Ulster Colleges

Started by Line Ball, October 13, 2012, 06:59:14 PM

sbw

Quote from: FiFtH mAn TaCkLe on March 19, 2013, 01:55:42 PM
good job maghera won yesterday.
would have been a huge embarrassment if a high school won the mccrory cup.

cheers for that  ::)

elk

Quote from: yellowcard on March 19, 2013, 11:08:19 AM
Quote from: Rawhide on March 19, 2013, 11:01:29 AM
A big congratulations to St Pats, thought they were the best team, and whilst the game went down to the wire and you couldn't ignore St Pauls guts, it was St Pats greater quality that eventually bore the result. Also congratualtions to Sean Marty Lockhart and Martin Mc Connell on stepping from underneath a great but ledendry shadow of Big Adrian, the first MacRory to be taken to the school without Adrians influence. But it must be said, that this final like last year was nearly lost as a result of negative tactics and and not allowing players to express themselves to the full. When Maghera were on top in the 1st half it was very obvious how much better they were to St Pauls, but instead of pushing up and taking full advantage of their superiority they stay rigid to their policy of trying to stifle the oppostion, it was this tactic that invited St Pauls unto them in the last 10 mins and without doubt could have resulted in a replay, the same tactic resulted in St Pats loosing the final last year, and it seems nothing has been learned. There is nothing wrong with playing sweepers etc, but when you attack you have to have players supporting the play in numbers to make the tactic an effective counter attack, and this is where St Pats struggle, but on the other side of the arguement the end justifies the means. On the postive side there were many players on the St Pats team yesterday who have won every competion they have entered from 1st year, the O Farrell , the Dalton, the Corn Na Og, the Brock, the Rannafast and now the MacRory, quite incredible, and I wonder has this ever happened before with an age group, at any other college, at this level. Onwards and upwards to the Hogan.

BTW it would make sense that Glen should have the biggest representation on the team, the school serves its primary schools.

Its funny how people see things differently, I don't think Maghera were 'obviously much better' than St Pauls. If the result had gone the other way I don't think anyone could have argued. Ultimately the soft first goal was the winning of the game for Maghera. They were physically much stronger than Bessbrook but the teams were very evenly matched. That was borne out by the fact that in the 2 matches they played this season there was the minimum score in both games. Also the sweeper that Maghera employed got MOTM so I don't think you could argue that it wasn't a success. In fact I would say that Maghera got their tactics spot on.

As a neutral at the game IMO the superior team won. It will be interesting to see how St. Pauls perform next year, will they bounce back like St. Pats did this year?

Rawhide

Quote from: FiFtH mAn TaCkLe on March 19, 2013, 01:55:42 PM
good job maghera won yesterday.
would have been a huge embarrassment if a high school won the mccrory cup.

Not sure of your being serious, thinking you are, so just to help you with the jibe about St Pauls, but to help you on your way its, St Patricks High School Maghera, thats 13 MacRory's for this high school
cccc is a true supporter lol

Thought the magherA number 6 was excellent , super player I wish him well,
Wanted St. Paul's to win but felt that st pats just about deserved it.

Quote from: naka on March 19, 2013, 04:02:57 PM
Thought the magherA number 6 was excellent , super player I wish him well,
Wanted St. Paul's to win but felt that st pats just about deserved it.

Missed the game due as I was working that Monday. That must have been Carville, super player.

Walter throw up the clubs and players would ye!!! How did Dougan do and Danny Tallon; they have had super years altogether!

As you wish!

St Patrick's Maghera - Mc Cloy (Glen), Glass (Glen), Hughes (Lavey), Hegarty (Glen), Mulholland (Glen), Carville (1-00) (Glen), Gallagher (Glen), Kearney (Swatragh), Cassidy (0-01) (Bellaghy), O'Doherty (Slaughtneil), Bradley (0-02) (Slaughtneil), Mc Faul (Bellaghy), Cassidy (Slaughtneil), O'Hara (1-01) (Glen), Tallon (Glen). Subs: Hagan (Banagher), Convery (0-01) (Glen), Mc Atamney (Swatragh).

Btw Ryan Dougan is overage Tickle!

Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 19, 2013, 05:25:26 PM
As you wish!

