GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Out in Front on June 11, 2008, 05:32:55 PM

Title: Martin Cole gets four week suspension
Post by: Out in Front on June 11, 2008, 05:32:55 PM

This is up on the UTV website and Logie did a piece about it on TV this afternoon.

Martin Cole gets four week suspension

Problems are mounting for Down ahead of Saturday`s Ulster championship replay with Tyrone in Newry.

Down defender Martin Cole has been handed a four week suspension arising out of a second half incident with Tyrone`s Davy Harte.

Harte had his nose broken when Cole lashed back.

He was given a yellow card by referee David Coldrick but the disciplinary committee have handed the player a four week suspension as a result.

If Down win on Saturday it means he will also miss the Ulster semi-final.

Title: Re: Martin Cole gets four week suspension
Post by: T O Hare on June 11, 2008, 05:38:22 PM
f**king joke,   :o he had possesion of the ball and went to shrug Harte off, it was nt intentional, a disgrace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Onlooker on June 11, 2008, 05:42:40 PM
Does anyone agree that this trial by Television has become ridiculous?.  I certainly think it has.
Post by: bridgegael on June 11, 2008, 05:47:28 PM
if true its a fuckin disgrace,  he shrugged off the tackle, no intent watsoever.  sure he got booked for it,  thought there could be nothin done when ref takes action.  complete sham!!! :o
Post by: bridgegael on June 11, 2008, 05:52:43 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on June 11, 2008, 05:42:40 PM
Does anyone agree that this trial by Television has become ridiculous?.  I certainly think it has.

it definately has!  sure them cnuts on sunday game try and say it was as bad as Docs thump the week before! anyone that even thinks of comparing them needs their head examined!!
Post by: screenmachine on June 11, 2008, 05:54:34 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on June 11, 2008, 05:47:28 PM
if true its a fuckin disgrace,  he shrugged off the tackle, no intent watsoever.  sure he got booked for it,  thought there could be nothin done when ref takes action.  complete sham!!! :o

apparently if the ref books the player at the time of the incident, they then can be asked to review the footage later and are then asked if they think they took adequate action at the time, if they say no I think the CCCC come in to deal with it, think I read it in the Irish News this week?
Post by: mournerambler on June 11, 2008, 06:03:51 PM
Have to take the same view as 'brigegael' on this one, this is going to open the floodgates for suspensions by these dickheads in high places,the player was dealt with at the time by the ref & now they undermine his authority by handing out this punishment. Will they be looking at every tackle now to try & hand out retrospective suspensions?
Post by: Rois on June 11, 2008, 06:08:30 PM
Although I am shooting us in the foot here, is this not the same situation as Ricey's foul back in 05 that ended up with a successful appeal?  Was this put into place in the aftermath of that?
Post by: AN other on June 11, 2008, 06:20:08 PM
Was this the shrug off that Tony Davis was highlighting on "The Sunday Game". The comparison of this to Fergal Doherty's punch the week before was a joke, two completely different scenarios. When the ball is there and in play more toleration is generally (rightly) given to any loose arms unless there's obvious intent. There was no obvious intent and to compare it to Doherty's punch off the ball last week was just plain stupid.
Post by: INDIANA on June 11, 2008, 06:21:48 PM
correct deciision in my view at least we're getting a bit of consistency now.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 11, 2008, 06:23:39 PM

Sorry, whatever about the dubious mechanics of this suspension, but that's total bollix; he knew exactly where his elbow was going.
Post by: superblues on June 11, 2008, 06:24:09 PM
what is this consisten with?
Post by: D4S on June 11, 2008, 06:25:15 PM
This is an absolute disgrace yes he should have got a yellow card for carelessness more than anything by throwing the arm baack to shrug off the tackle, but there's no way there was any intent to break hartes nose, trial by television what a fuckin joke the game getting more professional every year I wonder how long it will be before they start fining the players when they get yellow carded or sent off!!!
Post by: stiffler on June 11, 2008, 06:38:45 PM
FREE THE ROSTREVOR 1
Post by: superblues on June 11, 2008, 06:47:40 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 11, 2008, 06:23:39 PM

Sorry, whatever about the dubious mechanics of this suspension, but that's total bollix; he knew exactly where his elbow was going.
the back of his hand hit him not his elbow
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 11, 2008, 06:59:42 PM
Quote from: superblues on June 11, 2008, 06:47:40 PM

Sorry, more tat: I was very close to the incident, and it was no 'back of a hand'. You don't throw an elbow to 'shrug off a tackle'.
Post by: Main Street on June 11, 2008, 07:23:03 PM
Cole lashed out with intent, I wouldn't know how much but it wasn't all good.
He looked to have retaliated to a heavy enough punch from Harte, therefore the yellow from the ref on the spot was about right.

I thought he made contact with his fist or hand.

Post by: Maguire01 on June 11, 2008, 07:44:02 PM
This is being done for consistency - which is good to see.

