GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: theticklemister on October 05, 2012, 09:25:26 PM

Title: Destination Newry
Post by: theticklemister on October 05, 2012, 09:25:26 PM
I would like to bring to everyone's attention the excellent website that is destinationnewry.com.

It has live coverage of club games in the Down/Armagh area at the weekend, just give it a wee check to find out what games are on. Fair dues to them altogether.
Title: Re: Destination Newry
Post by: 5 Sams on October 05, 2012, 09:47:39 PM
Top class in fairness. not too many MÓMs about but it's a great service.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 05, 2012, 09:49:44 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 05, 2012, 09:47:39 PM

I don't know about that now Sams, the bould Damian is tigger-riffic by times ;D
Post by: 5 Sams on October 05, 2012, 10:29:34 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 05, 2012, 09:49:44 PM

:D :D :D Mind him doing one of your games out in Cross and he mentioned Margaret McConville and her tae and sangwiches more often than any of the players!!!
Post by: southdown on October 06, 2012, 09:26:56 AM
Their productions are fantastic! Great craic and Patsy will read out anything that you send him!

My club are playing tomorrow night and am gutted that I will miss it, but it is on DN and that is great news for me.  Other stations in other countys should watch the Mayobridge v Longstone game tomorrow evening and take note.  Fantastic work.
Post by: dundrumite on October 06, 2012, 09:44:59 AM
Brilliant.. Really enjoy the production, good craic and to see club games in Down/Armagh streamed live is great for the game, especially those not living at home on these shores anymore
Post by: amallon on October 06, 2012, 09:48:26 AM
Its a fantastic service.
Post by: crossfire on October 06, 2012, 10:56:07 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 05, 2012, 10:29:34 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 05, 2012, 09:49:44 PM

:D :D :D Mind him doing one of your games out in Cross and he mentioned Margaret McConville and her tae and sangwiches more often than any of the players!!!

Good to see that your spelling has improved ;)
Post by: emmetryan on October 06, 2012, 11:52:53 AM
It's fantastic, they provide a great service.
Post by: Square Ball on October 06, 2012, 12:19:38 PM
Watched a few games on it and its fantastic, sent a few tweets and comments and they were read out, only one wee negative, no replays , but I can live without it.
Post by: DuffleKing on October 06, 2012, 12:28:53 PM

Great service. with mute on the armagh games obviously - the man's an ill informed dose
Post by: Aristo 60 on October 08, 2012, 03:18:56 PM
Great service altogether. 

Who lays claim to this great invention? An Armagh or Down person?

I hope they make a fortune from the advertising - which is of a tremendous standard.
Post by: bennydorano on October 08, 2012, 08:06:57 PM
Really is a fantastic initiative, bit it's like something that would be taking money from the gate.
Post by: emmetryan on October 08, 2012, 09:49:23 PM
Ah I really doubt it would have much effect. From what I've seen, it's mostly folk who are nowhere near Newry who are tuning in.
Post by: bennydorano on October 08, 2012, 10:00:07 PM
Wha? Why get off yer hole & go to the game when its live online? I've watched 2 games online that i normally would have paid into see. Cross v Cruppen & Peters v Killeavey (both games in Armagh City),   Newry itself is irrelevant.
Post by: southdown on October 09, 2012, 01:04:24 PM
A lot of the comments seem to be coming from overseas.  Some eejit was watching the match from Ghana on Sunday!
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 09, 2012, 01:29:02 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 08, 2012, 10:00:07 PM
Wha? Why get off yer hole & go to the game when its live online? I've watched 2 games online that i normally would have paid into see. Cross v Cruppen & Peters v Killeavey (both games in Armagh City),   Newry itself is irrelevant.
I hope it prompts the county board into doing double headers, at the business end of things rather than just the first round games etc. Seemingly though the matches being covered are advertised on the county website so I don't think they mind too much about it.  It's a great asset to have but my only complaint is they basically covered every Cruppen game in this year's championship! They'll be doing their remaining league games next!
Post by: All of a Sludden on October 12, 2012, 05:00:06 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 08, 2012, 08:06:57 PM
Really is a fantastic initiative, bit it's like something that would be taking money from the gate.

