GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Don Draper on September 17, 2018, 10:11:44 AM

Title: Laois Divisional Championship
Post by: Don Draper on September 17, 2018, 10:11:44 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/09/17/details-announced-for-new-divisional-football-championship-in-laois/

Should be an interesting concept. Managers will be vital. Get a sponsor on board, fire together some kit, a trial system when players are or should be around a decent fitness level. Some merit to it.
Title: Re: Laois Divisional Championship
Post by: HURLING1 on September 17, 2018, 10:28:32 AM
Seems a brilliant idea. Might be one for Eddie too.
Post by: The PRO on September 17, 2018, 12:19:30 PM
I suspect it looks better on paper than it will transpire.
Hope I'm wrong because would be a huge advocate of the actual concept. I just hope players buy into it. I'd favour confining it to players overage for next year's under 20s. They have enough to be getting on with.
Post by: merman on September 17, 2018, 01:24:12 PM
I wonder would Paddy Purcell be tempted to throw his name in the hat.
By all accounts a fine footballer and an exceptional athlete.

Nothing to lose. Would help with fitness for the winter if nothing else.
Post by: Jd on September 17, 2018, 01:37:13 PM
Any more like Rob Tyrrell up in the hurling clubs....... Not county standard for hurling but maybe good footballers. We need to broaden our football base a bit without impacting on the hurlers. I've watched a good few junior matches and also Gaels set ups with hurling clubs involved and some really good footballers involved. Wouldn't know names as people get tired of you asking "who's that lad" and move away
Post by: The PRO on September 17, 2018, 02:20:43 PM
Quote from: Jd on September 17, 2018, 01:37:13 PM
Any more like Rob Tyrrell up in the hurling clubs....... Not county standard for hurling but maybe good footballers. We need to broaden our football base a bit without impacting on the hurlers. I've watched a good few junior matches and also Gaels set ups with hurling clubs involved and some really good footballers involved. Wouldn't know names as people get tired of you asking "who's that lad" and move away
Ben Conroy was very good for Ballyfin Gaels yesterday.
Post by: steven seagal on September 17, 2018, 03:20:17 PM
Was told before that Picky Maher is a brilliant footballer too, but I've never seen him play. Matthew Whelan played senior football with Mountmellick before as well. With Eddie Brennan coming in as hurling manager, you'd imagine there is a strong pull for the likes of him and Paddy Purcell to keep their focus on that.

I like the idea, should be a few good games in it, will hopefully get clubs thinking about their long-term plans
Post by: Laois Rising on September 18, 2018, 11:00:31 AM
If players bought into it would be a great tournament. Every side is capable of fielding a strong side which should make for a high standard of football. Four/Five rounds of games played at a high level would surely stand to the development of some of the younger players in the county with the potential to push on.

Down the line it would be great to see Laois with a county and club championship akin to what they do in Kerry. Having three or four regional sides properly standing up and going toe to toe with Portlaoise could only be good for raising standards in Laois football.   
Post by: From the Terrace on September 18, 2018, 11:19:53 AM
It will be interesting to see how this goes down with everyone. I will go to the games anyway. I think this is good & we are moving in the right direction. Looking at our SFC it looks like a procession for portlaoise, Cutting our senior championship to even 12 teams made up of 4 divisional teams & last 8 of previous year senior championship, I would put the other 8 in a Senior B competition. In my book this would be a forward step & hopefully give portlaoise more of a consistent test in laois. I know there are plenty of holes in this concept but i think the time for change is now.
Post by: Chrimtain on September 18, 2018, 01:07:32 PM
Really looking forward to this competition. Its an opportunity for the best players in the county to impress and for Fans to see good quality football.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 18, 2018, 03:02:25 PM
I think this can only be good for the clubs and the county setup, at last we have a real forward thinking manager and we should do everything to hold on to him..
Post by: redsetanta on September 18, 2018, 03:51:57 PM
It's also fairly handy for Sugrue himself as he will get to see everyone of a half decent standard in the county who has any aspirations to play with the county. It will also be at a higher level than regular club football and he can see how any potential new players can perform with and against the current panelists.

Much better than asking lads to come to training or inviting lads on to the panel. Also, there will be a number of games against different opposition. Brilliant idea all round.

It will be without Portlaoise but then again they are already operating at a higher level. ( bar another almighty shock)
Post by: redsetanta on September 18, 2018, 04:19:21 PM
https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaelic-games/336545/comment-sugrue-s-plan-cuts-through-years-of-laois-gaa-clubs-inactivity.html (https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaelic-games/336545/comment-sugrue-s-plan-cuts-through-years-of-laois-gaa-clubs-inactivity.html)
Post by: Blow-in on September 18, 2018, 05:15:03 PM
Express article waste of time. From what I know only players from 22 years of age to 29 are going to be invited to attend these games. Anyone over 30 not invited at all.
Post by: recyclebin on September 18, 2018, 05:18:34 PM
https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaelic-games/336548/how-could-the-divisional-teams-line-out-for-the-new-laois-gaa-trial-football-system.html

Will the existing county panel players be involved too? I presumed they would.
Post by: Leixlad on September 19, 2018, 08:05:16 AM
If Portlaoise win senior championship will players from Portlaoise intermediates be involved? 
Post by: merman on September 19, 2018, 08:48:39 AM
I would hope not.
If those players aren't at least in contention and pushing for places for Portlaoise's Leinster Campaign (again, assuming they win) then they have no business being involved.

We've seen it on the hurling side over the last couple of years; players who haven't absolutely nailed down starting berths for their own club team getting parachuted into the county senior set-up. It's not good for the individuals and sends out a very bad message to the rest of the county and any fringe panelists.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 19, 2018, 03:53:51 PM
A few interesting teams here: 
https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaelic-games/336548/how-could-the-divisional-teams-line-out-for-the-new-laois-gaa-trial-football-system.html
Post by: SCFC on September 19, 2018, 05:52:19 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 19, 2018, 03:53:51 PM
A few interesting teams here: 

Hmm. Conor Gorman is probably finished at the top level now. Doubt if he's one to look at.
John Scully seems to have no interest in any thing beyond club football. Evan Costello is one I'd like to see getting a decent try out at that level.
Post by: Jd on September 26, 2018, 11:59:48 AM
Sean O Flynn the half back with Courtwood is possibly the best young intermediate player I have seen this year and is not even mentioned as a sub.
Post by: Don Draper on September 26, 2018, 12:00:48 PM
Quote from: Jd on September 26, 2018, 11:59:48 AM
Sean O Flynn the half back with Courtwood is possibly the best young intermediate player I have seen this year and is not even mentioned as a sub.
Sean, don't be worrying yourself, concentrate on Saturday and the rest will follow.
Post by: Jd on September 26, 2018, 03:15:13 PM
Sean's in school ....... This is his da 😀
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2018, 05:36:53 PM
Fair point JD and I notice some of the lads that WERE mentioned are not even playing well for their own clubs
Post by: The PRO on September 26, 2018, 05:43:30 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2018, 05:36:53 PM
Fair point JD and I notice some of the lads that WERE mentioned are not even playing well for their own clubs

Agreed. Not fair to name names but some of the lads seem to just have been named cause they were ex county minors or under 21's and aren't really playing well at all.