Whilst it didn't appear as bad because it happened during play, rather than a break in play, it was obviously intentional, and them's the rules. Also, it did appear a lot worse second time around, when slowed down a bit.
Post by: Pangurban on June 11, 2008, 07:48:16 PM
If the Ref. had blown Harte up for hanging on to Cole this incident would not have occured. Disgraceful decision to suspend, there was clearly no intent. Wonder if Dublin, Kerry or Cork would be treated in the same manner, if the past is anything to go by we know the answer.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 11, 2008, 08:03:19 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on June 11, 2008, 07:48:16 PM
If the Ref. had blown Harte up for hanging on to Cole this incident would not have occured. Disgraceful decision to suspend, there was clearly no intent. Wonder if Dublin, Kerry or Cork would be treated in the same manner, if the past is anything to go by we know the answer.
So why did his hand go up? It's clearly not as serious as a strike when play is stopped, but if the opposition kept hanging off him, he'd have been awarded a free.
Post by: bridgegael on June 11, 2008, 08:38:01 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 11, 2008, 06:59:42 PM
Quote from: superblues on June 11, 2008, 06:47:40 PM

Sorry, more tat: I was very close to the incident, and it was no 'back of a hand'. You don't throw an elbow to 'shrug off a tackle'.

you may have been close to the incident, if it had have been an elbow his arm would have been bent and not fully stretched. it wa the back of his hand that made contact with harte,  watch it back on tv if you don't believe me.  he shrugged the tackle off, this happens all over the field it was just unfortunate that he mad contact with his nose1
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 11, 2008, 08:51:40 PM
OK bridgegael, I haven't seen the replay, and it looked bad to me at the time, I didn't think his arm was fully extended.

Either way, this is a precedent (with Derry's Doherty) that will have to be adhered to strictly from here onwards -- the Committee will have to review every game from here onwards, regardless of who's involved, and regardless of the pontifications of any pundits. And if it is a zero-tolerance policy, then that's to be welcomed, but it must be absolutely beyond reproach in its execution.

Post by: bridgegael on June 11, 2008, 08:58:49 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 11, 2008, 08:51:40 PM
OK bridgegael, I haven't seen the replay, and it looked bad to me at the time, I didn't think his arm was fully extended.

Either way, this is a precedent (with Derry's Doherty) that will have to be adhered to strictly from here onwards -- the Committee will have to review every game from here onwards, regardless of who's involved, and regardless of the pontifications of any pundits. And if it is a zero-tolerance policy, then that's to be welcomed, but it must be absolutely beyond reproach in its execution.

Exactly.  they have set a precedent now and they must stick by it,  otherwise stay out of it altogether.
Post by: thewobbler on June 11, 2008, 09:05:49 PM
Fear ón Srath Bán, can I tell you something.

Fearghal Doherty was involved in a clearcut, off-the-ball striking incident, in which his intent to strike an opponent was obvious. but as the referee didn't see it he got off with it. For then.

Martin Cole was involved in a ball-carrying incident in which he used his arm to gain leverage. Unfortunately his opponent got hurt, but there is absolutely no way to prove intent. It was a natural reaction to a footballing situation. This is born out by the tame reaction of Harte and his teammates to the incident. And in this instance, the referee had a full view of the situation and meted out a punishment accordingly.

If you can't see that there is a world of difference between these two incidents, then i'm sorry, but you don't have a fiucking clue.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 11, 2008, 09:10:32 PM
Where am I equating the two incidents? Rather, the equation here is that the Committee has sat in judgement after the game, to deal with an incident that was deemed (by them) to have been dealt with either too lightly or not at all by the referee at the time.

Quote from: thewobbler on June 11, 2008, 09:05:49 PM
...then i'm sorry, but you don't have a fiucking clue.

Totally beside the point  ;)
Post by: thewobbler on June 11, 2008, 09:16:59 PM
Ah feck - apologies, I read you wrong.

Anyway, they are not being consistent here. The ref saw the incident, awarded a free and penalised the player.

They surely cannot go down the road of analysing normal game incidents. Where do they stop - after they have awarded post-match black ticks to every defender in Ireland for shirt holding?
Post by: Bensars on June 11, 2008, 09:24:23 PM
Whether the decision is right or wrong, RTE and their analysts must now stop showing these incidents ( and spending as much time as full game highlights ).

Trial by media that has gone nuts. This also stops referees being brave enough to make tough calls as this committee will have to remain consistent and intervene  until the end of the championship.
Post by: orangeman on June 11, 2008, 09:28:41 PM
Whether it was intentional or not, this is a VERY dangerous precedent to set and I'd imagine that this will cause a lot of controversy during the rest of the year - personsally I think this is very harsh.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 11, 2008, 09:29:57 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 11, 2008, 09:16:59 PM
Anyway, they are not being consistent here. The ref saw the incident, awarded a free and penalised the player.

They surely cannot go down the road of analysing normal game incidents. Where do they stop - after they have awarded post-match black ticks to every defender in Ireland for shirt holding?

Agreed, though I'd say the specific criterion/directive they were working on here was that it was a red cardable offence (rightly or wrongly) that was missed, and that is dangerous, because no game in this Championship should now escape such scrutiny, otherwise they have indeed reacted to media pressure from self-appointed judges. Down have every right to feel deeply aggrieved.
Post by: charlie stubbs on June 11, 2008, 09:43:03 PM
who will replace cole now??harsh decision
Post by: Main Street on June 11, 2008, 09:45:56 PM
The post match discipline procedure  in soccer is more realistic and less big brother.

There was an excellent ref in Omagh, he saw enough of the incident to give a yellow. Now we have suits from a distance overseeing his decisions made in a game and over ruling his decisions made in a game.
Where will this end?
In one way it does take the pressure of the ref not to give a red during a game. But i'd prefer to go with the conventional - if the ref sees it and deals with it then that should be it for better or for worse.

