Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on May 02, 2022, 12:27:20 AM

Title: Tea
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 02, 2022, 12:27:20 AM
Help me out here. This is a genuine question. But what the hell is the big attraction to tea?

As far as I'm concerned it looks awful, tastes awful, smells awful, and burns your tongue so it hurts for days afterwards. So why do so many Irish people worship the stuff? Why do they drink it like water?

I was at my auntie's a few months ago and of course I went through the usual ritual of explaining that no, I really, honestly don't want any tea. Yes, water's fine. She said "that sounds awful that, a glass of cold water." Later when she topped me up, she topped me up with hot water from the kettle. I had to pour it down the sink and pour me a cold glass of water. She could not believe the evidence in front of her eyes that this, the most ordinary thing in the world, was all I wanted to drink.

When I'm thirsty I just pour a glass of water and drink it. Job done in a few seconds. When my dad gets thirsty he seems to go through this big elaborate ritual involving a kettle, a tea bag, milk, a teaspoon, and having to sit down for five minutes to drink the stuff. Even on a hot day.

I just don't get it. What is it about this beverage that people find so alluring?
Title: Re: Tea
Post by: Substandard on May 02, 2022, 01:34:41 AM
Have to say I'm a huge fan of tea, and drink probably far too much of it, with a spoon of sugar each time, but as the auld fella has to check his blood daily, now and again I do, and thus far no problems.
For me, I grew up with two grandparents in the house, and two down the road.  Last thing before leaving either house was to have tea, and first thing entering the house was, yep, 'pon da kittel!'  I also think it's something psychological for me- there'd be a history of drink problems across both sides of the family, and I've always had a fear of becoming an alcoholic, so I think tea substitutes for cravings.
It's always been a social thing, anyone that comes into the house has to have tea or coffee, so like the situation you've described with your aunt, we find ourselves completely at a loss when someone doesn't partake!!
The time the water meters were being installed,  the auld lad was wondering about getting the gun, while the auld lady was fretting about whether to ask them in for tea!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 02, 2022, 08:13:12 AM
Love my tea, one in the morning, then lunchtime and maybe if I've time one in the afternoon, I've another at 9ish at night. Can't have coffee at all for some reason
Post by: imtommygunn on May 02, 2022, 10:32:58 AM
I feel the same about coffee. I don't understand what the fuss is as I don't like it at all.
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2022, 10:44:19 AM
Fun fact: Early explorers of the Americas sent tea back home to their friends and relations. Some recipients didn't know what to do with it and actually ate it on toast.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on May 02, 2022, 11:12:26 AM
'Nowadays people don't realise that the art of tea making, and elaborate discussions about various blends of tea we're not just inane murmurings; they we're a complex form of punctuation during emotionally difficult narratives'
Post by: The Subbie on May 02, 2022, 11:17:28 AM
Don't understand and am suspicious of someone that doesn't like a drop of tay !

I would drink 4 or 5 cups of tay a day , easily
Partial to a coffee in the morning as well but I leave the coffee intake in single figures
Tay is different though , multiple cups per day or I'd be in bad form

If I go away for a few days I'll take a few tay bags with me so I can ensure the correct tay is drank
There is nothing worse than a bad cup of tay and nothing better than a good cup of tay !
Post by: An Watcher on May 02, 2022, 11:24:40 AM
Wouldn't be a fan of the coffee myself and would have no interest in finding out the attraction.  The cost alone would put me off!
Post by: Main Street on May 02, 2022, 03:52:37 PM
Tea and internet access are non negotiable. I go for loose leaf, the stuff that isn't dyed also Earl Grey. Easily one litre a day.

One of the best things I ever did was to stop drinking coffee, now I can't even drink one cup of it.
Post by: Rossfan on May 02, 2022, 04:04:14 PM
Ya can't bate a good pot of leaf tay.
Barry's for me every time.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 02, 2022, 04:05:26 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 02, 2022, 12:27:20 AM
Help me out here. This is a genuine question. But what the hell is the big attraction to tea?

As far as I'm concerned it looks awful, tastes awful, smells awful, and burns your tongue so it hurts for days afterwards. So why do so many Irish people worship the stuff? Why do they drink it like water?

