Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Leinster U20 football cham...
Last post by thejuice - Today at 03:32:48 PM
Yeah, East Meath town young lads have had a Dublin twang from even going back to when I was in school in the 90's. Probably has gotten more pronounced lately.

We used to laugh at the rural Dublin lads from places just up the road from us like Ballyboghal and Garristown putting on their strongest Dublin accents as if they weren't just as big culchies we were.
GAA Discussion / Re: Guide to the Sam Maguire a...
Last post by Blowitupref - Today at 03:31:42 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on Today at 03:20:41 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on Today at 02:26:14 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on Today at 11:52:19 AM
Quote from: seafoid on Today at 11:25:58 AMThe last rr - pre qf- qf
 is the killer

I wonder how many first seeds will win their qf . Will it be 3/4 like last year ?

You would have to assume 4/4 would be the standard every year for the group winners making it the the semis.
This would have been the case last year only for Monaghan's penalty win over Armagh.

I wouldn't be surprised if 3/4 would be the usual most years for the first seeds in as regards making the semis. I think most years you've a very decent chance of one of the Ulster teams turning over one of the other provincial winners.

As you said the the preliminary quarter-finals route with 3 games in 3 weekends looks like an absolute death-trap of a route towards Sam. It's very hard to see a team winning Sam through that route.

Yes would expect that to be the case until such time that all Quarter finalists are given at least two weeks prep time.  If we get another 3 Quarter final mis-matches this year as we did last year then HQ need to tweak it.

I don't think there is any chance that all the quarter-finalists are going to be given two weeks prep time for a fair while yet (think 10 years or so).

If you give the four preliminary quarter-finalists two weeks, you would need to give the group winners three weeks (assuming you did't stagger the groups) which would tilt the advantage of winning the group a fair bit away from the group winners. I don't think the powers that be want to reduce the benefit of winning the group/increase the odds for the teams coming 2nd and 3rd in the group.

Even if you were to play around with the timing and stagger the group stages to give all four quarter-finalist two weeks, it would lead to a situation whereby you gave some sides three weeks and some two at a later stage which I think the powers-that be would consider a worse option.

Long story short I think the GAA is going to keep the status quo in place for a good few years yet and that winning your group is going to be key if you want to win Sam.

The power to be will surely want all of their All Ireland Quarters to be as competitive as they can possibly be?  In year one of this new format we got highly competitive Prem Quarter finals decided on fine margins and only one of the All Ireland Quarter finals going that way. If that is repeated this year it will have to be looked at soon than later.

Topping your group avoiding play off game and not playing any of the group winners in the last 8 is enough of advantage IMO.
Last post by twohands!!! - Today at 03:20:41 PM
 is the killer

I wonder how many first seeds will win their qf . Will it be 3/4 like last year ?

You would have to assume 4/4 would be the standard every year for the group winners making it the the semis.
This would have been the case last year only for Monaghan's penalty win over Armagh.

I wouldn't be surprised if 3/4 would be the usual most years for the first seeds in as regards making the semis. I think most years you've a very decent chance of one of the Ulster teams turning over one of the other provincial winners.

As you said the the preliminary quarter-finals route with 3 games in 3 weekends looks like an absolute death-trap of a route towards Sam. It's very hard to see a team winning Sam through that route.

Yes would expect that to be the case until such time that all Quarter finalists are given at least two weeks prep time.  If we get another 3 Quarter final mis-matches this year as we did last year then HQ need to tweak it.

I don't think there is any chance that all the quarter-finalists are going to be given two weeks prep time for a fair while yet (think 10 years or so).

If you give the four preliminary quarter-finalists two weeks, you would need to give the group winners three weeks (assuming you did't stagger the groups) which would tilt the advantage of winning the group a fair bit away from the group winners. I don't think the powers that be want to reduce the benefit of winning the group/increase the odds for the teams coming 2nd and 3rd in the group.

Even if you were to play around with the timing and stagger the group stages to give all four quarter-finalist two weeks, it would lead to a situation whereby you gave some sides three weeks and some two at a later stage which I think the powers-that be would consider a worse option.

Long story short I think the GAA is going to keep the status quo in place for a good few years yet and that winning your group is going to be key if you want to win Sam.
General discussion / Re: Podcasts
Last post by Sportacus - Today at 03:10:56 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on Today at 01:37:51 PMThe interviews are top class, and Niblock is a fine interviewer, but he does need to tone it down on the superlatives.

Claims that a podcast is "the most powerful one yet" do tend to become a bit meaningless when the same claim is made on an almost weekly basis, and when, as I say, each episode seems to have it's own dedicated section for talking about how "phenominal the response has been to last weeks episode".
I'm ok until he says "Tyroo-ann", and then I switch it off!
General discussion / Re: A5 WTC (New Road from Augh...
Last post by Snapchap - Today at 02:56:14 PM
One of the two killed was a pupil at St Ciaran's Ballygawley.

Only yesterday, the school produced this short video clip about the A5, and a photo from it was the main photo on the front page of yesterdays Irish News.

Last post by Snapchap - Today at 02:47:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 02:20:16 PMDo you pay for these?

Well I suppose the presenter does get his pay packet from my licence fee but in any case, what does it matter whether or not it has to be paid for? I often have positive and/or negative opinions about things I don't pay for. I think most people do. I'd go as far as to say most of the podcasts discussed in this thread are free, so was it ok to talk about those ones? Or do we have to live in a world where we can't express opinions on media output unless the opinions are about paid content?

All besides the point. I've repeatedly said the podcast, and its host, are top drawer. I was merely stating that his constant attempts to crown each episode as "the most powerful yet" are a bit daft. But chill. I'm not calling for his head to roll over it.
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 02:45:42 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on Today at 02:44:42 PMI don't even listen Jog, but still moan 🤣🤣

Intend more times than enough to tip in. I then hear this is the best one yet, then soon after no this is the best one yet. I don't know which to listen to then, so don't 😆😆
:o

Seriously though it's well worth a listen.
Last post by quit yo jibbajabba - Today at 02:44:42 PM
I don't even listen Jog, but still moan 🤣🤣

Intend more times than enough to tip in. I then hear this is the best one yet, then soon after no this is the best one yet. I don't know which to listen to then, so don't 😆😆
Last post by JoG2 - Today at 02:36:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 02:20:16 PMDo you pay for these?

No, but you get to listen to excellent content, say it is excellent and then get a good moan about, all for nuthin! A bargain  ;D
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 02:33:48 PM
 is the killer

Yeah that extra week break is massive for teams. (Not that you'd have known with how shite we were vs Monaghan.)