Connacht Senior Championship 2018

Started by Rossfan, May 02, 2018, 11:14:02 AM

Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2018, 06:44:51 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2018, 06:42:53 PM
First of all where do we draw the line on who qualifies for the B championship?

Id do it be league placing. Div3/4 in B
Would the 2 sides promoted from 3  go to A?
Would you keep the Provincials?

Quote from: Rossfan on May 07, 2018, 06:32:15 PM
What if yesterday's game in NY had been the All Ireland Junior Semi Final.....
Few probably know now but Leitrim played in All Ireland Junior semi final back in July. Little or no coverage of it and it was poorly attended. Compared to yesterday the game was talked up for months it grabbed the attention of not just New York,Leitrim but the general public also so much so that plenty would have watched that game last night if it was televised.

Quote from: Blowitupref on May 07, 2018, 06:48:12 PM
Few probably know now but Leitrim played in All Ireland Junior semi final back in July. Little or no coverage of it and it was poorly attended. Compared to yesterday the game was talked up for months it grabbed the attention of not just New York,Leitrim but the general public also so much so that plenty would watch that game last night if it was televised.

Difference is promotion vs no promotion.

Big difference between what passes as a JFC now and a structured Senior/Inter/Junior system with promotion/relegation like the Club scene in virtually every County.

Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2018, 06:49:37 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 07, 2018, 06:48:12 PM
Few probably know now but Leitrim played in All Ireland Junior semi final back in July. Little or no coverage of it and it was poorly attended. Compared to yesterday the game was talked up for months it grabbed the attention of not just New York,Leitrim but the general public also so much so that plenty would watch that game last night if it was televised.

Difference is promotion vs no promotion.
As been said on here already we have promotion competition and that competition isn't as high profile as it should be.

Because it's in effect  pre Season tournament.

Maybe if there were senior, intermediate and junior championships and your position in each was determined by your league position.

Senior = all div1 plus top 4 div 2.
Intermediate = bottom 4 div 2 plus div 3
Junior = div 4 plus new York.

I was also an advocate of provincial system but it's just not working any more- maybe it never did.

Orchard park

Quote from: Syferus on May 07, 2018, 03:09:12 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 07, 2018, 01:42:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 07, 2018, 10:00:26 AM
We're all off to Carrick on the 26th of May.
I hear the game us at the daft time of 5 30 to accommodate some TV soccery sh1te!!!
What's wrong with having it on a Sunday??

By the way what did NY ever do to annoy our eejit?

Rossfan, Thank you.

The village idiot is alive and well.
To call people who had to emigrate to find work mercenaries just beggars belief, even for him.
I wonder what the Thousands of genuine Roscommon GAA folk who left Ireland over the past fifty years to settle in NY would think of that comment.

It must be fun living in a world where you can make up your own version of reality.

Some of the people on that team left jobs to go to New York for the summer.. village idiot would be right. Some of ye are too quick to talk about Connacht football without knowing your facts.

You might want to update what your image of what Ireland is from forty years ago because emigration, particularly to a place like NYC, no longer means the same thing it once did. These are not people desperate for a job going over, rather they're mostly college-educated and fully capable of working at home. Going to New York is less an experience akin to a famine ship and more an adventure in that context.

Yet you called the new York team mercenaries.  Please explain

I hear the injuries are mounting for the rossies with more than half a dozen players carrying knocks. Will Leitrim start to smell an upset in the air?

Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 15, 2018, 02:52:35 PM
I hear the injuries are mounting for the rossies with more than half a dozen players carrying knocks. Will Leitrim start to smell an upset in the air?

Nah.

Hopefully we'll have most of themy back for Round 4 :-\

Quote from: Rossfan on May 15, 2018, 04:56:03 PM

There's only three rounds of the Super 8.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 15, 2018, 04:56:03 PM
I had Roscommon marked down to reach the super 8 but with all these injuries mounting up i have my doubts now, after a good league the rossies could likely face a repeat of 2016 (Connacht final defeat followed by a round 4 defeat)

Ye must all think that game a few weeks ago was the Connacht Final :-\
The big one for all the Ronans/Micks/Shannon Gaelers/Kilmores/ Kilglassers is on a ridiculous Saturday evening.
Anyway all very quiet across the River no doubt hoping to shock the world by doing what they almost did on a Saturday evening back in 2003.
Hopefully we'll be flying for it and give the hoors exactly what they deserve -a good batin'.

An Fhairche Abu

Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2018, 03:17:50 PM
Ye must all think that game a few weeks ago was the Connacht Final :-\

The lack of a reason for the Mayo lads to post here with reference to their Senior team anymore is probably the issue to be honest.