Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: clarshack on December 06, 2007, 01:21:36 PM

Title: SKY+
Post by: clarshack on December 06, 2007, 01:21:36 PM
anyone know of good deals at the moment for SKY+ in the north. think i saw something previously for £80 installation.
Title: Re: SKY+
Post by: full back on December 06, 2007, 01:25:36 PM
If a friend recommends you I think they are doing Sky+ for about £30, although you have to take out a 12 month contract
Post by: SeanSouth on December 06, 2007, 02:01:58 PM
I got it last week, £79 and that includes the installation. Check your local Euronics dealer, they are doing it for £79 all over the north as far as i know. The introduce a friend deal is good if you dont already have Sky, i was an existing customer, they offer you fcuk all when you are an existing customer.
Post by: clarshack on December 06, 2007, 02:35:54 PM
thanks. am an existing customer BTW.
Post by: SeanSouth on December 06, 2007, 02:39:15 PM
Quote from: clarshack on December 06, 2007, 02:35:54 PM

Best bet then would be the £79 deal, i booked it on the Saturday and they installed on the Wednesday, my remote stopped working after a couple of days, i took it back to them and they gave me a new one, no questions, they didnt even check to see if i got it off them in the first place ! I wouldnt wait too long as im sure the deal wont go on indefinetley.
Post by: SeanSouth on December 06, 2007, 03:14:35 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 06, 2007, 02:58:31 PM
Is anyone using  Sky HD and if so is it worth the extra £s ?

I wouldnt mind making the outlay for Sky HD box but not the extra £10 a month subscription, i will wait until they stop doing that a la Sky +.
Post by: full back on December 06, 2007, 03:17:20 PM
Quote from: clarshack on December 06, 2007, 02:35:54 PM

If you are an existing customer & you know someone getting sky installed if you tell them to say they were recommended by you both of you will get the Sky+ installed for £30 between you
Post by: Derry Daisy on December 06, 2007, 03:31:43 PM
Quote from: SeanSouth on December 06, 2007, 02:01:58 PM
I got it last week, £79 and that includes the installation. Check your local Euronics dealer, they are doing it for £79 all over the north as far as i know. The introduce a friend deal is good if you dont already have Sky, i was an existing customer, they offer you fcuk all when you are an existing customer.

Not if you threaten to leave them, they'll offer you anything to make you stay, just say your interested in upgrading to sky plus and you'll get it free.   
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 06, 2007, 10:35:32 PM
Quote from: Derry Daisy on December 06, 2007, 03:31:43 PM

Not if you threaten to leave them, they'll offer you anything to make you stay, just say your interested in upgrading to sky plus and you'll get it free.   

Daisy is definitely right in that they will bend over backwards to keep you, if you threaten to quit, as an existing customer. It can turn into a game of brinkmanship, but if you are preapred to quit, then you hold all the aces, even if they refuse to give you it buckshee in your initial contact.

As an existing customer I also threatened to pull the plug and got SKY+, including installation, for £49 during August. They were offering it free, but this was a an old reconditioned SKY+ box that had only half the memory and a guarantee of three months. 
Post by: clarshack on December 08, 2007, 01:34:37 PM

conway bros in cookstown are doing the deal for £79. rang them up but they said they arent doing any more between now and christmas as they are flat out installing it. they did say that the deal would still be in place in the new year though. rang my local euronics centre and they said they didnt do it. i suppose i'll just have to wait as i cant ring up and threaten to quit as my 12 month contract doesnt run out until early Feb. would have been nice to have had it for christmas!
Post by: ziggysego on December 08, 2007, 01:48:18 PM
Quote from: SeanSouth on December 06, 2007, 03:14:35 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 06, 2007, 02:58:31 PM
Is anyone using  Sky HD and if so is it worth the extra £s ?

I wouldnt mind making the outlay for Sky HD box but not the extra £10 a month subscription, i will wait until they stop doing that a la Sky +.

I'm the same as you Sean. HD looks amazing to me. There are programmes like Doctor Who, Wild Life on One and various films that would be amazing on HD. Could do without seeing Dot Cotton on HD though..
Post by: clarshack on January 02, 2008, 02:59:18 PM

any chance that this could back fire and i'll end up with no sky?
Post by: Smokin Joe on January 02, 2008, 03:06:10 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 02, 2008, 02:59:18 PM

Only if you balls up!!!!

