GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2017, 09:34:58 AM

Title: Tír Eoghain vs Muineachán, Omagh, Saturday 4th March @19:00 (water permitting)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2017, 09:34:58 AM
Right, with the Cavan game parked for now, here's hoping the Kerry animals have softened these hallions up a bit last Sunday for our showdown with them this Saturday evening ;)
Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs Muineachán, Omagh, Saturday 4th March @19:30 (water permitting)
Post by: seafoid on February 28, 2017, 09:53:54 AM
Is the pitch up to Olympic 50 m standard ?
Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs Muineachán, Omagh, Saturday 4th March @19:30 (water permitting)
Post by: Fuzzman on February 28, 2017, 11:13:04 AM
2 years ago Monaghan beat us quite comprehensively in Omagh and they seem to be off to a flying start with away wins over Mayo and Kerry already. You would imagine though this game will be more like the Cavan game with a lot more bodies in defence.
Both teams will be hoping to meet each other again in the Ulster final this year as they are in opposite sides of the draw and whilst Monaghan have still to beat the red hands in Croker, they don't seem to fear them any more in Ulster.
If Monaghan win this they will fancy their chances to make the league final.

I see they held O'Donoghue and Geaney scoreless from play though both scored 3 frees each.

Do Monaghan have a few injury worries, I though I heard O'Rourke say after the game on the radio?

31/01/15
Round 1   Tyrone    0-09 – 1-13   Monaghan    Healy Park, Omagh
Referee: P Hughes

D McCurry (0-4), P Hughes (0-2), A McCrory (0-1), N Morgan (0-1), S Cavanagh (0-1)   
S Gollogly (1-1), D McKenna (0-2), D Mone (0-2), K Hughes (0-2), P Finlay (0-2), C McManus (0-1), D Hughes (0-1), D Malone (0-1), R McAnespie (0-1)
Post by: Schkite on February 28, 2017, 11:52:47 AM
We're motoring well in the league this year so this would normally be a great time to beat them Tyrone hoors, but all things considered this will be a tough one on Saturday.

Tyrone will be that bit fresher after the Cavan game was postponed, and we had 3 or 4 lads off injured against Kerry. I believe Walshe tweaked his hamstring and Darren Hughes went off with concussion, so I wouldn't be surprised if both were out and that's two big losses. The defence is doing well and the form of the likes of Doogan and McCarron is encouraging early in the year, but I can see why Tyrone will be strongly favoured here.
Post by: giveherlong on February 28, 2017, 12:23:03 PM
Is the game on tv, Eir sport, premier?
Post by: omagh_gael on February 28, 2017, 12:32:35 PM
Quote from: giveherlong on February 28, 2017, 12:23:03 PM
Is the game on tv, Eir sport, premier?

Definitely one  both!
Post by: Taylor on February 28, 2017, 01:42:50 PM
Interesting game in store.
Monaghan are flying and are really cutting into teams - playing on or across the line if you like.

After the Dublin team will be a good barometer of where we are at this year.

Irrespective of the result I feel Monaghan have peaked far too early. The one thing we cant allow them to do is to lay down a marker and walk all over our lads.

No rain forecast for Saturday so at least we can be sure of a game  ;D
Post by: Main Street on February 28, 2017, 01:50:00 PM
The Monaghan shirts are carrying an amount of blood splatter after the first 3 games. Will big Sean sit this one out for his own safety?

I can imagine Dick Clerkin tossing and turning in his sleep in great anticipation, just out of habit.
Post by: Schkite on February 28, 2017, 02:02:28 PM
Quote from: Taylor on February 28, 2017, 01:42:50 PM
Monaghan are flying and are really cutting into teams - playing on or across the line if you like.

Irrespective of the result I feel Monaghan have peaked far too early
. The one thing we cant allow them to do is to lay down a marker and walk all over our lads.

I don't know how you could come to that conclusion when it's still February.
Post by: Main Street on February 28, 2017, 02:12:56 PM
Quote from: Schkite on February 28, 2017, 02:02:28 PM

. The one thing we cant allow them to do is to lay down a marker and walk all over our lads.

He's in a fearful state, poor lad,  "cant allow them to do is to lay down a marker and walk all over our lads".

What I read is ´Monaghan are going to walk all over us'  'please  please don't let that happen'

Post by: Taylor on February 28, 2017, 02:21:42 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 28, 2017, 02:12:56 PM
Quote from: Schkite on February 28, 2017, 02:02:28 PM

He's in a fearful state, poor lad,  "cant allow them to do is to lay down a marker and walk all over our lads".

What I read is ´Monaghan are going to walk all over us'  'please  please don't let that happen'

;D ;D

It is a distinct possibility given the ferocity you have come at other teams.

Dont worry about big Sean - these are the sort of games he loves - the muck savages chasing after him roaring and frothing at the mouth hold no fear
Post by: God14 on February 28, 2017, 04:12:49 PM
What odds this game could be played in clones?
Post by: Dire Ear on February 28, 2017, 04:25:01 PM
Monaghan to outscore and outmuscle Tyrone
Post by: Main Street on February 28, 2017, 06:18:48 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on February 28, 2017, 04:25:01 PM
We've done that before and still lost the game.
Post by: Main Street on March 01, 2017, 07:18:02 PM
I hope there will be no repeat of these dark arts to shut down a Monaghan attack this Saturday evening,  as seen here  in the 2015 league game at Omagh, just after Darren Hughes shrugs off an attempt to drag him down, is bearing down on goal and then somebody has the "bright" idea to do this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKgsTg1sEwU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKgsTg1sEwU)

Post by: Fuzzman on March 02, 2017, 09:41:00 AM
So that's why it's called the dark arts.
I think we went a bit too far though with leaving the water sprinklers on all night for the Cavan game last Sunday.

How long was Mark Bradley suspended for?
Post by: Taylor on March 02, 2017, 10:00:07 AM
Would like to see Big Sean start on Saturday night.

As I said previously want to lay a marker down for later in the year
Post by: Dire Ear on March 02, 2017, 01:36:39 PM
How was Sean v Dublin, apart from the penalty ? Can't rememember
Post by: Fuzzman on March 02, 2017, 02:25:55 PM
I'm expecting the same team as he named for Cavan.
You could see this being another tough dirty game with both teams wanting to make big statements for the year ahead. The ref will have his hands full I reckon.

Looks like the forecast is rain all week up in Omagh. Has the pitch had a chance to dry out?
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2017, 02:56:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 02, 2017, 02:25:55 PM
I'm expecting the same team as he named for Cavan.
You could see this being another tough dirty game with both teams wanting to make big statements for the year ahead. The ref will have his hands full I reckon.

Looks like the forecast is rain all week up in Omagh. Has the pitch had a chance to dry out?
Monaghan make statements by playing good football. Tyrone may choose to resort to type, I hope not, for the sake of football, however I expect Monaghan to play a manly game (not back down) complete with exciting running football, mighty pitch wide accurate foot passes and dashing imaginative forward play.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 02, 2017, 03:18:50 PM
As long as there's no hair ruffling.
(http://gaeliclife.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/1038467.jpg)

Yeah Tyrone are always the villains against yer lot. Ye never have any such nonsense againt Donegal or Cavan.