I think Mullen from Mountmellick is an excellent player who could make the step up if he got the fitness work done in a proper county team pre season.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2018, 06:46:58 PM
I wouldn't be too worried about what the Leinster express writes anyway . It's only a critic with a pen and paper that probably never put on a pair of football boots in his life . I think Mullins has potential yes, and despite people giving out about Gaels teams I feel that the few lads from Castletown are really playing well for Mountmellick and have improved the side well. Easily as good as most of the senior teams I'd say .
Post by: Don Draper on September 26, 2018, 07:17:10 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2018, 06:46:58 PM
I wouldn't be too worried about what the Leinster express writes anyway . It's only a critic with a pen and paper that probably never put on a pair of football boots in his life . I think Mullins has potential yes, and despite people giving out about Gaels teams I feel that the few lads from Castletown are really playing well for Mountmellick and have improved the side well. Easily as good as most of the senior teams I'd say .
You know f**k all about the Leinster Express and specifically Rory if that's what you think. Gobshite
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2018, 08:05:15 PM
I didn't mention Rory
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2018, 07:42:34 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2018, 08:05:15 PM
I didn't mention Rory
Who do you think wrote it?
Post by: Jd on September 27, 2018, 09:06:34 AM
Sure it doesn't matter who wrote it it's an opinion piece much the same as some of the stuff we write here. Maybe I never pulled on a pair of boots but doesn't stop me offering opinions. Yet man may have missed one or two players but it's not a shooting offence. And Mullins has really come into form over the last few matches I'd agree. He's deadly accurate.
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2018, 09:37:23 AM
Quote from: Jd on September 27, 2018, 09:06:34 AM
Sure it doesn't matter who wrote it it's an opinion piece much the same as some of the stuff we write here. Maybe I never pulled on a pair of boots but doesn't stop me offering opinions. Yet man may have missed one or two players but it's not a shooting offence. And Mullins has really come into form over the last few matches I'd agree. He's deadly accurate.
The point of the matter is Rory was a fine footballer until he made clean shit of his knee. Cockmumbles above obviously isn't aware of that and showed up his own ignorance in doing so.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 27, 2018, 02:05:19 PM
I didn't mention Rory . You don't have to be so sensitive about everything Don it's an open forum.
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2018, 02:45:07 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 26, 2018, 06:46:58 PM
I wouldn't be too worried about what the Leinster express writes anyway . It's only a critic with a pen and paper that probably never put on a pair of football boots in his life
Gway out of that and don't be talkin shite.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 27, 2018, 03:15:57 PM
When did you become administrator of this forum Don, you come across as a bit of a bully boy sitting behind a keyboard, something similar to the clowns who made the "Hogan Stand" forum unreadable.
I for one would hate this site to go down the same road as that one but this thing of abusing people who dare to have a different opinion than you is the type of thing that drives genuine people away.
You are as entitled to an opinion as anyone else but please keep the schoolboy stuff for the pub...
Post by: portlaoisekid on September 28, 2018, 01:14:47 AM
Spot on as usual junior. This is the only forum we have , we had one Muppet last week talking anonymously about a player and in fairness Don doesn't talk personally about lads but let's hope the shit gets cut out or as you say its a hogan stand situation .

Post by: Tony on September 28, 2018, 07:30:25 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on September 27, 2018, 09:37:23 AM
Quote from: Jd on September 27, 2018, 09:06:34 AM
The point of the matter is Rory was a fine footballer until he made clean shit of his knee. Cockmumbles above obviously isn't aware of that and showed up his own ignorance in doing so.
Yeah Don, you're right. Showed his ignorance alright. Just like that time you showed your complete ignorance when you questioned why Cian O' Neill was so overweight (when he had a major car accident). Calm down and don't be such a hypocrite. You're a faceless computer user on a small gaa forum just like the rest of us; don't get notions  ;D.
Post by: SCFC on September 28, 2018, 12:12:34 PM
Ah lads. A throwaway remark to be fair. How often have any of us used the "never pulled a pair of boot on himself" line?
As regards the lad who probably wrote the article (I don't think it had a byeline), he was as Don said a fine player before injury ended it for him.
Post by: Don Draper on September 28, 2018, 12:59:15 PM
Quote from: SCFC on September 28, 2018, 12:12:34 PM
Ah lads. A throwaway remark to be fair. How often have any of us used the "never pulled a pair of boot on himself" line?
As regards the lad who probably wrote the article (I don't think it had a byeline), he was as Don said a fine player before injury ended it for him.

It had a byline, as anyone who read it would have known. It was a disrespectful comment and I called it thusly. He was a very fine player who had a shocking time of it. We're lucky to have in the position he's currently in and we'll miss him when he goes.
Post by: SCFC on September 28, 2018, 01:29:52 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on September 28, 2018, 12:59:15 PM
Quote from: SCFC on September 28, 2018, 12:12:34 PM

It had a byline, as anyone who read it would have known. It was a disrespectful comment and I called it thusly. He was a very fine player who had a shocking time of it. We're lucky to have in the position he's currently in and we'll miss him when he goes.
Fair enough. If it had a by line, I never even noticed.
Yeah, he was a good player alright. I saw him playing minor in 2002 and he was as good as the likes of Chris Bergin.
Post by: Laoiseabu on September 29, 2018, 12:30:24 AM
I only noticed the byline there now. I was thinking any of the Leinster reporters could of written it .  Your hardly the writers brother by any chance Don ?
Post by: Don Draper on September 29, 2018, 05:59:59 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on September 29, 2018, 12:30:24 AM
I only noticed the byline there now. I was thinking any of the Leinster reporters could of written it .  Your hardly the writers brother by any chance Don ?
Just let it go, you acted like an arsehole and were called up on it. Throwing further mud does nothing for you. Be more careful in future.
Post by: Keyser Söze on September 29, 2018, 09:25:54 PM
The same reporter has been known "to put the boot in" and make very little effort to objectively check both sides of a story.
Just saying.
Post by: Downtheroad on September 30, 2018, 03:44:52 PM

