Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: pullhard on March 22, 2013, 06:23:19 PM

Title: smart tv
Post by: pullhard on March 22, 2013, 06:23:19 PM
The old TV has finally given up the ghost. MS PH has, after research chosen a smart TV.
These look like normal LCD/plasma units, but can id told connect to you tube and netflix etc.

The samsung one http://www.johnlewis.com/samsung-ue40es5500-led-hd-1080p-smart-tv-40-inch-with-freeview-hd/p23156069... we're looking at requires a dongle, allow im not really sure what it does, and is it a requirement? does anyone have any experience of smart TV's? Is it worth getting apple tv?
Title: Re: smart tv
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 22, 2013, 07:06:30 PM
Could probably find it cheaper somewhere else.
Post by: the waffler on March 23, 2013, 05:12:45 PM
have samsung good job but better with cable hard wired for films and you tube etc if you go for dongle think it must be samsung
Post by: T Fearon on April 02, 2013, 08:36:00 AM
Invested in a wifi (cableless and dongleless) Samsung 40inch Smart TV yesterday.Impressed already,easy enough to set up and use.However web browsing is a pain,with having to use remote control to get cursor on to every single letter on keyboard.Can you purchase a wireless keyboard compatible with this device?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2013, 01:39:19 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 02, 2013, 08:36:00 AM
Invested in a wifi (cableless and dongleless) Samsung 40inch Smart TV yesterday.Impressed already,easy enough to set up and use.However web browsing is a pain,with having to use remote control to get cursor on to every single letter on keyboard.Can you purchase a wireless keyboard compatible with this device?

Really painful. Also there are allot if nearly all the music videos on Youtube blocked due to Copyright. Smart TV's are handy, but are a bit of a disappointment yet! Samsung require their own Samsung dongle!
Post by: Armaghgeddon on April 02, 2013, 01:52:48 PM
If it has a usb port use a keyboard. If it has two plug in a mouse also.
Post by: rosnarun on April 02, 2013, 01:57:23 PM
you can get a Bluetooth keyboard which has a trackpad . I got mine with my samsung TV  and its only middling.
the best feature of the telly is definetly the voice control does away with the need for yet another Remote control. and if you doo need a remote you can use a Smartfone or Galaxy Tab
and the TV  doesnt require a dongle
not worth the money probaly and no moral way to justify it , but it makes me happy for a while
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 02, 2013, 09:01:07 PM
Yer prob better off getting a decent LCD/plasma HD TV that has a few hdmi and USB ports.
You can play videos/movies directly off a USB mem stick, and the laptop connected to t. Via hdmi can stream live content or music videos/movies onto the TV.

To me the smart tv is still a bit gimmicky yet - Tone , I suspect the solution from rosnarun is your only option right now. I'm sure better and more generic keyboards/mice units will be coming on stream in the future.
Post by: T Fearon on April 02, 2013, 09:12:03 PM
Pleased enough with the purchase.Wifi and 3D enabled (with 2 pairs of 3Dglasses) and paid less than £600! Iplayers (both itv and BBC) very handy,and all the RTE channels via Saorstat too.
Post by: EC Unique on April 03, 2013, 12:16:46 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 02, 2013, 08:36:00 AM

http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/tv-audio-video/television/tv-accessories/VG-KBD1500/XU?subsubtype=wireless-keyboard (http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/tv-audio-video/television/tv-accessories/VG-KBD1500/XU?subsubtype=wireless-keyboard)
Post by: T Fearon on April 03, 2013, 07:34:18 PM
Thanks for that!

Another benefit of Smart Tv! I can now watch Champions League football on RTE2 in HD,instead of a blank screen/blocked signal.
Post by: muppet on April 03, 2013, 08:26:14 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 03, 2013, 07:34:18 PM
Another benefit of Smart Tv! I can now watch Champions League football on RTE2 in HD,instead of a blank screen/blocked signal.

Can we expect an improvement in your observations then?  :P
Post by: T Fearon on April 03, 2013, 09:50:46 PM
Bohemians V Derry live on RTE2 HD on Friday night! I've waited a lifetime to see this!
Post by: armaghniac on April 03, 2013, 10:09:58 PM
QuoteBohemians V Derry live on RTE2 HD on Friday night! I've waited a lifetime to see this!

