Another Fresh Start for Team Mayo

Started by Lar Naparka, December 30, 2015, 04:44:11 PM

With the start of the FBD only a few days away, I think it's time to put the previous thread to bed as the search for a new manager ended weeks ago.
I think there is damn all use dwelling on what happened in the past and what might or might not have happened if events took a different turn. As far as I'm concerned all the doom merchants can go to hell; all the waffle about the team putting themselves under tremendous pressure by seeking a new manager is either a load of wishful thinking or a complete failure to understand the Mayo psyche.
This team owes nothing to anyone. They will put in 100% effort as they did over the past four years and won't be deflected by amadáns like Colm O'Rourke or Eugene McGee.Dunno how the year ahead is going to turn out but I'm quietly confident that this will be the year to break that bloody oul' priest's curse!

Shrewdness

Lar, i presume that you don't have any objection to contributions to this thread, from '' guest'' posters, who might not necessarily come from Mayo?

Quote from: Shrewdness on December 30, 2015, 07:36:39 PM
Lar, i presume that you don't have any objection to contributions to this thread, from '' guest'' posters, who might not necessarily come from Mayo?
What!! ;D
Of course I don't have any objections to anybody joining in; why should I?
What sort of a Mayo thread would we have if our permanent lodgers, aka Syf, Ross and your good self, didn't park the bus outside our front door?

It is a fresh start and one we can all look forward to . Will SR change it up a bit , style of play ? some new faces ? Yes , yes and yes I'd guess.

Youd imagine , well actually we don't have to imagine that the FBD is going to be like trial games for the new lads that have been invited in to see who's worth a run for the league campaign . My only concern for the likes of kirby and Douglas (castlebars involvement in AI series) is that they won't get enough county time to prove themselves.

The league campaign should be taken as serious as  is possible , there is no reason why we should not be aiming to get to semi final at least ,no harm at all to get a run or even two in croker before the championship.  I'd be looking to beat Cork , Donegal , Kerry and Roscommon and Down. 

The championship is of course what it's all about . We need a bit of luck to get vital players back to speed and flying fit , Cillian is the main concern ,I'd also leave AOS out for as long as is possible to not effect him getting to championship pace.

Just after watching the under 21 final tonight on live stream , some great football , well done to Aghamore .

The future is bright for the green n red ,exciting times . #daretobedifferent

giveballaghback

Ah lads, for ... sake not again, that ship sailed in july 1952 when Ros hammered ye in Mchale park and ended yere reign. Cop on for yere own sake, happy new year.

http://www.mayogaa.com/news/370623/Mayo_Senior_Football_Squad_v_NUIG

Great to see some of them names ,be a great experience for the likes of Conor loftus .

Just posting to keep Lar happy.
Hope ye won't be too disappointed when ye find ye're slipped back into the pack.

Quote from: Rossfan on December 30, 2015, 09:56:56 PM
Hope ye won't be too disappointed when ye find ye're slipped back into the pack.

Time will tell . I don't think we will find that is the case at all . Very hard to see why that would be the case , it's only four months ago we went toe to toe with the eventual all Ireland champions and put it up to them like no other team in the country did .you never know we could even be back to have a crack at them again next September (be the third week this time though) .

Who is the best equipped teams in Ireland to stop Dublin getting back to back ! Kerry, Tyrone , Donegal,Cork and I'd make Ourselves out to be in that category some might even say in form terms we'd be top of that pile .. 

Intoxicated bravado , "we'll win fuckin win it this year" up Mayo

Sensible morning reasoning "Ye'll never win it till Ballagh GAA club joins their own County "
;) ;) :D ;D
2016 .... Bring it on......

Shrewdness

Rossfan, you can see why Mayo people believe that this is their year. Many of them, on other forums  and on the street, believe that they have a ''direct run'' to the final, as they are on what they regard as the '' weak side'' of the draw. Dublin and Kerry will annihilate each other in the semi final, leaving the winner too drained to stop Rochford's mighty Mayo in the final. Then to top it all off, even Old Moore is predicting Mayo's glory is upon us. Who are we Rossfan, humble Rossies, to argue with such logic. Happy New Year  :(

Mayo need a bit more work on the psychological side. You never know, this could be the year.

Quote from: larryin89 on December 30, 2015, 10:08:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 30, 2015, 09:56:56 PM

Time will tell . I don't think we will find that is the case at all . Very hard to see why that would be the case , it's only four months ago we went toe to toe with the eventual all Ireland champions and put it up to them like no other team in the country did .you never know we could even be back to have a crack at them again next September (be the third week this time though) .

Who is the best equipped teams in Ireland to stop Dublin getting back to back ! Kerry, Tyrone , Donegal,Cork and I'd make Ourselves out to be in that category some might even say in form terms we'd be top of that pile ..

you can rule out 3 of the 5

mrhardyannual

Between the panel named for Sunday, the college tied and the injured list, 20 clubs are represented among the 40 players and that excludes Castlebar, Holly/Carr and Ardnaree. That's a broad spread even if its only Jan 1. Are there any other players from the clubs not repesented who would be worth a look at. Durcan was a huge addittion last season. Any players out there likely to make the jump to senior intercounty standard. I would suggest that we are missing out and our specialist players at full back, centre half back and centre forward. Players have stepped into the role over the past five years but none have nailed them down. 

Beffs

Quote from: Shrewdness on January 01, 2016, 12:37:47 PM
Rossfan, you can see why Mayo people believe that this is their year. Many of them, on other forums  and on the street, believe that they have a ''direct run'' to the final, as they are on what they regard as the '' weak side'' of the draw. Dublin and Kerry will annihilate each other in the semi final, leaving the winner too drained to stop Rochford's mighty Mayo in the final. Then to top it all off, even Old Moore is predicting Mayo's glory is upon us. Who are we Rossfan, humble Rossies, to argue with such logic. Happy New Year  :(

Because that worked out oh so well for them, back in 2013.  ::)

Quote from: larryin89 on December 30, 2015, 10:08:06 PM

When people talk, about the counties that are likely to win Sam, they always seem to say Cork AND Kerry, the way that you say salt AND vinegar, or cheese AND onion, when you talking about your favorite crisp. Like it's an automatic thing. You can't have one with out the other.

I don't get that. Not given their recent history and current state of disaray. When was the last time Cork came within an arses roar of an All Ireland semi final, never mind a final...2011, 2012?