The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

I don't usually subscribe to the persecution complex but can you imagine the media hoopla if this had happened on a GAA pitch? Joe Duffy's lines would be in meltdown, The Irish Times letters page would be overflowing into Social and Personal and Presbyterian Notes and Ryan Tubridy would be asking his guest to comment on it randomly in the middle of their dissertations on the X Factor.

Never mind - more fuel for the pub debates the next time Galvin pulls someone's hair or the like.

QuoteI don't usually subscribe to the persecution complex but can you imagine the media hoopla if this had happened on a GAA pitch

Exactly what I was thinking - An English mate of mine says Hartley is actually a Kiwi??

According to Wiki he moved from NZ when he was 14.

Quote from: Hardy on March 27, 2012, 06:33:10 PM
I don't usually subscribe to the persecution complex but can you imagine the media hoopla if this had happened on a GAA pitch? Joe Duffy's lines would be in meltdown, The Irish Times letters page would be overflowing into Social and Personal and Presbyterian Notes and Ryan Tubridy would be asking his guest to comment on it randomly in the middle of their dissertations on the X Factor.

Never mind - more fuel for the pub debates the next time Galvin pulls someone's hair or the like.

Hardy, let me tell about a worse case. Eoin Collins a former Leinster development officer played an AIL game for Boyne(Drogheda) Rugby Club against Highfield (Cork) Rugby Club just after Christmas and after an incident in a maul where Eoin was allegedly gouged he lost the sight in one of his eyes. Boyne tried to cite the player but due to a mix up ended up citing the wrong player. So far no one has been found guilty of this hideous act and the rugby media coverage has been a disgrace and very much head in the sand. You can only imagine what would be said if this was on a GAA pitch.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2012/0127/1224310845296.html

Celt_Man

Just beat me to it....   A terrific servant and a geunine nice guy, having met him once - he even bought me a drink!

Shane Horgan has announced his retirement from rugby due to a long-term knee injury

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2012/0328/315343-horgan-announces-immediate-retirement/

Leinster, Ireland and British & Irish Lions legend Shane Horgan has announced his retirement from rugby due to a long-term knee injury.

Educated in St. Mary's Diocesan School in Drogheda, Horgan represented his native Meath at Minor football level before joining Lansdowne FC upon leaving school.

Boyne right-winger Horgan, 33, won his first Leinster cap against Ulster in August 1998 and he went on to win a brace of Celtic League and Heineken Cup honours over the next 13 years.

He made 87 Heineken Cup appearances (scoring 27 tries) and was the first Leinster player to reach the double century cap mark. He made the last of his 207 Leinster appearances (in which he scored 71 tries and 1 drop goal) in the 2011 Grand Final in Thomond Park.

For Ireland, Horgan won the first of his 65 caps against Scotland in February 2000 (where he went on to score 21 career tries) and he was selected for both the 2003 and 2007 Rugby World Cups where he would in total make 8 appearances (scoring 2 tries). In all he was a part of three Triple Crown winning sides.

Commenting on the announcement, Horgan said: "Every professional sportsman realises that at some point their career will come to an end.

"I have been extremely fortunate to have played regularly for my province and with Ireland since my debut with Leinster in 1998 and while I am disappointed that injury has forced me to retire now, I know I have been very lucky to have had such a long and largely injury-free career."

"The support and expertise of the medical and fitness teams in Leinster and Ireland through the years has been first class. Their help, especially through the course of this injury, has been incredible.

"It has been a tremendous honour to represent my province and my country. When you first start playing sport that is the ultimate ambition but few people are lucky enough to realise it. I am just so grateful that I was given that opportunity.

"I am equally fortunate to have played at a time when Leinster and Ireland experienced such great success and alongside a group of players with unprecedented talent and ambition.

"I want to thank the IRFU and Leinster, my playing colleagues and friends in the game and the many people who helped to shape and influence my career at different points over the last 14 years.

"I would also like to thank Lansdowne FC and my home club of Boyne RFC for their continuous support since I started playing the game.

"My family has always been my principal guiding influence and support, so public acknowledgment today is but a small element of the appreciation I owe them.

"To perform at the top of any professional sport players need good coaches and Ireland has been well served during my time with the National squad.

"At Leinster, to have played under Mike Ruddock, Matt Williams, Michael Cheika and, as it turned out for the last season of my career, Joe Schmidt, represents the kind of good fortune that only "lucky" players get.

"My final expression of thanks is to the supporters of both Ireland and Leinster with whom I have shared some special days that I will never forget."

Leinster Rugby Chief Executive Michael Dawson said: "It is a sad day whenever a player has to retire prematurely, but Shane can look back on his long career with great pride.

"He was an integral part of both the Leinster and Ireland teams for a sustained period of time and his selection for the 2005 British & Irish Lions tour to New Zealand - where he earned three caps - was a high accolade which was richly deserved.

