GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Owen Brannigan on August 15, 2017, 09:27:37 PM

Title: Ciaran McKeever
Post by: Owen Brannigan on August 15, 2017, 09:27:37 PM
Ciaran McKeever released the following statement today announcing his retirement from inter county football:

"It was always my dream to represent Armagh growing up so it's with a heavy heart that I announce my retirement from inter-county football today. It has been a great honour to have been part of the Armagh squad from 2003-2017, as captain for six of those years, and this is not a decision I have arrived at lightly.

"Having met with Kieran McGeeney at the end of 2016 after undergoing two operations, I was unsure of my inter-county future but we decided to try and get the body right for one more year and I believe the time is now right to call it a day.

"I would like to thank every Armagh manager who I have worked under and all county board officials for their continued support throughout my career. Also to my club St Patrick's Cullyhanna, in particular Ciarán McConville who gave up so much of his time to develop my game.

"My journey as a county player has been truly wonderful – it has been a privilege to have been involved with such an incredible group of footballers and I am very fortunate to have tasted the ultimate success at international, provincial and county level and captaining Armagh's U-21s to All-Ireland success in 2004 was a special highlight.

"While always an enormous commitment, playing for Armagh was a fantastic experience and I would like to thank the many people who supported me during my career, particularly my parents Majella and Michael as well as all my family and friends.

"I was always proud to be the Armagh Rep for the Gaelic Players Association and I'd like to thank the GPA for their support and I look forward to remaining active with the players' body in the future.

"I'd also like to thank Denis Hollywood, Armagh GAA Games and Coaching Officer, for spending endless hours with me on a one to one basis as he helped to improve my knowledge of the game and develop the skill set needed to succeed at this level.

"I'd like to pay special thanks to Kieran McGeeney, who I always looked up to as a youngster from my days travelling to watch Armagh play. When I joined the squad in 2003, he took me under his wing and helped me develop as a player, he taught me what commitment and values were required to play for Armagh and I'm glad my journey has ended under his watch. I'd like to wish Kieran and the Armagh squad all the best in 2018 and into the future."
Title: Re: Ciaran McKeever
Post by: Owen Brannigan on August 15, 2017, 09:40:36 PM
Thanks to Ciaran McKeever for everything he gave to Armagh football over the last 14 years, never less than 100%.
Post by: Orior on August 15, 2017, 10:25:04 PM
Good leaving statement and not one cuss word in it!
Post by: bennydorano on August 15, 2017, 11:55:36 PM
A great servant to Armagh, total commitment to the cause and will be a huge loss.
Post by: SkillfulBill on August 16, 2017, 12:28:59 AM
Great servant to Armagh. He is one of those players who the opposition love to hate but would love to have playing in their colours. Best of luck to him in his retirement.
Post by: regal on August 16, 2017, 12:41:07 AM
Best of luck to ciaran on his retirement. A superb footballer who i always enjoyed watching.

He was unlucky with injuries since getting injured during our run to the QF in 2014. He put in some excellent performances in the championship that year
Post by: omaghjoe on August 16, 2017, 07:02:51 AM
His cameo in his final match was very fitting I felt
Post by: tonto1888 on August 16, 2017, 08:04:28 AM
A great player for us. I wish him well for the future.
Post by: naka on August 16, 2017, 09:04:45 AM
Glad he played for us.
He served the orchard well and personally always felt he would give his all for Armagh.
I wish him well.
Post by: sensethetone on August 16, 2017, 09:43:44 AM
What would the Armagh lads consider his best performance?
Post by: LCohen on August 16, 2017, 05:18:48 PM
A better player than the rest of the country ever gave him credit for. Great pace over the short distance, attacked every breaking ball like his life depended on it and had the football skills good passer and point taker.

Got involved in too much of the side show on and off the field for my liking. Probably not as good a player as the current eulogies make out. Strong and long lasting intercounty player but not quite all star material. Even on a good day.

Time for someone to step up and take his role
Post by: tonto1888 on August 16, 2017, 08:47:48 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 16, 2017, 05:18:48 PM
A better player than the rest of the country ever gave him credit for. Great pace over the short distance, attacked every breaking ball like his life depended on it and had the football skills good passer and point taker.