I was at my auntie's a few months ago and of course I went through the usual ritual of explaining that no, I really, honestly don't want any tea. Yes, water's fine. She said "that sounds awful that, a glass of cold water." Later when she topped me up, she topped me up with hot water from the kettle. I had to pour it down the sink and pour me a cold glass of water. She could not believe the evidence in front of her eyes that this, the most ordinary thing in the world, was all I wanted to drink.

When I'm thirsty I just pour a glass of water and drink it. Job done in a few seconds. When my dad gets thirsty he seems to go through this big elaborate ritual involving a kettle, a tea bag, milk, a teaspoon, and having to sit down for five minutes to drink the stuff. Even on a hot day.

I just don't get it. What is it about this beverage that people find so alluring?
Someone didn't use enough milk..
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 02, 2022, 05:28:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 02, 2022, 10:32:58 AM
I feel the same about coffee. I don't understand what the fuss is as I don't like it at all.

Coffee. Now there's another cult I don't understand.
Post by: armaghniac on May 02, 2022, 07:13:53 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 02, 2022, 05:28:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 02, 2022, 10:32:58 AM

Coffee. Now there's another cult I don't understand.

You all sound like great craic.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 02, 2022, 07:27:37 PM
Its seemingly more hip to be into Coffee even though it is rank.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 02, 2022, 07:35:08 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 02, 2022, 07:27:37 PM

It's the people that have those coffee flasks type things that I'd want to run over ;D
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 02, 2022, 07:46:37 PM
People can develop a dependence on coffee much like they do with cigarettes and most smokers and coffee drinkers become very cranky when they go any length of time without them.
Post by: armaghniac on May 02, 2022, 09:00:01 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 02, 2022, 07:46:37 PM
People can develop a dependence on coffee much like they do with cigarettes and most smokers and coffee drinkers become very cranky when they go any length of time without them.

Yes, not drinking coffee turns you someone like a person who does not drink coffee.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 02, 2022, 09:15:44 PM
Never drank tae till I was 25. I'm now 34 and couldn't go without roughly 4 cups a day.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 02, 2022, 11:39:56 PM
Love a drop of tae and it's getting stronger as I get older. Would take 3 or 4 cups a day and maybe 3 or 4 cappuccinos per week out of a lovely wee coffee shop in Armagh.
Post by: Main Street on May 03, 2022, 12:01:00 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 02, 2022, 07:35:08 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 02, 2022, 07:27:37 PM

It's the people that have those coffee flasks type things that I'd want to run over ;D
If it were filled with tea would I be safe?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 03, 2022, 12:53:23 AM
Tea must be like Brussel sprouts. Some people find them tasty, people like me just find them utterly foul.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on May 03, 2022, 12:58:24 AM
If you don't like tea then you need your hard drive checked
Post by: general_lee on May 03, 2022, 09:51:57 AM
I do enjoy a cup of tea and am mildly surprised when people say they don't.
I much prefer coffee but can easily go a day without a cup of either.
Cant stand the aforementioned coffee-cult losers who post endless pictures on their social media of the latest hipster spot to get their fill from - worse than the basic white girl starbucks brigade!
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 03, 2022, 10:38:54 AM
4 or 5 cups for me in a day. All made in the cup nowadays except when visitors. Kids are well on board with the ceremony of it. Milk and sugar to taste. Kettle only way to go and the first part of the ceremony. Couldn't have one of those hot water taps about the place. Lockdown and wfh saw the introduction of the 400 bags sack instead of the 80's. A great job!
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 03, 2022, 09:32:11 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 02, 2022, 09:15:44 PM
Never drank tae till I was 25. I'm now 34 and couldn't go without roughly 4 cups a day.

