Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: JimStynes on February 09, 2022, 08:27:23 PM

Title: The Gym and Fitness Thread
Post by: JimStynes on February 09, 2022, 08:27:23 PM
What's everyone's doing fitness wise? Any CrossFit fans?
I've a good lockdown stone to shift! I've been doing a lot on concept 2 machines lately and loving them. Aiming for a sub 7 min 2k row.
Title: Re: The Gym and Fitness Thread
Post by: square_ball on February 09, 2022, 09:16:00 PM
A sub 7 time for 2km is very good going. What is your best time at the minute?

I have started back into the running in the new year. Getting out at least 3 times a week. So far so good. Not be setting any world records but it's keeping the weight gain at bay for the time being.
Post by: Mikhailov on February 09, 2022, 09:21:24 PM
2k row in 7 minutes is great work!

How many times a week do you do the 2k row? What is your current time split?

Post by: JimStynes on February 09, 2022, 09:26:12 PM
Current best time is 7.11. Took 13 seconds off it from the start of the year until last week. Doing a lot of threshold work at the minute and doing the odd 4x 500m effort each week. Holding 1.45 pace is tough work! Trying to go sub 7 on the ski erg too but it's way off at the minute. I like running but it's tough on the old knees.
Post by: square_ball on February 09, 2022, 09:46:45 PM
Holding a 1.45 pace for 2k would be painful! Just pull like a dog as the O'Donovan brothers would say.
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2022, 10:17:46 PM
I once played in a squash league in London. I was the lowest ranked on our team  and played the lowest rank on a London Polytech team. Their 5th was poor, way below the required standard but I unsportingly rubbed it in a little bit. Later he then offered me a tour of the indoor sports facilities and we ended up in the rowing club's indoor training facility where there was a rowing boat in a simulated environment. He suggested I give the oars a try in the boat, he pressed a few buttons to activate the simulation and holy fck I never felt such pain. I got the message with respect  just looked at him and smiled. It turned out that he was the rowing team coach, most probably he just filled in as substitute on the squash team at short notice.
When it comes to rowing  - respect.

Post by: screenexile on February 09, 2022, 10:48:57 PM
Since the New Year I've signed up for a half marathon and a marathon... probably a mid life crisis thing but then there are worse things to do!!

Trying to run 3 times a week and a long run at the weekend and find it very difficult in terms of injuries and speed. My speed hasn't really improved but I'm hoping the further I go in the long runs it'll help increase the speed.

The best thing I've done is sign up for a Pilates class. I absolutely love it and am feeling much stronger in the core and my back which is a godsend for me who's back could spasm at any time. It's way more difficult than I thought it would be but I like the challenge of it and it's definitely something I'll keep up!

After the marathon I think the rowing machine will be the next investment it's probably the most sustainable and convenient way to stay fit fair play Jim!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 10, 2022, 12:06:30 AM
Since last summer strength gym, after been away 15yrs, first  2 weeks a shock to the system, nearly killed me. Now 3/4 times a week, mosying up to getting near 200kg for my squats. Suppose weird past time in my late 40's.I left the conditioning part out, good run would kill me lol 😂.
Post by: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 05:58:02 AM
I don't go heavy on squats and dead lifts etc anymore. The most is do on a back squat now is just over 100kg and front squat about 90kg. I very rarely go over 100kg on dead lift either. I've a bad back so the reward is never worth the risk in my case. I love Olympic lifting such as the snatch and clean and jerk. So technically hard to learn but again I always try and keep a sensible weight on the bar. I love CrossFit but some of the form and technique is shocking (including myself) due to people's egos getting in the way.
Post by: laoislad on February 10, 2022, 06:59:08 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 05:58:02 AM
I don't go heavy on squats and dead lifts etc anymore. The most is do on a back squat now is just over 100kg and front squat about 90kg. I very rarely go over 100kg on dead lift either. I've a bad back so the reward is never worth the risk in my case. I love Olympic lifting such as the snatch and clean and jerk. So technically hard to learn but again I always try and keep a sensible weight on the bar. I love CrossFit but some of the form and technique is shocking (including myself) due to people's egos getting in the way.
I bought a trap bar for deadlifting. Much easier on the back. Ive noticed I'm a lot stronger running up hills since I started using it. It's the only weight lifting I do , I should probably do more and different types of weightlifting though I'm not interested in building bulk.

A friend of mine started doing Tai Chi and says it's been great for his mind and body. Wouldn't mind trying something like that.
Post by: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 07:06:06 AM
Quote from: laoislad on February 10, 2022, 06:59:08 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 05:58:02 AM
I bought a trap bar for deadlifting. Much easier on the back. Ive noticed I'm a lot stronger running up hills since I started using it. It's the only weight lifting I do , I should probably do more and different types of weightlifting though I'm not interested in building bulk.

A friend of mine started doing Tai Chi and says it's been great for his mind and body. Wouldn't mind trying something like that.

Tai chi looks too out there for me lol I have done hot yoga or bikram yoga a 5 or 6 times and found it brilliant, something I could really do with for injury prevention and flexibility. But it's a bit too far out of the road for me to go regularly and it's bloody expensive! Staying injury free and eating all round me at weekends is my biggest problem.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 10, 2022, 08:40:43 AM
I bought a mobility program online and have to say even though I'm only 3 weeks into it it's been a god send for me. It's these guys from Ireland called movement 101 I think. It isn't the cheapest(160 euros or so) but there's a 10 minute daily routine in it to start with and instantly it has made a big difference for me mobility wise. (It's progressive so it's a lot more than 160 euros for a 10 minute routine lol) I think I'd something not working right in my left hip and I couldn't run with achilles problems on the back of it. After 3 weeks of this I have done a few runs this week and for the first time in a very long time felt nothing out of the achilles at all.
Post by: tintin25 on February 10, 2022, 08:41:09 AM
Been doing a few strength and conditioning sessions every week with a local gym and mix that with a few long walks/hikes...does me rightly.  Hoping to get back running shortly for e.g. local parkrun and also play abit of south antrim football
Post by: Mario on February 10, 2022, 08:46:22 AM
I haven't been to the Gym since the first lockdown. It's harder to motivate myself to go now that I don't go to the office and am working from home. Think i'm going to kit out my garage with a gym that way i'll never have to leave the house.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2022, 08:52:20 AM
Quote from: Mario on February 10, 2022, 08:46:22 AM
I haven't been to the Gym since the first lockdown. It's harder to motivate myself to go now that I don't go to the office and am working from home. Think i'm going to kit out my garage with a gym that way i'll never have to leave the house.

Same, have done nothing other than walking the dogs and the odd run and ref'ing.. Been doing a lot of walks in the Mournes last year and started already this year with a few peaks, motivation is zero since the gym I went to closed down (DW) and wasn't bought over..

Its all routine, will pick it up soon, but very busy at work lately and just want to head home and chill!
Post by: Last Man on February 10, 2022, 09:04:37 AM
Have tried to keep going to the gym as much as I can if anything to support the owner of the gym so he would survive financially, the wife was much better than I was in fairness. Most benefit has been to my mental health I believe.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2022, 09:05:52 AM
Quote from: Last Man on February 10, 2022, 09:04:37 AM
Have tried to keep going to the gym as much as I can if anything to support the owner of the gym so he would survive financially, the wife was much better than I was in fairness. Most benefit has been to my mental health I believe.

Where you going Last Man? I paid for the Family pass at the Valley but have been once lol
Post by: nrico2006 on February 10, 2022, 09:46:49 AM
Three nights a week doing weights etc. and three mornings a week doing ten by three minute rounds on the punch bag.
Post by: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 09:53:54 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 10, 2022, 08:40:43 AM
I bought a mobility program online and have to say even though I'm only 3 weeks into it it's been a god send for me. It's these guys from Ireland called movement 101 I think. It isn't the cheapest(160 euros or so) but there's a 10 minute daily routine in it to start with and instantly it has made a big difference for me mobility wise. (It's progressive so it's a lot more than 160 euros for a 10 minute routine lol) I think I'd something not working right in my left hip and I couldn't run with achilles problems on the back of it. After 3 weeks of this I have done a few runs this week and for the first time in a very long time felt nothing out of the achilles at all.

Sounds like something I would benefit from but a nasty enough price! What does it consist of?
Post by: imtommygunn on February 10, 2022, 10:04:48 AM
It starts with joint mobility.

Neck rotation, shoulder rotation, spine movement (basically cat and dog), hip internal and external rotation and ankle rotation and up and down movement. Honestly about ten minutes of those a night in the first phase and then 4 exercises on top of this every other day. I found when I started it I'd no internal rotation in my left hip as I could barely do one of the exercises - when I realised this I've been working on it and it has helped no end.

Tbh I am not sure a lot of it's ground breaking as individual exercisesas you will have seen a lot of them but the focus on round the joints etc is interesting.

Post by: Last Man on February 10, 2022, 10:08:57 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2022, 09:05:52 AM
Quote from: Last Man on February 10, 2022, 09:04:37 AM

Where you going Last Man? I paid for the Family pass at the Valley but have been once lol
KB on the shore road MR, there's plenty of better gyms and value but Kenny is a good guy and in it for the love of it so I'd rather give him a turn than some big outfit.
Post by: redzone on February 10, 2022, 10:14:55 AM
https://youtu.be/5-2gUAOnrco

Theres a few videos here if you check thru them on mobility
Post by: toby47 on February 10, 2022, 10:19:02 AM
Motivation has been low also. I agree that working from home is not helping, finishing up on the laptop & straight into dinner time then after dinner the motivation is gone.

Anyone else working from home in a good routine? Do you go to gym/classes before work?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 10, 2022, 11:03:36 AM
Quote from: toby47 on February 10, 2022, 10:19:02 AM
Motivation has been low also. I agree that working from home is not helping, finishing up on the laptop & straight into dinner time then after dinner the motivation is gone.

Anyone else working from home in a good routine? Do you go to gym/classes before work?

this x 100. Add in young kids and by the time I get some time to myself I'm a busted flush. Started trying to squeeze in walks at lunch before picking kids up which is good. A string of covid cases in the houses over a 3 week Stretch now has put paid to that ffs!
Post by: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 11:23:45 AM

I'm an early morning man. Always have been from I was a child so I don't find it difficult getting up in the morning and going to the gym. One of my friends is the opposite and will go to the gym at 9pm at night without a bother. I couldn't think of anything worse. My routine is to get at the gym for 5.30/5.45 in the morning and home to walk the dog and then showered etc and onto work. This is obviously a lot harder for someone with a crowd of children to get out the door to school each morning. A few friends who have busy home lives with children signed up for a local boot camp style class. 12 weeks starting at 6.00am 3 days a week and lasts 45mins. They're home and back into the house for just after 7 and ready for all the mad morning routine. They love it though swear by it now. They've lost weight and have more energy throughout the day even though they're up earlier.
Post by: illdecide on February 10, 2022, 11:30:28 AM
I do the rowing regular in the gym...Set it to the highest resistance and timer for 10mins and basically try to get as many meters in ten mins as possible. You should aim for a min of 2500m in ten mins which isn't a bad work out. I regularly get 2600-2640m in ten mins but it's tough. Being 48 it's not easy, when i was in mid twenties the most i ever got was 2760m but that was a long time ago.

Do any of you remember the secret "Red Book" that was leaked to the Irish News from 2002. It was Armagh's training regime and rowing was a big part of it...Their programme was...

5 x 1m row (you must hit 300m in the minute) with a 30s breather in between each min row.