Got involved in too much of the side show on and off the field for my liking. Probably not as good a player as the current eulogies make out. Strong and long lasting intercounty player but not quite all star material. Even on a good day.

What off the field stuff did he ever get involved in
Post by: rrhf on August 16, 2017, 09:30:15 PM
Always think it's a Nice touch to thank your club coach.  Tough few years in the orange jersey giving his all and matured into a better player as the years went by.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 16, 2017, 09:52:43 PM
I never liked McKeever...gave him abuse many's a time from the stands and the sofa...BUT thats the sign of a good player. He wound me up because he wound our lads up. A decent player...the type of player you want on your side. Maybe not in the same class as the class of '02 but I admired him.
Post by: ONeill on August 16, 2017, 10:12:18 PM
He played for Armagh.
Post by: illdecide on August 16, 2017, 10:36:06 PM
One of the most committed and driven man i've known, gave his all for Armagh. The legs slowed a bit over the last few years as well as the pace of the game went up a notch or 2, if he'd have played for Tyrone or Down i'd prob have had a strong disliking for him. Him & Ricie would have been similar characters on the pitch, anyway enjoy your retirement Ciaran.
Post by: ONeill on August 16, 2017, 10:55:58 PM
Quote from: illdecide on August 16, 2017, 10:36:06 PM
Him & Ricie would have been similar characters on the pitch, anyway enjoy your retirement Ciaran.

FFS. Ricey could run the length of the field and score. Ricey rarely got the line. Ricey has 3 AIs. Never say that again.
Post by: orangeman on August 16, 2017, 10:57:23 PM
Respect to Ciaran for that statement. Dignified and respectful way to exit although losing to Tyrone in his last game was tough.

Ciaran played it on the edge and beyond at times. He leaves owing Armagh nothing.
Post by: illdecide on August 16, 2017, 10:57:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 16, 2017, 10:55:58 PM
Him & Ricie would have been similar characters on the pitch, anyway enjoy your retirement Ciaran.

FFS. Ricey could run the length of the field and score. Ricey rarely got the line. Ricey has 3 AIs. Never say that again.

lol...I was refering to them both being a bit nasty on the pitch :D
Post by: WT4E on August 17, 2017, 10:18:18 AM
Quote from: illdecide on August 16, 2017, 10:57:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 16, 2017, 10:55:58 PM

lol...I was refering to them both being a bit nasty on the pitch :D

I got what you where saying there - you certainly could not compare their footballing ability.

RTE News showing some clips of him playing where pretty harsh - Two clips gave the ball away in both!!!  :o
Post by: Fuzzman on August 17, 2017, 12:21:08 PM
Great player who contributed hugely towards Armagh's Ulster title win in 2005 whilst marking Tyrone's two star forwards "out of the game".
He was very unfortunate though to be made the scapegoat for Tyrone to go on and win the AI semifinal after he was alleged to have fouled Stephen O'Neill near the end in a foul the ref hadn't been blowing up for all day.

I think he was never really got over Sean Cavanagh marrying Charlie Vernon's sister though as CK wanted Sean to himself and often showed his affection for him on the field of play.

Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 17, 2017, 12:47:14 PM
It would make you despair sometimes at the fanfare around players 'retiring' from the game.
To call him great would do an injustice to those who were ie see Colm Cooper. McKeever was merely another very decent county footballer who could hold his own in many a game in his prime, struggled with the game changing where pace and mobility are essential and who's time is now up. He could have went a few season ago.
Call a spade a spade, he indulged in plenty of sh!te too and would hardly be held as a role model for a lot of his onfield antics.
Of course the chest-beating brigade and big men will laud his achievements and those from Armagh will lament his retirement but personally don't see what the fuss is about.
Post by: WT4E on August 17, 2017, 01:05:10 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on August 17, 2017, 12:47:14 PM
It would make you despair sometimes at the fanfare around players 'retiring' from the game.
To call him great would do an injustice to those who were ie see Colm Cooper. McKeever was merely another very decent county footballer who could hold his own in many a game in his prime, struggled with the game changing where pace and mobility are essential and who's time is now up. He could have went a few season ago.
Call a spade a spade, he indulged in plenty of sh!te too and would hardly be held as a role model for a lot of his onfield antics.
Of course the chest-beating brigade and big men will laud his achievements and those from Armagh will lament his retirement but personally don't see what the fuss is about.

