GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: The PRO on July 11, 2018, 11:19:26 AM

Title: Laois Intermediate Football Championship 2018
Post by: The PRO on July 11, 2018, 11:19:26 AM
The draw is
Mountmellick Gaels v Courtwood
Barrowhouse v The Rock
Rosenallis v Portlaoise
St Joseph's v Timahoe
Title: Re: Laois Intermediate Football Championship 2018
Post by: SCFC on July 11, 2018, 03:28:58 PM
Can Timahoe do it? Been very close for a long time now. Them or Mountmellick for me. And you can never rule out Portlaoise second team.
Post by: Jd on July 12, 2018, 12:15:43 AM
Was down in Stradbally tonight. A very young Courtwood team took Joseph's apart. They could be a good bet especially if they beat mm in first round . I'd only put timahoe and possibly mountmellick ahead of them
Post by: SCFC on July 12, 2018, 03:56:16 PM
Quote from: Jd on July 12, 2018, 12:15:43 AM
Was down in Stradbally tonight. A very young Courtwood team took Joseph's apart. They could be a good bet especially if they beat mm in first round . I'd only put timahoe and possibly mountmellick ahead of them
Maybe. Joes second team aren't wonderful though.
Post by: Jd on July 13, 2018, 12:57:35 AM
Possibly not and Courtwood seemed to have a strong team out ,they even had Donoher playing (excellent too I might add). Joe's maybe have one eye on div 1 final too so were possibly resting a few players
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 13, 2018, 02:27:22 PM
Joseph's were certainly missing Peter Kealy, Tom Kelly and Dan Dunne only came on late.
Post by: From the Terrace on July 28, 2018, 02:25:57 PM
Not sure why club officials from all other intermediate teams did not disagree with mountmellick gaels in this a 2nd tier competition back in February/March when it ratified.
Post by: Jd on July 28, 2018, 11:50:44 PM
Was in port earlier. Courtwood looked lively v mountmellick and did just about enough to scrape home. Probably favourites now but mm will still have a big say in it . They are a very big mobile team. Coss was very good. Courtwood have some fine talent coming true but Niall Donoher was just different class. 
Post by: FiveStars on July 29, 2018, 05:39:22 AM
Well done to our neighbours in Courtwood. Might be a year too soon to win it but I can now seen them in county final day at least.
Post by: SCFC on July 29, 2018, 09:40:30 AM
Was in McCann Park too. Very exciting game that backs up the theory about taking games out of O'Moore Park. Nice crowd packed into the stand makes for a great atmosphere.
Courtwood value for the win alright but I would say Mountmellick will still be favourites for the title. They can improve a good bit I think. Young Kinsella was excellent for Courtwood as was Donoher. Coss and Hanrahan were MMs best players.
Post by: The PRO on July 29, 2018, 08:50:14 PM
Someone said here recently that Portlaoise second team would do well in senior. The team I saw today wouldn't win the junior.
Post by: Jd on August 10, 2018, 12:03:45 AM
Was in park tonight. Courtwood were flying. Very fast and mobile. Timahoe just couldn't live with them. They seem to have a heap of young fellas who can play ball. The lad marking o Connor gat a black card and they brought in a chap who was arguably better. I'd say they'll take stopping now. Gonna be hard for timahoe to lift themselves now after a bad beating
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 10, 2018, 12:57:29 AM
Watch out for Rosenallis . They beat Courtwood last year in the championship and have already given Portlaoise intermediates a big beating in the championship this year . Themselves , Courtwood and Mountmellick are the candidates this year . Timahoe look past it at this stage and The Rock , Barrowhouse and Joseph's intermediates are also off the pace. Three horse race I think .
Post by: The PRO on August 10, 2018, 07:30:18 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on August 10, 2018, 12:57:29 AM
Watch out for Rosenallis . They beat Courtwood last year in the championship and have already given Portlaoise intermediates a big beating in the championship this year . Themselves , Courtwood and Mountmellick are the candidates this year . Timahoe look past it at this stage and The Rock , Barrowhouse and Joseph's intermediates are also off the pace. Three horse race I think .
The Rock won't fear Rosenallis. They mightnt be as good as them but they will get stuck into them. Rosenallis should win though. Mountmellick will beat Barrowhouse handily.
Joseph's v Portlaoise I've no idea. Maybe Joseph's. Portlaoise have their eye on the junior A it seems.
Post by: High Fielder on August 10, 2018, 10:23:13 AM
Is Callally involved with Rosenalis this year does anyone know? I thought he had the makings of a very good footballer
Post by: El Jefe on August 10, 2018, 10:45:00 AM
Quote from: Jd on August 10, 2018, 12:03:45 AM
Was in park tonight. Courtwood were flying. Very fast and mobile. Timahoe just couldn't live with them. They seem to have a heap of young fellas who can play ball. The lad marking o Connor gat a black card and they brought in a chap who was arguably better. I'd say they'll take stopping now. Gonna be hard for timahoe to lift themselves now after a bad beating
Was very impressed by them. The pace killed Timahoe and they couldn't mark most of Courtwood's forwards. The young lads you've mentioned have all come off that very good St Paul's team from the last few years as far as I know.
Be hard for Timahoe to lift themselves alright but one win and they're in the Semi? Luck of the draw now
Post by: From the Terrace on August 10, 2018, 11:28:00 AM
Yeah same as that, thought they moved the ball very well. defensively very good in the tackle & pacey tight defenders. I think they will take a bit of stopping now. good to see the talent coming through.
Post by: The PRO on August 12, 2018, 04:23:50 PM
Was in Ratheniska last night.
Much improved Portlaoise. Brought in the 2 Rafters and Staunton and looked a different animal. No sign of Woolly or Kevin Fitzpatrick. They could have a say yet despite what I saw in round one.
Adrian Kelly very good at midfield. Downey good and last year's minors Mick Dowling and Maher very good.
Post by: Don Draper on August 12, 2018, 09:26:52 PM
Quote from: The PRO on August 12, 2018, 04:23:50 PM
Much improved Portlaoise. Brought in the 2 Rafters and Staunton and looked a different animal. No sign of Woolly or Kevin Fitzpatrick. They could have a say yet despite what I saw in round one.
Adrian Kelly very good at midfield. Downey good and last year's minors Mick Dowling and Maher very good.
Woolie is out for 6-8 week by his own admission. Was Rafter the fella who who Portlaoise went to the DRA for?
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 12, 2018, 10:02:31 PM
There's Jonathan Rafter and Aaron Rafter
Post by: The PRO on August 13, 2018, 09:16:54 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 12, 2018, 09:26:52 PM
Quote from: The PRO on August 12, 2018, 04:23:50 PM
Woolie is out for 6-8 week by his own admission. Was Rafter the fella who who Portlaoise went to the DRA for?
Is that what's known as a rhetorical question?😉
Post by: Toomanygaels on August 26, 2018, 03:54:42 PM
I feel sorry for The Rock this morning. I detest what that crowd you played are doing. They take such a short term view on everything. God only know who they will have playing with them next year if they don't win the intermediate this year.
The way they have jumped in and out of bed with teams underage over the last number of years has been terrible.
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 26, 2018, 04:10:45 PM
Quote from: Toomanygaels on August 26, 2018, 03:54:42 PM
I feel sorry for The Rock this morning. I detest what that crowd you played are doing. They take such a short term view on everything. God only know who they will have playing with them next year if they don't win the intermediate this year.
The way they have jumped in and out of bed with teams underage over the last number of years has been terrible.
Sour Grapes 🍇
Post by: Toomanygaels on August 26, 2018, 04:41:11 PM
Not all. I just think these Gaels teams have ruined Laois football. The likes of Mountmellick would rather get a few players to make up there teams instead of working with there own club players. Pure laziness really.
Post by: SCFC on August 26, 2018, 08:50:06 PM
Quote from: Toomanygaels on August 26, 2018, 04:41:11 PM
Not all. I just think these Gaels teams have ruined Laois football. The likes of Mountmellick would rather get a few players to make up there teams instead of working with there own club players. Pure laziness really.
Be a Gaels team coming down next year too. Clonaslee or Ballyfin.
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 26, 2018, 09:02:03 PM
And you could stick Crettyard Gaels down intermediate aswell looking at them last night
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on August 26, 2018, 09:32:15 PM
Quote from: Toomanygaels on August 26, 2018, 03:54:42 PM