After you achieve this then you progress to...

10 x 30s on 30s off (and you must hit 150m in the 30s row)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 10, 2022, 11:33:44 AM
Any of yous ever try lying on the sofa?
Post by: illdecide on February 10, 2022, 11:44:34 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 10, 2022, 11:33:44 AM
Any of yous ever try lying on the sofa?

Yes, like right now.

Off sick with Covid here and getting it tight enough TBH
Post by: lurganblue on February 10, 2022, 11:44:56 AM

I was in a great routine during the decent enough weather of getting a lunch time cycle in while working from home. I'm feck going out in that cold though on the oul iron horse.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 10, 2022, 11:51:28 AM
Routine is key. I run every 2 days (if injuries get better more frequently) and then once the child is in bed at night a 15 minute to half an hour or so exercise routine.

Weather is irrelevant. Keep the routine and never break it.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 10, 2022, 12:05:20 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 10, 2022, 11:44:56 AM

I was in a great routine during the decent enough weather of getting a lunch time cycle in while working from home. I'm feck going out in that cold though on the oul iron horse.
some decent cycling gear and you'll be fine. gloves, hat, fleeced bibs, winter jacket and thermal layer
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 10, 2022, 01:49:02 PM
3 runs a week. Doing a half marathon with LaoisLad in a few weeks so need to get the miles on yen legs. Pace not that important but trying to get as close as possible to 2 hours for the run. Can keep that  pace up for 10 miles near enough so next few weeks gonna push a mile a week on it.  Left calf and left hamstring keep tightening so need to be careful. Had played South Antrim football last year but the legs just couldn't keep it up so focusing on the running.....though was quizzed last night about playing Masters again this year.....maybe?

If I get 30ks running a week I'm happy as I'm out walking a pile outside of that. Hate the gym but may try back swimming now
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on February 10, 2022, 02:30:12 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 11:23:45 AM

I'm an early morning man. Always have been from I was a child so I don't find it difficult getting up in the morning and going to the gym. One of my friends is the opposite and will go to the gym at 9pm at night without a bother. I couldn't think of anything worse. My routine is to get at the gym for 5.30/5.45 in the morning and home to walk the dog and then showered etc and onto work. This is obviously a lot harder for someone with a crowd of children to get out the door to school each morning. A few friends who have busy home lives with children signed up for a local boot camp style class. 12 weeks starting at 6.00am 3 days a week and lasts 45mins. They're home and back into the house for just after 7 and ready for all the mad morning routine. They love it though swear by it now. They've lost weight and have more energy throughout the day even though they're up earlier.

morning run/workout is your only man, far more energy through the day and sleep better at night

more work done too
Post by: Last Man on February 10, 2022, 02:46:19 PM
+1 Get your training done by 7.30 am, and bed by 10.00.
Post by: square_ball on February 10, 2022, 02:52:21 PM
You lads have me convinced. I'm going to give the early morning training a go. Similar to a few other posters by time I get in in the evenings, get the children sorted and whatever else it can be hard to get out to the gym or for a run. Getting brighter in the  mornings so that should help.
Post by: Keyser soze on February 10, 2022, 02:54:05 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 10, 2022, 01:49:02 PM
3 runs a week. Doing a half marathon with LaoisLad in a few weeks so need to get the miles on yen legs. Pace not that important but trying to get as close as possible to 2 hours for the run. Can keep that  pace up for 10 miles near enough so next few weeks gonna push a mile a week on it.  Left calf and left hamstring keep tightening so need to be careful. Had played South Antrim football last year but the legs just couldn't keep it up so focusing on the running.....though was quizzed last night about playing Masters again this year.....maybe?

If I get 30ks running a week I'm happy as I'm out walking a pile outside of that. Hate the gym but may try back swimming now

That'll probably be a first for a half marathon with Laoislad sledging you the whole way for being a Nordie lol
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 10, 2022, 02:58:01 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on February 10, 2022, 02:54:05 PM

That'll probably be a first for a half marathon with Laoislad sledging you the whole way for being a Nordie lol

I know!  I'll trip the fecker up and he'll know all about Nordies then  ;D
Post by: laoislad on February 10, 2022, 02:59:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 10, 2022, 02:58:01 PM

You'll have to catch up to me first ;)
Post by: johnnycool on February 10, 2022, 03:33:29 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 10, 2022, 02:59:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 10, 2022, 02:58:01 PM

You'll have to catch up to me first ;)

You won't be hard to spot;  ;D

(https://external-content.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=https%3A%2F%2Funionjackwear.co.uk%2Fimages%2Fproducts%2F1344864767-19741200.jpg&f=1&nofb=1)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2022, 07:03:35 PM

2 hours? With the length of your legs should be quicker.. 1.39 is your target  ;)
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2022, 08:18:46 PM
I'd do it in 1.39  on my bike, much easier than crunching ankles and other fading joints.
I'm 6 months into a gym membership and have managed for the first time ever to stay habituated with such a program. I suppose it helped that I had much work to do therefore I had aims and goals to reach as well as turning a deaf ear to the dissenting chorus of the voices inside my head
Mostly I use the lower body equipment there and end up with going for broke on the exercise bike for 30 minutes or some other instrument of torture such as the powermill climber, but not too difficult for a lad born and bred in the heart  of Drumlin country.

At home in the evening especially while watching tv sport I use those stretch resistance fibre bands for upper body stretches,
that has a threefold benefit, 
1.considerably lessens the stress when watching games close to the heart
2."I'm not watching football again, I'm doing my stretching exercises in the tv room"
3. the beneficial effect.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 10, 2022, 09:19:43 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 09, 2022, 08:27:23 PM
I've a good lockdown stone to shift! I've been doing a lot on concept 2 machines lately and loving them. Aiming for a sub 7 min 2k row.

CrossFit fanatic here. Sub 7 would be good going
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 10, 2022, 09:38:31 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2022, 07:03:35 PM

2 hours? With the length of your legs should be quicker.. 1.39 is your target  ;)

I'm a fat ****
Post by: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 10:01:54 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 10, 2022, 09:19:43 PM

What gym you in? I was actually a member of the first CrossFit gym in Northern Ireland back in the day. Maybe around 2009? But I went to Oz for a year and half and then I've stopped and started since then. I'm now at Boundary CrossFit and it's a serious setup with some complete freaks at it .

I used to be able to do a sub 7 about 10 years ago and now the closest I've got is 7.11 the other day. It's going to happen though. I'm getting more efficient and fitter each month so hopefully I'll get it soon. It's such a brutal distance though. Staying injury free is the key!
Post by: thebigfella on February 10, 2022, 10:27:04 PM
Depends on time of year as I will play as much golf as I can come longer evenings and better weather.

Few injuries and a recovery from surgery has slowed me down but around 4/5 gym sessions at the moment (mostly light resistance and stretching), 3/4 spin classes and depending on how the body is golf sat/sun. Might do a few cycles over lunch as well if the weather is good, otherwise I'll go for a walk or do some resistance band work. Some Yoga most days too and loads of putting/short game practice  ;D

Looking forward to getting back doing heavier gym work but lower weight and bands give me better results.
Post by: illdecide on February 10, 2022, 10:32:54 PM
Don't forget all you oldies...more weights and less cardio as the experts say...Always did a fair mixture of both anyway. Would love to be able to throw the shorts on and go for a run but with the dodgy hips i'll give that a miss.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 10, 2022, 10:34:20 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 10, 2022, 10:01:54 PM

What gym you in? I was actually a member of the first CrossFit gym in Northern Ireland back in the day. Maybe around 2009? But I went to Oz for a year and half and then I've stopped and started since then. I'm now at Boundary CrossFit and it's a serious setup with some complete freaks at it .

I used to be able to do a sub 7 about 10 years ago and now the closest I've got is 7.11 the other day. It's going to happen though. I'm getting more efficient and fitter each month so hopefully I'll get it soon. It's such a brutal distance though. Staying injury free is the key!

What gym was that? I go to 8020. I'm possibly biased but I think it's the best in the country. I've heard good things about Boundary though. My mate goes  there
Post by: JimStynes on February 11, 2022, 05:24:34 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 10, 2022, 10:34:20 PM

What gym was that? I go to 8020. I'm possibly biased but I think it's the best in the country. I've heard good things about Boundary though. My mate goes  there

It was called Elite 400 and it was run by 2 headers called Jonny and Helen. I think they've opened other CrossFit gyms since then. I've been to 8020 once before. Class gym but it's just a wee bit too far for me to go. Also, it's in Portadown lol
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 11, 2022, 10:42:03 AM
Done 43 gym sessions over 3 months, Nov - Jan, taking in a week of at Christmas, and a week with a injury, all strength,. Safety say am twice as strong compared to starting the gym last summer. Gonna trying get into a jogging routine, got Asthma, so blow out fairly quick running.
Post by: general_lee on February 11, 2022, 11:11:25 AM
CrossFit is a load of ballex lads.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on February 11, 2022, 11:47:18 AM

Are they not a bit ludacris price wise for membership?
Post by: JimStynes on February 11, 2022, 12:50:15 PM
Quote from: general_lee on February 11, 2022, 11:11:25 AM

Some parts of it is but the good definitely outweighs the bad! And yes it is quite expensive. I've found a lot of gym prices have gotten very expensive though. People paying £150 a month for online programmes and £40 for a PT session.

I get bored doing the same thing in the gym so CrossFit does keep it interesting with all the different elements involved.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 11, 2022, 02:36:27 PM

Good in depth analysis
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 11, 2022, 02:41:31 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 11, 2022, 02:36:27 PM

Good in depth analysis
Have never met you fellas but I have found Crossfitters to be amongst the biggest set of assholes I've ever met. Is 8020 "Coach Neil's" place? If the answer is yes then see above.
Post by: thebigfella on February 11, 2022, 02:44:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 11, 2022, 02:41:31 PM

Good in depth analysis
Have never met you fellas but I have found Crossfitters to be amongst the biggest set of assholes I've ever met. Is 8020 "Coach Neil's" place? If the answer is yes then see above.

The competitive CrossFit stuff makes me think of your one in Derry girls doing the step aerobics
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 11, 2022, 03:14:51 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 11, 2022, 12:50:15 PM

Some parts of it is but the good definitely outweighs the bad! And yes it is quite expensive. I've found a lot of gym prices have gotten very expensive though. People paying £150 a month for online programmes and £40 for a PT session.

I get bored doing the same thing in the gym so CrossFit does keep it interesting with all the different elements involved.

Id friends at the gym who went full on with crossfit, they did it themselves without the need for a PT or signing up for those programs, they even went to the States one year for the world finals. They would do the WOD and I'd have joined the odd time, it was tough but you can see how pushing yourself injuries would follow based on trying to get those scores!
Post by: tonto1888 on February 11, 2022, 05:18:28 PM

Good in depth analysis

Like every group of people, including GAA, there are arseholes.
Neil Laverty owns 8020 if that's who you mean. Good lad. Very knowledgeable in everything health and fitness related
Post by: JimStynes on February 11, 2022, 05:23:55 PM

Good in depth analysis

Tbf I hate the whole cult thing about it. Some of the exercises are stupid and only work with the extremely fit professionals. But I do think a lot of it is brilliant and if people keep the weights realistic it's extremely good for fitness. I've noticed a lot of the Tyrone and armagh boys doing it now too. In my normal gym I see a lot of people with shit form and lifting heavy weight thst they shouldn't be so it's not just CrossFit that is 'dangerous'. A lot of people who hate CrossFit have never actually tried it for a while.
As for 8020, I don't know your man Neil but I've heard mixed reports about him! when I met him
he was more than nice to me. The gym though is unreal. It's extremely well kitted out!
Post by: general_lee on February 11, 2022, 05:35:58 PM

Good in depth analysis
I did CrossFit for a while, it's a con, cliquish (most gyms are tbf) the WODs were a pile of shite half the time and in general a waste of money.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 11, 2022, 06:24:30 PM
Quote from: general_lee on February 11, 2022, 05:35:58 PM

Good in depth analysis
I did CrossFit for a while, it's a con, cliquish (most gyms are tbf) the WODs were a pile of shite half the time and in general a waste of money.

