Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Saffsof82

Quote from: EOC1923 on October 14, 2022, 07:44:14 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2022, 10:09:18 PM
Quote from: country bumpkin on October 13, 2022, 10:01:39 PM
It seems 'Saffron Voice' is outa business.....

You've got to pick your battles, if you are giving the county constant stick on social media don't expect a pat on the back.

You should know when you throw abuse at officials there has to be repercussions
What abuse did they throw?

seems to be more tweets and comments on posts etc that the problem was with from what i hear, the show was sound anytime i heard it, just a bit of banter.

Saffsof82

Quote from: asaffgael on October 14, 2022, 08:16:54 AM
Who is in Andy McEntees back room team?

John McCloskey, Terry McCrudden, Brian Magee, Tom (from Meath) dont know second name, some chat lately that Mick McCann involved but not sure thats correct

Highland Paddy

I see Dunloy win the intermediate champo in the big ball. Is that them up to senior next year then?

You've got to pick your battles, if you are giving the county constant stick on social media don't expect a pat on the back.

Claiming the county are looking at supporters as piggy banks and not caring for player welfare ain't going to help with things..

Banter is grand once you start trying to be a 'voice' of the supporters then you are lost, they aint the voice just two lads in a bedroom talking shite, that's in their own words btw, I liked their podcast, though giving unpaid volunteers some stick about their performance won't win hearts and minds.

Trial by social media (and not their case as they don't hide behind keyboards) isn't great, you wouldn't want your son to take abuse online but happy to give to others  (not your personally of course)

There are more formal ways to express your opinion through the club committee if you are a member that is, or seeing as it is simple enough to fix get on board

Pjoe

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2022, 09:06:34 AM

Claiming the county are looking at supporters as piggy banks and not caring for player welfare ain't going to help with things..

Banter is grand once you start trying to be a 'voice' of the supporters then you are lost, they aint the voice just two lads in a bedroom talking shite, that's in their own words btw, I liked their podcast, though giving unpaid volunteers some stick about their performance won't win hearts and minds.

Trial by social media (and not their case as they don't hide behind keyboards) isn't great, you wouldn't want your son to take abuse online but happy to give to others  (not your personally of course)

There are more formal ways to express your opinion through the club committee if you are a member that is, or seeing as it is simple enough to fix get on board

100% MR

country bumpkin

Quote from: Pjoe on October 14, 2022, 09:32:13 AM

100% MR

Did see those digs hinting at admission charges but found such 'cartoon' like posts as harmless in the extreme.
But in all seriousness if a family, dad, mum and A couple of 17 year old siblings forked out £40 entrance and coming from Toome or Aghalee.....plus fuel.....out a lot.

Officials and reporters stroll in.

Now all those poor souls that endured the trip to Hightown forced with a fair hike up a steep incline and slithering down again soaked to the skin having paid for the privilege.

EOC1923

100% MR
The podcast after the two football semis they did call out the referees for their poor performances. Social media will tell you these were widely held opinions. Too strongly in their language used yes, but don't see why they cant call the poor performances out all the same. Happens on Match of the Day every weekend

geezer

The lads from Saffron Voice are just calling out concerns that many within the County have...as such.

Fixture scheduling is a major issue IMO. I undertsand that we are probably the only county in Ulster with 3 leagues in both codes with alot of the clubs being dual. Fixtures will be tricky to organise in Antrim but there is no way leagues shouldnt be finished before championship starts. The u-20 grade is a complete farce and should be scrapped immediately.

Regarding the issue of pricing. there is no reason for not having double headers, particularly at the 1/4 and semi stage. Punters want value for money and many more neutrals would attend double headers. Dunsilly is great but if it can have double headers then use 1 of the many venues that have in the past.

Lastly, Hightown should never be used again for a championship match at any level. Its a terrible place to watch a match. McCavana needs to stop pushing it to host matches, it simply isnt fit for purpose. What happened to Glenavy/Ahoghill/Creggan which were used regularly?

Quote from: country bumpkin on October 14, 2022, 09:46:02 AM

100% MR

Did see those digs hinting at admission charges but found such 'cartoon' like posts as harmless in the extreme.
But in all seriousness if a family, dad, mum and A couple of 17 year old siblings forked out £40 entrance and coming from Toome or Aghalee.....plus fuel.....out a lot.

Officials and reporters stroll in.

Now all those poor souls that endured the trip to Hightown forced with a fair hike up a steep incline and slithering down again soaked to the skin having paid for the privilege.

I'm not sure what the prices for entry into games in other counties but it would be similar in price, if you get it streamed to the house it will be a hell of a lot cheaper again and warmer.