What I did was say that my box was broke and that I couldn't afford to get a new one (or pay £65 for a call out) so I wanted to cancel.  They then offered me a refurb box but I said that that didn't interest me.  I was then offered a new box for £49 which I accepted.  The key thing was that I didn't raise the issue of a new box they offered it to me.

In saying all that, even if they don't offer you anything then just end the call by saying that you want to think about it a little longer, ie you haven't confirmed that you want them to cut you off, but I'd be surprised if that was the outcome.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 02, 2008, 03:11:19 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 02, 2008, 02:59:18 PM

Don't think so Clarshark i was having trouble with my Skybox and rang them up they told me it would cost €150 for an engineer to call out and replace it, told them that i wasn't going to pay €150 and that if they didn't send out an engineer i would cancel sky, he put me on to someone in customer service thay said that they could do it for €100 i said no way he then said €50 and i said i was still going to cancel, he said he had to get in touch with his" supervisor" left me holding for a few minutes and then came back and said that because i was a long term customer they would install a new one for free. :)
Post by: tyroneboi on January 02, 2008, 03:18:04 PM
does sky+ cost any extra a month?
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2008, 03:19:22 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 02, 2008, 03:18:04 PM
does sky+ cost any extra a month?

No, they used to charge an extra £10 a month but they dont anymore, if you dont have it get it. Its the dogs bollocks.
Post by: Yer Ma on January 02, 2008, 03:21:43 PM
Just make sure you know who will fix it if your installation goes wrong. I got Sky+ in Sept and had hassle with who I should contact as the initial installation was dodgy. After a few phonecalls to both parties (Sky and the supplier of the box)I had to get angry with the supplier who then came out and fixed it.
Post by: nifan on January 02, 2008, 03:38:50 PM
Im in an apartment and as i have only 1 input I cant get full sky+ service.
Post by: under the bar on January 02, 2008, 09:54:32 PM
Any good deals at the min for new subscribers??
Post by: offtheground on January 03, 2008, 10:48:10 AM
Does anyone know if you can get SKY+ with this 'payonce' deal from Curry's??

http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/editorial/sky_payonce
Post by: Smokin Joe on January 03, 2008, 01:22:59 PM
Quote from: offtheground on January 03, 2008, 10:48:10 AM
Does anyone know if you can get SKY+ with this 'payonce' deal from Curry's??

http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/editorial/sky_payonce

Small print states "standard Sky box".  So no, I'd suggest.
Post by: aontroim on March 18, 2008, 04:26:31 PM
Anyone know if there is a way to take programs off sky+ directly onto a PC to burn to DVD - dont have a separate DVD recorder?
Post by: Main Street on March 18, 2008, 09:23:42 PM
Quote from: tram on March 18, 2008, 04:50:47 PM
All programmes stored on the Hard Drive on the Sky+ box are encrypted - in the case of Pay-Channels they are recorded as it is and then decoded on playback while free-to-air channels have additional flags set. Your only way is probably to use some sort of TV card on your PC.
Some programs are encrypted, only those  with a C in the information box. With most, there are no restrictions on recording films/programs film from the sky box HD to a dvd disk.

Post by: Minder on June 16, 2008, 01:46:48 PM
My Ma has been a Sky customer for 12 years, i told her to ring them and tell them she wanted Sky + for free or she was thinking of leaving, she wouldnt be very good at this sort of thing and didnt tell them how loyal a customer she has been or threaten to leave and they quoted her £209 for box and installation. Is the best action to threaten to leave, cant afford it etc etc ?
Post by: his holiness nb on June 16, 2008, 01:57:05 PM
I ordered and the guy arrived and said he couldnt drill through walls so he needed to run a lead from the hall into the sitting room. As he couldnt drill it meant he would tack it around the door frame and through the door and we wouldnt be able to close the door!

he also said he wasnt insured to climb onto the roof to put up the new dish (we have normal sky) so he needed to put a pole at the side of the house and put another dish there!

I told him to feck away off. This was sky themselves I rang, not some cowboy. Anyone else have similar issues?
Post by: isourboydownyet on June 16, 2008, 02:31:08 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 16, 2008, 01:57:05 PM
I ordered and the guy arrived and said he couldnt drill through walls so he needed to run a lead from the hall into the sitting room. As he couldnt drill it meant he would tack it around the door frame and through the door and we wouldnt be able to close the door!

he also said he wasnt insured to climb onto the roof to put up the new dish (we have normal sky) so he needed to put a pole at the side of the house and put another dish there!

