Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Owen Brannigan on September 07, 2017, 10:48:28 PM

Title: Who would have thought - Ian Paisley - Sri Lanka & The Maldives
Post by: Owen Brannigan on September 07, 2017, 10:48:28 PM
The Telegraph is reporting that Ian Junior and family were given £100K in holidays in Sri Lanka which weren't declared in the House of Commons register of interests.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/09/07/mp-100k-gifts-brexit-trade-deal/ (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/09/07/mp-100k-gifts-brexit-trade-deal/)
Title: Re: Who would have thought - Ian Paisley & Sri Lanka
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2017, 11:00:02 PM
There just needs to be a DUP scandal thread. Makes no odds to them anyway.
Post by: Syferus on September 07, 2017, 11:17:52 PM
We'd need one for General Gerry by himself if you wanted to be fair.
Post by: Rossfan on September 07, 2017, 11:27:37 PM
Syfīn's Blue shirt itching it seems.
Post by: Syferus on September 07, 2017, 11:34:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 07, 2017, 11:27:37 PM

I didn't know you supported paramilitary leaders, Rossfan.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 07, 2017, 11:35:12 PM
Shocker!! Politicians rips the arse out of tax payers !! Thread Started by a teacher.... who really gives a feck?? Cause we'll keep on voting them in! maybe if we paid them 30 grand a year and no expenses we might get some decent people in
Post by: Rossfan on September 07, 2017, 11:51:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 07, 2017, 11:34:46 PM

Like O'Duffy tried to be in the 30s?????
You'll find Gerry is Uachtarán of a legal political party these days.
He's following a path trodden by Cosgrave,  De Velara, Lemass, Aiken and many many more.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 08, 2017, 08:18:14 AM
He's campaigning to scrap the paycap for nurses i see. The one his party voted against :-X
Post by: Fat Angry Motorist on September 08, 2017, 08:48:17 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 07, 2017, 11:17:52 PM
We'd need one for General Gerry by himself if you wanted to be fair.

I think this is what's called whataboutery ::)
Post by: Fat Angry Motorist on September 08, 2017, 08:49:26 AM
They've built up a bit of a reputation at under age, let's see if the DUP can hack it a senior level.
Post by: Tubberman on September 08, 2017, 08:55:54 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 07, 2017, 11:35:12 PM
Shocker!! Politicians rips the arse out of tax payers !! Thread Started by a teacher.... who really gives a feck?? Cause we'll keep on voting them in! maybe if we paid them 30 grand a year and no expenses we might get some decent people in

Why would any capable person take on a job like that for 30k?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 08, 2017, 09:41:53 AM
Ian Óg can move to Tipperary if things get uncomfortable. They love the chancers down there!
Post by: Hereiam on September 08, 2017, 10:00:37 AM
The question here is "who is the snitch". I am wouldn't be shocked if this was an inside job.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 08, 2017, 10:26:07 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 08, 2017, 09:41:53 AM
Ian Óg can move to Tipperary if things get uncomfortable. They love the chancers down there!

Michael can build him an extension if he can afford a big enough house.
Post by: Orior on September 08, 2017, 11:01:27 AM
Quote from: Fat Angry Motorist on September 08, 2017, 08:49:26 AM
They've built up a bit of a reputation at under age, let's see if the DUP can hack it a senior level.

That's actually quite good!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 08, 2017, 01:38:33 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 08, 2017, 08:55:54 AM

What would you say is a decent wage for not doing anything for its voters?
Post by: johnneycool on September 08, 2017, 03:20:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 08, 2017, 01:38:33 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 08, 2017, 08:55:54 AM

What would you say is a decent wage for not doing anything for its voters?

Nothing to see here lads, he was negotiating post Brexit trade deals back in 2013.

Our Ian Óg has a crystal ball it seems.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 08, 2017, 03:52:13 PM

People do give a feck but sadly not enough...

Ae you saying pay them much less abnd we will get better more reputable people in?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 08, 2017, 04:15:54 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 08, 2017, 03:52:13 PM

People do give a feck but sadly not enough...

Ae you saying pay them much less abnd we will get better more reputable people in?

Pay them feck all cause we got nothing out of it... 30 grand seems to be fine to pay a teacher to educate our children or a nurse to look after us when we are ill, these clowns get far more plus the benefits of the trips, expenses and paying their wives to be employed by them also! apartments in London and free flights, and for what? 

If someone wants to do the job for 30 grand a year he/she is not doing it because of what they can get out of it they are doing because they want to make a difference.. like the above vocations I mentioned
Post by: Syferus on September 08, 2017, 06:10:56 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 07, 2017, 11:51:13 PM

He's following a path trodden by Cosgrave,  De Velara, Lemass, Aiken and many many more.

So you think Gerry's lying about not being in the IRA, so?

Big difference between 1916 and 1996..
Post by: Rossfan on September 08, 2017, 06:40:53 PM
80 years.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on September 09, 2017, 02:13:26 PM

1.  Not a teacher

2. What is your problem? If you don't like the thread, just walk away, move on, nothing to see.
Post by: yellowcard on September 09, 2017, 04:01:22 PM
Ironically this story broke on the day that Gregory Campbell called on the BBC and their presenters to be more transparent and to produce 'declarations of interest'. Hypocrisy and double standards from politician's, what a surprise.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 09, 2017, 04:14:36 PM
Guys it's called human nature, everyone given the opportunity would dip the hand in the honey pot. Ian just dipped his arm as well.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 09, 2017, 05:14:57 PM
Not everyone would. It's the lack of transparency and accountability which is really the bigger problem though. As usual.
Post by: Franko on September 09, 2017, 06:58:58 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on September 09, 2017, 02:13:26 PM

1.  Not a teacher

2. What is your problem? If you don't like the thread, just walk away, move on, nothing to see.

The man has definitely got a problem.  On numerous threads you'll find him commenting for no other reason other than to berate others for commenting.  It's weird.
Post by: Syferus on September 09, 2017, 07:08:31 PM
Quote from: Franko on September 09, 2017, 06:58:58 PM

1.  Not a teacher

The man has definitely got a problem.  On numerous threads you'll find him commenting for no other reason other than to berate others for commenting.  It's weird.

Not commenting on how stupid something is would be more of a disservice than not doing it.

Discussion. Not echo chamber. Remember that.
Post by: Franko on September 09, 2017, 07:25:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 09, 2017, 07:08:31 PM

1.  Not a teacher

Not commenting on how stupid something is would be more of a disservice than not doing it.

Not much sense being made here.
Post by: Rossfan on September 09, 2017, 07:50:34 PM
Syfīn inhabits a parallel universe ;D
Post by: CiKe on September 10, 2017, 11:25:11 AM
Quote from: Franko on September 09, 2017, 07:25:13 PM

1.  Not a teacher

Far from a Syferus fan, but strikes me you are being willfully ignorant there Franko. Very easy to understand and something I agree with.