Not sure the Castletown lads explains the 23-point hammering.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on August 26, 2018, 10:26:49 PM
Anyone from the intermediate championship putting their hand up for a Laois call up next year?
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 26, 2018, 11:06:04 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on August 26, 2018, 10:26:49 PM
Anyone from the intermediate championship putting their hand up for a Laois call up next year?
Well from MM you'd have Coss , Hanrahan ,George and Mullins all who have been in around the setup before so I don't know if that means they will be tried again . Keogh the goalkeeper for MM is Brody's backup .The Rock didn't have anyone this morning worth looking at same goes for Barrowhouse . Portlaoise and Joseph's are second teams so no . Rosenallis would be a young side but I feel no one yet up to senior intercounty standard anyway . Fennell was on the panel last year for some of the league but found it tough going. Then leaves Courtwood , well Donoher is on the panel despite thinking of retirement from Laois I hear , some decent younger players that still need to maybe develop for another year or two I feel . Lutrell has been on league and OByrne cup setups but nothing more . Luke Doyle for Courtwood is injured at the moment but I feel he might be worth a look at when he gets back to Fitness . Timahoe have Damien o Connor on the panel already and his cousin Ruari was part of the panel as a sub two years ago . Quigley is injured so I'd say he won't be back .Sean Ramsbottom has been on and off the panel too. Other than that Timahoe wouldn't have much and seem to have gone backwards a lot .
Post by: Downtheroad on August 27, 2018, 12:29:13 AM
Quote from: Toomanygaels on August 26, 2018, 04:41:11 PM
Could you explain how Gaels teams have ruined Laois football. 
Post by: High Fielder on August 27, 2018, 10:25:45 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on August 26, 2018, 11:06:04 PM
Well from MM you'd have Coss , Hanrahan ,George and Mullins all who have been in around the setup before so I don't know if that means they will be tried again . Keogh the goalkeeper for MM is Brody's backup .The Rock didn't have anyone this morning worth looking at same goes for Barrowhouse . Portlaoise and Joseph's are second teams so no . Rosenallis would be a young side but I feel no one yet up to senior intercounty standard anyway . Fennell was on the panel last year for some of the league but found it tough going. Then leaves Courtwood , well Donoher is on the panel despite thinking of retirement from Laois I hear , some decent younger players that still need to maybe develop for another year or two I feel . Lutrell has been on league and OByrne cup setups but nothing more . Luke Doyle for Courtwood is injured at the moment but I feel he might be worth a look at when he gets back to Fitness . Timahoe have Damien o Connor on the panel already and his cousin Ruari was part of the panel as a sub two years ago . Quigley is injured so I'd say he won't be back .Sean Ramsbottom has been on and off the panel too. Other than that Timahoe wouldn't have much and seem to have gone backwards a lot .

The most pointless post ever. Rosenalis and Courtwood alone have a number of lads who are worth a look, and just because you are in a second team, it shouldn't mean you are dismissed. There are lads in Josephs and Portlaoise who with the right guidance could be anything they want to be. I hope Sugrue has more of an open mind than you, and I'm guessing he has
Post by: Don Draper on August 27, 2018, 10:36:56 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 27, 2018, 10:25:45 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on August 26, 2018, 11:06:04 PM

The most pointless post ever. Rosenalis and Courtwood alone have a number of lads who are worth a look, and just because you are in a second team, it shouldn't mean you are dismissed. There are lads in Josephs and Portlaoise who with the right guidance could be anything they want to be. I hope Sugrue has more of an open mind than you, and I'm guessing he has
Ah here, if a lad hasn't got it to break into his own clubs first team, what makes you think he's going to break into an intercounty set up?
Post by: High Fielder on August 27, 2018, 10:55:10 AM
I think there are lads in both Portlaoise and Josephs who have potential. Who knows what goes in their clubs or in their private life, but I certainly wouldn't discard them out of hand. A good coach will spot things that others have missed and Sugrue in my opinion has that ability. I would say the door is open in both those clubs to any player to make the step up, and I'm aware of more than one example in both where they are waiting for a lad to show them the real extent of their ability
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 27, 2018, 11:12:00 AM
I personally think that if you can't make your clubs first team then how can you make an intercounty setup. You'd have to break onto your first team anyway then see where that takes ye
Post by: High Fielder on August 27, 2018, 11:22:00 AM
You as good as wrote off the entire Intermediate grade, so forgive me if I don't follow your lead. You made no mention of Aaron Dowling in the Rock, Eoin Dunne in Rosenalis, O'Flynn in Courtwood and many others. Rosenalis and Courtwood alone could have a number of lads putting their hand up`this year. Try to keep an open mind and not be so dismissive
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 27, 2018, 11:31:42 AM
Forgot to mention Eoin Dunne from Rosenallis . Aaron Dowling hardly got a kick yesterday for the rock and struggled with Laois this year especially after the O'Byrne cup . As I said some of the Courtwood lads are very young and haven't been properly tested yet so we will see how they progress . I named a number of players from Mountmellick , Timahoe and one or two from Courtwood and Rosenallis so your wrong in saying I wrote off the entire grade .
Post by: Don Draper on August 27, 2018, 11:34:05 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 27, 2018, 11:22:00 AM
You as good as wrote off the entire Intermediate grade, so forgive me if I don't follow your lead. You made no mention of Aaron Dowling in the Rock, Eoin Dunne in Rosenalis, O'Flynn in Courtwood and many others. Rosenalis and Courtwood alone could have a number of lads putting their hand up`this year. Try to keep an open mind and not be so dismissive
Nobody wrote off the Intermediate grade, well I didnt anyway. I'd expect any lad who makes an intercounty set up, to have the intestinal fortitude to make his own clubs adult side first.