Were you down in Kerry last weekend Main St?
It looked like yis were well up for the physical side of things against them judging by the highlights I saw.
It's tough to hold Geaney and O'Donoghue scoreless from play down in their own back yard.
Title: Tír Eoghain vs Muineachán, Omagh, Saturday 4th March @19:30 (water permitting)
Post by: omagh_gael on March 02, 2017, 04:02:41 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 02, 2017, 01:36:39 PM

I thought he did quite well, moved in and out from MF to FF and caused some problems in the square and never wasted a ball out the field either.
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2017, 04:14:18 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 02, 2017, 03:18:50 PM

Were you down in Kerry last weekend Main St?
It looked like yis were well up for the physical side of things against them judging by the highlights I saw.
It's tough to hold Geaney and O'Donoghue scoreless from play down in their own back yard.
I only saw that game live on tv. Kerry were missing their Dr Croke players and their team were in a strange state considering they had performed well in Donegal and half well against Mayo. Maybe they were too confident and took Monaghan for granted.
Kerry forwards this time did not get much service as that was cut out at the pass by Monaghan defending higher and pushing Kerry backwards, their full forward line were mostly around midfield and in their own half trying to put out fires. Monaghan's workrate was vastly superior. There is little doubt that Monaghan had a definite plan to beat Kerry and totally believed in it,  they could bully Kerry, beat Kerry and do it playing better football, even fielding the ball better at midfield.
As you know it's difficult to play at that intense level with consistency week in week out. With this game on Saturday, advantage has to be with with the team (who in theory have) rested,  though Tyrone players would probably have preferred to play that postponed game they had prepared for.
Going by other league games in the past I don't expect much in the way of championship shenanigans

Post by: Fuzzman on March 02, 2017, 04:27:12 PM
Omagh Gael, Sean never wasted a ball out the field? He was the one that ran into two tackles and lost the ball that lead to the 2nd last free. I'd much prefer he didn't come back so far to defend as he would be much better used as an outlet further up the pitch.

McNamee article on the GAA.IE website

By John Harrington

Ronan McNamee knows it mightn't be the most popular opinion in either Tyrone or Monaghan, but he regards both county teams as being more similar than different.

The Tyrone full-back is a key cog in a Red Hand side with a voracious work-ethic, which also happens to be Monaghan's defining feature.

Both sides have bags of character, take no prisoners in defence, and employ a very slick counter-attacking strategy.

Something will have to give when they meet in Saturday night's Allianz League clash, and McNamee is predicting a real 'gung-ho contest'.

"I wouldn't think we'd be a million miles off each other," he says. "All Ulster teams sort of tend to play a certain style of football, but Monaghan and Tyrone do sort of mirror each other to a certain degree, definitely.

"I'm sure either county wouldn't agree with that, but we're no a million miles off each other, definitely not.

"The last time we played Monaghan in the League the lights went out in Healy Park and they absolutely hammered us. We haven't played them since the All-Ireland Quarter-Final but both teams know each other really, really well.

"It'll be a an all-out, gung-ho contest on Saturday night with both teams going for it. They're coming off a really, really good result so they'll be confident.

"We'll definitely have to get up to the pace of the game very quickly."

For some teams, defending can seem like a chore and they're much more comfortable with the ball than without it.

Tyrone and Monaghan have made a science of it, and almost seem to take a dark satisfaction from making the opposition's life miserable with a tightly-packed defense and rabid tacklers who have mastered the art of the turn-over.

Ronan McNamee was a rock at full-back in Tyrone's Allianz League draw with Dublin.
McNamee himself has developed into one of the best defenders in the country. Full-back can be a thankless position at times, but he's grown to love the challenge of it.

"Definitely, it's one of the most thankless jobs. But, ach, I enjoy playing it, definitely. Any time you get to pull on the jersey, no matter what number it is, especially if it's a starting 15, then that's a good day.

"I'm happy, definitely. You grow up wanting to be in a position like this and not a lot of people get to be in it. It would be a dream for a lot of young people and it was a dream of mine and i'm living it now so it's a great feeling, it definitely is."

One of Tyrone's best players in their last League game against Dublin, McNamee is the Head Bouncer in a defense that treats opposition forwards like underage drinkers.

As a unit they've matured thanks to sustained game-time together, and time and again the Dublin attack was repelled by the red and white wall.

"We got a good few dispossessions against Dublin, but you know what football is like, sometimes you'll get them and sometimes you'll not.

"We've played with each other for a long time now. A lot of us have played together from underage right up through so we know each other inside out."

McNamee admits the postponement of last Sundays's clash against Cavan because of the weather was 'hugely frustrating', but Saturday's game against Monaghan can be the perfect pick me up.

Win it, and Tyrone will be unbeaten after three matches and very much on course for a League Final place. Lose it, and they could find themselves in the bottom half of the table. The stakes are high.

"Definitely, it will either keep you in the chase for the top of the table or else it will pull you into a dog-fight that you definitely do not want to be a part of because it definitely will be a dog-fight for the bottom three or four teams," says McNamee.

"It's so tight. No-body is running away with anything. Everyone has been beaten or else have drawn. Teams are dropping points left, right, and centre."
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2017, 04:36:52 PM
Jack McCarron's dad was a legendary Tyroneskelper in his day.

A Munster perspective, Tony Leen
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/at-last-a-touch-of-good-fortune-for-mccarron-444020.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/at-last-a-touch-of-good-fortune-for-mccarron-444020.html)
At last, a touch of good fortune for McCarron

So copious were the plusses from Monaghan's winning visit to Kerry on Sunday that an upside to Conor McManus's limited impact might be overlooked.
The talisman registered two important late points but he was well shackled for the first hour by Kerry's Shane Enright. Which presented the platform for Currin's Jack McCarron to reintroduce himself as a scoring foil for the Farney men. And a welcome one at that.

The son of 1985 All-Star Ray, McCarrron has had a nightmare run of back luck and operations (when he was six, he broke his femur training with the club's Under 10s), from shoulder surgery in 2012, to a cruciate operation two years ago, and hamstring issues last season. Throw in an ankle procedure late in 2016, and O'Rourke's delight at his performance in Killarney is understandable.

"It's something we are trying to improve all the time," accepted Monaghan boss Malachy O'Rourke. "It has been levelled against us we are relying too much on Conor and I suppose the limelight does fall on him. (So) I'm delighted for Jack who has struggled with injuries. The last couple of years he's worked really hard on his own and we got him back in on Sunday and he showed his quality with the goal.

"It's just trying to take some of the emphasis off Conor. If teams feel 'well if we take care of him they are not going to scores from elsewhere' so it means defences have to think about other players as well it makes things easier for everyone."

Watching from the dugout, the injured Dessie Mone was equally pleased with the load-sharing up front. "It was great to see Jack McCarron back because we have been probably missing another forward like him. It was great to see him getting scores, and getting that bit of confidence back."

Confidence is an asset O'Rourke's men should bring to Omagh next Saturday night for their third tough away trip out of four League games.

"We knew when we looked at the schedule we hard three really difficult away games out of the first four," the manager explained.

"And you know if you don't get a good performance, if you're not at the pitch of your game for trips to Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone, then you're not going to win.

"In Killarney our defence was again operating well but we are wise to the fact a Kerry forward line in the summer time is very different to their attack in wintery conditions like Sunday. The conditions suited defenders, with balls slipping, but it does give you confidence." There's that word again.

"There are a few young lads coming through which is great to see with the success of the U21s in Ulster," Dessie Mone added. "There is also a lot of hard work being done with the development squads, from U14s up to minor but it is a learning curve for them, like James Mealiff, who got a start in Killarney. It was great for him to play against a top class team like Kerry, it's a great learning experience."

Mone is still out with a broken wrist and expects to be back in business in six to eight weeks.
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2017, 04:54:40 PM
Not much pre-game action here from the Tyrone horde, usually they would be baying like a bunch of hyenas, chest bumping each other.
Fear stalks the hillbillies?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 02, 2017, 07:16:25 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 02, 2017, 02:56:06 PM
Monaghan make statements by playing good football.

And rabbit punching the opposition key man.