Post by: Mourne Rover on June 11, 2008, 10:44:31 PM
Main Street is completely right. Everyone has been operating on the basis that a decision taken by a referee after seeing an incident resolved the matter. If the incident was off the ball, and the referee did not see it, then a suspension could follow as a result of video evidence. The referee in Omagh saw that Cole took a fairly heavy tackle from Harte, allowed Down the advantage as Cole ran on, saw Cole's elbow go out and judged that it was a yellow card offence. If this intervention from Croke Park is to be upheld, then every yellow card could be upgraded to a later suspension and chaos will follow.

Cole will have to appeal and I wonder if Fergal Logan will end up acting for him. It is also worth pointing out that Cole had a fine disciplinary record at county level over many years. I don't think he has ever had a red card in a Down jersey.

I agree that the use of the elbow needs to be taken seriously, but a referee standing beside an incident must be allowed to rule whether it merits a yellow or a red. I cannot see how any other approach can be sustained.
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2008, 10:49:31 PM
Harsh decision. I'd say Harte's injury was a main reason for the verdict. If Davy'd been clamped further down and just came out with a fat lip and didn't go off, there'd have been nowt done.
Post by: dodgy umpire on June 11, 2008, 10:50:25 PM
you could get twice the belt in a minor club game and no more would be said. not condoning elbows  to the face but are we going down the bath of eliminating the physicality of the game like some have said?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 11, 2008, 10:51:26 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 11, 2008, 09:05:49 PM
Fear ón Srath Bán, can I tell you something.

Fearghal Doherty was involved in a clearcut, off-the-ball striking incident, in which his intent to strike an opponent was obvious. but as the referee didn't see it he got off with it. For then.

Martin Cole was involved in a ball-carrying incident in which he used his arm to gain leverage. Unfortunately his opponent got hurt, but there is absolutely no way to prove intent. It was a natural reaction to a footballing situation. This is born out by the tame reaction of Harte and his teammates to the incident. And in this instance, the referee had a full view of the situation and meted out a punishment accordingly.

If you can't see that there is a world of difference between these two incidents, then i'm sorry, but you don't have a fiucking clue.

thats some joke...he did what most players do at club level and get away with it...he threw his arm/elbow back with intent to hit the tyrone player because he was holding his jumper...because he did not look back to see where he was going to hit is the players fault. Very deliberate aggressive foul.

Quote from: dodgy umpire on June 11, 2008, 10:50:25 PM
you could get twice the belt in a minor club game and no more would be said. not condoning elbows  to the face but are we going down the bath of eliminating the physicality of the game like some have said?

talking shite...it was dirty play...plain and simple
Post by: dodgy umpire on June 11, 2008, 10:57:43 PM
i dare say if davy harte was hangin off ur jersey youd try to shake him off. had cole stopped, chucked the ball away, turned around and aimed for his nose with his elbow i could see where your coming from. unless he has eyes on the back of his head id contest his ability to deliberatly break his nose
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2008, 10:58:54 PM
You could see it in his eyes. HIS EYES!
Post by: Bensars on June 11, 2008, 11:02:46 PM
I thought the discussion was on cole and the alledged 4 week suspension !

where does Tyrone bandwagon come into it ?

Quote from: dodgy umpire on June 11, 2008, 10:57:43 PM
i dare say if davy harte was hangin off ur jersey youd try to shake him off. had cole stopped, chucked the ball away, turned around and aimed for his nose with his elbow i could see where your coming from. unless he has eyes on the back of his head id contest his ability to deliberatly break his nose

thats a different story now then dodgy umpire. He didnt mean to deliberatley do it.    The appeal should be straight forward then ::)
Post by: screenexile on June 11, 2008, 11:05:45 PM
As a rule I'm loathe to agree with Max I'd indeed anyone from the inbred red hands. However in this case Cole threw his arm out at head height and connected with a man's nose. As we are told in many sports "if you raise your hands you're in trouble'. He did so now he's in trouble.

I also don't accept this 'shrugging him off' caper. A man of Cole's size was well capable of leaning his shoulder across Harte to either shrug him off or get his own free. I don't think he intentionally struck, he just made a bad decision in the heat of battle. He should take his punishment and get on with it.
Post by: INDIANA on June 11, 2008, 11:13:43 PM
it's as clear a case as any of the others in my view. you can't swing back like that, i don't believe he meant to break his nose but there are more conventional ways of freeing yourself and i believe the ban is merited on that basis. you can't let that go.
Post by: dodgy umpire on June 11, 2008, 11:16:40 PM
Quote from: Bensars on June 11, 2008, 11:02:46 PM
I thought the discussion was on cole and the alledged 4 week suspension !

where does Tyrone bandwagon come into it ?

