Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 - Galway, Armagh, Derry, Westmeath

Started by GAABoardMod5, May 13, 2024, 01:06:48 AM

Quote from: J70 on June 16, 2024, 03:31:00 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 16, 2024, 03:27:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 16, 2024, 03:25:36 PMDid Armagh win something there?? 🤦🏼 or just happy it wasn't penalties?

They were very poor until the goal which was gifted to them. They upped it then and fair play to them.

Galway with more injuries could struggle next week depending on who they play. 
Draw as good as a win there but strange to see it celebrated so much.

Galway will be sick.

Straight through to the quarters, most certainly to avoid Dublin and Kerry?

Of course you should celebrate it. Especially as you looked beaten for a large chunk of the game.
We don't give a shite about any of that, lads were just celebrating that it wasn't penalties ;)

Seriously though absolutely right to celebrate that result even if much of the performance left a lot to improve on.

Both teams fairly below their best today in fairness, Galway dropped a criminal amount wide and short and commentator said we'd 10 wides. Delighted to be going back to Croker with our bad performance out of the way

Not sure how we managed a draw out of that, we were second best for most of the game. We basically got the result off the back of 2 bad kick outs. Too many players below par and it was Rian O'Neill and Turbitt that dragged us back into it.

It's a massive result going forward though but if we play like that again we're going nowhere.

Quote from: yellowcard on June 16, 2024, 03:38:43 PMNot sure how we managed a draw out of that, we were second best for most of the game. We basically got the result off the back of 2 bad kick outs. Too many players below par and it was Rian O'Neill and Turbitt that dragged us back into it.

It's a massive result going forward though but if we play like that again we're going nowhere.
Totally got out of jail but at the end of the day it's the result that matters.

f**k sake. There's no team more capable of pressing the self destruct button than we are.
If we win next week we will surely get Dublin or Kerry for the following week. That is us fucked.
Even after Gleesons brain fart we had plenty of opportunities to win that.

Hopefully that was just a poor all round performance - but obviously Galway are a very good side which explains a lot of that, they outplayed us for 60/70% of that game.

Initial thoughts after that game -
Positives - Rian O'Neill, Turbitt, TK, McElroy, McKay

I've long held doubts about McCambridge, I know he was marking a top notch forward today but he was turned inside out all day. Peter McGrane came through the league with flying colours but is untested against top quality opposition, I thought he got exposed a bit today (& he was skinned v Westmeath on a couple of occasions). Worst game I've seen Forker have, although I had heard this morning he was injured and wasn't playing so maybe there's something in that. Stefan Campbell's levelling point masked another poor performance from him, I thought he was in subbing the sub territory tbh. Second best in MF but we got over the line.

Last free in was a total joke. Honestly don't think a Tyrone man should be allowed  to referee us, not just on today's performance either.

Quote from: J70 on June 16, 2024, 03:31:00 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 16, 2024, 03:27:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 16, 2024, 03:25:36 PMDid Armagh win something there?? 🤦🏼 or just happy it wasn't penalties?

They were very poor until the goal which was gifted to them. They upped it then and fair play to them.

Galway with more injuries could struggle next week depending on who they play. 
Draw as good as a win there but strange to see it celebrated so much.

Galway will be sick.

Straight through to the quarters, most certainly to avoid Dublin and Kerry?

Of course you should celebrate it. Especially as you looked beaten for a large chunk of the game.

Exactly. If a draw done Galway they'd have been celebrating it too

Quote from: bennydorano on June 16, 2024, 03:44:48 PMHopefully that was just a poor all round performance - but obviously Galway are a very good side which explains a lot of that, they outplayed us for 60/70% of that game.

I've long held doubts about McCambridge, I know he was marking a top notch forward today but he was turned inside out all day. Peter McGrane came through the league with flying colours but is untested against top quality opposition, I thought he got exposed a bit today (& he was skinned v Westmeath on a couple of occasions). Worst game I've seen Forker have, although I had heard this morning he was injured and wasn't playing so maybe there's something in that. Stefan Campbell's levelling point masked another poor performance from him, I thought he was in subbing the sub territory tbh. Second best in MF but we got over the line.

Last free in was a total joke. Honestly don't think a Tyrone man should be allowed  to referee us, not just on today's performance either.
Thought McCambridge was alright on Walsh considering, was turned a couple of times but when Walsh is on form he's as good a forward as there is in Ireland, not sure who could come in for McGrane as Paddy Burns isn't an upgrade imo, Greg McCabe maybe?

Rian O'Neill played well, Turbitt too, outside of that, very poor.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 16, 2024, 03:52:31 PMRian O'Neill played well, Turbitt too, outside of that, very poor.
Yeah big improvements needed.

Armagh weren't great against Westmeath either if u look at it.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 16, 2024, 03:55:05 PMArmagh weren't great against Westmeath either if u look at it.
Either were Galway or Derry. Westmeath are a decent team

5times5times

Surely there's a better keeper in Galway than Gleeson? The Hurling keeper perhaps?

Guy is a kamikaze bombscare.

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 16, 2024, 03:48:25 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 16, 2024, 03:44:48 PMHopefully that was just a poor all round performance - but obviously Galway are a very good side which explains a lot of that, they outplayed us for 60/70% of that game.

Thought McCambridge was alright on Walsh considering, was turned a couple of times but when Walsh is on form he's as good a forward as there is in Ireland, not sure who could come in for McGrane as Paddy Burns isn't an upgrade imo, Greg McCabe maybe?

Yes, it's probably over critical. McGrane is a novice at this level as well and will only improve with experience. I'm sure plenty watched it today and thought he was fine.

Quote from: 5times5times on June 16, 2024, 04:03:24 PMSurely there's a better keeper in Galway than Gleeson? The Hurling keeper perhaps?

Guy is a kamikaze bombscare.

I know he should have went long on the kick-out but was the kick-out for the goal not ok? It wasn't the worst. If the Galway player had attacked the ball. He just waited on the ball instead of attacking it full pelt.

Quote from: screenexile on June 16, 2024, 03:25:36 PMDid Armagh win something there?
Thought this is obvious. This Armagh team has snatched defeat from the jaws of victory repeatedly. Today we dug in and did the opposite. Something to be celebrated and will build confidence hopefully.