Milltown as for your reference to nurses and vocation, I've had more experience across many different hospitals than most people will have in their lifetime, and very few come across as having a real vocation for the job. The lack of empathy displayed by most of the health professionals I have come across really shocked me, because I had previously thought of it as a job with a vocation but personal experience tells me otherwise.
Post by: charlieTully on September 10, 2017, 11:31:22 AM
Quote from: CiKe on September 10, 2017, 11:25:11 AM

1.  Not a teacher

Far from a Syferus fan, but strikes me you are being willfully ignorant there Franko. Very easy to understand and something I agree with.

Milltown as for your reference to nurses and vocation, I've had more experience across many different hospitals than most people will have in their lifetime, and very few come across as having a real vocation for the job. The lack of empathy displayed by most of the health professionals I have come across really shocked me, because I had previously thought of it as a job with a vocation but personal experience tells me otherwise.

Maybe that says more about you than them.
Post by: CiKe on September 10, 2017, 11:36:40 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on September 10, 2017, 11:31:22 AM

1.  Not a teacher

Not sure I follow you Charlie, care to explain?. I'm not saying there aren't people with a vocation for it, just saying there are a hell of a lot for whom it is not a vocation. Small sample size granted, but in my experience it is a clear minority who appear to have the vocation.
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 10, 2017, 11:39:36 AM
Would you 2 like to get a room?
Post by: CiKe on September 10, 2017, 11:49:34 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on September 10, 2017, 11:39:36 AM
Would you 2 like to get a room?

I'll pass thanks, but you might want to consider whether that is an indication of your own underlying tendencies.
Post by: charlieTully on September 10, 2017, 01:12:26 PM
Quote from: CiKe on September 10, 2017, 11:36:40 AM

1.  Not a teacher

Not sure I follow you Charlie, care to explain?. I'm not saying there aren't people with a vocation for it, just saying there are a hell of a lot for whom it is not a vocation. Small sample size granted, but in my experience it is a clear minority who appear to have the vocation.

There is no excuse obviously for ever treating patients without anything but respect and empathy. But it should be returned. Im not sure if your from north or south. Up here the services are understaffed underfunded which leads to no breaks unpaid extra hours etc. This can leave some appearing that it's no longer a vocation but it shouldn't happen  regardless. Basically like is met with like. I get on the defensive when I hear negative comments about the service. I am sorry I made that remark to you.
Post by: CiKe on September 10, 2017, 03:21:31 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on September 10, 2017, 01:12:26 PM
Quote from: CiKe on September 10, 2017, 11:36:40 AM

1.  Not a teacher

There is no excuse obviously for ever treating patients without anything but respect and empathy. But it should be returned. Im not sure if your from north or south. Up here the services are understaffed underfunded which leads to no breaks unpaid extra hours etc. This can leave some appearing that it's no longer a vocation but it shouldn't happen  regardless. Basically like is met with like. I get on the defensive when I hear negative comments about the service. I am sorry I made that remark to you.

No worries.

Am actually Spain based but doubt there is much difference. I agree that health workers will no doubt have to put up with a lot of shit at times, but there is no excuse for some behaviour. My 3 year old daughter has severe cerebral palsy as a result of negligence (proven) during birth, which was then subject to an attempted cover up by staff involved. They never even got a rap on the knuckles and we have yet to receive an apology, but that's a different story.

You'd think that there would be a bit of empathy for the family with regards to her rehab but we have been fucked around time and again. I understand that there are good people and good professionals working in public hospitals,it is just unfortunate there are not enough of them. I'd honestly love to know what sort of performance reviews are done because a good proportion of them should be out on their ear.

Is it a question of underfunding and understaffing? You'd have to imagine it is a contributing factor but my impression is that it is thrown out as a catch all excuse a lot of the time. Strong empathy need to be a fundamental part of the identikit health professional
Post by: charlieTully on September 10, 2017, 05:32:10 PM
sorry for your experience and I completely agree with your closing statement.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 11, 2017, 11:20:50 AM

1.  Not a teacher

So you berating me on most topics I post on is ok then? If someone posts something you don't like (as above) you post, if I do it, I've a problem?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2018, 12:26:16 PM
Quote" we recommend that Mr Paisley be suspended from the service of the House for a period of 30 sitting days starting on 4 September 2018."
Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2018, 12:48:46 PM
If 10% of the eligible voters sign a petition this suspension will lead to a by-election.  Good chance for the DUP to get rid of Jnr and parachute Arlene or Farage into a safe seat!
Post by: Denn Forever on July 18, 2018, 01:23:58 PM
Luckily, the house has it's summer holidays now.
Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2018, 01:48:33 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 18, 2018, 01:23:58 PM
Luckily, the house has it's summer holidays now.

Suspension due to start on 4 Sept.  It's for 30 "sitting" days not calendar days.  Apparently this will take him up to middle of Nov.  It's the longest suspension of an MP since 1949.
Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2018, 02:30:28 PM
SDLP will be seeking a "recall petition" that, if successful, will force a by-election in North Antrim.  It needs just over 7,500 signatures from eligible voters in the constituency. 
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on July 18, 2018, 03:14:05 PM
Any chance the other scandal can surface to finish him off the other MP and maybe even the DUP or is that too much hoping
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 18, 2018, 05:04:34 PM
Pointy Head Jim Allister will certainly fancy his chances in a scandal/sleeze fuelled By election in his own neck of the woods
Post by: Therealdonald on July 18, 2018, 06:02:50 PM
Off topic, but does anyone else find Paisley's side-piece ELP superbly hot?? I can see something in her that I don't understand why. Maybe its because you know she's a bitter aul cnut...
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2018, 07:20:00 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on July 18, 2018, 06:02:50 PM
Off topic, but does anyone else find Paisley's side-piece ELP superbly hot?? I can see something in her that I don't understand why. Maybe its because you know she's a bitter aul cnut...

Really? Then here's a wee beauty parade just for you

Hottie #1
(https://labourlist.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/hoey-374540-500x296.jpg)

Steaming hottie #2
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-fLgJbysY5CQ/Tas8RNPibcI/AAAAAAAAA0c/7SAQ_QFdB3A/s1600/ruth.jpeg)

Melting hottie #3
(https://cdn-02.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/article35511586.ece/e8579/AUTOCROP/w620h342/2017-03-08_new_29255933_I2.JPG)
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 18, 2018, 07:42:59 PM
That Kate Hoey is a particularly nasty piece of work. Can't understand why the Vauxhall Labour people don't ditch her.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 18, 2018, 09:35:50 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 18, 2018, 07:42:59 PM
That Kate Hoey is a particularly nasty piece of work. Can't understand why the Vauxhall Labour people don't ditch her.

She is refusing to meet with her constituency party. They plan to deselect her.
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2018, 10:38:50 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 18, 2018, 09:35:50 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 18, 2018, 07:42:59 PM

She is refusing to meet with her constituency party. They plan to deselect her.

