Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longrunsthefox on November 01, 2009, 02:36:46 PM

Title: Sunday World hanging front page
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 01, 2009, 02:36:46 PM
I picked up the Sunday World off the shelf this morning and it had a photograph of a man hanging from a bridge on the Belfast to Bangor Road. I thought it was an absolutely disgusting, tasteless pic to put on the front page (or any page) especially as this unfortunate soul must have relatives and friends here. First time in my life I complained to the Press Complaints Commision. I thought it was shocking and no need to show that.  Any thoughts?....
Title: Re: Sunday World hanging front page
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2009, 02:41:39 PM
just when you thought they couldnt get any worse
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 01, 2009, 02:51:10 PM
sent shivers down my spine that. I never buy that crap but i was in my da's house and he handed it to me. Couldn't believe it
Post by: orangeman on November 01, 2009, 02:51:59 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 01, 2009, 02:36:46 PM
I picked up the Sunday World off the shelf this morning and it had a photograph of a man hanging from a bridge on the Belfast to Bangor Road. I thought it was an absolutely disgusting, tasteless pic to put on the front page (or any page) especially as this unfortunate soul must have relatives and friends here. First time in my life I complained to the Press Complaints Commision. I thought it was shocking and no need to show that.  Any thoughts?....

Outrageous.
Post by: stew on November 01, 2009, 02:55:53 PM
Anyone that would buy that snotrag after this should be ashamed of themselves, what a callous bunch of cnuts. I can only imagine the agony this mans family are going through.

I hope they get sanctioned heavily for this they should as this is moral decadence.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 01, 2009, 02:56:18 PM
I seen it this morning too in the shop, and was stunned by it. I thought it was a practical joke first of all.

Sickening.
Post by: Aerlik on November 01, 2009, 02:58:28 PM
Very simple...

Complain en masse.

Refuse to buy.  The god of money supersedes the god of ethics

Sue.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 01, 2009, 03:00:52 PM
lets hope no-one posts it on here either
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 01, 2009, 03:03:48 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 01, 2009, 02:56:18 PM
I seen it this morning too in the shop, and was stunned by it. I thought it was a practical joke first of all.

Sickening.

Aye I thought it was a joke at first too, like a dummy for Halloween. Jesus Almighty! It was awful.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 01, 2009, 03:18:21 PM
just seen that as well, that is shocking.
cant believe they would stoop to that to flog a few papers
Post by: stew on November 01, 2009, 03:28:25 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on November 01, 2009, 03:18:21 PM
just seen that as well, that is shocking.
cant believe they would stoop to that to flog a few papers

Sadly I can, I just didnt think they would, surely there would be some legal recourse for the family given the embarassment and humiliation this will cause them, not to mention the stress.

I know it is money i am talking here but a big verdict against the editor and his so called paper might prevent this from happening again.
Post by: down6061689194 on November 01, 2009, 03:32:17 PM
The same paper published a picture of a guard minutes after he had a bullet in his head.

Hardly surprising. Haven't seen it myself, doubt I will too.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 01, 2009, 04:10:19 PM
Its not on the front page of the ones sold in Dublin
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 01, 2009, 04:13:12 PM
Is the Northern edition...
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 01, 2009, 05:28:07 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 01, 2009, 04:10:19 PM
Its not on the front page of the ones sold in Dublin

