cavanagh helps out his defence would be a story that not many on here would agree with. But sure thats the beauty of opinions. Must go, Omagh half marathon on tomorrow, need to get a wee loosener done
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 31, 2017, 10:10:58 PM
If Tyrone don't cause Kerry a lot of trouble at least then they aren't at much. Absolutely muck half forward line by us and the fullback line looks massively vulnerable.
Post by: southtyronegael on March 31, 2017, 10:25:46 PM
Quote from: seanmc123 on March 31, 2017, 05:48:19 PM
are you trying to say we only keep 7 outfield players behind the ball in defense?lol. bad enough you talking shite on the tyrone forum without coming on here and embarressing yourself and your county in front of kerry people.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 01, 2017, 09:28:33 AM
Good to see McCann get a start, he's had a really good year with club and Sigerson and looks have made improvements to his game in the past 12 months. He has a bit more composure and plays with his head up compared to some of the other options in the half forward line.

Apart from that, much the same - will be interesting to see how McNabb does at 6, it's very much a place up for grabs. Big task for Hampsey at full back him against arguably the best forward in the country at present.

Thought Loughran looked lively enough in his little cameo last week bar his daft strike at O'Connor, surprised he hasn't made the 26 this week around.

I will despair if McShane gets another run out tomorrow, with his recent form and same mistakes being borne out over and over again, he would be the last of the 26 I'd bring on.

I'd like to see us push up on the kickouts this time around, with McNulty in there and Kerry not having Buckley then we certainly match up size wise. We need to play with a big more vigour and abandon when attacking so if we can do that I'm confident we can win, first time we've met Kerry since 2015 and I thought we destroyed them when running at pace down the middle and only for spurning glorious goal chances we would have won that match.

We've a better squad than 2015 now but I think we've gone too much into our shell since then, playing a bit too fearful in attack and not breaking at the same pace. Maybe it's to do with the fact we were underrated in 2015 and teams were sprung by that whereas now we have been cottoned on to and are struggling to adjust. Either way I'd like to see us just go for it, if we get caught out and take a trimming then worst case scenario it is food for thought.

Mulgrew and Brennan back too so hopefully they'll get a run out.
Post by: stew on April 01, 2017, 12:36:03 PM
Kerry will hammer the bastards. lets get that out of the way.

Kerry for sam the year, Dublin will be right there and then you have Donegal and Mayo with Throne the best of the rest.

Down are done come early June. )
Post by: vallankumous on April 01, 2017, 12:40:12 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 01, 2017, 09:28:33 AM
Good to see McCann get a start, he's had a really good year with club and Sigerson and looks have made improvements to his game in the past 12 months. He has a bit more composure and plays with his head up compared to some of the other options in the half forward line.

I'd like to see him hitting a few free kicks or 45s
Post by: omagh_gael on April 02, 2017, 11:19:20 AM
Am I right in thinking that the only way to get live access to this match would be throufh radio kerry? Are any of the national broadcasters covering it?
Post by: Beffs on April 02, 2017, 12:20:08 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 02, 2017, 11:19:20 AM
Am I right in thinking that the only way to get live access to this match would be throufh radio kerry? Are any of the national broadcasters covering it?

With so many big games all on at the same time, I imagine they will spend the day flitting between them all, like they usually do. They aren't going to broadcast just the one game live & ignore all the others.
Post by: clarshack on April 02, 2017, 02:08:44 PM
All over after only a few minutes.
Post by: southtyronegael on April 02, 2017, 02:09:03 PM
kerry 1-2 tyrone 0-0 after 4 mins
Post by: ctrallying on April 02, 2017, 02:15:44 PM
loving the commentary on radio Kerry 
Post by: omagh_gael on April 02, 2017, 02:24:34 PM
My fecking God, what the hell is going on down there????
Post by: southtyronegael on April 02, 2017, 02:29:26 PM
kerry 1-10 tyrone 0-3 after 25 mins
Post by: omagh_gael on April 02, 2017, 03:08:00 PM
Goal Peter Harte
Post by: omagh_gael on April 02, 2017, 03:47:16 PM
Beat by 7 in the end. Terrible showing, second half improvement makes no difference. Worrying end to the league and, as I make it, that leaves us third bottom to finish as Mayo are winning!
Post by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2017, 06:41:04 PM
Today result means little or nothing! Division One survival is the main thing. And nobody fancies playing Dublin on their own patch in the League Final in what probably will be a dry day. This will keep the fans in check, who were losing the run of themselves after drawing with Dublin. The real stuff starts in a few weeks. Results v Donegal, Mayo and Kerry won't matter a damn come summer.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 02, 2017, 06:58:41 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 02, 2017, 06:41:04 PM
Today result means little or nothing! Division One survival is the main thing. And nobody fancies playing Dublin on their own patch in the League Final in what probably will be a dry day. This will keep the fans in check, who were losing the run of themselves after drawing with Dublin. The real stuff starts in a few weeks. Results v Donegal, Mayo and Kerry won't matter a damn come summer.