Hopefully sooner rather than later!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 19, 2018, 12:21:03 PM
I see Ogie made a very impassioned speech in the Commons this morning. Would love to have seen it. Politicians can make mistakes, apologise and move on he said. Sounds a bit like self pity to me. I can't remember how forgiving he was of McIlduff. Mind you we should be careful what we wish for. Paisley's bad, but the potential alternatives - deselection and Arlene elected or he stands and Allister beats him. Doesn't bear thinking about
Post by: johnnycool on July 19, 2018, 12:47:52 PM

https://www.politicshome.com/news/uk/uk-regions/northern-ireland/news/96993/watch-ian-paisley-admits-%E2%80%98deep-embarrassment%E2%80%99-over (https://www.politicshome.com/news/uk/uk-regions/northern-ireland/news/96993/watch-ian-paisley-admits-%E2%80%98deep-embarrassment%E2%80%99-over)

Bring a tear to a glass eye!

Oh and a little bit of scripture at the end.

Fantastic stuff.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 19, 2018, 12:56:05 PM
just wanted to hug the big man by the end hi

id say theres v few of us who haven't had a couple of oul 100k holidays and forgot about them

(be even more girning if this affair carry on turns out to be true)
Post by: RedHand88 on July 19, 2018, 01:03:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 08, 2017, 06:10:56 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 07, 2017, 11:51:13 PM

So you think Gerry's lying about not being in the IRA, so?

Big difference between 1916 and 1996..

What is the difference??
Post by: sensethetone on July 19, 2018, 01:24:56 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 19, 2018, 12:56:05 PM
just wanted to hug the big man by the end hi

id say theres v few of us who haven't had a couple of oul 100k holidays and forgot about them

(be even more girning if this affair carry on turns out to be true)

I'm sure he supported his local airport whilst arranging flights lol
Post by: Insane Bolt on July 19, 2018, 02:06:56 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 19, 2018, 12:21:03 PM
I see Ogie made a very impassioned speech in the Commons this morning. Would love to have seen it. Politicians can make mistakes, apologise and move on he said. Sounds a bit like self pity to me. I can't remember how forgiving he was of McIlduff. Mind you we should be careful what we wish for. Paisley's bad, but the potential alternatives - deselection and Arlene elected or he stands and Allister beats him. Doesn't bear thinking about

He has a 20000 majority I think, even if he stood as an independent he would get elected again.
Post by: AQMP on July 19, 2018, 02:08:14 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 19, 2018, 02:06:56 PM

He has a 20000 majority I think, even if he stood as an independent he would get elected again.

Agree, North Antrim is not a DUP seat, it's a Paisley seat.
Post by: Insane Bolt on July 19, 2018, 02:23:54 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44886333

Looks like his cry for hELP is being ignored 😜
Post by: sensethetone on July 19, 2018, 02:41:34 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 19, 2018, 02:08:14 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 19, 2018, 02:06:56 PM

Agree, North Antrim is not a DUP seat, it's a Paisley seat.

As an independent he could muster up his own confidence and supply deal with the government.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 19, 2018, 03:59:43 PM
Interesting to watch ELP's demeanour in all of that. She was looking on the opposite direction for most of the speech. Clearly feeling as sorry for him as he was for himself
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2018, 04:29:12 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 19, 2018, 03:59:43 PM
Interesting to watch ELP's demeanour in all of that. She was looking on the opposite direction for most of the speech. Clearly feeling as sorry for him as he was for himself

No doubt she'll give him a hug.
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2018, 04:40:45 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 19, 2018, 04:29:12 PM

Was this him
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rg0G7ml_9fE
Post by: red hander on July 19, 2018, 04:45:50 PM
The full report makes very interesting reading. The commissioner comprehensively demolishes every excuse/justification/explanation (ie lie) he came up with to justify himself. He even furnished a picture of himself supposedly at an 11th night bonfire in Ballymena at the time he was supposed to be in Sri Lanka, that section is almost laugh out loud funny. Anyone with a titter of decency and respect would resign. Any party with a titter of decency and respect would sack him. That's why nothing will happen and he'll keep his job... and another scandal involving him will come down the line eventually  ::)
Post by: Hereiam on July 19, 2018, 04:50:53 PM
He is not doubt a cut from same old cloth. The ole man preached lies his whole life without consequences so why would his son not do the same.
Post by: AQMP on July 19, 2018, 05:23:58 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 19, 2018, 04:45:50 PM
The full report makes very interesting reading. The commissioner comprehensively demolishes every excuse/justification/explanation (ie lie) he came up with to justify himself. He even furnished a picture of himself supposedly at an 11th night bonfire in Ballymena at the time he was supposed to be in Sri Lanka, that section is almost laugh out loud funny. Anyone with a titter of decency and respect would resign. Any party with a titter of decency and respect would sack him. That's why nothing will happen and he'll keep his job... and another scandal involving him will come down the line eventually  ::)

Indeed the full report is a very good read.  For some reason Ogie wants to muddy the waters around the dates of his second visit to Sri Lanka.  He disputes the dates that the DT claimed he was there.  He claims to have been at an 11th night bonefire somewhere in Nth Antrim then he claims to have flown to New York on either the 12th or 13th (again he's not sure), but the Commissioner noted from bank statements he supplied that his bank card had been used to make cash withdrawals from the Westminster ATM while he was supposed to be in New York.  She also commented that the inquiry would have been concluded months ago had Ogie not take so long to produce "evidence" to support his side of the story.

I like this line about his solicitors:

Despite his solicitor's statement on 8 September 2017 that Mr Paisley "totally denies the defamatory inferences arising from the article in today's Daily Telegraph including those relating to his registration obligations as an MP", Mr Paisley has accepted from a very early stage in this inquiry that he should have registered the hospitality he received in the Register of Members' Financial Interests in 2013.

https://publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201719/cmselect/cmstandards/1397/139704.htm
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 19, 2018, 05:38:21 PM
There's also the ongoing investigation into how Mid & East Antrim Council authorised a payment to take a table at a North Antrim DUP dinner. That could add more fuel to the fire & increase the younger Paisley's woes. Snarlene refused to express any confidence in him earlier. Wonder is there a plot to put the entire Paisley legacy to bed? Baroness Paisley has been rather critical when she gets the chance to get her say. Wonder is time up for the Paisleys?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 19, 2018, 05:39:06 PM
Never mind the free holiday, the man who quotes scripture and loudly proclaims his Christian credentials was supporting and promoting the regime with probably the worst record against its own Christian minority. DUP hypocrisy.

https://www.colombotelegraph.com/index.php/top-un-committee-says-tamil-muslim-and-christian-minorities-continue-to-be-discriminated-in-sri-lanka/ (https://www.colombotelegraph.com/index.php/top-un-committee-says-tamil-muslim-and-christian-minorities-continue-to-be-discriminated-in-sri-lanka/)
Post by: red hander on July 19, 2018, 06:58:57 PM
Wells lost the DUP whip for a lot less. Foster doesn't have much time for him, but she's not exactly in a strong position considering RHI. Jnr probably knows where a few bodies are buried, so cutting him loose could be a risk for whoever pulls the trigger, whether it's the unemployed Fermanagh solicitor or Doddsy
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2018, 08:00:25 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 19, 2018, 05:39:06 PM
Never mind the free holiday, the man who quotes scripture and loudly proclaims his Christian credentials was supporting and promoting the regime with probably the worst record against its own Christian minority. DUP hypocrisy.

https://www.colombotelegraph.com/index.php/top-un-committee-says-tamil-muslim-and-christian-minorities-continue-to-be-discriminated-in-sri-lanka/ (https://www.colombotelegraph.com/index.php/top-un-committee-says-tamil-muslim-and-christian-minorities-continue-to-be-discriminated-in-sri-lanka/)

While there is some discrimination about Christians in SL, it is distorting things to say that they have "probably the worst record", and this distracts from the treatment of ethnic Tamils.
Post by: gallsman on July 19, 2018, 09:49:59 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 19, 2018, 08:00:25 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 19, 2018, 05:39:06 PM

While there is some discrimination about Christians in SL, it is distorting things to say that they have "probably the worst record", and this distracts from the treatment of ethnic Tamils.