Same as that, only started to drink it often in my early 20s. Used to drink 5 or 6 large glasses of milk a day previously, but I can't do that now.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 03, 2022, 09:59:47 PM
Working from home. Constantly drinking tea. Literally buckets of the stuff.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 03, 2022, 11:00:14 PM
Tea had no true significance  for hundreds of years and then Bang, along comes chocolate digestive's. Throw a TV into the mix and I'm set for the evening.
Post by: delgany on May 03, 2022, 11:29:39 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on May 03, 2022, 11:00:14 PM
Tea had no true significance  for hundreds of years and then Bang, along comes chocolate digestive's. Throw a TV into the mix and I'm set for the evening.

Hard to beat
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 03, 2022, 11:36:29 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 03, 2022, 09:59:47 PM

Literally? Out of a bucket? Jesus...
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 04, 2022, 03:59:18 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 03, 2022, 11:36:29 PM

Yip, a big ceramic bucket.
Post by: johnnycool on May 04, 2022, 09:03:54 AM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 04, 2022, 03:59:18 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 03, 2022, 11:36:29 PM

Yip, a big ceramic bucket.

Burn the lip off you those yolks.
Post by: The Subbie on May 04, 2022, 09:15:10 AM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on May 03, 2022, 10:38:54 AM
4 or 5 cups for me in a day. All made in the cup nowadays except when visitors. Kids are well on board with the ceremony of it. Milk and sugar to taste. Kettle only way to go and the first part of the ceremony. Couldn't have one of those hot water taps about the place. Lockdown and wfh saw the introduction of the 400 bags sack instead of the 80's. A great job!

Couldn't agree more
Them hot water taps are never hot enough to make a good drop of tay
You need the kettle boiled , the pot warmed , kettle boiled again and away you go

Anyone offering you a cup of tay using one of them hot water tap yokes is not a true connoisseur of tay
They would lack of the necessary levels of sophistication and taste that us true tay appreciators have
Post by: screenexile on May 04, 2022, 09:19:32 AM
We have the big hot water taps at work and they're a great job no complaints about them at all!
Post by: johnnycool on May 04, 2022, 09:23:40 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 04, 2022, 09:19:32 AM
We have the big hot water taps at work and they're a great job no complaints about them at all!

I'm with The Subbie on this one, water needs to be boiling and TBH we'd one of those hot water taps at work and the water wasn't boiling out of it, so the kettle had to be returned post haste.
Post by: Itchy on May 04, 2022, 09:25:53 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 02, 2022, 12:27:20 AM

If employment law did not forbid it, my first question when interviewing a candidate for a job would be "Tea or Coffee". If the answer was Coffee a security guard would enter and drag the heathen out and throw him out the front door. If he said Tea, we'd make a cup of tea and discuss his remuneration requirements.
Post by: ONeill on May 04, 2022, 11:39:46 AM
Have about 10 cups a day. Soaks up the alcohol.
Post by: Rois on May 04, 2022, 12:15:27 PM
Controversial - but I've been drinking decaf tea for the past 2.5 years (two pregnancies and breastfeeding). I don't mind it at all but depends on the brand.
Decaf coffee is nicer though.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 04, 2022, 12:22:25 PM
We are the same. It's been decaf this 3 years and I much prefer it.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 04, 2022, 12:24:09 PM
Uhoh. The decaff crew have entered the convo.

Shits gona go down now 😃
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2022, 12:37:01 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 04, 2022, 12:22:25 PM

You breastfeeding too? f**king decaff!!! lol
Post by: imtommygunn on May 04, 2022, 12:38:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2022, 12:37:01 PM

Solidarity  ;D
Post by: The Subbie on May 04, 2022, 12:39:42 PM
Quote from: Rois on May 04, 2022, 12:15:27 PM
Controversial - but I've been drinking decaf tea for the past 2.5 years (two pregnancies and breastfeeding). I don't mind it at all but depends on the brand.

Decaf tea ??
Mother of God is there nothing sacred in this world?
Civilisation is fucked entirely
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2022, 12:48:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 04, 2022, 12:38:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2022, 12:37:01 PM

Solidarity  ;D

Decaf milk?  ;)
Post by: tintin25 on May 04, 2022, 12:51:19 PM

Moved to decaf and haven't noticed a big difference - even got me ma on it!