Money talks it would seem. The Armagh SFC & MFC finals will not now be shown on  Destination Newry.
Post by: theticklemister on October 12, 2012, 05:40:52 PM
Ah bollix. 

Why is this the case.
Post by: All of a Sludden on October 12, 2012, 10:26:30 PM
Destination Newry statement regarding the cancellation of Sunday's live streaming of Armagh GAA games

Our planned live coverage of the Armagh MFC and SFC finals on Sunday is cancelled.

Streaming the games is a complex process. It involves a team of up to 12 people at each game - cameramen, producers, technicians and presenters. The technical equipment is high spec and expensive, and the streaming technology, bandwidth and web technology also contribute to the costs.

We have streamed a number of Armagh club games – with the express permission of the Armagh County Board.

Sarsfields v Carrickcruppen
Killeavy v Mullaghbawn
Carrickcruppen v Sarsfields replay
Pearse Ogs v St Patricks Cullyhanna
Crossmaglen v Carrickcruppen
Killeavy v St Peters IFC Final

Each outside broadcast costs approximately £650 to produce.
We have not charged the Armagh County Board any fee for this service.

People are watching the games from all corners of the world, and we have been inundated with messages of support for the initiative.

Other counties outside Down and Armagh are also interested, and we will be considering our plans for 2013 in light of the many requests and expressions of interest we have received.

We had planned to cover both Armagh games on Sunday, and had secured permission from the Armagh County Board to do so. The logistics were more challenging than usual because we are also committed to streaming the Down GAA games that day.

In summary, the costs are substantial and the logistics challenging.

Funding the broadcasts is crucial. They simply cannot happen without adequate funding. Normally this happens via advertising and sponsorship. We have only recently asked for support through advertising. All costs up to now have been covered by us.

We have always been open and direct about our need for sponsorship, as without it the productions are simply not viable. We have never charged the County Boards as we are GAA supporters and knew that this would not be a good option.

We can state categorically that we have never made any profit on this.

This morning, we received an email from the Armagh County Board, requesting a substantial sum of money as a fee for permission to broadcast Sunday's games.

The County Board explained that this was because we were seeking advertising and sponsorship to try and cover the costs.

The request for this substantial fee from the Armagh County Board has left us in an impossible position and we have no choice but to cancel the broadcast as it is completely financially unviable.

To clarify, we have never claimed to secure sponsorship on behalf of the Armagh County Board. We are very clear with our advertisers that they are advertising with Destination Newry, not the County Board, and that the fee they pay will be used specifically to facilitate the streaming of a particular event. They are very clear about this and we believe there has been no confusion.

We are offering a full refund to any advertiser who was particularly interested in supporting Sunday's Armagh streaming.

We are extremely disappointed that we will be unable to bring the Armagh games to supporters overseas, and those who are unable to make the games. We are also disappointed that there will be no opportunity for those who were involved in the games to see the video afterwards, complete with three different camera angles and full commentary & analysis.

We believe we connect people from our area who are away from  the place they call home and that is priceless.

We ask all our viewers to please inform fellow supporters that the Armagh games will not be streamed this Sunday.

We apologise to all supporters but this is outside our control.

Is Mise
Cathal Mac Aodha

Cathal McCoy
Destination Newry
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 12, 2012, 10:38:31 PM
A joke of a decision.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 12, 2012, 10:56:13 PM
Well played to the Armagh Co Board :-[ :-[ :-[...their pettiness has just deprived a lot of the diaspora from seeing their club mates in action. I hope our lads in Down have more common sense about our Co Finals. The lads in Destination Newry are providing a top class service.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 12, 2012, 11:56:44 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 12, 2012, 10:56:13 PM
Well played to the Armagh Co Board :-[ :-[ :-[...their pettiness has just deprived a lot of the diaspora from seeing their club mates in action. I hope our lads in Down have more common sense about our Co Finals. The lads in Destination Newry are providing a top class service.
They allowed the Intermediate final to be shown no bother, what's the difference now? Not like they'd have lost out on the gate that much cos people would still go and see the showpiece regardless, a lot of boys overseas are fcuked off with that decision.
Post by: Kernan_is_King on October 13, 2012, 12:31:40 AM
Sure Cross' is on the tele manys the time.

