The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

Quote from: Gmac on July 19, 2022, 09:26:12 AM
Only 3 countries had previously won a test series in nz plus the lions once.
Anyone who played a test match against nz would probably not call it a friendly.

Don't get me started on that.

tiempo

Tell you what though, the NZ press gang going in on the players and management, them hoors would need to get off their high horse and learn how to take a beating

Quote from: tiempo on July 19, 2022, 10:26:14 AM
Tell you what though, the NZ press gang going in on the players and management, them hoors would need to get off their high horse and learn how to take a beating

Sure it was only a friendly beating at the three sell out games, barely any coverage considering it was a friendly and you'd really have to do an internet search just to get the results...

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 18, 2022, 10:12:19 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 18, 2022, 08:38:52 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 18, 2022, 05:55:45 PM
Quote from: delgany on July 18, 2022, 05:24:16 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 18, 2022, 04:19:44 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 17, 2022, 10:25:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2022, 10:07:47 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 17, 2022, 09:54:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2022, 09:46:56 PM
So one persons view on it.. thanks  ;D

We're you expecting an article joint written by 10 people?

Well if it was plenty of creditable sports journos you'd look at it, but if someone like you who doesn't even know the rules of GAA says something then I'll not worry about it..

It was a sporting first for Ireland, take it for what it is. The best team (ranked one) is beaten over 3 games

Nope.

In tbe context of a conversation about the press losing the run of themselves an article describing the tour win as Ireland's best ever sporting result was mentioned. You seemed to disbelieve this and when shown up are complaining it's only one article. You would give anadin a headache

it was hardly Ireland's best ever sporting result

Surely, in the hierarchy of Rugby's Roll of honour- It
Would be
1. World Cup Winners
2. SIX nations - grand slam
3. Triple Crown
4. Test Victory ?

How plenty would see it.

Yeah but the Rugby lads... y'know the ones who have been involved in the game all their lives and played it at the top level... are saying it's Irelands best ever achievement!

As lads who only started following Rugby in the early 2000s do we just ignore their opinion and pretend we know better?

But they have form talking shite.

Remember when they beat the AB's in Chicago. That was Ireland's best ever result in any sport. The soccer lads beat Germany the next day. It wasn't even the best Irish result of the week

I mean, the soccer match you're on about was 14 months before the rugby, but why let small details like facts get in the way.

Mikhail Prokhorov

Quote from: gallsman on July 19, 2022, 11:05:06 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 18, 2022, 10:12:19 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 18, 2022, 08:38:52 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 18, 2022, 05:55:45 PM
Quote from: delgany on July 18, 2022, 05:24:16 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 18, 2022, 04:19:44 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 17, 2022, 10:25:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2022, 10:07:47 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 17, 2022, 09:54:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2022, 09:46:56 PM
So one persons view on it.. thanks  ;D

We're you expecting an article joint written by 10 people?

Well if it was plenty of creditable sports journos you'd look at it, but if someone like you who doesn't even know the rules of GAA says something then I'll not worry about it..

It was a sporting first for Ireland, take it for what it is. The best team (ranked one) is beaten over 3 games

Nope.

In tbe context of a conversation about the press losing the run of themselves an article describing the tour win as Ireland's best ever sporting result was mentioned. You seemed to disbelieve this and when shown up are complaining it's only one article. You would give anadin a headache

it was hardly Ireland's best ever sporting result

Surely, in the hierarchy of Rugby's Roll of honour- It
Would be
1. World Cup Winners
2. SIX nations - grand slam
3. Triple Crown
4. Test Victory ?

How plenty would see it.

Yeah but the Rugby lads... y'know the ones who have been involved in the game all their lives and played it at the top level... are saying it's Irelands best ever achievement!

As lads who only started following Rugby in the early 2000s do we just ignore their opinion and pretend we know better?

But they have form talking shite.

Remember when they beat the AB's in Chicago. That was Ireland's best ever result in any sport. The soccer lads beat Germany the next day. It wasn't even the best Irish result of the week

I mean, the soccer match you're on about was 14 months before the rugby, but why let small details like facts get in the way.

it was austria we beat in the soccer that week, in vienna too, not quite germany but definitely more of an achievement that the chicago win

He confused a win over Austria in the early stages of WC qualifying with a win over the reigning World Champions thanks to one of the most iconic goals ever to guarantee at least a playoff place for the Euros that actually happened more than a year previously? Hmmm.

tiempo

Quote from: gallsman on July 19, 2022, 11:24:41 AM
He confused a win over Austria in the early stages of WC qualifying with a win over the reigning World Champions thanks to one of the most iconic goals ever to guarantee at least a playoff place for the Euros that actually happened more than a year previously? Hmmm.

Bit much no?

Should have been "One of the most iconic Irish goals".

Ash Smoker

Or more like a typical Irish goal. Long boot from the keeper.

tiempo

Quote from: Ash Smoker on July 19, 2022, 11:54:13 AM
Or more like a typical Irish goal. Long boot from the keeper.

It was some hoof to be fair

Never got the Lions overreaction too anytime they win. How is it a big deal for a combination side to beat a team that most of the individual countries beat and where a few, if not all of these countries, may be ranked higher than the lions opposition.

Quote from: nrico2006 on July 19, 2022, 10:36:07 PM
Never got the Lions overreaction too anytime they win. How is it a big deal for a combination side to beat a team that most of the individual countries beat and where a few, if not all of these countries, may be ranked higher than the lions opposition.

I can understand the reaction to the Irish victory

Except for the twats calling it the 'greatest ever achievement in Irish sport'

They've lost the run of themselves a bit

The Lions however!

A hyper-marketed load of shite

A rugby version of the All-Stars tour

It started as a piss-up for the lads - until someone realised they could squeeze a few quid out of it because gullible fools could be talked into believing it was a great competition

JPGJOHNNYG

When I was a kid I enjoyed the lions tours but it was back in the eighties and nineties when none of the four 'home' teams were any good and zero chance of winning away in Oz or NZ. These days though Eng and Ireland are winning series on their own. Australian rugby is in a bad way to the extent you would almost back Scotland to beat them. I do think lions tours are becoming pretty pointless other than a jolly for the lads and money for the suits.

Professionalism has been much better for Northern Hemisphere rugby than Southern. All the big money is in England & France but the other European nations are benefiting from proximity.