It's great for preventing any reflux problems too.
Post by: Antrim Coaster on May 04, 2022, 12:56:11 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 04, 2022, 12:39:42 PM
Quote from: Rois on May 04, 2022, 12:15:27 PM

Decaf tea ??
Mother of God is there nothing sacred in this world?
Civilisation is fucked entirely

Jaysus, be like drinking that Heineken Zero.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 04, 2022, 01:37:37 PM
I just don't get decaf tea or coffee. Surely defeats the purpose of both.

Personally love a good strong cup of tea, brewed in the cup with boiling water and just a splash of milk.
Leave the teabag in until the colour tells you you've got the right strength.
The teapot is only for visitors.

I'd probably have 3-4 cups a day and maybe 1-2 coffee's. Coffee when I'm out, as it's impossible to get a good cup of tea away from home.

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 04, 2022, 02:16:09 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 04, 2022, 01:37:37 PM

Personally love a good strong cup of tea, brewed in the cup with boiling water and just a splash of milk.

I'd probably have 3-4 cups a day and maybe 1-2 coffee's. Coffee when I'm out, as it's impossible to get a good cup of tea away from home.

Brotha from anotha motha 😉😃
1 coffee. 2/3 tea. Tea strong
Had visitors last nite. Teapot came out
Post by: johnnycool on May 04, 2022, 02:42:19 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 04, 2022, 02:16:09 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 04, 2022, 01:37:37 PM

Brotha from anotha motha 😉😃
1 coffee. 2/3 tea. Tea strong
Had visitors last nite. Teapot came out

Young fella would drink tea as well now, so if making three cups would use the pot (saves on teabags  ;)  ) but apart from that it's kept for visitors...

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 04, 2022, 03:40:53 PM
My eldest has just jumped on the bandwagon also but hasnt yet got the idea of takin turns to make the stuff. The little bassa
Post by: Hound on May 04, 2022, 08:18:28 PM
Surprised a few of the tea drinking posters use sugar 😬
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 04, 2022, 08:28:40 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 04, 2022, 08:18:28 PM
I thought sugar in tea was something you gave up for Lent when you're about 8 years old! No need for it.

My Ma had heart palpitations at one stage so the doc put her on decaf as she'd easily have taken 10 cups of tea (milky oul shite) per day. Drank it a couple of times (Thompsons) and it was actually okay but usually Nambarrie the rest of the time. We'd mostly use the pot now as 4 tea drinkers in the house. Boil the kettle, rinse the pot with a bit of boiled water, 3 teabags, top up with boiled water and stick on the hob to reboil and get a good draw.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2022, 08:30:44 PM

Sugar was put in the cup when I was young (teens) then late teens stopped, remember having tea years ago and someone put sugar in, I nearly spat it out!
Post by: Main Street on May 04, 2022, 10:06:37 PM
I use to be a one heaped spoon sugar in tea person but stopped that a good while ago, it took about two months to get totally au fait with sugarless tea but it was worth the hassle in the end.
I'll give up the sugar but drink tea 'til I die.
Post by: PMG1 on May 05, 2022, 01:33:43 AM
What's the best Teabag? I would be a Yorkshire Tea man, but a bag of 1000 or so on Amazon, tiny bit of milk, steaming hot, can't be beat
Post by: The Subbie on May 05, 2022, 03:35:26 AM
Quote from: PMG1 on May 05, 2022, 01:33:43 AM
What's the best Teabag? I would be a Yorkshire Tea man, but a bag of 1000 or so on Amazon, tiny bit of milk, steaming hot, can't be beat

Lyons or Barrys would be the main choice
Punjana or Nambarrie as well
That Yorkshire tea is a good option if none of the above are available ,as is tetleys
After that we are dicing with the devil as far as I am concerned
Post by: johnnycool on May 05, 2022, 11:59:00 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 05, 2022, 03:35:26 AM

That Yorkshire tea is a good option if none of the above are available ,as is tetleys

Hate Tetleys, Punjana for me up North.

Can't say i've ever saw Barrys Tea up North
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 12:40:07 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 05, 2022, 11:59:00 AM

Our branch in N'ards has Barry's tea in the kitchen, though the girl that works there is from Carlow
Post by: The Subbie on May 05, 2022, 12:47:45 PM

I can get me hands on Barrys tea & I'm in Sydney !