Its in the middle instead, but it is a horrible thing to print. Remember the outrage in the west when the same pictures were shown by arab tv and newspapers when they hung soldiers from a bridge in baghdad last yr. I no too many families effected by suicide and this is not something they want to see when they open the paper on a Sunday. I will never buy this paper again.
Post by: omagh_gael on November 01, 2009, 05:42:36 PM
This was truly sickening, at least in the Sunday mirror they showed some dignity by printing a picture of the bridge and police cars and mentioned they were offered pictures of the body but didn't feel it was appropriate to print them
Post by: rootthemout on November 01, 2009, 06:03:21 PM
seen it this morning,dont buy paper but lifted it up thinking it was a hoax or hallowen trick,disgusted a paper could print something like that and have it on the front page,had wee one with me and she asked what it was,pity poor lads friends and family,sund world editor should be sacked :(
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 01, 2009, 06:25:15 PM
An absolute rag of a paper. I wouldn't clean my arse with it. They've plumbed new depths here - how would anyone with any sort of moral compass think that showing this picture was acceptable? I can't think of any other paper that would think they'd get away with it. The family should have Jim McDowell (I assume he's still northern editor) over the coals for this.
Post by: Pangurban on November 01, 2009, 06:26:20 PM
This shit-rag of a so called Newspaper has been getting away with flouting ethics, taste and journalistic standards, for far to long. Its past time they were called to account for their behaviour. No on with any self respect should buy the rag. Sadly the editor is aware that there are no standards left in journalism and no depth to which their readers will not sink in search of titillation. We get the press we deserve, god help us
Post by: Square Ball on November 01, 2009, 06:31:24 PM
is there a paper regulator that you can complain to?  Its hard to imagine what that will do to the family and friends of the poor soul in the picture.
Post by: down6061689194 on November 01, 2009, 07:01:07 PM
Seems like they've attempted to copy the falling man

http://www.cbc.ca/passionateeyemonday/fallingman/images/title2.jpg

One of the best images to encapulate an event that I've seen.

Though they seem to have grabbed the wrong end of the stick and plumped for a moment beyond what the falling man represents, something that is just showing an horrific death.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 01, 2009, 07:10:28 PM
McDOWELL is a scum bag

Suicide group condemns newspaper 
Jim McDowell is the editor of the Sunday World
A suicide awareness group has expressed its "disgust" at a Sunday newspaper's decision to print a photograph of a man who had apparently taken his own life.
The Sunday World printed a graphic picture of the man hanging by a rope from a bridge in Bangor in County Down.
The police said there were no suspicious circumstances surrounding the man's death.
The Sunday World editor Jim McDowell said the publication was "not intended to be voyeuristic".
Graphic photographs of the scene were provided to media organisations by a freelance photographer on Saturday.
Malachy Toman from the Public Initiative for the Prevention of Suicide and Self-Harm (PIPS) described the newspaper's decision to print the photographs as "absolutely disgusting".
"I lost my 21-year-old son in exactly the same circumstances and when I picked up the newspaper this morning, my stomach just churned," he said.
"This young man has a family and friends and I would say they will be feeling a hundred times worse than me when they see this photograph.
"Did the editor not take into consideration how they would feel when he took the decision to publish this? Did he not sit back and think how he would feel if this was a member of his own family?
"The guidelines for journalists are clear when they are reporting suicide, that care should be taken to avoid excessive detail of the method used. This has been completely disregarded.
"I buy the Sunday World every week. I will never buy it again.
"I will be contacting the Press Complaints Commission first thing in the morning."
Mr McDowell defended his decision to use the photograph.
He said the body had been in full public view for three hours.
He added that the picture used by the newspaper meant the dead man was not identifiable.

Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 01, 2009, 07:14:30 PM
Seen the paper when I was in the shop there. Absolutly disgusting. Why on earth would anyone publish that, or think their readers would want to see it.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2009, 07:17:44 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 01, 2009, 07:10:28 PM
McDOWELL is a scum bag