The ones you mentioned are all playing for their clubs first team.
Post by: High Fielder on August 27, 2018, 11:39:00 AM
I wasn't addressing you Don and I didn't see any of those names mentioned above in the original post which was just listing what we already know. A lad can go from Intermediate to Senior and then County in the blink of an eye. He might only be in Intermediate for developmental reasons. I have no doubt that Dowling in Portlaoise for instance will fall into that category eventually.
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 27, 2018, 11:50:00 AM
Gary Saunders might alright High Fielder  but I think Dowling is very very very small especially for intercounty
Post by: Laoiseabu on August 27, 2018, 12:01:21 PM
But I will admit high fielder there are some lads in some clubs in Laois who are totally written off at club level even and with the right guidance would be way better than some of their fellow players starting  in their club teams . That sort of carry on is a serious waste .
Post by: Jd on August 27, 2018, 08:26:36 PM
While I can see why some would say that the Gaels have been bad for senior football I'd say that's it's the way they're set up is the problem. I'd suggest that a Gaels team should be a senior football club amalgamated with an intermediate/ junior football club from the same parish or at least sharing a boundary.lower ranked team still playing in their own championship aswell. Where hurling clubs are involved it seems to be that the hurlers just come and play when available. That's something you'll get away with at lower levels but for top class football as with hurling your touch and eye have to be perfect otherwise you're in bother. If I was training all year and a fella who's first love is hurling for a nearby club dropped in for championship I  reckon I'd be seriously aggrieved thus causing friction within the group. Maybe if hurling clubs became involved with junior/intermediate clubs and the Gaels situations were for two football clubs it might work better. I'm not in any way shape or form anti hurling by the way and apologies if I have been clumsy with the way I've explained my thoughts
Post by: SCFC on September 14, 2018, 02:21:53 PM
Semis tomorrow.
Mountmellick should have enough for Rosenallis. The other one could be very tight. Maybe Courtwood could edge it but Portlaoise have a good record in this grade and possibly should have won it last year.
Post by: From the Terrace on September 14, 2018, 05:22:42 PM
i dont think theres much between any of these teams, will be decent games hopefully. Hopefully john sugrue will be in attendance this is where he'll find out about whether players good enough for intercounty.
Post by: The PRO on September 16, 2018, 09:19:30 AM
As expected comfortable enough for the 2 favourites yesterday.
Portlaoise gave Courtwood a decent test but were second best throughout. Mountmellick Castletown 😉 were more impressive in the second game. James Mullaney at 11 the standout player. Reddin at 7 and Coss midfield both great too.
Post by: From the Terrace on September 16, 2018, 03:19:32 PM
Hoped for more competitive games tbh. Mountmellick gaels have this won imo.
Post by: Jd on September 17, 2018, 01:17:57 PM
I've said Courtwood all along and am going to stay with them, they were only good in this match and still held a strong Portlaoise side at arms length. I have seen them at full cry and they are a very good team. Mountmellick had way too much for rosenallis and were at probably no more than half pace. Can't figure out what happened to rosenallis but they were very poor. Still the mm keeper made three or four great saves and stopped a penalty so if they offer up chances like that to Courtwood they could be in trouble. Mountmellick will be favourites but I think if Donoher is as good as he has been all year then Courtwood will sneak it
Post by: High Fielder on September 17, 2018, 01:44:38 PM
The Portlaoise Intermediates gave the most timid performance of the weekend. In a county like ours, and with so many Senior teams, it amazes me that Portloiase haven't got a second senior team. I'd go as far as to say that there is a failure within the club if they can't achieve this. I think we can all accept that Portlaoise are not for splitting (I certainly don't want that anyway) but we as a county do need more from them. They are after all the biggest club in Laois by far. This isn't meant as a criticism of Portlaoise, but I think it is obvious that their Intermediate team are under achieving. I also think they have players who are more than capable of playing Senior, but for whatever reason don't. From what I saw against Courtwood, there wasn't one player capable of making the step up, and that can't be right. No pressure at all on the first team. If no pressure is coming from within, and there's little coming from the rest of the county, you would wonder how Portlaoise can improve. I think they need to do something, because for whatever reason, they're not catching the imagination of their own players, or for that matter, their own town. Again, no offence intended.
Post by: Jd on September 18, 2018, 11:40:27 AM
There's no need to split Portlaoise just form a new club at the northern end. I heard a disturbing fact that the primary school up that end of town has over 700 pupils and not one plays Gaelic games with Portlaoise. Don't know the name of the school.  Small rural clubs have schools with 100 or less yet are in developing ties with all kids and trying to get as many playing as possible. 0 out of 700 is a scandal in my opinion !
Post by: Butch Cassidy on September 18, 2018, 01:51:06 PM
How is that possible? Do they not have a school team?
Post by: Jd on September 18, 2018, 02:33:52 PM
Possibly schools but not with Portlaoise club..... Only got it second hand so maybe it's being overstated but sounds like there's not too many coming from there. Maybe a town member could clarify it cos it sounds unbelievable to me too
Post by: BobbyBoucherJr on September 18, 2018, 05:02:55 PM
Quote from: Jd on September 18, 2018, 11:40:27 AM
There's no need to split Portlaoise just form a new club at the northern end. I heard a disturbing fact that the primary school up that end of town has over 700 pupils and not one plays Gaelic games with Portlaoise. Don't know the name of the school.  Small rural clubs have schools with 100 or less yet are in developing ties with all kids and trying to get as many playing as possible. 0 out of 700 is a scandal in my opinion !
That is incorrect, i know a good few from that school that play with the town
Post by: Don Draper on September 18, 2018, 10:13:59 PM
Quote from: Jd on September 18, 2018, 02:33:52 PM
Possibly schools but not with Portlaoise club..... Only got it second hand so maybe it's being overstated but sounds like there's not too many coming from there. Maybe a town member could clarify it cos it sounds unbelievable to me too
I presume this is Knockmay? It's not 0, but it's at a pathetically low level. Portlaoise aren't serving the town. Moving out to Rathleague meant they basically abandoned large parts of the town. Speaking to teachers working in town schools they will tell you that many students don't know what Gaelic games are and a huge amount have little or no basic skills.