If your TV was as smart as you claim, it wouldn't show the likes of that.
Post by: T Fearon on April 04, 2013, 08:29:45 PM
Watching Spurs V Basel live in HD! Just like sitting in the East Stand Lower at the Lane! Smart TV rocks!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 04, 2013, 08:42:49 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 04, 2013, 08:29:45 PM
Watching Spurs V Basel live in HD! Just like sitting in the East Stand Lower at the Lane! Smart TV rocks!

Pity about Spurs  ;)
Post by: parttimeexile on November 21, 2013, 10:34:41 AM
Thinking about buying a smart TV. What should I look out for? Is there any brand better than others/where to get the best deal etc. All views welcomed..
Post by: Applesisapples on November 21, 2013, 11:47:10 AM
Google smart TV's and you'll find Panasonic is always getting top billing. Apple TV is grand, except it can't play sky. You'd probably be better with a wifi connected smart tv and a sky subscription with an undemand connection.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 21, 2013, 03:07:19 PM
Quote from: parttimeexile on November 21, 2013, 10:34:41 AM
Thinking about buying a smart TV. What should I look out for? Is there any brand better than others/where to get the best deal etc. All views welcomed..

I have a Samsung for the past 2 years and it is great. It's LCD but the picture is brilliant.
Post by: johnneycool on November 21, 2013, 04:39:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 21, 2013, 03:07:19 PM
Quote from: parttimeexile on November 21, 2013, 10:34:41 AM

I have a Samsung for the past 2 years and it is great. It's LCD but the picture is brilliant.

Wifi dongle or ethernet connection via an RJ45?
Post by: AZOffaly on November 21, 2013, 04:48:24 PM
I use proprietry Samsung wifi dongle in it.
Post by: tommysmith on November 21, 2013, 05:30:07 PM
Does sky go work on these tv's?
Post by: DuffleKing on November 21, 2013, 07:01:35 PM
Trying to get btsport app off my phone up on the tv. Have the html cable connected thru an adaptor bt its only transferring sound. Any ideas?

Post by: Applesisapples on November 22, 2013, 03:24:49 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on November 21, 2013, 05:30:07 PM
Does sky go work on these tv's? no I don't think so
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 22, 2013, 03:30:44 PM
Quote from: pullhard on March 22, 2013, 06:23:19 PM
The old TV has finally given up the ghost. MS PH has, after research chosen a smart TV.
These look like normal LCD/plasma units, but can id told connect to you tube and netflix etc.

The samsung one http://www.johnlewis.com/samsung-ue40es5500-led-hd-1080p-smart-tv-40-inch-with-freeview-hd/p23156069... we're looking at requires a dongle, allow im not really sure what it does, and is it a requirement? does anyone have any experience of smart TV's? Is it worth getting apple tv?

Coincidentally I just purchased this LG one last week. Really excellent. Built in wi-fi so no separate dongle. Lots of apps like Youtube, Facebook, Twitter, Netflix, etc. You can control them with your tablet. You can sync it with your PC if you want to. In fairness browsing the web is a bit clunky yet on all these smart TV's but you probably won't use it much for that.

You can even watch telly on it. ;D

http://www.lg.com/uk/tvs/lg-50LA660V (http://www.lg.com/uk/tvs/lg-50LA660V)

Post by: take_yer_points on November 22, 2013, 03:50:41 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on November 21, 2013, 07:01:35 PM
Trying to get btsport app off my phone up on the tv. Have the html cable connected thru an adaptor bt its only transferring sound. Any ideas?

I assume you mean a hdmi cable. I haven't tried BT Sports but I know Sky block video streaming on their iPads, iPhones, etc... - you get the sound but not the picture - instead you get a message stating hdmi video streaming has been disabled or something like that. Sounds like BT Sport are doing something similar.