Suicide group condemns newspaper 
Jim McDowell is the editor of the Sunday World
A suicide awareness group has expressed its "disgust" at a Sunday newspaper's decision to print a photograph of a man who had apparently taken his own life.
The Sunday World printed a graphic picture of the man hanging by a rope from a bridge in Bangor in County Down.
The police said there were no suspicious circumstances surrounding the man's death.
The Sunday World editor Jim McDowell said the publication was "not intended to be voyeuristic".
Graphic photographs of the scene were provided to media organisations by a freelance photographer on Saturday.
Malachy Toman from the Public Initiative for the Prevention of Suicide and Self-Harm (PIPS) described the newspaper's decision to print the photographs as "absolutely disgusting".
"I lost my 21-year-old son in exactly the same circumstances and when I picked up the newspaper this morning, my stomach just churned," he said.
"This young man has a family and friends and I would say they will be feeling a hundred times worse than me when they see this photograph.
"Did the editor not take into consideration how they would feel when he took the decision to publish this? Did he not sit back and think how he would feel if this was a member of his own family?
"The guidelines for journalists are clear when they are reporting suicide, that care should be taken to avoid excessive detail of the method used. This has been completely disregarded.
"I buy the Sunday World every week. I will never buy it again.
"I will be contacting the Press Complaints Commission first thing in the morning."
Mr McDowell defended his decision to use the photograph.
He said the body had been in full public view for three hours.
He added that the picture used by the newspaper meant the dead man was not identifiable.

What an absolute ****.  I hope heads role, the sunday world have got away with printing some bullshit for years it's time for their comeuppance.

I'm sure the suffering of the man's friends and family has been made 100 times worse over the picture and yon **** hasn't even the decency to apologise or accept he was wrong to have it printed.

How could anyone in their right mind think it was acceptable to print a picture like that or who do they think would want to see it?
Post by: gerry on November 01, 2009, 07:20:57 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 01, 2009, 06:31:24 PM
is there a paper regulator that you can complain to?  Its hard to imagine what that will do to the family and friends of the poor soul in the picture.

uk press complaints (http://www.pcc.org.uk/complaints/form.html)

ireland press complaints (http://www.pressombudsman.ie/v2/pressombudsman/portal.php?content=_includes/complain.php)

take your pick
Post by: Zapatista on November 01, 2009, 07:32:00 PM
Very sad story. Scum of the earth. I beg people never to buy this rag.

Unfortunately it won't have an effect on paper sales. If making fake pictures of prisoner abuse in Iraq didn't damage the Daily Mirror then this will not damage the SW.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 01, 2009, 07:37:32 PM
Surely the logic of McDowell is totally up his ar*e! The thrust of the article was that it was a unacceptable that the body was left hanging in a public place as people could see the poor man and his plight - ie the police etc were at fault. How this justifies letting everyone who walked into a shop today seeing that image is ludicrous. This is not Sammy Wilson running around in the nip, this has been a crass error of judgement and McDowell should fall on his sword. What the deceased must have gone through in his own mind before he killed himself needs no ghoulish, cheap attempt to sell papers by people who neither knew him, or cared for that matter. 
Post by: imtommygunn on November 01, 2009, 07:51:33 PM
Disgusting. The height of irony too - a body was left for hours where people could see it and this wasn't right so to highlight this story we'll show everyone else the body.

Post by: Donagh on November 01, 2009, 08:00:41 PM
Sunday World = Independent News & Media PLC. There are no standards to any of their publications. McDowell will still be editor so long has he keeps selling papers.

Northern Ireland police chief wins big libel settlement from Sunday World

Former Northern Ireland police chief receives record payout after newspaper allegations of expense fiddling proved false

* Henry McDonald
    * guardian.co.uk, Wednesday 30 September 2009 16.13 BST
    * Article history

Chief Constable of the Police Service of Northern Ireland, Hugh Orde

Former chief constable of the Police Service of Northern Ireland, Hugh Orde, pictured earlier this year. Photograph: Paul Faith/PA

Sir Hugh Orde is to receive what is understood to be one of the biggest libel settlements in Northern Ireland legal history. The former chief constable of the Police Service of Northern Ireland received substantial damages over false newspaper allegations that he used public money to fly his son to the United States.

Orde sued the Sunday World over an article it published in May 2007. The undisclosed settlement is believed to be one of the biggest of its kind ever reached in Northern Ireland. Lawyers for the paper's publishers also issued an apology to Sir Hugh at the high court in Belfast.