That's where we are. Fixing it will take radical steps.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 18, 2018, 11:17:20 PM
Jaysus if Portlaoise start doing things arseways then I've really seen it all in this county . Portlaoise is our largest population centre and everything has to be done to have as many youngsters interested in GAA as possible, Not just for Portlaoise as a club but for Laois as a county . If Portlaoise stopped producing players it would be a disaster for Laois football and the Laois teams. Portlaoise should be consistently in years to come be producing players of intercounty quality like a conveyor belt in a factory . Also I notice Portlaoise seem to have shocking support at all their games ??
Post by: Jd on September 19, 2018, 08:50:31 AM
Maybe Portlaoise should try employ a full time coach and get into the schools I know it'll cost a lot but the benefits would be huge. I'm sure there's grants from all sources even government would chip in of it could be proven that they were keeping  a definite number of kids away from antisocial behaviour/drugs . Also there's at least two school principals from Portlaoise working in rural schools and pushing football big time. Cyril Duggan has emo school flying and Tommy Fitzgerald had balladams competing well. Hes in a bigger school now in Rath so if a football agenda is pushed in both then st Paul's  and  Courtwood and Emo will benefit. Could you imagine them working in the schools in town and the benefits it would reap for Portlaoise and Laois.
Post by: High Fielder on September 19, 2018, 09:55:02 AM
With roughly a third of the population in the county residing there, it is key to Laois (and Portlaoise) that we maximise the town's potential. I don't think that is happening at the moment. There will only ever be 15 places on the Portlaoise senior team, and it looks to me like those outside of the Senior panel take a rather indifferent approach. I must stress again that I am not interested in splitting up the town, but it seems to me like there is a disconnect between the club and the general population. And that's a hard one to work out because on any given day when there's kids' training, there's an ocean of kids in Rathleague. This is a club to be proud of, so the lack of supporters is puzzling.

I get the feeling from the CB that they'd be happy to see Portlaoise come back to the field because that would mean their own clubs could be competitive. I take the opposing view. Whatever potential is in Portlaoise must be harnessed, and the other clubs need to react in a way that allows them to competitive. The CB and Portlaoise need to get into those schools and start creating interest. Portlaoise as a club need to reach out to their community and get them waving the flag in O Moore Park. They'd be a formidable outfit in Leinster if they could really drum up good support. The side effects for Laois in the long run could only be positive surely?
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on September 19, 2018, 01:40:46 PM
If Portlaoise harness their power and are not split up beforehand then we will have our very own version of Dublin only worse.

Portlaoise needs 2/3 clubs backed and funded by Laois co board and Croke Park. If run properly they would all be competitive and Laois would benefit in the long run. This will need a hardline stance from county board and people who will be decisive and forward thinking. Its a huge project but it has to be done.
Post by: High Fielder on September 19, 2018, 02:00:15 PM
I don't think there is any appetite for that. Portlaoise would resist it and I can't see too many committing to that sort of project. There is however no reason why they can't have two or three highly functioning teams. I think it's pitiful with all their resources that they can't win Intermediate. There are reasons for that obviously, and maybe cash flow is one of them. For instance, do they even have a management team in place for the Intermediate team? The impression I always get is that it's a cobbled together outfit made up of whoever is interested or available. Personally I'd want more from them. In my opinion, there is no reason why Portlaoise can't supply a minimum of 30 senior standard footballers. Laois needs as much as it can get from Portlaoise and forget this notion of trying to bring them back to the field
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 19, 2018, 05:57:05 PM
It sickens me that as soon as a team starts becoming dominant the first question people ask is " ohh should we split them into two clubs" Portlaoise should be focusing on winning a Leinster this year beacause a Leinster title is badly due in Portlaoise ,especially for the size of the club. I can't see Portlaoise being split in two either , Tullamore has one club , so has Naas, it's not uncommon .
Post by: SCFC on September 19, 2018, 06:00:13 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on September 17, 2018, 01:44:38 PM
The Portlaoise Intermediates gave the most timid performance of the weekend. In a county like ours, and with so many Senior teams, it amazes me that Portloiase haven't got a second senior team. I'd go as far as to say that there is a failure within the club if they can't achieve this. I think we can all accept that Portlaoise are not for splitting (I certainly don't want that anyway) but we as a county do need more from them. They are after all the biggest club in Laois by far. This isn't meant as a criticism of Portlaoise, but I think it is obvious that their Intermediate team are under achieving. I also think they have players who are more than capable of playing Senior, but for whatever reason don't. From what I saw against Courtwood, there wasn't one player capable of making the step up, and that can't be right. No pressure at all on the first team. If no pressure is coming from within, and there's little coming from the rest of the county, you would wonder how Portlaoise can improve. I think they need to do something, because for whatever reason, they're not catching the imagination of their own players, or for that matter, their own town. Again, no offence intended.
Just one thing. They don't ever really seem to bother "holding lads back" for the second team. On Sunday they used 20 players and also had Cahillane and Glynn not togged.
If they really wanted to go for the intermediate, they could probably win the senior using 18 players!
Post by: Jd on September 19, 2018, 11:20:55 PM
I talk to a lot of club members in Portlaoise and most of them would have no problems with a second club being formed. The kilminchy project failed cos they tried to set up adult teams before they had juvenile systems in place. Also the lack of a field hampered them big time. With proper planning and support a Portlaoise north team could be formed and start with juveniles. A little bit of success and suddenly people will want to be involved. 5 or six years and you then introduce adult football and then they're up and running. They would have to have a permanent ground and a lot of co board support but it's possible. I remember we brought a team to play an U10 blitz and Portlaoise were involved they togged 3 teams with over 40 lads involved. We had 24 ...... by the time we met at u16 they were down to 18 and we had 22. There's always a drop off but maybe the smaller clubs work harder to keep players than big clubs who have an embarrassment of riches
Post by: redsetanta on September 19, 2018, 11:41:28 PM
People should just look at what Castleknock has achieved to see your answer. All it will take is a few people with the drive and ambition to get a club started and yes you start at the bottom with kids. Jaysus there has to be enough new residents in Portlaoise with young families to do this. Look at the amount of clubs that are started at juvenile level in places like London from scratch.
Post by: Don Draper on September 20, 2018, 01:10:36 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on September 19, 2018, 11:41:28 PM
People should just look at what Castleknock has achieved to see your answer. All it will take is a few people with the drive and ambition to get a club started and yes you start at the bottom with kids. Jaysus there has to be enough new residents in Portlaoise with young families to do this. Look at the amount of clubs that are started at juvenile level in places like London from scratch.
Portlaoise couldnt get officers at the start of the year, where in gods name are a new club to get them?
Post by: Chrimtain on September 20, 2018, 01:28:41 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on September 20, 2018, 01:10:36 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on September 19, 2018, 11:41:28 PM
Portlaoise couldnt get officers at the start of the year, where in gods name are a new club to get them?