You can't put a price on watching your club team win a county championship though.. I pay into my own club games at Milltown so paying to watch your club should be standard surely? As for walking up hills in the rain, if you ain't fit for it stay in, its not Holland, the hint is in the name, Hightown!

One mans banter is another mans criticism I suppose, never listened to a podcast until I listened to theirs, was decent enough and well spread across the grades, no hurling but sure can't be perfect

Quote from: EOC1923 on October 14, 2022, 10:21:49 AM

100% MR
The podcast after the two football semis they did call out the referees for their poor performances. Social media will tell you these were widely held opinions. Too strongly in their language used yes, but don't see why they cant call the poor performances out all the same. Happens on Match of the Day every weekend

Just because it happens on social media and match of the day every weekend doesn't make it ok to have a pop.. the Match of the day show is referee's who get very well paid to do a job, Joe down the street is doing it because the club haven't a referee and they need one to get home fixtures!!

By calling out ref's on social media is that your tactic to encourage these 'better' ref's to get on board? Great logic, had you down as a thinker

Points a Good Score

The boys have played a blinder, only one game left under Antrims jurisdiction ie: tonight's playoff which for all we know they can't attend due to other commitments, so not a massive sacrifice they have made but by putting that statement out it makes them look like men of the people standing up for what's right against the big bad county board hastily backed up by like and comments on the socials. Their popularity soars and followers increase. Marketing genius.

Quote from: geezer on October 14, 2022, 10:24:38 AM
The lads from Saffron Voice are just calling out concerns that many within the County have...as such.

Fixture scheduling is a major issue IMO. I undertsand that we are probably the only county in Ulster with 3 leagues in both codes with alot of the clubs being dual. Fixtures will be tricky to organise in Antrim but there is no way leagues shouldnt be finished before championship starts. The u-20 grade is a complete farce and should be scrapped immediately.

Regarding the issue of pricing. there is no reason for not having double headers, particularly at the 1/4 and semi stage. Punters want value for money and many more neutrals would attend double headers. Dunsilly is great but if it can have double headers then use 1 of the many venues that have in the past.

Lastly, Hightown should never be used again for a championship match at any level. Its a terrible place to watch a match. McCavana needs to stop pushing it to host matches, it simply isnt fit for purpose. What happened to Glenavy/Ahoghill/Creggan which were used regularly?

Fixture scheduling you've answered it yourself already, its not designed to fit one club or code, its to tie in with everything that goes on in GAA games in Antrim and beyond.. Schools, colleges, ladies, camogie, hurling and football your local divisional games, add in the county on top of that. That then leaves you a master fixture list to arrange all the competitions and have enough officials to look after the games, seems easy doesn't it!!

Pricing is fine, it seems standard across the other counties, in some cases cheaper, double headers, I'll give you that, Casement was perfect for it, though I really can't remember to many other double headers that involved senior games, a mixture of minor or junior possibly, I'm all for that btw

They have a voce we all have a voice, the clubs are your outlet to give your county delegate the platform to get things done, people can voice opinions here or elsewhere but unless you put yourself forward then how can you actually achieve anything?

EOC1923

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2022, 10:35:20 AM
Quote from: EOC1923 on October 14, 2022, 10:21:49 AM

100% MR

Just because it happens on social media and match of the day every weekend doesn't make it ok to have a pop.. the Match of the day show is referee's who get very well paid to do a job, Joe down the street is doing it because the club haven't a referee and they need one to get home fixtures!!

By calling out ref's on social media is that your tactic to encourage these 'better' ref's to get on board? Great logic, had you down as a thinker
Not my job to attract referees and I don't think the Joe down the street type referees are the guys doing championship semi finals and finals MR2, these guys take refereeing seriously and profess to be good at it. Joe down the street is the guy doing the u11 games once in a while to tick a box for the club. Completely different

The lack of double headers is very poor though MR. If it's due to Dunsilly then games shouldn't be there. If it's due to money then well...

I don't think they can win on the relegation thing though but maybe sunday would have been a bit mroe time but how much time can you expect ballymena to wait too. Tbh I hope it makes them rethink that structure or gets them to play those games straight away rather than wait.

Its not your job but you want to have better refereeing?!! You'll not get it by attacking them on social media

Profess to be good? Like walk around telling people they are good? WTF

Joe down the street will still want to improve, anyone doing any sort of 'job' will always want to become better at it, but if he's being pummeled for it be some keyboard warriors then what's the point?

The topic is about lads talking about football and taking a stand, they feel hard done by but they have probably crossed a line, like another press guy who felt it was perfectly fine to call the referee a useless cnut