Underage squads 2024

Started by beano, March 10, 2024, 10:06:13 AM

Ogie

Trevor Moore Borris Kilcotton is Manager, with Seamus Dwyer Ballinakill, Brendan Lowry Camross, Robert Delaney Castletown, Shane Cahill Clonad, David Sheeran Abbeyleix, and Eric Killeen Rathdowney Errill

Good lads, best of luck to them and fair play for taking on the roles

Started with a good and complete trials process way back in October/ November last year

Verbal

Trying to figure out how things went today.

Our Under 16s won the Arranbawn B hammering Westmeath in the final.
Edit- I have since read that it was the B Shield.

It looks like our U14 A team got to the semi final and lost to Wexford?

Beat Kilkenny B in the quarter final.

I think.
Hard to find and hard to figure out when you do find!

Ogie

It's all watered down so much it is hard to figure out alright!!

Competitions at all grades everywhere!

My reading of it is the U14s were competing at the highest level, qualified for the A Forrestal & beat one of the two kilkenny teams and lost out to Wexford in the semi final of the top competition
Great level to be at,

U14 Sonny Walsh got a big beating from Waterford & lost to Dublin by 2,

The 15s were in the Arrabawn Division 4 B Shield, beat Meath & Westmeath easily to win, Westmeath beat Clare's 3rd team

The u16s won the division 3 shield beating Antrim & Meath I think 

burdizzo

Great to hear about the 14s. Hopefully will continue to be managed properly over the next few years.
Looks like next season's minors will be no great shakes, however...

Hurling123

Really looking like next year minor aren't going to be given much of a chance. Amazing laois have re appointment the minor management team from last year. They demonstrate their management abilities last year ( lost to kildare first round) no game plans couldn't figure how to counter runner coming thru the middle. Then there was the Kerry and Carlow game barely managed to beat a bad Kerry and Carlow team.  Total lack of even a consept of how to line out a team .
And then there was there great achievement lose to Offaly ( Offaly worst minor them in recent years)
Why and how could laois appoint the same clowns again. It is simply unbelievable.

Hurling123

Look at the results for the management team of last year... Talk with anyone involved ..  we lost to KILDARE. Only won Carlow game by 6 points and less to Kerry. Lost again to a very bad Offaly team..
2023 reached Q final lost to Dublin by 6.
2022 reached lenister final.

Can someone please explain how laois could keep this management team in place ????

burdizzo

Quote from: Hurling123 on August 30, 2024, 12:00:36 PMLook at the results for the management team of last year... Talk with anyone involved ..  we lost to KILDARE. Only won Carlow game by 6 points and less to Kerry. Lost again to a very bad Offaly team..
2023 reached Q final lost to Dublin by 6.
2022 reached lenister final.

Can someone please explain how laois could keep this management team in place ????

I think a lot of the minors from last year are eligible again this year, no?

Hurling123

If you look back in recent years the minor management team have gone forward to the next level with the team. Isn't there a u19 grade being put together this coming year?? Last 3 minor managers glen and crew . Damien and Declan.
I have now been informed of some information one of the members of the management team is Shane Keegan brother in law and the same Shane was the one who chaired and ran the selection committee..
So much for Shane brining change 😭 just more of the same re appointment your friends and family.

georgedoylesrightleg

Verbal

If the person I am thinking of is Shane Keegan's brother in law, then he is a well respected (and qualified) coach.

John1

Quote from: Hurling123 on August 30, 2024, 01:53:38 PMIf you look back in recent years the minor management team have gone forward to the next level with the team. Isn't there a u19 grade being put together this coming year?? Last 3 minor managers glen and crew . Damien and Declan.
I have now been informed of some information one of the members of the management team is Shane Keegan brother in law and the same Shane was the one who chaired and ran the selection committee..
So much for Shane brining change 😭 just more of the same re appointment your friends and family.

You seem to have a very strong invested interest in the minor set-up for some reason. , are you saying it is ok to push them on up to the U19s who are every bit as important, but do not keep them near the Minors because there will be no progression. Apart from them 2 competitive last few year's what way did other teams shape up or are you short sighted

Blow-in

Quote from: Verbal on August 31, 2024, 06:37:12 AMIf the person I am thinking of is Shane Keegan's brother in law, then he is a well respected (and qualified) coach.

If its the same fella he has done an excellent job over a long period of time with the same club team. Constantly redeveloped and kept them very competitive.

I don't know what process was involved and how many parties were actually interested but who is the alternative for the job? The present u16s management? I doubt it very much, thankfully. We don't have too many knocking down the door to get involved unfortunately.

Spiritof1915

We're lucky to have Shane Keegan. He's a man that brings positivity every where he goes.

He's really trying to make a difference in laois schools both primary and secondary.  That where it's at for me. Clubs in laois have never been as proactive but the schools are starting from the bottom of the barrel.
Keegan is starting to make progress.

Verbal

Quote from: Blow-in on August 31, 2024, 02:01:49 PM
Quote from: Verbal on August 31, 2024, 06:37:12 AMIf the person I am thinking of is Shane Keegan's brother in law, then he is a well respected (and qualified) coach.

If its the same fella he has done an excellent job over a long period of time with the same club team. Constantly redeveloped and kept them very competitive.

I don't know what process was involved and how many parties were actually interested but who is the alternative for the job? The present u16s management? I doubt it very much, thankfully. We don't have too many knocking down the door to get involved unfortunately.

McGill ye?

Hurling123

Hi Yes I am invested in this group but more to the point I am really invested in the future of  laois hurling. I had spent a little bit of time with this group in the early stages and coach this age group in my club.
I attended a number u16s games and trainings since then. i have also attended a number of training and games of the current u14 and u15 panels. I attended all minor hurling games last season and a number of their training sessions.  what I seen while attending last year minor set up didn't give me any great confidence in the management group in fact, I attended Celtic challenge training/games and so say the contrast in every element was so different. A very well ran camp in my view, last year minor camp was so badly organised. There element of coaching didn't lead anywhere there was no level of a game plan and from what I can see both games lost were lost from the line, I attended a game v Westmeath one evening in the coe and what happened in front of me was telling of the management team. The game was ended early due to the ref walking of the field after he was called a number of things, there had been a number of rows and the ref had sent someone off the insults to the ref came from both laois players on the field and the management team on the sideline. So, one of the mentors decided to ref the rest of the game, again another row started.one of laois best players got injured and was out for a long period of time after. The whole thing was mad.
You will have seen I have supported Shane keegan in the past and hoped he would bring on Laois hurling, however if it is the case that he chaired a selection committee for the role on minor management for this season with his own brother-in-law applying for the role that certainly changes my views. No matter what the process is now placed into question ??    how could Shane let this happen??
I would love for Laois hurling to drive on a reach a new level. This can only be done with the right people over teams, this year's management team or certainly elements should not be there we should we able to do better our expectations should be much higher. What if your felling on this??  this year minor panel shouldn't be a bad group of players if you look at their record. They won the combined school's completion and the Celtic challenge. Their results in their 14,15 and 16 completions have not been bad by any means. So should we not strive to drive on a produce a good minor team??