In a town as big as Portlaoise, there has to be enough people interested in starting a new club. I would think that newcomers to the town may feel disinclined to get involved in an existing club, but may feel more inclined to do so with an entirely new club.

I have to wonder too, what the hell are The Heath at, and why are they not attracting discarded or disgruntled players from the town?
Post by: Jd on September 20, 2018, 01:34:28 PM
People are essentially creatures who want convenience. If they're living in fairgreen and  they have to travel across town through traffic to get to football then they won't but if the pitch is a few hundred yards up the road then they will try it. As regards officers all clubs struggle but if you have a fresh fella or lady with new ideas they might be more likely to join up where they feel their ideas will be listened to rather than go to the huge club where they feel they may not be listened to or play a major part in running the club
Post by: on the hop on September 20, 2018, 01:44:42 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 19, 2018, 05:57:05 PM
It sickens me that as soon as a team starts becoming dominant the first question people ask is " ohh should we split them into two clubs" Portlaoise should be focusing on winning a Leinster this year beacause a Leinster title is badly due in Portlaoise ,especially for the size of the club. I can't see Portlaoise being split in two either , Tullamore has one club , so has Naas, it's not uncommon .

Same where I live, lots of big towns, one team in celbridge, one in maynooth, one in Kilcock, two in leixlip but both average at best. lot of soccer teams though due to the influence of the blue plague. plenty of teams in the rural areas around these towns though.
Post by: Laois fan on September 20, 2018, 08:50:13 PM
Apart from tullamore your naming towns that dont have a big gaa history and are mainly commuter or rugby towns,newbridge and portarlington are two towns with 2 clubs.plaois for the size its become should have at the very least a second juvenile club
Post by: Don Draper on September 20, 2018, 09:12:36 PM
Quote from: Laois fan on September 20, 2018, 08:50:13 PM
Apart from tullamore your naming towns that dont have a big gaa history and are mainly commuter or rugby towns,newbridge and portarlington are two towns with 2 clubs.plaois for the size its become should have at the very least a second juvenile club
you left out an important point. All those towns are also shitholes.
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on September 20, 2018, 09:42:24 PM
compared to euphoria that is portlaoise ???
Post by: Don Draper on September 21, 2018, 10:55:19 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbbey on September 20, 2018, 09:42:24 PM
Euphoria is a feeling not a place.
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on September 21, 2018, 11:09:08 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on September 21, 2018, 10:55:19 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbbey on September 20, 2018, 09:42:24 PM
Euphoria is a feeling not a place.

touche don, touche

Back to the point, the amount of players Portlaoise can and have thrown by the wasteside is frightening, there should definitely be a second club set up in the town started at juvenile level and gradually progress over a 7 to 8 year period either offer the use of the centre of excellence or make a deal with the school in knockmay for use of their pitch
Post by: Butch Cassidy on September 21, 2018, 12:15:59 PM
Anyone have the % of underage playing numbers in Laois? I'd say the % of underage players in Portlaoise, Portarlington, Mountmellick is very low. Raising this should be a priority!!
Post by: clonadmad on September 21, 2018, 12:54:08 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on September 21, 2018, 12:15:59 PM
Anyone have the % of underage playing numbers in Laois? I'd say the % of underage players in Portlaoise, Portarlington, Mountmellick is very low. Raising this should be a priority!!

In 2017 in portlaoise parish there was over 1100 boys in primary school
Post by: From the Terrace on September 21, 2018, 02:59:11 PM
setup a new thread maybe?
Post by: clonadmad on September 21, 2018, 04:08:55 PM
A lot of this was done inthe future of hurling thread
Post by: O moore parklife on September 21, 2018, 06:13:58 PM
Back to the thread hope courtwood do it.
Gaels in general sits uneasy with me.
Gaels in intermediate is wrong
Gaels needed to prop up a town the size of mountmellick is crazy.
Post by: Jd on September 22, 2018, 10:51:49 AM
I agree . a lot of people on here say the likes of Courtwood and Emo and the likes should do a full amalgamation but Emo won intermediate last year and Courtwood are going well this year. Nobody sees the hard work that lads in small clubs put in for whatever rewards they may get . If two clubs amalgamate then maybe you have 24 or 25 players at senior level but 2 intermediate clubs might have 50. If my club amalgamated and went senior I reckon we'd lose up to 10 players as lads have a perception that playing second team is a step down and it's easy to quit . Huge effort is being put in at underage levels at certain clubs and when they reap the rewards certain clubs just look for an easy way to compete. It doesn't sit well that mm can pull 4 or 5 of the best players in another club and use them against the likes of the Courtwoods of this world . I haven't a clue what the population is out there but I'd imagine it's nearer to castletown than mm. They should be commended for keeping 30 lads going rather than discriminated against
Post by: Unlaoised on September 26, 2018, 12:54:00 AM
Quote from: O moore parklife on September 21, 2018, 06:13:58 PM
Back to the thread hope courtwood do it.
Gaels in general sits uneasy with me.
Gaels in intermediate is wrong
Gaels needed to prop up a town the size of mountmellick is crazy.