I told him to feck away off. This was sky themselves I rang, not some cowboy. Anyone else have similar issues?

this is normal practise with these boys,they wont go into attics either,they try to get it done as simple as possible,they would run the cable over the roof and tac down the wall rather than feed the cable into the attic and put down the conduet,the best thing to do is go to a authorised sky dealer who have there own installers and pay them to do it correctly.

as regards ringing sky and telling them you want to cancel to try and get a better package that will no longer work,in the past when they were trying to build up a strong customer base they would have but not any longer(in the north anyway.
i myself recently was paying £9.99 a month for satanta and i rang to cancel as i only watch the prem on it and they offered me £4.99 for the next 6 months which i though to be pretty good.
Post by: clarshack on June 16, 2008, 02:33:23 PM

you shouldnt need a new dish for sky+ unless you are on the old analogue system. all you need is a new sky+ box and a second cable (for recording) running from the skybox to your current dish. you should also get a new remote control as the standard sky remote doesnt work with sky+
Post by: Minder on June 16, 2008, 02:36:26 PM
She doesent want a better package she just wants Sky + as her current box is fcuked, when you try to access a lot of channels it comes up "no satellite signal is being received", what about cancelling and then coming back as a new customer as you get no perks for being an existing customer.
Post by: Hound on June 16, 2008, 02:43:33 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 16, 2008, 02:36:26 PM
She doesent want a better package she just wants Sky + as her current box is fcuked, when you try to access a lot of channels it comes up "no satellite signal is being received", what about cancelling and then coming back as a new customer as you get no perks for being an existing customer.
That could be the dish has moved slightly out of alignment rather than the box being fecked. Check the signal strength on the Services menu
Post by: guy crouchback on June 16, 2008, 02:49:49 PM
Quoteordered and the guy arrived and said he couldnt drill through walls so he needed to run a lead from the hall into the sitting room. As he couldnt drill it meant he would tack it around the door frame and through the door and we wouldnt be able to close the door!

a lot of the guys sky use are useless.i had the exact same problem myself as did a mate of mine. i got onto a local guy who works for himself and he did a great job.
Post by: Rick O Shea on June 16, 2008, 02:55:48 PM
Does anyone use freesat?

And is it any use?
Post by: full back on October 09, 2008, 02:03:12 PM
What is the best way of getting Sky into another room?
Think its about £10 a month extra to get it in each room, but then heard something about Sky Eye or Magic Eye or something
Anyone know if it works?
Post by: Jack_Black on October 09, 2008, 02:22:53 PM
Quote from: full back on October 09, 2008, 02:03:12 PM
Think its about £10 a month extra to get it in each room, but then heard something about Sky Eye or Magic Eye or something
Anyone know if it works?

what way is your TV distributed to other rooms at the minute - have you Sky already

IMO Magic eyes are the best way to do it.
Post by: ziggysego on October 09, 2008, 02:28:03 PM
With Magic Eye, you have to watch what is being watched in the main Sky room. Can't watch separate channels.
Post by: full back on October 09, 2008, 02:29:26 PM
Quote from: Jack_Black on October 09, 2008, 02:22:53 PM
Anyone know if it works?

what way is your TV distributed to other rooms at the minute - have you Sky already

IMO Magic eyes are the best way to do it.

Just use the aerial from the TV in the other rooms
Does this make a difference?

With this eye thing can you change the channels from a different room?
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 09, 2008, 02:30:28 PM
Anyone know if it works?

yeah got the myself got Fullback its called a digi eye or a global eye works no problem you cant watch different programmes in drifferent rooms though
Post by: Minder on October 09, 2008, 02:33:05 PM
How do they work though, i have Sky and wouldnt mind watching "Sexcetera" in the bedroom on my own.
Post by: Main Street on October 09, 2008, 02:33:35 PM

I can't speak about the insurance issue but it sound quite bizarre that a satellite dish installer would not have insurance to cover the basics of his job.
You can have the cable coming through the bottom part of the window frame into the room where you have the sky box, after drilling a suitable nice clean hole.

