Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

Throughts

* I'm legitimately disappointed Ireland lost
* We had a extra man for 20 minutes.
* The National media made it insufferable the last couple of weeks with hype
* New Zealand are a Rugby Nation - they live and breath the game
* It is very difficult to beat tradition, know how and hunger.
* Are we still number one in the world?
* We were cursed with this World-Cup draw. But so were NZ, France and South Africa.
* Four Years is a long time
* Will Farrell stay on?

Quote from: From the Bunker on October 14, 2023, 11:19:29 PMThroughts

* We were cursed with this World-Cup draw. But so were NZ, France and South Africa.
* Will Farrell stay on?

Farrell seems like a top manager, isn't it probable he'll be going to manage his own country soon?

Quote from: Itchy on October 14, 2023, 11:21:28 PM

* Will Farrell stay on?

Farrell seems like a top manager, isn't it probable he'll be going to manage his own country soon?

His own Country could come under the radar and with a bit of luck reach a final or win it.

Then the begrudgers on here will know all about hype.

Quote from: LeoMc on October 14, 2023, 11:24:28 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 14, 2023, 11:21:28 PM

* Will Farrell stay on?

His own Country could come under the radar and with a bit of luck reach a final or win it.

Then the begrudgers on here will know all about hype.

Lad, if you get to the world cup final and win it you've earned your hype. If you've never won a knock out game on the other hand...

Ireland's back row, such an important platform for recent successes, was comprehensively outplayed tonight. Doris looked nervous, O'Mahony didn't really figure at all and was surprised it was VdF that came off instead of him.

Ardie Savea is an unstoppable force of nature, Frizzell made some huge hits and Sam Cane had his best and most important match in years. Can't imagine POM had anything smart to mouth at him this time.

Future is still bright though. McCarthy was excellent when he came on. Baird only going to get better. Coombes got plenty left.

Farrell is under contract for another two years at least. Unless he is determined to manage Owen, who is clearly on the wane, he might decide to steer clear of English rugby for a good while yet. It's a basket case.

podge

People will be quick to kick these lads when they are down. In truth we were very very close tonight and whilst the outcome is ultimately the same, this was very different to previous quarter final defeats.

I am a GAA man to the core but every part of me wanted us to win tonight. There's lads in here feckin delighted we lost.

FFS, grasp sport, of any sort, for what it is, a galvanising force for good in society .

Half the lads commenting had very little to say before this match.

mrdeeds

The soccer team has won more knockout games? They compete against the whole world.

JPGJOHNNYG

The disappointment tonight for me was right up there with the Henry hand ball.  We will break the QF hoodoo in the future but we won't get a better chance to win the whole thing

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on October 15, 2023, 01:01:42 AMThe disappointment tonight for me was right up there with the Henry hand ball.  We will break the QF hoodoo in the future but we won't get a better chance to win the whole thing

They would likely have beaten Wales or Argentina, the draw put a huge game in the QF.

We don't know if we had a better chance, the 2 teams on the other side of the draw are well capably of beating New Zealand and us too. It is the end, for some in this team, playing Hanson injured was a mistake, the other lad O'brien played well, The drop off in performance of the Ulster wingers past 2 years left no great option for replacements out wide, Stockdale fell off a cliff from what he was. Game was lost in the pack which was our strongest area, No Healy to replace Porter when he was been pinged. Ryan not starting a miss too, as Henderson starts to puff around 55mins. Furlong been of the pace since the NZ tour.Aki,And the full back were great for Ireland the night, but Retallick and the NZ back row outplayed their opposite numbers. I feel NZ will not do that to South Africa or France. Time will tell.

Hansen was, as always, one of our brightest sparks up to the point he went off.

Quote from: mrdeeds on October 15, 2023, 12:40:53 AMThe soccer team has won more knockout games? They compete against the whole world.

Have they? In world Cups? I can't think of any? (I'd have Soccer ahead of Rugby as a sport preference, by the way!)

Eire90

They have not won any knockout games and that includes a prelim qf in 1999 against argentina.