2015 Laois Senior Football

Started by redsetanta, February 13, 2015, 12:57:59 PM

redsetanta

Break for the football for a couple of weeks and the next game is crucial if Laois are to have any hope of avoiding relegation.
The real glory is being knocked to your knees and then coming back. That's real glory. VinceLombardi

Catch and Kick

Sad to see the decline in Laois football. They got a lesson from a good Cavan side last week - a smaller side but one that was clued in and ambitious. Laois seemed to be going through the motions. Was impressed with the big lad - Kingston. He scored 2 goals, the second a real gem.
Laos are missing a lot of the more well known players, surely they want to play for the county?

Mooreman

Strange times for Laois football, I can't remember things being so negative.  Maybe we are unrealistic thinking we have a right to be at the top table.  Then again, things were so bad just the summer before Micko arrived, next thing we were in Div 1 league final and Leinster title in the bag.  Under-acheived for rest of Micko's reign and disrespected him.  What a missed opportunity, only becoming obvious now.  Relegation to Div 3 would be disastrous.  Other than Dublin, Leinster football in a cycle of decline.  I know lots of issues mentioned in this post but so little going on in this thread, need to stimulate discussion, hear Laoistalk is closing down.

Catch and Kick

More a case of over performing under Micko surely? Granted there were some fine footballers on that team but it was the Micko effect that made the diff.
Laois had good underage teams for a few years but didnt sustain it.
They are like most counties now who are in a large chasing pack and can't motivate themselves to compete again . Many of the players who refuse to play hsve a track record of quitting  when the going gets tough .

Thewildcat

the club championship has alot to do with it, portlaoise more than likely will win 9 in-a-row and maybe 10 if they want to. with maybe 3 on the panel thats not enough from the capital town and should be the backbone of the county side.

young lads no longer see playing senior for laois an honour and a defeat again Galway and its division 3 for laois in 2016 the minors were beating out the gate by kildare yesterday and thats happing every year, a good 30 minutes last year again  the Dubs cover alot of problems, only for Brody their would have been 20 odd points in it, we will drop to division 4 in the next few years, we are going the same way as offaly did, they seem to be on the way up as we are on the way down.

Catch and Kick

Looking in from the outside, it looks like all the clubs have accepted Portlaoise as perennial champions . They have it handy in Laois as a result.  Their form in Leinster shows that. The other ckubs are bet before they start!

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Hi, just looking for a good forum to join seeing that Laoistalk is about to close. Hopefully all the good posters from there will arrive here and we can make this one as good as Laoistalk was..
Winners are not those who never fail, but those who never quit!

Unlaoised

Yeah this looks like a good forum if Laoistalk does close can we try redirect everyone?
LAOIS ABÚ

Junior Ex Laoistalk

I have left a link on Laoistalk so hopefully we get a few of the guys......

Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 18, 2015, 01:50:06 AM
Hi, just looking for a good forum to join seeing that Laoistalk is about to close. Hopefully all the good posters from there will arrive here and we can make this one as good as Laoistalk was..
Why is Laoistalk closing down?

Welcome to all my fellow Laois men it will be nice having a few more of ye around on here.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Quote from: laoislad on February 19, 2015, 10:58:05 AM

Welcome to all my fellow Laois men it will be nice having a few more of ye around on here.

After 10 years of that great forum the Ed and the Admins have decided to call it a day. It's fairly time consuming seemingly and those guys just don't have the time anymore. It will officially shut down Friday night/Saturday morning.
If the guys come here this will be the next big Laois forum as there are some great knowledgeable posters on Laoistalk.

Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 19, 2015, 05:32:45 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 19, 2015, 10:58:05 AM

After 10 years of that great forum the Ed and the Admins have decided to call it a day. It's fairly time consuming seemingly and those guys just don't have the time anymore. It will officially shut down Friday night/Saturday morning.
If the guys come here this will be the next big Laois forum as there are some great knowledgeable posters on Laoistalk.

Good Jaysus!

redsetanta

I'm no Homer Simpson.

Good on ya Junior you're doing your best to promote the site. Will be a few here Sunday I would say after the hurling. Sure Ed can post away now with no worries as to what he or anybody else says!
The real glory is being knocked to your knees and then coming back. That's real glory. VinceLombardi

Unlaoised

Laois played Westmeath in a friendly last night here in Laois the players weren't told anything about it.Laois were very short missing 5-6 under 21s....Two begleys,Sheenan O'Loughlin james finn were all injured...plus more...

Kehoe and Attride went off injured as did Boyle Laois played most of the second half with 14 men as we had no replacements

Westmeath had a massive panel 30 or more...

We lost by 10-12 points

On the plus side Damien O'connor was back and was very good.

Brendan Quigley was immense and Darren Strong did well in midfield with him.

LAOIS ABÚ

redsetanta

How can the senior county team have a match against another senior county and not be told about it??