Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: magpie seanie on January 05, 2007, 02:39:25 PM

Title: No Béarla
Post by: magpie seanie on January 05, 2007, 02:39:25 PM
Excellent article here

http://www.guardian.co.uk/g2/story/0,,1983434,00.html .

Should be interesting viewing.
Title: Re: No Béarla
Post by: Flameboy on January 05, 2007, 02:46:11 PM
sounds about right....

i was arrested before years ago and insisted on being dealt with "As Gaeilge" as is my constitutional right, needless to say the Gardai threatened to knock the shite out of me if i didn't start talking enlgish and stop being such a smartarse...
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on January 05, 2007, 02:49:41 PM
ya i heard your boy that made it for TG4 on matt cooper's 'last word' the other day, he had a good chat with him.
Post by: Bacon on January 05, 2007, 02:50:23 PM
Why does that not surprise me Flameboy?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 05, 2007, 02:50:50 PM
He was on the Last Word the other evening and was very interesting.  On a related note a la Flameboy, I recall a drunken night in Shaftesbury Square when we were getting a bit boisterous.  The pretend Gardai told us to cool off.  On of the lads, trying to be smart, started speaking to him as gaelige.  There was quite a shock when he was answered back as gaelige and chucked in the back of the meat wagon for his patriotism.  The funniest thing was the same boy knew very little Irish but he sang a lot of rebel songs on any night out so he must be Irish.
Post by: Flameboy on January 05, 2007, 02:52:44 PM
i was a prisoner of conscience.......... ;)
Post by: Donagh on January 05, 2007, 02:56:23 PM
I think the Maire Nic An Bhaird ruling is due today at some stage.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M%C3%A1ire_Nic_An_Bhaird
Post by: Evil Genius on January 05, 2007, 03:45:40 PM
Quote from: Flameboy on January 05, 2007, 02:46:11 PM
i was arrested before years ago and insisted on being dealt with "As Gaeilge" as is my constitutional right, needless to say the Gardai threatened to knock the shite out of me if i didn't start talking enlgish and stop being such a smartarse...

I daresay they'd have been knocking the shite out of you soon enough had you been speaking English. And quite right, too! :D
Post by: Flameboy on January 05, 2007, 03:48:11 PM
The insolence on this board has soared to new levels today....

Jesus had days like this too, when everyone was against him. Hitler and Saddam too now that I think of it.... ;)
Post by: realredhandfan on January 06, 2007, 11:22:33 AM
Sneachta le  Máire Nic an Bhaird
An Block ar Acadamh naomh Padraig i ndun geannainn.

Athas ar na paisti
sport ina ghoi
Caloga beaga bana
ag damhsa insan ghai
Laithroidi sneachta
ag eitilt in san aer
Ghoi agus gaerach
o na paisti go leir;

Post by: man in black on January 08, 2007, 09:29:45 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 05, 2007, 02:50:50 PM
He was on the Last Word the other evening and was very interesting.  On a related note a la Flameboy, I recall a drunken night in Shaftesbury Square when we were getting a bit boisterous.  The pretend Gardai told us to cool off.  On of the lads, trying to be smart, started speaking to him as gaelige.  There was quite a shock when he was answered back as gaelige and chucked in the back of the meat wagon for his patriotism.  The funniest thing was the same boy knew very little Irish but he sang a lot of rebel songs on any night out so he must be Irish.

oisin should stick to the jigs
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 08, 2007, 09:45:35 AM
I learned Irish until 'A' level and considered myself on the verge of being 'liofa'.

I went to a Conradh na Gaeilge class in my mid 20s to refresh. However, and this was always the most frustrating thing about Irish, they spoke a completely different dialect to what I had learned and insisted on correcting my pronunciations everytime I spoke.

I have also been to the Cultúrlann on the Falls Road and am always a bit disappointed about the apparent snobbery of the Gaeligoirí there who smirk/raise eyes to heaven when you attempt to speak to them in broken lingo. At least I tried.

Post by: man in black on January 08, 2007, 09:48:21 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 08, 2007, 09:45:35 AM
I learned Irish until 'A' level and considered myself on the verge of being 'liofa'.

I went to a Conradh na Gaeilge class in my mid 20s to refresh. However, and this was always the most frustrating thing about Irish, they spoke a completely different dialect to what I had learned and insisted on correcting my pronunciations everytime I spoke.

I have also been to the Cultúrlann on the Falls Road and am always a bit disappointed about the apparent snobbery of the Gaeligoirí there who smirk/raise eyes to heaven when you attempt to speak to them in broken lingo. At least I tried.

just like the frogs then
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 08, 2007, 09:59:19 AM
Perhaps they should bring out a body language guide for the Gaeligoirí then.

e.g. When walking into a bar in Ma'am Cross, wear a bright-pastel colored pair of pants, gaudy t-shirt with the word 'Yankees' emblazoned on it and ask for one of your best glaases of Gui-ne-ess so the cute hoor locals don't think you're one of those mono-cultured Northerners..
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 08, 2007, 12:09:17 PM
I find it exceptionally handy when ur travelling, when asked what i was speaking some people refused to believet hat there was any such thing as an irish language, amadans
Post by: Megatron 3:16 on January 08, 2007, 01:46:42 PM
as gaelige le do thoil, no abair leis an laimh..... 8)
Post by: dodo on January 08, 2007, 10:28:45 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 08, 2007, 09:59:19 AM
Perhaps they should bring out a body language guide for the Gaeligoirí then.

e.g. When walking into a bar in Ma'am Cross, wear a bright-pastel colored pair of pants, gaudy t-shirt with the word 'Yankees' emblazoned on it and ask for one of your best glaases of Gui-ne-ess so the cute hoor locals don't think you're one of those mono-cultured Northerners..