Agreed - However be careful Punt Kick will be along in a minute to tell you that McKeever would kick the Fcuk out of you!!!!  :o
Post by: illdecide on August 17, 2017, 03:46:20 PM
Who called him a great? I think most of the praise he's getting was for his commitment, his drive and determination and his service to Armagh which should not be underestimated. A great? No, but a good player who gave his all.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 17, 2017, 08:28:11 PM
McKeever was very underrated, unfortunately for him his prime coincided with Armagh's downturn.

Played the game on the edge but there's nothing wrong with that.
Post by: tothetop03 on August 17, 2017, 08:38:14 PM
Had the privilege off falling into Cairan's company through a friend in Dublin one Night about 3 years ago a real gent wish him good luck in the future......
Post by: trileacman on August 17, 2017, 11:07:04 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on August 17, 2017, 12:47:14 PM

Harsh enough. He was a good lad who'd a good run and respected by the Armagh faithful for leaving it all on the pitch. No need to be such a mean fcuker and piss on the parade.
Post by: trileacman on August 17, 2017, 11:17:23 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 17, 2017, 12:21:08 PM
Great player who contributed hugely towards Armagh's Ulster title win in 2005 whilst marking Tyrone's two star forwards "out of the game".
He was very unfortunate though to be made the scapegoat for Tyrone to go on and win the AI semifinal after he was alleged to have fouled Stephen O'Neill near the end in a foul the ref hadn't been blowing up for all day.

I think he was never really got over Sean Cavanagh marrying Charlie Vernon's sister though as CK wanted Sean to himself and often showed his affection for him on the field of play.

Always thought that free was unlucky as well.
Post by: stew on August 18, 2017, 09:18:59 AM
Quote from: trileacman on August 17, 2017, 11:17:23 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 17, 2017, 12:21:08 PM

Always thought that free was unlucky as well.

Luck had nothing to do with it!
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 18, 2017, 09:47:08 AM
This should be a thread for the Armagh Local GAA Discussion page as it's insignificant on an All-Ireland level.

A very poor role model for young football players who will really only be remembered outside (and maybe inside) Armagh for the 'hard man' image he tried to build for himself.

Remember him dragging Peter Canavan on the grass by the shirt in Croke Park or one winter he learned a bit of Ju Jitsu and decided to practice it before a ball was thrown in the championship. And who can forget when he cried about 'racism' he suffered against Laois despite him being known for sledging shite himself, one incident against Martin Clarke was particularly unsavoury.

Good riddance!
Post by: Armamike on August 18, 2017, 10:25:04 AM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 18, 2017, 09:47:08 AM
This should be a thread for the Armagh Local GAA Discussion page as it's insignificant on an All-Ireland level.

A very poor role model for young football players who will really only be remembered outside (and maybe inside) Armagh for the 'hard man' image he tried to build for himself.

Remember him dragging Peter Canavan on the grass by the shirt in Croke Park or one winter he learned a bit of Ju Jitsu and decided to practice it before a ball was thrown in the championship. And who can forget when he cried about 'racism' he suffered against Laois despite him being known for sledging shite himself, one incident against Martin Clarke was particularly unsavoury.

Good riddance!

There should also be a thread for any personal gripes in life and pure begrudgery so we can all get it off our chests and feel a bit better about things.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 18, 2017, 10:28:29 AM
Quote from: Armamike on August 18, 2017, 10:25:04 AM

Good riddance!

There should also be a thread for any personal gripes in life and pure begrudgery so we can all get it off our chests and feel a bit better about things.

This. The good thing about the more long winded whines is that most will have already turned off and not picked up on the inaccuracies therein.
Post by: Throw ball on August 18, 2017, 10:32:03 AM

Good riddance!

You may be right that it should be on Armagh thread.

I am amazed though how people go to a thread to complain about it. You don't have to read it.