Funnily enough I've been doing it for a lot longer than a while. It isn't a con, the WODs I've done have, mostly been excellent - depends on who has programmed them - and I get value for money. I see where people are coming from with the clique thing tho. It can be. I've been at CF gyms where there certainly has been a large cliquish atmosphere. But then it's the same at most gyms, GAA clubs, martial arts clubs etc
Post by: tonto1888 on February 11, 2022, 06:27:31 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 11, 2022, 05:23:55 PM

Good in depth analysis

Tbf I hate the whole cult thing about it. Some of the exercises are stupid and only work with the extremely fit professionals. But I do think a lot of it is brilliant and if people keep the weights realistic it's extremely good for fitness. I've noticed a lot of the Tyrone and armagh boys doing it now too. In my normal gym I see a lot of people with shit form and lifting heavy weight thst they shouldn't be so it's not just CrossFit that is 'dangerous'. A lot of people who hate CrossFit have never actually tried it for a while.
As for 8020, I don't know your man Neil but I've heard mixed reports about him! when I met him
he was more than nice to me. The gym though is unreal. It's extremely well kitted out!

CrossFit gets a lot of stick due to bad form. But I've competed at powerlifting events and been to strongman events. The fork there can be shocking. And as you say the worst form is in normal gyms. A good coach shouldn't let you use heavier weights until your form is good. The best thing about CF is everything is scalable. If you can't do something, say a muscle up, you can scale it to a pull up or a ring row. Gives everyone a chance to do the WOD
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 11, 2022, 08:55:58 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 11, 2022, 06:24:30 PM

Good in depth analysis

Funnily enough I've been doing it for a lot longer than a while. It isn't a con, the WODs I've done have, mostly been excellent - depends on who has programmed them - and I get value for money. I see where people are coming from with the clique thing tho. It can be. I've been at CF gyms where there certainly has been a large cliquish atmosphere. But then it's the same at most gyms, GAA clubs, martial arts clubs etc
There was a group in work went and that is literally all they talked about to the extent that people avoided small talk with them as all they talked about was WODs, handstand push ups (which inevitably fucked their shoulders) paleao diets, palm blisters from lifting etc. etc. It really was energy sapping. One fella got trapped in the tea room with one of them and had to tell him everyone was f**king sick listening to them and there was a big world outside a cold shed in Portadown! That small group made people, including me, form long-lasting opinions.
Post by: PMG1 on February 12, 2022, 12:17:56 AM
Have always tried to do gym twice a week, was never overly committed since I finished playing (wasn't  overly committed when playing either to be honest), I enjoy my food and wouldn't be interested in really changing diet too much and have a couple of sweet things every day, weight slowly went up and up until finally time to do something about it. My son is a newly qualified PT and he finally took me
Onboard after some serious price negotiations (I financed his new gym so wasn't really keen on paying him for the sessions lol). Very quickly realised I was wasting my time in what I was doing at the gym before, lifting form was not good and doing wrong exercises completely. Still only go twice a week, walk the dog every day and my diet hasn't changed, lost stone and a half in 4 months and feel as fit as I ever have despite the years creeping on. 50 min sessions mostly weights based, enjoyable and not killing myself but the change has been amazing. He is building up quite a client base despite only being at it 6 months, a fair few online clients who are all making great strides. He believes in letting his clients still have a life but just makes sure whatever they are doing is done right. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 12, 2022, 12:35:34 AM
Take out of exercise what suits you, the thing I find is it changes as you get older or circumstances change,  finding a new goal (for me anyways) is the key, currently for me the Mournes generates enough of a buzz and challenging enough.

Would love to take on a challenge for charity, that'll at least motivate me further, at 50 it's getting harder!
Post by: JimStynes on February 12, 2022, 07:01:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 12, 2022, 12:35:34 AM
Take out of exercise what suits you, the thing I find is it changes as you get older or circumstances change,  finding a new goal (for me anyways) is the key, currently for me the Mournes generates enough of a buzz and challenging enough.

Would love to take on a challenge for charity, that'll at least motivate me further, at 50 it's getting harder!

You should do that Mournes 7 peaks challenge for charity. I love the Mournes too and it's a shame I don't get up them enough, maybe 4/5 times a year ffs. When the weather is good it is an amazing place to be dandering about.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 12, 2022, 08:02:11 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 12, 2022, 07:01:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 12, 2022, 12:35:34 AM

You should do that Mournes 7 peaks challenge for charity. I love the Mournes too and it's a shame I don't get up them enough, maybe 4/5 times a year ffs. When the weather is good it is an amazing place to be dandering about.

The sevens is what we are aiming for in March, unfortunately I'm trying to shake a cold otherwise I'd be doing 5 peaks this weekend
Post by: tonto1888 on February 13, 2022, 08:10:43 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 11, 2022, 08:55:58 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 11, 2022, 06:24:30 PM

Good in depth analysis

There was a group in work went and that is literally all they talked about to the extent that people avoided small talk with them as all they talked about was WODs, handstand push ups (which inevitably fucked their shoulders) paleao diets, palm blisters from lifting etc. etc. It really was energy sapping. One fella got trapped in the tea room with one of them and had to tell him everyone was f**king sick listening to them and there was a big world outside a cold shed in Portadown! That small group made people, including me, form long-lasting opinions.

imagine getting annoyed because people talk about something the have in common and enjoy
Post by: RedHand88 on February 13, 2022, 09:09:51 AM
It's a cult. Has its own language. Full of potentially joint damaging exercises too. Anyone who spends £60 a month to do star jumps in a warehouse has too much money.

As for the "paleo diet", I'm not following the diet of a group of people who had a life expectancy of 35.
Post by: JimStynes on February 13, 2022, 09:38:24 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on February 13, 2022, 09:09:51 AM
It's a cult. Has its own language. Full of potentially joint damaging exercises too. Anyone who spends £60 a month to do star jumps in a warehouse has too much money.

As for the "paleo diet", I'm not following the diet of a group of people who had a life expectancy of 35.

What's the paleo diet thing?
Post by: RedHand88 on February 13, 2022, 09:50:51 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 13, 2022, 09:38:24 AM

Theres a fad out there that we should be eating what cave men ate.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 13, 2022, 09:58:32 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on February 13, 2022, 09:50:51 AM

Fad Diets are not sustainable and those intense ones should only be over a period of time, moderation is the key, smaller portions or plates cut out the sugars and salts for that matter as there are plenty of them in your food.

In saying that I'd a lovely Indian last night after a few Guinness  ;D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 13, 2022, 10:02:51 AM
Indian.
Guinness.
This could go one of two ways
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 13, 2022, 10:13:43 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on February 13, 2022, 10:02:51 AM
Indian.
Guinness.
This could go one of two ways

Just waiting
Post by: JimStynes on February 13, 2022, 10:21:38 AM

I thought the paleo fad went out of business about 10-15 years ago.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2022, 10:45:15 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 13, 2022, 10:21:38 AM

I thought the paleo fad went out of business about 10-15 years ago.
There is always a new one. IF has been the one of choice over the past couple of years. A mate does it and says it works for him and is no bother when you get used to it.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2022, 11:22:57 AM
Diets are a real fad. Portion size and quality of the food are key. Smaller plates and better food and you'd lose a pile of weight
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2022, 11:29:23 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2022, 11:22:57 AM
Diets are a real fad. Portion size and quality of the food are key. Smaller plates and better food and you'd lose a pile of weight
I've got half of that combo right.
Post by: charlieTully on February 13, 2022, 12:40:27 PM
Be in a slight calorie deficit and move. The weight will come off.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 13, 2022, 04:57:23 PM

Here we have another know it all
Post by: nrico2006 on February 13, 2022, 06:50:07 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 11, 2022, 05:24:34 AM

It was called Elite 400 and it was run by 2 headers called Jonny and Helen. I think they've opened other CrossFit gyms since then. I've been to 8020 once before. Class gym but it's just a wee bit too far for me to go. Also, it's in Portadown lol

I remember going to that Crossfit gym in 2009/10 down near Fyfes, two complete roots that ran it.
Post by: JimStynes on February 13, 2022, 07:04:02 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 13, 2022, 06:50:07 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 11, 2022, 05:24:34 AM

I remember going to that Crossfit gym in 2009/10 down near Fyfes, two complete roots that ran it.

They really were. 2 unlikeable people!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 13, 2022, 08:20:23 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 13, 2022, 04:57:23 PM

the problem with Crossfit is that the people running the 'box' generally aren't that well qualified (they buy 100% into the whole crossfit approach) and aren't really aware of proper programming and loading for members to ensure it is sustainable

very easy to get burnt out or injuries at crossfit when you are doing excessive numbers of the same lifts in each session and the met con at the end is always trying to get you to your lactic and/or anaerobic threshold

just my opinion having done it a few years back
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 13, 2022, 08:53:35 PM
Don't do diets . They are disastrous.

Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 13, 2022, 09:02:10 PM
I used to do one called caveman for over five years. Typical drills would be pushing the weighted sleigh. Bear crawling on sliders under your feet and hands. Pull ups, chin ups, lifting tires
Beating tyres with sledges alot of skip roping, kettle bells.

Last two years I changed to treadfit training. Which is a ton of cardio mixed with bodyweight and dumbbells. Throw in a couple of yoga classes aweek should be grand.

I think it is ideal for hurling/football.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 13, 2022, 09:21:30 PM
Hurling drills and football drills will make you a better player, keeping yourself fit and strong should be arranged by your trainer/coach who'll (should have) the skills to do that
Post by: Main Street on February 13, 2022, 10:33:46 PM

So it's not just a Tyrone thing?
Post by: JimStynes on February 14, 2022, 07:05:36 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on February 13, 2022, 08:20:23 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 13, 2022, 04:57:23 PM

the problem with Crossfit is that the people running the 'box' generally aren't that well qualified (they buy 100% into the whole crossfit approach) and aren't really aware of proper programming and loading for members to ensure it is sustainable

very easy to get burnt out or injuries at crossfit when you are doing excessive numbers of the same lifts in each session and the met con at the end is always trying to get you to your lactic and/or anaerobic threshold

just my opinion having done it a few years back

This is true. I don't really think extremely technical Olympic lifts should be done at speed and only the elite and get away with not getting injured. One thing that really pisses me off about it is the obsession that Americans have with the military and that feeds into some of the workouts. Dedicated to some soldiers. The general American influence on it is cringe. But there are loads of great things about CrossFit and that style of training. CrossFit has also made lifting weights popular. Lifting platforms, rigs, olympic weights and bumper plates are now common place in gyms. Before CrossFit you'd have had very few gyms that had that sort of equipment. The standard of coaching varies massively. The one I go to has Irish record holding weight lifters who insist of good form and using light weights until ready to move up to heavier. Another CrossFit gym close by has a fella who got his level 1 and then opened up a gym.
Post by: redzone on October 28, 2022, 08:33:39 AM
Anyone making there own protein bars got a recipe.
Thanks
Post by: manfromdelmonte on October 31, 2022, 12:05:12 AM
Quote from: redzone on October 28, 2022, 08:33:39 AM
Anyone making there own protein bars got a recipe.
Thanks
Yes. Vegan bars actually (though they don't have to be)

https://glutenfreeonashoestring.com/homemade-protein-bars/
Post by: jcpen on January 04, 2023, 02:23:33 PM
Put on some serious weight the last few months.
Used to be pretty consistent going to the gym, swimming,running etc and played hurling for many a year.
Lost motivation during the summer when I injured myself and didn't train for about 4 weeks.
Need to get back into it soon, but the lack of motivation is high.
I entered the Dublin Marathon ballot also and actually got a place so will need to get a plan together for that at some point.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2023, 02:28:39 PM
Like a barrel after xmas.. so off bread (only ever had wholemeal) no snacks, no chocolate, bed early and plenty of water. Boiled egg for breakfast, homemade soup for lunch and a ordinary small portioned dinner!! I'll change that up but reducing the portions, was that full at times I was nearly sick!!