St Patrick's Maghera - Mc Cloy (Glen), Glass (Glen), Hughes (Lavey), Hegarty (Glen), Mulholland (Glen), Carville (1-00) (Glen), Gallagher (Glen), Kearney (Swatragh), Cassidy (0-01) (Bellaghy), O'Doherty (Slaughtneil), Bradley (0-02) (Slaughtneil), Mc Faul (Bellaghy), Cassidy (Slaughtneil), O'Hara (1-01) (Glen), Tallon (Glen). Subs: Hagan (Banagher), Convery (0-01) (Glen), Mc Atamney (Swatragh).

Btw Ryan Dougan is overage Tickle!

Good man Walt. That Gallagher fella was missing for yer club minor team this year isn't that right? Good to see a few Bellaghy boys on the winning team for once!lol!

Conor Gallagher missed the 1st Ulster Minor winning campaign but played midfield this year. Very good player!!

A big congratulations to St Pats, thought they were the best team, and whilst the game went down to the wire and you couldn't ignore St Pauls guts, it was St Pats greater quality that eventually bore the result. Also congratualtions to Sean Marty Lockhart and Martin Mc Connell on stepping from underneath a great but ledendry shadow of Big Adrian, the first MacRory to be taken to the school without Adrians influence. But it must be said, that this final like last year was nearly lost as a result of negative tactics and and not allowing players to express themselves to the full. When Maghera were on top in the 1st half it was very obvious how much better they were to St Pauls, but instead of pushing up and taking full advantage of their superiority they stay rigid to their policy of trying to stifle the oppostion, it was this tactic that invited St Pauls unto them in the last 10 mins and without doubt could have resulted in a replay, the same tactic resulted in St Pats loosing the final last year, and it seems nothing has been learned. There is nothing wrong with playing sweepers etc, but when you attack you have to have players supporting the play in numbers to make the tactic an effective counter attack, and this is where St Pats struggle, but on the other side of the arguement the end justifies the means. On the postive side there were many players on the St Pats team yesterday who have won every competion they have entered from 1st year, the O Farrell , the Dalton, the Corn Na Og, the Brock, the Rannafast and now the MacRory, quite incredible, and I wonder has this ever happened before with an age group, at any other college, at this level. Onwards and upwards to the Hogan.

BTW it would make sense that Glen should have the biggest representation on the team, the school serves its primary schools.
You'll notice the McCormick Cup is missing from that and regardless of what your views might be fact is St Paul's beat them that night and had yesterday's match lasted a few minutes more they could have won that too 7 scores to 10 would indicate that Pats were not as dominant as you suggest but such is life. Fair play to St Paul's lads they did their school clubs and community proud

No one gives a monkeys about the Mc Cormick and never will.

You might say that but the fact is its there

Well go enjoy it there!

Rawhide

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on March 19, 2013, 06:55:47 PM

You'll notice the McCormick Cup is missing from that and regardless of what your views might be fact is St Paul's beat them that night and had yesterday's match lasted a few minutes more they could have won that too 7 scores to 10 would indicate that Pats were not as dominant as you suggest but such is life. Fair play to St Paul's lads they did their school clubs and community proud

The Mc Cormack cup is a league final and has nowt to do with MacRory, both teams were unbeaten in the MacRory until yesterdays game. The only unbeaten team in the MacRory is St Pats.
cccc is a true supporter lol

sbw

If , but , why and maybe dougal  ;)

Quote from: ranch on March 21, 2013, 01:56:34 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 19, 2013, 07:26:22 PM
No one gives a monkeys about the Mc Cormick and never will.

Although the McCormick cup is obviously not on the same level as the MacRory, the fact remains that if St. Pat's had won it then a lot of people would be keen to add it to their list of achievements since 1st year. None of the boys who played in the final before Christmas did so with the intention of losing. St. Paul's deserve credit for winning it. That said, they'd obviously swap it for the MacRory.

Also, I can't remember who posted it but I honestly don't think the final was as one sided as some on here are suggesting. The more clinical side won and were deserving of their success. Had St. Paul's managed to convert one of their goal chances though and went on to win no one could have begrudged them the title either.

Jeez will you ever give over. Your like an aul women harping on there!