Ulster Club SFC 2024

Started by general_lee, September 16, 2024, 11:37:31 AM

ClubScene13

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 08, 2024, 07:46:29 PM
Quote from: Moonshine on December 08, 2024, 05:49:08 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 08, 2024, 04:52:21 PM
Quote from: BigGreenField on December 08, 2024, 04:36:12 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 08, 2024, 04:32:34 PMAnother week another bullshit red to save EC.

Aye, leading with an elbow to the head is mighty craic most weeks.

Mistimed shoulder ffs. Barely touched him

What a clown you are deserved red. You be the sort of man to say nothing happened on the armagh trip too.
Don't bring that into it.

I haven't commented on the Armagh trip, have no idea what went on and won't be commenting on it.

If the Tyrone hate runs that deep ye would openly back Kilcoo over a team that have only won x4 county titles since last winning in Ulster in 2002, fair play it takes some doing. Absolute balloon

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 08, 2024, 07:46:29 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 08, 2024, 04:32:34 PMAnother week another bullshit red to save EC.

What a clown you are deserved red. You be the sort of man to say nothing happened on the armagh trip too.
Don't bring that into it.

I haven't commented on the Armagh trip, have no idea what went on and won't be commenting on it.

Never stopped you before.....

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 15, 2023, 09:58:13 PMLatest rumour now is that Gallagher took a session in Corduff club and had breakfast there after with team. And he was out in Dormans last night.

Was a deserved red. Rest of this comment quite dicky though

A red all day long. Had a feeling EC would win Ulster and fair play to them, won the final with room for improvement

Quote from: JoG2 on December 08, 2024, 08:12:57 PMA red all day long. Had a feeling EC would win Ulster and fair play to them, won the final with room for improvement

They won the final by a point against 14 men with a clear square ball goal ;)  but I know what ya mean

Also they made me a few quid today so up Tyrone club teams

That aside there is a dogness about them and they have tradition, getting to a final would be a first too. When the game opened up for Crokes today they were coasting. So I'd say it'll be even enough

downtothecore

The sending off was key in this game. Kilcoo would have won it as they were gaining g the the upper hand in that game at this time and Enda Ginley realised it to when he fist pumped after it. Kilcoo actually done well after the sending off but were always laboured for their scores. Errigal should now win the All ireland.

Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 08, 2024, 06:55:02 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 08, 2024, 05:33:51 PMhttps://x.com/SportTG4/status/1865795657652433078

Their relentless commitment to being complete tramps is somewhat...well, not admirable, but something.

Watched that in real time and couldn't believe there wasn't a word  about it. One very clear strike and one fairly clear. Either could or perhaps should have been red.
Are we just ignoring the initial attempt at a tackle by EC No7 from the outset?

Quote from: thebigfullforward on December 08, 2024, 06:31:16 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on December 08, 2024, 04:54:45 PMThere you go Tyrone club championship the most competitive in the land. Relegated team Clonoe very near bate Errigal, lost in a replay... Typical Kilcoo cynicism lost them that ..
Clonoe probably should've won the first game. Pomeroy could've won the first round when they were chasing the goal. Killyclogher could've forced the game to a replay only for Harte last kick of the game. Trillick only lost by a point too. People can have their own opinions but I don't think any other championship is close in terms of how close the teams
I'm sure Clonoe and Pomeroy men will be pondering what if all week...

Quote from: general_lee on December 08, 2024, 08:42:43 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 08, 2024, 06:55:02 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 08, 2024, 05:33:51 PMhttps://x.com/SportTG4/status/1865795657652433078

Their relentless commitment to being complete tramps is somewhat...well, not admirable, but something.

Watched that in real time and couldn't believe there wasn't a word  about it. One very clear strike and one fairly clear. Either could or perhaps should have been red.
Are we just ignoring the initial attempt at a tackle by EC No7 from the outset?

Silly me, I forgot the rule that if your teammate is being fouled you're allowed to start boxing lads in the head.

Quote from: general_lee on December 08, 2024, 08:46:17 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on December 08, 2024, 06:31:16 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on December 08, 2024, 04:54:45 PMThere you go Tyrone club championship the most competitive in the land. Relegated team Clonoe very near bate Errigal, lost in a replay... Typical Kilcoo cynicism lost them that ..
Clonoe probably should've won the first game. Pomeroy could've won the first round when they were chasing the goal. Killyclogher could've forced the game to a replay only for Harte last kick of the game. Trillick only lost by a point too. People can have their own opinions but I don't think any other championship is close in terms of how close the teams
I'm sure Clonoe and Pomeroy men will be pondering what if all week...