"For many supporters, Shane will be remembered for his outstanding feats on the international stage and it is somewhat fitting that his playing career finished on a high when he was invited by club captain Leo Cullen to join himself and Gordon D'Arcy on the winner's podium to receive the Heineken Cup trophy in the Millennium Stadium last year. That gesture summed up the high esteem in which Shane was held and continues to be held by his peers."

Leinster Coach Joe Schmidt added: "As one of the longest serving players in the professional age, Shane will no doubt go down as one of the greats of Leinster and Irish rugby.

"He was a strong leader within the group whose contribution off the field mirrored his many feats on it.

"It was great to be involved with Shane last season where his performances contributed so much to the success of the team. It was fitting that his final season culminated in a second Heineken Cup success.

"The last year has been a frustrating one for Shane with knee surgery and long periods of rehabilitation. Unfortunately, despite his best efforts, he has been unable to regain full fitness.

"It is a testament to Shane that his professionalism and influence have continued to impact positively on the group during this season.

"A born winner and resilient competitor, Shane's retirement will no doubt leave a void in the group, but I know that his legacy of excellence and athleticism will continue to inspire future generations and we wish him all the best in the future."

GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Smokin Joe

Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 28, 2012, 12:36:39 PM

Favourite Try

Winning Try against England 2006

I had a massive bet on Ireland in that game.  From memory we were about 6/4 or 2/1 (I made us favourites).  I let some yelp out of me when he went over the line.

That was fairly adventurous stuff from O'Gara there!!! Had nearly forgot about that Try it was an absolute clinker and as good a finish in the corner as you're ever likely to see!

Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 28, 2012, 12:28:37 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 27, 2012, 06:33:10 PM

Hardy, let me tell about a worse case. Eoin Collins a former Leinster development officer played an AIL game for Boyne(Drogheda) Rugby Club against Highfield (Cork) Rugby Club just after Christmas and after an incident in a maul where Eoin was allegedly gouged he lost the sight in one of his eyes. Boyne tried to cite the player but due to a mix up ended up citing the wrong player. So far no one has been found guilty of this hideous act and the rugby media coverage has been a disgrace and very much head in the sand. You can only imagine what would be said if this was on a GAA pitch.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2012/0127/1224310845296.html

Yes - I knew about this from my rugby contacts down here and it is much worse. The only media mention of it I've seen is that short piece in the IT you posted, which kinda makes the point OK.

Eoin is a local lad and would have played football with our club when he was younger.

Its sickening to your stomach to hear these things happening. It's a pity they can't find the perpetrator and worse still that he hasn't the decency to come forward.

Celt_Man

Bejaysus - out of action for 4 months, big loss for the tour to New Zealand

Tommy Bowe may miss Ireland's summer tour

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2012/0406/316351-bowe-out-of-action-for-up-to-four-months/

Tommy Bowe has played his last game for the Ospreys and could miss Ireland's tour to New Zealand this summer.

The Ospreys have announced that 28-year-old Bowe will undergo surgery in Ireland today for the removal of a haematoma that has pushed into his kidney and caused raised blood pressure.

Bowe, who will rejoin Ulster next term after four years playing in Wales, has been ruled out for the remainder of this season, and the Ospreys say he could face four months sidelined.

"Having discovered he was suffering from high blood pressure earlier this year, he has been put through a number of medical tests to identify the cause of the problem," the Ospreys said in a statement.

"These tests have shown that he has, in the past, suffered a haematoma that is pushing into his left kidney, with further tests indicating that this is the reason for the raised blood pressure.

"After considerable consultation with specialists in both Ireland and Wales, Tommy has opted to go down the route of surgical removal of the haematoma in an effort to solve the problem.

"He is being operated on in Ireland today, before returning to Wales post-op to convalesce.

"Because of the surgery, he will not be able to play any further part for the Ospreys this season, ahead of his return to Ulster for next season.

"Recovery time post-operation is unclear, but he could be sidelined for up to four months."

Bowe, a 2009 British and Irish Lion in South Africa, added: "Obviously, this news unfortunately means that I won't get to wear the Ospreys shirt again.

"But it is important that I get this problem sorted as soon as possible.

"Hopefully, the Ospreys will have a home (RaboDirect PRO12) semi-final and final in May so that I can still get down to the Liberty Stadium to say farewell and a big thank you to the supporters."

GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Great performance by the u20s beating South Africa in the World Cup this evening. That Hanrahan lad from Currow looks a good prospect.

What sort of standing would that SA team be in world U-20 rugby DH? It was a very enjoyable game, fair play to the lads. SA lads seemed pissed that the ref didn't let them take that scrum at the end.

Capt Pat

The southern hemisphere teams have bossed this level of the game over the years and beating the saffers at home is a great result as it would be at senior level. We didn't even have our best team starting today. Layden and McGrath at scrum half are better imho.