How on earth does it distract from the treatment of Tamils? That makes absolutely zero sense, unless you somehow believe that it's not possible to discriminate against two groups simultaneously
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 19, 2018, 10:00:03 PM
Look folks, if you want to start a debate on human rights issues in Sri Lanka please set up a new thread. In fact, I'll set up one for you
Post by: imtommygunn on July 19, 2018, 10:01:10 PM
On a different note he had no recollection of the four helicopter journeys he took in sri lanka. There is some memory loss goes on in that party ;D
Post by: Insane Bolt on July 20, 2018, 07:16:50 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 19, 2018, 10:01:10 PM
On a different note he had no recollection of the four helicopter journeys he took in sri lanka. There is some memory loss goes on in that party ;D

Must be down to the drink
Post by: bogball88 on July 20, 2018, 08:25:11 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 19, 2018, 04:29:12 PM

No doubt she'll give him a hug tug.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 20, 2018, 04:42:32 PM
As well as his holidays recently in the news, here Paisley's claims while a public servant:

http://www.theipsa.org.uk/mp-costs/your-mp/ian-paisley/ (http://www.theipsa.org.uk/mp-costs/your-mp/ian-paisley/)

Check out his connected employees.
Post by: red hander on July 20, 2018, 05:33:19 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 20, 2018, 07:16:50 AM

Or like somebody said on twitter... He may have been confused by the big fan on the ceiling
Post by: armaghniac on July 20, 2018, 06:27:16 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 20, 2018, 07:16:50 AM

Serious stuff, the arrack
(https://ws23.lk/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/m/e/mendis-premium-arrak-group.jpg)
Post by: Insane Bolt on July 21, 2018, 03:06:01 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44911305

For whom the bell tolls😎
Post by: Dire Ear on July 21, 2018, 03:45:38 PM
Silly question,  but how do they keep getting away with all the scandals?????
McElduff resigned fairly quickly over a less clearcut action, in my view
Post by: sensethetone on July 21, 2018, 03:55:36 PM
Unless he is hounded by the media he will not stand down.
Post by: Armamike on July 21, 2018, 03:56:43 PM
Visited Sri Lanka a few years back, before the Tsunami hit. Lovely people, awful poverty.  When I think of the guts of 100 grand being lavished on individuals like Paisley when there's so much poverty there, it ain't right.
Post by: Hereiam on July 22, 2018, 07:57:23 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44918283 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44918283)
The DUP really have no morals
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2018, 08:01:51 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on July 22, 2018, 07:57:23 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44918283 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44918283)

They have! It's just that their morals are so shite!
Post by: Rois on July 22, 2018, 08:25:16 PM
And I wait to be persuaded on this, but Ian Paisley's electorate is just as hypocritical in their "christian" outlook. And the DUP know this.
Post by: charlieTully on July 22, 2018, 09:29:03 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 22, 2018, 08:25:16 PM
And I wait to be persuaded on this, but Ian Paisley's electorate is just as hypocritical in their "christian" outlook. And the DUP know this.

Barry bread must be thinking wtf. Different standards apply to uppity fenians
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 22, 2018, 09:37:02 PM

Sure Sammy has form.....1 sinner backing another 1 up.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 22, 2018, 09:45:35 PM
That 100 grand holiday must have been terrible punishment alright. He should be made pay it back then sacked and then he would be "punished enough". Reading his expense record is enlightening. He's as corrupt as they come.
Post by: Insane Bolt on July 22, 2018, 09:58:39 PM
He's in good company not only in the DUP  it in Westminster also. How many had false expenses claims? How many were sacked? They continue to treat the electorate with total contempt....but hey we continue to let them. In any other walk of life they wouldn't get time to clear their desk.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 22, 2018, 10:09:38 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 22, 2018, 09:58:39 PM
He's in good company not only in the DUP  it in Westminster also. How many had false expenses claims? How many were sacked? They continue to treat the electorate with total contempt....but hey we continue to let them. In any other walk of life they wouldn't get time to clear their desk.

Try Stormont & the 11 local Councils - it's rife.
Post by: Rois on July 22, 2018, 10:13:54 PM
Short of physically moving to north Antrim, how can I (or anyone) prevent this cretin from representing human kind?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 22, 2018, 10:18:34 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 22, 2018, 09:58:39 PM

In the dup you just don't get sacked. The amount of times these days where you think someone's position is untenable and nothing happens is ridiculous. You would have seen more sackings in england five or six years ago though not here. A friend of mine reckons it is the trump effect in general.

Nothing legal Rois that i know of sadly. It will be interesting to see what parliament do on him. Sammy talking about brass neck of bbc - no irony at all there. I would be shocked if he quit - as much brass neck, and as few morals, as you would see.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 22, 2018, 10:18:47 PM
Votail Jim Allistair Agus an TUV????
Post by: AQMP on July 24, 2018, 11:05:27 AM
Is this the same guy who was blubbing his eyes out in the HoC last week??

'Writing in The Ballymena Guardian Mr Paisley accepted that "there are some who would have me booted out of Parliament".  "They are opportunists, some with questionable motives, and I can tell them that I have no intention of going quietly into the night," Mr Paisley wrote.  The North Antrim MP vowed that he would fight any by-election in the event of a successful petition to recall him.  "Make no mistake about it, I will seek re-election as I have never run away from an election in my life and I don't intend to do so now," he wrote.  Responding to the committee's report Mr Paisley argued that the ruling that he was guilty of paid advocacy on behalf of the Sri Lankan government was "harsh" and that the "rules were confusing".  However Mr Paisley rejected the claim in the report that he did not disclose the visits to the country as he was "too embarrassed to be associated with the Sri Lankan Government".  He wrote that the idea "never crossed my mind"."Given our own country has a government made up of terrorists, it always amazes me just how arrogant some commentators here can be about other world regimes," Mr Paisley wrote.

He really is a piece of work.  The rules were confusing??  "Should I declare these two holidays for me and my family worth over £50,000 when the limit is £660??"  Confusing right enough!
Post by: AQMP on July 24, 2018, 04:18:20 PM
DUP have suspended Paisley's party membership pending further investigations.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 24, 2018, 04:23:14 PM
Jesus is he too corrupt even for them?

Either that or he'll be back in a few weeks...