I tend to agree go on the wood
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 26, 2018, 08:46:50 AM
I don't really have a problem with Gael's teams,  Mountmellick were relegated as a Gael's team they are entitled to come back up as a Gaels team.  Courtwood had no problem with being part of St Paul's as a juvenile team they were were "Gaels" in all but name.  Whoever wins has to take on a team with roughly 1/5 of the counties population in Senior.  I think Portlaoise are stronger than ever and come County Final Sunday we will all be screaming for Gaels teams.  I think the promotion of the games in towns like Mountmellick, Portlaoise, Portarlington & Graiguecullen is seriously flawed.  I believe as a county this is what we should be thinking about,  asking the question "Why a town the size of Mountmellick is taking the Gael's option"  or "Why don't Portlaoise have a second team or is there an alternative solution".  The reality is at the moment Laois is falling behind at development level and this is where we should be focusing.  I said last year I fear the Center of Excellence will result in the fall of funding from all ready under funded area's within Laois Football and Hurling.  We really need to get our act together with Games Development and fast otherwise all that will be in the Center of Excellence will be teams far from Excellence. 
Post by: Heshs Umpire on September 26, 2018, 11:24:55 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 26, 2018, 08:46:50 AM
Courtwood had no problem with being part of St Paul's as a juvenile team they were were "Gaels" in all but name.
I don't really understand this part of your post.
I actually don't disagree with much else in your post but to be fair juvenile amalgamations and adult amalgamations are two different things.
Emo and Courtwood have been amalgamating at underage level in various forms for well over 50 years now.
There's been teams called St Paul's for over 40 years.
Emo or Courtwood have rarely had enough players for their own separate underage teams so I don't think it's fair to have a dig at what works best for us at underage.
Post by: Jd on September 26, 2018, 11:32:58 AM
Actually none of the rest of the 4 remaining senior teams are Gaels teams. I have posted before about Gaels and I don't have a problem with them at senior but it should be long term with a neighbouring team . Not one of convenience just for getting two or three players . I think MM are playing as Sarsfields at underage and have two or three clubs involved . Are Castletown involved there If MM want to develop they need to keep their own young players going first and foremost. winning an intermediate would give them a huge boost and raise the profile of the game in the town ,But they need to capalitise on it in schools  and with young kids. Your point about St Pauls being a Gaels team is correct but they have been that way for the past 50 years almost and its the same parish. I played them when I was a brat and thats not today or yesterday. we need to get more from our towns than we have been and MM is too big a town to be Intermediate and amalgamated at Juvenile level in My opinion
Post by: From the Terrace on September 28, 2018, 09:18:45 AM
I'm looking forward to this game should be a close one, would like to see the stand alone club win. alan george coming out saying they are entitled to players from another parish is ridiculous.
Post by: SCFC on September 28, 2018, 11:38:14 AM
Quote from: From the Terrace on September 28, 2018, 09:18:45 AM
I'm looking forward to this game should be a close one, would like to see the stand alone club win. alan george coming out saying they are entitled to players from another parish is ridiculous.
The bookies heavily favour Mountmellick Gaels. I think Courtwood are 5/2 or 11/4.
On the Castletown thing, I think it is what it is and at least it's a long standing arrangement. Just seems odd for it to be allowed at intermediate level.
Post by: From the Terrace on September 28, 2018, 11:54:28 AM
just odd george comes out about reddins always playing with MM, fair enough if they were the only 2 players they used. But the two mullaneys playing midfield & centre forward are serious additions. I think the middle 8 players are very strong for MM & should get them home if they play well. The inside line for courtwood is sharper than MM so should be a close one hopefully.
Post by: Jd on September 28, 2018, 12:47:16 PM
It was that way up to now so I suppose it's fair enough that they remain that way despite relegation. They are down for a reason. Their manager has to defend the set up too but my question would be why a town of that size cannot get underage structures in place to stand alone as a club and be a competitive senior club too. Courtwood were probably 5th ranked team this year behind MM Roseanallis Timahoe and Pl but are punching above their weight a bit  As regards the match I think Courtwood might sneak it. Goalies are pretty equal maybe Keogh shades it on stopping shots both fullback lines are good markers with Courtwoods two  corners very big mobile men. Hanrahan is a very good fullback though  George and left half back very good coming forward and it'll be interesting to see both sets of half backs bombing forward at each other  with Flynn and the other chap very quick and accurate. Coss probably swings midfield for MM  but Courtwood won't lamp ball in his direction at all I'd imagine. Half forward lines would rank even except for the excellent Niall Donoher. If George can hold him a lot of the job is done. I said if !! Full forward lines both good but maybe Mullins lacks a wee bit of pace but is a clinical finisher. Courtwoods full forwards are lightening fast and on a big pitch the last day won every ball in front. If they get turned and are accurate it could be a tough day for MM full backs. Don't know about subs so won't  comment. Maybe it's heart ruling head but I think in tight matches a small bit of class could sneak it and I think Courtwood might have a few young lads that will announce themselves on the big day
Post by: Don Draper on September 28, 2018, 01:03:54 PM
Courtwood are on fire this year. A young team playing a brand of football not many who have come up against them can match. I will say that they've been in few if any proper battles this year, to my knowledge. They'll be in a battle here, I still fancy them to come through it though. They'll be worthy winners and will hold their own easily in the SFC.
Post by: Jd on September 28, 2018, 02:28:43 PM
MM have had two or three facile wins coming up to this too and both semi finals were just box ticking exercises. Neither side tested at all. The first match was a cracking competition with the smaller pitch in port suiting the more physical MM team . How both sets of backs deal with the wide open spaces in O Moore Park will decide this and I reckon the smaller faster Courtwood forwards might swing a very tight contest
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 29, 2018, 12:24:33 AM
Mountmellick I think will win this one . Should still be a senior side in my opinion .
Post by: Keyser Söze on September 29, 2018, 09:29:53 PM
Delighted for Courtwood, and delighted for the integrity of the IFC.
Mountmellick are reaping what they sowed.