Post by: ziggysego on October 09, 2008, 02:33:59 PM
Why Minder?
Post by: Jack_Black on October 09, 2008, 02:45:35 PM
can you give a bit more detail of your set-up at the momemt

where is your sky box at present

do you get normal channel in the other rooms?
Post by: full back on October 09, 2008, 02:47:55 PM
Is there much setting up with a coax cable fionntamhnach?

Seen on ebay them magic eyes for £5 or so. Thought this sounded a bit cheap
Is that eye job as easy as plugging in the cable & off you go?

Jack,
currently have Sky+ in the living room. In the bedroom just have a standard TV which I watch using the TV's own aerial.
Post by: Jack_Black on October 09, 2008, 02:50:27 PM
Quote from: full back on October 09, 2008, 02:47:55 PM
Is there much setting up with a coax cable fionntamhnach?

Seen on ebay them magic eyes for £5 or so. Thought this sounded a bit cheap
Is that eye job as easy as plugging in the cable & off you go?

Jack,
currently have Sky+ in the living room. In the bedroom just have a standard TV which I watch using the TV's own aerial.

ah ok, yeah the magic eye is just plug in and go.

sorry for all the questions,

where does the cables from the dish come into your living room to your sky+ box
Post by: full back on October 09, 2008, 02:54:45 PM
Dont worry about the questions jack
Cables come in beside the window
Post by: Jack_Black on October 09, 2008, 02:59:22 PM
damn, another question lol

do you have an attic / accessible roofspace - one or two storey house

anyway, however you do it, best way is to run a co-axial cable from the RF2 on the Sky+ box to your second TV

the magic eye is then attached to the end of the co-axial cable (2nd TV end) and then plugged into the TV, a little transmitter sits on the TV and you can then control the main box from the bedroom

you have to watch the same thing on both TV, if you want to watch different channels on both TV you can get Multi-room which is an extra £10 a month

EDIT - just read your first question - it doesnt cost anything extra per month for the first option
Post by: full back on October 09, 2008, 03:02:15 PM
Cheers Jack, think I will go for the magic eye option.
Is it right they are only a fiver?

One last question, WTF is a co-axial cable  :-[
Post by: Jack_Black on October 09, 2008, 03:04:31 PM
its your TV Aerial cable - same stuff thats going from your Dish to your Sky box

get CT100 cable   (i think)

yeah they are cheap enough

you might need another remote though.

Item number: 360095444757  (ebay number)  this is fine

Item number: 250301392363 - or this if you dont need a remote
Post by: full back on October 09, 2008, 03:11:43 PM
Cheers jack, appreciate it
Have the main remote so will go for the 2nd option
Post by: full back on October 09, 2008, 03:23:35 PM
Already have an extra remote from a previous dealing with them boyos at Sky, will just use it
Thanks for all the help lads
Post by: full back on October 15, 2008, 01:35:16 PM
Bought the magic eye on ebay, but cant get the fcuker to work :-\

Jack or Fionn, any ideas?
Post by: Jack_Black on October 15, 2008, 03:30:43 PM
Quote from: full back on October 15, 2008, 01:35:16 PM

is the RF output turned on, at work and cant mind how to do it, it in the services menu somewhere.

also, make sure that none of the copper braid is touching the main wire inside, this stops the red-eye signal being sent back up to cable
Post by: full back on October 15, 2008, 03:40:40 PM
Quote from: Jack_Black on October 15, 2008, 03:30:43 PM
Quote from: full back on October 15, 2008, 01:35:16 PM

is the RF output turned on, at work and cant mind how to do it, it in the services menu somewhere.

also, make sure that none of the copper braid is touching the main wire inside, this stops the red-eye signal being sent back up to cable

No idea what that means.
I have the ordinary TV aerial on the TV up the stairs. I thought I just plugged the eye into the TV aerial & into where the TV aerial normally goes and hey presto
Obviously not :-\
Post by: Jack_Black on October 15, 2008, 04:02:29 PM
Quote from: Jack_Black on October 09, 2008, 02:59:22 PM
damn, another question lol

do you have an attic / accessible roofspace - one or two storey house

anyway, however you do it, best way is to run a co-axial cable from the RF2 on the Sky+ box to your second TV
the magic eye is then attached to the end of the co-axial cable (2nd TV end) and then plugged into the TV, a little transmitter sits on the TV and you can then control the main box from the bedroom

you have to watch the same thing on both TV, if you want to watch different channels on both TV you can get Multi-room which is an extra £10 a month