Maybe it said 660.00 and he thought it was 66k AQMP - could be an honest mistake ;D
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 24, 2018, 05:12:29 PM
Yes....just like his memory failure, when forgetting that his father flirted with "terrorists" when it suited his purposes.
Post by: LeoMc on July 24, 2018, 10:01:01 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 24, 2018, 04:18:20 PM
DUP have suspended Paisley's party membership pending further investigations.
No time limit on it. They will just wait to see if the petition gets enough signatures. If it doesn't they will lift the suspension. If it does get enough signatures they will oust him and put up Arlene/Farage as it is a safe seat.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 24, 2018, 10:06:14 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 24, 2018, 11:05:27 AM
Is this the same guy who was blubbing his eyes out in the HoC last week??

'Writing in The Ballymena Guardian Mr Paisley accepted that "there are some who would have me booted out of Parliament".  "They are opportunists, some with questionable motives, and I can tell them that I have no intention of going quietly into the night," Mr Paisley wrote.  The North Antrim MP vowed that he would fight any by-election in the event of a successful petition to recall him.  "Make no mistake about it, I will seek re-election as I have never run away from an election in my life and I don't intend to do so now," he wrote.  Responding to the committee's report Mr Paisley argued that the ruling that he was guilty of paid advocacy on behalf of the Sri Lankan government was "harsh" and that the "rules were confusing".  However Mr Paisley rejected the claim in the report that he did not disclose the visits to the country as he was "too embarrassed to be associated with the Sri Lankan Government".  He wrote that the idea "never crossed my mind"."Given our own country has a government made up of terrorists, it always amazes me just how arrogant some commentators here can be about other world regimes," Mr Paisley wrote.

He really is a piece of work.  The rules were confusing??  "Should I declare these two holidays for me and my family worth over £50,000 when the limit is £660??"  Confusing right enough!

;D ;D ;D
Looks like he is on the campaign trail already

Don't think Teresa would appreciate those comments tho
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 24, 2018, 10:08:14 PM
Send him away to Sri Lanka with a box of hankies for his well earned holidays, while he's suspended....but preferably for good.
Post by: johnnycool on July 25, 2018, 09:29:35 AM
According to Mark Davenport on the BBC this morning Ian Og can resign his seat triggering a bi-election and if he wins that his suspension won't carry and the snout will be back in the trough.

I think that mightn't go down too well with their chums in the Tory party even if they're desperate for DUP votes.

Who's holding their noses now Arlene?
Post by: Dire Ear on July 25, 2018, 10:44:33 AM
Why do you think the tories would be bothered about it that much;  normal behaviour for a politician........no?
Post by: johnnycool on July 25, 2018, 11:55:36 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on July 25, 2018, 10:44:33 AM
Why do you think the tories would be bothered about it that much;  normal behaviour for a politician........no?

They like to think they're ethical and above all that, but the truth is far from that.

Publically they'll look down on the DUP but as I say to borrow a Jeffrey Donaldson speak will hold their noses when using the DUP votes in the House of Commons.
Post by: Armamike on July 25, 2018, 01:26:54 PM
A basic question any reporter needs to ask Paisley is why he was on the receiving end of luxury hols from the Sri Lankan government.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 25, 2018, 01:36:28 PM
Quote from: Armamike on July 25, 2018, 01:26:54 PM
A basic question any reporter needs to ask Paisley is why he was on the receiving end of luxury hols from the Sri Lankan government.

Was he not lobbying for an oil company?
Post by: Over the Bar on July 26, 2018, 01:11:11 AM
Quote from: Armamike on July 25, 2018, 01:26:54 PM

He'll present it as some shite about helping their peace process.  These corrupt regimes will pay anything to get photo opportunities wirh British MPs to give them some credibilty.  Donaldson is creaming it in too on the pretence of acting as a peace-process consultant to dodgy African regimes.  Complete joke. 
Post by: johnnycool on July 26, 2018, 09:50:59 PM
I think he's already played the post conflict reconciliation card.

What are the SDLP at with their joint anti brexit candidate?
That won't fly in North Antrim and uber bigot Jim Allister is entirely right that the bi-election campaign needs to be about anti sleeze as he put it.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 26, 2018, 09:57:04 PM
Anti brexit candidate in a constituency where a 'Brexiteer' holds a 20k majority
Post by: Insane Bolt on July 26, 2018, 09:59:04 PM
The only chance of him being ousted is if the DUP put up Arlene against him.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on July 26, 2018, 11:01:23 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on July 26, 2018, 09:57:04 PM
Anti brexit candidate in a constituency where a 'Brexiteer' holds a 20k majority
thats exactly what will happen. A referendum
Post by: drillsergeant on July 27, 2018, 12:00:19 AM
Westminster Election 2017:
Ian Paisley (DUP) 28,521 (58.9%, +15.7%)
Cara McShane (SF) 7,878 (16.3%, +4.0%)
Jackson Minford (UUP) 3,482 (7.2%, -4.9%)
Timothy Gaston (TUV) 3,282 (6.8%, -8.9%)
Patricia O'Lynn (Alliance) 2,723 (5.6%, ±0)
Declan O'Loan (SDLP) 2,574 (5.3%, -1.7%)

Brexit Referendum 2016
Votes to REMAIN: 18,782 (37.8%)
Votes to LEAVE: 30,938 (62.2%).
Highest LEAVE vote in Northern Ireland.

These results clearly prove that it is completely pointless to run a anti-Brexit joint candidate if it comes to by-election.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 27, 2018, 01:32:40 AM
Absolutely correct and it's just what Ogie would love as it would take attention away from the main issue.
Post by: gallsman on July 27, 2018, 05:48:43 AM
Not sure this is the best place for this, but anyway...

Emma Pengelly has written to people in East Belfast looking for support in signing a petition to complain about the naming of a bus stop on the Albertbridge Road "Short Strand".

The stop is literally in the Short Strand. She's not the MP for the area. Other than hating taigs, what other possible explanation can there be for such nonsense?!
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 27, 2018, 08:19:13 AM
Quote from: gallsman on July 27, 2018, 05:48:43 AM

Emma Pengelly has written to people in East Belfast looking for support in signing a petition to complain about the naming of a bus stop on the Albertbridge Road "Short Strand".

The stop is literally in the Short Strand. She's not the MP for the area. Other than hating taigs, what other possible explanation can there be for such nonsense?!
Read that last night. There are very few issues they won't turn into sectarianism. Some posted a photo of the bus stop last night and it is a few metres away from a big sign saying 'Short Strand.'
Post by: TabClear on July 27, 2018, 09:12:59 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 27, 2018, 08:19:13 AM

Read that last night. There are very few issues they won't turn into sectarianism. Some posted a photo of the bus stop last night and it is a few metres away from a big sign saying 'Short Strand.'

