Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Olly on June 23, 2012, 09:44:00 PM

Title: Tricky Maths (But Fun)
Post by: Olly on June 23, 2012, 09:44:00 PM
I was reading about the boy teacher who was sacked because he tried to make maths fun but went too far for the authorities.
I think it's a disgrace and that his ideas should be introduced to the NI curriculum.

'I took a nap in a bog one day and woke up screaming. 3796 leeches, 2910 fleas and 1044 vampire bats were stuck to my bald head drinking my blood in ecstasy. How many bloodthirsty bloodsuckers were dining on my head?'

'John's father gave him 1359 marbles on his birthday. John swallowed 585 marbles and died. 9 of John's friends came for his funeral the next day. John's grieving father gave the remaining marbles to John's friends in equal numbers. How many marbles did each friend get?'

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2012/03/06/article-2110825-120B8CB7000005DC-771_468x286.jpg)

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2012/03/06/article-2110825-120B8CCF000005DC-715_468x286.jpg)

Are there any local maths puzzles that'll make maths fun for our primary school children like these?

Title: Re: Tricky Maths (But Fun)
Post by: Orior on June 24, 2012, 12:09:15 AM
2+2=6 for really big values of 2.

I've added this visualisation for you:

2 + 2 = 6
Post by: GJL on September 18, 2014, 09:17:00 PM
4squared is 16

3-1=2

16 +2=18

18+6=24
Post by: Gaffer on September 18, 2014, 09:19:02 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 09:08:36 PM
Countdown style.

Get 24 from the following numbers;

1, 3, 4 & 6

Not too hard. Yis have 5 mins. From now. Using all numbers obviously.

Was going to ask would 23 do ye!
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 09:23:45 PM
6 divided by (1-3 divided by 4)

Or

6/0.25
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 09:31:23 PM
Rearrange these words:

Hole Up It Shove Your
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 18, 2014, 09:31:37 PM
The missus makes us try to get 24 from car registrations whilst out for a drive. :'(
Post by: cornerback on September 18, 2014, 09:32:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 09:25:37 PM
Shot!
Dodgy use of brackets though.

6 divided by [1 - (3 divided by 4)]

Can you use fractions in countdown?
Post by: imtommygunn on September 18, 2014, 09:37:42 PM
Whole numbers only!!
Post by: GJL on September 18, 2014, 09:39:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 09:21:12 PM
Quote from: GJL on September 18, 2014, 09:17:00 PM
4squared is 16

3-1=2

16 +2=18

18+6=24
Can you square in Countdown? If so, my bad, take another 5 mins.

Add, subtract, multiply or divide only.

Booooo. Hisssss.
Post by: cornerback on September 18, 2014, 09:42:42 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 09:33:29 PM
Quote from: cornerback on September 18, 2014, 09:32:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 09:25:37 PM
Shot!
Dodgy use of brackets though.

6 divided by [1 - (3 divided by 4)]

Can you use fractions in countdown?
You are allowed to divide 3 by 4, if that's what you're asking.

In fact, the answer is yes. Why the fcuk would you not be allowed to??

Never seen fractions used before. You seem certain so I'll take your word on it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 18, 2014, 09:48:26 PM
24 from 4, 7, 8 and 8.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 09:51:03 PM
4+7-8x8

fcuk sake. You could have mixed the numbers about like.
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 18, 2014, 09:52:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 18, 2014, 09:48:26 PM
24 from 4, 7, 8 and 8.

(8 x 7) - (8 x 4)

Any hard sums?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 18, 2014, 09:53:04 PM
8-7 =1 4-1 =3 x 8 = 24.
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 18, 2014, 09:53:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 09:51:03 PM
4+7-8x8

fcuk sake. You could have mixed the numbers about like.

That makes -53.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 18, 2014, 09:55:02 PM

He's bad with brackets.
((4+7)-8) x 8
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 09:57:02 PM
How so.

Why not -5 then.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:03:11 PM
Two Ardboe men, James and Tom, meet after a few years on the run.
Three kids
James: Ghosto, how are you lad?
Tom: Not bad, got married there and I have three childer now.
James: That's deadly. How old are they?
Tom: The product of their ages is 72 and the sum of their ages is the same as your birth date.
James: Rethal... But I still don't know.
Tom: My eldest kid just started taking piano lessons.
James: Oh now I get it.

How old are Tom's kids?
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:13:44 PM
Yep. 9 mins though.
Post by: John Martin on September 18, 2014, 10:15:34 PM
Can ya explain that one please O'Neill?
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:21:58 PM
There are a few combinations that give you 72 (1, 2, 36 etc.). He says the sum was his birth date (1-31) so that narrows it a bit.

However, it wasn't until Tom said his eldest played piano that the penny dropped for James. That means there must be two of the children the same age.