The official line seems to be that it's content providers who have told them they have to block streaming but it sounds like a load of bull. My own opinion is that they're trying to avoid people using Skygo on their mobile device to replace a multiroom subscription. You can still stream using hdmi from your laptop to the TV.
Post by: DuffleKing on November 23, 2013, 09:38:30 AM

You canrt get btsport on laptop
Post by: take_yer_points on November 23, 2013, 09:16:59 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on November 23, 2013, 09:38:30 AM

Are you sure? It says on the link below that you can stream to your PC or Mac ...

http://sport.bt.com/pages/sport/BT-Sport-app-and-online-player/
Post by: Minder on November 23, 2013, 09:35:44 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on November 23, 2013, 09:16:59 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on November 23, 2013, 09:38:30 AM

Are you sure? It says on the link below that you can stream to your PC or Mac ...

http://sport.bt.com/pages/sport/BT-Sport-app-and-online-player/

You can watch it on laptop
Post by: DuffleKing on November 23, 2013, 10:54:16 PM

How - there is no app that i can find?
Post by: take_yer_points on November 23, 2013, 11:14:26 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on November 23, 2013, 10:54:16 PM

How - there is no app that i can find?

Try clicking on a channel at the link below and then log in...

http://sport.bt.com/watch-now-01363810618853
Post by: thejuice on July 17, 2014, 10:51:20 PM
Bought one of these. It's a Samsung with wireless internet. Last TV I bought was just a TV and nothing else so I'm finding my feet with it.

I'm thinking of buying GAAGO too. I'm assuming I can stream that on this big telly of mine??
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 17, 2014, 10:59:01 PM
Think they are a waste of money, could buy a decent TV and then get something that can play media like a PS3
Post by: balladmaker on July 18, 2014, 12:57:14 AM
They're a great job, put one up in the kitchen, connected to the wifi seemlessly, and now have Postman Pat and Mike The Knight on demand via BBC iPlayer ... super.
Post by: johnneycool on July 18, 2014, 12:04:43 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 18, 2014, 12:57:14 AM
They're a great job, put one up in the kitchen, connected to the wifi seemlessly, and now have Postman Pat and Mike The Knight on demand via BBC iPlayer ... super.

FFS don't be playing Waybuloo in front of the childer, they do yoga and other such black magic in it.
Post by: thejuice on July 18, 2014, 02:13:35 PM
I'm thinking of buying GAAGO too. I'm assuming I can stream that on this big telly of mine??

Anyone know?
Post by: thejuice on July 19, 2014, 02:33:48 PM
I guess I'll just buy a HDMI cable then?
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 19, 2014, 02:49:22 PM
I don't have a smart TV but I do have a PS4 and an android stick connected to TV. I don't have gaago but if you load the front page and it plays then then you are fine, neither the ps4 or the android stick would work. If i were you I would go into a shop and ask can they load that page, if it plays the video you are fine I would say.

Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 19, 2014, 02:56:00 PM
Samsung TVs are generally very good for compatibility for websites and devices. If you have a Samsung phone and if that can stream it you should be able to connect that to the TV and watch with AllCast. But there shouldn't be any problems. Might be worth checking GAAGO too.
Post by: thejuice on July 19, 2014, 04:47:51 PM
well it seems it doesnt work on my Samsung TV.

The GAAGO website says if you can play the video on the homepage you can watch it. This works fine on my TV. However I made the purchase of GAAGO and tried playing the game but the video player doesn't appear on screen. It appears on the laptop no bother. Will have to go down the HDMI route I guess. Unless there is a broadcasting app or something for iPhone???
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 19, 2014, 04:52:39 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 19, 2014, 04:47:51 PM
well it seems it doesnt work on my Samsung TV.

The GAAGO website says if you can play the video on the homepage you can watch it. This works fine on my TV. However I made the purchase of GAAGO and tried playing the game but the video player doesn't appear on screen. It appears on the laptop no bother. Will have to go down the HDMI route I guess. Unless there is a broadcasting app or something for iPhone???

What samsung model is it?
Post by: thejuice on July 19, 2014, 04:58:35 PM
UE40HU6900

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/tv-dvd-blu-ray/televisions/large-screen-tvs-32-and-over/samsung-ue40hu6900-smart-4k-ultra-hd-40-led-tv-10004761-pdt.html
Post by: johnneycool on August 27, 2014, 04:42:37 PM
picked up a Panasonic VIERA TX-42AS500B from Sainsburys for £370 the other day and there's a few functions I'm not sure about it, how can I watch ipad content from it, BT sport in mind?