Ian Og has a bit of free time on his hands, I'm sure he would be happy to get behind her on this.....
Post by: Applesisapples on July 27, 2018, 09:14:33 AM
The SDLP can't help it they daily lose credibility, calling SF out over abstentionism when voters knew exactly what they were getting and understand that SF will not take an oath to the Queen, fingers crossed or not. Then they decry SF for no Stormont without stipulating who they would shaft to do the deal, Irish Language Activists or LGBT Activists. And now looking a single candidate to stand against Paisley which would turn the whole thing into a farce, no way would the DUP take on Ian Og in those circumstances. I don't agree with Allister on anything, but I do in this case it needs to be a Unionist anti slease candidate.
Post by: johnnycool on July 27, 2018, 09:18:04 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 27, 2018, 09:14:33 AM
The SDLP can't help it they daily lose credibility, calling SF out over abstentionism when voters knew exactly what they were getting and understand that SF will not take an oath to the Queen, fingers crossed or not. Then they decry SF for no Stormont without stipulating who they would shaft to do the deal, Irish Language Activists or LGBT Activists. And now looking a single candidate to stand against Paisley which would turn the whole thing into a farce, no way would the DUP take on Ian Og in those circumstances. I don't agree with Allister on anything, but I do in this case it needs to be a Unionist anti slease candidate.

Agreed, Are there any political strategists in the SDLP at all?
Post by: GJL on July 27, 2018, 09:36:21 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 27, 2018, 09:14:33 AM

There lays the problem.
Post by: armaghniac on July 27, 2018, 09:57:30 AM
What is needed is a sort of Lady Hermon type candidate. Sadly, they are not likely to find one.
Post by: Franko on July 27, 2018, 10:27:17 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 27, 2018, 09:57:30 AM
What is needed is a sort of Lady Hermon type candidate. Sadly, they are not likely to find one.

I'm not sure.  North Antrim is a very different place to North Down.  I don't think Lady Hermon would cut much ice with your average Dervock knuckle dragger.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 27, 2018, 10:38:52 AM
Dervock always gets it hi;

Mosside gets off v lightly in comparison  ;D
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 27, 2018, 11:03:42 AM
Quote from: Franko on July 27, 2018, 10:27:17 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 27, 2018, 09:57:30 AM

I'm not sure.  North Antrim is a very different place to North Down.  I don't think Lady Hermon would cut much ice with your average Dervock knuckle dragger.

LOL Patrice Hardy might look the part but she wouldn't come out on top in a sumo wrestling match
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 27, 2018, 06:23:58 PM

She is one bitter bitch. She's the so-called MP for South Belfast, not East Belfast, so it is none of her business. What does she want to call it? "My good friend Ian Paisley Jr halt" or "my daddy was charged with loyalist gun running halt"??
Post by: imtommygunn on July 27, 2018, 06:48:14 PM
As someone pointed out though it may be nothing... Interesting she didn't have dup on her letter.

It is probably a diversion tactic anyway.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 27, 2018, 07:38:14 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 27, 2018, 06:48:14 PM
As someone pointed out though it may be nothing... Interesting she didn't have dup on her letter.

It is probably a diversion tactic anyway.

Aye...divert the Glider up through Short Strand & watch huns shitting themselves lol.
Post by: under the bar on July 28, 2018, 04:35:13 PM

An utterly contemptuous attack on the Short Strand community in attempting to whitewash it's name from the transport map.  It's not even in her constituency.  Apparently she's also  set up meetings with Translink to try and bully the issue through yet illegal loyalist flags outside Catholic homes in a mixed housing development in her own constituency are "no big fuss".   Another DUP utter disgrace of a politician.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 28, 2018, 10:05:16 PM
She is one of their worst and that is saying something. I think she is relatively young so years of this sort of crap to listen to from her too.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 28, 2018, 11:10:00 PM
Unfortunately, she's my MP. Nationalist politicians really need to agree a unity candidate at the next election, to unseat scum like her & teach her a lesson.
Post by: Last Man on July 28, 2018, 11:21:04 PM
And unfortunately the duper's are becoming all too adept at burying column inches with  bull shit stories  to hide the real events of the day. Doesn't take long for us clowns  to look the other way.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 28, 2018, 11:28:11 PM
The whiff of corruption about the DUP is pretty bad, but it doesn't  seem to matter a shit in this neck of the woods. In addition, the Tories deal with them, to prop themselves up, when they must know what a shower they are. Why people  even bother to vote is a mystery.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 29, 2018, 09:12:06 AM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on July 28, 2018, 11:10:00 PM
Unfortunately, she's my MP. Nationalist politicians really need to agree a unity candidate at the next election, to unseat scum like her & teach her a lesson.

Mine too. She should not be getting in in south belfast.

Lastman it is pretty obvious what they are doing but they will do what they like no matter what we say.
Post by: give her dixie on July 29, 2018, 04:01:43 PM
Electoral Commission probes DUP Israel visit costs

Four DUP politicians failed to make complete donation reports about a trip to Israel, BBC News NI has learned.

Six DUP MPs reported receiving donations of £2,700 from NI Friends of Israel to pay for the four-day visit in May, the electoral watchdog confirmed.

But while four DUP MLAs reported donations to the Assembly, they did not report them to the Electoral Commission within the required 30 days.

The DUP said steps had been taken to rectify an "administrative oversight".

"The trip was declared on the Assembly register of interests," said a spokesman.

The visit - which cost £2,700 per delegate - was funded by the lobbying group Northern Ireland Friends of Israel, with extra costs being met by the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The DUP said the visit was "aimed at developing economic links in such sectors as cyber security, with Israeli and Northern Ireland companies at the cutting edge of new technology in this specialist field".

The four Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) on the trip were:

Gary Middleton - Foyle
William Humphrey - North Belfast
Michelle McIlveen - Strangford
Jonathan Buckley - Upper Bann
The latest developments come after it emerged that DUP MP Ian Paisley failed to declare two family holidays paid for by the Sri Lankan government.

MPs voted last week to suspend Mr Paisley from the House of Commons for 30 working days and he was suspended by the DUP "pending further investigation into his conduct".

Mr Paisley was one of six MPs who travelled to Israel with the MLAs for the trip.

The other MPs were DUP Deputy leader Nigel Dodds, Jeffrey Donaldson, Emma Little Pengelly, Gregory Campbell and Paul Girvan, all of whose donations were recorded properly.

Donations from NI Friends of Israel worth £2,700 to each of the six MPs were published on the commission's website.

Different rules for reporting donations

Legislation was passed at Westminster in March requiring donations to parties and politicians from Northern Ireland to be published.

MPs must report any donations they receive to the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards
This information is passed to the Electoral Commission which publishes the details on its website

The rules are different for MLAs, who must report any donations to both the Register of Members' Interests at the NI Assembly and the Electoral Commission

Electoral Commission rules state MLAs must report all donations of more than £1,500 to the commission within 30 days.

"We have already written to these MLAs to clarify why no return has been made," said an Electoral Commission spokesman.

E Little-Pengelly MP

@little_pengelly
I've spent the last few days & Bank Holiday seeing a very different border. Heard from different perspectives & fascinating visit to the West Bank & Jersualem. At a time of key decisions on big global issues, this has been an invaluable experience

9:41 PM - May 29, 2018 · Israel

The DUP said it was in the process of rectifying the situation, and suggested the reporting procedures should be reviewed.