As it is you are wrong on many accounts. Firstly if you are stating that you are happy for people to suffer sectarian abuse you are on the wrong place. Secondly despite the image you protray of him McKeever is great with children at open days , training camps etc. It is this kids remember rather than things you perceive to happen on a football pitch.

Ciaran McKeever is no different to many footballers in many teams. On occasions he went over the line but more often than not it was his determination and will to win that defined him.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 18, 2017, 10:50:53 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on August 18, 2017, 10:32:03 AM

Good riddance!

I am amazed though how people go to a thread to complain about it. You don't have to read it.

As it is you are wrong on many accounts. Firstly if you are stating that you are happy for people to suffer sectarian abuse you are on the wrong place. Secondly despite the image you protray of him McKeever is great with children at open days , training camps etc. It is this kids remember rather than things you perceive to happen on a football pitch.

Ciaran McKeever is no different to many footballers in many teams. On occasions he went over the line but more often than not it was his determination and will to win that defined him.

This is exactly my point.  I just don't think we need a thread on the main section for every decent county footballer that quit playing for their county after a lengthly service. 
This thread should definitely be moved to the local section of the board.
Post by: Syferus on August 18, 2017, 11:43:56 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on August 18, 2017, 10:50:53 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on August 18, 2017, 10:32:03 AM

Good riddance!

This is exactly my point.  I just don't think we need a thread on the main section for every decent county footballer that quit playing for their county after a lengthly service. 
This thread should definitely be moved to the local section of the board.

What nonsense.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 18, 2017, 12:00:51 PM
Which part?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2017, 12:12:00 PM
I don't see anything wrong with a bit of a thread for a lad who has given huge service to Armagh. He's also been a bit of a cult hero there, and surely it's no skin off your nose if his retirement is remarked upon?
Post by: Armamike on August 18, 2017, 01:11:07 PM
Peoples' views on certain players can be clouded by their own baggage and past grievances.  If you've a problem with a thread on a county footballer retiring, then a) don't read it and b) if you can't say anything decent about someone, say nothing.  In this case nobody's saying Ciaran's a legend of the game, but to belittle his relevance outside Armagh is petty and overlooks his achievements on a wider stage (provincial titles, a national league, international rules). 
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 18, 2017, 01:12:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 18, 2017, 12:12:00 PM
I don't see anything wrong with a bit of a thread for a lad who has given huge service to Armagh. He's also been a bit of a cult hero there, and surely it's no skin off your nose if his retirement is remarked upon?

Recent threads like this have been for players like Thomás O'Sé and Colm Cooper. No skin off my nose at all but if it's a player who was controversial like him and also average at All-Ireland level then a bit of criticism should also be expected.

He might well be a decent fella off the pitch and good with kids locally but for a young defender watching on TV I think the way he conducted himself was a poor role model.   
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2017, 01:19:34 PM
I think the point was there shouldn't be a thread at all. I don't agree with that. I think it's worthwhile to mark the retirement of someone who's been around so long. I never said there shouldn't be any valid criticism of him.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 18, 2017, 01:25:16 PM
Well said Oak Leaf County
Post by: LCohen on August 18, 2017, 01:36:35 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 16, 2017, 08:47:48 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 16, 2017, 05:18:48 PM

What off the field stuff did he ever get involved in

Some of his media interventions wouldn't highlight him as one of the great thinkers of the game. That's being kind.
Post by: Solo_run on August 18, 2017, 01:38:39 PM
If McKeever is reading this he is probably laughing at Oak Leaf. There is no need to defend Ciaran he was liked by his own and that is all that ever mattered.

He is a true Gael... Stuck with Armagh through the good times,  the bad times and the awful times.  He didn't give up unlike some.
Post by: LCohen on August 18, 2017, 01:43:01 PM
Quote from: Armamike on August 18, 2017, 01:11:07 PM
if you can't say anything decent about someone, say nothing.

Utter rubbish.