EDIT - just read your first question - it doesnt cost anything extra per month for the first option

you need to run a cable from the back of your TV (in bedroom) to the Sky Box.
Post by: ziggysego on October 15, 2008, 04:07:38 PM
Thinking of getting Sky HD, with Magic Eye. Is Sky+ standard on HD and do you think it's worth it? Going to maybe get Entertainment and Movie package, plus Sentana for GAA.
Post by: Bomber on October 20, 2008, 11:23:08 PM
Hello. I am on the look out for some help here. I have a TV in the living room connected to sky + box and another TV in the bedroom using the  magic digieye and have decided to put a TV in the kitchen. When getting the sky + installed at the start I connected the wires in the attic from the bedroom to the main wire from the living room so I could get the TV in the bedroom to work. Worked out ok.

My problem when connecting the wires in the attic again for the kitchen the sky remote will not work in the bedroom but I do get a picture no probs.

Any advice how I could sort this out? Someone said I needed an integrated bypass amplifier. What does this do??
Post by: Main Street on October 21, 2008, 12:59:04 AM
"integrated bypass amplifier. What does this do??"

It boosts the rf signal at the point where the signal is split into two. Typically a signal looses at least  about 4- 6db of quality when it is spilt.
A 4 to 6 db  loss on an average signal quality can result in poor quality reception in the second TV.
The amplifiers will boost the signal without creating a disturbance back at base (the skybox).

(http://i161.photobucket.com/albums/t228/mayfairlighting/e64b1f8e.jpg)

Post by: under the bar on October 21, 2008, 12:20:09 PM
Does the magic eye transmit the sky signal to another room or just allow you to change channels if you have already a sky transmitter installed?
Post by: full back on October 21, 2008, 12:43:58 PM
I thought it was just a case of plugging the 'eye' in & the signal will be picked up in a different room.
Having got the eye, I now realise there has to be a connection from the sky box to the other room as well :-\

I was fairly sure I had heard of a device that will send the Sky to another TV without the need for a connection from the Sky box to the other room
Post by: nifan on October 21, 2008, 12:50:59 PM
http://www.accessorystore.co.uk/acatalog/H.Q.2.4_GHz_Wireless_AV_System.html (http://www.accessorystore.co.uk/acatalog/H.Q.2.4_GHz_Wireless_AV_System.html)

Something like this full back
Post by: under the bar on October 21, 2008, 12:55:06 PM
£35 seems to be the standard price for these things.  Anyone know any chinese sites offering free shipping that might have them?
Post by: full back on October 21, 2008, 01:05:22 PM
Quote from: nifan on October 21, 2008, 12:50:59 PM
http://www.accessorystore.co.uk/acatalog/H.Q.2.4_GHz_Wireless_AV_System.html (http://www.accessorystore.co.uk/acatalog/H.Q.2.4_GHz_Wireless_AV_System.html)

Something like this full back

Yeah, thats it nifan
Think you have to watch what is on the main Sky, but it wouldnt be bad in comparison to the £10 per month Sky charge for multiroom
Post by: Main Street on October 21, 2008, 05:41:33 PM
Personally, I go with ethernet cables, wired phone and real antenna cables.
Though it is a nuisance to keep them tidy.
All those wireless signals in a home environment can't be good for the brain.
A wireless phone is always pumping out a frequency even on stand by.

There is enough of all that stuff to contend with outside of the home.

Post by: Bomber on October 21, 2008, 06:19:45 PM
Quote from: Bomber on October 20, 2008, 11:23:08 PM
Hello. I am on the look out for some help here. I have a TV in the living room connected to sky + box and another TV in the bedroom using the  magic digieye and have decided to put a TV in the kitchen. When getting the sky + installed at the start I connected the wires in the attic from the bedroom to the main wire from the living room so I could get the TV in the bedroom to work. Worked out ok.

My problem when connecting the wires in the attic again for the kitchen the sky remote will not work in the bedroom but I do get a picture no probs.

Any advice how I could sort this out? Someone said I needed an integrated bypass amplifier. What does this do??