Hopefully they will again.
Post by: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 08:05:00 AM
"we've never charged Co Board for coverage" :o same conversation Sky has with EPL, not. Have to say i'm not suprised in the slightest, more suprised at peoples reactions, why would co board not want as many paying punters as possible through the gates for the showpiece game of the year? Co board is 100% correct imo.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2012, 08:39:05 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 08:05:00 AM
"we've never charged Co Board for coverage" :o same conversation Sky has with EPL, not. Have to say i'm not suprised in the slightest, more suprised at peoples reactions, why would co board not want as many paying punters as possible through the gates for the showpiece game of the year? Co board is 100% correct imo.

I can understand both sides POV here but I think that some deal could have been struck. I wonder would it be possible for Destination Newry to have a subscription system whereby viewers pay a £1 or so to view. This would cover a lot of cost I would imagine.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 13, 2012, 09:15:18 AM
Showing the matches live on this website will have very little impact on the attendance. I can't imagine crowds in Crossmaglen gathering round the laptop rather than travel up to Armagh for the County Final.

It's a great service for those working abroad and it's a pity the Armagh County Board have taken this approach.

I reckon it would cost more to set up a pay for view system than they would collect.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2012, 09:31:00 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 13, 2012, 09:15:18 AM
Showing the matches live on this website will have very little impact on the attendance. I can't imagine crowds in Crossmaglen gathering round the laptop rather than travel up to Armagh for the County Final.

It's a great service for those working abroad and it's a pity the Armagh County Board have taken this approach.

I reckon it would cost more to set up a pay for view system than they would collect.

Possibly Lecale, I am not sure how much it costs.  I would imagine there would also be enough sponsors out there would assist.  I think ACB are pretty stapped at the minute and MAG is costing an awful lot of money to run.
Post by: ogshead on October 13, 2012, 10:44:04 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2012, 09:31:00 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 13, 2012, 09:15:18 AM

Possibly Lecale, I am not sure how much it costs.  I would imagine there would also be enough sponsors out there would assist.  I think ACB are pretty stapped at the minute and MAG is costing an awful lot of money to run.

That maybe the case; however, the streaming of this was not impacting on the county board. TG4 showed the final a few years back and the attendance at the game was no different. The real losers in this are the people who have to move away for whatever reason. One person I know of in the states had arranged for all his mates (who are all yanks) to come round for beers to watch his local club in the final and is fuming now he cannot watch it. It was a great service and showcased our local games in a good light and this has now been ruined.

The ACB have made some baffling decisions over the years but this one tops the lot. Surely they could have let the final be shown and then spent the next 9 months negotiating for next season and tout for sponsors of the service. Long term this would have been of more benfit rather than demanding money 48 hours before throw in.
Post by: borderfox on October 13, 2012, 11:46:47 AM
Terrible decision for those who are emigrated and wished to see the games. Hopefully some sort of deal can be brokered between the Co board and D Newry.
Post by: bridgegael on October 13, 2012, 01:02:06 PM
A really poor decision from ACB.  I doubt the coverage would have any real impact on the attendance.  Yes i would have watched it online but wouldnt be going to game anywsy.  I'I'll just keep an eye out for the result now, like lots of people.  I know a few people abroad watchef mu own club on sunday night past, brilliant for them.  They say nothing beats being there, well this runs it close.
Post by: spuds on October 13, 2012, 02:41:02 PM
Pity as sounds like an excellent service. Would there be a legal side to this from the Armagh county board as in for future rights etc. ?
Post by: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 03:51:01 PM
Co Board is in debt & danger, simples.
Post by: DuffleKing on October 13, 2012, 04:00:10 PM

Yeah, i think this is a fairly straightforward decision. Destination Newry has rightly gotten a fantastic response to their coverage of games. They advertising they could build around this could be very lucrative indeed. Already people are sitting in the house to watch rather than going to games.

