Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

Quote from: muppet on January 28, 2013, 11:45:09 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 28, 2013, 11:11:54 AM
Quote from: muppet on January 28, 2013, 10:49:05 AM
This is an important point. SF represents two different things either side of the border.
At least they exist and function on both sides of the border; something which still cannot be said about the self titled 'United Ireland Party' or about 'The Republican Party'. Makes you wonder...how can a party give itself such a grand non-partitionist title, but refuse to function north of the border? Must be called (to paraphrase you, muppet) "representing two different things on one side of the border".

In conclusion themmuns are worse.
By quite a long way. Not least for the reason outlined above.

Those of us in the South might see them in a new light if we had to grow up policed by the RUC/UDR and ruled by Unionists. Those from the North might view them differently if they saw the Marxist regime they have in mind for us all. It could easily be worse than the RUC/UDR etc.
Hard to bate a bit of the ol' sensationalism.
No denial though.
Hardly necessary. Your remark goes into the same category of gleeful sensationalism as comments such as "the IRA butchered thousands of innocent people" (Jim Allister) or "The IRA were behind the horseburger scandal" (Willy Frazer). Suitable company.

Quote from: Nally Stand on January 28, 2013, 12:00:03 PM
This is an important point. SF represents two different things either side of the border.
At least they exist and function on both sides of the border; something which still cannot be said about the self titled 'United Ireland Party' or about 'The Republican Party'. Makes you wonder...how can a party give itself such a grand non-partitionist title, but refuse to function north of the border? Must be called (to paraphrase you, muppet) "representing two different things on one side of the border".

In conclusion themmuns are worse.
By quite a long way. Not least for the reason outlined above.

Those of us in the South might see them in a new light if we had to grow up policed by the RUC/UDR and ruled by Unionists. Those from the North might view them differently if they saw the Marxist regime they have in mind for us all. It could easily be worse than the RUC/UDR etc.
Hard to bate a bit of the ol' sensationalism.
No denial though.
Hardly necessary. Your remark goes into the same category of gleeful sensationalism as comments such as "the IRA butchered thousands of innocent people" (Jim Allister) or "The IRA were behind the horseburger scandal" (Willy Frazer). Suitable company.

Hard to bate a bit of sensationalism, isn't it?

stibhan

Of course Sinn Féin represent two different things on each side of the border - ever since they decided to stand for elections and take their seats in both jurisdictions, they have had to formulate different strategies for each state because of the peculiar situation in which the north and south found themselves in. The fact that modern provisional Sinn Féin was founded in Belfast, and that the Official IRA from whom they split controlled major state media and broadcast institutions in the 1970's South had a large impact on their public and political image.

That is outwith the fact that they already had a solid nationalist base in the north as opposed to a more grass-roots, underground base in the south. The reality is that if you aren't actively campaigning for election and representation in a state, and instead are repudiating the means of representation, then unless there is a significant social factor to foster solidarity with your voters (Catholics being second class citizens in the north) you will find it difficult to retain interest.

Despite these differences, they still retain a more coherent political strategy in terms of the north than any other party you'd care to name in the south.

They are implementing cuts in the North that they attack in the South.

This is from the SF website on Economy, apparently without a hint of irony.

http://www.sinnfein.ie/economy

QuoteThose who claimed that they, and they alone, knew how to run the economy have been exposed for the fraudsters that they are. Sinn Féin was berated when we pointed out the obvious flaws in government policy – the creation of a property bubble, the over reliance on consumption taxes, the growing gap between the 'haves' and the 'have nots', the rewarding of private greed at the expense of the public good, the failure to think strategically and in the long term interests of the citizens.

We were right on these matters.

QuoteWe can build a country and an economy that creates wealth and shares wealth, that is based on enterprising excellence and social solidarity. A country defined by Irish values of decency, fair play and celebration of achievement.

We can do this because that is who we are. That is what we are about, that is what our economy must be about. We need a plan to achieve this. We need leadership and Sinn Féin can offer it.

Comic genius.

Quote from: Rossfan on January 28, 2013, 11:57:06 AM
If Sinn Féin want to get above the 15% mark in elections in the 26 they'll have to move towards the already overcrowded Centre.
They'll also have to stop going around opposing tax increase while calling for more public expenditure at the same time.

And of course the "Lawnseededness" will have to be jettisoned  ;D
As Arlene said economically illiterate.

Fúck, if Arlene is calling anyone economically illiterate, then that is the worst insult imaginable.

She hasn't got the first notion herself.

http://thebrokenelbow.com/2013/01/24/dolours-price-rip/#comments

I know from conversations with her that DP had concluded that the Provos campaign was going nowhere, that it had been irredeemably infiltrated by the British and that it was pointless continuing

Quote from: muppet on January 28, 2013, 12:50:53 PM
They are implementing tory cuts in the North that they attack in the South.
Fixed that for you. SF has no fiscal control in the north. If I were living in the 26, I'd be more concerned about the economic literacy of successive government parties in the south who did have fiscal control/surrendered so much fiscal sovereignty/bankrupted the state/continue implementing the disastrous policies they expended so much effort into condemning.

