GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: redsetanta on July 19, 2016, 12:12:20 PM

Title: Laois GAA website
Post by: redsetanta on July 19, 2016, 12:12:20 PM
The website still has team news for the Armagh game in their main news section. Despite having county fixtures and results section there is nothing there.
Over the weekend their were developement squads in action with not a word anywhere. Over the last few weeks we had the celtic cup hurling and again no coverage at all on the website.
How difficult would it be for someone to gather the data and info from respective managers, coaches or reporters if they were there and put the info on the site.
The website is almost a mirror for the interest in LAoois GAA at the moment. You would get more info about Laois teams from other county sites.
It reflects badly on the county board and surely it would benefit the younger players to be able to see some photos or reports from their games.
A very poor effort by whoever is in charge of it. We are so far down the technology road at this stage and we cannot update our official website.
Title: Re: Laois GAA website
Post by: Unlaoised on July 19, 2016, 12:16:39 PM
I agree it's being a gripe of mine for a long time now!
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 19, 2016, 12:53:27 PM
Ye beat me to it lads. The website and twitter account used to be so much better. It's a real pity how they've slipped since the previous IT officer stepped down.
Having a month old team sheet as the most recent news item is embarrassing.
Post by: Don Draper on July 19, 2016, 02:06:33 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on July 19, 2016, 12:53:27 PM
Ye beat me to it lads. The website and twitter account used to be so much better. It's a real pity how they've slipped since the previous IT officer stepped down.
Having a month old team sheet as the most recent news item is embarrassing.
Would seem so. The issue is the previous IT Officer wasn't replaced and the work was just landed somewhere else. It reflects badly on the current PRO if anyone.
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on July 19, 2016, 08:04:19 PM
given that we have a full time secretary, you would think he could find half an hour most weeks/days and update things.
the PRO after all is just another volunteer as distinct from a career professional.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 19, 2016, 09:28:59 PM
Surely there's an IT officer?! There has to be really.
Post by: Downtheroad on July 19, 2016, 10:21:18 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on July 19, 2016, 09:28:59 PM
Surely there's an IT officer?! There has to be really.
I don't see it as an IT Officer role to update news on a website. It's an administrative task which falls within the office in Portlaoise. The PRO should see that it is done and at the very least the full time secretary should get somebody to do the thing if he hasn't time himself. I would see the IT officer role more of a technical nature and there's plenty of that to be done. By the way Portlaoise B seems to have been corrected as I haven't seen it in a while.

The other point is social media which is very  quiet at Laois GAA level. Basically the best chance of getting news is through clubs social media which is run by volunteers. I think I'm fast coming to the conclusion that if people are paid to do what were ostensibly volunteer tasks, it comes a chore and probably needs to be added to the role profile.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 20, 2016, 01:30:34 AM
Totally agree with all comments above, the site is a disgrace and a slap in the face to all Laois supporters. It's the first place you go to if you wand to find out about all things Laois but it's sadly lacking in information.
This forum is way better in terms of information than our "Official Laois Website" and only for this place we would be in a sorry place if we wanted to discuss things.
Is it run by the county board or is it farmed out to someone..??
Post by: Bueller on July 20, 2016, 08:18:58 AM
Would any of you boys be willing to take on a bit of the work? Maybe a few of us could step up?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 21, 2016, 04:49:18 PM
Would the Co. Board allow that? The website must be maintained by someone at the moment and you can't just step in there and take over. I would certainly be willing to help out if it were possible.
Post by: Downtheroad on July 22, 2016, 01:21:03 PM
Here is the link to the Kilkenny Gaa website;    http://www.kilkennygaa.ie/

This is an eye opener as regards the standards expected. Also, they don't have a full time secretary laying down the law. Mind you I wouldn't mess with the likes of Ned Quinn and Jimmy Walsh  who are serious operators. The website has results going back to 2010. 
Post by: SCFC on July 24, 2016, 03:56:49 PM
They really should take down the so called "news" section.
Post by: Downtheroad on September 18, 2016, 10:32:13 PM
The Laois website hasn't updated results for a few days while the news section has not been changed since July.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 18, 2016, 11:16:26 PM
Doesn't even have the draws for the SFC Semi Finals up, one of the most important fixtures of the year for gaa gaels.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on September 19, 2016, 07:18:01 AM
last results up are for the 16th. SFC QF weekend and nothing posted.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on September 19, 2016, 07:26:19 PM
twitter and Facebook accounts are still reasonably current. Website is a shambles though and needs taking in hand.
Post by: redsetanta on September 19, 2016, 10:44:57 PM
It's a disgrace though. How hard is it to give someone afew hours a week to keep it updated.
Post by: LaoisHeart on September 22, 2016, 08:49:53 AM
I agree as it is a handy tool to have, im also experience problems with the mobile app, any1 else experience this??
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 22, 2016, 09:24:35 AM
At last some sign of life, they have posted up the semi final fixtures...
Post by: clonadmad on September 23, 2016, 06:00:18 PM
continuous issues with it,particularly in the juvenile sections with wrong table positions being put in place,incorrect scorelines,incorrect results and in some cases Portlaoise amongst others having 2 teams in the one division.