The Sunday World erroneously claimed that Orde used PSNI funds to take his son with him when he travelled to the US to attend St Patrick's Day functions in Washington. Sir Hugh's lawyer Paul Tweed said his client was "extremely disappointed and frustrated that it has taken more than two years for the Sunday World to apologise for allegations that should never have been published in the first place".

"Not only was the journalist told on two occasions prior to publication that the allegations were completely without foundation, but the journalist concerned was himself in the USA reporting on our client's trip and ought to have been well aware that our client's son had not even travelled with him," he added.

As part of the settlement, which also included Sir Hugh's legal costs, a barrister acting for Sunday Newspapers Ltd apologised for "any upset and embarrassment" caused by the article. "The defendant, Sunday Newspapers Ltd, acknowledges that there was absolutely no dishonesty or impropriety on the part of Sir Hugh Orde in relation to any aspect of his expenses in his position as Chief Constable of PSNI."

Sir Hugh, who left the PSNI last month to become president of the Association of Chief Police Officers, was said by his lawyer to be very satisfied with the "complete and categoric vindication of his reputation".
Post by: Sandino on November 01, 2009, 08:04:16 PM
This is another example of the trash that the Sunday World has become. It was disgusting to have this image printed on the front page; any attempts to justify its use were exposed by the use of further gratuitous images inside the publication. It is time we as a people stopped buying this sh!te! Loss of revenue is the only way to hurt these exploitive scumbags. I feel sorry for people who work for this publication; they really need to look at them selves. I seen this image in a friends house, I have been trying for years to get him to stop buying this rag, hopefully from today he won't, lets hope the circulation plummets. Rant over!
Post by: Hereiam on November 01, 2009, 08:07:00 PM
Jesus lads what is up with all of ye today. I tell u what I have seen worst pictures in the papers. For gods sake the amount of graphic pictures that have appeared over the course of the war with the brits on this island is nothing compared to that. Its not a nice thing to see and I feel sorry for the poor fella but this man could have went to the middle of a woods or whatever and hung himself there. Instead he went to a bridge over a busy road so he surly knew it would make headline news for whatever reason. On another note if it comes out in the papers that this man was a drug dealer or a member of the UVF will there still be the same outrage from this board.
Post by: Sandino on November 01, 2009, 08:11:14 PM
No matter who the victim is this image should not have been on the front page of a Sunday newspaper. Only my opinion but it is one I feel strongly about.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2009, 08:15:03 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 01, 2009, 08:07:00 PM
Jesus lads what is up with all of ye today. I tell u what I have seen worst pictures in the papers. For gods sake the amount of graphic pictures that have appeared over the course of the war with the brits on this island is nothing compared to that. Its not a nice thing to see and I feel sorry for the poor fella but this man could have went to the middle of a woods or whatever and hung himself there. Instead he went to a bridge over a busy road so he surly knew it would make headline news for whatever reason. On another note if it comes out in the papers that this man was a drug dealer or a member of the UVF will there still be the same outrage from this board.
What a f**king stupid post, I think it might be the most stupid I've ever read.

The man went to the bridge, so his family deserve to look at that image on the front of the Sunday world? It doesnt matter if he's a drug dealer or a member of the UVF or anything else. 
do you not think they're suffering enough?

Would you like it if it was a member of your family?
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2009, 08:54:43 PM
This is one of the reasons I do not buy this scum newspaper. There's no morality and anything to increase circulation. I just hope it backfires on them and people wise up to this fish'n'chip wrapper.

I was disgusted when I heard about this today and I can only imagine what this man's family must be going through today. As if they didn't have enough to be worrying about!

I hope the press regulators comes down heavy on the Sunday World and McDowell is shown the door.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 01, 2009, 09:01:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 01, 2009, 08:54:43 PM
This is one of the reasons I do not buy this scum newspaper. There's no morality and anything to increase circulation. I just hope it backfires on them and people wise up to this fish'n'chip wrapper.