Now I have been told that its a distribution by pass box that I need which needs a socket in the attic to plug it into. is it the same as an integrated bypass amplifier?? the boys in the shop want to get rid of ya asa quick as they can answering what the seem as silly questions. Aswel they charge an arm and a leg when selling a piece of equipment like this which can be got half price on ebay.
Post by: Main Street on October 21, 2008, 07:25:34 PM
Same thing, needs the power to amplify the signal.
Post by: Minder on October 21, 2008, 07:38:22 PM
Will sky eventually do away with the £10 month subscription for multi room as they did with Sky +?
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2008, 12:32:17 AM
Doubt it, multi-box thingy-me-gig has been around a lot longer than Sky+
Post by: nifan on October 22, 2008, 09:48:40 AM
Quote from: Main Street on October 21, 2008, 05:41:33 PM
Personally, I go with ethernet cables, wired phone and real antenna cables.
Though it is a nuisance to keep them tidy.
All those wireless signals in a home environment can't be good for the brain.
A wireless phone is always pumping out a frequency even on stand by.

There is enough of all that stuff to contend with outside of the home.

Unless youve built your house inside a faradays cage then you are being bombarded anyway - go with it i say!
Post by: Main Street on October 22, 2008, 12:29:51 PM
Nah, my house is in an isolated spot.
Even if you live in a built up area, there is a difference in range between signals coming through the outside walls and signals being pumped around the house. 
Each to their own about wired and wireless, I'm just giving my opinion.
Based on my experience, I'm wary about embracing this totally wireless  growing culture.

Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2008, 01:27:48 PM
Can't mind if I asked this before!

Apologies as I am a technophobe. I have a Samsung 42inch PS that I purchased almost 24 months back. During this time I had no problems whatsoever, until when I recently purchased SKY +. I previously had standard SKY TV.

When I watch back certain programmes on SKY+ the image jumps with various degrees. Now I have the SKY signal direct from the box to this TV, but I also have it looped back out to TVs around the house.

Only on the main TV is there an issue. The SKY engineers have been out several times and replaced the SKY box twice, rewired it, new dish....everything. Nothing works.

I notice now that the image appears to jump when there are certain images on the screen. Possibly the more colour the more jumping, as it does it a lot during play back of my kid's programmes.

Note that the images does not jump when watching SKY normally, nor on terrestial TV. Only when watching a playback on SKY +. I also connected the SKY box to the TV via ordinary antenna cables....but still it jumped.

With all that considered I now think there is some compatability problem with the TV and SKY+ that could be caused by certain settings being on or off. Any ideas?
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 02:01:32 PM
You have changed the Sky box so that should eliminate the box.
Have you tried playback on another  TV? if still not good that would eliminate the question of TV incompatibility.
Are you connected to the Toshiba from the Skybox with RF cable?
If so remove it, could cause interference.
If it is only certain channels like Setanta then that transponder gives out a weaker signal than the other transponders.
The weak signal would be more obvious in poor weather.

There maybe a large tree beside your dish which in windy weather causes the branches to sway vigourously across the path of the dish :)
Post by: Gnevin on November 06, 2008, 02:19:45 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2008, 01:27:48 PM
Can't mind if I asked this before!

Apologies as I am a technophobe. I have a Samsung 42inch PS that I purchased almost 24 months back. During this time I had no problems whatsoever, until when I recently purchased SKY +. I previously had standard SKY TV.

When I watch back certain programmes on SKY+ the image jumps with various degrees. Now I have the SKY signal direct from the box to this TV, but I also have it looped back out to TVs around the house.

Only on the main TV is there an issue. The SKY engineers have been out several times and replaced the SKY box twice, rewired it, new dish....everything. Nothing works.

I notice now that the image appears to jump when there are certain images on the screen. Possibly the more colour the more jumping, as it does it a lot during play back of my kid's programmes.

Note that the images does not jump when watching SKY normally, nor on terrestial TV. Only when watching a playback on SKY +. I also connected the SKY box to the TV via ordinary antenna cables....but still it jumped.

With all that considered I now think there is some compatability problem with the TV and SKY+ that could be caused by certain settings being on or off. Any ideas?
Are you using a HDMI ? It sounds like your TV and SKY + HDMI are 100% compatible . Ask Samsung  is their a firmware update
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2008, 02:36:38 PM
As I say I am a technophobe so be gentle.

I tried another TV hooked up and playback is perfect, which adds credance to the compatability thieory.