When I was a cub we usually drank punjana or nambarrie - being from Monaghan with a Tyrone mother the shopping was always done north
Barry's wasn't let into the house as it was "blueshirt tea"
If tea was being bought in the south it would be Lyons and only Lyons

I honestly don't think I ever had a drop of Barrys till I moved to Dublin for work at 22/23

Tetleys was a bit of a thing when I worked in England until I discovered Yorkshire tea which is way superior

In the hierarchy of tea tetleys is at the very bottom for me now
But the rock bottom position is reserved for that shite liptons , utter muck
I'll go without a drop of tay rather than touch that stuff
Post by: johnnycool on May 05, 2022, 02:30:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 05, 2022, 12:40:07 PM

Our branch in N'ards has Barry's tea in the kitchen, though the girl that works there is from Carlow

Now you're taking the piss, there's Barry's tea in Newtownards AND a girl from Carlow works there!!

Post by: gerrykeegan on May 05, 2022, 05:50:40 PM
Anyone else love using loose tea leaves? Massive difference to the bags. I've a teapot with a filter. I've two different types of tea on the go but I have a Mullingar breakfast tea which is the nicest I've ever tasted. Can't go near coffee anymore.
Post by: weareros on May 05, 2022, 06:03:16 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on May 05, 2022, 05:50:40 PM
Anyone else love using loose tea leaves? Massive difference to the bags. I've a teapot with a filter. I've two different types of tea on the go but I have a Mullingar breakfast tea which is the nicest I've ever tasted. Can't go near coffee anymore.

Old fashioned way for me.
Boil the kettle
Scald the pot
Add the tea leaves
Add the hot water
Let the tea set
Enjoy in a mug

Post by: Main Street on May 05, 2022, 09:04:52 PM
I'm a proud tea snob.
I buy a kilo at a time, undyed Earl Grey/Assam and use a nylon sock to contain the tea while it draws not stews in the pot. On occasion I'll use bags from Clipper or Pukka.
The tea in regular shop tea bags are colored  also much of the loose tea  and imo that accounts for that taste.
And where is the tea dyed, in unregulated India?
If the colour of the water changes immediately after bag is infused then the tea has been coloured.

What can be done in desperate times, first rinse out the dye from the bag before infusion and use two of them.
Post by: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 03:31:56 AM
Quote from: weareros on May 05, 2022, 06:03:16 PM

Boil the kettle
Scald the pot
Add the tea leaves
Add the hot water
Let the tea set
Enjoy in a mug

Now we are into a different matter entirely
Let the tea set ??
Concrete "sets" ( it actually cures but that's a different discussion entirely)

You let the tea draw
Post by: ONeill on May 06, 2022, 05:54:49 AM
Wouldn't be fond of tea in a metal teapot which is reheated.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on May 06, 2022, 08:42:46 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 05, 2022, 09:04:52 PM
I'm a proud tea snob.
I buy a kilo at a time, undyed Earl Grey/Assam and use a nylon sock to contain the tea while it draws not stews in the pot. On occasion I'll use bags from Clipper or Pukka.
The tea in regular shop tea bags are colored  also much of the loose tea  and imo that accounts for that taste.
And where is the tea dyed, in unregulated India?
If the colour of the water changes immediately after bag is infused then the tea has been coloured.

What can be done in desperate times, first rinse out the dye from the bag before infusion and use two of them.

We use the clipper bags. Got onto their green tea when on a health kick a while ago. Fella I was training with said to get them because the bags weren't bleached. Bought the everyday tea by mistake and never went away from it again. Kids drink a lot of tea so the pot get used a good bit in our house. Going to need a bigger kettle and pot soon to get 5 full mugs out of it.
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on May 06, 2022, 09:36:26 AM
What about iced tea?  Or iced coffee? 