After the beating St Josephs got, you have to wonder whether we will need divisional teams in the SFC proper. Otherwise, we will have no one going to the finals in the years to come.
Post by: From the Terrace on October 02, 2018, 01:00:07 PM
Well id say this is the first step to it. I think its the way forward to having a more competitive SFC. But it will only get off the ground if everyone buys into it. John Sugrue is a visionary manager, He is looking at the long term. i think we're lucky to have him.
Post by: High Fielder on October 02, 2018, 02:18:37 PM
This is a one off concept designed to give lads an opportunity to showcase their talents alongside players of similar ability. The ultimate goal is to try and pick up a couple of players who could be of use to Laois. I would say it's incredibly unlikely to take the place of the club championship in the future. Clubs themselves tend to be very reluctant to even reduce the Senior Championship to 12 teams, so abandoning it altogether is not going to happen. It's a great idea in my opinion. You would like to think that lads will buy into it and give it a go. I always subscribe to the notion that a better standard of game can sometimes unearth talent that hadn't been obvious before
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 04, 2018, 12:51:00 AM
Dates announced for trial tournament
http://hoganstand.com/Laois/article/index/291054?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

The tournament begins on Saturday, October 12th with the opening round of fixtures being played at the Centre of Excellence.
West/North West take on East Central at 6pm and then North East face South East at 7.30pm.
Games will take place every weekend for four weeks with the competition ending on November 4th.

Post by: Butch Cassidy on October 04, 2018, 07:31:48 AM
Anyone know who the management teams are and have a list of who was called in for trials?
Post by: SCFC on October 09, 2018, 12:04:44 PM
Is this still going ahead next Saturday?
Post by: O moore parklife on October 09, 2018, 12:31:20 PM
Ya 6 and 730 in omp was in last weekend's programme.
Imagine the boyz will advertise it this week
Post by: SCFC on October 09, 2018, 02:49:40 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on October 09, 2018, 12:31:20 PM
Ya 6 and 730 in omp was in last weekend's programme.
Imagine the boyz will advertise it this week
Fairly big assumption to make that anyone will publicise it.
I haven't seen one mention of it on social media and it's not even listed in the fixtures list!
Post by: The PRO on October 09, 2018, 03:12:47 PM
Here's the squads as per The Leinster Express.

https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaelic-games/340659/revealed-panels-and-management-teams-named-for-new-laois-gaa-divisional-competition.html

Post by: Heshs Umpire on October 09, 2018, 03:37:47 PM
A few lads I thought might be involved.

I'm sure there's lots of different reasons why they're not.

Jason Maher (Kilcavan)

Andrew Baldwin (Barrowhouse)

James Baldwin (Barrowhouse)

Paddy Hyland (Clonaslee)

Jamie Parr (Graigue) – not sure what age Jamie is

David Aston (Killeshin)

Sean Tynan (Park Ratheniska)

Colin Slevin (Port)

Adam Ryan (Port)

Aidan Brennan (Josephs)

Daithi Carroll (Heath)

Ciaran Booth (Heath)

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 09, 2018, 06:04:25 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on October 04, 2018, 07:31:48 AM
Anyone know who the management teams are and have a list of who was called in for trials?

From Leinster Express:

The full list of panels is as follows:

East Central
Management Team: Dan Nelligan, Greg Ramsbottom, Brendan Quigley

Squad
Stradbally: Colm Begley, Wayne Comerford (inj), Liam Knowles, Eoin Buggie, Jack Deegan, Jody Dillon, Tom Shiel.
Ballylinan: Gary Walsh, Conor Behan, Andy McEvoy, Kevin Byrne, James Farrell, Robbie Donoher (inj), Alan Farrell (inj), Seamus Lacey.
St Joseph's: Aaron Cooney, Dan Dunne (inj), Adam Campion, Donal Ramsbottom, James Kelly, Michael Keogh, Brian Daly.
Ballyroan Abbey: Aaron Carroll, Shaun Murphy, John Rogers, Diarmuid Whelan, Martin Scully, Conor Brennan.
Park-Ratheniska: Richie Hitchcock, Padraig Dunne.
Timahoe: Ruairi O'Connor, Damien O'Connor.

West Northwest
Management Team: Shane Conlon, Derek Conroy, Darren Rooney

Squad
Ballyfin: Davy Connolly, James Moore, Ben Conroy, Sean Moore.
Clonaslee St Manman's: Willie Young.
Rosenallis: Cathal C Fennell, Fiachra C Fennell, Ruaidhri C Fennell, Eoin Dunne.
Mountmellick: Colm Coss, Niall Mullen, Darren Fitzpatrick, Jason Caffrey, Gearoid Hanrahan, James Mullaney, Ryan Mullaney, Eoin Keogh, Eoin George, Brendan Reddin.
The Rock: Aaron Dowling, Conor Flynn, Anavil Storey.
The Harps: Ciaran Comerford, Daniel Comerford.
Camross: Robert Tyrell.
St Brigid's (Dublin): John O'Loughlin (inj)

South East
Management Team: Martin Gorman, John Kealy, Brian 'Beano' McDonald

Squad
Arles-Kilcruise: Kevin Meaney, Francis Egan, David Conway, Ross Munnelly, Michael Wall, Caomhan Brennan.
Crettyard: Evan O'Carroll, Sean O'Shea, Michael Nash, Cormac Murphy.
Killeshin: David McDermott, Shane Bolger, Eoin Lowry, Evan Lowry, Stephen Attride, Kevin Ryan.
Arles-Killeen: Paul Kingston, Donie Kingston, Sean O'Shea.
Graiguecullen: Mark Timmons, Danny Bolger, Martin Doyle, Luke Alsybury, Trevor Collins, Paul Mulready, Brian Byrne, Aaron Forbes, Danny O'Reilly.
Barrowhouse: Emmet Malone.