The county board are concerned with loss in revenue and i guess the logic is that they need to at least recoup that figure to "sell" coverage. As much as we all love this initiative there's no way i'd be allowing it free gratis. It's The county board's most usable product and should be treated as such.

Post by: Throw ball on October 13, 2012, 04:44:28 PM
No matter how much people do not like the decision I think Duffleking has made a great point. I would have preferred to have let them show the games tomorrow and then argue about future projects though.
Post by: ogshead on October 13, 2012, 04:48:48 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on October 13, 2012, 04:00:10 PM

Yeah, i think this is a fairly straightforward decision. Destination Newry has rightly gotten a fantastic response to their coverage of games. They advertising they could build around this could be very lucrative indeed. Already people are sitting in the house to watch rather than going to games.

The county board are concerned with loss in revenue and i guess the logic is that they need to at least recoup that figure to "sell" coverage. As much as we all love this initiative there's no way i'd be allowing it free gratis. It's The county board's most usable product and should be treated as such.

I agree but they left it feckin late to start negotiating as I mentioned earlier. This should have been a trial and then use it next year to start pulling money in. What will happen next year is that they will get some eijit in who will do a half arsed job with it and it will fall on it's face. A couple of years ago they Jerome Quinn making up highlights packages and interviewing someone after the game. The following year they done it themselves by the looks of it but the quality was not half as good and the thing fell by the wayside.

They should have stuck with the people who have the know how and do it right. Quality brings advertisers and sponsors in. If it isn't being done right the won't want to put the money into it
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2012, 04:59:56 PM
They should have said to Destination Newry that the ACB will pay the £650 running costs but the County Board would keep the lions share of any advertising then they could properly market the whole show and get a few thousand pounds advertising.  Arse about way of doing things methinks.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 13, 2012, 06:00:01 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2012, 04:59:56 PM
They should have said to Destination Newry that the ACB will pay the £650 running costs but the County Board would keep the lions share of any advertising then they could properly market the whole show and get a few thousand pounds advertising.  Arse about way of doing things methinks.

Don't be ridiculous.  That is far too sensible.
Post by: theticklemister on October 13, 2012, 06:16:15 PM
Is it true armagh count board r streaming the final tomorrow????
Post by: borderfox on October 13, 2012, 06:43:18 PM
yep
Armagh County Board with the help of volunteers will stream LIVE tomorrows Senior and Minor Club Finals on http://ArmaghGAA.net .
Post by: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 07:02:32 PM
Doubt it, that site took the feed from destinationnewry for previous games.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2012, 07:04:12 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 07:02:32 PM

It has been stated by Bainisteor on the armagh forum that it will be streamed live at 4pm wherever it is coming from.  lots of people in Australia are happier now.
Post by: Line Ball on October 13, 2012, 07:24:37 PM
I'd say it won't be too long until the Down County Board also pull the plug on Destination Newry.  If they thought that attendances were down because people could watch the games on the net, they would put a stop to it.

It will be interesting to see if next weeks final goes ahead on the net.

Great service by the way.
Post by: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 07:37:18 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2012, 07:04:12 PM

It has been stated by Bainisteor on the armagh forum that it will be streamed live at 4pm wherever it is coming from.  lots of people in Australia are happier now.
Game starts @ 3.45pm. Still suprised, great service that it is, there's no economic sense to it, unless they're making loot somewhere.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2012, 07:44:17 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 07:37:18 PM

Game starts @ 3.45pm. Still suprised, great service that it is, there's no economic sense to it, unless they're making loot somewhere.