Plenty on here are blind to mckeever's playing qualities. Often due to their own baggage and loyalties. Plenty are blind to his failings for the same reason. But there is always room for genuine opinion. Otherwise it is not a discussion forum
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 18, 2017, 01:56:31 PM
I merely suggested moving it to the local thread. Id also advocate the same for any half decent footballer retiring.
Don't think it merits a place on the main section. We could end up it being full of threads for average county footballers retiring.
Post by: lenny on August 18, 2017, 02:39:33 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on August 18, 2017, 01:56:31 PM
I merely suggested moving it to the local thread. Id also advocate the same for any half decent footballer retiring.
Don't think it merits a place on the main section. We could end up it being full of threads for average county footballers retiring.

Totally agree, he was a long serving player for armagh but was just a very average player. My memory of him will be when he was destroyed by eoin bradley in the ulster championship semi final from a frw years ago. I'd say he never had a harder or worse game. He was left on his ass a few times by the twisting and turning of skinner.
Post by: Armamike on August 18, 2017, 03:04:48 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 18, 2017, 01:43:01 PM

Utter rubbish.

Plenty on here are blind to mckeever's playing qualities. Often due to their own baggage and loyalties. Plenty are blind to his failings for the same reason. But there is always room for genuine opinion. Otherwise it is not a discussion forum

My own view is I tend to avoid threads where I've got nothing half positive to say about the player who's retired.  Plenty of threads have been put up here over the years on players I wouldn't have much time for and I kept my counsel.  Maybe I'm alone in that but if someone's put in a lot of years hard service at county level I think they're due a certain level of respect at retirement. 

Post by: LCohen on August 18, 2017, 03:09:58 PM
Quote from: Armamike on August 18, 2017, 03:04:48 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 18, 2017, 01:43:01 PM

Utter rubbish.

My own view is I tend to avoid threads where I've got nothing half positive to say about the player who's retired.  Plenty of threads have been put up here over the years on players I wouldn't have much time for and I kept my counsel.  Maybe I'm alone in that but if someone's put in a lot of years hard service at county level I think they're due a certain level of respect at retirement.

Praise from someone who isn't prepared to call it as they see it isn't worth much though is it ?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on August 18, 2017, 07:52:10 PM
For such an average player he had acheivements that most county players will never attain and certainly those jumping in on this thread to criticise him will be nowhere near:

4 Ulster SFC medals (2004, 2005, 2006, 2008)
3 League titles - Division 1 (2005), Division 2 (2010), Division 3 (2015),
1 All-Ireland U-21 medal (2004) as captain of Armagh
1 Ulster U-21 medal (2004)
4 Railway Cup medals with Ulster
Represented Ireland in four International Rules series.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on August 18, 2017, 08:16:59 PM
Quote from: lenny on August 18, 2017, 02:39:33 PM
Totally agree, he was a long serving player for armagh but was just a very average player. My memory of him will be when he was destroyed by eoin bradley in the ulster championship semi final from a frw years ago. I'd say he never had a harder or worse game. He was left on his ass a few times by the twisting and turning of skinner.

Aye definitely skinners finest moment and one that came to define his career. Has to be worth at least 2 of those Ulster Championships medals that McKeever has!!    ;D
Post by: Erwin Rommel on August 18, 2017, 08:19:03 PM
And who can forget when he cried about 'racism' he suffered against Laois despite him being known for sledging shite himself, one incident against Martin Clarke was particularly unsavoury.

I seem to have forgot that.

any chance you could post a link to a quote from McKeever. Just to prove like that your not talking through your hole.
Post by: rrhf on August 18, 2017, 09:06:53 PM
Didn't he captain his club to the county final one year as well. Overall he was a trenches man for his teams and  putting county rivalries aside he was armaghs leader for 10 years.
Post by: Itchy on August 18, 2017, 09:20:27 PM
I can see why Armagh fans would like him but I thought he was a 2nd grade thug on the field. Armagh had some great players like McDonnell and mcconville. Mckeever wasnt one of them.
Post by: T Fearon on August 18, 2017, 09:20:36 PM
Longest lasting member of the All Ireland U21 winning side of 2004,and a survivor of the epic battles with Tyrone in 2005,harshly penalised for Tyrone's winning Free in the AI semi final that year.His soccer equivalent in terms of style and commitment would be Celtic skipper Scott Brown