Not for me.
Post by: rosnarun on May 06, 2022, 09:46:18 AM

Boil the kettle
Scald the pot
Add the tea leaves
Add the hot water
Let the tea set
Enjoy in a mug

I get that mullingar tea too, very tasty.
showing my age a bit but Growing up it was not uncommon for  a Grocer to blend his own tea and other places bough big sacks of Team of it and repackaged it under their own Name .
As fpr day to day tea when you dont have time for weareros's teas ceremony  Robertbrt Roberts Kenya blend is the way to Go
make to suit your own taste your the one drinking it .
Post by: Armamike on May 06, 2022, 09:49:08 AM
i Just drink decaff tea.  Thompsons.  Tastes fine to me. 
Post by: tbrick18 on May 06, 2022, 11:59:38 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2022, 08:30:44 PM

Sugar was put in the cup when I was young (teens) then late teens stopped, remember having tea years ago and someone put sugar in, I nearly spat it out!

Tea with sugar (or sweet'ner for those new age hippy sorts) is sacrilage.
Sugar is only for coffee and coffee alone.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 06, 2022, 12:02:40 PM

Likewise.
Tetleys is like dishwater.
Not sure I've ever sampled Barrys!

Ever go to someone's house and they make you a cup of tea and it's pure p*sh? The sort of cup where they've just shown the cup of hot water the teabag as it passed by?
So disappointing and you feel you have to drink it anyway.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on May 06, 2022, 12:06:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2022, 08:30:44 PM

I took sugar up to my mid twenties but I wouldn't have drank much tea then. Stopped it completely and I couldn't drink it sweet now.

For years the only time I felt like it needed sugar was with a fry up but I've got past that one too.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 06, 2022, 12:08:46 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 06, 2022, 12:02:40 PM

Likewise.

Ever go to someone's house and they make you a cup of tea and it's pure p*sh? The sort of cup where they've just shown the cup of hot water the teabag as it passed by?

The ones I want to slap the most are the ones that put milk in first then bag then water!! I mean are they deranged?
Post by: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 12:43:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 06, 2022, 12:08:46 PM

Likewise.

The ones I want to slap the most are the ones that put milk in first then bag then water!! I mean are they deranged?

Yeah couldn't be doing with that at all at all
I'm one of them grumpy hoors that if I am asked do I want tay I'll always say yes then tell you how to make the tay if I think you are deviating from acceptable tay making procedure

Life is too short to be putting up with bad tay
If you are offered a cup of tay always take it

Simple rules that help me thru the journey of life
Post by: tbrick18 on May 06, 2022, 12:46:09 PM
Best thread on here in a long time.

Dainty Cup or manly mug?
Post by: thebar on May 06, 2022, 12:51:46 PM
Love the old tae...had a mug for work but couldn't hold a great pile was up every hour to the kettle to fill er up...woman got me one of them cup flasks tall boy things...some job holds twice as much and you could leave her over night and she would still be warm.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on May 06, 2022, 12:58:39 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 06, 2022, 12:46:09 PM

Dainty Cup or manly mug?

Big mug - can't be getting your finger stuck in the handle of someone's granny's china
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 06, 2022, 12:59:00 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 06, 2022, 12:46:09 PM

Dainty Cup or manly mug?

Small mug. Have 8 o the bastids from my weddin. Its like my wee army. Think ill cry the day the first one goes. Love them more than me wains.

On the subject of yite tae makers the mother in law makes wile milky yite. Went through a coffee only stage while back (i take it black) got offered tae one time says to myself i have her now i have her now, ill have coffee please (forgettin she dont know i take it black) next thing she hands me this mug o milky coffee yite. Gutted
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 06, 2022, 01:29:31 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 12:43:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 06, 2022, 12:08:46 PM

Likewise.

Yeah couldn't be doing with that at all at all
I'm one of them grumpy hoors that if I am asked do I want tay I'll always say yes then tell you how to make the tay if I think you are deviating from acceptable tay making procedure

Life is too short to be putting up with bad tay
If you are offered a cup of tay always take it

Simple rules that help me thru the journey of life

Apparently that is the correct way to make a cuppa. You Darn't argue with the science!!

https://dorothysteas.co.uk/blog/according-to-science-should-you-put-the-milk-in-first
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 06, 2022, 01:40:53 PM
What the f**k does science know anyways? Beg in, piping hot boiling water and give it a good few stirs, I sometime when I'm feeling wild, give it an anti clockwise stir, ya never know it might just activate more leafs

Post by: trueblue1234 on May 06, 2022, 02:03:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 06, 2022, 01:40:53 PM
What the f**k does science know anyways? Beg in, piping hot boiling water and give it a good few stirs, I sometime when I'm feeling wild, give it an anti clockwise stir, ya never know it might just activate more leafs

No one for lemon? 👀
Post by: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 02:42:52 PM

A connoisseur speaks.