Post by: J70 on March 02, 2017, 07:54:36 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 28, 2017, 06:18:48 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on February 28, 2017, 04:25:01 PM
We've done that before and still lost the game.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 02, 2017, 08:26:45 PM
Tyrone team v Monaghan Allianz Football League 4th March

Ionad: Páirc Uí hÉilí, an Omaigh (is docha ;) )

1 – Mickey O'Neill – Cluain Eo
2 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail
3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
5 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair
6 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
7 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
9 – Declan McClure – Cluain Eo
10 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh
11 – Niall Sludden – An Droim Mhór
12 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
13 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc
14 – Cathal McShane – E. R. Uí Néill
15 – Ronan O'Neill – An Omaigh

16 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc
17 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac
18 – Frank Burns – Cabhán a'Chaortainn
19 – Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
20 – Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac
21 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chlochair
22 – Hugh Pat McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn
23 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn
24 – Ronan McHugh –  Achadh Uí Aráin
25 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn
26 – Jonathan Monroe – An Charraig Mhór
27 – Cahir McCullagh – An Caisleán Glas
28 – Michael Cassidy – Ard Bó
29 – Harry Loughran – An Mhaigh
Post by: Taylor on March 02, 2017, 09:06:36 PM
Disappointed now Sean isn't starting.
Despite what main st & his cohorts say Monaghan have lifted the skullduggery this year so far and we have to at least match it.
IF the game goes ahead it will be one with very few scores and plenty of stoppages
Post by: southtyronegael on March 02, 2017, 10:09:17 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 02, 2017, 04:02:41 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 02, 2017, 01:36:39 PM

I thought he did quite well, moved in and out from MF to FF and caused some problems in the square and never wasted a ball out the field either.
yes sean caused alot of problems in the square, our square, esp for the penalty.
Post by: straightred on March 02, 2017, 11:01:00 PM
Are D Hughes, Owen Duffy and Walshe ready again after going off injured last sunday - would make a serious difference if those 3 are out
Post by: southtyronegael on March 02, 2017, 11:03:16 PM
d hughes deffo out. walsh too i think.
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2017, 11:40:48 PM
Monaghan still beat Kerry without those 3 key players for the most part of the game.
But if a fresh Tyrone don't manage to beat an exhausted and injury ravaged  Monaghan, it's safe to say their season is pretty much over.
Tyrone players will find themselves having to hitch a ride to future games.

Post by: The Trap on March 03, 2017, 12:08:21 AM
Match called off.....ref did an early pitch inspection this week.......
Post by: God14 on March 03, 2017, 10:40:00 AM
Id be amazed if this games goes ahead. Gives incessant rain today and tomorrow. Wonder will those involved learn from last weeks debacle. Doubt it
Post by: Boycey on March 03, 2017, 10:43:08 AM
What are the realistic options if Omagh is unplayable? Another postponement or moving the game to another venue? Presumably any other venue would be outside Tyrone?
Post by: Fuzzman on March 03, 2017, 10:58:50 AM
Inishkeen anyone?

I see in today's Irish News they confirm what a few of us were asking last Sunday as to why a local official couldn't visit the Omagh pitch and make a call on it. Most people thought the blame rested with Tyrone but in fact it rested with David Gough the Meath (or is he a Dub now?) referee.

Surely with today's technology photos or a video from the local referee should be enough to inform the match referee to call the game off without having to come view it himself.

From the Irish news
A local Tyrone referee inspected the pitch at 10.30am. Knowing the drainage issues at Healy Park that early assessment should have been good enough for the GAA rather than waiting until 1.22pm for official ref David Gough to confirm what we already knew.
Given the rain and pitch surface, David Gough should really have been in Omagh much earlier. Either that or protocol has to change and allow a local referee to call the game off in the morning to save supporters a lot of hassle and expense.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2017, 12:19:24 PM
If it's rained off again tomorrow evening, can they switch it to 2:30pm on Sunday elsewhere within the county?

Somewhere like Aughabrack should do the trick, pay those Monaghan hoors back for Iniskeen ;)
Post by: Taylor on March 03, 2017, 12:42:01 PM
Surely we have a contingency plan in place for say 2pm tomorrow? Field inspected, not playable then move venue?
Post by: Main Street on March 03, 2017, 02:15:07 PM
 Contingency plan? Tyronies couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery.

Iniskeen (never a contingency),   a league standard grounds ...... with drainage,  in a beautiful location, far enough away from the whiff of Armagh diesel.

Clones, Blayney and Inniskeen are the 3 bona fide venues. Once (against Cork?)  the last minute contingency was perhaps Scotstown.
Can you Tyronies not get your act together in time?
Post by: Fuzzman on March 03, 2017, 02:42:33 PM
I see Padraig Hughes is referee for this weeks game. At least he doesn't live so far away.
Apparently he called in to the Omagh ground last week on his way to Ballybofey and he did take some photos and sent them to HQ but they were very keen to get the game played anyway and they wanted to wait for David Gough to see it a few hour later and then make the call.

Plan B is to move it to Carrickmore or Edendork for Sunday instead. Question is when will they make that call.

Post by: Taylor on March 03, 2017, 04:40:28 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 03, 2017, 02:42:33 PM
I see Padraig Hughes is referee for this weeks game. At least he doesn't live so far away.
Apparently he called in to the Omagh ground last week on his way to Ballybofey and he did take some photos and sent them to HQ but they were very keen to get the game played anyway and they wanted to wait for David Gough to see it a few hour later and then make the call.

Plan B is to move it to Carrickmore or Edendork for Sunday instead. Question is when will they make that call.

ffs - why cant a decision be made tomorrow morning and play the game in a different venue tomorrow evening?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2017, 04:50:14 PM
Quote from: Taylor on March 03, 2017, 04:40:28 PM

ffs - why cant a decision be made tomorrow morning and play the game in a different venue tomorrow evening?

Floodlights, or rather, lack thereof?
Post by: Ball Hopper on March 03, 2017, 04:55:11 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2017, 04:50:14 PM
Quote from: Taylor on March 03, 2017, 04:40:28 PM

Floodlights, or rather, lack thereof?

Move it to Croker at 2pm.
Post by: Unlaoised on March 03, 2017, 04:55:58 PM
Play it in Croker make Sat evening a triple header! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: timmyot501 on March 03, 2017, 05:56:30 PM
There might be a lot more postponements this weekend other than just the match in Omagh.  The amount of rain across the country today is enough to cancel many's the match.  I can see a situation were the league final is pushed back a week at this rate
Post by: Main Street on March 03, 2017, 10:17:58 PM
Humble Monaghan have 3 county standard grounds with top of the line floodlights (and drainage).
What do Tyrone GAA do with all their millions?  too busy trying to buy All Irelands?  ;D

It's one thing to treat Cavan shabbily, but Monaghan? it's getting personal now.
Tyrone should do the manly thing and forfeit the game.
Post by: clarshack on March 03, 2017, 11:41:15 PM
Would like to see it in Carrickmore on Sunday. If Inniskeen can hold a Tyrone/Monaghan crowd, Carrickmore can too.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 04, 2017, 02:23:58 PM
Game on. Pitch passed playable
Post by: ziggysego on March 04, 2017, 05:16:17 PM
Any pubs in central London showing the Tyrone V Monaghan game this evening? It's on eirSport 1.
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2017, 07:32:45 PM
Pitch looks okay.
very good quality live stream here
http://nowwatchtvlive.co/eir-sport-1-live-stream-watch-eir-sport-1-online-free/ (http://nowwatchtvlive.co/eir-sport-1-live-stream-watch-eir-sport-1-online-free/)
Post by: Fuzzman on March 04, 2017, 07:46:53 PM
Tyrone kicking some amazing long range shots.
Missed a penalty, poor pass by McCurry and Mattie hit the post could be 3.09 to 0.02.
Monaghan kicked a lot of bad sides and are probably hoping the lights go out in the second half.
Delighted to see Mattie playing inside at FF and us kicking in some good long balls
Post by: trileacman on March 04, 2017, 07:57:09 PM
That's not a yellow and shouldn't have been a red.
Post by: clarshack on March 04, 2017, 08:04:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 04, 2017, 07:59:49 PM
That's not a red and should have been a yellow.