That leaves

2 x 6 x 6 = 72
3 x 3 x 8 = 72

Looking at that now, maybe this is flawed. Perhaps the older "twins" were Irish twins?
Post by: John Martin on September 18, 2014, 10:24:35 PM
That makes no sense. Why would there need to be twins?
The kids could be 1,8 and 9 and the 9 year old would be the eldest.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:26:04 PM
Quote from: John Martin on September 18, 2014, 10:24:35 PM

But he would have known straight away.
Post by: John Martin on September 18, 2014, 10:27:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:26:04 PM
Quote from: John Martin on September 18, 2014, 10:24:35 PM

But he would have known straight away.

What? You've confused me even more now.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:29:23 PM
Tom: The product of their ages is 72 and the sum of their ages is the same as your birth date.
James: Rethal... But I still don't know.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:31:10 PM
Looking at it, the 6 and the 6 may be 10 months apart. Happened in our house a rake of times.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 18, 2014, 10:31:33 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 10:29:10 PM
O'neill hasn't explained it right.

There are a number of combinations to get 72.

The sum of only two of the combinations give the same number. 2x6x6 and 3x3x8.

So, when yer boy still wasn't sure, it means it was one of those two combinations.

When yer boy said he had an eldest.

Well......

But 1, 8 and 9 would do the same job, and give a birthdate of 18?
Post by: John Martin on September 18, 2014, 10:32:36 PM

So, when yer boy still wasn't sure, it means it was one of those two combinations.

Well......

Thanks. I should have got that. I forgot that James would know his own birthday.

Post by: Tony Baloney on September 18, 2014, 10:35:39 PM
Hardstation really schooling O'Neill tonight. Painful to watch.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:36:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 18, 2014, 10:31:33 PM

Well......

But 1, 8 and 9 would do the same job, and give a birthdate of 18?

And so would probably 10 other combinations. Yer man hesitated. A doubt. Them twins. Or were they?
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:38:21 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 18, 2014, 10:35:39 PM
Hardstation really schooling O'Neill tonight. Painful to watch.

Watch this space in, say, 3-4 years...'teachers get it handy' may see HS take a gentler approach....
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:48:12 PM
What do these numbers have in common?

4, 12, 30, 60, 102 and 108
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 10:52:19 PM
Excellent.

You're an awful balax.

OK, I missed a few out to avoid some Googling the answer.

So, bearing in mind I missed a few out in that series, what is next after 108?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 18, 2014, 11:25:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 11:19:01 PM
Unable to do indices here but I'll try. The brackets are only to tell you the power of the x.

4x(to the power of -3) divided by 2x(to the power of -5)

All divided by

2x(to the power of 2)

Go.....
New maths book for your birthday, son?
Post by: GJL on September 18, 2014, 11:34:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 09:43:22 PM
Quote from: GJL on September 18, 2014, 09:39:47 PM
4squared is 16

3-1=2

16 +2=18

18+6=24

Booooo. Hisssss.
By the way, how were you able to square the 4? There wasn't even a 2 ffs.

Are you serious?
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 11:43:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 10:56:48 PM

Yes.
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 11:52:55 PM
Unable to do indices here but I'll try. The brackets are only to tell you the power of the x.

All divided by

2x(to the power of 2)

Go.....

1/8
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 11:53:58 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 11:51:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 11:48:24 PM

All divided by

2x(to the power of 2)

Go.....

2?
No but how'd you get there?

Really? As you're close but strange you got that number.

misread 2x(to the power of 2) as to the power of -2
Post by: macdanger2 on September 18, 2014, 11:55:08 PM
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 11:57:37 PM
Fcuk this.
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2014, 12:02:02 AM
0.125x0.03125 =

Ah ffs. Wasn't using the 0.03. Was going 0.3
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2014, 12:07:43 AM
How High is a China man?
Post by: GJL on September 19, 2014, 09:33:39 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 11:38:15 PM
Quote from: GJL on September 18, 2014, 11:34:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 18, 2014, 09:43:22 PM
Quote from: GJL on September 18, 2014, 09:39:47 PM
4squared is 16

3-1=2

16 +2=18

18+6=24

Booooo. Hisssss.
By the way, how were you able to square the 4? There wasn't even a 2 ffs.

Are you serious?
Erm, I think so....
I mean, I could see it if you said 1 to the 3 is 1. Multilply that by 4 to get 4. 4 by 6 = 24.

But where'd you get the square (2) from?