If Errigal got knocked out in earlier rounds in Tyrone Trillick would have won instead and I think they would have won Ulster too. There's an Ulster title in that Trillick team in the next few years.

DeasBĂ©alFeirste

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 08, 2024, 04:25:43 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 08, 2024, 04:23:46 PMJohnston with two blatant boxes at Darragh. f**k they're some tramps.
Couldn't hit that wee huer hard enough in fairness.

That seems a bit...harsh? Has Darragh Canavan done something that I'm not aware of?! I was under the impression he was a quiet lad and well liked.

Mikhailov

Quote from: Mikhailov on December 08, 2024, 06:47:51 PM
Quote from: Sheedy on December 08, 2024, 06:37:31 PMWas at the match and thought the ref was very harsh on kilcoo, don't know what it was like on TV. Errigal should've had at least one black card, one in the first couple of minutes was as blatant as it gets.

The red card happened just in front of me and think it was Barry Cassidy gave it rather than the ref, though it should have been a free in instead of a hop ball, the defender lay on the ball on the ground and he ended up hopping it which was strange.

Kilcoo will be kicking themselves, they held the Canavans well, were probably the better team but missed a couple of crucial ones at the end

Agree 100% on this. It was a red but should have been a free in for Kilcoo rather than a throw up ball, prior to the incident. I never like to see a referee throw it up - back yourself and make a decision FFS.
You must have been in same area as myself watching the game. Two, possibly 3 Errigal men should have been black carded. McDonnell after a few minutes, Ciaran Quinn for 2 pull downs and McGinley near the end.
But Kilcoo had a few bad late sly digs also which went unpunished.
But Errigal deserve immense credit - they have won a lot of tight games this season in Tyrone and Ulster and it has left them battle hardened.
The Canavan lads will never be as quiet again - they will be hard stopped from here on and will fancy themselves.

Apologies to Ben McDonnell but it was actually no2 Cormac Quinn who should have got a black card in the first 5 minutes.
He was chasing a loose ball with one of the Morgan lads in the midfield area and basically rugby tackled - full blown pull down with referee 10 yards away. Total black card but no punishment of any kind from the referee.
I haven't a word of Irish (bar the national anthem) but you could sense the surprise among the TG4 commentators that he got away without any card shown

The main gripe with most is this, call the first free, though there is absolutely no reason to carry on like that and expect anything less

Sheedy

Quote from: Mikhailov on December 08, 2024, 09:12:20 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on December 08, 2024, 06:47:51 PM
Quote from: Sheedy on December 08, 2024, 06:37:31 PMWas at the match and thought the ref was very harsh on kilcoo, don't know what it was like on TV. Errigal should've had at least one black card, one in the first couple of minutes was as blatant as it gets.

The red card happened just in front of me and think it was Barry Cassidy gave it rather than the ref, though it should have been a free in instead of a hop ball, the defender lay on the ball on the ground and he ended up hopping it which was strange.

Kilcoo will be kicking themselves, they held the Canavans well, were probably the better team but missed a couple of crucial ones at the end

Agree 100% on this. It was a red but should have been a free in for Kilcoo rather than a throw up ball, prior to the incident. I never like to see a referee throw it up - back yourself and make a decision FFS.
You must have been in same area as myself watching the game. Two, possibly 3 Errigal men should have been black carded. McDonnell after a few minutes, Ciaran Quinn for 2 pull downs and McGinley near the end.
But Kilcoo had a few bad late sly digs also which went unpunished.
But Errigal deserve immense credit - they have won a lot of tight games this season in Tyrone and Ulster and it has left them battle hardened.
The Canavan lads will never be as quiet again - they will be hard stopped from here on and will fancy themselves.

Apologies to Ben McDonnell but it was actually no2 Cormac Quinn who should have got a black card in the first 5 minutes.
He was chasing a loose ball with one of the Morgan lads in the midfield area and basically rugby tackled - full blown pull down with referee 10 yards away. Total black card but no punishment of any kind from the referee.
I haven't a word of Irish (bar the national anthem) but you could sense the surprise among the TG4 commentators that he got away without any card shown
there was surprise in crowd round me as well, most expected black to be shown or maybe a yellow but he gave nothing after speaking to him
Never buy black socks from a normal shop

Armagh4sam2024

Was at the match and Kilcoo will d prob feel they left that one behind.  They were better team for good parts when playing with 14 but can't blame the ref as they can't have any complaints re the red card. Errigal should have grabbed the advantage but didn't. The game then turned on a couple of fumbled balls by Kilcoo and  their late wides.