North East
Management Team: Paul Lawlor, John Scully, Frank Finn

Squad
The Heath: Robbie Dowling, Alan Whelan, Brian Ging, Evin Keane, James Phelan.
Emo: Nigel Murphy, Shane Murphy, Niall Gorman, Darren Strong, Liam Crowley, Padraig Kirwan, Finbarr Crowley, Evan Costello, Jack Owens.
Portarlington: Scott Osborne, Robbie Piggott, Colm Murphy, Diarmuid Bennett, Graham Weldon, Patrick O'Sullivan, Jordan Fitzpatrick, Ronan Coffey (inj), Sean Byrne.
Annanough: Killian Horgan, Elliot Scully.
Post by: Laois Rising on October 09, 2018, 06:30:57 PM
Is Kevin Meaney looking to make a comeback to county fold next year? I see he is selected to play. Maybe he is just a passionate South East Laois man. Great to see the names that have committed to these squads. Should make for two good, competitive games Saturday night.
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on October 09, 2018, 09:13:44 PM
I have wondered would it be possibly to get sean george to committ to laois, doesnt seem to be featuring for dublin anymore
Post by: Dwayne Johnston on October 09, 2018, 09:29:55 PM
Sean George is living abroad as far as I know
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on October 09, 2018, 09:33:05 PM
that would be a good reason alright :-\
Post by: Don Draper on October 10, 2018, 10:06:06 AM
Any Rosenallis fella able to tell me what the deal is with the Fennells and the "C"? Seems odd.
Post by: Jd on October 10, 2018, 11:38:39 AM
Probably just a double barrelled  name such as Connaughton shortened for ease of pronunciation.  Or maybe they're  known as the C Fennells  cos their father is Charles or Cathal and there's  a other family  of Fennells  up the road so they use the c to differentiate 
Post by: Giovanni on October 10, 2018, 12:08:31 PM
I was hoping they might pick up a couple from Junior clubs in some of the non-traditional areas (the likes of Rathdowney, Ballinakill, Mountrath, Ballacolla) but anyway it's a very good exercise. Should be interesting.
Post by: merman on October 10, 2018, 12:32:27 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 10, 2018, 10:06:06 AM
Any Rosenallis fella able to tell me what the deal is with the Fennells and the "C"? Seems odd.

I believe their mother is a Culleton.
Culleton-Fennell was shortened when the lads went to primary school.
Post by: Don Draper on October 10, 2018, 01:20:47 PM
Quote from: merman on October 10, 2018, 12:32:27 PM

A fair mouthful alright. Thanks.
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 10, 2018, 03:15:07 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 10, 2018, 01:20:47 PM
Quote from: merman on October 10, 2018, 12:32:27 PM

A fair mouthful alright. Thanks.
An even better question is , how many C fennel's is there in Rosenallis ? Seems to be a good few
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 13, 2018, 02:35:14 AM
(http://i67.tinypic.com/snf6l3.jpg)
Post by: Chrimtain on October 13, 2018, 10:15:43 PM
Not sure how many players stood out tonight, but, having seen only the second match, it seemed to me that the players were really up for it and served up an enjoyable game. I think this competition has a future.

To be honest, I did not recognize all of the players (apart from the well known county players), but Aaron Forbes looks like he has improved a lot.

Post by: Laoiseabu on October 13, 2018, 11:48:31 PM
Looking at him in the championship you wouldn't think he improved . Anyone stand out ?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 14, 2018, 01:10:59 AM
Results from tonight's games:

East Central:          2-12
West Northwest:   0-12

South East :           5-16
North East :           3-11           

East Central
Management Team: Dan Nelligan, Greg Ramsbottom, Brendan Quigley

Squad
Stradbally: Colm Begley, Wayne Comerford (inj), Liam Knowles, Eoin Buggie, Jack Deegan, Jody Dillon, Tom Shiel.
Ballylinan: Gary Walsh, Conor Behan, Andy McEvoy, Kevin Byrne, James Farrell, Robbie Donoher (inj), Alan Farrell (inj), Seamus Lacey.
St Joseph's: Aaron Cooney, Dan Dunne (inj), Adam Campion, Donal Ramsbottom, James Kelly, Michael Keogh, Brian Daly.
Ballyroan Abbey: Aaron Carroll, Shaun Murphy, John Rogers, Diarmuid Whelan, Martin Scully, Conor Brennan.
Park-Ratheniska: Richie Hitchcock, Padraig Dunne.
Timahoe: Ruairi O'Connor, Damien O'Connor.

West Northwest
Management Team: Shane Conlon, Derek Conroy, Darren Rooney

Squad
Ballyfin: Davy Connolly, James Moore, Ben Conroy, Sean Moore.
Clonaslee St Manman's: Willie Young.
Rosenallis: Cathal C Fennell, Fiachra C Fennell, Ruaidhri C Fennell, Eoin Dunne.
Mountmellick: Colm Coss, Niall Mullen, Darren Fitzpatrick, Jason Caffrey, Gearoid Hanrahan, James Mullaney, Ryan Mullaney, Eoin Keogh, Eoin George, Brendan Reddin.
The Rock: Aaron Dowling, Conor Flynn, Anavil Storey.
The Harps: Ciaran Comerford, Daniel Comerford.
Camross: Robert Tyrell.
St Brigid's (Dublin): John O'Loughlin (inj)

South East
Management Team: Martin Gorman, John Kealy, Brian 'Beano' McDonald

Squad
Arles-Kilcruise: Kevin Meaney, Francis Egan, David Conway, Ross Munnelly, Michael Wall, Caomhan Brennan.
Crettyard: Evan O'Carroll, Sean O'Shea, Michael Nash, Cormac Murphy.
Killeshin: David McDermott, Shane Bolger, Eoin Lowry, Evan Lowry, Stephen Attride, Kevin Ryan.
Arles-Killeen: Paul Kingston, Donie Kingston, Sean O'Shea.
Graiguecullen: Mark Timmons, Danny Bolger, Martin Doyle, Luke Alsybury, Trevor Collins, Paul Mulready, Brian Byrne, Aaron Forbes, Danny O'Reilly.
Barrowhouse: Emmet Malone.

North East
Management Team: Paul Lawlor, John Scully, Frank Finn

Squad
The Heath: Robbie Dowling, Alan Whelan, Brian Ging, Evin Keane, James Phelan.
Emo: Nigel Murphy, Shane Murphy, Niall Gorman, Darren Strong, Liam Crowley, Padraig Kirwan, Finbarr Crowley, Evan Costello, Jack Owens.
Portarlington: Scott Osborne, Robbie Piggott, Colm Murphy, Diarmuid Bennett, Graham Weldon, Patrick O'Sullivan, Jordan Fitzpatrick, Ronan Coffey (inj), Sean Byrne.
Annanough: Killian Horgan, Elliot Scully.

Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 14, 2018, 09:10:09 AM
I think the fact everyone showed up is the big positive here, they all want to make the Laois panel which is huge.  Credit where credit is due to Sugrue, managements  , the County Board, players & supporters for getting behind it.  It definitely has possibility's, a scoreboard would be a huge help in the Center of Excellence.
Post by: Chrimtain on October 14, 2018, 09:36:31 AM
Maybe there were programmes available last night, but I didn't get one, so it was hard to make out the players. I think Evin Keane of The Heath played well. Kevin Meaney also had a good game, and looked surprisingly fit. Evan Costelloe also had a good game. I was disappointed at the poor representation from Portarlington. As a club, they should be very disappointed as well. They may have a lot of young players, but they seem to be going nowhere. That a town of its size could only manage to have one player on view says much about them. Understandably lacking the O'Dempsey's and Courtwood players also, the NE team seemed to have a squad of only 17.  In general though, I was impressed with eagerness of the players in the one match that I saw.
Post by: town1980 on October 14, 2018, 10:49:00 AM
I think laoisabu has an issue with the graigue people
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 14, 2018, 12:07:21 PM
Town1980 just cause I make a factual statement about someone or something dosent mean I have an issue with them . I'm just pointing out what perhaps others might not see.
Post by: Laois fan on October 14, 2018, 06:20:17 PM
I was disappointed at the poor representation from Portarlington. As a club, they should be very disappointed as well. They may have a lot of young players, but they seem to be going nowhere. That a town of its size could only manage to have one player on view says much about them............Bshit shitstirring comment While port only had two playing a further three were there but injured,one was abroad on holidays and another couldnt get off work .Young slevin and mohan who were prob portbs better players this year werent called in
Post by: O moore parklife on October 14, 2018, 08:08:40 PM
Is slevin not injured??
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 14, 2018, 08:19:17 PM
Best players this year ? The chap got injured in the first game of the championship so didn't play. U must be thinking of someone else
Post by: Unlaoised on October 15, 2018, 02:46:44 PM
West north west looked the most disjointed out of the 4 teams but the Moore chap was a standout .

Games had a nice bite about them but in truth it was the county men or ex county men like a meaney which stood out.

I suppose if it added 3 players to the panel and maybe a returning meaney / boyle /kehoe /or Merdith then we would be stronger going forward..

Was few lads i couldnt make out in the second game which were good one half back on the south east team in particular
Post by: Chrimtain on October 15, 2018, 03:43:18 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on October 15, 2018, 02:46:44 PM
West north west looked the most disjointed out of the 4 teams but the Moore chap was a standout .

Games had a nice bite about them but in truth it was the county men or ex county men like a meaney which stood out.

I suppose if it added 3 players to the panel and maybe a returning meaney / boyle /kehoe /or Merdith then we would be stronger going forward..

Was few lads i couldnt make out in the second game which were good one half back on the south east team in particular

Was that Aylesbury from Graigcullen?
Post by: Pablo Escobar on October 15, 2018, 10:17:33 PM
Steven Miller makes a great point that a North Laois team could work in the Laois senior championship. As it stands Mountmellick, The Rock , Kilcavan, Rosenallis, Clonaslee, Castletown and other clubs predominantly hurling in nature could be viable and most competitive . I also believe a South Laois  team made up of Annanough , Park/Rathineska , Timahoe, Barrowhouse, Spink, The Harps etc could also work. I believe the two teams would be two great additions to the senior championship. The North Laois team would be very strong . I hope the legacy of this divisional competition is that these two divisional teams are introduced into the senior championship and that the gaels situation is abandoned . The county board should support both of theses teams and appoint managers like they have for these competitions
Post by: Chrimtain on October 16, 2018, 02:18:53 PM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on October 15, 2018, 10:17:33 PM
Steven Miller makes a great point that a North Laois team could work in the Laois senior championship. As it stands Mountmellick, The Rock , Kilcavan, Rosenallis, Clonaslee, Castletown and other clubs predominantly hurling in nature could be viable and most competitive . I also believe a South Laois  team made up of Annanough , Park/Rathineska , Timahoe, Barrowhouse, Spink, The Harps etc could also work. I believe the two teams would be two great additions to the senior championship. The North Laois team would be very strong . I hope the legacy of this divisional competition is that these two divisional teams are introduced into the senior championship and that the gaels situation is abandoned . The county board should support both of theses teams and appoint managers like they have for these competitions

This sounds like a very good idea.
Post by: SCFC on October 16, 2018, 03:33:39 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on October 16, 2018, 02:18:53 PM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on October 15, 2018, 10:17:33 PM

This sounds like a very good idea.

When push comes to shove I'm not so sure.

I'd have advocated a few area teams for a long time now but we already have 16 senior clubs in their own right.

Now, of course 16 is too many and adding another two to make it 18 would be crazy but the big problem is getting the 16 senior clubs (who are a powerful voting block) to back their own numbers being reduced.

I can't imagine the last couple of intermediate champions, Emo and Courtwood being delighted with having to take on the whole north west of the county! Or some of the other senior teams who are constantly in the relegation battle such as Ballyfin or The Heath.

A complete overhaul is needed not throwing in two big area teams.

We'd be much better off having eight senior clubs and four decent area senior teams.

If for arguments sake the 8 senior clubs were Josephs, Portlaoise, Portarlington, O'Dempseys, Graigue, Ballyroan, Stradbally and Killeshin, it would leave the likes of Crettyard, Emo, Ballylinan and the two Arles teams available to be part of area teams.

Wouldn't a Na Fianna team of Ballylinan, the two Arles teams, Crettyard and Barrowhouse be logical?

Then maybe Timahoe, Park Ratheniska, Annanough and The Heath.

Emo, The Rock, Courtwood, Mountmellick and Kilcavan.

Then a kind of "hurling area" team of Spink, Harps, Ballyfin, Rosenallis, Clonaslee, Slieve Bloom, Camross and all the other junior B and C clubs.

Post by: Pablo Escobar on October 16, 2018, 05:27:13 PM
This would of course be the ideal situation as we have far too many senior clubs. Kerry only have eight I believe. The 4 area teams you have outlined would work but it's the getting down to 8 that is the problem . I think we had a ridiculous number of senior teams in the mid 90s, definitely in the 20's possibly more.
Post by: Downtheroad on October 16, 2018, 10:05:43 PM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on October 16, 2018, 05:27:13 PM
This would of course be the ideal situation as we have far too many senior clubs. Kerry only have eight I believe. The 4 area teams you have outlined would work but it's the getting down to 8 that is the problem . I think we had a ridiculous number of senior teams in the mid 90s, definitely in the 20's possibly more.
Most counties have pared back the numbers at Senior level over the past decade. Tipperary, Wexford and Galway have cut numbers in a big way. Kerry has 8 senior clubs  while Laois are persisting with 16. 12 senior sides and 4 divisional sides would make things interesting. We also would then have a decent intermediate championship. The problem in Laois is that any team apart from Portlaoise can be relegated in a given year with the converse that all teams could potentially reach the final if they avoid Portlaoise. In 2017, Ballyfin arguably  the weakest in Senior going into 2019 were capable of beating Stradbally only last year. 
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 17, 2018, 02:19:54 AM
Laois Divisional Trial Tournament. 
Round 2, Saturday 20th Oct

