Predict the winner

Derry
22 (66.7%)
Monaghan
11 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 33

Purple patch for Monaghan now while Derry trying to slow things down.   That score for Glass should settle them.

That's as harsh a call for overcarrying as I've ever seen!

Big save by Beggan could have been be 9 point gap and up the field Monaghan go and get a point back to 5 points between the sides.  1-16 to 2-8

Nanderson

Anyone seen any kickout stats. Looks like Derry have won maybe 80% of all kickouts

Tyrone came out 2nd half the last day completely complacent thinking the game was done and dusted but they really should have been putting Monaghan to the sword like Derry have done here.

Quote from: clarshack on April 29, 2023, 06:38:19 PM
Tyrone came out 2nd half the last day completely complacent thinking the game was done and dusted but they really should have been putting Monaghan to the sword like Derry have done here.
Derry also put Tyrone to the sword in the championship last year. Main question about Tyrone is are they any better than what they showed last year?

FT Derry 1-21 Monaghan 2-10 and Derry good value for that 8 point winning margin

Champion The Wonder Horse

Enjoyed that.

But there isn't a single Monaghan man you wouldn't want playing for Derry.

straightred

Derry were good value for the win but the problem with the new format was obvious today. Monaghan were beaten at half time. They showed no real urgency to get back into it. If teams were facing the exit or even the old dangerous back door system they'd try a lot harder. Monaghan know they'll be seeded 3rd. That might even ben a better place to be that 2nd seed.

Derry just a point better in the 2nd half  ;)
Uncanny impressive shooting accuracy from Derry from all angles and distance.
Not that he affected who would win this game as Derry were supreme on the day, but for the first time in my  GAA board life  I take issue with a ref,  Hurson was shite in a game which had no pressure per se, as in ugly rivals at play
Content enough so far with Monaghan's transitional season, not relegated, beat Tyrone and with a (3 week break) good enough  prospect to get though the group to the 'super' knock- out stage.

Quote from: straightred on April 29, 2023, 06:58:00 PM
Derry were good value for the win but the problem with the new format was obvious today. Monaghan were beaten at half time. They showed no real urgency to get back into it. If teams were facing the exit or even the old dangerous back door system they'd try a lot harder. Monaghan know they'll be seeded 3rd. That might even ben a better place to be that 2nd seed.
2nd half was 0-9 to 1-5 in scoring, facing an exit i don't think would have made much of a difference as Derry weren't going to let that big half time lead slip.

Whatever the seed you need to finish 1st in the group IMO.

For Monaghan now is an away game to a provincial winner which is not going to be easy. If you lose that first game, you're probably looking at 2nd/3rd place in the group which means you play 3 games on the trot – last group game, prelim QF and QF which is going to take a toll on the team.

Serious attacking display from our lads with scores all over the pitch the goals the obvious worry but played really well apart from that.

Disappointing Murray couldn't have played for the U20s on Wed night.

Maybe harsh but what's the hype about McCarron? Has to be one of the most over rated players in the game at the minute!

Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 29, 2023, 07:07:45 PM
Quote from: straightred on April 29, 2023, 06:58:00 PM
2nd half was 0-9 to 1-5 in scoring, facing an exit i don't think would have made much of a difference as Derry weren't going to let that big half time lead slip.

Whatever the seed you need to finish 1st in the group IMO.

For Monaghan now is an away game to a provincial winner which is not going to be easy. If you lose that first game, you're probably looking at 2nd/3rd place in the group which means you play 3 games on the trot – last group game, prelim QF and QF which is going to take a toll on the team.
You're a bit too 'captain obvious'  in replying to my quip about the 2nd half,

Going into the group stage as 3rd seed    holds better prospect than as an ulster  provincial runners up.
Monaghan are in  a good position to get to a 1/4 final, which would be very good for this  team in transition.in 2023.

Quote from: screenexile on April 29, 2023, 07:49:30 PM
Serious attacking display from our lads with scores all over the pitch the goals the obvious worry but played really well apart from that.

Maybe harsh but what's the hype about McCarron? Has to be one of the most over rated players in the game at the minute!
What hype about McCarron are you referring to this year? please provide links.

Quote from: Main Street on April 29, 2023, 08:02:21 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 29, 2023, 07:49:30 PM

What hype about McCarron are you referring to this year? please provide links.

Fair enough not so much this year but definitely last year and he's talked about as if he's an important cog in the Monaghan team but just I've yet to see it.