Quote from: dodgy umpire on June 11, 2008, 10:57:43 PM

thats a different story now then dodgy umpire. He didnt mean to deliberatley do it.    The appeal should be straight forward then ::)

not sure i completly follow?
Post by: redandblackjack on June 11, 2008, 11:32:06 PM
That decision is absolute horseshit....Harte was pulling and dragging and stopping Cole from moving forward- the arm (not elbow) was to shrug off (most players on here will agree to this) Harte from halting him further as it was clear up until then Cole wasnt getting a free. Unfortunate incident and nasty injury but imo an accident. To be fair to Cole- how could he tell where Harte's head was? Cole is not the sort to get involved in shite like that- even though previous record etc doesnt come into something like this! Terrible decision- where will they draw the line? If the Meath Dublin row and Fergal Doc had not happened then i doubt we would be discussing this! How does the ccc justify this sort of decision when Geraghty for example was not investigated last year after he hit his man a sneaky and very deliberate box when he went down for a ball? Absolute jokers the whole lot of them. They are going to make a mess of the entire championship if they continue their crusade! Are they going to ensure all chamionship games are televised? Will they decide to deal with incidents depending on the 'experts' views on the sunday game?
Post by: dodgy umpire on June 11, 2008, 11:34:40 PM
well said!
colm o rourke would ban every player north of louth
Post by: gortnaleck on June 12, 2008, 01:22:49 AM
I'll have to watch the incident again but I thought Harte was after giving Cole a good box in the ribs when he swung back.Should action be taken against Harte or is Cole being victimized just because Harte suffered a bad injury caused by something that happens countless times during a game but usually just gives a black mark somewhere
Post by: western exile on June 12, 2008, 01:34:50 AM

I did watch it again, and Cole reacted to a mother of a punch to the chest from Harte while he (Cole) was in  possession of the ball.  It is unfortunate that Harte got the injury he did, as clearly Cole was lashing back had not sight of Harte's head.  If Harte had got a bloody lip and played on, there would have been no suspension. The Committee are reacting to the extent of the accidental injury instead of the fouls committed by both players.

Post by: Lecale2 on June 12, 2008, 08:05:13 AM
Quote from: western exile on June 12, 2008, 01:34:50 AM

The Committee are reacting to the extent of the accidental injury instead of the fouls committed by both players.

I agree with Western Exile. It's the broken nose that got him suspended. We just have to accept it and move on. I hope they don't decide to appeal but that has never been Down's style.
Post by: Mickey Linden on June 12, 2008, 08:20:06 AM
Absolute disgrace lads! This is going to ruin our championship this year! It seems that someone will get suspened after every game. Cole was the man in possession. He is only banned because Harte broke his nose! Dan Gordon broke his thumb can they not use video evedience to suspend someone from Tyrone for this?
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 12, 2008, 08:33:43 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on June 12, 2008, 08:05:13 AM
Quote from: western exile on June 12, 2008, 01:34:50 AM

The Committee are reacting to the extent of the accidental injury instead of the fouls committed by both players.

I agree with Western Exile. It's the broken nose that got him suspended. We just have to accept it and move on. I hope they don't decide to appeal but that has never been Down's style.

Short memory my good man. Does the name Ross Carr ring any bells?

Or if they do decide to appeal, they could use the "It was an off the record incident and not meant to appear in any national media outlet" defence.

It would appear, that like 2003 and 2005, Tyrone seem to be benefitting from any 'disciplinary' procedures that the GAA have in place.

Whilst the procedure is unprecedented and the suspension harsh, I think that both can be justified, although Harte's role should also be subject to scutiny, as was the case, for example with Paddy 'Ball Grabber" Campbell and Enda Muldoon from a few years back.

The most questionable incident of the whole game is one that no-one has mentioned here. As Ambrose Rogers scored the second Down goal, a heroic Tyrone defender (no. 7) can clearly be seen trying to stick the boot in him. This cowardly action is worthy of at least a three month ban. I think we need a citing commissioner for all these games. I am available for this job.
Post by: miss mess on June 12, 2008, 08:55:53 AM
monk didnt even know anything about the ban until he seen it on the news
Post by: orangeman on June 12, 2008, 09:00:21 AM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on June 12, 2008, 08:20:06 AM
Absolute disgrace lads! This is going to ruin our championship this year! It seems that someone will get suspened after every game. Cole was the man in possession. He is only banned because Harte broke his nose! Dan Gordon broke his thumb can they not use video evedience to suspend someone from Tyrone for this?

This is getting out of hand. The suits will be looking to ban somebody after every match - gaelic football will soon be a non contact sport if the suits get their way.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 09:01:45 AM
SS2 you should stick to sorting Antrims problems out as by each week they become bigger and bigger

Quote from: Mickey Linden on June 12, 2008, 08:20:06 AM

sure stick your head in the sand and pretent Cole did not very aggressively through his fore arm back...naw it never happened...I didn't see it because my rose tinted coloured glasses were in the way of my eyes :D
Post by: amallon on June 12, 2008, 09:08:06 AM
I think Cole was very harsly dealt with here, there was no intent. 

He was lucky to stay on the field for an incident a few minutes later.  He was coming out of defence with the ball a used a hand off in the face of an on coming Tyrone played lifting the Tyrone man clean off his feet.  Another yellow in my book, I was screaming for him to be taken off before he got sent off.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 09:10:37 AM
Quote from: amallon on June 12, 2008, 09:08:06 AM
I think Cole was very harsly dealt with here, there was no intent

He was lucky to stay on the field for an incident a few minutes later.  He was coming out of defence with the ball a used a hand off in the face of an on coming Tyrone played lifting the Tyrone man clean off his feet.  Another yellow in my book, I was screaming for him to be taken off before he got sent off.