Not sure what HDMI is but I don't think I am using it. Basically the picture is ran from the SKY box to the TV via a standard scart cable (Changed them out too).

Mainstreet- The SKY picture is grand no matter the weather, and the playback problems happen on sunny days (Whenever that was) and windy ones.

Thanks for your help anyway lads.

>:(
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 02:44:36 PM
Your problem only comes on playback (which you'd think is a hard drive issue or sky box issue).

It should not matter to the Samsung TV if it's live tv from Sky+ or playback
Why would the cables and TV be fine for one but not the other?

I wouldn't like that problem

Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2008, 02:56:03 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 02:44:36 PM
Your problem only comes on playback (which you'd think is a hard drive issue or sky box issue).

It should not matter to the Samsung TV if it's live tv from Sky+ or playback
Why would the cables and TV be fine for one but not the other?

I wouldn't like that problem

:D That's reassuring, when even the experts are flumoxed.

The points you've made are all things that have puzzled me too. I was sure it was the hard drive too.

Do you know is there a resoloution change when watching SKY + playback as opposed to SKY + live TV?
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 03:49:28 PM
Sky+ records at good quality.
You do lose a tiny little bit,  but nowhere near enough to make the difference you notice.

Did you get the same make of Skybox as a replacement?
It could well be something on the video signal out of the box that gets overloaded on playback, causing an incompatibility between the make of your Skybox and your specific tv.
You have swopped tv´s and it works fine.

How about keeping your TV and switching skybox brands?
Swopping to another brand of Skybox, armstrad? should  work.
That's my theory or least what I'd be investgating

You have a contract with Sky? they should have changed the make of your box not just changed the box, methinks.
The compatibility fault is both with that particular Skybox brand and the TV
It would be a point of contract, you should be able to get that remedied.

Other than that
The video signal can be adjusted slightly by manually reducing the contrast in settings

Post by: nifan on November 07, 2008, 08:14:10 PM
http://www.aldi.co.uk/uk/html/offers/2867_7759.htm (http://www.aldi.co.uk/uk/html/offers/2867_7759.htm)

for anyone looking a cheap option for sending the signal to another room.
Post by: Minder on November 07, 2008, 09:46:34 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 07, 2008, 08:14:10 PM
http://www.aldi.co.uk/uk/html/offers/2867_7759.htm (http://www.aldi.co.uk/uk/html/offers/2867_7759.htm)

Have you used it Nifan? Any reviews?
Post by: thebandit on November 07, 2008, 10:32:04 PM
Had to send my sky+ box back for repairs today  >:(
Post by: nifan on November 08, 2008, 02:13:57 AM
D
Quote from: Minder on November 07, 2008, 09:46:34 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 07, 2008, 08:14:10 PM

Have you used it Nifan? Any reviews?

Havent used it myself but have heard that the previous model from the same was dead on.
Dont think it has the ability to transmit the remote control, but am not 100% on that.
Post by: reddgnhand on November 11, 2008, 09:55:54 PM
I was interested in getting SKY+ installed but was quoted £210 from Sky. Can anyone tell what the difference is between Sky + and digital tv recorders that you can buy almost anywhere? They seem to have the same features as Sky +.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 11, 2008, 09:59:01 PM
My auld pair have just bought a new telly..On the old telly they could turn the volume up and down using the Sky remote but can't on the new one.
How can I programme the new telly to the Sky remote?
Post by: Shortso79 on November 11, 2008, 10:14:21 PM
They need to enter the new TV code into the remote control

Check out the following link : Pages 6 & 7

http://www.sky.com/Assets/PDF/StaticFiles/10834503.pdf

Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 11, 2008, 10:18:11 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on November 11, 2008, 10:14:21 PM
They need to enter the new TV code into the remote control

Check out the following link : Pages 6 & 7

http://www.sky.com/Assets/PDF/StaticFiles/10834503.pdf

Cheers dude...
Post by: Shortso79 on November 11, 2008, 10:21:11 PM
Or Option 2

Select the Interactive Button on your Sky Remote Control

Then Go down to Option 5 "Sky Customer Service"

Then Option 5 " Programme your Remote" and follow the instructions

Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 11, 2008, 10:22:56 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on November 11, 2008, 09:55:54 PM
I was interested in getting SKY+ installed but was quoted £210 from Sky. Can anyone tell what the difference is between Sky + and digital tv recorders that you can buy almost anywhere? They seem to have the same features as Sky +.

sky has a deal on at the minute which gets you a free sky + box if you get a friend to sign up to a sky package.  They also get a free sky plus box
Post by: Minder on December 14, 2008, 02:27:06 PM
As of today my Sky + picture is freezing after about 5 seconds no matter which station i turn it to, Any ideas?
Post by: Main Street on December 14, 2008, 06:16:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 14, 2008, 02:27:06 PM
As of today my Sky + picture is freezing after about 5 seconds no matter which station i turn it to, Any ideas?