You'd be some buck to be drinking in Peacocks of Maam Cross these days. Not sure if you'd be sued by Basil or the bank.
Post by: TirEoghaingodeo on January 08, 2007, 11:10:46 PM
Caithfidh go bhfuil cuid mhór gaeilgeorí ar an suímoh seo - an mbíonn threads as gaeilge? Agus an bhfuil gaeilge ag duine ar bith ar threads?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 09, 2007, 08:40:44 AM
Tá brón an domhain orm ag scriobh i mBéarla ach mar a dúirt mé roimhe seo, déanaim dearmaid mo chuid Gaeilge agus, anois, níos measa, tá a fhios agam nach bhfuil fáilte romhaim ar bith i gcontae Gailimh fosta!!

I told ye I was rusty.
Title: Re: No Béarla on TG4
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 08, 2007, 08:29:09 AM
I happened upon this programme last night when he travelled north, via a car breakdown in Dundalk. I hate to say it, and I know the intention of the show is honorable, but, on the one hand, there's something awful smug about yer man which is almost as irritating as the punters who reply in English to say they don't speak 'Irish'.

Of course, yer man lost out big time on the Shan-kill Road in Belfast when one Uncle Andy lookalike says "Sure, Irish borrows a whole lot of words from British (sic  ::)) like telefís from television. If yer boy Mangan had known his onions, he would have responded that tele-vision is almost certainly of Greek origin in its idea and that there's tonnes of words that Gaelic has 'given' to English, the most widespread being 'she'.

Still, I guess the funniest moment was when he asked for some orange juice in a supermarket in West Belfast and the shop assistant replies "I haven't a baldie, love".
Post by: Donagh on June 08, 2007, 09:26:52 AM
Or the guy from the Shankill who reckoned Mangan was too "posh" to be Irish. Not like those "big rough men from Mayo" he used to fish with. "They were rough men those Mayo men – all IRA too" he says under his breath as he walks away. The cnut obviously hasn't met too many Mayo men.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 08, 2007, 09:33:54 AM
Cue Enda and his ever so-clipped Ennngleesh.

Ahhh Enda Kenny. Whatever happened to him anyhow?

Stll, WB lived up to all its usual expectations in that prog, spides, and all.
Post by: Donagh on June 08, 2007, 09:40:01 AM
At least in WB they made an effort to sort him out using whatever Irish they had and he even ran into one bloke who was fluent. In many other part of the country people were downright hostile to him for not speaking English. As I remember he was near getting a slap from someone in the OS office in Dublin when he tried to buy a map.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 08, 2007, 09:45:25 AM
I guess the most telling moment was when he rang Directory Enquiries and the guy couldn't speak Irish.

What if you happened to be either ringing from a Gaeltacht area and either not wishing to speak English (or unable to?) OR looking for a place/business which was actually written 'as Gaeilge'? What would Directories do then?

I worked in 192 a few years back (in Portadown....) for a wee while and remember we handled calls requesting southern Irish homes and businesses. One caller rang looking for Galloglys shop in St Johnstone and the operator beside me replied "I can't find that business but I have one in Cahirciveen.....will that do?"  ::)
Post by: 5 Sams on June 08, 2007, 10:35:45 AM
Quote from: TirEoghaingodeo on January 08, 2007, 11:10:46 PM
Caithfidh go bhfuil cuid mhór gaeilgeorí ar an suímoh seo - an mbíonn threads as gaeilge? Agus an bhfuil gaeilge ag duine ar bith ar threads?

Tá neart stuff anseo duit a mhic.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=2652.0

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=2654.0
Post by: magickingdom on June 08, 2007, 10:58:46 AM
QuoteAhhh Enda Kenny. Whatever happened to him anyhow?

any day now someone is gonna tell him he lost the election...
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 08, 2007, 12:30:25 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on June 08, 2007, 10:58:46 AM
QuoteAhhh Enda Kenny. Whatever happened to him anyhow?

any day now someone is gonna tell him he lost the election...

Mayo Fine Gael are having a Victory Celebration in Castlebar tonight, Im deadly serious too,
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 08, 2007, 12:31:26 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 08, 2007, 09:26:52 AM
Or the guy from the Shankill who reckoned Mangan was too "posh" to be Irish. Not like those "big rough men from Mayo" he used to fish with. "They were rough men those Mayo men – all IRA too" he says under his breath as he walks away. The cnut obviously hasn't met too many Mayo men.

A yes the 3 Republicans in Mayo so busy fishing they can't play football or vote  ;)
Post by: Donagh on June 08, 2007, 12:43:00 PM
I think the last Republicans in Mayo died in 1976. Which reminds me, did Emmet Stagg get re-elected?
Post by: Boolerhead Mel on June 08, 2007, 12:58:59 PM
Emmet was reelected in Kildare. 
Post by: Hardy on June 08, 2007, 12:59:48 PM
He did. I wouldn't be surprised if he's a Labour candidate for the presidency some day. He knows The Park very well already.
Post by: SuperMac on June 08, 2007, 09:57:04 PM
I knew a guy who was a fluent speaker. Unfortunately the poor fellow suffered from depresion from time to time and would sometimes sleep rough on the streets. Once when sleeping in a laneway and been approached by 2 guards he replied As Gaeilge and received a kick in the stomach as reply.
Post by: Louth Exile on June 10, 2007, 11:49:33 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 08, 2007, 12:59:48 PM
He did. I wouldn't be surprised if he's a Labour candidate for the presidency some day. He knows The Park very well already.
:D :D

Anyway, No Bearla, I watched the whole series first time round, I thought was interesting a pretty well made as a lot of TG4 programmes seem to be. I'll admit I only have the cupla focal myself, but it is very worrying some of the things that came across in the programme.