Now that takes the biscuit FFS
Post by: North Longford on June 12, 2008, 09:24:52 AM
My take on it was that firstly I did think Harte gave Cole a right good dig with a closed fist and it was this that caused Cole to react. I think the ref should have blown Hartes indiscretion because it was severe enough to warrant a ticking and it wasn't as if Cole had some major advantage by letting play go on.
I'm afraid I disagree with the majority on Coles actions tho. There is a difference in shrugging a fella off with your arm which I think is what most people are refferring to here and what happens an awful lot. That is much more of a push off but in this case Cole definitely swung at Harte and no matter where he hit him it was never going to have the affect of "shrugging him off". In this case I really thought there was a bit more intent in the swing made by Cole  (obvioulsy not to break Hartes nose but to hit him rather than shrug him off) That all being said I thought the ref issuing the yellow was sufficient punishment and I'm amazed the hierarchy have intervened. If this is the standard they are in for a long summer!!
Post by: behind the wire on June 12, 2008, 09:41:29 AM
1. harte gave cole a right good dig in the ribs with the closed fist, this is plain for all to see. as far as i know a strike with the closed fist warrants a month suspension.  now that we are following the exact letter of the law in suspending cole im sure we will see equal treatment regarding the strike by harte. (couldnt see it though)

i cant believe none of the commentators even mentioned the punch by harte.

2. saffron sam is right about the sighting officer. it is used to good effect in the aussie rules. would cut out any off the ball stuff.
Post by: amallon on June 12, 2008, 09:48:57 AM
Maximus - Whats wrong with what I said?  It my opinion and judging by the comments on this thread a large percentage of the people here think it was accidental, more clumsy than anything.  I still think he should have walked for the "arm off" then the "hand off" into the face a few minutes later.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 09:53:29 AM
amallon..there was nothing accidental in throwing his forearm back...infact it was deliberate. I have no doubt he did not mean to break the guys nose...but to suggest that his arm being thrown back was accidental is just simply ludicrous
Post by: amallon on June 12, 2008, 10:03:18 AM
Max - Read back through the thread I think you are in the minority on this one be it a fairly decent sized minority.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 10:12:18 AM
amallon...if you read my posts, no where have I said he should be suspended....my posts have been in respect of many who are in denial of the fact that his use of his fore arm was deliberate. Personally I feel that the ref dealt with and that should be the end of it...but you can thank the Tyrone County board for their unwillingness to accept suspensions back in 2005 for the reason this new rule was introduced...
Post by: amallon on June 12, 2008, 10:16:00 AM
We will have to agree to disagree, I thought it was a shrug off.
Post by: haranguerer on June 12, 2008, 10:29:54 AM
I'm a neutral as regards the result of this tie, but I think this suspension is a disgrace. Coles arm was being impeded (not necessarily illegally) and he threw back his arm to shrug off the player. Theres four or five of these incidents in every game, sometimes the arm connects, sometimes not - in this case it connected with hartes face, so depending on interpretation ref could well give a yellow card for it, as he did, end of. Usually theres no penalty. There certainly shouldnt be a ban, it wasnt a deliberate attempt to elbow harte in the face.
And that 'by the letter of the law' stuff is rubbish - it doesn't and can't ever apply to gaelic football. FFS our tackle is a series of 'by the letter of the law' strikes to the opponents body!
Post by: orangeman on June 12, 2008, 10:35:12 AM
I'm telling you - soon gaelic football will be non contact !
Post by: buglebhoy on June 12, 2008, 10:37:19 AM
has it def been confirmed that monk's got a 4 week ban!! it's an absolute joke and a disgrace if he gets a ban!!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 10:40:21 AM
lads should we accept that it is OK to hit some one in the haed either by accident or intentional...forget about this particular incident...as a rule of thumb is it OK or NOT
Post by: Uladh on June 12, 2008, 10:40:41 AM
personally i think cole is very hard done by. the hand off by way of giving yourself forward momentum is a very natural movement in gaelic football when a ball carrier is under pressure. rarely does it result in a free but if the tackler is caught high (usually when he's smaller) it can look worse than its intended. yellow card was a fair adjudication for this one.

interestingly, going by the technicalities posted on the other thread, the ref has obviously looked at the video evidence and communicated to the powers that be that he should have sent cole off. that being the case, i'd worry about colderick's understanding of the natural flow of the game.

on a lighter note, this gave me a good laugh -

Quote from: Lecale2 on June 12, 2008, 08:05:13 AM
I hope they don't decide to appeal but that has never been Down's style.
Post by: Uladh on June 12, 2008, 10:43:22 AM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 10:40:21 AM
lads should we accept that it is OK to hit some one in the haed either by accident or intentional...forget about this particular incident...as a rule of thumb is it OK or NOT

Max thats silly. there are hundreds of accidental collisons in every high intensity game. intent is a very big part of the rules of any contact sport and a referee's ability to ready that is very often the benchmark for hi overall refereeing
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 10:49:07 AM
Quote from: Uladh on June 12, 2008, 10:43:22 AM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 10:40:21 AM

Max thats silly. there are hundreds of accidental collisons in every high intensity game. intent is a very big part of the rules of any contact sport and a referee's ability to ready that is very often the benchmark for hi overall refereeing

perhaps, but it is but the inference here is that it is Ok to hit some one on the head if unintentional....surely if you throw your arm back during a game and are not sure where it is going to hit you have to bear the responsability if it hits someone in the face and break their nose.
Post by: cornafean on June 12, 2008, 11:03:48 AM
its ok to hit someone once its not on television and the Sunday Game analysts have no other controversy to talk about.
Post by: Uladh on June 12, 2008, 11:13:23 AM

Each situation must be judged on its merits - thats why we have referees. Broken nose or not, i don't believe cole's intention was to strike harte. that said, his flailing action could be interpreted as dangerous so a yellow card.
Post by: western exile on June 12, 2008, 11:33:27 AM

Maximus, you are entitled to take a hard stance on this.  But if you choose to do so, you should be (or at least attempt to be) consistent and fair.  If you criticise Cole for his reaction, you must also criticise Harte for the original strike with intent!   I hope your head was not buried in the sand for that one  ;)
I don't hear you shouting for a suspension for Harte  :-\   It is most unfortunate that Harte came off the worse, injury wise, and we all hope  he makes a speedy return to football, however that does not excuse him of his illegal strike on Cole.

