GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Mayo => Topic started by: muppet on February 08, 2012, 10:00:24 PM

Title: clubmayo
Post by: muppet on February 08, 2012, 10:00:24 PM
http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=14627:board-and-club-mayo-dublin-collide&catid=14&Itemid=100008 (http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=14627:board-and-club-mayo-dublin-collide&catid=14&Itemid=100008)

QuoteClub delegates voted to 'adopt' a letter that had been sent to the Club Mayo Dublin organising committee by executive officers of the Mayo GAA Board, informing the supporters' group that "any status they presumed to have" had been "withdrawn with immediate effect".

Quote"Unfortunately, the continued presence of Club Mayo Dublin is jeopardising our unique financial plan with Croke Park, including the significant draw-down of funds to complete our works whereby they have insisted that all fund-raising come under the County Committee.

QuoteIf they are serious about winning Sam Maguire it won't be achieved by division. It will be achieved by everyone backing the cause.

QuoteWe made a decision here tonight, and that is that the clubs are the County Board and the County Board are in charge of Mayo GAA

The new regime has set out its stall. This will set us back decades.
Title: Re: clubmayo
Post by: stephenite on February 09, 2012, 09:23:03 AM
The new regime as clueless as the last one then? That's a terrible shame
Post by: heffo on February 09, 2012, 11:53:53 AM
Aside from edicts being passed from HQ, whats driving this?

Assuming all monies raised is being used for purpose..

Also whats Aidan O'Sheas involvement if any? Headline in Indo said he was caught up in it but didn't mention how in the article..
Post by: Tubberman on February 09, 2012, 12:17:32 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 09, 2012, 11:53:53 AM

Also whats Aidan O'Sheas involvement if any? Headline in Indo said he was caught up in it but didn't mention how in the article..

He tweeted about it yesterday saying they do immense work for the Dublin-based players and should be appreciated.
Don't know if his involvement goes any further than that.
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 04:47:33 PM

Do you have any link to that edict?
Post by: heffo on February 09, 2012, 05:45:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 09, 2012, 04:47:33 PM

Do you have any link to that edict?

Afaik, it's moreso the HQ Finance committee gave certain conditions about their finances and not a general edict for all counties.
Post by: spectator on February 09, 2012, 08:01:04 PM
Muppet, is this action by the MCB against Club Mayo a consequence of their supposed proposal of Tommy Lyons as a replacement for Johnno - if indeed they proposed him at all in the first place, that is?

It's unbelievable that such a good supporters club is being told to take a hike.

Club Mayo have laid out their side of the story, with a download also available which outlines their views on the situation.

http://www.clubmayo.ie/540.php
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 08:27:40 PM
Quote from: spectator on February 09, 2012, 08:01:04 PM
Muppet, is this action by the MCB against Club Mayo a consequence of their supposed proposal of Tommy Lyons as a replacement for Johnno - if indeed they proposed him at all in the first place, that is?

It's unbelievable that such a good supporters club is being told to take a hike.

Club Mayo have laid out their side of the story, with a download also available which outlines their views on the situation.

clubmayo had nothing to do with any proposal for the position of manager. It was a malicious rumour designed to undermine the organisation at home.

Post by: Farrandeelin on February 09, 2012, 08:59:49 PM

It is the Mayo County Board who are doing this remember... ::) I can't understand why Club Mayo has to shut up shop because Cairde Mhaigh Eo was launched. Indeed one would think having Cairde Mhaigh Eo and Club Mayo Dublin working TOGETHER would be far better off, but no.
Post by: heffo on February 09, 2012, 09:12:49 PM
If it's not too personal a question lads, what exactly do Club Mayo contribute towards?

Is it a scheduled payment towards training expenses/gear/gym fees - anything else??
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 09:32:03 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 09, 2012, 09:12:49 PM
If it's not too personal a question lads, what exactly do Club Mayo contribute towards?