They might. This Tyrone team has struggled to beat the top teams. A league scalp against Dublin or Kerry would probably have done them a lot of good.  The campaign ultimately consisted of beating the the two relegated sides and a rather unconvincing win over a 13 man Monaghan. A draw with the Dubs in Croke Park was a fine result, but even then that was another occasion when Tyrone were in a commanding position against them and failed to see it out. The campaign finished with 3 defeats in a row, with Tyrone well beaten in 2 of them. Survival was the goal and that was achieved, but otherwise that was ultimately an underwhelming campaign for Tyrone. Little to suggest they are any further down the road than they were before.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 02, 2017, 08:00:42 PM
A league campaign that leaves plenty of cause for concern right now but ultimately will matter little come the big games in the summer.

I wouldn't be feeling too confident about things right now.

McAliskey isn't an elite level forward but I feel he is an absolutely massive loss at the minute.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 02, 2017, 10:39:54 PM
Never great when the game as a contest is a beaten docket and a busted flush at scarcely a quarter of the way through, but so it was today, alas.

Hoping that there's a greater plan and strategy at work here, because what we witnessed today from our perspective just won't cut it, the 2nd half resurgence of sorts notwithstanding (with the substitutes excelling by comparison).

Good weekend in Kerry regardless. :)
Post by: southtyronegael on April 02, 2017, 11:20:00 PM
there is no greater plan or strategy. this was us flat out. weve been playing our championship team this last 3 weeks. mickey goes out to win every competition dont forget. its over and this year is another waste. new manager next year.
Post by: moysider on April 02, 2017, 11:55:10 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on April 02, 2017, 11:20:00 PM
there is no greater plan or strategy. this was us flat out. weve been playing our championship team this last 3 weeks. mickey goes out to win every competition dont forget. its over and this year is another waste. new manager next year.

I dunno if the pessimism is warranted or not? The Mickey Harte thing though. Will/can a different manager change things much?
Would it not be fair to say that Tyrone players coming into senior would have been nurtured through colleges and underage county highly influenced by Harte's senior teams' approach. Harte has arguably had the biggest influence on how the game is played now nationally. So if he can't be successful with this Tyrone panel in an environment that he created, who can do better with them. Just asking?
Post by: southtyronegael on April 03, 2017, 12:05:18 AM
harte is a fraud. he won all irelands with exceptional players and had a master tactiction by his side in tony donnelly. he replaced donnelly with a moron called gavin devlin and between the 2 of them have been found out tactically and have managed to drag the good name of tyrone football through the dirt with their media bans, diving, sledging and all round anti football carry on. this is the culture they have created and the next man is going to have a hell of a job turning things around.
Post by: vallankumous on April 03, 2017, 08:20:24 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 02, 2017, 11:55:10 PM

I dunno if the pessimism is warranted or not? The Mickey Harte thing though. Will/can a different manager change things much?
Would it not be fair to say that Tyrone players coming into senior would have been nurtured through colleges and underage county highly influenced by Harte's senior teams' approach. Harte has arguably had the biggest influence on how the game is played now nationally. So if he can't be successful with this Tyrone panel in an environment that he created, who can do better with them. Just asking?

