The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

The lads on telly were saying NZ were at 100% but they didn't need to be at that level.
Ireland seemed to have no real creativity in the middle and then we seemed to be pushing out the wings and then we tried to force kicks. Hansen, Lowe and the Sexton one in the 2nd half that was NEVER coming off are good examples.

We just seemed to be plodding over and back with a wall of black in front of us. Sexton was poor overall I thought and wasn't playing as flat as normal and he just seemed to be shipping it on one.

Then we were beaten in the line-out at the start too and fecked up a few try-scoring positions. We didn't seem to be able to deal with helter skelter as much as the All Blacks who were able for our system and then struck when they did.

I see some of the player ratings and they are very generous to some of our lads. We didn't deserve to win it at all. I'll always say that the international series are pointless as there are teams at different stages of their season. BUT when it comes to the World Cup where everyone is aiming to be at 100% we never get it right.

For the record I was roaring them on last night, but we can't go talking about heroism and effort at this level from a team that allegedly was above that.

Pub Bore

NZ by 4 was a fair result.  They were slightly the better team. Small point, but part of me did worry seeing players carrying babies around the pitch after the Scotland game like Ireland had won something.  Other point, I thought Barnes reffed it well.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 15, 2023, 11:51:36 AMWell, that's that.

Our Princess Di moment - without any deaths.

Move on. Nothing to see here.
The circus has now moved on to Clonguish v Killoe in the interplanetary championship this afternoon.

Quote from: bannside on October 15, 2023, 12:17:55 PMYes, they seriously challenged. How on earth can you disagree with that.

Inches from an almost certain world cup final, and inches from a new record of 18 test wins in a row.

Begrudgers will begrudge, as a rule I do my best to avoid people like that.

Hard luck Ireland Rugby, you have given us some memories these last few years. No doubt you will be back.

They were 'almost certain' to beat Argentina last time they got knocked out by them too I think.

square_ball

Quote from: tyssam5 on October 15, 2023, 12:43:56 PM
Quote from: bannside on October 15, 2023, 12:17:55 PMYes, they seriously challenged. How on earth can you disagree with that.

Inches from an almost certain world cup final, and inches from a new record of 18 test wins in a row.

Hard luck Ireland Rugby, you have given us some memories these last few years. No doubt you will be back.

They were 'almost certain' to beat Argentina last time they got knocked out by them too I think.

You're definitely misremembering there in an effort to get a dig in. They weren't almost certain to win that quarter final in 2015 in the slightest. 

Especially as they were shy both O'Connell and O'Brien.

Quote from: square_ball on October 15, 2023, 01:23:08 PM

You're definitely misremembering there in an effort to get a dig in. They weren't almost certain to win that quarter final in 2015 in the slightest. 

There were tears of joy after the final pool game  win against France because it meant they got Argentina instead of New Zealand in the quarter. They expected to win.

Posters trying hard to justify their begrudgary.

square_ball

Quote from: RedHand88 on October 15, 2023, 01:31:52 PM
Quote from: square_ball on October 15, 2023, 01:23:08 PM

There were tears of joy after the final pool game  win against France because it meant they got Argentina instead of New Zealand in the quarter. They expected to win.

Genuinely the first time that I've heard that there were tears of joy that they got Argentina instead of France. Madigan was the only one I remember in tears who else was there? And he makes no mention of it here about the QF draw https://www.sportsjoe.ie/amp/rugby/ian-madigan-reveals-why-he-cried-at-the-end-of-irelands-victory-over-france-43956

And I'd imagine the Irish team at the time definitely didn't go into that game just expecting victory or they were almost certain of winning when they were without O'Connell, Sexton, O'Brien, O'Mahoney and Payne.

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on October 15, 2023, 12:26:44 PMFor the record I was roaring them on last night, but we can't go talking about heroism and effort at this level from a team that allegedly was above that.

That is it in a nutshell. We are disappointed, but plámásing it off as heroic in a game we marginally expected to win.

square_ball

The line out and scrum was poor . Paul O'Connell escaping any criticism or scrutiny as far as I can see so far but that's the 2nd game the line out in particular has been poor. Got away with it against SA but not last night.

Also Sexton was blowing hard after the hour mark. It would have been a brave to call him ashore and probably showed how the coaches viewed the drop off from him to Crowley. No choice but to give one of the back up 10s a full 6 nations as a starter to see how they shape up.

Nanderson

Quote from: square_ball on October 15, 2023, 02:47:37 PMThe line out and scrum was poor . Paul O'Connell escaping any criticism or scrutiny as far as I can see so far but that's the 2nd game the line out in particular has been poor. Got away with it against SA but not last night.

Also Sexton was blowing hard after the hour mark. It would have been a brave to call him ashore and probably showed how the coaches viewed the drop off from him to Crowley. No choice but to give one of the back up 10s a full 6 nations as a starter to see how they shape up.
I don't understand how they dont pick Ross Byrne to close out those games. He's good at game management and plays regularly with Leinster

Henderson probably making the calls for the line out and he was off the pace last night, Ryan abit loss, The main issue was, NZ closing the gap, the ref walk down the middle of a few NZ throws to ensure correct gap, didnt do it once on the, Ireland throw.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 15, 2023, 11:30:51 AMSome of you lads need go back to the soccer thread which I notice some comment regularly on, not that we any great shakes there at the minute.

It sounds like you want silence on the thread?

The violence causes silence as wb yeats once said or some other brilliant poet

Sportacus

There were some big mistakes like the Doris knock on and our players had a slight look of panic on their faces I'm afraid.  Plus they tried to force it after halftime, kicking it away a couple of times. Line out and scrum not right either.  They didn't seem to handle the pressure well overall and were out on their feet at the end.  Ryan and Henshaw would've been handy.  Maybe winning all the time in a strange way did them no favours for last nights circumstances.