I was disgusted when I heard about this today and I can only imagine what this man's family must be going through today. As if they didn't have enough to be worrying about!

I hope the press regulators comes down heavy on the Sunday World and McDowell is shown the door.
My thoughts exactly zig. Good post.
Post by: Hereiam on November 01, 2009, 09:03:02 PM
Fu*k up pints some of your posts in the past haven't excatly been top draw stuff. I give my opinion on this, is there someting wrong with that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 01, 2009, 09:09:43 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 01, 2009, 09:03:02 PM
f**k up pints some of your posts in the past haven't excatly been top draw stuff. I give my opinion on this, is there someting wrong with that.

Could you answer my questions:
The man went to do it at the bridge, does that mean his family should have to look at it on the front page of a paper?
Would you like it if, god forbid, it was a member of your family?

YOu're perfectly entitled to post your opinion, but if you're going to post such nonsense don't be surprised when you're pulled on it.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 01, 2009, 09:27:04 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 01, 2009, 09:03:02 PM
f**k up pints some of your posts in the past haven't excatly been top draw stuff. I give my opinion on this, is there someting wrong with that.
The use of the term F*** Up, usually denotes that you have lost an argument. Fact is, no excuses, but the SW have really F***** Up! and yer man is a ******! Who will be sacked.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 01, 2009, 09:30:32 PM
Jesus!  but this man could have went to the middle of a woods or whatever and hung himself there. I am sorry but that must rank as the most abysmal statement in the history of this board! In his state of mind, the man couldn't care less where he died and I will bet that, in his terms, it was no publicity stunt! Such a crass statement really shows you up as a dim and half-educated moron!!!!! :o
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 01, 2009, 09:46:10 PM
I wouldn't pass much remarks of hereiam as here clearly has not been effected by suicide before so doesn't understand that these people are ill and are not thinking straight. All they are looking for is a means to die and nothing else matters. The Sunday World has scrapped a barrel where no others have gone. They take great pride in uncovering scum bags well they need look no further than their own editor in future.
Post by: Rudi on November 01, 2009, 09:53:42 PM
Was watching question time on the BBC a couple of weeks back, topic was on the article written about Stephen Gately by some rag,all the panelists agreed the article was in bad taste but freedom of press in paramount. I agreed that the article was in bad taste, however I did not feel the press had the right to print such false and insensitive garbage. Have never bought the Sunday world and this latest sad and pathetic effort to sell papers maddens me. Gas chamber for the photographer & editor.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 01, 2009, 09:54:11 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 01, 2009, 09:46:10 PM
I wouldn't pass much remarks of hereiam as here clearly has not been effected by suicide before so doesn't understand that these people are ill and are not thinking straight. All they are looking for is a means to die and nothing else matters. The Sunday World has scrapped a barrel where no others have gone. They take great pride in uncovering scum bags well they need look no further than their own editor in future.
Well said .. I think though that an ap*l*gy on the board from h*****m might be in order. Don't want everyone to think that he is a thoughtless and half-witted c**t!
Post by: Zapatista on November 01, 2009, 10:36:54 PM
I would find it hard to believe that any Irish person over the age of 18 hasn't been affected by suicide.

Never ever pay money for crap like the sunday world. It's hard to believe that this shit tabloid has been read and believed by Irish people for years.
Post by: tyrone girl on November 01, 2009, 10:42:19 PM
Absolutely horrific - sickened me to the core. Sunday World always has been a sc**bag newspaper and always will be but tis a sad day when they think printing something like that will help their sales or whatever - sincerely hope it backfires on them.

Its a sad society and world we live in that a young man and his family couldnt have been afforded a little dignity.
Post by: vav on November 01, 2009, 10:58:39 PM
Haven't seen the image nor do I care to. I can't believe anybody could take such a picture nevermind sell it on to newspapers to make a profit on someone else's death. f**king sc**bag. Then for the paper to print it with no regard for the man's family, friends, community or that of anyone who has been affected by suicide, or even the kids who see it displayed in shops is absolutely abysmal.