He threw a punch to his head
Post by: clarshack on March 04, 2017, 08:18:20 PM
This is embarrassing stuff from Tyrone.
Post by: trileacman on March 04, 2017, 08:34:51 PM
I agree with hs. If the shoe was on the other foot I'd be pissed about those sending offs. Looks like the two red cards are gonna cost us the match.

Hughes is a netball ref
Post by: ONeill on March 04, 2017, 08:35:20 PM
Monaghan have no interest in playing football this year. Beware. It's like watching Donegal 2011 without the talent.
Post by: clarshack on March 04, 2017, 08:35:38 PM
Fair play to Monaghan for having a go with 13 men. If they had kept 15 players on the field they would have won. That 2nd half performance was brutal from Tyrone.
Post by: lenny on March 04, 2017, 08:39:47 PM
Quote from: clarshack on March 04, 2017, 08:35:38 PM
Fair play to Monaghan for having a go with 13 men. If they had kept 15 players on the field they would have won.

Monaghan were the better team second half but ill discipline cost them. Tyrone were poor especially their decision making up front. They just don't have anywhere near the quality of an o'neill, a canavan or a dooher
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2017, 08:44:08 PM
Tyrone humiliated in that second half,
saved by the some fading embers of big Sean's football talent.

Post by: BennyHarp on March 04, 2017, 08:44:42 PM
Awful second half by Tyrone, this shit of passing the ball around midfield when you have 2 extra men is just embarrassing. Fair play to Monaghan, that was some effort after two very iffy red cards.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 04, 2017, 08:45:51 PM
Such a different performance for Tyrone in the second half.
I know you can say the game was over when those two men sent off but our direct passing, long range shooting and urgency was all missing.
I was glad to see Sean kicking those great points though. The game passed Mattie by in the second hand.
As the Eir team said Tyrone need to be a lot more clinical with their goal chances. Could have had 6 goals tonight but got none.
Still a wins a win and I thought that could have been a tough game tonight
Post by: BennyHarp on March 04, 2017, 08:46:21 PM
Quote from: lenny on March 04, 2017, 08:39:47 PM
Fair play to Monaghan for having a go with 13 men. If they had kept 15 players on the field they would have won.

Monaghan were the better team second half but ill discipline cost them. Tyrone were poor especially their decision making up front. They just don't have anywhere near the quality of an o'neill, a canavan or a dooher

Not many teams do!
Post by: ONeill on March 04, 2017, 08:48:50 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 04, 2017, 08:44:42 PM
Awful second half by Tyrone, this shit of passing the ball around midfield when you have 2 extra men is just embarrassing. Fair play to Monaghan, that was some effort after two very iffy red cards.

Tyrone were well ahead on the scoreboard. Monaghan had no interest in passing the halfway line. Tyrone should have kept the ball and made a mockery of the game.

There's a reason why there were no Monaghan men on the provincial team.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 04, 2017, 08:52:50 PM
Yeah we showed far more attacking ambition in the first half v 15 men. Would worry me how we get ahead of teams and then sit back.

Will they meet again I wonder in the summer
Post by: lenny on March 04, 2017, 08:58:05 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 04, 2017, 08:46:21 PM
Quote from: lenny on March 04, 2017, 08:39:47 PM

Not many teams do!

Fair point but the other top teams have that bit more quality up front. Tyrone had 2 men over on a few of their counter attacks in the 2nd half and weren't able to capitalise due to taking the wrong options.
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 04, 2017, 09:19:52 PM
Good to put manners on Monaghan. Pity we took the foot of the gas in the second half.
Post by: sensethetone on March 04, 2017, 09:24:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 04, 2017, 08:44:08 PM
I'd have thought scoring 14pts would usually be enough to beat Monaghan.
Post by: rrhf on March 04, 2017, 09:25:36 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 04, 2017, 08:44:08 PM
Monaghan were shit tonight.
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2017, 09:26:51 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 04, 2017, 08:52:50 PM
Yeah we showed far more attacking ambition in the first half v 15 men. Would worry me how we get ahead of teams and then sit back.

Will they meet again I wonder in the summer
Whoever gets through to the Ulster final from our side of the draw , i suspect they would in all probability be meeting a reborn and rejuvenated Donegal.
If Monaghan did manage to get there,  I'd be more relaxed if Tyrone were the opponents.

Post by: trueblue1234 on March 04, 2017, 09:28:52 PM
On tonight's performance I would be surprised to see them there. Don't play enough football.
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2017, 09:38:51 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 04, 2017, 09:28:52 PM
On tonight's performance I would be surprised to see them there. Don't play enough football.
Exactly, that's why I think Donegal will get there.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 04, 2017, 10:06:25 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 02, 2017, 11:40:48 PM
Monaghan still beat Kerry without those 3 key players for the most part of the game.
But if a fresh Tyrone don't manage to beat an exhausted and injury ravaged  Monaghan, it's safe to say their season is pretty much over.
Thank God our season isn't over after tonight mainly thanks to the very biased Armagh ref who didn't understand how Monaghan play free positive attacking football.
At least they can follow Donegal for the year ahead.
Post by: ONeill on March 04, 2017, 10:21:14 PM
Fair play to Monaghan for having a go with 13 men. If they had kept 15 players on the field they would have won. That 2nd half performance was brutal from Tyrone.

Monaghan scored 2 points from play during their golden second half. Their approach was an insult to the free-flowing legacy of boys like Dick Clerkin.
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2017, 10:36:30 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 04, 2017, 10:06:25 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 02, 2017, 11:40:48 PM
Thank God our season isn't over after tonight mainly thanks to the very biased Armagh ref who didn't understand how Monaghan play free positive attacking football.
At least they can follow Donegal for the year ahead.
The ref won't save your season
Derry will come before the fall.

That ref was a book worm of sorts, it has to be said.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 04, 2017, 11:27:42 PM
Good to get two more points on the board, however, the second half performance was very underwhelming.

Positives: our long range point taking was very impressive, especially in the first half half  and Sean's efforts in the second.

Our running game from deep was excellent in first half, lead extremely well by Tiernan McCann.

Although his luck was out today I was very happy to Mattie get a good run in at FF. I think come summer we'll see him and Sean alternating in there and at MF. At least Mickey is mixing it up this year in FF line.

Thought McCurry was much improved after the Roscommon game. Showed well and scored some nice points from open play.

Negatives: tippy tippy shite in second half. We saw Mayo do it last year against us and it would have cost them their SF place if our last few shots went over. Similarly, if Monaghan had got that goal early in wind half we cold have been under serious pressure.

Our goal scoring efficiency was brutal this evening. Need to sort this out and quickly.  We had too much time and options in some of those second half chances which lead to overthinking.

Hate to pick out individuals here but surely R O'Neill has to be close to losing his starting place? He missed another free thst HAS to go over at this level, made a total balls of a certain goal chance and made an unforgiveable error of playing a total pointless ball into FF line immediately before he was taken off. Surely we'll see Mark Bradley in the 15 Jersey against Cavan?

Anyway, on to next Sunday and if I was in Mickey's shoes I'd go for:

Morgan (rotation to continue)
Hampsey
McNamee
McCarron
McCann
Justy
Burns
Colm
McClure
Meyler
Sludden
Harte
McCurry
Mattie
Bradley
Post by: Whishtup on March 05, 2017, 01:06:35 AM
Strange match.  Tyrone looked well organised in the first half and should have had a goal at least on top of the points.  Took a long time to figure out how to play the two extra men in the second half.  I was thinking just keep playing it around the midfield half forward line without shooting to tire the Monaghan boys out and create certain scores-instead, they were snapping at half chances and trying tight-passes, alowing Monaghan to regain possession and break.  Once Tyrone started to pass it back and forwards around the middle (who gives a shit what it looks like)to draw the Monaghan boys out, they started to get more change.