Science would do well to pay heed of these words
Milk before tea bag and water is a sacrilegious act. 
Post by: rosnarun on May 06, 2022, 02:44:00 PM

if the water is piping hot and poured directly on the tea  you will burn it and it give off a smoky smell similar to tea thats put on a stove and boiled after its made .
each to their but not how i would choose to drink it .
as for a cup i prefer a China mug so too big that the last of the tea is cold and spoilt
Post by: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 04:05:09 PM
Does the colour of the inside of the cup determine your enjoyment of a cup of tay ?
I cannot handle & now won't accept a cup of tay with a dark colour inside the cup
The inside of the cup has to be white/ light coloured

This allows me to get the milk addition just right
I find a dark coloured mug badly affects the correct milk addition to the tay

Each to their own but I wouldn't have a dark coloured internal cup or mug about the house
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 06, 2022, 04:11:36 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 04:05:09 PM
Does the colour of the inside of the cup determine your enjoyment of a cup of tay ?
I cannot handle & now won't accept a cup of tay with a dark colour inside the cup

Each to their own but I wouldn't have a dark coloured internal cup or mug about the house

Also hate drinking out of too thick a cup! Doesn't need to be fine china but some of those think mugs are a scourge. (First world problems)
Post by: johnnycool on May 06, 2022, 04:17:02 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 06, 2022, 04:11:36 PM

Also hate drinking out of too thick a cup! Doesn't need to be fine china but some of those think mugs are a scourge. (First world problems)

Hate drinking tae out of those thermosy cups with the wee slit in the lid, can't stand them, plus there's always a plasticy taste off the tae..
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on May 06, 2022, 06:41:11 PM

Yorkshire definitely the best for me. By some distance.

Tetley is muck. Utter muck. As a one off experience its... tolerable. But if you've a rake of them your sickened of the taste after mug 2.

Post by: ONeill on May 06, 2022, 06:52:19 PM
Always liked tea best at wakes. Tea at a wedding or a celebration is too tame.
Post by: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 09:55:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 06, 2022, 06:52:19 PM

Wake tay is a tricky one
Proddy wakes are a nervous affair for me when it comes to tay
Violet and Primrose usually don't appreciate an uppity taig like me coming into the scullery at the wake ( usually a neighbours ) giving them instructions on how to make tay the taigy way and not be miserable with the tay ( usually tetleys or nambarrie) and to let it f**king draw
It can sometimes defeat the purpose of going to the wake in the first place
Violet & Primrose can sometimes take a lot of educating about tay & that reusing tay bags , whilst frugal & yes aligns with the strict Calvinist way you were reared just isn't civilised
Let the tay f**king draw

Our own wakes can be equally nervous affairs
If you take a wee look into the kitchen & you see & know the people in the kitchen making the tay & you are comfortable with & have prior experience of their tay then it's ok , but still necessary to watch the next tay pot being poured
You might have to tell them
" ah leave me to the end of that pot" but that would usually be it
When You say that  at at a wake you do see the other tay connoisseurs look at you knowingly in kinship

You can't relax however at a wake
You can be badly caught if an Aunty from Dublin or God forbid England has landed & is trying to do her bit and help in the kitchen ( obviously a married in one , locals should be more than capable  for tay duty )
Allowing unqualified people near the tay at a wake could turn a wake into a very sad affair indeed
Post by: ONeill on May 06, 2022, 10:56:46 PM
I wonder if the solution to all that is to bring your own flask.
Post by: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 11:27:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 06, 2022, 10:56:46 PM
I wonder if the solution to all that is to bring your own flask.