Please God the man in the photograph has found his peace. My prayers are with his family now at a time made a million times worse by these profiteering scum.
Post by: Goldengreen on November 01, 2009, 11:15:04 PM
Seen the pic too and read the artical as I too thought it was a joke too to start with. But what I find strange is that it was reported he had his hands tied behind his back, so I would find it strange he killed himself, sounds like murder.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 01, 2009, 11:21:35 PM

Bullshit post of 2009... this man is gone. What about his friends and family who have to look at this? I wonder if it was one of your relatives would you be as supportive of the Sunday Turd. As well do people really need to see that image on the shelves of their local shops?
Post by: mournerambler on November 01, 2009, 11:52:41 PM

You really didn't give much thought to your post or this poor man's family Hereiam.
With a bit of luck you'll get shown the same red card from the mods on this board that Jim McDowell will hopefully get from Independant News & Media Group very soon, I'm totally disgusted by this attempt to sell a so called newspaper.
Post by: Windmill abu on November 02, 2009, 12:19:39 AM
While Jim McDowell may believe there is no such thing as bad publicity and that this photograph takes the Sunday World into the spotlight. Will some of the columnists who regularly contribute (sometimes on a weekly basis) to this newspaper now disassociate themselves from it, or will the attraction of the regular pay cheque and the desire to stay in the media spotlight keep them on board?
Post by: Hereiam on November 02, 2009, 12:24:10 AM
Not defending the sunday world one bit but that my views on the subject. End off.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 02, 2009, 12:49:17 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on November 02, 2009, 12:19:39 AM
While Jim McDowell may believe there is no such thing as bad publicity and that this photograph takes the Sunday World into the spotlight. Will some of the columnists who regularly contribute (sometimes on a weekly basis) to this newspaper now disassociate themselves from it, or will the attraction of the regular pay cheque and the desire to stay in the media spotlight keep them on board?

Good point Windmill... over to you Fr Brian Darcy...
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 02, 2009, 01:08:55 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 02, 2009, 12:24:10 AM
Not defending the sunday world one bit but that my views on the subject. End off.

Actually you were defending the Sunday World a big bit, but good to see that is your last comment on the matter  :o 
Post by: Windmill abu on November 02, 2009, 01:19:41 AM
QuoteWhile Jim McDowell may believe there is no such thing as bad publicity and that this photograph takes the Sunday World into the spotlight. Will some of the columnists who regularly contribute (sometimes on a weekly basis) to this newspaper now disassociate themselves from it, or will the attraction of the regular pay cheque and the desire to stay in the media spotlight keep them on board?

Good point Windmill... over to you Fr Brian Darcy...

I am not willing to put names  to these "Sunday World columnists" as I believe they should have the opportunity to step away from this publication because of their conscience.

And not hide behind their 9 all stars.
Post by: Windmill abu on November 02, 2009, 01:30:35 AM
QuoteAnd not hide behind their 9 all stars.

The more I think about it, I should probably have put smiley faces before and after the above quote to avoid causing distress to anyone who may have been identified by my post
Post by: ziggysego on November 02, 2009, 02:01:44 AM
Point 5 of the PCC code of practice on 'Intrusion into grief or shock'
"*ii) When reporting suicide, care should be taken to avoid excessive detail about the method used."
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 02, 2009, 11:12:05 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 02, 2009, 12:24:10 AM
Still sucks mate! any chance of a Mea Culpa? Probably not ...
Post by: leenie on November 02, 2009, 11:28:34 PM

i think it is truly disgusting and i can only imagine the amount of young people/children that would have seen it either in their own houses or in shops...