Post by: orangeman on June 12, 2008, 11:35:46 AM
Quote from: cornafean on June 12, 2008, 11:03:48 AM
its ok to hit someone once its not on television and the Sunday Game analysts have no other controversy to talk about.

But this game wasn't live on any channel !
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 11:38:29 AM
Quote from: western exile on June 12, 2008, 11:33:27 AM

Maximus, you are entitled to take a hard stance on this.  But if you choose to do so, you should be (or at least attempt to be) consistent and fair.  If you criticise Cole for his reaction, you must also criticise Harte for the original strike with intent!   I hope your head was not buried in the sand for that one  ;)
I don't hear you shouting for a suspension for Harte  :-\   It is most unfortunate that Harte came off the worse, injury wise, and we all hope  he makes a speedy return to football, however that does not excuse him of his illegal strike on Cole.

auld hand let me tell you something...you didn't hear shouting that Cole should be suspended either...but saying as your a bit doppy, here i have posted it for you ;)

Quote from: Maximus Marillius on June 12, 2008, 10:12:18 AM
amallon...if you read my posts, no where have I said he should be suspended....my posts have been in respect of many who are in denial of the fact that his use of his fore arm was deliberate. Personally I feel that the ref dealt with and that should be the end of it...but you can thank the Tyrone County board for their unwillingness to accept suspensions back in 2005 for the reason this new rule was introduced...

ah for the want of a brain :P
Post by: Main Street on June 12, 2008, 11:42:05 AM
The real issue is not whether Cole fouled or not.

The Ref saw it full on, he gave a yellow, the matter should be left at that.

The issue here is that there is no need for more referees in the game to judge the same incident.
Hindsight is wonderfull ::)
and throw in  a medical report into the mix.

There is a case for other incidents not dealt with by the ref  to be brought to the CCCC.
I´d say the vast majority are happy enough when a good ref keeps up with the game, spots the incidents and applies the law.
Post by: western exile on June 12, 2008, 11:48:06 AM

I need a brain,  and you need a heart  ;D
The Coldrick and the Committee need some courage, instead of bowing to outside pressures.
Where is the wizard when you need him  ???

Sorry, Max for inadvertently accusing you of shouting for suspensions.   My main point to you was to be consistent.  The vibe of your posts, whether intentional or not, was on an anti Cole bias and Harte was an angel.
Post by: cornafean on June 12, 2008, 01:19:41 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 12, 2008, 11:35:46 AM
Quote from: cornafean on June 12, 2008, 11:03:48 AM

But this game wasn't live on any channel !

What has that to do with anything? It wasn't until 10pm on Sunday night that one of the Sunday Game panelists made a big fuss of the incident.
Post by: Fear Boirche on June 12, 2008, 04:15:17 PM
QuoteWill they be looking at every tackle now to try & hand out retrospective suspensions?

Certainly hope so, then he could give that free to McComiskey near the end which he should have and there would be no need for a replay.
Post by: Wee Roddy on June 12, 2008, 04:22:52 PM
Do you know what I think happened here. It happened infront of the Ulster counsil officials who were sitting and standing over a bit from me. They would have had the same view as our Strabane friend who posted earlier and he said he it looked bad. Now I think that these Ulster Council half wits are the ones who pushed it.
Post by: Fear Boirche on June 12, 2008, 04:24:06 PM
Regardless of what Cole did, the fact remains that it was dealt with by the referee at the time.

This sets a very dangerous precedent. Who decided to ask the referee to "have another look"? Was is Coldrick's final decision to upgrade the yellow to a red? If not, then we have problem. We can't have matches being re-refereed by committees just because somebody spotted something on the Sunday Game or read about it in the paper the next day.

I know this might smack of bias, but in the wake of last week's attack on referees by TV pundits, surely the GAA should be supporting their refs and not trying to emasculate them in this way.

Post by: Fear Boirche on June 12, 2008, 04:25:17 PM
QuoteDo you know what I think happened here. It happened infront of the Ulster counsil officials who were sitting and standing over a bit from me. They would have had the same view as our Strabane friend who posted earlier and he said he it looked bad. Now I think that these Ulster Council half wits are the ones who pushed it.

Not likely is one of them was Danny Murphy.
Post by: Wee Roddy on June 12, 2008, 04:26:46 PM
He does not run the Ulster Council you will find ;D
Post by: Drumanee 1 on June 12, 2008, 04:34:39 PM
may be it has been mentioned in earlier posts but if you can hand out a ban after the ref only seen it as a yellow what about the meath player who committed the dirtest elbow i have seen in a long time?why does he get away with that?what doc did was wrong,what cole did was wrong but fcuk me that was gbh in comparason
Post by: Main Street on June 12, 2008, 04:57:45 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on June 12, 2008, 04:34:39 PM
may be it has been mentioned in earlier posts but if you can hand out a ban after the ref only seen it as a yellow what about the meath player who committed the dirtest elbow i have seen in a long time?why does he get away with that?what doc did was wrong,what cole did was wrong but fcuk me that was gbh in comparason
The GAA Board video panel (mainly composed of Meathmen) have decided, after a frame by frame analysis, that that assault was 100% accidental.
There is no appeal.