Oh and no drink till end of month
Post by: Rudi on January 04, 2023, 02:51:00 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2023, 02:28:39 PM
Like a barrel after xmas.. so off bread (only ever had wholemeal) no snacks, no chocolate, bed early plenty of riding ........ and plenty of water. Boiled egg for breakfast, homemade soup for lunch and a ordinary small portioned dinner!! I'll change that up but reducing the portions, was that full at times I was nearly sick!!

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2023, 03:30:52 PM
Quote from: Rudi on January 04, 2023, 02:51:00 PM
Like a barrel after xmas.. so off bread (only ever had wholemeal) no snacks, no chocolate, bed early plenty of riding ........ and plenty of water. Boiled egg for breakfast, homemade soup for lunch and a ordinary small portioned dinner!! I'll change that up but reducing the portions, was that full at times I was nearly sick!!

Ah they were the days!! Plenty sleep is much more appealing, would hate do do a back injury and trying to get an appointment nowadays...
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 04, 2023, 03:42:04 PM
Like a barrel after xmas.. so off bread (only ever had wholemeal) no snacks, no chocolate, bed early and plenty of water. Boiled egg for breakfast, homemade soup for lunch and a ordinary small portioned dinner!! I'll change that up but reducing the portions, was that full at times I was nearly sick!!

Might appear silly question MR2 but how do you reduce portion sizes without feeling hungry shortly after? Any tips?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2023, 03:51:38 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 04, 2023, 03:42:04 PM

Might appear silly question MR2 but how do you reduce portion sizes without feeling hungry shortly after? Any tips?

The hunger pains are just in your head!! once you reduce the size of your portions or plate then the stomach won't be looking the same amount of food... It normalizes it.

So for instance, for me If I make a rice dish, I'd have had two and half ladle sized portions of rice then whatever food on top of that, take even one ladle size away 1 1/2 then and apportion the food on top..

But once I get back to normal weight and out exercising properly again then I can increase it based on how I'm going at the,  everyone is different though so your body is good at letting you know lol

If you really look at the amount of food we eat and better still the amount we waste, its crazy..

Drinking water or having a cuppa can help with distracting the hunger, eat as early as you can for dinner too, that long fast till breakfast is a tightner lol Cut out the snacks or change them to carrot sticks!!
Post by: Nanderson on January 04, 2023, 03:52:41 PM

Psychologically best thing to do is buy smaller plates to eat your meals on. makes it look like a big meal even though its not
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 04, 2023, 03:53:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2023, 03:51:38 PM

The hunger pains are just in your head!! once you reduce the size of your portions or plate then the stomach won't be looking the same amount of food... It normalizes it.

So for instance, for me If I make a rice dish, I'd have had two and half ladle sized portions of rice then whatever food on top of that, take even one ladle size away 1 1/2 then and apportion the food on top..

But once I get back to normal weight and out exercising properly again then I can increase it based on how I'm going at the,  everyone is different though so your body is good at letting you know lol

If you really look at the amount of food we eat and better still the amount we waste, its crazy..

Drinking water or having a cuppa can help with distracting the hunger, eat as early as you can for dinner too, that long fast till breakfast is a tightner lol Cut out the snacks or change them to carrot sticks!!

Good man. Snacking in the evening is a problem  ::)
Post by: AustinPowers on January 04, 2023, 05:00:57 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on January 04, 2023, 03:52:41 PM

Psychologically best thing to do is buy smaller plates to eat your meals on. makes it look like a big meal even though its not

Frig that , I like to be like able to  cut up my food  without your peas or spuds  falling all over the table.  It's a big plate for me  even if only small dinner .  I hate   wtching  people fiddling about  with dinner on small plates
Post by: general_lee on January 04, 2023, 05:12:34 PM

Drink loads of water.
Post by: thebigfella on January 04, 2023, 05:15:26 PM
I just fill the plate up with lean protein and non-starchy veg rather than reducing portion size. Anyway if you training hard you need the fuel. 
Post by: tonto1888 on January 05, 2023, 09:48:12 AM

more protein
Post by: Armagh18 on January 05, 2023, 10:34:19 AM
Quote from: jcpen on January 04, 2023, 02:23:33 PM
Used to be pretty consistent going to the gym, swimming,running etc and played hurling for many a year.
Lost motivation during the summer when I injured myself and didn't train for about 4 weeks.
I entered the Dublin Marathon ballot also and actually got a place so will need to get a plan together for that at some point.
Just take it step by step. Don't try and go from zero to 100 straight away, try and do stuff you know you'll enjoy, even start by trying to get more steps in everyday.
Post by: tintin25 on January 05, 2023, 10:44:31 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 05, 2023, 10:34:19 AM
Quote from: jcpen on January 04, 2023, 02:23:33 PM
Just take it step by step. Don't try and go from zero to 100 straight away, try and do stuff you know you'll enjoy, even start by trying to get more steps in everyday.

It won't happen overnight, but if you start making the adjustments to diet and work out more then the weight will come off - you didn't put it on overnight so don't expect it to come off overnight.  Sometimes it can take 6-12 months before you start seeing noticeable changes.  I find the strength and conditioning is great - do it 3 times a week and really enjoy it.  I'm paying abit more than normal gyms but it's worth it.
Post by: An Watcher on January 05, 2023, 04:00:38 PM
Started doing weights for the first time in my life this year and have noticed a brave difference in weight loss.  All totally alien to me but slowly getting there.  Not looking to lift crazy weights, just doing what I can without pushing myself too much. 
Post by: jcpen on January 06, 2023, 08:29:55 AM
Do any of you practice intermittent fasting?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2023, 08:39:04 AM
Quote from: jcpen on January 06, 2023, 08:29:55 AM

Not sure if its the same but a friend of mine does it, 3 days on 4 days off...eats like a squirrel 3 days and normal eating 4 days... Been doing it for years, looks well body shape and he's over 60
Post by: tonto1888 on January 06, 2023, 08:55:34 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2023, 08:39:04 AM

Not sure if its the same but a friend of mine does it, 3 days on 4 days off...eats like a squirrel 3 days and normal eating 4 days... Been doing it for years, looks well body shape and he's over 60

I could be wrong but I dont think thats the same thing. Intermittent fasting, I believe, is fast for maybe 18 hours a day and getting all your food in during a 6 hour window
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on January 06, 2023, 09:02:36 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 06, 2023, 08:55:34 AM

I could be wrong but I dont think thats the same thing. Intermittent fasting, I believe, is fast for maybe 18 hours a day and getting all your food in during a 6 hour window

Had good results on a 5 and 2 diet...practically nothing on Mondays and Thursdays beyond water.
Post by: Keyser soze on January 06, 2023, 09:36:08 AM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on January 06, 2023, 09:02:36 AM

Had good results on a 5 and 2 diet...practically nothing on Mondays and Thursdays beyond water.

I was on this one for a long time a few years ago, except it was the drink, results fair to middling if I'm honest. 
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2023, 09:36:22 AM
If you want to lose weight then you need a calorie deficit. I.e. more going out than is coming in. Intermittent fasting, keto, etc etc are just ways of achieving that. The best one is the one you are going to enjoy and therefore be able to stick to. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2023, 10:02:41 AM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on January 06, 2023, 09:02:36 AM

Ah that's what it was, he'd water and nuts for 2 or 3 days
Post by: Mourne Red on January 06, 2023, 10:10:39 AM

Yeh intermittent fasting is like you do 18 hours not eating then consume all your calories in 6 hours or so never really suited me, like something sweet with a cuppa at night.

I just done some fasted cardio in the mornings then a full body session later on in the day 3 times a week and the winter timber used to drop off in time for pre-season.

Post by: TabClear on January 06, 2023, 10:46:59 AM
 I need to drop some (a lot!  :() of weight and while I am running a couple of times a week I would also like to try to tone up a bit. I have access to a basic gym at work with dumbells/Weights/Benches but no machines as such. I have never been a gym goer but would be keen to try to go 2-3 times a week in my lunchbreak and was wondering if anyone can recommend a decent app with programs/exercises etc and track progress (sets/reps/weights) etc.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2023, 11:12:57 AM
Quote from: TabClear on January 06, 2023, 10:46:59 AM
I need to drop some (a lot!  :() of weight and while I am running a couple of times a week I would also like to try to tone up a bit. I have access to a basic gym at work with dumbells/Weights/Benches but no machines as such. I have never been a gym goer but would be keen to try to go 2-3 times a week in my lunchbreak and was wondering if anyone can recommend a decent app with programs/exercises etc and track progress (sets/reps/weights) etc.

Personally I'll not be at the gym unless I've lost weight first, I know that sounds strange but for me I hate running/cardio if I'm carrying any excess weight!!

So usually get that weight off by not stuffing my face and when I feel comfortable I'll do the cardio mixed in with weights

BTW I'm not saying you should do this, It's how I approach it, in fairness its only xmas weight but when you are 51 its harder to shift lol
Post by: bogball88 on January 06, 2023, 11:16:05 AM
What are people paying for gym membership these days? Mine is £19, gym has all the equipment and facilities you want with some classes thrown into that as well. Good shower and changing facilities as well
Post by: Hereiam on January 06, 2023, 11:25:27 AM
£3/session at the local gym
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2023, 11:30:16 AM
Quote from: bogball88 on January 06, 2023, 11:16:05 AM
What are people paying for gym membership these days? Mine is £19, gym has all the equipment and facilities you want with some classes thrown into that as well. Good shower and changing facilities as well

£30 for a family pass at the local center which I only use ffs!

DW was what I originally went to, it catered for everything I needed but the feckers closed over covid!! So ended up in limbo trying other gyms

DW had better classes, was bit pricey but kept the riff-raff out, that may seem snobby but I'm not fussed on people shouting at the mirrors when they are lifting weights or my locker getting broke into!
Post by: tintin25 on January 06, 2023, 11:34:25 AM
Quote from: bogball88 on January 06, 2023, 11:16:05 AM

£100....pricey but it's small group training and pretty much like getting a PT session at a fraction of the cost
Post by: No1 on January 06, 2023, 11:35:24 AM
QuoteI need to drop some (a lot!  :() of weight and while I am running a couple of times a week I would also like to try to tone up a bit. I have access to a basic gym at work with dumbells/Weights/Benches but no machines as such. I have never been a gym goer but would be keen to try to go 2-3 times a week in my lunchbreak and was wondering if anyone can recommend a decent app with programs/exercises etc and track progress (sets/reps/weights) etc.