There can't be anything different. The problem is much wider than the County team. It's the County as a whole that's the problem.
Everything from sending young people to development squads to club fixtures is destroying our ability to produce top players.
The old route of player development brought a much higher quality of player than we have now. This is a product of our success in the 00s. We stated to change an approach that worked.
Time to scrap all the crap and let the clubs produce players the way they always have.
Post by: bigpackiechestout on April 03, 2017, 11:07:18 AM
Quote from: vallankumous on April 03, 2017, 08:20:24 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 02, 2017, 11:55:10 PM

There can't be anything different. The problem is much wider than the County team. It's the County as a whole that's the problem.
Everything from sending young people to development squads to club fixtures is destroying our ability to produce top players.
The old route of player development brought a much higher quality of player than we have now. This is a product of our success in the 00s. We stated to change an approach that worked.
Time to scrap all the crap and let the clubs produce players the way they always have.

Yes lets conduct a root and branch review of the entire football scene in Tyrone because our senior team lost a few games in Division 1 of the National League
Post by: phpearse on April 03, 2017, 11:53:46 AM
Were the black cards to Sludden and McGeary harsh? Will Sludden miss the Derry game as that is two black cards this season? Black card to Hughes in the Monaghan game was a bad call as well.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2017, 12:12:39 PM
Quote from: phpearse on April 03, 2017, 11:53:46 AM
Were the black cards to Sludden and McGeary harsh? Will Sludden miss the Derry game as that is two black cards this season? Black card to Hughes in the Monaghan game was a bad call as well.

The guys in Kerry Radio said both were absolutely ridiculous. Also said that Colm Cavanagh should have got one for an identical pull down after the Tyrone penalty.
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 03, 2017, 02:24:31 PM

You are right up to a certain degree but for the likes of Tyrone & Mayo the league was about finding a new player or two in a position where they are weak. I don't think either county have found those players.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 03, 2017, 02:58:08 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on April 03, 2017, 02:24:31 PM

You are right up to a certain degree but for the likes of Tyrone & Mayo the league was about finding a new player or two in a position where they are weak. I don't think either county have found those players.

I don't think you find these players - they evolve!
Post by: Quarterback on April 03, 2017, 03:09:59 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on April 03, 2017, 12:05:18 AM
harte is a fraud. he won all irelands with exceptional players and had a master tactiction by his side in tony donnelly. he replaced donnelly with a moron called gavin devlin and between the 2 of them have been found out tactically and have managed to drag the good name of tyrone football through the dirt with their media bans, diving, sledging and all round anti football carry on. this is the culture they have created and the next man is going to have a hell of a job turning things around.

Herein lies the problem!!!  Are we satisfied that our minors and u21's are playing and being coached a brand of football that is awful to watch....Our U21's weren't able to score against Donegal in Ballybofey two weeks ago.  We set our senior team up with guys that are better defenders/ than scorers.  In the past we have Produced magical forwards - Canavan, Cush, Mulligan, O Neil, Cavlan, Mc Guigan - guys that were never subjected to being made stand in a line across the 45 and tackle like a dogs.  Good forwards with potential have been discarded - Coney for example - could we have managed him better??  He destroyed aidan o shea in a minor final in croker.  Lee Brennan is as good a forward in the county - why is he not being played?

Why in Kerry are they able to produce great forwards year after year - Gooch, then o Donoghue, then Geaney and now young Spillane at U21 level.  They have a crop of stuff coming and its because they are not beinmg coached this shitty defensive stuff.

Our defensive minded system is good to a last 8 - but not last 4.  We are producing players who's strongest attribute is not scoring - we haven't had a top forward since Stephen o Neill.  We have top class facilities - no expense has been spared but sadly we are moving down the rankings

Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2017, 04:57:23 PM
Was it just my telly or did some of the Tyrone players look a bit chunky?
As in, 'too much time in the gym' chunky.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 03, 2017, 05:59:18 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 03, 2017, 04:57:23 PM
Was it just my telly or did some of the Tyrone players look a bit chunky?
As in, 'too much time in the gym' chunky.

Hmmm... you may indeed have a point there.
Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2017, 06:04:06 PM
Peter Harte in particular.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2017, 08:35:46 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 03, 2017, 06:04:06 PM
Peter Harte in particular.

Good job Mattie Donnelly wasn't playing, he'd give Popeye a run for his money these days.