Movie recommendations

Started by corn02, October 23, 2007, 10:13:39 AM

Hamburger Hill is a decent Vietnam War movie.

Quote from: JimStynes on February 05, 2017, 01:18:09 PM
I said that about 2 pages back!

Hurt Locker is excellent btw way Canalman!

JPGJOHNNYG

Finally gave sing street a go was expecting nothing special but actually really enjoyed it.

maigheo

Talking to a nam vet a few years ago and he said that Hamburger hill was the closest depiction of the Vietnam war that he had seen.

Quote from: maigheo on February 05, 2017, 05:41:27 PM
Talking to a nam vet a few years ago and he said that Hamburger hill was the closest depiction of the Vietnam war that he had seen.

I visited the site of the battle when I was travelling around Vietnam on motorbikes. Wee lads were selling marines dog tags. I got a couple and have been meaning to look up the fellas who they belonged to. The tour guide was a Vietnamese solider who fought for the Americans. Class experience.

Arthur_Friend

Unwatchable cliche-ridden rubbish.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yZOLq82m2Ks

Frankie Boyle pretty much sums up all Vietnam war movies in this sketch.

Quote from: Arthur_Friend on February 05, 2017, 06:55:28 PM

Unwatchable cliche-ridden rubbish.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yZOLq82m2Ks

Frankie Boyle pretty much sums up all Vietnam war movies in this sketch.

It's decent enough in my opinion. Never said it was the best film of all time or anything.

Anyone remember the programme 'Tour of Duty'? I remember thinking it was class when I was a wee lad. Probably a load of shite if I watched it now.

Always loved the intro and the music.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0z6fcd--354

A few that haven't been mention, Cross of Iron, Casualties of War, Tora Tora Tora, We were soldiers... add in a few favourites Platoon, a bridge too far, Das boot, and Saving private Ryan

Watched Live by Night. Thank god I streamed it and didnt go to the cinema to see it!!

Watched Don't Breathe over the weekend.
A film about these 3 young kids who break into a blind man's house.
Really enjoyed it.

Watched Hacksaw Ridge last night. I thought it was very good. 8/10

Quote from: laoislad on February 07, 2017, 08:27:04 AM
Watched Hacksaw Ridge last night. I thought it was very good. 8/10

Yep, cinema for kacksaw Ridge last night too.  Would agree with the 8/10.  Too much shite at the start for me.  Also the film makes it out like Okinawa was his 1st experience of WW2 when Wikipedia tells me different.

Also watched Girl on the Train recently. Keek. 4/10.

Quote from: leenie on February 04, 2017, 01:13:11 PM
Any views on passengers ?  Is it worth a watch ? Hasn't gone down well with critics.

Some of ye could have answered and saved me the last two hours

Quote from: leenie on February 09, 2017, 09:38:22 PM
Quote from: leenie on February 04, 2017, 01:13:11 PM
Any views on passengers ?  Is it worth a watch ? Hasn't gone down well with critics.

Some of ye could have answered and saved me the last two hours

Had it down for this weekend, is it to be avoided then?

I watched it one night during the week and didn't think it was that bad, or that good.  Could have done a lot more with it.