Post by: orangeman on June 12, 2008, 05:39:11 PM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on June 12, 2008, 04:26:46 PM
He does not run the Ulster Council you will find ;D
]
No he just owns it !
Post by: Bensars on June 12, 2008, 10:00:26 PM
Cannot see this being overturned, it would weaken the authority of the ccc.

I agree 100% with max. For what its worth i dont think he should have been suspended as the referee dealt with it on the field of play.

However for some to say it wasnt deliberate is silly. He may not have meant to break his nose but he threw back with as much force as he could to make contact with harte. In that alone he knew what he was doing. The fact of harte hanging off him is another matter which the referee should have dealt with.

I would be shocked if this was overturned.

By the way i think DJs possible extension to his suspension is ridiculous. I know DJ and hes a good lad, the last time i was speaking to him was at half time in the Down v Tyrone replay, he was near ready to head into the pitch himself, he was spitting bullets, totally shocked and disgusted with Downs performance that day.  Hes Down to the back bone, and dare i say it without being attacked, over the last few years they could have been doing with his passion and more like him.
Post by: haranguerer on June 12, 2008, 10:55:44 PM
Quote from: Bensars on June 12, 2008, 10:00:26 PM

By the way i think DJs possible extension to his suspension is ridiculous.

C'mon! The one thing I was sure of watching the game was that he was gonna get another suspension.
Dunno what the original ban was for, but a blind man couldda seen he didnt obey it. They have to extend it or they'll look even more ridiculous.
Post by: Uladh on June 12, 2008, 10:59:09 PM
Quote from: Bensars on June 12, 2008, 10:00:26 PM
By the way i think DJs possible extension to his suspension is ridiculous. I know DJ and hes a good lad, the last time i was speaking to him was at half time in the Down v Tyrone replay, he was near ready to head into the pitch himself, he was spitting bullets, totally shocked and disgusted with Downs performance that day.  Hes Down to the back bone, and dare i say it without being attacked, over the last few years they could have been doing with his passion and more like him.

Ah well then. does the GAA not know what a great fella he is? surely such a samson figure should not have to obey bans like mere mortals? they had some cheek banning him in the first placei tells ya.
Post by: Fear Boirche on June 12, 2008, 11:03:46 PM
Have to say I agree. Have a lot of time for DJ, he is a genuine Down man and if the team showed have the heart he does, they'd run through brick walls to win a match. However, he doesn't do himself any favours and has become a bit of a laughing stock of late. I would've thought that someone as measured and thoughtful as Ross might be able to have a quiet word in the ear. Having said that, if the half-time team talk did the trick on Sunday, then he'll gladly take the consquences of another ban.

The Cole ban, on the other hand is a disgrace. It's not a case of it not being overturned because CCCC will look weak, surely if it's proved to go contrary to the GAA's own rules, it has to be thrown out.
Post by: Bensars on June 12, 2008, 11:07:24 PM
not saying that at all uladh.

i wasnt aware that  the ruling applied  to entering the dressing room as well. i was under the impression that it was only a pitchside ban.
Post by: Uladh on June 12, 2008, 11:20:53 PM

sure he was on the sideline as well.

thats exactly what you were saying
Post by: Drumanee 1 on June 13, 2008, 10:01:26 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 12, 2008, 04:57:45 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on June 12, 2008, 04:34:39 PM
The GAA Board video panel (mainly composed of Meathmen) have decided, after a frame by frame analysis, that that assault was 100% accidental.
There is no appeal.

if that is the case it's a total disgrace,to say that tackle was accidental is just unbelievable,why has this not been highligted more in the media?it seems to me that this video panel are only interested in what happens in ulster >:(

Post by: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 10:24:46 AM
I think you're being harsh Drum.

From what I seen of that particular incident the Meath man leaned in for the shoulder and the Wexford man was falling as the tackle came and his head connected with the Meath man's shoulder. He didn't stick his elbow out which if he was trying to be dirty he could've done and caused a lot more damage. I think it was just something you will get with a high intensity championship game.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on June 13, 2008, 10:35:52 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 10:24:46 AM
I think you're being harsh Drum.

From what I seen of that particular incident the Meath man leaned in for the shoulder and the Wexford man was falling as the tackle came and his head connected with the Meath man's shoulder. He didn't stick his elbow out which if he was trying to be dirty he could've done and caused a lot more damage. I think it was just something you will get with a high intensity championship game.

dont agree screen,he was trying to do him but we will agree to disagree
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 10:41:08 AM
According to today's Indo, DJ KANE has been handed an additional 6 month touchline ban !