KeyLifts app is very good and the free version is all you will need to begin with. 

However, I would really advise that before you start get someone who knows what they are at to show you the correct technique for each kinda lift you want to do.  You should really find out what your one rep max is for each lift and then devise your workout from there.

I only started about 8 weeks ago having never even looked at weights in 30 odd years and the above has really helped me.
Post by: Last Man on January 06, 2023, 11:57:05 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 06, 2023, 09:36:22 AM
If you want to lose weight then you need a calorie deficit. I.e. more going out than is coming in. Intermittent fasting, keto, etc etc are just ways of achieving that. The best one is the one you are going to enjoy and therefore be able to stick to.
https://youtu.be/66hWntvp0_4
Not really that simple. We can't equate human nutrition to shovelling coal into a steam boiler.
Post by: TabClear on January 06, 2023, 12:12:13 PM
Quote from: No1 on January 06, 2023, 11:35:24 AM
QuoteI need to drop some (a lot!  :() of weight and while I am running a couple of times a week I would also like to try to tone up a bit. I have access to a basic gym at work with dumbells/Weights/Benches but no machines as such. I have never been a gym goer but would be keen to try to go 2-3 times a week in my lunchbreak and was wondering if anyone can recommend a decent app with programs/exercises etc and track progress (sets/reps/weights) etc.

KeyLifts app is very good and the free version is all you will need to begin with. 

However, I would really advise that before you start get someone who knows what they are at to show you the correct technique for each kinda lift you want to do.  You should really find out what your one rep max is for each lift and then devise your workout from there.

I only started about 8 weeks ago having never even looked at weights in 30 odd years and the above has really helped me.

Cheers No1. I will try this. Also had "Fitbod" recommended to me and it seems pretty good at first glance. You set your goals, set your equipment and it recommends the program with videos etc of teh exercises
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2023, 12:26:09 PM
Quote from: Last Man on January 06, 2023, 11:57:05 AM
Not really that simple. We can't equate human nutrition to shovelling coal into a steam boiler.
ain't watching all that lol. Fact of the matter is if you aren't burning more than you consume then you won't lose weight.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2023, 12:50:44 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 06, 2023, 12:26:09 PM
ain't watching all that lol. Fact of the matter is if you aren't burning more than you consume then you won't lose weight.

Depends on what you are consuming?
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 06, 2023, 12:56:23 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 06, 2023, 12:50:44 PM

Not really. If your consuming more than your eating then you'll lose weight. But staying in a calorie deficit is hard and should only be aimed at for a set period. It's not sustainable in the long term obviously. So how you maintain a calorie deficit is important, not just because of nutrition values ( making sure you are getting what you need) but also to make sure your giving yourself the best chance to complete your set period without feeling like your starving yourself.
Post by: Mourne Red on January 06, 2023, 01:00:12 PM

Calories are calories you'll still lose weight in a deficit but depending on what you eat in those calories will determine if you are losing muscle or body fat. Obvs more protein in those calories less muscle you'll lose during weight loss.

That podcast he said calorie deficit doesn't work because calorie counting is skewed as what it says on the box isn't right and portion sizes etc but sure people know that.

Best thing to is calculate your BMR (how much calories you burn during the day with no exercise) then depending how active you are cut some calories off your activity level so that too put yourself into a deficit then obvs any exercise on top of that will give you more of a deficit so lose weight quicker.

In the pod he says lengthy calorie counting doesn't work as no studies done but would say that's bs sure look at Mr Olympias etc and they would track calories and know if they hit a slump might need to shock the system with some cheat day and then continue back on the deficit until they reach there desired weight.

Trick is keeping it off when you reach your goal.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2023, 01:05:13 PM

Nope. Technically you can lose weight eating nothing but crisps. Obviously not healthy but its possible.
Post by: CK_Redhand on January 06, 2023, 03:38:57 PM
Ignore the bro science and keep it simple.

Build muscle in the gym, lose weight in the kitchen.
Post by: Last Man on January 06, 2023, 04:45:02 PM
If it's working for you keep 'er lit, I'm not sure how long you'll sustain it beyond a few months though.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 06, 2023, 05:34:04 PM
Quote from: Last Man on January 06, 2023, 04:45:02 PM
If it's working for you keep 'er lit, I'm not sure how long you'll sustain it beyond a few months though.
Not sure what you mean? If you want to lose weight you need a deficit. Once you've lost that weight, you can increase calories to around maintenance. No one should be going into a deficit for more than a few months or you'll end up miserable.
Post by: general_lee on January 07, 2023, 12:54:47 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on January 06, 2023, 03:38:57 PM
Ignore the bro science and keep it simple.

Build muscle in the gym, lose weight in the kitchen.
Eat clean, train dirty.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on February 20, 2023, 07:48:53 PM
Hi all, hope I'm not posting in the wrong thread here - didn't want to make another one, but let me know if it is and I'll create a weight loss or similar thread.

Was hoping for a bit of advice if anyone has had similar experience

I am getting married in 2024 and I've tried to start the fitness journey every Monday this year (and for the last couple of years).

About 3 stone heavier than I was when I played sport (GAA and soccer) and did CrossFit. Late late 20s male (big 3-0 this summer).

Biggest issue is consistency. I am embarrassed to attend my local CrossFit gym as I am very self conscious (overweight but far from obese, 6ft 1 and 17 stone) as if everyone is looking at me.

My other local gym is just come and go as you please and I tried this before Xmas also but I found it the opposite then - no drive to go in and it's usually empty.

I thought the class based gyms were good when I lived in down south  a few years ago but I find myself cancelling them as the evening approaches at 5/6pm I make the excuse I'm too busy in work. (I work from home and go into the office one day per week).

I have never been a morning person who can get up and go to 6/7am classes as hard as I've tried every method in the book.

I used to be quite fit and now I'm out of breath going up a hill and I'm not even 30 yet! Embarrassing.
It's got to the stage I don't play 5 a side with the lads anymore as I don't feel comfortable in my shorts/t shirt even though there are plenty of lads heavier than me at it (it's not a high level!)

I know it's all about small steps. If I was honest I can train quite well and push myself if I can even get myself to go 3 times a week. But it's my diet. I am brutal for emotional eating / boredom eating . Especially chocolate
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2023, 08:10:33 PM
Reduce your plate size, cut out a lot of your carbs... the snacking between meals needs to stop, feeling embarrassed going to gym is normal, so get out and do 5k a day minimum with a mixture of jogging and brisk walks.. eventually you'll run all of it..

Once you start seeing differences in fitting into clothes, not feeling outta breath then get back to the gym...

Losing weights starts with your gob... you can't and never will out train a bad diet.

Do a month of a diet, any diet will work if you stick to it, after that training and smaller plates will help

I firmly believe finding the right gym with the type of classes that you like is worth the money
Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2023, 09:14:14 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2023, 08:10:33 PM
Reduce your plate size, cut out a lot of your carbs... the snacking between meals needs to stop, feeling embarrassed going to gym is normal, so get out and do 5k a day minimum with a mixture of jogging and brisk walks.. eventually you'll run all of it..

Once you start seeing differences in fitting into clothes, not feeling outta breath then get back to the gym...

Losing weights starts with your gob... you can't and never will out train a bad diet.

Do a month of a diet, any diet will work if you stick to it, after that training and smaller plates will help

I firmly believe finding the right gym with the type of classes that you like is worth the money
Not bad MR2,  you have a bit of wisdom in you, though at times well concealed  :)  if you want to reduce a pot belly (whatever size),  carb reduction/replacement is the first item to tackle.
And as regards snacks - crisps, biscuits etc, the exercise bike in the gym helped me out with that, I found out  that with 5 minutes country terrain setting, at average 27km/h, I could burn off one small biscuit of carb energy.
It follows that with  20 minutes of even harder graft, leg muscles pumping, buckets of sweat inducing cycling, I could burn off 5 biscuits worth.
Now, I could eat 5 biscuits with a cup of tea and not blink.  Then it was easier to choose not to partake of those 5 biscuits because I didn't particularly want to go outside and sprint around the house 80 times afterwards.
Post by: LC on February 20, 2023, 09:20:32 PM
Hardest part is getting started and key to a good start is establishing new habits.  Start small e.g instead of say 3 biscuits with a cup of tea only take 1, get up 45 mins earlier than normal therefore allowing you time for a good 30 minute walk.  Do that for a week and then start getting up 1 hour earlier and increase the walking or possibly go for a 30 minute walk in the evening.  The fact that you are not married yet means you should be able to find the time.  I have 4 kids and do gym 3 times a week as well as 2 x 10k runs.  Was in bad shape myself a couple of years but realised things had to change.

Post by: BrotherMore6592 on February 20, 2023, 09:23:04 PM
Thanks MR2, Main St & LC, yeah you're dead right I've no kids yet so shouldn't be complaining. One of my best friends said he didn't get the weight off before he had his first and it's even tougher now!

We have an 8 month old pup, find walking him a chore as I leave it to the evening / lunchtime. Morning walk would sort this
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2023, 09:36:11 PM
I've two dogs and three greats walks around me, I've minimum 5k walk with them daily...

Then you can do other stuff on top..

Btw chocolate is my Achilles too as Main said it's not worth the effort to burn off those calories ..

A toffee crisp requires a hard 5k run lol!! Nuts

Post by: Armagh18 on February 20, 2023, 11:10:53 PM
Biggest thing is consistency- if you happen to eat a bag of crisps or a chocolate bar then don't panic and go on a binge- don't label foods as good or bad, if you can at all start tracking calories, my fitness pal is great! eat plenty of protein.

Try to get out for a walk every day and definitely go to the 5 a side, like you say its hardly a high standard so go for the craic- a few weeks and you'll notice a difference! On the gym anxiety stuff- you'll find people are too focused on getting their own workouts done to be worried about looking at anyone else- everyone starts somewhere. Don't try to over restrict, most people try to cut out all their favourite foods, live off salad and go well for a few days, then the weekend comes, they binge out and say f**k it- then calorie deficit is gone for the week, then they punish themselves by over restricting again and are caught in a cycle.

If you're on instagram/tik tok theres a lad Sean Casey on there scaseyfitness, posts free recipe ideas and also sells recipe books, absolute game changer of how to still enjoy your favourite foods but get lower calorie alternatives.

Nail the basics- calorie deficit, high protein nutritious  meals for the most part while allowing yourself the odd snack, get a good sleep every night 7-9 hours, drink plenty of water, keep step count high as possible and try to get to the gym 2/3 times a week following some sort of programme where you can progressively over load and get stronger.

Very best of luck with it- keep at it and you'll notice a difference in yourself in no time!
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on February 21, 2023, 02:37:00 PM
Cheers @Armagh18  ;D
Post by: samuel maguire on February 21, 2023, 03:13:48 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on February 20, 2023, 07:48:53 PM
Hi all, hope I'm not posting in the wrong thread here - didn't want to make another one, but let me know if it is and I'll create a weight loss or similar thread.

Was hoping for a bit of advice if anyone has had similar experience

I am getting married in 2024 and I've tried to start the fitness journey every Monday this year (and for the last couple of years).

About 3 stone heavier than I was when I played sport (GAA and soccer) and did CrossFit. Late late 20s male (big 3-0 this summer).

Biggest issue is consistency. I am embarrassed to attend my local CrossFit gym as I am very self conscious (overweight but far from obese, 6ft 1 and 17 stone) as if everyone is looking at me.