Post by: the waffler on November 03, 2009, 07:35:34 AM
Quote from: Goldengreen on November 01, 2009, 11:15:04 PM
Seen the pic too and read the article as I too thought it was a joke too to start with. But what I find strange is that it was reported he had his hands tied behind his back, so I would find it strange he killed himself, sounds like murder

seen the pick myself deff looked like his hands were tied,probably why he was left hanging so long by the cops,have a feeling we might be hearing more on this btw i know of one guy that drove passed it and didn't even notice him
Post by: Sandino on November 03, 2009, 11:02:03 AM
Ziggy, I think that normally means that media outlets are not supposed to name the exact manner of death, the paper seems to have gone well beyond that in this case. However I think I have read somewhere that the only complaint that can cause a real problem for the Newspaper is in fact a complaint from the family of the bereaved. I know that they must be going though a very traumatic time at present but I sure hope that they can find the strength to make that formal complaint.

Also on the issue of the reporting of deaths during the Troubles, it was an abnormal time. As a society we were more used to the images and the aftermath of sudden death. At present we are striving to obtain normality and the use of this argument as an excuse to print this image is sad. What ever one thinks about the printing of certain images lets be clear, this image was used to try to sell newspapers and I find that sickening and intrusive.

BTW, I wonder what will Fr. Brian have to say, he comments on lots of other issues lets hear him on this one!
Post by: angermanagement on November 03, 2009, 12:58:54 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 02, 2009, 11:28:34 PM

i think it is truly disgusting and i can only imagine the amount of young people/children that would have seen it either in their own houses or in shops...

I agree that the Sunday World should never have printed the photo its sums up the paper for what it is, gutter press.

But the only good thing to come out of this is that the problem of suicide is been talked about in the media, the pub, work etc and if it enourages the goverment and the local authorities to throw more resources at the mater the better.
Post by: Sandino on November 03, 2009, 01:24:16 PM
angermanagement, if only that were to prove to be true. Alas i fear it will not.
Post by: stew on November 05, 2009, 05:42:22 PM
 Here is the reply I got after complaining about the Sunday world.

At least they are being forced to apologise.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To: Simon Yip <simon.yip@pcc.org.uk>
Sent: Wed, November 4, 2009 11:03:38 AM
Subject: Sunday World article - "grotesque" - 01/11/09

Thank you for contacting us about the article published in the Sunday World.  We have received several complaints about this matter.

The Commission will first seek to have regard to the feelings of the family of the deceased about the article.  Any complaint under Clause 5 (Intrusion into grief or shock) is likely to need to rely on the views of those who are experiencing the grief, such as family members.  Furthermore, the PCC process can have a public outcome, and we would not wish to act in any way that might add to the intrusion of those affected by the piece.

To that end, the Commission has been in touch with police, who are in a position to represent the interests of the family.  We have made clear our services to them, and will respond to any complaint they wish to make.

I hope you can understand why we are trying to take the family's feelings into consideration in this way.

I should also point out that we now understand from the newspaper that a published apology is to appear in the paper on Sunday, in response to the complaints that have been made.

If you feel that the Commission should still take forward your complaint, with no involvement from the family, we will ask Commission members to consider your submission.  A decision can then be reached about your case.  Please contact us within the next 10 days with your further thoughts, and your complaint will be assessed.  You may wish to see the published apology before pursuing the matter further.

Yours sincerely

Simon Yip

simon.yip@pcc.org.uk

Press Complaints Commission

Halton House

20/23 Holborn

London EC1N 2JD

Post by: stew on November 05, 2009, 05:46:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 02, 2009, 02:01:44 AM
Point 5 of the PCC code of practice on 'Intrusion into grief or shock'
"*ii) When reporting suicide, care should be taken to avoid excessive detail about the method used."

I cited this as part of the reason for my complaint, I cited two parts, although I got a generic enough reply I think that McDowell might finally be taken to task over this and I hope no one on here will buy his snot rag anymore.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 05, 2009, 08:59:13 PM
I got that letter too. Is impressive enough how the PCC has dealt with it and put the man's family first unlike McDowell.