"Anglo Irish Bank is not getting another cent of our money and any bank coming to us looking for more money is going to have to show how they're going to impose losses on their junior bondholders, on their senior bondholders and their other creditors before they come looking to us for anymore money. Not another cent." (Leo Varadkar)

"We are also committed to maintaining the services in Roscommon County Hosiptal. You know down in the Accident and Emergency Unit what it takes and what needs to be done, and what can be done in your own local hospital here. And we will protect and defend that." (Enda Kenny)

Comic genius alright.

Would they be implementing Tory cuts as part of a British administration then?

Quote from: Applesisapples on January 28, 2013, 03:18:19 PM
Would they be implementing Tory cuts as part of a British administration then?

Well last I checked the Good Friday Agreement was being implemented alright, and I'm unaware of Ireland having been re-united overnight. As I mentioned earlier, the administration you speak of has no fiscal sovereignty.

Quote from: Nally Stand on January 28, 2013, 03:07:58 PM
Fixed that for you. SF has no fiscal control in the north. If I were living in the 26, I'd be more concerned about the economic literacy of successive government parties in the south who did have fiscal control/surrendered so much fiscal sovereignty/bankrupted the state/continue implementing the disastrous policies they expended so much effort into condemning.

"Anglo Irish Bank is not getting another cent of our money and any bank coming to us looking for more money is going to have to show how they're going to impose losses on their junior bondholders, on their senior bondholders and their other creditors before they come looking to us for anymore money. Not another cent." (Leo Varadkar)

"We are also committed to maintaining the services in Roscommon County Hosiptal. You know down in the Accident and Emergency Unit what it takes and what needs to be done, and what can be done in your own local hospital here. And we will protect and defend that." (Enda Kenny)

Comic genius alright.

A bit like "not an ounce, not a bullett" eh?? :-[

Quote from: Rossfan on January 28, 2013, 04:04:56 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 28, 2013, 03:07:58 PM

Comic genius alright.

A bit like "not an ounce, not a bullett" eh?? :-[

No Sinn Féin election promise ever said such a thing. I believe you are (mis)quoting street graffiti.

(P.s. Not only did you misquote it, but as is the case with a lot of street graffiti, you spelt it wrong)  :-[

Nally your comic efforts are genuinely funny.

But of course you don't engage on any point.

Everything is everyone else's fault, but SF, who can do no wrong, can fix everything for everybody. You may be surprised but there are people who are sceptical.

Aside from the populist nonsense, one of the biggest problems is the hypocrisy. For example the behaviour over the recent death of a young Gárda contrasts sharply with the Gerry McCabe case.

Quote from: stibhan on January 28, 2013, 12:28:14 PM
Of course Sinn Féin represent two different things on each side of the border - ever since they decided to stand for elections and take their seats in both jurisdictions, they have had to formulate different strategies for each state because of the peculiar situation in which the north and south found themselves in. The fact that modern provisional Sinn Féin was founded in Belfast, and that the Official IRA from whom they split controlled major state media and broadcast institutions in the 1970's South had a large impact on their public and political image.

That is outwith the fact that they already had a solid nationalist base in the north as opposed to a more grass-roots, underground base in the south. The reality is that if you aren't actively campaigning for election and representation in a state, and instead are repudiating the means of representation, then unless there is a significant social factor to foster solidarity with your voters (Catholics being second class citizens in the north) you will find it difficult to retain interest.

Despite these differences, they still retain a more coherent political strategy in terms of the north than any other party you'd care to name in the south.

As a North of Ireland party I'd expect SF to have some sort of policy towards the North. They are as out of place in the politics of The Republic as the British Conservative Party or French Gaulists.

Quote from: muppet on January 28, 2013, 04:22:01 PM
Nally your comic efforts are genuinely funny.
Your arrogance is genuinely as bad as always.

But of course you don't engage on any point.
Sorry, I was busy reading some of your recent 'contributions' to the thread, what was that you were saying about hypocrisy?

Everything is everyone else's fault, but SF, who can do no wrong, can fix everything for everybody. You may be surprised but there are people who are sceptical.
We were talking about the economic shambles of the 26 counties and the utter torture that recent governments have been putting/are continuing to put people through. Blame lies fairly and squarely with FF/FG/Lab. As for "SF can do no wrong", I've criticised them many times on this board.

Aside from the populist nonsense, one of the biggest problems is the hypocrisy. For example the behaviour over the recent death of a young Gárda contrasts sharply with the Gerry McCabe case.
Populist nonsense? Like Leo's lies about "not a cent"? Or like Enda's "protecting and defending" Roscommon County Hospital? Oh, and if you're going to dig up a victim's name to make cheap shots, at least spell his name correctly.