I'd say they were put under pressure as a lot of people were hugely disappointed that it wasn't going to be streamed. They are missing a trick long term if they don't continue with streaming as there is a nice wee market to advertise on it.

BTW throw has been put back to 4pm as well. Give the minor game extra time to clear out the field.
Post by: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 07:55:28 PM
Might lie on my fat ass then myself & watch it, result. Theres £10 down the shitter already.
Post by: ogshead on October 13, 2012, 08:01:41 PM
Good decision by the ACB and credit to the volunteers. As someone mentioned earlier... there's a few happy people abroad!!
Post by: yellowcard on October 13, 2012, 08:03:35 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 13, 2012, 07:37:18 PM

It has been stated by Bainisteor on the armaghak they would have taken had they pulled the plug altogether.  forum that it will be streamed live at 4pm wherever it is coming from.  lots of people in Australia are happier now.

Think it was put back till 4pm. Yeah it doesn't make financial sense but I'd say they are just gonna get through tomorrow and avoid the flak they would undoubtedly got had they completely pulled the plug. If the quality is good and there is commentary on the games there is definitely advertising potential for next year.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on October 14, 2012, 02:19:29 PM
poor effort. stream is kaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat. Paul Hart tops though!!1
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2012, 02:36:52 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on October 14, 2012, 02:19:29 PM

Where on the site is the link to the game?
Post by: All of a Sludden on October 14, 2012, 02:37:31 PM
Not working at all for me, they should have got Destination Newry to do it.
Post by: All of a Sludden on October 14, 2012, 02:38:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2012, 02:36:52 PM

http://www.armaghgaa.net/football/clubfootball/sfc-mfc-championship-finals-live/ (http://www.armaghgaa.net/football/clubfootball/sfc-mfc-championship-finals-live/)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2012, 03:04:54 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on October 14, 2012, 02:38:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2012, 02:36:52 PM

http://www.armaghgaa.net/football/clubfootball/sfc-mfc-championship-finals-live/ (http://www.armaghgaa.net/football/clubfootball/sfc-mfc-championship-finals-live/)
Post by: Orchardman on October 14, 2012, 03:11:15 PM
the stupid site has crashed, server has couped. It was grand a few hours ago
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2012, 03:12:30 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on October 14, 2012, 03:11:15 PM
the stupid site has crashed, server has couped. It was grand a few hours ago

Seems to have gone, radio links for the senior game? Probably too many logging on
Post by: BennyCake on October 14, 2012, 03:29:51 PM
Any commentary on analogue radio for the Cross match?
Post by: Don Johnson on October 14, 2012, 03:31:47 PM
f**k sake, turned down going to the match so I could watch the stream!
Post by: The Worker on October 14, 2012, 03:37:33 PM
Total f**k up by all accounts.
Post by: Don Johnson on October 14, 2012, 03:39:22 PM
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/armaghgaa

The stream looks like a video from the 80s
Post by: BennyCake on October 14, 2012, 03:53:34 PM
Adverts keep popping up about joining the British Army. For a Crossmaglen match!!  ;D
Post by: theticklemister on October 14, 2012, 04:00:52 PM
On the official armagh gaa website??????
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 14, 2012, 04:24:59 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 14, 2012, 04:00:52 PM
On the official armagh gaa website??????

Ogs are dung, about 8 miss passes there untill that score
Post by: Etienne Lantier on October 14, 2012, 06:31:07 PM
Armagh site is as dead as a door nail. Meant to predict this would happen last night when I saw the hare-brainied proposal from the county board.

The county board really ought to be ashamed of their behaviour in this episode.
Post by: DestNewry on October 16, 2012, 02:27:18 PM
Thanks everybody for the support!
Our next live game will be St Colman's College v St Paul's HS in the Danske bank MacRory Cup.
This coming Saturday - 12 noon throw in.
We will also be covering the Down IFC and SFC finals from 2pm on Sunday.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 16, 2012, 04:29:55 PM
Quote from: DestNewry on October 16, 2012, 02:27:18 PM
Our next live game will be St Colman's College v St Paul's HS in the Danske bank MacRory Cup.