It looks like we still rely heavily on Sean and that is worrying.  All the usual culprits missing and dropping the ball short in the second half-surely some other forward can put the ball over the bar when the game is in the mix?

Still, nice to get the win and move closer to securing Division 1 football for another year.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 05, 2017, 01:40:16 AM
Good sums-up lads, but must do better, especially with numerical superiority.

Beware oh ye of Cavan! ;)
Post by: tyroneman on March 05, 2017, 07:56:26 AM
As bad a second half as it was good in the first. Hard to equate the clinical, professional outfit that dominated Monaghan for 35 with the shambles that got outs ores by 13 men.

Players hadn't a clue what way to deploy 2 extra men and you could see them shouting over to the sideline in the second half for guidance. Totally lost the run of themselves looking for the killer goal and yet still could have had 5 .....penalty, crossbar, post and two over hit passes to man in square.

Thought Burns was excellent and mystified why he was taken off. Forwards were average at best. Thought Mattie would make hay at FF, but just an off night for him, McCurry slightly better than previous games but still far from being at the level or consistency needed and RoN must really be running out of chances..

Worrying that there were no leaders until Sean came on and took hold of things.

Any word on Sludden?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 05, 2017, 08:07:12 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on March 05, 2017, 01:06:35 AM
Once Tyrone started to pass it back and forwards around the middle (who gives a shit what it looks like)to draw the Monaghan boys out, they started to get more change.

Have to disagree. We could have went on for another half an hour playing that shit and not got a score. If I remember correctly it took Sean to take charge and take on his man with trademark shimmy and fire over from 40 yards.  Another player would have popped a pass out to midfield and started from scratch.
Post by: Whishtup on March 05, 2017, 09:42:36 AM

[/quote]Have to disagree. We could have went on for another half an hour playing that shit and not got a score.  [/quote]

That's the point-that's what wins games as we wouldn't have surrendered possession.  There was a period of good possession before Sean started picking off points and in my opinion that bit of patience is something that Mayo and Dublin can turn on in a second.  A team with two spare men, 4-5 points up should not be giving 50/50 balls, snatching at half chances.  Also, if the players
aren't making the right decisions on the field as a group, there should be clear guidance from the bench-that's also a little worrying for the crunch matches if they happen later in the year.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 05, 2017, 10:48:27 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on March 05, 2017, 09:42:36 AM

Have to disagree. We could have went on for another half an hour playing that shit and not got a score.  [/quote]

That's the point-that's what wins games as we wouldn't have surrendered possession.  There was a period of good possession before Sean started picking off points and in my opinion that bit of patience is something that Mayo and Dublin can turn on in a second.  A team with two spare men, 4-5 points up should not be giving 50/50 balls, snatching at half chances.  Also, if the players
aren't making the right decisions on the field as a group, there should be clear guidance from the bench-that's also a little worrying for the crunch matches if they happen later in the year.

Tyrone are at their best when they are attacking at pace with Donnelly, Meyler, McCann, Harte flying off the shoulder and breaking through the defensive line. We are at our absolute worse when we do what we did last night, crabbing backwards and forwards across the pitch with no penetration, enabling the opposition to get into their defensive positions. We did this against Mayo last year when we were chasing the game ffs. You won't break down a decent team with 15 men in that fashion and all we end up doing is hoping Cavannagh, Harte or Donnelly kicks a wonder point like last night and the Ulster final. We should be trying to impose our game and what we are good at on the opposition, Monaghan just could not live with us in the first half as we drove at them with pace, we let them dictate terms with 13 men in the second half and we looked awful.
Post by: redhandofgod on March 05, 2017, 11:00:17 AM
Ronan O'Neill must have serious dirt on Micky Harte, its worse he is getting yet he still starts. Absolutely awful, shouldn't be near the panel near mind first 15.
Post by: Whishtup on March 05, 2017, 11:15:57 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 05, 2017, 10:48:27 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on March 05, 2017, 09:42:36 AM

Have to disagree. We could have went on for another half an hour playing that shit and not got a score. 

Tyrone are at their best when they are attacking at pace with Donnelly, Meyler, McCann, Harte flying off the shoulder and breaking through the defensive line. We are at our absolute worse when we do what we did last night, crabbing backwards and forwards across the pitch with no penetration, enabling the opposition to get into their defensive positions. We did this against Mayo last year when we were chasing the game ffs. You won't break down a decent team with 15 men in that fashion and all we end up doing is hoping Cavannagh, Harte or Donnelly kicks a wonder point like last night and the Ulster final. We should be trying to impose our game and what we are good at on the opposition, Monaghan just could not live with us in the first half as we drove at them with pace, we let them dictate terms with 13 men in the second half and we looked awful.

Last night, when we were 2 men up and 4-5 points up, we didn't retain the ball by not being patient for five 10 minutes.  Only when we started to retain the ball around the midfield and calm the game down, did the spaces open up.  Did this coincide with Sean coming on? Maybe but with such a lead, it it not time to go gung-ho attacking and leaving the midfield and defence open to counter-attack when you are playing a quality side.  At times there were 3-4 lads up around the monaghan goals, caught out of position only for the ball to fall short or 50/50 pass to be misplaced/ball dropping short.  The extra 2 men should have taken the 50/50 passes out of the game by supporting the midfield/half forwards.  They will learn a lot from this.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 05, 2017, 11:51:32 AM
I hope they learn a lot from that game but I fear they have just become far to rigid to the system.
There is no doubt the system has them defending very very well and make it very difficult for teams to break them down.
However, too many of them don't know what to do when they have the chance to push forward. It's as if they are excellent breaking at pace from defence after a turn over but other than that they struggle to attack off the cuff.
Did you see RoN running forward at one stage under no pressure and he kicked a long ball into nobody in the FF line over the end line.
Also his shot for a goal was embarrassing.
He used to be so accurate with his shooting and passing but he seems to be losing that now as well.

It would have been nice to put up a big score last night at home to a side who first half were really struggling and then were two men down. It could come down to score difference at the end and we could regret missing all those goal chances.

Thought Burns and McGeary did well but can't see them starting before Brennan.
Hope Sludden isn't going to be out for too long.
Post by: Main Street on March 05, 2017, 12:27:02 PM
Embarrassing for that hapless plodding Tyrone team playing at home to have to drag big Sean out of a well deserved rest from the travails of inter county football, in order to save the game for them.
Monaghan kept coming back in that second half with the resilience of Rasputin. Big Sean's crucial points and presence kept Tyrone's head above water with just enough comfort at the end.

Post by: omagh_gael on March 05, 2017, 12:29:11 PM
As mentioned already, I hope to see Mattie and Sean alternate between FF and MF. Mattie was frustrated last night but if McCurry's pass was 6 inches lower and Mattie's shot off the post was 3 inches to the right he could easily have had a sensational night.
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 05, 2017, 12:36:39 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 05, 2017, 12:27:02 PM
Embarrassing for that hapless plodding Tyrone team playing at home to have to drag big Sean out of a well deserved rest from the travails of inter county football, in order to save the game for them.
Monaghan kept coming back in that second half with the resilience of Rasputin. Big Sean's crucial points and presence kept Tyrone's head above water with just enough comfort at the end.

Perfect time to give Sean a run out. Game never in doubt and opportunity for him to stretch his legs without any concerns. Monaghan lacked the football ability to do any proper damage.
Post by: straightred on March 05, 2017, 12:49:51 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 05, 2017, 12:36:39 PM

Perfect time to give Sean a run out. Game never in doubt and opportunity for him to stretch his legs without any concerns. Monaghan lacked the football ability to do any proper damage.

Haven't seen the game so cant really comment much. The won the 2nd half with 2 men down so i suppose they can take some heart from that. What were the sendings off for ?