My other local gym is just come and go as you please and I tried this before Xmas also but I found it the opposite then - no drive to go in and it's usually empty.

I thought the class based gyms were good when I lived in down south  a few years ago but I find myself cancelling them as the evening approaches at 5/6pm I make the excuse I'm too busy in work. (I work from home and go into the office one day per week).

I have never been a morning person who can get up and go to 6/7am classes as hard as I've tried every method in the book.

I used to be quite fit and now I'm out of breath going up a hill and I'm not even 30 yet! Embarrassing.
It's got to the stage I don't play 5 a side with the lads anymore as I don't feel comfortable in my shorts/t shirt even though there are plenty of lads heavier than me at it (it's not a high level!)

I know it's all about small steps. If I was honest I can train quite well and push myself if I can even get myself to go 3 times a week. But it's my diet. I am brutal for emotional eating / boredom eating . Especially chocolate

Fair play to you for taking the steps to get back into a bit of shape. I don't want to be a spoil sport or put a downer on you but the harsh reality is it is going to be extremely tough to loose weight. It is going to take a massive behaviour change and a serious effort to go out and exercise- may that be a walk, run, gym, 5 a side.

I personally balloon up over the off season with football, and find myself looking in the mirror at the start of jan 1+ stone over the weight i should be at. I find meal planning helps keep me on the straight and narrow during the weekdays. I make 10 portions of chicken with lots of veg ( 1 lunch/1 dinner) and throw in half a packet of mircowave rice each meal. It can get boring but at least you know that you are getting all your nutritional value throughout the week, as well as staying in a calorie deficit.

I think going to a train professional always helps, as they can set you out a program tailored to your own needs. It can be costly (2/300 per month), but because you are paying the money, you feel obliged to stick to it- plus you have someone to answer to at the end of each week and you cant pull the wool over their eyes.

Its not going to be a walk in the park, but trust me when i say the first 1/2 weeks will be the most difficult. Once you get over the initial shock to the system, and come to terms what is expected off you, then you will start to push on. After the first 1/2 weeks, when you start seeing results, it spurs you on to want more and more.

Finally, we are all human. Don't beat yourself up for over indulging the odd time. Enjoy a cheat meal on a saturday night, eat a few biscuits and bag of crisps on a sunday evening. Think of it as a 5/6/7 month plan, you mightn't loose weight every week, but if you loose weight 3 out of every 4 weeks, or even 2 out of every 4 weeks, after 5/6/7 months it all adds up.

All the best!!!
Post by: JimStynes on February 21, 2023, 03:21:22 PM

I got that sub 7min 2k row in the end! 6.57 and then didn't bother trying again! Sickened myself with it but i think I am going to have to try and give it another go! Hurt my AC joint last summer and it's still giving me bother now ffs.
Post by: square_ball on February 21, 2023, 03:26:52 PM
Quote from: samuel maguire on February 21, 2023, 03:13:48 PM

Fair play to you for taking the steps to get back into a bit of shape. I don't want to be a spoil sport or put a downer on you but the harsh reality is it is going to be extremely tough to loose weight. It is going to take a massive behaviour change and a serious effort to go out and exercise- may that be a walk, run, gym, 5 a side.

I personally balloon up over the off season with football, and find myself looking in the mirror at the start of jan 1+ stone over the weight i should be at. I find meal planning helps keep me on the straight and narrow during the weekdays. I make 10 portions of chicken with lots of veg ( 1 lunch/1 dinner) and throw in half a packet of mircowave rice each meal. It can get boring but at least you know that you are getting all your nutritional value throughout the week, as well as staying in a calorie deficit.

I think going to a train professional always helps, as they can set you out a program tailored to your own needs. It can be costly (2/300 per month), but because you are paying the money, you feel obliged to stick to it- plus you have someone to answer to at the end of each week and you cant pull the wool over their eyes.

Its not going to be a walk in the park, but trust me when i say the first 1/2 weeks will be the most difficult. Once you get over the initial shock to the system, and come to terms what is expected off you, then you will start to push on. After the first 1/2 weeks, when you start seeing results, it spurs you on to want more and more.

Finally, we are all human. Don't beat yourself up for over indulging the odd time. Enjoy a cheat meal on a saturday night, eat a few biscuits and bag of crisps on a sunday evening. Think of it as a 5/6/7 month plan, you mightn't loose weight every week, but if you loose weight 3 out of every 4 weeks, or even 2 out of every 4 weeks, after 5/6/7 months it all adds up.

All the best!!!

Some good pieces of advice in there but the bit in bold I'd slightly disagree with. Its not going to be extremely tough to lose the weight - with a bit of structure to your week in terms of nutrition and some form of exercise be it a few walks, jog or the 5 a side the weight will start to shift in the right direction. Yes its going to take effort but understand its not going to be a few weeks thing and you'll be back to your fittest. Set a weight target for summer/Christmas to be a certain weight and then see where you are at the end of this year in terms of your wedding.

And 100% go back to your 5 a side football. Genuinely no one there will give a shit as more than likely most of them will be blowing out of their asses after 5 minutes.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 21, 2023, 03:29:23 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 21, 2023, 03:21:22 PM

I got that sub 7min 2k row in the end! 6.57 and then didn't bother trying again! Sickened myself with it but i think I am going to have to try and give it another go! Hurt my AC joint last summer and it's still giving me bother now ffs.

I hate rowing. I'm doing a CF comp this weekend. One of the workouts is split into 2. Th e first part is a 1000m row for time - that's workout 2 - then it goes straight into workout 3. Do you go flat out on the 1k row and risk blowing up in part 3 or do you take it conservative and risk a low score
Post by: JimStynes on February 21, 2023, 03:37:53 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 21, 2023, 03:29:23 PM

I hate rowing. I'm doing a CF comp this weekend. One of the workouts is split into 2. Th e first part is a 1000m row for time - that's workout 2 - then it goes straight into workout 3. Do you go flat out on the 1k row and risk blowing up in part 3 or do you take it conservative and risk a low score

You can't go flat out at it or you'll be lying on the floor for 5mins!
Post by: tonto1888 on February 21, 2023, 03:43:28 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 21, 2023, 03:37:53 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 21, 2023, 03:29:23 PM

You can't go flat out at it or you'll be lying on the floor for 5mins!
Haha. True. But nor can you be too conservative
Post by: JimStynes on February 21, 2023, 03:47:02 PM
Going to do that Hyrox that is going to Dublin but it's a scandelous price!
Post by: tonto1888 on February 21, 2023, 04:51:59 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 21, 2023, 03:47:02 PM
Going to do that Hyrox that is going to Dublin but it's a scandelous price!

Was looking at that myself. A load from our gym are talking about it. 90 odd euro is too much tho
Post by: Main Street on February 22, 2023, 12:36:57 PM
Rowing is a torture,  rowing machines (the devil's invention) are for fitness masochists.

Post by: CK_Redhand on February 22, 2023, 02:01:47 PM
I quite enjoy the rowing machine. It's one that I see a lot of people in my gym have poor technique at. They fully extend their legs before they have rowed their arms back. Has anybody else noticed this?
Post by: square_ball on February 22, 2023, 02:11:04 PM
If its what I think you're describing - then that is correct way of doing it. You need to fully extend your legs before you use your arms.

https://youtu.be/4zWu1yuJ0_g

More common I see is people not fully extending their legs and pulling back on the handles with their arms. Jim Stynes will be more an expert with the time he is putting up for a 2k row.

Post by: gallsman on February 22, 2023, 02:16:06 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on February 22, 2023, 02:01:47 PM
I quite enjoy the rowing machine. It's one that I see a lot of people in my gym have poor technique at. They fully extend their legs before they have rowed their arms back. Has anybody else noticed this?

As in they're bent over and the handle hasn't moved back at all? Or they haven't pulled with their arms until after their legs are extended?

If the latter, that is precisely how to row.
Post by: CK_Redhand on February 22, 2023, 02:16:26 PM
No sorry I explained it poorly. I've seen people start their arm row as their legs are going back.  So they are leaning too far forward and are not pulling back far enough with their arms.
Post by: square_ball on February 22, 2023, 02:20:04 PM
Get you now. Its definitely a butchered exercise. Proper technique can make a huge improvement on your pace. While we are on the topic of the ergs - I hate the ski machine. Horrible altogether.
Post by: JimStynes on February 22, 2023, 02:46:13 PM
Quote from: square_ball on February 22, 2023, 02:11:04 PM
If its what I think you're describing - then that is correct way of doing it. You need to fully extend your legs before you use your arms.

https://youtu.be/4zWu1yuJ0_g

More common I see is people not fully extending their legs and pulling back on the handles with their arms. Jim Stynes will be more an expert with the time he is putting up for a 2k row.

Definitely not an expert! The coach in my gym holds some record for his age cateogry on the concept 2. His time is something ridiculous like 6.12 for 2k so I always try and train with him. Being efficient on the rower is very important. People always make the mistake of putting the damper setting up to 10 and waste a lot of energy early. It should be around 4 1/2 or 5 for someone my size. I know some people that row at 3 on the damper. I aim for about 25-27 spm and just watch the per 500m time. A nice easy one to work towards is holding 2min per 500m. For sub 2k my strategy is set the distance as 2k obviously  and I always just try hold 1.45min per 500m and then on the last 500m go 1.44min. Sounds a lot easier than it is!! There are sometimes I get on the rower and have myself off it again in 2 or 3 mins as I am not in the right frame of mind for that sort of torture. Other times I'll go for nice and easy 5kms and just sit at 2.10 pace. I must try find my times but I had decent times on the ski erg and bike erg as well. Well off all those times now though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 22, 2023, 02:48:57 PM
Quote from: square_ball on February 22, 2023, 02:20:04 PM
Get you now. Its definitely a butchered exercise. Proper technique can make a huge improvement on your pace. While we are on the topic of the ergs - I hate the ski machine. Horrible altogether.

There was a gym I went to a good few times, over by Carryduff, they use they use the ergos stuff,  the ski one I liked!! the bike ergos was my least fav..

To be fair it was a tough work out
Post by: tonto1888 on February 22, 2023, 06:38:01 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 22, 2023, 12:36:57 PM
Rowing is a torture,  rowing machines (the devil's invention) are for fitness masochists.

You've never been on an echo bike have you haha
Post by: imtommygunn on February 22, 2023, 07:02:01 PM
Jim do you go to that limitless gym? Think I read about that record.
Post by: JimStynes on February 23, 2023, 10:39:55 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 22, 2023, 07:02:01 PM
Jim do you go to that limitless gym? Think I read about that record.

Yeah, Conor Magill. He's a fit lad!
Post by: imtommygunn on February 23, 2023, 12:32:40 PM
Ai. Very accomplished runner in his day too.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 23, 2023, 03:42:26 PM
Usually hit the rower for a warm up, time to 100 calories. Usually around 1:43 for 500m, in and around 4 minutes 20. Think it ends up being about 1400m. Nothing hurts more, apart from assault bike, consistently throughout, legs don't bend right for a minute after.

Did a 5k on the rower the other week, more to test the water to see how it felt throughout. Ended up around 1.57 per 500, disgusting again.
Post by: Main Street on February 23, 2023, 07:14:21 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 22, 2023, 06:38:01 PM

I'd rather pedal a windmill. :D

Speaking of which, I often thought if only devices such as the echo bike (and all the other  exercise bikes), could be rigged up to a generator you could probably light up the town.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 23, 2023, 07:45:06 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 23, 2023, 07:14:21 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 22, 2023, 06:38:01 PM

I'd rather pedal a windmill. :D

Speaking of which, I often thought if only devices such as the echo bike (and all the other  exercise bikes), could be rigged up to a generator you could probably light up the town.