West Northwest v North East    Mountmellick: 4.45pm
East Central v South East          Stradbally: 6.30pm

Post by: Chrimtain on October 17, 2018, 07:16:58 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 17, 2018, 02:19:54 AM
Laois Divisional Trial Tournament.  Round 2

Mountmellick: 4.45pm    West Northwest v North East
Stradbally: 6.30pm         East Central v South East

On Saturday?
Post by: From the Terrace on October 17, 2018, 08:51:42 AM
Great to see everyone buying into this. Could be the first step to a divisional in our senior championship. I think its the way forward, anyone im talking too is sick of these gaels teams. You would just have to look at mountmellick if you drove through the week before the county final you would barely notice a flag around the place. The county board need to sort our SFC there are at least 4-6 teams too many there.
Post by: Laois Rising on October 17, 2018, 04:18:38 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on October 17, 2018, 04:08:07 PM
simple way of reducing the championship from 16 to 12 teams. In Limerick they reduced their hurling championship from 16 to 12 in one year by dividing the 16 clubs in 4 groups of 4. The two team teams in each group progress to quarter finals. The bottom team in each group automatically relegated.

Unfortunately you are left in the position that the intermediate champions do not gain automatic promotion that year. If you wanted to give them promotion then you could have the 3rd place teams in the group play relegation semi-finals and relegation final with one team eventually losing out. 

If you were to go the whole hog (which I would do). Top eight teams progress to quarter finals and bottom eight teams relegated to intermediate.
Then for the start of the following year's championship (2020) I would then create my four regional sides meaning that their are 12 teams in the championship (8 individual clubs and 4 regional sides). Any club that is not playing at senior level, their players are eligible to play senior for their regional side (similar to kerry model). If a club is promoted to senior then those players are no longer eligible to play for the regional team. Therefore every club is playing individually at their right level and it will do away once and for all with some of these ridiculous amalgamations that we have e.g. crettyard/spink where some of the spink (in reality Ballinakill hurlers) players are kicking a football for the first time that year playing in a competitive championship match.

It's just a thought but it would really strengthen our championship and could be fully up and running by championship 2020.

Post by: Clubber Lang on October 17, 2018, 04:30:16 PM
Definite merits in that idea and would make for exciting championship games in 2019 and 2020 for very different reasons. Fight to stay up next year would be huge and the following year Portlaoise would be seriously tested. Couldn't imagine a number of clubs supporting such a proposal however as they will always put their own self interests and preservation as a "senior" club first.
Post by: Pablo Escobar on October 17, 2018, 06:39:57 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on October 17, 2018, 04:18:38 PM
simple way of reducing the championship from 16 to 12 teams. In Limerick they reduced their hurling championship from 16 to 12 in one year by dividing the 16 clubs in 4 groups of 4. The two team teams in each group progress to quarter finals. The bottom team in each group automatically relegated.

Unfortunately you are left in the position that the intermediate champions do not gain automatic promotion that year. If you wanted to give them promotion then you could have the 3rd place teams in the group play relegation semi-finals and relegation final with one team eventually losing out. 

If you were to go the whole hog (which I would do). Top eight teams progress to quarter finals and bottom eight teams relegated to intermediate.
Then for the start of the following year's championship (2020) I would then create my four regional sides meaning that their are 12 teams in the championship (8 individual clubs and 4 regional sides). Any club that is not playing at senior level, their players are eligible to play senior for their regional side (similar to kerry model). If a club is promoted to senior then those players are no longer eligible to play for the regional team. Therefore every club is playing individually at their right level and it will do away once and for all with some of these ridiculous amalgamations that we have e.g. crettyard/spink where some of the spink (in reality Ballinakill hurlers) players are kicking a football for the first time that year playing in a competitive championship match.

It's just a thought but it would really strengthen our championship and could be fully up and running by championship 2020.

Great post and it should  definitely be considered by the county board. Let's hope they are reading 😉
Post by: Helix on October 17, 2018, 07:05:38 PM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on October 17, 2018, 06:39:57 PM

Great post and it should  definitely be considered by the county board. Let's hope they are reading 😉

Great point but I'd be surprised if county board bought into some common sense though.
Post by: Zooming around on October 18, 2018, 09:07:53 AM
Quote from: Helix on October 17, 2018, 07:05:38 PM

Great point but I'd be surprised if county board bought into some common sense though.

The county board do not make those decisions. They can merely come with proposals. The clubs make the decision. Those idea(s) mentioned above are very good but it would mean a lot of clubs voting, in effect, to relegate themselves. I have yet to see a turkey vote for Christmas.
Post by: SCFC on October 18, 2018, 10:17:32 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on October 18, 2018, 09:07:53 AM

The county board do not make those decisions. They can merely come with proposals. The clubs make the decision. Those idea(s) mentioned above are very good but it would mean a lot of clubs voting, in effect, to relegate themselves. I have yet to see a turkey vote for Christmas.
That's the point I made earlier in the thread. The 16 senior football clubs are never going to back a proposal that eight of them get relegated in one year.
There might be some chance of doing it on an incremental basis. Two or three down each year until the desired number is reached.
Post by: Downtheroad on October 18, 2018, 10:27:14 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on October 18, 2018, 09:07:53 AM

A number of other counties have voted recently for significant overhauls of their championships but I think the vibes in our own county are fairly negative when the subject is mooted.  One of the reasons why Cork and Kerry win a lot of the All Ireland intermediate and junior football champions is the divisional system. It's the same in hurling with Kiilkenny who have such a competitive intermediate and junior championships because there are only 12 clubs in the top 2 tiers. 
Post by: redsetanta on October 18, 2018, 11:45:49 AM
The hurlers managed a Senior B championship what is it about the football clubs that makes this so bad. They have already changed the league structure to 1a and 1b.
Post by: Don Draper on October 18, 2018, 11:57:21 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on October 18, 2018, 11:45:49 AM
The hurlers managed a Senior B championship what is it about the football clubs that makes this so bad. They have already changed the league structure to 1a and 1b.
Senior A if I'm not mistaken.
Post by: redsetanta on October 18, 2018, 12:48:10 PM
Senior A, senior B but you know what I mean!
Post by: Don Draper on October 18, 2018, 12:49:49 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on October 18, 2018, 12:48:10 PM
Senior A, senior B but you know what I mean!
I do, but thats the point, they wouldn't even accept Senior B.
Post by: Downtheroad on October 18, 2018, 01:00:47 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 18, 2018, 11:57:21 AM
Senior A is the most ridiculous name for a second tier competition. It's a embarrassment when I hear it mentioned as it should be called what it really is which is intermediate. I reckon a fair few junior Kilkenny clubs would compete in our so called Senior A in hurling. Back to the thread, We should at the very least divide the current Senior championship into 2 and called it Senior B even if to keep clubs happy. At least it would be progress.   
Post by: Don Draper on October 18, 2018, 02:31:32 PM
Quote from: Downtheroad on October 18, 2018, 01:00:47 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 18, 2018, 11:57:21 AM
Senior A is the most ridiculous name for a second tier competition. It's a embarrassment when I hear it mentioned as it should be called what it really is which is intermediate. I reckon a fair few junior Kilkenny clubs would compete in our so called Senior A in hurling. Back to the thread, We should at the very least divide the current Senior championship into 2 and called it Senior B even if to keep clubs happy. At least it would be progress.
Makes perfect sense. If the Clubs had a clue, they'd go for it too, as it would give a few of them who have been circling the drain for two decades or so, a chance win something and a crack at a Leinster or All Ireland.
Post by: From the Terrace on October 19, 2018, 11:06:15 AM
That's a good analogy don. Could't agree more. The county board have got a manager that everyone is happy with i think, It's now time to sort this put it across to the clubs correctly. i for one would be contented we're moving in the right direction.
Post by: Laois Rising on October 19, 2018, 12:25:33 PM
I would still like to see the concept of Gaels done away with and simply dividing teams as they are now into A and B won't achieve that.