Does the picture also freeze on play back of recordings?

The signal quality should be healthy.
Use your remote to inspect the signal quality.
Click on services -  system set up - signal test.
Signal quality should be steady, over the 80% in clear dry weather, In wet weather this can reduce to over 50 to 60%  (still adequate).
In windy weather the quality level can fluctuate but still should be over 50% min.

After that test you will know that the cable is likely to be connected properly (+ no water in it), the LNB is likely to be working and the dish is likely to be aligned.

The usual first thing to try after that is to force a software reload.
Take out the power plug out of the socket,
As you reconnect the power plug hold in the back up button on the sky box until the 4 panel leds are glowing.
Then take your finger off the back up button and wait until the process is completed, takes over 5 minutes.

Then turn on the box and wait until the box gets all the channell info.

If it is still freezing, then I would suspect a faulty box.
It is more economical to replace the box that to pay for somebody to check it out (ie if there is no guarantee on the box).

The cause could well be a faulty power supply. Common enough and easy to fix with a replacement PSU.
But those faults are ascertained by testing rather than guessing.

I would reccommend to anybody to have a reserve box on standby, eg a cheap s/h older grundig digibox, you can always get the free channels + radio on that.
Then it is also usefull to test for any faults in the signal into the box.

Post by: Shrek on December 15, 2008, 09:53:21 AM
Quote from: Minder on December 14, 2008, 02:27:06 PM

as well as all off the above, it could be a problem caused by the Live recording function, try turning this off to see if it solves the problem.
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 04, 2009, 11:48:16 AM
Does anyone know if the Sky + boxes come in any other colours i.e. black?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 04, 2009, 11:55:18 AM
Think only the Sky+ HD box comes in black.

Could you not but a cover for it? Or if all else fails spray paint it  ;)
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 04, 2009, 12:22:46 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 04, 2009, 11:55:18 AM
Think only the Sky+ HD box comes in black.

Could you not but a cover for it? Or if all else fails spray paint it  ;)
Thanks Archie, wee bit of paint will do the trick  ;)

is HD worth it??
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 04, 2009, 01:27:35 PM
Not sure. Probably in a few years when there is more channels and no extra subscription for it.

You could maybe try searching for a cover for the sky+ box. Bound to be someone selling them.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on September 04, 2015, 10:57:16 AM
Morning

Not sure if this is the best place to post....

Was just wondering how Sky boxsets worked?

Is there an additional payment for this service or is it just a case of connecting the Sky box to your hub?
Post by: BenDover on September 04, 2015, 11:24:28 AM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on September 04, 2015, 10:57:16 AM
Morning

Is there an additional payment for this service or is it just a case of connecting the Sky box to your hub?
Depends on the sky package you have, think you need the entertainment extra to get the box sets
Post by: nrico2006 on September 04, 2015, 11:38:54 AM
What you get on demand is dependent on your package?  I get most things but don't have movies or sports so can't watch anything related to them.  You have to get the service activated with Sky (no charge) and then either get a wireless yok to connect your router to your box or just use a lead.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on September 04, 2015, 12:26:51 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 04, 2015, 11:38:54 AM
What you get on demand is dependent on your package?  I get most things but don't have movies or sports so can't watch anything related to them.  You have to get the service activated with Sky (no charge) and then either get a wireless yok to connect your router to your box or just use a lead.

Ok thanks...
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 04, 2015, 12:57:40 PM
Quote from: BenDover on September 04, 2015, 11:24:28 AM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on September 04, 2015, 10:57:16 AM
Morning

Depends on the sky package you have, think you need the entertainment extra to get the box sets
Boxsets are included in the family package (and no doubt the more expensive package) which you can upgrade to "from £6 per month extra" or £36 a month for newbies.