Has to be admired for not walking away prematurely,like so many of that U21 side did,and not only a great footballer,but expert organiser of pre match band parades😂😂
Post by: naka on August 18, 2017, 10:15:40 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 18, 2017, 09:20:27 PM
I can see why Armagh fans would like him but I thought he was a 2nd grade thug on the field. Armagh had some great players like McDonnell and mcconville. Mckeever wasnt one of them.
No need to be rancorous if you don't like him that's all well and good he didn't get paid for it but he represented Armagh every year for 14 years with pride
Sometimes in an amateur sport there really isn't any glory only guys like you who will undermine
Am 50 years of age and have watched great players in down ( linden , James etc) in Tyrone ( Peter,o Neill) Derry ( gilligan , tohill)
He was a good servant for Armagh no need to  be depreciating
Post by: Targetman on August 18, 2017, 10:31:05 PM
As a Down man I feckin hated to see Mc Keever playing against us, he was effective in most of the things he did, legal or otherwise but I always said we could do with a McKeever or 2 in our team, still could!
Post by: StGallsGAA on August 18, 2017, 11:59:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 18, 2017, 09:20:36 PM
Longest lasting member of the All Ireland U21 winning side of 2004,and a survivor of the epic battles with Tyrone in 2005,harshly penalised for Tyrone's winning Free in the AI semi final that year.His soccer equivalent in terms of style and commitment would be Celtic skipper Scott Brown

Has to be admired for not walking away prematurely,like so many of that U21 side did,and not only a great footballer,but expert organiser of pre match band parades😂😂
Did he foul O'Neill?  Of course he did.  He said himself he could have no complaints as he just wanted to stop a nailed on score any way he could.

Post by: regal on August 19, 2017, 12:17:24 AM
Fair play to the Tyrone and Down folk who have been fair and honest in their comments on mckeever. I must say as someone who has been less than gracious at times when Tyrone players have retired over the years, I've been impressed by many of the respectful comments. I'm starting to come round to supporting Tyrone next Sunday!!

I compare that to the disparaging comments from some of the Derry contingent. Considering I can't remember Derry palying a serious championship with Armagh (or many others) in 17 years, I must say that their comments would explain why their county is about 40 years behind the rest of the country. Narrow minded, parochial, bitter and distasteful.

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 19, 2017, 01:19:20 AM
Quote from: rrhf on August 18, 2017, 09:06:53 PM
Didn't he captain his club to the county final one year as well. Overall he was a trenches man for his teams and  putting county rivalries aside he was armaghs leader for 10 years.

Well said, if any fans had reason to dislike McKeever, it was Tyrone fans.

But I'm glad to see a lot of Tyrone lads on here have good respect and appreciation for what McKeever gave to Armagh. Personally, I've always seen him as a credit to Ulster football. Nevermind the bitter Derry ones.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 19, 2017, 03:51:33 AM
Quote from: regal on August 19, 2017, 12:17:24 AM
Fair play to the Tyrone and Down folk who have been fair and honest in their comments on mckeever. I must say as someone who has been less than gracious at times when Tyrone players have retired over the years, I've been impressed by many of the respectful comments. I'm starting to come round to supporting Tyrone next Sunday!!

I compare that to the disparaging comments from some of the Derry contingent. Considering I can't remember Derry palying a serious championship with Armagh (or many others) in 17 years, I must say that their comments would explain why their county is about 40 years behind the rest of the country. Narrow minded, parochial, bitter and distasteful.

Ive been steadily unimpressed.
Im putting it down to giving him the send off he deserved on his last outing tho, when the dist settles on his career he'll be remembered more appropriately.
Post by: Seamus on August 19, 2017, 10:59:04 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on August 19, 2017, 01:19:20 AM

But I'm glad to see a lot of Tyrone lads on here have good respect and appreciation for what McKeever gave to Armagh. Personally, I've always seen him as a credit to Ulster football. Nevermind the bitter Derry ones.

If he wore a green and gold jersey you would be foaming from the mouth.