A streamlined system of 12 senior teams (8 clubs and four divisional), 12 intermediate and 12 junior seems to make logical sense to me. You call re-brand the intermediate as premier A or senior A if that keeps some of the clubs happy. I still can't fathom why they opposed to playing at a level where they can be genuinely competitive and have the possibility of aiming for and winning a county title. I guarantee if the likes of Killeen, Crettyard, Ballyfin, the Heath etc. were all playing one another in an intermediate competition the eventual winners would take immense pride from winning out such a competition and celebrate it appropriately. For 5/6 clubs in Laois every year their goal is to simply avoid relegation. I went through my own playing days in such a scenario and the reality is after a number of years of doing it you grow weary and tiresome of it. Having something to play for that is attainable is far more enjoyable and rewarding for players. Winning championship games and "going on a run" also lifts the spirits in a club, parish and community.

I hope some sense prevails in the near future in relation to restructuring the Laois championship because at present the current system is at best mediocre and not serving clubs or the county team as it should.           
Post by: Jd on October 19, 2018, 05:55:09 PM
I think a lot of ideas here would work with the 8 club 4 regional  teams being a particularly  good idea.  But how do you decide the starting format.  The last two intermediate  champions were Emo  and O Dempseys  and both have consolidated their place at senior but the heath have always stayed  up senior.  Ballylinan  were in last year's final but would you say they're better than Port who have done nothing  since the 90s  Stradbally  were last outside of Portlaoise  to win senior but when they're not on a run they can be awful. Graigue are a big club but are they better than Arles who have won a senior when they were playing intermediate.  Courtwood  won intermediate this year and would probably beat more than half of the current  senior  clubs but Arles Killen have been in senior finals in the time they were down as far as junior.  I'm  not being awkward  but every club being sent down can argue that they are better than some club staying up.  I would advocate a gradual process  where two go down every year and 1 comes up or possibly 3 down with the third based on league performance
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 19, 2018, 06:05:47 PM
Portlaoise are the king pins,the rest are six in one,half a dozen in the other . No point arguing who's better than who, any any given day any of the others ( besides Portlaoise ) could beat one another . There is definitely too many teams in the senior grade by the way . Needs to be reduced
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 20, 2018, 01:52:57 AM
Laois Divisional Trial Tournament. 
Round 2, Saturday 20th Oct

West Northwest v North East    Mountmellick: 4.45pm
East Central v South East          Stradbally: 6.30pm

Post by: Unlaoised on October 21, 2018, 01:56:53 PM
West north west were hammered by a North east side short of o dempseys and coutwood players

West north west were always going to be the weakest team in this format and it doesnt seem fair that Ballyfin a weak senior club is their only senior football team .

Only Tyrell from camross and ryan mulanney from castletown are playing from the five or six hurling clubs so they are left to scrape a team from young guys from the Rock mountmellick Rosenallis and Ballyfin whos 3 best and county players are away in sean moore darragh connolly and james finn

Emo or port should been included with them they had only 15 yesterday which defeats the purpose of this excercise everyone there yesterday including the heath and emo people i was chatting were of the same that west north west team were always going be tye weakest and most disjointed.

Needs to be tweeked for next year .

Some good football on show from the north east with too many to mention evan costello evan keane and colm murphy really stood out in the second half for the north east .

Eoin keogh was the  best for the loosers with colm coss and james moore doing okay in spells
Ryan mullaney tried his best too

Not too many on the bank to watch this but still few pound more for the kolbe centre where people were being generously giving alot more than the two euro entrance fee being charged.
Post by: Chrimtain on October 22, 2018, 04:41:07 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on October 21, 2018, 01:56:53 PM
West north west were hammered by a North east side short of o dempseys and coutwood players

West north west were always going to be the weakest team in this format and it doesnt seem fair that Ballyfin a weak senior club is their only senior football team .

Only Tyrell from camross and ryan mulanney from castletown are playing from the five or six hurling clubs so they are left to scrape a team from young guys from the Rock mountmellick Rosenallis and Ballyfin whos 3 best and county players are away in sean moore darragh connolly and james finn

Emo or port should been included with them they had only 15 yesterday which defeats the purpose of this excercise everyone there yesterday including the heath and emo people i was chatting were of the same that west north west team were always going be tye weakest and most disjointed.

Needs to be tweeked for next year .

Some good football on show from the north east with too many to mention evan costello evan keane and colm murphy really stood out in the second half for the north east .

Eoin keogh was the  best for the loosers with colm coss and james moore doing okay in spells
Ryan mullaney tried his best too

Not too many on the bank to watch this but still few pound more for the kolbe centre where people were being generously giving alot more than the two euro entrance fee being charged.

I was at this match on Saturday, and although the West North West team were beaten, I thought Mullaney and Shelly played well for them. I presume Conor Meredith's absence from the North East panel (according to the programme) means that he is not committing to Laois for 2019.
Post by: Laois Rising on October 22, 2018, 05:02:38 PM
Quote from: Jd on October 19, 2018, 05:55:09 PM
I'm  not being awkward  but every club being sent down can argue that they are better than some club staying up.  I would advocate a gradual process  where two go down every year and 1 comes up or possibly 3 down with the third based on league performance

No club is being sent down by a selection committee in the boardroom. The eight clubs would be relegated on merit by finishing in the bottom two of their group. As I mentioned in earlier post dividing 16 clubs into 4 groups of 4 allows you scope to do this. I guarantee if this was put in place every club would have their house in order for the 2019 championship season. You could relegate 4 clubs one year and four clubs the next if you didn't want something as dramatic.

