Kildare v Mayo AI Qualifier Round 3

Started by Dinny Breen, June 25, 2018, 09:32:04 AM

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 25, 2018, 08:02:55 PM
Fair play to Cian O'Neill. The people of Kildare are fully behind them.
How many of ye went to Longford?

I think this issue has become a bit of a lightning rod for the general level of disaffection with the direction the association is heading in.
An authoritarian Croke Park combined with the perception that SKY are calling the shots now is the perfect storm.
The powers that be need to think very carefully about their next move here.

Mayo4Sam14

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but what difference does the venue make to sky sports?
You can forget about Sean Cavanagh as far as he's a man!

Quote from: Rossfan on June 25, 2018, 07:23:43 PM
I presume Mayowestros will say nothing and turn up to play wherever the game wherever is officially fixed for.
Hard to see HQ rowing back as it would be a serious loss of authority and face.
However it looks like they fell over themselves in the rush to get some more games into Croker.
Serious mess they've created.
Anyone know why the Leitrim game is at half feckin 2 on a Saturday?
Yeah the timing of the Leitrim game is ridiculous. Carrick on a Saturday afternoon is a bottleneck at the best of times without throwing a big game into the mix. Totally unnecessary.

Fair play to Kildare, about time somebody stood up to the Croke Park mandarins and refused to go along with their agenda. Dig in and give them hell.

Quote from: Rossfan on June 25, 2018, 08:04:43 PM

I was surrounded by Kildares. I'd say bout 2,000 travelled

Plenty. Should be more in Newbridge on Saturday night!

Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 25, 2018, 08:08:36 PM
Sorry if this is a stupid question, but what difference does the venue make to sky sports?

Easier for them to cover two games in one location, more professional presentation etc.
Plus, there is no risk of extra-time in the first game disrupting their coverage of the 2nd game.

Kuwabatake Sanjuro

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2018, 08:04:26 PM

As are most of GAABoard

From trawling the various GAA parts of the internet it seem that the vast majority of GAA folk are behind Kildare on this apart from reservoir dubs of course.

Mac2

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 25, 2018, 08:11:35 PM

Plenty. Should be more in Newbridge on Saturday night!
I think we'll outnumber ye in Croke Park so.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2018, 08:04:26 PM

As are most of GAABoard
+1. Fair play to Kildare.
Wish Laois had done the same when we were made play Dublin in Nowlan Park of all feckin places...

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

If you tolerate this, then your county will be next.

Blaming Sky a complete red herring IMO. While they'd prefer the Croker double bill, they'd have no problem with the games in separate venues. The only proviso they'd ask for would be a delayed throw in for the second game if the first game went to Extra Time.

This is all about money lost for GAA for Newbridge v Croke Park.

Well done Kildare on their stance. Their Super 8 point is well made too and I think the GAA have been mistaken in not dealing with this sooner. Because this very same issue could very well come up in Super 8.

The H&S point is such BS by the GAA given Division 1 games have taken place this year already. Has something happened between then and now to make Newbridge a hazard?? Pure BS.

The one clarification required, that hasn't been addressed by either side, is the capacity for Newbridge. If all season ticket holders can be accommodated then it has to be Newbridge.

One final point is that if this game had been fixed for Newbridge from the outset, then there would have been war about the number of people in Mayo who couldnt get to it and that most of them don't have Sky! And may still go that way if season ticket holders are the only people with tickets and ordinary club members in both counties can't get tickets. May also mean that Mayo get a bigger allocation of tickets, despite being the away team, because they've more ST holders.

A mess! But fair play Cill Dara

dublin7

Quote from: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 08:06:48 PM
I think this issue has become a bit of a lightning rod for the general level of disaffection with the direction the association is heading in.
An authoritarian Croke Park combined with the perception that SKY are calling the shots now is the perfect storm.
The powers that be need to think very carefully about their next move here.

Normally in cases like this sides are evenly split but Jinxy is right everyone around the country (bar some mayo fans) is 100% behind kildare. It's fair to say the GAA thought they could just switch the game and Kildare would suck it up. Well done Kildare co board for standing up to the GAA/sky money men and Cian O'Neill was really impressive on the news.

Disappointed in mayo county board/management. If they had any class they would have already come out and said they would happily play the game in newbridge. That would be the right thing to do and really put the pressure on the GAA.

If GAA don't back down and Mayo go to croker sat night I'll go to newbridge. To be there to offer support and also witness history.

Great stuff... They say they wont be playing and then reiterate the point. They can't be much clearer. This nonsense has been going on for far too long