Sloppy and careless.
Post by: SCFC on September 23, 2016, 06:05:03 PM
I hear there's a new IT officer. Good luck to him. It's a thankless job! Hope he can pick things back up to the level they were at.
Post by: Zooming around on January 11, 2017, 04:07:40 PM
There's been some great stuff up on the website lately. Good pictures, previews and profiles. It's a big improvement. Obviously, someone else must be running it now.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on January 22, 2017, 09:19:15 AM
Credit where it's due, the website and social media accounts have picked up a lot recently. Fair play to whoever's involved.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 26, 2017, 07:38:47 PM
Totally agree with Hesh's comment 5 fold improvement any whoever is involved in this well done.
Post by: Downtheroad on January 26, 2017, 11:59:13 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 26, 2017, 07:38:47 PM
Totally agree with Hesh's comment 5 fold improvement any whoever is involved in this well done.
Have to agree well done to those working on the system. Great to see Co board notes up on the system as well.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on April 26, 2017, 11:02:57 PM
At it again...U12 Div1 hurling. Teams down to play home and away on the same night.

27/04/2017
18:30   Borris in Ossory Kilcotton   -   vs   -   Castletown Slieve Bloom      More
18:30   Camross   -   vs   -   The Harps      More
18:30   Castletown Slieve Bloom   -   vs   -   Clough-Ballacolla      More
18:30   Clough-Ballacolla   -   vs   -   Abbeyleix St Lazarians      More
18:30   Portlaoise GAA   -   vs   -   Camross      More
18:30   Rathdowney Errill   -   vs   -   Borris in Ossory Kilcotton      More
18:30   Rathdowney Errill   -   vs   -   Portlaoise GAA      More
18:30   The Harps   -   vs   -   Raheen Parish Gaels      More
Post by: clonadmad on April 28, 2017, 10:16:36 AM
The juvenile section as regards both results and fixtures seems to be a shambles again,how hard can it be to input match results?.
Post by: Zooming around on April 28, 2017, 04:02:20 PM
Quote from: Dave like the tv channel on April 26, 2017, 11:02:57 PM
At it again...U12 Div1 hurling. Teams down to play home and away on the same night.

27/04/2017
18:30   Borris in Ossory Kilcotton   -   vs   -   Castletown Slieve Bloom      More

A lot of clubs have two teams at U12. Maybe that's why they're down twice
Post by: clonadmad on April 28, 2017, 04:35:30 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on April 28, 2017, 04:02:20 PM
Quote from: Dave like the tv channel on April 26, 2017, 11:02:57 PM

27/04/2017

A lot of clubs have two teams at U12. Maybe that's why they're down twice

Nope second teams are in the div3 section,lack of attention to detail
Post by: redsetanta on May 09, 2017, 10:13:27 AM
Also there is a county fixtures section which is blank.

There are minor and senior games in both hurling and football coming up in the next few weeks. How difficult is it to put these fixtures on the site? There are people who browse the site who would go to these games if they knew they were on.

How can you have the go to website for county gaa without the county fixtures or results. It's not good enough to be honest!
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 09, 2017, 11:52:10 AM
U12 Div3 was available until recently. U12 Div1 & 2 fixtures all messed up. It's a lack of basic attention to detail that I find frustrating.
Post by: redsetanta on June 19, 2018, 04:01:59 PM
Who is actually in charge of maintaining and updated the Laois GAA officialk website? It's a joke still. Nothing about the Leinster final at all in the news section. Two tabs for county fixtures and results and both are blank. We had minor hurlers, u20 footballers in the past week and no mention at all.
Evening a lad doing it part time on a few quid a week would have the time to do this. Surely no more than a few hours required. County news and results are totally neglected.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 19, 2018, 05:08:18 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 19, 2018, 04:01:59 PM
Who is actually in charge of maintaining and updated the Laois GAA officialk website? It's a joke still. Nothing about the Leinster final at all in the news section. Two tabs for county fixtures and results and both are blank. We had minor hurlers, u20 footballers in the past week and no mention at all.
Evening a lad doing it part time on a few quid a week would have the time to do this. Surely no more than a few hours required. County news and results are totally neglected.

Agree, it's a total disgrace. Our first Leinster Final for 11 years and our official county website has nothing about it.
Post by: Andy06 on June 19, 2018, 08:02:00 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 19, 2018, 04:01:59 PM

As far as I am concerned, here and LaoisToday are the official Laois GAA websites! That other one is just a waste of good domain name!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 20, 2018, 12:49:29 AM
Agree Andy, this site has developed into a fantastic outlet for Laois people to find news about everything GAA related in Laois. We have a lot of intelligent and well informed people here who can debate and argue most times without insulting each other.

This is my go to site every day to find out the latest news and gossip about the GAA in Laois. Since Laois Today came on stream we now have another fantastic resource to avail of and it provides far more info that the so called "Official Laois Website". Whoever is responsible for that site should either shut it down or put some effort into it and make it worth visiting as at the moment it's useless.