Also there's some sort of server I can set up on a private LAN to view films etc, etc. anyone ever done that?

As its my first venture into smart TV its not a bad yolk.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 27, 2014, 04:56:35 PM
For the ipad you might need Apple TV. i'm not sure if the other similar products out there support Apple.
Post by: ziggysego on August 28, 2014, 01:06:11 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on July 17, 2014, 10:59:01 PM
Think they are a waste of money, could buy a decent TV and then get something that can play media like a PS3

That's what I do and it's a feckin torture with all the frckin updates I'm constantly getting on the PS3.

The next time I'm getting a TV, I'll go for a smart one. Probably a few years away yet though.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 28, 2014, 08:38:00 AM
You can also buy a cheap samsung tablet and run it through the Google equivilent of apple tv. There is also an app for samsung that gives access to a russian version of netflix at half the cost.
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 28, 2014, 08:45:28 AM
Thinking of buying a smart tv with built in dvd player. Currys have an Hitachi 32" down from 400 to 250. Thought that was decent value!

I've heard tv's with dvd players can be troublesome as the dvd player tends to be crap.
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on August 29, 2014, 09:38:45 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 27, 2014, 04:42:37 PM
picked up a Panasonic VIERA TX-42AS500B from Sainsburys for £370 the other day and there's a few functions I'm not sure about it, how can I watch ipad content from it, BT sport in mind?

Also there's some sort of server I can set up on a private LAN to view films etc, etc. anyone ever done that?

Have used my smart Panasonic TV to view content from a Network Attached Hard Drive - Your probably after something like this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00BP5RJ76/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_1?pf_rd_p=479289247&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B003XFUXQK&pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_r=06RTAKEM1A6J6SWCWWTK

I use it to automatically back up computer and also download movies to it - then the TV can connect to it and view the content be it videos/music/photos.
Post by: thejuice on August 02, 2017, 07:15:59 PM
Hi Lads. Tried watching the Sunday Game on my smart tv (Samsung) the last few times but it seems that adobe flash is no longer supported on smart tv internet browsers. So I can't watch it anything on RTE website.

Anyone know a way around it? I can play it off the tablet but I won't get away with hogging the TV and the tablet for a few hours.
Post by: Over the Bar on August 02, 2017, 11:22:38 PM
Quote from: thejuice on August 02, 2017, 07:15:59 PM
Hi Lads. Tried watching the Sunday Game on my smart tv (Samsung) the last few times but it seems that adobe flash is no longer supported on smart tv internet browsers. So I can't watch it anything on RTE website.

Anyone know a way around it? I can play it off the tablet but I won't get away with hogging the TV and the tablet for a few hours.

Can he not just set it to record on Sunday night and watch it later instead of streaming?
Post by: thebigfella on August 02, 2017, 11:32:34 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on August 02, 2017, 11:22:38 PM

Can he not just set it to record on Sunday night and watch it later instead of streaming?

Or grow a set. Did he pay for the tv and tablet? If so you should take a stand as it's not much to ask considering you can't watch it when it's on  ;)
Post by: Minder on August 02, 2017, 11:33:24 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on August 02, 2017, 11:22:38 PM

I believe Juice is abroad ?
Post by: thejuice on August 03, 2017, 09:08:58 PM
Thanks for the advice lads, that's it I'm going to have to fight with wife over it.
Post by: JohnDenver on August 04, 2017, 08:34:38 AM
Depending on what phone you have, is there no way you could view it on that, and bounce it to the TV in the same way you have described with the tablet?
Post by: Jim Bob on September 09, 2018, 10:51:22 AM
Anyone any experience of recording tv programmes from  a Samsung  Smart Tv onto a Hard drive.
I have researched  this but can't get a clear idea of  exactly what type of hard drive I need to get. It appears that a simple USB stick is not suitable but was reading where People  have used some types of hard drive and it wouldn't work. Don't want to fork out hard cash for something not suitable.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 10, 2018, 07:05:45 PM
i got a socket plug in type hard drive records fine, hard drive of just a usb haven't enough power
Post by: Jim Bob on September 10, 2018, 09:37:29 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 10, 2018, 07:05:45 PM
i got a socket plug in type hard drive records fine, hard drive of just a usb haven't enough power

What make of hard drive is it?