For a little while anyway
Post by: harryR on February 23, 2023, 08:41:46 PM
What's everyone's thoughts on people doing gym sessions before Gaelic/hurling/football matches. Either a few hours before or even some the day before
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 23, 2023, 09:00:13 PM
Quote from: harryR on February 23, 2023, 08:41:46 PM
What's everyone's thoughts on people doing gym sessions before Gaelic/hurling/football matches. Either a few hours before or even some the day before

Personally if I was a manager and knew one of my players was at the gym lifting weights I'd be dropping him.

Risk of injury and reduced stamina...

Who is recommending this?
By all means go stretch, gentle jog ending in a minute sprint
Post by: Mourne Red on February 23, 2023, 09:05:46 PM
Quote from: harryR on February 23, 2023, 08:41:46 PM

If you're not going to be part of the 20 involved in the match then go ahead.. Else I'd leave it until after the match
Post by: Armagh18 on February 23, 2023, 09:13:47 PM
Science backs a primer session the day before a match to get the muscles firing. Nothing too straining and low reps!
Post by: tonto1888 on February 23, 2023, 09:47:21 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 23, 2023, 09:13:47 PM
Science backs a primer session the day before a match to get the muscles firing. Nothing too straining and low reps!

What's this based on? That's a genuine question by the way
Post by: nrico2006 on February 23, 2023, 09:57:42 PM
Do nothing the day before, stupid to do anything apart from light stretching or walking.
Post by: Mike Tyson on February 23, 2023, 10:52:07 PM
https://www.blkboxfitness.com/blogs/education/the-gameday-primer-principles-and-practices
Post by: square_ball on February 23, 2023, 10:56:08 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 23, 2023, 09:47:21 PM

There is plenty of research around it. It's for an experienced lifter and not for a lad that last done a session in the gym 6 months ago. It doesn't do much harm really.

https://www.blkboxfitness.com/blogs/education/the-gameday-primer-principles-and-practices
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 23, 2023, 10:56:51 PM
So gym session then the intense warm up session before the game? Are Armagh and Tyrone doing this at the minute?  ;)
Post by: SaffronSports on February 23, 2023, 11:00:28 PM
Random question for anyone that knows about fitness. Daughter will turn 12 in April but plays for u-12 and u-14 in both Camogie and Ladies Football.

Obviously that's a lot of potential training sessions before you think of the matches too. How many hours per week would you say she should be training? She's the type of kid who wouldn't tell you if she's sore as she just wants to be playing but I don't want her to be wrecking herself either.
Post by: square_ball on February 23, 2023, 11:01:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 23, 2023, 10:56:51 PM
So gym session then the intense warm up session before the game? Are Armagh and Tyrone doing this at the minute?  ;)

Probably doing it the day before if they are doing it.

Armagh probably doing mma stuff with McGeeney before matches  :P
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 23, 2023, 11:10:45 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on February 23, 2023, 11:00:28 PM
Random question for anyone that knows about fitness. Daughter will turn 12 in April but plays for u-12 and u-14 in both Camogie and Ladies Football.

Obviously that's a lot of potential training sessions before you think of the matches too. How many hours per week would you say she should be training? She's the type of kid who wouldn't tell you if she's sore as she just wants to be playing but I don't want her to be wrecking herself either.

Personally I feel she should train with her own age level and play there, and for the under 14's games just play only...

She's 12 full of beans, if she's feeling sore at that level I'd be surprised, game wise they'd be lucky to hit 3 miles in a game. Intensity is a lot lower too.

Put a monitor on her if you can just to see the stats you'd be surprised
Post by: Main Street on February 24, 2023, 09:27:33 AM
Pre match, didn't Tyrone warm up with a decade of the rosary. It's not all about science and sweat.
Post by: Armagh18 on February 24, 2023, 10:29:14 AM

I honestly couldn't tell you where but I've seen some coaches talk about it. Wouldn't be a fan of anything more than light stretching/mobility work the day before but obviously everyone is different
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 24, 2023, 10:39:30 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 24, 2023, 10:29:14 AM

I honestly couldn't tell you where but I've seen some coaches talk about it. Wouldn't be a fan of anything more than light stretching/mobility work the day before but obviously everyone is different

Its not a professional sport if we are talking GAA, professional attitude is ok but we have to think about life after the GAA and they ain't going to pay for your chronic back pain in your 50's 
Post by: JimStynes on February 24, 2023, 10:42:05 AM
Bicep curls and tricep extensions the only job before a game  ;)
Post by: Armagh18 on February 24, 2023, 10:42:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 24, 2023, 10:39:30 AM

Its not a professional sport if we are talking GAA, professional attitude is ok but we have to think about life after the GAA and they ain't going to pay for your chronic back pain in your 50's
??
Post by: Armagh18 on February 24, 2023, 10:42:51 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 24, 2023, 10:42:05 AM
Bicep curls and tricep extensions the only job before a game  ;)
Do that after the game for a pump before you head on the lash ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 24, 2023, 10:48:33 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 24, 2023, 10:42:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 24, 2023, 10:39:30 AM

??

If you are training 3 nights a week and playing games at the weekend and now doing a session the day of the match or the day before then you will not physically be able to get up and down the stairs without some ache when you hit 50..

Fine if your are a professional sports man who will get looked after and can recover but if you playing GAA and working on a building site or even sitting at a desk then its madness
Post by: nrico2006 on February 24, 2023, 11:11:57 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 23, 2023, 10:56:51 PM

Armagh rest the day before a game. Have a pitch based skills session the day before the game this week purely to get the legs going after the long journey.
Post by: jcpen on March 09, 2023, 07:48:09 AM
Down about 6kg since I started back into it. Combination of diet and running really but have been going to the gym to do a bit of lifting also but to get more toned rather than build mass.
Feeling much better mentally and physically.
Post by: Smurfy123 on March 09, 2023, 08:22:39 AM
Started a gym programme in January. Have seen good improvement in my body but massive improvements in my mentality. Happier and more alert whereas before some days were a struggle
Have really tidied up my diet and been consistent in the gym
I do still have a good bit of chocolate and the odd takeaway at the weekends but such a different state of mind
I really had let myself go
Post by: samuel maguire on March 09, 2023, 08:44:09 AM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on March 09, 2023, 08:22:39 AM
Started a gym programme in January. Have seen good improvement in my body but massive improvements in my mentality. Happier and more alert whereas before some days were a struggle
Have really tidied up my diet and been consistent in the gym
I do still have a good bit of chocolate and the odd takeaway at the weekends but such a different state of mind
I really had let myself go

Its crazy how much better you feel mentally when you are training/in decent physical shape. I defiantly appreciate the odd bag of sweets or bar of chocolate a lot more now. I look forward to the a takeaway on a Friday or Saturday night now and don't feel guilty or disgusting after eating it because I know I've earned it. 
Post by: 03,05,08 on March 09, 2023, 11:57:31 AM
Has anyone any experience with a bulk? Got back into the gym and am thinking about going for one but not to fond of the idea of putting on fat having only recently lost it
Post by: yellowcard on March 09, 2023, 12:12:32 PM
Quote from: 03,05,08 on March 09, 2023, 11:57:31 AM
Has anyone any experience with a bulk? Got back into the gym and am thinking about going for one but not to fond of the idea of putting on fat having only recently lost it

You're thinking of going to the gym to put on fat?
Post by: Armagh18 on March 09, 2023, 12:25:25 PM
if you're looking to seriously put on muscle, you need to be in a slight calorie surplus to build it properly- this will obviously mean gaining a bit of fat unfortunately. If you really commit to the bulk and keep getting stronger in yhe gym you'll build plenty of muscle- but you meed to accept that you mightn't look great- will be really worth it though when you cut and reveal all the muscle you've built up. All depends on your goals though.
Post by: thebigfella on March 09, 2023, 12:53:16 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 09, 2023, 12:25:25 PM
if you're looking to seriously put on muscle, you need to be in a slight calorie surplus to build it properly- this will obviously mean gaining a bit of fat unfortunately. If you really commit to the bulk and keep getting stronger in yhe gym you'll build plenty of muscle- but you meed to accept that you mightn't look great- will be really worth it though when you cut and reveal all the muscle you've built up. All depends on your goals though.

You just have to eat healthy foods and find the right calorie surplus so that you're building muscle without storing excess fat. The diet is key and more than on a calorie deficit phase, as the cleaner the diet the less impact on fat storage and easier it is too lean back down.

To be honest unless your body fat is sub 15%, and trying to prevent the loss of definition, I wouldn't worry too much about putting on fat as it will be hardly noticeable if you control your diet.
Post by: LC on March 09, 2023, 06:19:15 PM

Can relate to the highlighted part above, lost a good bit of weight and hence the whole idea of putting weight back on was a headwrecker.

Went with a clean bulk of about 500 calories above maintenance with the aim of putting on 0.5kg / 1lb per week, started in October and by mid February I had put on a stone and a half.  Must have been doing something right as the waist size in terms of trousers did not change but had to start wearing bigger size shirts.  On a bit of a mini cut at the moment eating approx 500 below maintenance, doing ok so far and will see how things are at the end of week 8.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 09, 2023, 06:37:35 PM
By maint, you mean the, 2500cal level?
Post by: Armagh18 on March 09, 2023, 07:12:12 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 09, 2023, 06:37:35 PM
everyones is different. Depends on age, activity level, weight etc etc.
Post by: LC on March 09, 2023, 07:13:17 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 09, 2023, 06:37:35 PM

Between running and gym work my daily maintenance is approx 2900 so currently cutting at 2400.
Post by: An Watcher on March 09, 2023, 10:42:15 PM
Been doing weights at the gym now for 6 months.  Really struggle with the eating side of things though.  Was so used to playing football that this all seems totally alien now but slowly getting there. 
Post by: Armagh18 on March 09, 2023, 10:55:01 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on March 09, 2023, 10:42:15 PM
Been doing weights at the gym now for 6 months.  Really struggle with the eating side of things though.  Was so used to playing football that this all seems totally alien now but slowly getting there.
I love the weights, great to see the progress through the months and notice yourself stronger. Important to be getting some form of cardio in as well even if it's only a good walk and try to hit as many steps as possible throughout the day, especially if working at a desk a lot.
Post by: An Watcher on March 10, 2023, 06:37:27 AM
Yeah, still play a bit if 5 aside n then try to squeeze in a spin session as well.  I'm grand with that but the weights exhaust me as they're all new to me
Post by: Armagh18 on March 10, 2023, 06:45:26 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on March 10, 2023, 06:37:27 AM
Yeah, still play a bit if 5 aside n then try to squeeze in a spin session as well.  I'm grand with that but the weights exhaust me as they're all new to me
Far from an expert but just make sure you're doing the basics well- get plenty of protein in, (2g per kg body weight is what I've read), make sure you are taking rest days and most importantly get around 8 hours sleep per night. Probably to be expected with weights then if they're new
Post by: An Watcher on March 10, 2023, 06:58:29 AM
Cheers Armagh, all these hints n tips actually do help
Post by: tonto1888 on July 20, 2023, 04:54:37 PM
Anybody doing hyrox in Dublin?

https://hyrox.com/
Post by: JimStynes on July 21, 2023, 08:53:53 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 20, 2023, 04:54:37 PM
Anybody doing hyrox in Dublin?