The '2' is simply the symbol for square in the same way that '-' is the symbol for minus.
Post by: Zip Code on September 19, 2014, 10:29:04 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 18, 2014, 09:23:45 PM
6 divided by (1-3 divided by 4)

Or

6/0.25

Surely that is correct - 3/4 = 0.75

1 - 0.75 = 0.25

6/0.25 = 24
Post by: Hardy on September 19, 2014, 10:39:32 AM
1 euro = 100 cent
= 10 cent x 10 cent
= 1/10 euro x 1/10 euro
= 1/100 euro
= 1 cent

?
Post by: macdanger2 on September 19, 2014, 10:42:45 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 19, 2014, 10:39:32 AM
1 euro = 100 cent
= 10 cent x 10 cent
= 1/10 euro x 1/10 euro
= 1/100 euro
= 1 cent

?

Your units are incorrect Hardy - 1/10 euro x 1/10 euro = 1/100 euro^2 (squared)

Post by: Zip Code on September 19, 2014, 10:45:53 AM
I have been helping my son with the transfer test, you don't realise how advance the questions are for a 11 year old - I have typed a few examples, I am sure everyone will get them but at 11!

1. What is the sum of the factors of 21?
A 21 B 7 C 42 D 32 E 11

2. Which of the following statements is true?
A Most prime numbers end in 5.
B 2 is not a prime number.
C Prime numbers only have one factor.
D The sum of the first 3 prime numbers is 10.
E All prime numbers are odd.

3. Craig has 4 dogs. He has to buy each dog a collar (c) and six tins (t) of dog food.
Which expression shows how many collars and tins of food he needs to buy?

A 4tc
B c + 4t
C 4c + 4t
D 4(c + 6t)
E 4 + c + t

4, Look at the sequence below:
4 9 16 25 36
Which expression could be used to find the nth term in this sequence?

A n²
B n² + 3
C n² – 3
D 2n + 2
E (n + 1)²
Post by: macdanger2 on September 19, 2014, 10:50:08 AM
Tough enough for an 11 year old alright. Didn't even realise they'd be up to prime numbers at that age
Post by: GJL on September 19, 2014, 10:52:08 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 19, 2014, 10:12:32 AM
What?
To get 4 squared, you must multiply 4x4. You can only use 4 once.

You can't just start squaring or cubing the numbers.

Bank Manager: You have £4 in your account, GJL.

GJL: Hmm, I think you'll find I have £16 in my account.

Bank Manager: How do you work that out?

GJL: Just squared the 4. Got 16. Pretty easy to be honest.

LOL You talk some sh1te. I'll leave you to it.
Post by: Hardy on September 19, 2014, 11:01:27 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on September 19, 2014, 10:42:45 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 19, 2014, 10:39:32 AM
1 euro = 100 cent
= 10 cent x 10 cent
= 1/10 euro x 1/10 euro
= 1/100 euro
= 1 cent

?

Your units are incorrect Hardy - 1/10 euro x 1/10 euro = 1/100 euro^2 (squared)

Top of the class.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 19, 2014, 11:09:11 AM
Shame, Hardy, shame.   :o
Post by: Hardy on September 19, 2014, 11:10:54 AM
What? It was a (simple) puzzle.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 19, 2014, 11:13:11 AM
Oh right, I thought it was a treatise!  :P
Post by: ONeill on September 19, 2014, 10:06:00 PM
Quote from: Zip Code on September 19, 2014, 10:45:53 AM
I have been helping my son with the transfer test, you don't realise how advance the questions are for a 11 year old - I have typed a few examples, I am sure everyone will get them but at 11!

A 21 B 7 C 42 D 32 E 11

3. Craig has 4 dogs. He has to buy each dog a collar (c) and six tins (t) of dog food.

A 4tc
B c + 4t
C 4c + 4t
D 4(c + 6t)
E 4 + c + t

4 9 16 25 36

A n²
B n² + 3
C n² – 3
D 2n + 2
E (n + 1)²

Got my hands on these too and was shocked at the difficulty. Maybe you forget how much you were trained for them back in the day but I don't remember the maths being so hard. Even the comprehension was challenging.
Post by: CD on September 19, 2014, 10:11:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2014, 10:06:00 PM
Quote from: Zip Code on September 19, 2014, 10:45:53 AM

A 21 B 7 C 42 D 32 E 11

A 4tc
B c + 4t
C 4c + 4t
D 4(c + 6t)
E 4 + c + t

4 9 16 25 36

A n²
B n² + 3
C n² – 3
D 2n + 2
E (n + 1)²

Got my hands on these too and was shocked at the difficulty. Maybe you forget how much you were trained for them back in the day but I don't remember the maths being so hard. Even the comprehension was challenging.

Those are Level 6 maths. Nothing that hard will appear on transfer
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2014, 11:27:36 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 19, 2014, 10:12:05 PM
Certainly didn't do anything like 3 & 4 in my day.

It was more like:

John has 3 apples.

How many apples does John have?
a) 3
b) The wrong answer.

Is it b?