Keep her lits lads. Great service.
Post by: yellowcard on October 16, 2012, 05:33:21 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 16, 2012, 04:29:55 PM
Quote from: DestNewry on October 16, 2012, 02:27:18 PM

Keep her lits lads. Great service.

Well done lads, very professional service and the ACB made a haims of the final. I was lucky enough to be at the match but I know of mates abroad who had to switch off in frustration.

Great to see the MacRory games being screened as well, Colmans and St Pauls both had big wins in their first games, should be an interesting match.
Post by: Leo on October 16, 2012, 11:53:50 PM
Got a call from relative in USA who watched the Peter Rooney Tribute Night live from Canal Court last Friday. Thrilled that   he could access this while I was sitting in a bar in Wpoint unaware that it was even happening!!
Post by: armaghniac on October 20, 2012, 02:52:20 PM
Full Cross v Pearse Ógs Armagh County final at the bottom of this page (not great resolution, ok for a phone!)
http://www.armaghgaa.net/football/clubfootball/cross-claim-40th-county-title/

If you haven't heard the score, don't read the text, just play the video and sit back and enjoy!
Post by: DestNewry on October 21, 2012, 07:57:25 PM
NEW VIDEO NOW: We are currently streaming footage of today's Down IFC and SFC Finals.

This broadcast went out live this afternoon.

Warrenpoint v Bosco
Kilcoo v Mayobridge.

http://www.destinationnewry.com/video/latest-video/Intermediate_and_Senior_Finals_2012
Post by: dundrumite on October 21, 2012, 09:05:13 PM
Is there any reason why the minor and Junior finals are the only two out of all the games you covered not to go on the website in full? By the way I think you provide an excellent service and it's definitely the highlight of the Down championship this year and long may it continue.
Post by: DestNewry on October 26, 2012, 03:44:14 PM
Quote from: dundrumite on October 21, 2012, 09:05:13 PM
Is there any reason why the minor and Junior finals are the only two out of all the games you covered not to go on the website in full? By the way I think you provide an excellent service and it's definitely the highlight of the Down championship this year and long may it continue.

All four finals will be on the website shortly. We hope the minor and junior finals will be up by Tuesday.

Thanks for the support!
Title: Anois
Post by: drici on October 28, 2012, 07:12:14 PM
Cóilín has a big mug of tae and a comfy seat at the moment.

http://www.destinationnewry.com/news-list/headlines
Title: Deireadh
Post by: drici on October 28, 2012, 08:08:43 PM
Baineadh sult as sin.
Maith sibh!
Post by: The Worker on November 16, 2012, 07:35:43 PM
What Games are being shown this weekend?
Post by: drici on November 25, 2012, 07:15:50 PM
http://www.destinationnewry.com/video/latest-video/

Talking about the Cookstown v Warrenpoint match at the moment.
Post by: drici on November 25, 2012, 07:29:03 PM
On to Cross v Kilcoo now.
Post by: drici on December 16, 2012, 07:12:52 PM

Cóilín on now.
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on December 30, 2012, 01:54:17 PM

Anybody who wants to watch Down v Meath.
Post by: Hardy on December 30, 2012, 04:43:46 PM
Quote from: drici on December 30, 2012, 01:54:17 PM

Anybody who wants to watch Down v Meath.

Thanks for that, Drici.

Spoilers follow if you haven't seen it.

It was interesting to watch, not that you expect to see much that's relevant at this time of year other than an indication of how the new manager wants to play. On that front, Meath played a good type of football badly (play the ball into a good position for a kick pass into the forwards), while Down played an awful brand of football well (endless handpassing, to and fro, to and fro, then back).