They have essentially become sellswords, to use a certain lingo!
Post by: Jd on September 29, 2018, 10:42:19 PM
Bit harsh on MM. Plenty of other Gael teams about the county. They will need to look long and hard at their underage set up but tonight belongs to Courtwood. They played some lovely football tonight and MM really had no answer. Donoher is some class player but got absolutely no protection from the ref. As a semi neutral I would suggest it bordered on scandalous what was happening to him.  O Flynn Dunne and the sub Doyle look like seriously good prospects. They'll be comfortable in senior I'd imagine
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 30, 2018, 12:00:39 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on September 29, 2018, 09:29:53 PM

The integrity of the IFC ? a bit of a reach here, nice to see Courtwood win the IFC but Mountmellick have done nothing wrong.  They of course need to work on their juvenile setup.  I was not at the game but sounds like Courtwood have a decent team.
Post by: Don Draper on September 30, 2018, 06:56:00 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 29, 2018, 12:24:33 AM
Mountmellick I think will win this one . Should still be a senior side in my opinion .
Shoulda coulda me bollix
Post by: Blow-in on September 30, 2018, 08:40:26 AM
Well done to Courtwood. Fine wam as will beat 6/7 of the current teams in my opinion. However, they should have been down to 14 men after 10 minutes but well deserving win.
Post by: Keyser Söze on September 30, 2018, 10:08:18 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 30, 2018, 12:00:39 AM

The integrity of the IFC ? a bit of a reach here, nice to see Courtwood win the IFC but Mountmellick have done nothing wrong.  They of course need to work on their juvenile setup.  I was not at the game but sounds like Courtwood have a decent team.

Not a reach at all. Not a Courtwood man, and not an Eddie Kinsella cheerleader, but there is no place for Gaels teams , in grades below Senior. We are a small county, geographically & numerically. A Gaels team like this serves no greater purpose. In larger counties they do.

As regards Mountmellicks underage structure. To suggest that this might be the prod to "work on their juvenile structure" is a joke. They have become a laughing stock for the last 10-15 years. As I said, sellswords. And for what? A barely acknowledged part in a MHC win , and what else in football- fill me in....

You reap what you sow. They have a huge primary school base and their only competition is soccer (played almost exclusively in the off season).

I've been consistent on this, on here and on Laois Talk.
Post by: Jd on September 30, 2018, 04:21:09 PM
Perhaps last night might be a kick in the hole that MM need . They were banking on an instant return to senior and now they are still down they might be forced to take stock and plan a better way forward. I know Courtwood and Emo are amalgamated as st Paul's but that's always been the way and they are two very distinct adult clubs. They seem to be reaping the rewards of the hard work being done there now
Post by: Downtheroad on September 30, 2018, 05:36:06 PM
Quote from: Jd on September 30, 2018, 04:21:09 PM
Perhaps last night might be a kick in the hole that MM need . They were banking on an instant return to senior and now they are still down they might be forced to take stock and plan a better way forward. I know Courtwood and Emo are amalgamated as st Paul's but that's always been the way and they are two very distinct adult clubs. They seem to be reaping the rewards of the hard work being done there now
The better way forward might me joining up with other 2 clubs in the parish and have a proper underage amalgamation.  Kilcavan have one decent crop coming through but apart from that underage  football in the parish is at very low ebb. At under 13 this year, a parish team would have challenged Kileshin/Crettyard  for A title but the clubs had their own teams with Kilcavan in "A" (great achievement)   Mountmellick in the "B" and the Rock in the "C" .  However, I imagine the clubs will  tip along doing their own thing.
Post by: Jd on September 30, 2018, 08:23:51 PM
It would be an ideal situation but will never happen. The Rock won't risk losing players to MM as there is no real division of areas this was seen as recently as last year when they sent players to St Paul's rather than risk losing them to MM. Kilcavan might be more open as their area would have boundaries. Emo and Courtwood are very distinct and there has never been a "poaching" problem. MM should have enough youngsters to stand alone.  there must be a huge school in there. Perhaps the Rock and Kilcavan could then work something out between them. A regular crop of three or four players each year would work miracles for all three clubs but they will have to take a long term view of things
Post by: Downtheroad on September 30, 2018, 10:12:09 PM
Quote from: Jd on September 30, 2018, 08:23:51 PM
It would be an ideal situation but will never happen. The Rock won't risk losing players to MM as there is no real division of areas this was seen as recently as last year when they sent players to St Paul's rather than risk losing them to MM. Kilcavan might be more open as their area would have boundaries. Emo and Courtwood are very distinct and there has never been a "poaching" problem. MM should have enough youngsters to stand alone.  there must be a huge school in there. Perhaps the Rock and Kilcavan could then work something out between them. A regular crop of three or four players each year would work miracles for all three clubs but they will have to take a long term view of things
You have hit the nail on the head as the root cause of the poor state of health of football in Mountmellick Town. There are two clubs  operating in the same catchment area which has led to division and a lot of players slipping through the cracks.  Logically there should be one club something I imagine won't happen anytime soon.
Post by: SCFC on October 01, 2018, 06:15:10 AM
Good enough standard of a final in fairness.
Mountmellick just hadn't the firepower that Courtwood had. Struggled all night to score from play whereas Courtwood were far more fluid and only for Keogh's shotstopping ability and Luttrell's off night on the frees, it might have been a rout.
I've heard it said that MM should walk the intermediate next year but I'm not so sure. Particularly if the Castletown thing gets the bullet as rumoured.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on October 01, 2018, 12:51:32 PM
One thing that should be said about the final is - ah here, no, feck it, YYYYYYEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!
Sorry. 🙂
Post by: High Fielder on October 01, 2018, 12:55:03 PM
Fair play to your lads Hesh. Lovely to see. Good luck in Leinster and Senior next year. A great achievement in fairness.
Post by: Jd on October 01, 2018, 01:05:48 PM
You still drunk Hesh...... Jasus you were great entertainment in the last few mins. Nervous as a bag of cats and I could see that from the back of the stand. Well done Courtwood a fine little club that always thinks big and a good supplier of county players down the years too
Post by: Don Draper on October 01, 2018, 01:31:45 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on October 01, 2018, 12:51:32 PM
One thing that should be said about the final is - ah here, no, feck it, YYYYYYEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!
Sorry. 🙂
I'd say The Fishermans Monday Club is at bursting point today.
Post by: Jd on October 01, 2018, 06:04:22 PM
Think the establishment  of choice  is the final  furlong  there Don....... Might tip over myself  later
Post by: Helix on October 01, 2018, 08:21:16 PM
Quote from: Jd on October 01, 2018, 06:04:22 PM
Think the establishment  of choice  is the final  furlong  there Don....... Might tip over myself  later