I was hoping they could make a run at the final but that look like a stretch now. one more win will mean safety and they'll be happy enough with that i'd say given that they have the premilinary round in ulster this year.
Post by: redzone on March 05, 2017, 01:05:11 PM
Fintans was for two yellows. Silly and another ref might have let him go for the second yellow. Malones was for punch to the head of burns when tackling him. It was linesman brannigan who called it, and having seen the match again it was correct. Silly thing to do but it was on the heat of the moment. Monaghan live on the edge in terms of tackling, some refs let it go others like Hughes don't. Both teams will learn a lot from it.
Credit must go to Healy park stewards for getting the pitch ready
Post by: vallankumous on March 05, 2017, 01:07:51 PM
Quote from: straightred on March 05, 2017, 12:49:51 PM

Haven't seen the game so cant really comment much. The won the 2nd half with 2 men down so i suppose they can take some heart from that. What were the sendings off for ?

I was hoping they could make a run at the final but that look like a stretch now. one more win will mean safety and they'll be happy enough with that i'd say given that they have the premilinary round in ulster this year.

I doubt if any good can be taken from losing two men
Post by: omagh_gael on March 05, 2017, 01:08:55 PM
I thought Kelly's second yellow was completely justified. Bearing in mind that the whistle clearly had been blown for McManus' (I think) tackle and then Kelly came steaming in with a rash tackle around the high chest/neck area.

On a slightly related point, his first yellow was for over zealous remonstrating after the penalty decision. Was that the softest penalty ever given? Think Petey Harte purposefully put it wide as he would have been embarrassed to have scored ;)
Post by: vallankumous on March 05, 2017, 01:09:13 PM

You do realisebig Sean is a Tyrone player?

Good decision to keep Sludden out for his own protection.
Post by: straightred on March 05, 2017, 01:10:44 PM
Quote from: redzone on March 05, 2017, 01:05:11 PM
Fintans was for two yellows. Silly and another ref might have let him go for the second yellow. Malones was for punch to the head of burns when tackling him. It was linesman brannigan who called it, and having seen the match again it was correct. Silly thing to do but it was on the heat of the moment. Monaghan live on the edge in terms of tackling, some refs let it go others like Hughes don't. Both teams will learn a lot from it.
Credit must go to Healy park stewards for getting the pitch ready

Big problem for the likes of monaghan and any small county is that they dont have the quality to bring in for injuries. Look at what the dubs were able to bring in last night compared to how monaghan struggle with D Hughes and Walshe out.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on March 05, 2017, 01:16:25 PM
Good to see Monaghan finally getting punished for their antics. Well deserved red cards.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 05, 2017, 01:28:50 PM

You lads still haven't come to terms with being unable drag big Dick off his well deserved rest to win games for you. How often did he come on for you over the last 2 or 3 years?  If I was a Monaghan fan I would be seriously concerned about how utterly inept they were in the first half. A battling display with 13 men when the game is over against a team in cruise control doesn't paper over the cracks of that first half.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 05, 2017, 04:00:39 PM
Monaghan's discipline once again lets them down.

Thuggish antics follow Monaghan around like a bad smell.
Post by: trileacman on March 05, 2017, 07:55:51 PM
The thing to do with 2 men up would have been to go the traditional 4 banks of 3 and pin Monaghan back in there half. The extra men who was probably burns and melter meant they'd no one to mark as such and were relatively unsure as to what there role was.
Post by: tothetop03 on March 05, 2017, 08:16:51 PM
Tyrone stopped working in the second half after superb first half.... Lesser experienced player done the wrong thing 2 often but they will learn...Mattie Donnelly Ronie O'Neill and McShane just looked after themselves in the top end of the field and forgot about the team....Personally every time i see ONeill and McShane my idea of them being County Players gets less and less....
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 05, 2017, 08:45:11 PM
Quote from: tothetop03 on March 05, 2017, 08:16:51 PM
Tyrone stopped working in the second half after superb first half.... Lesser experienced player done the wrong thing 2 often but they will learn...Mattie Donnelly Ronie O'Neill and McShane just looked after themselves in the top end of the field and forgot about the team....Personally every time i see ONeill and McShane my idea of them being County Players gets less and less....

O'Neill, after looking like he was turning the corner early last season, looks to have seriously regressed. He's lucky at the minute that McAliskey is out for the year and Brennan is now with the u21s for the next few league games or longer depending how far they go. I think Bradley and McCurry are the guys to go with from here on it. Wouldn't mind seeing McHugh get a chance if the opportunity arises.

McShane has really struggled at senior level for us, he's too erratic and keeps making the wrong choices and he doesn't seem to have improved whatsoever in this regard when he's entering his 3rd year  as part of the senior setup. He has the ability but I don't think we can afford carrying him when the stakes get higher later on the year, he needs to learn and do it quickly if he wants to play an important role for us this year. Mickey seems to be a big fan of his so I'd expect him to be very much involved but I think we have much better options.

I think Mattie is too important to us to play him in a FF role, he can become a peripheral player if he's used in that role and along with Harte and Sludden, he is one of our three key men from an offensive viewpoint.

Good to see Burns getting a run last night.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 06, 2017, 12:06:32 AM
Agree regarding McShane, continues to make very poor errors and his shot selection leaves a lot to be desired. He must be showing very well in training as he's been given serious opportunities compared to others.

Bomber, you mention that you'd like to see McHugh given a shot. What about McCullagh? He showed more promise for me during preseason.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 06, 2017, 08:43:23 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 06, 2017, 12:06:32 AM
Agree regarding McShane, continues to make very poor errors and his shot selection leaves a lot to be desired. He must be showing very well in training as he's been given serious opportunities compared to others.

Bomber, you mention that you'd like to see McHugh given a shot. What about McCullagh? He showed more promise for me during preseason.

Ya McCullagh too but what's his natural position? He's played a fair bit out around the half forward line as well. McHugh would seem to be a natural scorer, whether he's good enough or not is the question.

Post by: Taylor on March 06, 2017, 08:47:54 AM
Lets call a spade a spade - it was a cakewalk.
The hard work in the first half ensured we would not be beaten.

Monaghan came to play on the edge but the referee made the right calls. Monaghan should finish with 12/13 players most weeks if the men in black done their jobs correctly.

Another tilt at the Dubs in a final would be pretty tasty
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 09:55:17 AM
Yes it would Taylor but our last 3 matches are probably our toughest so I wouldn't go looking that far ahead.
We always struggle in Ballybofey & Donegal's young lads seem to be building up a head of steam
Mayo always seem to do well against us in Omagh so hopefully we don't need to win in Killarney to qualify.

Monaghan have a much easier run with their last match at home to the Dubs their toughest.
Post by: straightred on March 06, 2017, 10:21:04 AM
Quote from: Taylor on March 06, 2017, 08:47:54 AM
Lets call a spade a spade - it was a cakewalk.
The hard work in the first half ensured we would not be beaten.

Monaghan came to play on the edge but the referee made the right calls. Monaghan should finish with 12/13 players most weeks if the men in black done their jobs correctly.

Another tilt at the Dubs in a final would be pretty tasty
Am i the only one that thinks its a bit rich for a Tyrone poster to be slagging a team for playing on the edge. Give me strength  :-\
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 10:35:54 AM
Yeah it's just you straightred.
Monaghan seem to do a lot better against non Ulster teams but when they come up against Tyrone or Donegal they often over do the physical stuff and cross the line. They need to calm down a bit and stop showing Tyrone so much fear.

Can you point out one incident in the match that Tyrone overstepped the mark?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 06, 2017, 10:39:26 AM
Quote from: Taylor on March 06, 2017, 08:47:54 AM

You're obviously either 5 years of age or you have the memory span of an ostrich.

