General discussion / Re: Podcasts
Last post by Tony Baloney - Today at 04:38:24 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on Today at 04:18:11 PM
Quote from: square_ball on Today at 04:09:24 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on Today at 03:49:18 PMHampshey
Phenomenal
Most powerful one yet

That's me done. For now

Whats wrong with this one? Thats how you say it is it not?

The podcasts are grand. Don't listen to them all but would dip in and out of them. Niblock is a decent interviewer but definitely goes down the 'powerful' route too much that now I just don't believe him any more ;D 

Surely Hampsey is fine. No h needed. I think hes doing this now himself I think I heard him on sunday

Main street - Niblock Scale - I like it. This could have legs

A measurement of podcast excellence eg it was an 8 on the Niblock Scale. Excellent
Is it replacing the watt as the SI unit of power?
Derry / Re: Derry Club Football & Hurl...
Last post by tbrick18 - Today at 04:36:18 PM
Quote from: OakLeaf on April 30, 2024, 03:05:05 PM
Quote from: cornerback on April 30, 2024, 01:02:33 PMAny word on Padraig McGrogan's injury?

I heard that it is a cruciate ligament injury. If that's true he's gone for the season.

When did he do that?
Huge loss for us but hopefully he makes a full recovery.
Really need Mckinless's injuries to be cleared up.
Down / Re: Down Club Hurling & Footba...
Last post by Ed Hardy - Today at 04:29:28 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on April 30, 2024, 09:52:18 PMGaelic Life has confirmed that Barry has tore his ACL. Absolutley awful luck for someone so gifted that was just coming into his best form in 2023. Would be an awful big ask to get him back again next year and I wouldn't blame him if he didn't fancy it.

Awful bad luck for the fella, fully fit he's class act.
GAA Discussion / Re: Guide to the Sam Maguire a...
Last post by Blowitupref - Today at 04:23:36 PM
Wouldn't be comparing it professional sports. The proof will be in the pudding for the All Ireland Quarter finals this summer. I believe Mayo and Tyrone would have given a better account of themselves last year with more time to prepare for their Quarter final and it's worth taking into account Tyrone and Mayo would be among the best when it come to fitness and conditioning of their players.   

Last post by square_ball - Today at 04:23:09 PM
With the H is how they'd say it around Coalisland where Hampsey is from so that must be good enough for Tommy.

Now using Coalisland dialect as a reference may not be the wisest move for a commentator but I will give him a pass on this one.
Last post by quit yo jibbajabba - Today at 04:18:11 PM
Quote from: square_ball on Today at 04:09:24 PM
Phenomenal
Most powerful one yet

That's me done. For now

The podcasts are grand. Don't listen to them all but would dip in and out of them. Niblock is a decent interviewer but definitely goes down the 'powerful' route too much that now I just don't believe him any more ;D 

Surely Hampsey is fine. No h needed. I think hes doing this now himself I think I heard him on sunday

Main street - Niblock Scale - I like it. This could have legs

A measurement of podcast excellence eg it was an 8 on the Niblock Scale. Excellent
Last post by yellowcard - Today at 04:12:41 PM
Quote from: shawshank on Today at 04:05:44 PMWell Tyrone looked like a team that were out on there feet against Donegal at the finish, and that was just after their second consecutive game. Why oh why are you comparing amateur players who go to work on a Monday to a professional. 

Firstly Tyrone played 2 periods of extra time in both games so that was going to be a factor for anybody who played the full 100 minutes in both matches. The last match of the round robin can't go to extra time so you wouldn't have those circumstances for a preliminary quarter final.

I've heard it said before that GAA athletes are just as fit as some professional sportsmen and I do believe this to be the case in plenty of instances. The biggest difference will be in recovery time so I accept that. However if you trawl through a lot of the top county squads you will find plenty of lads that aren't going to work on Monday morning especially after a big intercounty fixture.   
Last post by square_ball - Today at 04:09:24 PM
Phenomenal
Most powerful one yet

That's me done. For now

Derry / Re: Derry Club Football & Hurl...
Last post by shawshank - Today at 04:06:23 PM
its true
Last post by shawshank - Today at 04:05:44 PM
Well Tyrone looked like a team that were out on there feet against Donegal at the finish, and that was just after their second consecutive game. Why oh why are you comparing amateur players who go to work on a Monday to a professional.