Post by: tonto1888 on August 19, 2017, 11:40:52 AM
Quote from: lenny on August 18, 2017, 02:39:33 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on August 18, 2017, 01:56:31 PM

A lot better than an average player. And he won't have beenthe only one to have been given a bad time by Bradley
Post by: T Fearon on August 19, 2017, 02:10:27 PM
I see Bradley has paid a generous tribute to Ciaran in today's Irish News.At the end of the day the lad has had every bit as long in a county jersey as Sean Cavanagh,under more trying circumstances,with different managers etc and very often little prospect of winning anything,so he deserves the utmost credit for loyalty and commitment.
Post by: Armamike on August 19, 2017, 03:08:49 PM
Couple of good articles in the IN today and yesterday. There seems to be some interest in him outside of Armagh!
Post by: T Fearon on August 19, 2017, 03:27:43 PM
Proof that he was a hig profile long serving county player in Ulster
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 19, 2017, 04:49:57 PM
Quote from: Seamus on August 19, 2017, 10:59:04 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on August 19, 2017, 01:19:20 AM

If he wore a green and gold jersey you would be foaming from the mouth.

If he played in green and gold there would probably be a media ban on discussing his transgressions and he'd have a propaganda machine trying to rewrite history involving him.
Post by: Gaffer on August 19, 2017, 05:10:21 PM
Mckeever was definitely a man you would want on your side!!!
Post by: rrhf on August 19, 2017, 05:26:49 PM
Actually it's amazing to see the Derry poison pen letters on here. Made me think when was the last time Derry paid tribute to one of their own never mind anyone else's. Self loathing negativity is alive and well in the oak leaf county. As Damian Cassidy said in the Irish news last week. The sniping needs to stop. I can think of several long serving members of Derry gaa who retired over the last 10 years - not one tribute thread from the Derry ones.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 19, 2017, 05:31:42 PM
Quote from: rrhf on August 19, 2017, 05:26:49 PM
Actually it's amazing to see the Derry poison pen letters on here. Made me think when was the last time Derry paid tribute to one of their own never mind anyone else's. Self loathing negativity is alive and well in the oak leaf county. As Damian Cassidy said in the Irish news last week. The sniping needs to stop. I can think of several long serving members of Derry gaa who retired over the last 10 years - not one tribute thread from the Derry ones.

Derry fans are fifth columnists, they want their county to fail.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on August 19, 2017, 05:56:33 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on August 19, 2017, 05:31:42 PM
Derry fans are fifth columnists, they want their county to fail.

Theyve been having a great time then. Says something when one of your big memories is Eoin Bradley having a good Ulster semi-final.  ::)
Post by: T Fearon on August 20, 2017, 08:34:02 PM
I recall a league trip to Derry in the glory years.The abuse meted out by the natives to the Armagh players and management was vile.I cannot recall worse anywhere at anytime,and I remember Joe Kernan going public about it on TV and the press after the game.
Post by: ONeill on August 20, 2017, 08:35:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 19, 2017, 02:10:27 PM
I see Bradley has paid a generous tribute to Ciaran in today's Irish News.At the end of the day the lad has had every bit as long in a county jersey as Sean Cavanagh,

No he didn't.
Post by: stew on August 20, 2017, 10:44:45 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 20, 2017, 08:34:02 PM
I recall a league trip to Derry in the glory years.The abuse meted out by the natives to the Armagh players and management was vile.I cannot recall worse anywhere at anytime,and I remember Joe Kernan going public about it on TV and the press after the game.

I was at a game many moons ago when Armagh played Derry in Clones, I happened to be with a Grange player who was as hard as nails, this big hoor from Derry was goading my mate for a good half hour and thought my mate was afraid of him, he wasn't, he had manners, finally the kn**ker from Derry faced him and was rendered unconscious with one punch to the jaw, I warned him it was going to happen and sure enough.

In fairness to Throne and Down, their fans are great and respect their fellow gaels, the Derry support are the worst I have ever met in Gaa circles.

( I still want them to hammer tyrone and down however)
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 21, 2017, 08:57:20 AM

I recall a number of matches against Armagh where I've seen drunken Armagh fans goad Derry people about everything they could think of on and off the pitch for the duration of games. Means nothing as far as this thread is concerned. This thread is about Ciaran McKeever as a player, not Armagh and my comments are my own and not meant to represent Derry. The reaction to my opinion just shows how parochial and small minded Armagh people are.