Might be jumping in with a fella for the team competition. Have a friend's wedding the night before though so it'll be a disaster. It's very expensive all the same!!
Post by: tonto1888 on July 22, 2023, 11:09:56 PM
It is dear alright. I'm enjoying the training so far tho
Post by: LC on September 20, 2023, 07:03:48 AM
One for the fitness experts out there.

Bulked up to 90kg at the start of the year, being cutting / losing weight since Easter.  Slow enough progress but got weight down to approx 82 / 83 kg.  Going to start a bulk again in October from what I can gather recommended gain is circa 0.5kg per week so if I did it for 16 weeks that in theory bring me back to 90kg.  Would it normally be the case that you would try to put back on in a bulk what you lost in your previous cut?
Post by: Feckitt on October 26, 2023, 10:49:57 AM
Can anyone recommend somewhere in the North where you can go and get a proper healthcheck.  Bloods, MOT, Heart check, etc, etc.  I know Randox in Antrim do something like this.  Anywhere else?
Post by: Mario on October 26, 2023, 11:07:37 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on October 26, 2023, 10:49:57 AMCan anyone recommend somewhere in the North where you can go and get a proper healthcheck.  Bloods, MOT, Heart check, etc, etc.  I know Randox in Antrim do something like this.  Anywhere else?
I got one through work in Kingsbridge on the Lisburn Road, Belfast.
Post by: Saffron_sam20 on October 26, 2023, 11:07:55 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 20, 2023, 04:54:37 PMAnybody doing hyrox in Dublin?

seen a bit bout Hyrox on instagram, is it like CrossFit?
Post by: tonto1888 on October 26, 2023, 02:13:30 PM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on October 26, 2023, 11:07:55 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 20, 2023, 04:54:37 PMAnybody doing hyrox in Dublin?

It is a fitness race. There will be some crossover but every hyrox follows the same set up. 8x1Km run with a fitness station after each run. The fitness stations are the same regardless of where the race is or when
Post by: JimStynes on October 26, 2023, 02:41:42 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on October 26, 2023, 02:13:30 PM

It is a fitness race. There will be some crossover but every hyrox follows the same set up. 8x1Km run with a fitness station after each run. The fitness stations are the same regardless of where the race is or when

I love it and brilliant for most people into fitness with very little to worry about in terms of technique. CrossFit is a disaster for people using shit technique when it comes to the olympic lifting, with hyrox you don't really have any of that. It's a complete money racket all the same!!
Post by: tonto1888 on October 27, 2023, 06:38:39 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on October 26, 2023, 02:41:42 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on October 26, 2023, 02:13:30 PM

I love it and brilliant for most people into fitness with very little to worry about in terms of technique. CrossFit is a disaster for people using shit technique when it comes to the olympic lifting, with hyrox you don't really have any of that. It's a complete money racket all the same!!

Have you done one? I'm doing it tomorrow. Doubles. Any tips??
Post by: jcpen on January 07, 2024, 12:26:31 PM
Bought a few Kettlebells there last week. I'm sure my form is brutal but I'm as sore as anything after using them.
Is this down to my form or just getting used to swinging them around?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2024, 02:45:20 PM
Start light and improve technique before moving up!

Back injuries common enough with poor form
Post by: jcpen on January 07, 2024, 03:22:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2024, 02:45:20 PMStart light and improve technique before moving up!

I bought a 12kg and 20kg. 12 seems a bit light but still sore after swinging it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2024, 03:43:30 PM
Quote from: jcpen on January 07, 2024, 03:22:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2024, 02:45:20 PMStart light and improve technique before moving up!

I bought a 12kg and 20kg. 12 seems a bit light but still sore after swinging it.

12 is plenty to get rhythm right..

My wife does two kettle bell classes a week, mixed in other stuff and she uses two separate weights for different drills, 20kg is tough enough to work repetitive drills
Post by: tonto1888 on January 08, 2024, 07:43:56 AM
Quote from: jcpen on January 07, 2024, 12:26:31 PMBought a few Kettlebells there last week. I'm sure my form is brutal but I'm as sore as anything after using them.
Is this down to my form or just getting used to swinging them around?

possibly a bit of both. There will be good instructional videos on youtube in relation to form. 12kg and 20kg are def enough to give you a good workout. After a while can maybe build the mass up if you feel like you need it. Depending on the movement I use kettlebells anywhere between 16kg and 40kg
Post by: AustinPowers on February 07, 2024, 11:31:01 PM
I walk fairly regularly  (3 to 3.5 miles)

Lately, I've been getting pains  top of both feet and a few inches  up the front leg muscles

Never had this before , and I normally do  a lot of walking ( with some jogging thrown in).

I  always do warm up and stretch before , and warm down  after as well . Wearing same trainers as well.  It's quite  annoying , I've had to  cut short the walks a couple times lately

Any advice?
Post by: An Watcher on February 08, 2024, 07:12:42 AM
Shin splints? 

If this is what it is you might want to change your footwear.  Used to get this back in the day when my football boots, trainers weren't great
Post by: AustinPowers on February 08, 2024, 12:37:05 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on February 08, 2024, 07:12:42 AMShin splints? 

If this is what it is you might want to change your footwear.  Used to get this back in the day when my football boots, trainers weren't great

I got shin splints  in my last year at minor level and the year after ,  but I don't recall it annoying the top of my feet. It was mainly the legs , and only   when I was running.  (Boots might have been a factor, as you say)

Not been troubled  with it since  then , and I've done an awful lot of running/walking since.

Will monitor things  in  the coming days and  weeks, see if things change
Post by: imtommygunn on February 08, 2024, 12:59:02 PM
This will seem like an odd suggestion but sit on your feet to stretch it. Wear no shoes when you're doing it and point your toes backwards. I find that good for stretching out the front of your calves and round your ankles.
Post by: AustinPowers on February 08, 2024, 01:49:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 08, 2024, 12:59:02 PMThis will seem like an odd suggestion but sit on your feet to stretch it. Wear no shoes when you're doing it and point your toes backwards. I find that good for stretching out the front of your calves and round your ankles.

Yes , I've heard that helps.  I've done that a  couple of times recently . Will keep doing it and see  if I get any joy
Post by: jcpen on March 17, 2024, 06:15:59 PM
Compression boots, worth the money or not?
Post by: Armagh18 on March 17, 2024, 06:47:41 PM
Quote from: jcpen on March 17, 2024, 06:15:59 PMCompression boots, worth the money or not?
No. they're ok but wouldnt justify the outlay imo
Post by: Nanderson on March 17, 2024, 07:11:52 PM
Quote from: jcpen on March 17, 2024, 06:15:59 PMCompression boots, worth the money or not?
Depends what you are after them for. If you have everything else in order i.e workout, recovery, nutrition, they may be good for a marginal gain. For the average Joe they probably aren't worth the money when there are other strategies to optomise recovery
Post by: manfromdelmonte on March 17, 2024, 08:08:32 PM
Go stand in a lake for 20 mins
Post by: jcpen on March 17, 2024, 08:21:31 PM
And if I don't have a lake nearby?
Post by: majestic on March 17, 2024, 09:42:05 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on February 07, 2024, 11:31:01 PMI walk fairly regularly  (3 to 3.5 miles)

Lately, I've been getting pains  top of both feet and a few inches  up the front leg muscles

Never had this before , and I normally do  a lot of walking ( with some jogging thrown in).

I  always do warm up and stretch before , and warm down  after as well . Wearing same trainers as well.  It's quite  annoying , I've had to  cut short the walks a couple times lately

Any advice?

Have a quick google about chronic compartment syndrome and see if your symptoms match up. I struggled for years with this until in a physio for another reason and on the treadmill it flared up.
Post by: jcpen on April 05, 2024, 09:32:09 AM
What if any supplements and or vitamins are you taking?
Is it worth taking stuff like Omega 3, glucosamine, magnesium etc?
Post by: thebigfella on April 05, 2024, 09:52:55 AM
Quote from: jcpen on April 05, 2024, 09:32:09 AMWhat if any supplements and or vitamins are you taking?

All those, protein and creatine. Although not convinced on the glucosamine.

The fish oil soft gels and creatine are the main ones for me. Protein if I'm doing a lot of strength work and need to get extra into me but I can get that from diet.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 05, 2024, 09:55:17 AM
I was reading recently about the benefits of magnesium to sleep patterns. I wouldn't take much but do take an iron supplement. It's the liquid one that you just put in the orange juice in the morning.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2024, 11:16:02 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 05, 2024, 09:55:17 AMI was reading recently about the benefits of magnesium to sleep patterns. I wouldn't take much but do take an iron supplement. It's the liquid one that you just put in the orange juice in the morning.

Get the Guinness into you for the iron.

I remember clearing out her uncles flat when he was moving to a care home, he was 85 and still doing 50 press ups a day.. anyways gets to his cupboards in the kitchen, barely any food but opened up this one cupboard, filled with cans of Guinness lol! He'd one after breakfast one after lunch and one after dinner..

Lived to around 92 I think!
Post by: thebigfella on April 05, 2024, 11:21:00 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2024, 11:16:02 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 05, 2024, 09:55:17 AMI was reading recently about the benefits of magnesium to sleep patterns. I wouldn't take much but do take an iron supplement. It's the liquid one that you just put in the orange juice in the morning.

I remember clearing out her uncles flat when he was moving to a care home, he was 85 and still doing 50 press ups a day.. anyways gets to his cupboards in the kitchen, barely any food but opened up this one cupboard, filled with cans of Guinness lol! He'd one after breakfast one after lunch and one after dinner..

Another complete myth. Might as well be right wing, conspiracy theory, anti-vax nut job coming out with that  ;) 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2024, 11:24:18 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on April 05, 2024, 11:21:00 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 05, 2024, 11:16:02 AM

Another complete myth. Might as well be right wing, conspiracy theory, anti-vax nut job coming out with that  ;) 

Don't kill the myth ffs! She thinks I'm out taking medication when I'm at the club!
Post by: Mourne Red on April 05, 2024, 11:57:31 AM
Quote from: jcpen on April 05, 2024, 09:32:09 AMWhat if any supplements and or vitamins are you taking?

Magnesium, Vitamin D and then protein too. Majority of us have a Mag/Vit D deficiency so I used supplements to get my daily intake of those, been on it past 6 months I'd say its helped me. Protein as recovery from Training/Gym and helps with satiation (keeps you full) so helps keep the snacking at bay.

Creatine good too from research I've read - I can't take it though, found it gives me a headache for whatever reason
Post by: Armagh18 on April 05, 2024, 12:46:04 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on April 05, 2024, 11:57:31 AM

Magnesium, Vitamin D and then protein too. Majority of us have a Mag/Vit D deficiency so I used supplements to get my daily intake of those, been on it past 6 months I'd say its helped me. Protein as recovery from Training/Gym and helps with satiation (keeps you full) so helps keep the snacking at bay.

Creatine good too from research I've read - I can't take it though, found it gives me a headache for whatever reason
Are you drinking enough water? Found that helps while taking it.
Post by: tyrone08 on April 05, 2024, 01:03:21 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 05, 2024, 12:46:04 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on April 05, 2024, 11:57:31 AM

Are you drinking enough water? Found that helps while taking it.

Creatine helps the muscles absorb more water. If you aren't drinking more water while taking creatine to compensate then you will get dehydrated and prone to sore heads