Depends.
Some wakes if you know who is making the tay you mightn't need to
Others you would
Text messages nowadays take a lot of the guesswork out of these things
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 07, 2022, 11:55:40 AM
At wakes I tend to make my own tea, and finger touch the biscuits just in case they are soft... nothing worse than lovely cuppa and bite into a soft biscuit
Post by: Tubberman on May 07, 2022, 12:57:21 PM

100% correct and right!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 09, 2022, 01:26:54 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 09:55:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 06, 2022, 06:52:19 PM

Wake tay is a tricky one
Proddy wakes are a nervous affair for me when it comes to tay
Violet and Primrose usually don't appreciate an uppity taig like me coming into the scullery at the wake ( usually a neighbours ) giving them instructions on how to make tay the taigy way and not be miserable with the tay ( usually tetleys or nambarrie) and to let it f**king draw
It can sometimes defeat the purpose of going to the wake in the first place
Violet & Primrose can sometimes take a lot of educating about tay & that reusing tay bags , whilst frugal & yes aligns with the strict Calvinist way you were reared just isn't civilised
Let the tay f**king draw

Our own wakes can be equally nervous affairs
If you take a wee look into the kitchen & you see & know the people in the kitchen making the tay & you are comfortable with & have prior experience of their tay then it's ok , but still necessary to watch the next tay pot being poured
You might have to tell them
" ah leave me to the end of that pot" but that would usually be it
When You say that  at at a wake you do see the other tay connoisseurs look at you knowingly in kinship

You can't relax however at a wake
You can be badly caught if an Aunty from Dublin or God forbid England has landed & is trying to do her bit and help in the kitchen ( obviously a married in one , locals should be more than capable  for tay duty )
Allowing unqualified people near the tay at a wake could turn a wake into a very sad affair indeed

Quality!
Post by: Gmac on May 09, 2022, 04:55:34 AM
A nice cup of tea after Sunday mass can't be beaten .
Post by: rosnarun on May 09, 2022, 02:31:33 PM
on one of our first dates i bought the woman a dulux color sample sheet and pointed out what the color of team  i expected ,
so far after 10 years she still there
Important to get you spake in early
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 09, 2022, 03:10:44 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 09, 2022, 02:31:33 PM
on one of our first dates i bought the woman a dulux color sample sheet and pointed out what the color of team  i expected ,
so far after 10 years she still there
Important to get you spake in early

I tried the same. And to be fair the colour is fine now. Once the swelling goes it'll be all good!!

Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 09, 2022, 06:18:23 PM
Here's another thing I don't understand. The furrowed brow before every sip, as if you're bracing for something painful, followed by the awful slurping sound. Or chomping on the bread for over a minute with the cup poised under the chin, ready for the slurp. What's up with that?

I mean, why drink something that hurts the inside of your mouth because it's so hot? I've tried hot drinks a few times, but I find them physically painful to drink. What am I missing?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2022, 06:24:27 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 09, 2022, 06:18:23 PM
Here's another thing I don't understand. The furrowed brow before every sip, as if you're bracing for something painful, followed by the awful slurping sound. Or chomping on the bread for over a minute with the cup poised under the chin, ready for the slurp. What's up with that?

I mean, why drink something that hurts the inside of your mouth because it's so hot? I've tried hot drinks a few times, but I find them physically painful to drink. What am I missing?

Apart from the obvious?

Tea is good for the soul, embrace it.

Post by: trueblue1234 on May 09, 2022, 06:32:31 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 09, 2022, 06:18:23 PM

Milk from the sound of it.
Post by: weareros on May 09, 2022, 07:40:22 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 06, 2022, 03:31:56 AM

Boil the kettle
Scald the pot
Add the tea leaves
Add the hot water
Let the tea set
Enjoy in a mug

Now we are into a different matter entirely
Let the tea set ??
Concrete "sets" ( it actually cures but that's a different discussion entirely)

You let the tea draw

Yes let it draw but let it set as in let the tea leaves settle before you pour from the teapot. Unless you are into reading the tay leaves as some are wont and like to see a good lot swirling around in the last sup.