There are too many counter references from the past 15 years to mention.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 06, 2017, 10:47:36 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 10:35:54 AM
Monaghan seem to do a lot better against non Ulster teams but when they come up against Tyrone or Donegal they often over do the physical stuff and cross the line. They need to calm down a bit and stop showing Tyrone so much fear.

Not on Saturday night, I'll give you that. But, some posters are deluded if they believe Tyrone are saints, either within or outside Ulster.

Congratulations on your win BTW, your first half performance was excellent, especially the long range kicking from Rufflegate.

Post by: Taylor on March 06, 2017, 03:36:54 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 09:55:17 AM
Yes it would Taylor but our last 3 matches are probably our toughest so I wouldn't go looking that far ahead.
We always struggle in Ballybofey & Donegal's young lads seem to be building up a head of steam
Mayo always seem to do well against us in Omagh so hopefully we don't need to win in Killarney to qualify.

Monaghan have a much easier run with their last match at home to the Dubs their toughest.

Killarney isnt the place we want to be going to qualify granted but hopefully we are ok before then.

Tyrone are far from saints (we have cleaned up our act mind you) but it was called out here last week the way Monaghan have been playing across the line so far this year and it was the same Saturday night.
Sometimes ye just lose the plot rather than playing smart.

Just outside dining consistently at the top table is frustrating I take that but sometimes yous simply arent cute enough - especially considering who the ref was
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 03:46:40 PM
Good man GMF. Unlike Main St at least you can give credit where it is due. Some of the long range point taking was excellent in the 1st half but it certainly seems easier to score into those goals some have noticed.

Did anyone have a good view of the penalty incident? Was it a foul?

GMF if you look around the Tyrone team now we don't have many players who play even near the edge any more.
Justy is probably the closest we have and he used to be an angel but has toughened up in the last few years.
Mattie is a tough nut and will hit you hard I'd say but he's in no way dirty
We don't have a Neil McGee, Keegan or Philly McMahon type player any more.

Your No 11's punch to Burn's face seemed very rash. What was he thinking with a closed fist so high up. He killed
the game as a spectacle as Tyrone just soaked up all ye threw at them.

Kelly's 2nd booking was stupid as Meyler had already been stopped. Ye must be happier having a few more forwards to help out McManus this year.
From a Tyrone point of view I was envious that McManus had the luxury of leaving the long range frees to Beggan as  we continue to struggle with frees outside 40 yards on the left.
Post by: straightred on March 06, 2017, 04:31:41 PM

I can't because I was in Croker on Saturday and have only seen the few minutes highlights that were on the rte last night.

That wasn't my point though. I could only smile when I saw a Tyrone poster giving out about playing "on the edge". After all the pulling and dragging and mouthing and diving that has gone on you don't get to go all angelic all of a sudden. Maybe you didn't go down that route on Saturday - I don't know. However it will take me a bit longer to give you a clean bill of health.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 06, 2017, 05:39:53 PM
Quote from: straightred on March 06, 2017, 04:31:41 PM

I can't because I was in Croker on Saturday and have only seen the few minutes highlights that were on the rte last night.

That wasn't my point though. I could only smile when I saw a Tyrone poster giving out about playing "on the edge". After all the pulling and dragging and mouthing and diving that has gone on you don't get to go all angelic all of a sudden. Maybe you didn't go down that route on Saturday - I don't know. However it will take me a bit longer to give you a clean bill of health.

Ffs, which holier than thou county do you follow which gives you impunity to comment on players over stepping the mark? 
Post by: straightred on March 06, 2017, 05:54:55 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 06, 2017, 05:39:53 PM

Ffs, which holier than thou county do you follow which gives you impunity to comment on players over stepping the mark?

Another sensitive one I see. If you check the thread you'll see that I didn't initiate this. I simply decided that some of us might find it hard to accept a tyrone person moaning about the opposition playing on the edge. That's all.

Dublin with a bit of Monaghan blood if you must know but I rarely see Monaghan live.

If you think Tyrone have turned over a new leaf and left all the cynical stuff behind then fine. Let's see how it plays out over the next few months. I'll happily come back in September and admit I was wrong. In the meantime I'll remain skeptical.
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2017, 07:00:32 PM
Quote from: straightred on March 06, 2017, 05:54:55 PM

Another sensitive one I see. If you check the thread you'll see that I didn't initiate this. I simply decided that some of us might find it hard to accept a tyrone person moaning about the opposition playing on the edge. That's all.

Dublin with a bit of Monaghan blood if you must know but I rarely see Monaghan live.

If you think Tyrone have turned over a new leaf and left all the cynical stuff behind then fine. Let's see how it plays out over the next few months. I'll happily come back in September and admit I was wrong. In the meantime I'll remain skeptical.
That's it then, now you've  done it Straightred, you've just woken up the Tyrone whataboutery factor, mind you it doesn't take much to wake that up.
That noise in the background is the sound of at least 10 miffed  insecure Tyronies frantically looking for online photos of some dark Dublin deed. Probably that's not a difficult task for a person of adequate computing skills,  but some of these tyronies do struggle with the basics. You might have to wait, it might not arrive before you lose interest in the thread, but rest assured they will remember and find you in some other thread. You are now a person of interest.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 06, 2017, 08:59:22 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 06, 2017, 07:00:32 PM

That's it then, now you've  done it Straightred, you've just woken up the Tyrone whataboutery factor, mind you it doesn't take much to wake that up.
That noise in the background is the sound of at least 10 miffed  insecure Tyronies frantically looking for online photos of some dark Dublin deed. Probably that's not a difficult task for a person of adequate computing skills,  but some of these tyronies do struggle with the basics. You might have to wait, it might not arrive before you lose interest in the thread, but rest assured they will remember and find you in some other thread. You are now a person of interest.

Still no condemnation of more Monaghan thuggery from yourself?

See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil - The Main Street Way.

Post by: BennyHarp on March 06, 2017, 09:27:27 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 06, 2017, 08:59:22 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 06, 2017, 07:00:32 PM

Still no condemnation of more Monaghan thuggery from yourself?

See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil - The Main Street Way.

Very much like the team he follows, Main Street prefers to play the man rather than the ball. His  Tyrone rants are an infinite and regular source of amusement.
Post by: ziggysego on March 06, 2017, 09:30:07 PM
Tyrone got the job done as far as I am concerned. Yes, a lot of work needs to be done before we reach the business end of the season, especially the FF.

However, saying they're a spent force.... unless I'm missing something, one point behind Dublin for the top spot with a game in hand. A good position to be in.
Post by: Dire Ear on March 07, 2017, 10:03:13 AM
Tyrone had a chance to send Monaghan down the road with a big beating,  but blew it as far as I'm concerned. Meeting them later on will not have the same effect now.    It was a terrible 2nd half, from the management I think and when the keeper can't find a Tyr player to kick to when 2 men up; there's something seriously wrong in the parish!  And anyone who doesn't recognise that Tyrone's discipline is vastly improved, knows nothing about them.  Big games v the other top teams in Ireland at the minute coming up  but Tyrone and moving well,  and players like Meyler, Sludden, Harte, McNamee and Colly Cav are vital to progression.  Hampsey, R Brennan and HPMcGeary and others are fitting in seemlessly.  A settled free-taker again' could be our downfall however.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 07, 2017, 10:22:56 AM
Win our match in hand this Sunday and we're top of Div 1.
Many will say it's only March and it's a long way to Sept but a lot of counties would happily swap with us.

Mickey has us doing well and I think the majority of sensible fans would be happy for him to get another few years with this new team as he's got the experience whereas new managers like Logan, McGlennan etc would be on a step learning curve.

Re. Sat night and how we sat back in the second half I see Mickey's interview on teamtalkmag.com said that they were right not to run into the "nest of tackles" but to be patient and try to entice the Monaghan defence out.
He said it might not be pretty and what people want to see but it's what necessary nowadays to win matches.

