Any landlords on here?

Started by Rois, June 18, 2013, 04:12:31 PM

Is that cesspit still going strong? Are students priced out of the new accommodation blocks springing up in the city centre??

Quote from: general_lee on August 17, 2024, 11:59:58 AMIs that cesspit still going strong? Are students priced out of the new accommodation blocks springing up in the city centre??
More craic in the holylands

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 17, 2024, 12:06:15 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 17, 2024, 11:59:58 AMIs that cesspit still going strong? Are students priced out of the new accommodation blocks springing up in the city centre??
Craic? It's a slum. I told my lad to steer well clear.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 17, 2024, 09:15:01 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 17, 2024, 09:03:43 AMAny posters with student houses in the Holylands area of Belfast looking 3 x tenants? My lad and 2 mates searching atm, sensible freshers & footballers. PMs/links/info appreciated!
Talk about an oxymoron ;)
The view of every parent who had a lad heading to live in the holylands....

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 17, 2024, 10:07:18 PM
Hope that works!
I imagine when you got the weekly "watch yourself now" speech, your folks never envisaged you to be stumbling out of the Crescent Bar in the early hours and how specifically precarious that could be.
I'm not here to unsettle you but be mindful that the world looks different at 50.

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 17, 2024, 11:33:34 PM
Hope that works!
I imagine when you got the weekly "watch yourself now" speech, your folks never envisaged you to be stumbling out of the Crescent Bar in the early hours and how specifically precarious that could be.
I'm not here to unsettle you but be mindful that the world looks different at 50.
Oh I know, when you're that age you know everything. He has moved into a new house this year and it's not exactly in a salubrious location. He has mates going to Damascus St. so he'll still be about it but there is an odd mix of people there now compared to when I lived there which was mostly culchie students and locals. There are simply too many HMOs in a small area.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2024, 07:31:31 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 17, 2024, 11:33:34 PM
Hope that works!
Oh I know, when you're that age you know everything. He has moved into a new house this year and it's not exactly in a salubrious location. He has mates going to Damascus St. so he'll still be about it but there is an odd mix of people there now compared to when I lived there which was mostly culchie students and locals. There are simply too many HMOs in a small area.

It's bonkers .. my daughter moved into Wesley avenue after halls, wasn't as bad and happier for it at the time. After 4 years away, cost of living has caught up (I.e mum and dad hand outs) so she'll be back home once she's back from the states next week!

Culture shock for us two!

The holylands was always a shit hole. But it's a different sort of shithole now. It used to be more or less all students from country areas. It was serious craic living there, brilliant memories. However, I was down once or twice recently for work related things and it seems that there has been an influx of druggies, ex prisoners and there's a number of half way houses in it now. Not the place it used to be in the 00s.

Sportacus

Quote from: JimStynes on August 18, 2024, 09:43:25 AMThe holylands was always a shit hole. But it's a different sort of shithole now. It used to be more or less all students from country areas. It was serious craic living there, brilliant memories. However, I was down once or twice recently for work related things and it seems that there has been an influx of druggies, ex prisoners and there's a number of half way houses in it now. Not the place it used to be in the 00s.
What's a halfway house?

Quote from: Sportacus on August 18, 2024, 01:06:59 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 18, 2024, 09:43:25 AMThe holylands was always a shit hole. But it's a different sort of shithole now. It used to be more or less all students from country areas. It was serious craic living there, brilliant memories. However, I was down once or twice recently for work related things and it seems that there has been an influx of druggies, ex prisoners and there's a number of half way houses in it now. Not the place it used to be in the 00s.
What's a halfway house?
Generally a place for offenders post-release to allow them to get back on their feet before re-entering "society".

Sportacus

Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2024, 01:59:42 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on August 18, 2024, 01:06:59 PM
What's a halfway house?
Generally a place for offenders post-release to allow them to get back on their feet before re-entering "society".
Thanks. 

Mid '90's Holylands is as peak student life. First real breakthrough with GAA jerseys being worn openly round Belfast,  bit of success for Ulster teams in Croke Park,  Renshaws was Renshaws. A generation of young lads and lasses all going through school all of a sudden in the big smoke with confidence. Place was bouncing!

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 18, 2024, 06:54:53 PMMid '90's Holylands is as peak student life. First real breakthrough with GAA jerseys being worn openly round Belfast,  bit of success for Ulster teams in Croke Park,  Renshaws was Renshaws. A generation of young lads and lasses all going through school all of a sudden in the big smoke with confidence. Place was bouncing!

That's a fair reflection of the times

Maybe 5 years or so before that, students were flat out at the Bot, before it was burnt down and rebuilt, cultchies were there but less the GAA tops.

oddly my daughter (mixed marriage) says on holidays that there is serious amounts of lads full time, for the week or two that just wear either club or county colours.. and I say, and? Lol

Quote from: Armagh4sam2024 on August 19, 2024, 12:40:23 AMBollox

Your an angry boyo  ;D

But which bit is bollox? lads not wearing GAA tops in the early 90's or lads wearing GAA tops flat out on hols?