I'm not sure how many members we have here but I would encourage everyone to let fellow Laois supporters know about this site. There are a lot of people who love to talk about GAA in Laois but the only website they know about and visit is the official one. Maybe Laois Today would post up a link to our place and encourage people to come in and have a bit of chat and banter... and a cup of tae.. :)
Post by: Don Draper on June 20, 2018, 05:48:31 AM
Shut down laoisgaa? What the f**k? Are you going to do the fixtures results and tables?!!

You lads are f**king mental at times.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on June 20, 2018, 08:48:27 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 20, 2018, 05:48:31 AM
Shut down laoisgaa? What the f**k? Are you going to do the fixtures results and tables?!!

Agreed but there is no other reason to visit the site.
Maybe they should strip back the site and just use it for results, team announcements,
Maybe a link to the Facebook and Twitter feeds too as they seem to be the main communication methods these days.
Websites seem to be dying a death for GAA clubs these days.
Post by: Don Draper on June 20, 2018, 09:39:27 AM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on June 20, 2018, 08:48:27 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 20, 2018, 05:48:31 AM

Agreed but there is no other reason to visit the site.
Maybe they should strip back the site and just use it for results, team announcements,
Maybe a link to the Facebook and Twitter feeds too as they seem to be the main communication methods these days.
Websites seem to be dying a death for GAA clubs these days.
The website itself needs a lot of work, its been let go to rack and ruin in recent years, I presume its the office and IT Officers job to take care of it, and its not being done.

BUT, as you no doubt know, the tables, fixtures, results are an excellent resource. I remember and I'm sure you do too, back in the day trying to find results, and you'd get the top one or two tables printed in the Leinster every couple of weeks at best. Its naive and ignorant in the extreme to say shut it down. It could do more, but its still doing plenty.
Post by: Giovanni on June 20, 2018, 09:51:09 AM
Just so that you might inform yourself a little Don, this is what a GAA website can look like

https://www.dublingaa.ie/

I'm sure you'll have all the smartass ripostes about Dublin's resources now....

But it seems Longford are able to do it too:

http://longfordgaa.ie/

There isn't a poster here who would prefer to see the Laois website shut down but it's fair to say that they are putting little or no effort into it. Putting up the fixtures on a website is hardly the pinnacle of information management in the GAA, is it? If you go through all 32 counties, you'll hardly find a worse example of public relations.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on June 20, 2018, 09:54:20 AM
Ah I don't think anyone would seriously suggest not having a website but a good tidy up is needed. It's great for results and league  tables in general.
Kildare site seems to be very poor too.
Post by: Don Draper on June 20, 2018, 10:27:32 AM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 20, 2018, 09:51:09 AM
Just so that you might inform yourself a little Don, this is what a GAA website can look like

https://www.dublingaa.ie/

I'm sure you'll have all the smartass ripostes about Dublin's resources now....

But it seems Longford are able to do it too:

http://longfordgaa.ie/

There isn't a poster here who would prefer to see the Laois website shut down but it's fair to say that they are putting little or no effort into it. Putting up the fixtures on a website is hardly the pinnacle of information management in the GAA, is it? If you go through all 32 counties, you'll hardly find a worse example of public relations.
Excuse me, but a poster did suggest shutting it down. Even if it is a hape of shit, it is still vital for club results and tables. So no matter what it is, once its doing that, it is fulfilling a remit.

Dublin cannot be compared, that is being run by a professional entity.

What needs to be done is to find out who is in charge of the website and ask why nothing is being done about it.

And I'm sure we'd find a few shambolic efforts from around the country if we looked.
Post by: Giovanni on June 20, 2018, 10:39:30 AM
Fair enough Don. Apologies.

I think it is fair of the lads on here to want/expect a bit better than we can see right now.

Website maintenance is not a difficult thing and probably wouldn't need more than a half day a week so it should be possible to do better.
Post by: recyclebin on January 01, 2020, 06:30:52 PM
Looks like the Laois GAA website got a refresh. Fixtures still as bad as ever though . No sign of Laois inter-county league fixtures to be found!
Post by: SCFC on January 02, 2020, 10:37:40 AM
Quote from: recyclebin on January 01, 2020, 06:30:52 PM
Looks like the Laois GAA website got a refresh. Fixtures still as bad as ever though . No sign of Laois inter-county league fixtures to be found!
I'd give them a bit of time. New PRO and all that. But first impressions of new site (on smartphone) are pretty underwhelming.
Post by: recyclebin on January 04, 2020, 04:58:48 PM
Doesn't seem to be a way to filter fixtures by club anymore . My old bookmark for my club no longer works.
Hopefully they read this forum and fix that. It was very useful!

The archive of results from last few years is also gone. That was handy to have too.
Post by: Blow-in on January 22, 2020, 08:27:03 PM
New website a mine field
Post by: redsetanta on January 28, 2020, 11:30:10 AM
Much better impact when you go to the site with the new design however the old failings are there. Nothing new since county finals. Very little info in some parts of the site. No contact info if you want to send email etc. An online shop with nothing to sell.

They have a lovely new 2020 LS car but forgot to put an engine in it.