The Airport green bus would be handy from Portlaoise for the final furlong ;) Hopefully Courtwood give leinster a good rattle!
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 01, 2018, 08:34:46 PM
its longwood  from Meath or the winners of the louth final they are playing in Leinster
Post by: Heshs Umpire on October 01, 2018, 08:37:41 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 01, 2018, 01:31:45 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on October 01, 2018, 12:51:32 PM
Sorry. 🙂
I'd say The Fishermans Monday Club is at bursting point today.
Jd is right there Don. The Fisherman's is our version of a tourist trap. The Furlong is the spit and sawdust that we're used to.🙂
Post by: The PRO on October 01, 2018, 11:55:37 PM

I was glad Courtwood won too but I can understand what Mountmellick did.
They always had the Reddins. Next thing as part of the rule that allows the Reddins to play with them along come 2 fine players in the Mullaneys. You wouldn't turn them away.
That said, and I'm almost contradicting myself here, maybe 2 lads from the town would have done as much as or more than Ryan and James?
The main problem, as I see it, is that the 4 lads can't play league and essentially only join the set up in July. Could that pose problems for team morale?
On Courtwood, very impressed with some of their lesser known players. O'Halloran at 4 was the free man at times when MM had a sweeper and was really good. Conor Hogan had a big game on Coss in midfield. But what can you say about Donoher? He was just incredible. Eoin George will be having nightmares about him.
Courtwood in senior next year? Not so sure they'll be the instant success some seem to think. Massive step up for a very young team. We shall see. I doubt it's on their minds tonight!
Post by: jimbob2 on October 03, 2018, 08:46:14 PM
Mountmellick primary school always had a male teacher who was passionate about GAA and drove the passion for years and produced a lot of top under-age teams, in my day it was the great Kerry man Mick Lenihan. Now most primary school teachers are female and less interested in GAA and not just in mountmellick. Add health an safety to the mix and a lot of Principles get nervous about letting children be children, we got to play before school started at dinner break and in the evening some times in a confined concrete yard that wouldn't be allowed now.. Success drives a club and a County and courtwood got a good mix of young and experienced players committed under a former Laois trainer who played a huge part in their sharpness this year, the best of luck to them in Leinster.
Post by: Dwayne Johnston on October 03, 2018, 11:45:48 PM
Well done to Courtwood, shows what can be done when a club puts the work into their juveniles. Mountmellick seemed to have no game plan for their forwards. The primary school in mountmellick has over 240 boys and so should have roughly 60 u12s each year and yet they're still only competing at B level. The county board must intervene as the club themselves seem to lack any ambition to compete at the top.
Post by: Don Draper on October 04, 2018, 06:30:49 AM
Quote from: Dwayne Johnston on October 03, 2018, 11:45:48 PM
Well done to Courtwood, shows what can be done when a club puts the work into their juveniles. Mountmellick seemed to have no game plan for their forwards. The primary school in mountmellick has over 240 boys and so should have roughly 60 u12s each year and yet they're still only competing at B level. The county board must intervene as the club themselves seem to lack any ambition to compete at the top.
Surely if anyone is biased when it comes to Mountmellick, then it's The Rock?
Post by: Jd on October 04, 2018, 10:10:22 AM
Only 240 kids in mm  primary  school??,
Over 400 in Killenard and 600 in Port Emo have 200 + and Ruth over 200.  Not the  clubs fault but are kids going to outlying  schools such as the rock and ballyfin  or something.
Post by: clonadmad on October 04, 2018, 10:18:09 AM
Quote from: Jd on October 04, 2018, 10:10:22 AM
Only 240 kids in mm  primary  school??,
Over 400 in Killenard and 600 in Port Emo have 200 + and Ruth over 200.  Not the  clubs fault but are kids going to outlying  schools such as the rock and ballyfin  or something.

I think he said 240 Boys
Post by: Turnofpace88 on October 04, 2018, 12:59:41 PM
Should still be stronger and be able to produce at least some A teams at underage level they don't have a lot coming through by the looks of it to prop up their intermeidate team which could get them stuck in the grade like Timahoe!
Post by: Jd on October 04, 2018, 01:19:30 PM
I stand corrected 😴
Post by: From the Terrace on October 05, 2018, 02:17:15 AM
Courtwood were brilliant. Created great scores were great to watch. Oflynn is a serious talent. Was impressed with dunne & cian Doyle too sharp forwards. Augers well for laois football. Really impressed these young lads worked there scores instead of shooting from stupid angles.
Post by: Jd on October 05, 2018, 10:09:08 AM
Was that Luke Doyle  who was  brought  on at the very end.  He's a serious footballer  but is always getting injured.  Hope he's  fixed now cos he'll  be a serious  asset to courtwood  in the senior  next year. Almost  county standard  before injury maybe things aren't  so grim as we thought in regards  to lads coming  through for county  panels from underage
Post by: Laois Rising on October 05, 2018, 11:34:55 AM
I think a bit of perspective is needed. These lads are all fine footballers but the litmus test is when they face a Portlaoise side in championship football. Too many players have been talked up this year as potential county standard only to be blown away by their direct marker when they faced Portlaoise in the championship. What this year's championship has shown that there are plenty of good footballers in Laois at senior and intermediate level but very few outstanding or really top level footballers. You'd be hoping that a couple of these lads will be able to make the step up with proper coaching and exposure to high level football. At present our club championship doesn't provide this-reason why I hope the regional competition starting in a few weeks really takes off. The only way of truly progressing players is by playing games regularly at a higher competitive level. If players and clubs buy into it it has huge potential for player development.       
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 05, 2018, 12:04:47 PM
Laois Rising u hit the nail on the head. Good post
Post by: Heshs Umpire on October 05, 2018, 10:29:06 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on October 05, 2018, 11:34:55 AM
I think a bit of perspective is needed. These lads are all fine footballers but the litmus test is when they face a Portlaoise side in championship football. Too many players have been talked up this year as potential county standard only to be blown away by their direct marker when they faced Portlaoise in the championship. What this year's championship has shown that there are plenty of good footballers in Laois at senior and intermediate level but very few outstanding or really top level footballers. You'd be hoping that a couple of these lads will be able to make the step up with proper coaching and exposure to high level football. At present our club championship doesn't provide this-reason why I hope the regional competition starting in a few weeks really takes off. The only way of truly progressing players is by playing games regularly at a higher competitive level. If players and clubs buy into it it has huge potential for player development.     
Can't disagree with much of that but at the same time you can't stop people trying to identify a lad or two that might be capable of the step up. Isn't it a part of what we all are, that hope that there's a few diamonds in the rough out there waiting to be discovered.