The two down, one up model doesn't work (look at fiasco of a few years ago). It is also so ridiculously drawn out and you are dealing with odd numbers that lead to convoluted championship structures. If memory serves me correct, Crettyard received a bye the year of the 15 club championship and therefore avoided possibility of relegation despite not winning a game. Why would you slowly pull away at a plaster when one good quick pull of it gets the job done. Same analogy should apply to reforming our current club structures.

To tease out the 4 groups of 4. You could seed teams based on their previous five years championship results e.g. 10 points championship win, 8 points beaten finalist, 6 points semi finalist, 4 points quarter finalist and 2 points third round loser. After adding the accumulated points, top four teams on points 1st seeds, second four 2nd seeds etc. Where clubs are tied on points you might then use league position as the deciding factor.   

As for tying championship relegation/promotion to league-very unfair to do when clubs do not have access to their county players for large parts of the league. Something I wouldn't be in favour of.     
Post by: Chrimtain on October 22, 2018, 05:03:17 PM
I notice that Adam Campion of St Josephs was one of those to catch the eye of the Leinster Express reporter at the second match in Crettyard. I saw him play for St Joe's during the year and thought he looked tenacious at corner back.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on October 23, 2018, 09:42:28 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on October 22, 2018, 05:03:17 PM
I notice that Adam Campion of St Josephs was one of those to catch the eye of the Leinster Express reporter at the second match in Crettyard. I saw him play for St Joe's during the year and thought he looked tenacious at corner back.
Good to hear. I didn't get to the trial games but I saw him in the championship a couple of times and he was really good. As was Matty Campion. Brothers?
Post by: Chrimtain on October 23, 2018, 12:51:45 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on October 23, 2018, 09:42:28 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on October 22, 2018, 05:03:17 PM
Good to hear. I didn't get to the trial games but I saw him in the championship a couple of times and he was really good. As was Matty Campion. Brothers?

I'm not from that area, so I'm not sure if they are brothers, but the two are pretty good. This will probably be ridiculed, but is Adam in the Joe Higgins mould?

I think its fair to say that this competition is throwing up some names for John Sugrue to consider. Whether they are good enough in the long run is another question.
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 23, 2018, 01:39:30 PM
I notice a lot of the names being mentioned have been in around the senior set up before but have then eventually been deemed surplus to requirements . That's my worry . But with a good chunk of our senior squad ageing that might mean there is room for a few more of these lads . As was said before , it still remains to be seen whether they will be good enough in the long run. I suppose only time will tell
Post by: Saint 1963 on October 23, 2018, 10:26:01 PM
Adam and Mattie Campion are brothers.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 24, 2018, 02:15:06 AM
FRIDAY OCTOBER 26 @ LOETB Centre of Excellence 7.30pm
North East v East Central

SATURDAY OCTOBER 27 @ Crettyard 7.00pm
South East v West North West
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 27, 2018, 01:46:26 AM
Final pairing confirmed in Laois Divisional Football competition as Ballyroan duo impress
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/10/26/final-pairing-confirmed-in-laois-divisional-football-competition-as-ballyroan-duo-impress/
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 03, 2018, 12:40:42 AM
Does anyone know if the finals of this competition are going ahead this weekend.. ??
Post by: O moore parklife on November 03, 2018, 09:28:22 AM
Double header in the home of football  :P
Stradbally
Shield final is 530 and cup 7
Wnw vs north east first
South east vs east central after
Weather is meant to clear should be a decent night 
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 04, 2018, 12:19:39 AM
Thanks O'Moore Parklife, didn't get to go after all.. 
I think this has been a very useful exercise by our management team. Hopefully they will have seen a few hopefulls in the few games that were played and there was a lot of interest by the players in it which is good news all round.
A lot of lads wouldn't have put themselves forward for trial games so this competition might have brought a few out of the woodwork...

Super second half sees East Central crowned Divisional football champions

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/11/03/super-second-half-sees-east-central-crowned-divisional-football-champions/

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/pjimage247-640x360.jpg)
Post by: The PRO on November 05, 2018, 01:57:11 PM
So, over the 4 games who really put their hand up for stepping up to senior panel? Any springers?
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 05, 2018, 04:38:09 PM
Quote from: The PRO on November 05, 2018, 01:57:11 PM
So, over the 4 games who really put their hand up for stepping up to senior panel? Any springers?
Only time will tell
Post by: Don Draper on November 05, 2018, 04:48:54 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 05, 2018, 04:38:09 PM
Only time will tell
Dead right, tell him nothing.
Post by: redsetanta on November 05, 2018, 04:55:55 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/11/05/23-players-who-really-impressed-at-the-laois-divisional-football-competition/?fbclid=IwAR2FVDNkO4dehbwSAr8zvk7JHGmwUTidAmAenMl41jPaS4OfsOHrNDgTXGI (https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/11/05/23-players-who-really-impressed-at-the-laois-divisional-football-competition/?fbclid=IwAR2FVDNkO4dehbwSAr8zvk7JHGmwUTidAmAenMl41jPaS4OfsOHrNDgTXGI)
Post by: SCFC on November 06, 2018, 11:10:53 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 05, 2018, 04:38:09 PM
Only time will tell
Very helpful.
Post by: Laois Rising on November 06, 2018, 04:31:00 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on November 05, 2018, 04:55:55 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/11/05/23-players-who-really-impressed-at-the-laois-divisional-football-competition/?fbclid=IwAR2FVDNkO4dehbwSAr8zvk7JHGmwUTidAmAenMl41jPaS4OfsOHrNDgTXGI (https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/11/05/23-players-who-really-impressed-at-the-laois-divisional-football-competition/?fbclid=IwAR2FVDNkO4dehbwSAr8zvk7JHGmwUTidAmAenMl41jPaS4OfsOHrNDgTXGI)

This competition seems to have been of huge value to the Laois under 20 panel for next year. A number of younger players in the county have really progressed throughout this year's championship and divisional games and these experiences should stand to them hugely going forward. Billy O'Loughlin (despite huge resentment/criticism within the county to his appointment) did a good job last year with Laois giving the eventually All-Ireland champions a serious challenge. You would hope that next year's team will be equally as competitive.
Post by: redsetanta on November 06, 2018, 05:11:58 PM
Yes there are a few lads who haven't played minor or U20 for Laois who impressed. Plenty who haven't played senior either but most of those who impressed are U20 so if nothing else it has been a very worthwhile exercise.

The players themselves certainly bought into it by the numbers involved.