Predict the winner

Derry
22 (66.7%)
Monaghan
11 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 33

Monaghan done alot of fouling on Derry way out the field to break up Derry on the counter attack. Wonder will the 2 lads down with so called neck injuries have a claim in Monday morning, was waiting on the neck brace been brought out. That fake shit needs cut out of Gaelic, play acting at it worse. Monaghan should won, Derry again very poor for 2nd game running. Gallagher not there, is a big difference. I don't know how bad some of the Derry forwards have to play to actually not be starting nxt day out.

straightred

Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 27, 2023, 08:59:07 PM
Quote from: Schkite on May 27, 2023, 08:47:52 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 27, 2023, 08:43:13 PM
Fair F's to Vinny for his preparation of the team for this game considering the huge chasm to cross after the semi final. Happy enough with the draw seeing as we were in desperation last chance zone and the icing on that cake was that it was brilliantly executed by Karl O'Connell.

Yep while it was disappointing not to win that, Vinny made some big calls and they were all the right ones. For a fella in his fledgling days of a managerial career, he's making a very good account of himself

Brave call not to start Conor McManus, Jack McCarron, Darren and Kieran Hughes and leave it late before bringing them on.
it paid off - you have to manage the squad now with games coming so quickly. Monaghan and Derry should both win their last 2 games so points difference will probably decide this group

markl121

Will take that result. We were shite but Shane mcguigan yet again was unreal

Quote from: straightred on May 27, 2023, 09:07:42 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 27, 2023, 08:59:07 PM
Quote from: Schkite on May 27, 2023, 08:47:52 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 27, 2023, 08:43:13 PM
Fair F's to Vinny for his preparation of the team for this game considering the huge chasm to cross after the semi final. Happy enough with the draw seeing as we were in desperation last chance zone and the icing on that cake was that it was brilliantly executed by Karl O'Connell.

Yep while it was disappointing not to win that, Vinny made some big calls and they were all the right ones. For a fella in his fledgling days of a managerial career, he's making a very good account of himself

Brave call not to start Conor McManus, Jack McCarron, Darren and Kieran Hughes and leave it late before bringing them on.
it paid off - you have to manage the squad now with games coming so quickly. Monaghan and Derry should both win their last 2 games so points difference will probably decide this group
There's still a lot of football to be played yet and hopefully Monaghan will be grounded enough when facing Clare who are anything but a 'should win' game.
Donegal at home to Armagh Derry will be interesting.

Derryman forever

There's still a lot of football to be played yet and hopefully Monaghan will be grounded enough when facing Clare who are anything but a 'should win' game.
Donegal at home to Armagh will be interesting.

What competition is that game in?

Quote from: straightred on May 27, 2023, 08:40:35 PM
Quote from: Wolfetones on May 27, 2023, 08:36:48 PM
Quote from: Wolfetones on May 27, 2023, 07:54:39 PM
You'd hope the wide given as a score isn't a factor in the result.

Unfortunately it was. Great second half.
we don't know if it was over or not - very close call. Is hawk eye that expensive that we cant have it all of these games games

It was 100% wide, by about half a foot. We were stood on the 65 closest to the Brandywell terrace at the side terrace.

NotedObserver

Bit like Shane mcguigans in Ulster final. It looked over to me

Quote from: Derryman forever on May 27, 2023, 09:41:26 PM

Donegal at home to Armagh derry will be interesting.

What competition is that game in?
:)

Quote from: NotedObserver on May 27, 2023, 10:01:29 PM

Where were you positioned? Was wide, zero debate... These things happen.

straightred

Quote from: JoG2 on May 27, 2023, 10:10:52 PM

except there is a debate. Question is when it curled in relation to the post. you can't tell if you're looking down the field. Umpire called it and there's no reason to doubt his judgement. If chatgpt can write essays these days surely technology can sort this stuff out

Poor form from mcguigan there at the final whistle .

NotedObserver

Quote from: straightred on May 27, 2023, 10:24:57 PM

except there is a debate. Question is when it curled in relation to the post. you can't tell if you're looking down the field. Umpire called it and there's no reason to doubt his judgement. If chatgpt can write essays these days surely technology can sort this stuff out

Thank you

Quote from: NotedObserver on May 27, 2023, 10:44:43 PM
Quote from: straightred on May 27, 2023, 10:24:57 PM

Thank you

Eh? It was wide, wasn't even close, our squad could not have been placed in a better spot. The umpire, probably in the worst position of all to call it, called it (incorrectly) a score.

It was wide, very surprised when it was given, the lad underneath the post hadnt a clue and looked to the other boy.

DhoireTheas

It is strange how the media call Monaghan "Farneymen" when many of the players don't live in the Farney barony. That would be like calling a Coleraine person a SouthDerryman (Loughinsholin)