A United Ireland. Opening up the discussion.

Started by winghalfback, May 27, 2015, 03:16:23 PM

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 29, 2022, 12:59:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 29, 2022, 12:56:28 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 29, 2022, 12:55:20 PM
Yous do realise that productivity is measured in how efficient you are as a worker not how many workers there are?

So only if they are actually working in the south and not just standing about?

Yes. if you need to make 10 loaves and it takes a bakery in Derry 12 people to do it and the one in Donegal 6 they are more productive.

Most of those Derry wans are probably eating the loaves

I assume you know how it works, you don't get paid unless its done, this is the private sector not the public, be a wasted journey just to see the capital

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 29, 2022, 01:40:28 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 29, 2022, 12:59:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 29, 2022, 12:56:28 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 29, 2022, 12:55:20 PM
Yous do realise that productivity is measured in how efficient you are as a worker not how many workers there are?

So only if they are actually working in the south and not just standing about?

Yes. if you need to make 10 loaves and it takes a bakery in Derry 12 people to do it and the one in Donegal 6 they are more productive.

Most of those Derry wans are probably eating the loaves

I assume you know how it works, you don't get paid unless its done, this is the private sector not the public, be a wasted journey just to see the capital

Only eat turnovers and baps , not sure how productivity is measured in public, in a hospital it would be something like patient throughput and leadtime

snoopdog

Quote from: Rossfan on December 03, 2022, 12:02:12 PM
Only 55% of "NI Catholics" would vote for a UI :o
https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2022/12/03/poll-shows-northern-ireland-rejects-unity-by-large-margin/
This isn't really a surprise. Most people would say its at least 10 years too soon gor a vote on unity. And there is no discussion on how things will look in a UI. Health education tax the 3 big tickets.  With the NHS in a mess though it's no longer the Beacon it once was. People are cautious to make decisions that will hit them in the pocket.  Another thing with polls it all depends where the  poll was Done.

Quote from: snoopdog on December 03, 2022, 01:02:32 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2022/12/03/poll-shows-northern-ireland-rejects-unity-by-large-margin/
This isn't really a surprise. Most people would say its at least 10 years too soon gor a vote on unity. And there is no discussion on how things will look in a UI. Health education tax the 3 big tickets.  With the NHS in a mess though it's no longer the Beacon it once was. People are cautious to make decisions that will hit them in the pocket.  Another thing with polls it all depends where the  poll was Done.

The point about this is the Don't Know. Anyone that would sign a blank cheque is an eejit, I wouldn't because it could mean that the British would get off the hook in a proper settlement re pensions etc. The hard work of defining things has not been done and it would take 5 years to do that in any case .

I haven't (yet) read this, but a question like "would you welcome a United Ireland if proper arrangements were made and a majority agreed to it" might be more informative.

Quote from: armaghniac on December 03, 2022, 01:20:58 PM

I haven't (yet) read this, but a question like "would you welcome a United Ireland if proper arrangements were made and a majority agreed to it" might be more informative.
A million times this.
Nobody knows what they would be voting for.
SDLP have appointed a new director of policy (I won't comment on the choice of appointee), whose main role is to oversee the development of their New Ireland Commission's work. This is a positive step in trying to put meat on the bones. Aligns with what Mary Lou was saying on the Late Late last night.

At 26% for Unity, that poll is surprisingly low compared to recent Lucid and University of Liverpool polls. Especially considering the shitshow that is lack of Assembly, Brexit and the Tories mismanagement of the economy, and north not even getting energy payments yet. ipsos is a credible polling company but very disappointing numbers.

But at a high level, wouldn't you think more than 55% would aspire to a United Ireland?
Maybe there's more partitionists among "your own" than you'd like to admit.

There probably are I imagine.

The capitulation of the nhs may change some of that I think.

There's also the issue that people have lived in relative peace for almost 30 years now.  A transition to a United Ireland has some potential to upend that.  That could be a factor for some of the 45% in that poll.

This is a rather odd poll in many ways
However, a large majority in the south want unity and a majority want a poll within 5 years, so there is a clear mandate for some planning work on how things would work.

Dire Ear

Probably the wrong thread for this question...but is/will there be a recession in the 26 while there's one in the 6? Thinking workwise in the new year?

Windmill abu

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 03, 2022, 02:47:22 PM

There's also the issue that people have lived in relative peace for almost 30 years now.  A transition to a United Ireland has some potential to upend that.  That could be a factor for some of the 45% in that poll.

The threat of loyalist violence may be a factor in maintaining the status quo. but people have to realise that after a vote in favour of a U.I. The police force which currently protects them will have been replaced by the Garda who will make being a loyalist paramilitary a less attractive position.
Never underestimate the power of complaining

You assume the 6 will be incorporated into the 26?

clonadmad

If the Unionist leadership was anyway smart which they ain't

They would call a referendum now while it's still winnable

Win it and Kill it,for a generation at least

Just copy and paste what's happened in Scotland