Post by: D4S on June 13, 2008, 10:51:19 AM
Just chatting to 1 of down players cole's appeal unsuccessful! He's out for 4 weeks! Disgraceful
Post by: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 10:51:27 AM
Just right too... what an eejit the man is! Great servant to DOwn football and all the rest but an eejit!
Post by: D4S on June 13, 2008, 10:59:38 AM
Dunno how you can call the man an eejit for shrugging off a tackle....happens a dozen times in every match he was unfortunate hartes nose was broken but I really dont think there was intent and the yellow given at the time for dangerous play without intent was suffice!
Post by: off the laces on June 13, 2008, 11:11:52 AM
Cole gets a yellow card during the game by the ref, that should have been it, we now have a situation where the ref in the middle are just there to confirm scores, an absolute disgrace.
Post by: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 11:15:42 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 10:51:27 AM
Just right too... what an eejit the man is! Great servant to DOwn football and all the rest but an eejit!

Sorry I mean DJ! DJ is an eejit.
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 11:16:56 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 11:15:42 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 10:51:27 AM

Sorry I mean DJ! DJ is an eejit.

I don't think the Down fans would agree with your sentiment - I know that he is held in high regard in Down.
Post by: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 11:26:02 AM
Ah but in all seriousness. He was down on the sideline, in the changing rooms at half time. He only had a few games to go until his ban was up and given the fact that Carr is likely to have his suspension upheld, the 2 of them will be missing for the next round be it in the Ulster Championship or the Qualifiers. In my opinion it was stupidity of the highest order and a mistake that could cost Down in the long run!
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 11:27:22 AM
Players win matches - mangers lose them !
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 13, 2008, 12:50:03 PM
I did n't think being in the changing room was breaking his suspension. must be wrong
Post by: isourboydownyet on June 13, 2008, 01:14:50 PM
having received a ban recently from the touchline i think the whole thing is getting out of hand,how petty are they going to get?i got my ban for questioning a decision,i did not use foul or abusive language yet i received 8 weeks,within 24 hours i sent in a appeal,now get this i got a phone call last night from our club secretary to tell me my hearing would be next Wednesday,my ban is up next Monday :o.
if you tear into a ref and call him every name under the sun,OK take your punishment but if you question a ref are you going to get a ban? DJ stayed outside the field boundary and i never new he could not be in the changing room but to me it seems that they are doing DJ to get back at carr for putting in a appeal and seemingly being successful in that.
Post by: rrhf on June 13, 2008, 01:16:20 PM
Im not davy Harte but I dont think the incident should have been revisited.  The GAA has gone mad.   
Post by: redandblackjack on June 13, 2008, 01:21:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 11:26:02 AM
Ah but in all seriousness. He was down on the sideline,

When? AFAIK he was not on the sideline and did not leave the stand enclosure untill half time! These cowboys who are incharge of running our games are doing their best to ruin them............power struggle of the highest order and the suits are to blame! What did the GAA ever do without the cccc? A total pain in the arse and a joke- their appeals system is nonsense too. Jobs for the boys.
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 02:16:53 PM
Quote from: redandblackjack on June 13, 2008, 01:21:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 11:26:02 AM
Ah but in all seriousness. He was down on the sideline,

When? AFAIK he was not on the sideline and did not leave the stand enclosure untill half time! These cowboys who are incharge of running our games are doing their best to ruin them............power struggle of the highest order and the suits are to blame! What did the GAA ever do without the cccc? A total pain in the arse and a joke- their appeals system is nonsense too. Jobs for the boys.
[/b]

I'd have to agree with you there - there's no way the scene should have been revisited. Do we really have to imitate rugby and soccer all the time ?
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 02:18:31 PM
Most of the suits especially in Ulster are against pay for play ? Isn't that right ?

Well, could it be that they are now taking the view, that the players are now getting paid to play and therefore should be more responsible ??? Maybe ??? Maybe not ???
Post by: Uladh on June 13, 2008, 02:36:08 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 02:18:31 PM
Most of the suits especially in Ulster are against pay for play ? Isn't that right ?

Well, could it be that they are now taking the view, that the players are now getting paid to play and therefore should be more responsible ??? Maybe ??? Maybe not ???

Good God
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 02:38:52 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 13, 2008, 02:36:08 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 02:18:31 PM

Good God

Surprised ?  :o
Post by: Uladh on June 13, 2008, 02:40:20 PM

Can't say that i am...
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2008, 03:53:14 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 13, 2008, 02:40:20 PM

Can't say that i am...

I'm coming round more to your way of thinking actually !
Post by: corn02 on June 13, 2008, 04:03:10 PM
Ban upheld.
Post by: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 04:22:43 PM
Same as Fergal Doherty's.
Post by: jodyb on June 13, 2008, 05:00:05 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 13, 2008, 04:22:43 PM
Same as Fergal Doherty's.

I didn't think he appealed...... Did he?
Post by: jodyb on June 13, 2008, 05:49:22 PM
Never mind Screen, I just saw it. I'm surprised they appealed. It was never likely to be overturned
Post by: gerry on June 13, 2008, 09:25:25 PM
having not read all nine pages of comments but the ref dealt with it on the day so that should be it.

are we at a stage when the ref is there to make up the numbers
Post by: Pangurban on June 14, 2008, 12:12:40 AM
They have opened a right Hornets nest here. Expect trouble further down the line this Summer, the Lawyers, barrack room or genuine will be very busy. The real casualty here is common sense, which seems to have received a life ban
Post by: orangeman on June 14, 2008, 03:02:20 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on June 14, 2008, 12:12:40 AM
They have opened a right Hornets nest here. Expect trouble further down the line this Summer, the Lawyers, barrack room or genuine will be very busy. The real casualty here is common sense, which seems to have received a life ban

Well said !