Meath defended well, but the forwards were poor. New corner forward Dalton McDonagh showed skill, but is very weak physically. Peadar Byrne played the Galvin/Dooher role well, but Brian Farrell was poor on the ball all through, Queeney anonymous, Collins quiet and Gilsenan pointless (in every way). Graham Reilly good at midfield, Gillespie poor at distribution. Both our defensive lines were very strong, but goalie David Lyons may have damaged his chances with a couple of bad mistakes, dropping the ball to concede a goal and hitting a short kick out to the nearest Down player, who narrowly missed another goal.

It was interesting to see Joe Sheridan come in at midfield for the second half. Interesting, but no more than that.
Post by: ONeill on December 30, 2012, 05:10:49 PM
Graham Reilly has wintered well, as they say in Kileeshil.
Post by: Hardy on December 30, 2012, 06:33:04 PM
Indeed!

I remember a great guffaw moment watching a rugby match around this time a few years ago when a prop forward with the hugest belly I've ever seen outside Sumo wrestling came on as a sub and the commentator said "and on comes Johnny Jones" ... <long pause> ... "who has had a magnificent Christmas".
Post by: theticklemister on January 16, 2013, 05:08:57 PM
Armagh amd Down game on tonight
Post by: Shortso79 on February 08, 2013, 07:05:29 PM
Abbey v St Pauls - Live Now

www.destinationnewry.com/video/latest-video/
Post by: Shortso79 on February 08, 2013, 07:33:27 PM
HT St Pauls 1-3 Abbey 0-3

Second half under way
Post by: armaghniac on February 08, 2013, 07:53:26 PM
Cracking point for St Pauls there, feck them,
Post by: Shortso79 on February 08, 2013, 08:04:46 PM
FT St Pauls 1-9 Abbey 0-7

Best team won - some great long range scores from St Pauls in the second half

As an ex Abbey Man I hope St Pauls go on and win it now

Once again excellent work from the Destination Newry Team - well done to everyone involved
Post by: naka on February 08, 2013, 08:55:09 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on February 08, 2013, 08:04:46 PM
FT St Pauls 1-9 Abbey 0-7

Best team won - some great long range scores from St Pauls in the second half

As an ex Abbey Man I hope St Pauls go on and win it now

Once again excellent work from the Destination Newry Team - well done to everyone involved
jodys tactics were appalling
abbey had majority of first 15 minutes of second half and carried ball into trouble
st pauls took their scores well  fiar play to them 
Post by: snoopdog on March 02, 2013, 02:08:10 PM
is the site down, tuned in to watch st colmans maghera
Post by: snoopdog on March 02, 2013, 02:09:43 PM
ignore just seen update on ulster colleges
Post by: NP 76 on March 08, 2013, 11:05:49 AM
Is it true that Croke Park have stopped the streaming of County games and the club championship games. If this is the case it will be a big loss to the exiles who got great use of the service
Post by: Agent Orange on October 01, 2013, 08:23:52 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on March 08, 2013, 11:05:49 AM
Is it true that Croke Park have stopped the streaming of County games and the club championship games. If this is the case it will be a big loss to the exiles who got great use of the service

Don't know what happened, but DN haven't been showing games recently. There is a facebook campaign to Bring Back Live GAA Matches On Destination Newry. https://www.facebook.com/livegaaondn?hc_location=stream
Post by: thebar on October 01, 2013, 09:42:16 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on March 08, 2013, 11:05:49 AM

Dont think it can have come from Croke Park as Armagh are streaming championship games the cross match was available for £1 which is fair enough anyone I know living away oversees would have gladly paid it to watch there team come championship time.....why or what reason has the matches been dropped can someone from the County board explain??
Post by: T Fearon on October 02, 2013, 10:37:15 PM
I can confirm both Armagh Senior Championship semi finals will be streamed live,on Friday and Saturday evening coming respectively,as will the Armagh Intermediate Final on Sunday afternoon.