"Thought should be given to updating the Assembly procedures so they are aligned with the processes in Westminster," said a spokesman.

During the visit the DUP politicians met Israeli opposition leader Isaac Herzog, as well as former Palestinian Authority Foreign Minister Dr Nabil Shaath.

They also visited the grave of Chaim Herzog, the former Israeli president who was born in Belfast 100 years ago.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44969471?SThisFB
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 29, 2018, 04:14:54 PM
DUP & the Israelis - totally made for each other. It's a pity the Free Ps & other bible thumping fundamentalists wouldn't piss off to the promised land, en masse. Am sure the drunk driving Councillors, the fornicators & the downright corrupt would find a new home there.
Post by: weareros on July 29, 2018, 04:47:52 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on July 29, 2018, 04:01:43 PM

They also visited the grave of Chaim Herzog, the former Israeli president who was born in Belfast 100 years ago.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44969471?SThisFB

Wonder if anyone told them his father was known as The Sinn Fein Rabbi.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 29, 2018, 05:19:02 PM
Not a term you would hear mentioned every day!
Post by: Dire Ear on July 30, 2018, 10:42:45 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/northern_ireland
Can someone explain this please?  Refusing to allow a wake
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on July 30, 2018, 11:17:04 AM
The DUP could turn up and shite on their voters kitchen tables and they'd still vote for them. 
Post by: MoChara on July 30, 2018, 12:55:19 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on July 30, 2018, 11:17:04 AM
The DUP could turn up and shite on their voters kitchen tables and they'd still vote for them.

they could look them in the eye as they did it and tell them it was the taigs and they'd belive them.
Post by: GJL on July 30, 2018, 02:27:22 PM
Quote from: MoChara on July 30, 2018, 12:55:19 PM

they could look them in the eye as they did it and tell them it was the taigs and they'd belive them.

I'm not sure this will continue. Of course there will be a hard core that will vote them no matter what but there will be a percentage that will be getting sick of the antics and dishonesty.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on July 30, 2018, 02:38:36 PM
Quote from: GJL on July 30, 2018, 02:27:22 PM
I'm not sure this will continue. Of course there will be a hard core that will vote them no matter what but there will be a percentage that will be getting sick of the antics and dishonesty.

Unfortunately at present a very significant number of their voters are like goldfish. Come election time these things become a long forgotten memory. All they hear in the run up to an election is "fleg, taking our culture, united Ireland, the Fenians are come to burn us out" and so on.
Post by: GJL on July 30, 2018, 02:47:46 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on July 30, 2018, 02:38:36 PM

Unfortunately at present a very significant number of their voters are like goldfish. Come election time these things become a long forgotten memory. All they hear in the run up to an election is "fleg, taking our culture, united Ireland, the Fenians are come to burn us out" and so on.

The challenge is for the UU to try to get some of the votes across..
Post by: LeoMc on July 30, 2018, 03:25:07 PM
Quote from: GJL on July 30, 2018, 02:47:46 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on July 30, 2018, 02:38:36 PM

The challenge is for the UU to try to get some of the votes across..
And of course Jim Allister can eat into the hard-core vote with hjs "We wont talk to Sinn Fein or rob you" position.
Post by: Insane Bolt on July 31, 2018, 08:18:25 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 30, 2018, 10:47:23 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on July 30, 2018, 10:42:45 AM
Dale Pankhurst explains it.

https://mobile.twitter.com/LADFLEG/status/1024014056926203905

More brains in a false face😂
Post by: lenny on July 31, 2018, 08:31:49 AM

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/mps-accused-of-defending-former-maldives-dictator-during-luxury-trip-a6885241.html

Seems like Ian Og has a history of being a champion for despicable regimes (providing he gets a luxury all expenses paid holiday).
Post by: tyroneman on July 31, 2018, 08:40:40 AM
Maybe all we have to do is offer him an all-inclusive stay at Ashford castle and we'll have DUP support for a United Ireland.......
Post by: playwiththewind1st on August 02, 2018, 06:04:12 PM
Young Paisley now listed as an 'independent'? Is the end of his DUP career nigh?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 02, 2018, 07:02:50 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on August 02, 2018, 06:04:12 PM
Young Paisley now listed as an 'independent'? Is the end of his DUP career nigh?

Protocol when your suspended from parliament
Post by: give her dixie on August 02, 2018, 07:25:41 PM
Ian Paisley's political affiliation has been changed to Sinn Féin on online encyclopedia Wikipedia.

The site listed the 51-year-old's political party as the DUP from "birth-2018".

Sinn Féin was listed as the North Antrim MP's other political affiliation from 2018 to the present.

Mr Paisley is a son of DUP founder, the late Ian Paisley snr, who frequently vowed to "smash Sinn Féin"

http://www.irishnews.com/news/politicalnews/2018/08/02/news/ian-paisley-s-political-affiliation-listed-as-sinn-fe-in-on-wikipedia-1398201/
Post by: MoChara on August 03, 2018, 12:21:42 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 31, 2018, 08:18:25 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 30, 2018, 10:47:23 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on July 30, 2018, 10:42:45 AM
Dale Pankhurst explains it.

https://mobile.twitter.com/LADFLEG/status/1024014056926203905

More brains in a false face😂

He's a duck egg for the fella Cian Twomey that does those shite sketches
Post by: gallsman on December 12, 2018, 05:47:42 PM
Spotlight back last night. Paisley up to the exact same shenanigans in Maldives.

Fiona Paisley deleted a tweet about them being in the Maldives and he was part of the Maldives All Party parliamentary group. More paid advocacy for an abusive regime.

Absolute gangster.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on December 12, 2018, 07:07:47 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 31, 2018, 08:40:40 AM
Maybe all we have to do is offer him an all-inclusive stay at Ashford castle and we'll have DUP support for a United Ireland.......

Hope to feck it's not after Christmas during my stay there.
Post by: dec on December 12, 2018, 10:57:34 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 12, 2018, 05:47:42 PM
Spotlight back last night. Paisley up to the exact same shenanigans in Maldives.

Fiona Paisley deleted a tweet about them being in the Maldives and he was part of the Maldives All Party parliamentary group. More paid advocacy for an abusive regime.

Absolute gangster.

Looks like she has deleted her account

https://twitter.com/fpaisley
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on December 13, 2018, 02:33:46 AM
Quote from: dec on December 12, 2018, 10:57:34 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 12, 2018, 05:47:42 PM

Absolute gangster.

Looks like she has deleted her account

https://twitter.com/fpaisley

do people still not get it that the internet is not written in pencil  ???
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 13, 2018, 08:43:32 AM
Ladfleg Twitter has the original post from her
Photo of the day
@photo_of_theday
RT FPaisley: Everyone has a happy place maldives #cocoboduhithi #thebeachismyhappyplace
Title: Re: Who would have thought - Ian Paisley - Sri Lanka & The Maldives
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 18, 2019, 12:46:49 PM
Attaboy Ian Og

http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2019/01/18/news/ian-paisley-claimed-6-000-from-charity-for-first-class-trip-to-new-york-1530659/
Post by: sensethetone on January 18, 2019, 12:49:34 PM
The man has no shame.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on January 18, 2019, 01:08:25 PM
Says all you need to know about the man (if you didn't know already). No shame and no morals. Serious questions need to be asked about the charity also agreeing to fund this.