Personally I think there needs to be a more balance between our excellent defensive system and how when we attack. What I mean is say we're playing one of the top 3 teams and we're 3 points down, will we change our shape and take a risk to push men forward. It is so ingrained in the players now to retreat back into their own half all the time.

I think with the large number of half back and half forwards we have at similar levels that we could afford to play a FF line of Mattie, Sean & Bradley though as Mattie found out on Sat night that even when you win a long ball in there, you can't do much with it as you're surrounded in seconds.
I think we'll see more of that pass where it's kicked into the FF line and it's then kicked back about 30 yards where there is more space to shoot.

Has Munroe got injured or dropped down the pecking order?
At the start of the league most people expected him to nail down a wing back position but has he played any part yet?
Also Mc Nulty was named at MF for a few games and still hasn't got on.
Was McClure even on the panel last year?
Post by: Taylor on March 07, 2017, 12:10:36 PM
Fuzzman, I agree that we need to take chances when the game is slipping away from us but it seems ingrained into the players heads to retreat.
Now would be the time to try a more attacking formation.
Our defence is rock solid as we all know - fine tune a few things and it could be a glorious Summer again.

Playing that full forward line would be a waste given the blanket defences we expect to face during the Summer. Not much they can do when they win the ball with the flurry of players around them.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 07, 2017, 01:07:42 PM
Playing anyone in at FF is a waste these days and is why you often see Sean, McCurry, O'Neill and more recently McShane come out to our 40 to get a ball with a bit of room to shoot.

I'm saying with those 3 named there and then they can move out and in as the game goes on. Bradley buzzing around  Sean or Mattie could fed off them. Too often on Sat Mattie won the ball but had nobody near him to lay it off to.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 07, 2017, 02:31:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 07, 2017, 10:22:56 AM
Many will say it's only March and it's a long way to Sept but a lot of counties would happily swap with us.

Mickey has us doing well and I think the majority of sensible fans would be happy for him to get another few years with this new team as he's got the experience whereas new managers like Logan, McGlennan etc would be on a step learning curve.

Re. Sat night and how we sat back in the second half I see Mickey's interview on teamtalkmag.com said that they were right not to run into the "nest of tackles" but to be patient and try to entice the Monaghan defence out.
He said it might not be pretty and what people want to see but it's what necessary nowadays to win matches.

Personally I think there needs to be a more balance between our excellent defensive system and how when we attack. What I mean is say we're playing one of the top 3 teams and we're 3 points down, will we change our shape and take a risk to push men forward. It is so ingrained in the players now to retreat back into their own half all the time.

I think with the large number of half back and half forwards we have at similar levels that we could afford to play a FF line of Mattie, Sean & Bradley though as Mattie found out on Sat night that even when you win a long ball in there, you can't do much with it as you're surrounded in seconds.
I think we'll see more of that pass where it's kicked into the FF line and it's then kicked back about 30 yards where there is more space to shoot.

At the start of the league most people expected him to nail down a wing back position but has he played any part yet?

The problem is that this "patient" attacking play becomes so ingrained that it is the go to method when the pressure is applied in big matches. How many times last year did we pass the ball around and need a heroic score to pull us out, granted it worked in the Ulster Final but didn't work v Mayo! I have this abiding memory of the Mayo game of Colm Cav roaring at his team mates to push up as we slowly funneled the ball around midfield. The frustrating thing is that Mickey has developed a style that can be very effective as displayed in the first half on Saturday and at times last year, attacking at pace with the odd longer ball. We need to be able to vary our attacks a lot more to keep the opposition guessing as the second half approach on Saturday night is food and drink to the better sides and won't win us big games.
Post by: bigpackiechestout on March 07, 2017, 05:04:15 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 07, 2017, 02:31:06 PM

The problem is that this "patient" attacking play becomes so ingrained that it is the go to method when the pressure is applied in big matches. How many times last year did we pass the ball around and need a heroic score to pull us out, granted it worked in the Ulster Final but didn't work v Mayo! I have this abiding memory of the Mayo game of Colm Cav roaring at his team mates to push up as we slowly funneled the ball around midfield. The frustrating thing is that Mickey has developed a style that can be very effective as displayed in the first half on Saturday and at times last year, attacking at pace with the odd longer ball. We need to be able to vary our attacks a lot more to keep the opposition guessing as the second half approach on Saturday night is food and drink to the better sides and won't win us big games.

We were very effective in the first half on Saturday but I'd worry about how sustainable that kind of performance is. An awful lot of our first half points were long distance efforts (think McCann's 2 efforts, Burns, Meyler and Peter Harte's points). Whilst it would be great to think we could go out and do this every day the evidence over the past few years shows that this kind of accuracy is impossible to sustain for any team - it almost reminded my of Dublin v Donegal in 2014 when Flynn and Connolly shot the lights out in the first half, each nailing 2 or 3 efforts from outside the 45, and the shooting then deteriorated in the second half.

I worry that we often struggle to create easy scoring chances against packed defences (the fact that we are not reliable from free kicks from 35 yards+ doesn't help), and sure enough we reverted to type in the second half. Bar Cavanagh the only man who seemed capable of breaking in to a proper scoring position was McShane who as per usual kicked a couple of bad misses.

This was our problem against Mayo last year when we were relying on potshots from distance from McCarron, McCann and a Morgan free kick to try get the equaliser before Mayo gifted McCurry his chance.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 07, 2017, 06:18:47 PM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on March 07, 2017, 05:04:15 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 07, 2017, 02:31:06 PM

We were very effective in the first half on Saturday but I'd worry about how sustainable that kind of performance is. An awful lot of our first half points were long distance efforts (think McCann's 2 efforts, Burns, Meyler and Peter Harte's points). Whilst it would be great to think we could go out and do this every day the evidence over the past few years shows that this kind of accuracy is impossible to sustain for any team - it almost reminded my of Dublin v Donegal in 2014 when Flynn and Connolly shot the lights out in the first half, each nailing 2 or 3 efforts from outside the 45, and the shooting then deteriorated in the second half.

I worry that we often struggle to create easy scoring chances against packed defences (the fact that we are not reliable from free kicks from 35 yards+ doesn't help), and sure enough we reverted to type in the second half. Bar Cavanagh the only man who seemed capable of breaking in to a proper scoring position was McShane who as per usual kicked a couple of bad misses.

This was our problem against Mayo last year when we were relying on potshots from distance from McCarron, McCann and a Morgan free kick to try get the equaliser before Mayo gifted McCurry his chance.

As well as that we also need to be ruthless with goal chances.

McAliskey had two good chances against Kerry in 2015, Bradley had another that day.
McAliskey had the only goal opportunity in 2016 against Mayo.

If those goals go in we win those games for me.

The risk with the way we play is that if we fall behind we struggle at chasing games, but that is tempered with the fact that if we get a lead up, it forces sides to get to come out more against us and that's when we are at our most dangerous.

The 2015 game against Kerry was one that got away from us, we had enough chances to convincingly win that game and we had some poor refereeing decisions go against us. I don't think you can blame our style or approach that day, we went at them without fear and created plenty of goal chances but just weren't clinical enough.

The 2016 games against Donegal and Mayo were a bit underwhelming. Donegal are a difficult team to play against, particularly in Clones compared to Croke Park that year as it wouldn't have been as demanding on a few of their older guard. There was also probably the psychological edge to it, in fairness the lads showed great guts to dig it out against all the odds but I felt we were a bit tentative.

The Mayo game was very disappointing, we looked tentative and a bit too respectful. You could count that lads that turned up for that game on one hand - Harte, Sludden, McCarron and Donnelly. In saying that, Mayo weren't that much better and the result could easily have gone the other way if the breaks had fallen our way on the day but I think Mayo deserved the win on the balance.