Armagh produced plenty of good tough and clean defenders over the years that I have great admiration for like McGeeny and the McNulties. McKeever was just a thug who chatted shite and then cried wolf when he took a bit of sledging himself.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 21, 2017, 09:04:29 AM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 21, 2017, 08:57:20 AM
I recall a number of matches against Armagh where I've seen drunken Armagh fans goad Derry people about everything they could think of on and off the pitch for the duration of games. Means nothing as far as this thread is concerned. This thread is about Ciaran McKeever as a player, not Armagh and my comments are my own and not meant to represent Derry. The reaction to my opinion just shows how parochial and small minded Armagh people are.

Armagh produced plenty of good tough and clean defenders over the years that I have great admiration for like McGeeny and the McNulties. McKeever was just a thug who chatted shite and then cried wolf when he took a bit of sledging himself.

Ironic really - the fact that you accuse McKeever as someone who 'cried wolf' really does show you up as someone who is indeed 'small minded'.

McKeever never said a word about the sledging incident, despite the fact he was the recipient of the sledging. The issue was raised by Armagh officials, but sure why let the truth get in the way of your own small minded agenda.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 21, 2017, 09:20:36 AM
First memory of him was acting the thug during the 2005 Ulster replay - didn't he only get a second yellow opposed to Canavan's red yet McKeever was the aggressor?
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 21, 2017, 10:04:23 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 21, 2017, 09:04:29 AM

Ironic really - the fact that you accuse McKeever as someone who 'cried wolf' really does show you up as someone who is indeed 'small minded'.

McKeever never said a word about the sledging incident, despite the fact he was the recipient of the sledging. The issue was raised by Armagh officials, but sure why let the truth get in the way of your own small minded agenda.

Of course he did. It wasn't him who put out the statement but he obviously bitched about it! It was hilarious, the schoolyard bully moaning to the teacher. 
Post by: punt kick on August 21, 2017, 10:09:01 AM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 21, 2017, 10:04:23 AM

Of course he did. It wasn't him who put out the statement but he obviously bitched about it! It was hilarious, the schoolyard bully moaning to the teacher.

You sound like someone with small dick syndrome kid, who took your dinner money every day?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 21, 2017, 10:22:48 AM

You are simply putting you own slant on something and wishing that had happened - like I said, small minded. 
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 21, 2017, 10:28:21 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 21, 2017, 10:22:48 AM

You are simply putting you own slant on something and wishing that had happened - like I said, small minded.

How did it get out then?
Post by: ziggysego on August 21, 2017, 10:47:34 AM
At least Armagh ones now know what we have to put up with, with those Derry ones....  ::)

As for McKeever, hated seeing him line out against Tyrone. Hard hitting as they come, but a good solid footballer and would have wanted him born across the Blackwater so he could play for us.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 21, 2017, 10:58:20 AM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 21, 2017, 10:28:21 AM
How did it get out then?

Part of the sledging took place in the tunnel. There was no attempt to be discreet about it. 

The decision to report it took place at an official level and I can assure you was not a universally popular decision within Armagh.
Post by: tonto1888 on August 21, 2017, 11:07:31 AM

Just give it up
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 22, 2017, 09:57:57 PM
Quote from: stew on August 20, 2017, 10:44:45 PM

I was at a game many moons ago when Armagh played Derry in Clones, I happened to be with a Grange player who was as hard as nails, this big hoor from Derry was goading my mate for a good half hour and thought my mate was afraid of him, he wasn't, he had manners, finally the kn**ker from Derry faced him and was rendered unconscious with one punch to the jaw, I warned him it was going to happen and sure enough.

In fairness to Throne and Down, their fans are great and respect their fellow gaels, the Derry support are the worst I have ever met in Gaa circles.

An unsurprisingly classless story from stew. And one without a word of truth in it - there is no way an Armagh supporter would be sober enough to land a knockout punch on anyone.

That's a joke BTW
Post by: Armamike on August 22, 2017, 11:39:48 PM
Quote from: stew on August 20, 2017, 10:44:45 PM

Sounds like Wolfie  ;D