You just have to wonder how many more of these stories come out before it has consequences for him. It's story after story illustrating the greed. So much for good clean Christian living. It must be time for more crocodile tears again.
Post by: armaghniac on January 18, 2019, 01:16:44 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 18, 2019, 12:46:49 PM
Attaboy Ian Og

http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2019/01/18/news/ian-paisley-claimed-6-000-from-charity-for-first-class-trip-to-new-york-1530659/

That's shocking. Especially as there are a range of Economy+ and  Business Class seats between the Norwegian fare and €6000.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 18, 2019, 01:55:11 PM
Who authorised that within Cooperation Ireland?
Post by: armaghniac on January 18, 2019, 04:43:56 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 18, 2019, 01:55:11 PM

Cooperation Ireland should have set a maximum (say €1000) they would refund. But they obviously did not, and as other politicians were behaving responsibly they weren't prepared for the chancer.
Post by: Kidder81 on January 18, 2019, 05:25:16 PM
Ian Og a total cnt but it's not exactly a charity in the normall sense, like a lot you see about these days.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 18, 2019, 07:33:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 18, 2019, 04:43:56 PM

Cooperation Ireland should have set a maximum (say €1000) they would refund. But they obviously did not, and as other politicians were behaving responsibly they weren't prepared for the chancer.

Peter Robinson & Terence Brannigan are on the board, so it's starting to make sense, neither being a stranger to controversy.
Post by: Kidder81 on January 18, 2019, 07:44:51 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 18, 2019, 07:33:42 PM

Peter Robinson & Terence Brannigan are on the board, so it's starting to make sense, neither being a stranger to controversy.

I assume it's one of the many peace process fronts for funding
Post by: Seany on January 20, 2019, 05:31:06 PM
I really don't want him to resign. He's such comedic value. An enemy within for the DUP that they can do nothing with. It's such a source of entertainment for us all that the son of the total bigot who founded the DUP because the UUP wasn't sectarian enough is now a total embarrassment for the mini bigots that the party spawned.
Post by: Orior on January 20, 2019, 06:42:18 PM
Quote from: Seany on January 20, 2019, 05:31:06 PM
I really don't want him to resign. He's such comedic value. An enemy within for the DUP that they can do nothing with. It's such a source of entertainment for us all that the son of the total bigot who founded the DUP because the UUP wasn't sectarian enough is now a total embarrassment for the mini bigots that the party spawned.

+1 (and a backhander for Ian Og)
Post by: TabClear on January 20, 2019, 07:35:51 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 18, 2019, 07:33:42 PM

I assume that's Terence Brannigan of Resource Group, Long Kesh Regeneration and Glentoran new stadium  "fame"?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 20, 2019, 08:14:12 PM
That seems to be him & in spite of the name, he appears to be a rather good friend & associate of the DUP.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 20, 2019, 08:28:01 PM
Quote from: Seany on January 20, 2019, 05:31:06 PM
Couldnt disagree with that. Throw in the fact that he has enough support from the Paisleyites within the DUP to spook the leadership and the fact that if he was ousted it could allow Jim Allister to become MP, he's much more valuable where he is. 
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 20, 2019, 08:36:15 PM
Timothy Gaston of the TUV only got 3,200 votes in the last General Election & he was eliminated on the 3rd count in the Assembly election.  Allister has enough votes to get himself a seat in Stormont, but that's about it.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 21, 2019, 08:30:07 AM
Why is he even invited you speak at an event honouring the good Friday agreement?
What does he say? Yes, we were the ones who opposed it throughout and stood outside blowing whistles and shouting no surrender??
Post by: take_yer_points on January 23, 2019, 08:58:07 AM
Ian reckons he was only invited to speak at the event 2 days before it happened. The Irish news has emails from a few weeks beforehand listing him as a speaker and another one informing all ttendees that they'll cover economy flights. He tells that many lies I'd say he believes himself at this stage
Post by: TabClear on January 23, 2019, 11:01:55 AM
Quote from: take_yer_points on January 23, 2019, 08:58:07 AM
Ian reckons he was only invited to speak at the event 2 days before it happened. The Irish news has emails from a few weeks beforehand listing him as a speaker and another one informing all ttendees that they'll cover economy flights. He tells that many lies I'd say he believes himself at this stage

You are giving him too much credit. I believe that about the likes of Trump, worryingly I think he actually does believe all the bullshit he spouts and thinks he knows better. I think Ian Og is just your typical,arrogant DUP representative who throws out any excuse and doesnt care how people react. 
Post by: Orior on January 23, 2019, 04:19:51 PM
Apparently it was so cold in Ballymena this morning that Ian Og had to put his hands in his own pockets.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 25, 2019, 09:07:42 PM
Spotlight on BBC 1 NI tonight uncovering more behind Ian 'wish you were here' Paisley. Check out the Ian Paisley MP (parody) twitter account for a laugh as well.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2019, 10:03:29 PM
The man is shameless. Won't matter one iota.
Post by: screenexile on June 25, 2019, 10:57:19 PM
Does he get another ban from Parliament or does he have to resign??
Post by: GJL on June 25, 2019, 11:22:54 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 25, 2019, 10:57:19 PM
Does he get another ban from Parliament or does he have to resign??

Anywhere else resigns but here.....
Post by: Godsown on June 25, 2019, 11:55:05 PM
I stand with Soldier "P"
Post by: dec on July 06, 2019, 12:41:01 AM
https://www.hotpress.com/opinion/eamonn-mccann-time-tell-truth-ian-paisley-22779491

Eamon McCann on Ian Og
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 06, 2019, 09:26:13 AM
Quote from: dec on July 06, 2019, 12:41:01 AM
https://www.hotpress.com/opinion/eamonn-mccann-time-tell-truth-ian-paisley-22779491

Eamon McCann on Ian Og
No fence-sitting there!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 06, 2019, 10:30:43 AM
Indeed & yet he still brass necks it & stays in his job.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 06, 2019, 01:37:03 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on July 06, 2019, 10:30:43 AM
Indeed & yet he still brass necks it & stays in his job.
He is sitting in a corrupt party and in a safe seat so he has no push to leave.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 06, 2019, 02:36:44 PM
That's the problem - no HR Department inviting him to pick up the good old P45 & close the door behind him on the way out.
Post by: red hander on July 06, 2019, 07:41:48 PM
The DUP can't dump him cos he'll stand as an independent and those inbred scum in Ballymena will still vote him in. It's absolutely nothing to do with moral standards or Christian decency, which just goes to show the utter hypocrisy of DUP under that pure and utter bastard Foster, the only person to have suffered during the Troubles, in her own mind
Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 06, 2019, 08:38:20 PM
Hopefully she got a letter from Coghlin last week & there's more to come, when he publishes his report.