We show more love GAA than Sky does soccer ;D
Post by: Agent Orange on October 21, 2013, 12:00:46 AM
Who is that gobshite commentating on the Cross v Cullyhanna game today.
Post by: T Fearon on October 21, 2013, 09:35:37 AM
Which one? There were two. In any event they must have done a magnificent job, as they were lauded, along with the rest of the Armagh TV team, publicly by the Armagh Chairman during the Senior trophy presentation and personally by him afterwards, in a visit to the Commentary Box.
Post by: illdecide on October 21, 2013, 11:06:15 AM
Aye it was cringe worthy stuff alright, i think the UTV and BBC sports jobs are safe enough... ;)
Post by: Rossfan on October 21, 2013, 11:50:57 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 21, 2013, 09:35:37 AM
Which one? There were two. In any event they must have done a magnificent job, as they were lauded, along with the rest of the Armagh TV team, publicly by the Armagh Chairman during the Senior trophy presentation and personally by him afterwards, in a visit to the Commentary Box.
County Chairmen and microphones eh?
Post by: T Fearon on October 21, 2013, 02:36:37 PM
I'll decide. Why not give the ould commentating a go yourself, and see how easy it is. Go on, I'll willingly let you take my place.
Post by: LeoMc on October 21, 2013, 04:23:18 PM
In fairness it could be no worse that some of Q101's co-presenters for Tyrone championship matches.
It is an incentive to go to the game so you don't have to listen.

Is there an option to run tweets across the bottom of the new MAG Orangebowl scoreboard so Tony could go for the full interactive experience.
Post by: T Fearon on October 21, 2013, 04:49:49 PM
Probably like ourselves. Amateurs doing our best, and hopefully improving as time goes on. Anyway, the Armagh TV project as a whole is gaining huge kudos, so some of us at least must be doing something right.

I'm sure in time, the big screen (used for the first time yesterday) will be able to accommodate tweets.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on October 21, 2013, 05:09:26 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 21, 2013, 09:35:37 AM

We would have heard had the sound system had been down, pity it wasnt down during the game ;).

All joking aside i think the whole Armagh TV thing is a huge success and will be the blue print for many a county. Such a dull match to commentate on though.

Commentators are poor by professional standards but they are volunteers doing the best they can, how the dont let the odd f**k out of them i dont know esp out friend TAM last night, he ecitement at anything St. Pats did was the most enjoyable part of the production.
Post by: general_lee on October 21, 2013, 05:51:38 PM
Thought the commentary was top notch. Very informative. I'm sure neither have any previous experience so it takes a bit of guts to do that...

Am I right in saying though that both men commentated on respective finals featuring their home clubs? Games that they lost? An omen perhaps.
Post by: T Fearon on October 21, 2013, 06:38:10 PM
Thanks GL.Had a bit of professional experience (reporting not commentating ) for BBC radio years ago.Definitely not easy to do,and particularly difficult if the match is one sided.

Still,I suppose we're not getting crucified like Mark Sidebottom ;D
Post by: Armamike on October 21, 2013, 09:49:50 PM
Good commentary i thought. I wouldn't fancy doing it so wouldn't criticise anyone who's the nerve to do it.  Didn't realise that was TAM commentating - sort of explains why he got over excited anytime a Cullyhanna man made a block!

Armagh TV is a great service.
Post by: T Fearon on October 21, 2013, 10:11:54 PM
Thanks.Huge effort goes into this, by a squad of people.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 21, 2013, 10:18:00 PM
Didn't  see Tony but I was talking to TAM after the match.  He was understandably disappointed but very gracious, I even think I spied him slipping into Shorts tonight for a pint!!!  It is a great service that is provided and is a credit to all involved.
Post by: T Fearon on October 21, 2013, 10:20:26 PM
How did you not see me? Patricia gave me her phone and asked me to take a picture of Joe being interviewed in players tunnel,after the presentation!
Post by: snoopdog on January 05, 2014, 11:03:07 AM
sorry couldn't be arsed reading through the thread to find answer. Have the Down county board prevented destination newry showing McKenna cup games? I'm assuming today's game won't be on DN