Is it a scheduled payment towards training expenses/gear/gym fees - anything else??

As far as I know they pick up the tab for the players expenses outside the county. That can include the meals and arranging transport to and from training/matches etc. I can't say whether that means costs for all players incurred outside the county or costs incurred for platers based outside the county.

I am not surprised at Aiden O'Sé's reflex tweet expressing surprise at the treatment of clubmayo. Previous manager Johm Maughan actually encouraged Dublin supporters to get together to organize something while John O'Mahony attended a number of events including the launch. The current manager named a founder member of clubmayo as part of his back room team last autumn.

Evidently the team managers had no problems with clubmayo. It also appears that the last CB Executive had no major problem either. As long as the accounts are transparent and there is no question of impropriety, what is the problem?

Post by: Farrandeelin on February 09, 2012, 09:33:31 PM
CMD found out about it (this decision) in the papers.
Post by: westmayo on February 09, 2012, 09:37:26 PM
The article  says that it's not the County Board who came up with the decision but GAA top brass from my reading of it and the county board have had to enforce it   
QuoteUnfortunately, the continued presence of Club Mayo Dublin is jeopardising our unique financial plan with Croke Park, including the significant draw-down of funds to complete our works whereby they have insisted that all fund-raising come under the County Committee.

Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 09:48:14 PM
Quote from: westmayo on February 09, 2012, 09:37:26 PM
The article  says that it's not the County Board who came up with the decision but GAA top brass from my reading of it and the county board have had to enforce it   
QuoteUnfortunately, the continued presence of Club Mayo Dublin is jeopardising our unique financial plan with Croke Park, including the significant draw-down of funds to complete our works whereby they have insisted that all fund-raising come under the County Committee.

That's the spin alright.

I would read more into the following derogatory quotes: "status they presumed to have", "We made a decision here tonight, and that is that the clubs are the County Board and the County Board are in charge of Mayo GAA",
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 10:23:36 PM
The right decision but it is being handled very badly.
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 10:31:38 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 10:23:36 PM

You have the floor, why is it the right decision?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 10:53:55 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 09, 2012, 10:31:38 PM

I am of the opinion that while Club Mayo do good work, particularly with regard to looking after the players, that there was always something exclusive about their fundraising efforts and their assertion all monies raised should go to senior team prep only. Why should one club be allowed to pick where there money goes and all the clubs in Mayo should be left with the McHale Park burden? As far as I see it all monies raised should go into a central fund and worked out from there.

But, like I said, this should have been handled better and not ended up in the unseemly stand-off we now have.
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 10:59:29 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 10:53:55 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 09, 2012, 10:31:38 PM

I am of the opinion that while Club Mayo do good work, particularly with regard to looking after the players, that there was always something exclusive about their fundraising efforts and their assertion all monies raised should go to senior team prep only. Why should one club be allowed to pick where there money goes and all the clubs in Mayo should be left with the McHale Park burden? As far as I see it all monies raised should go into a central fund and worked out from there.

But, like I said, this should have been handled better and not ended up in the unseemly stand-off we now have.

This may astonish you but there are people in Dublin who are willing to donate significant amounts of money on the basis that it goes to players and not County Board debt. Monies procured by clubmayo was on that basis. By demanding that clubmayo ceases to exist AND that they hand over all their money, I believe Mayo Gaa is in for an interesting season with the wigs.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 11:09:36 PM
So leave the burden of the debt to the clubs in Mayo? How, tell me, is that fair? And, no, your comment doesn't astonish me but thanks for the condescending post all the same ...
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 11:15:19 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 11:09:36 PM
So leave the burden of the debt to the clubs in Mayo? How, tell me, is that fair? And, no, your comment doesn't astonish me but thanks for the condescending post all the same ...

Please explain how closing clubmayo and guillotining the money they raised, somehow reduces the debt burden of the clubs?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 11:25:41 PM
I'd be looking at the principle of the thing. But there's also the fact that Club Mayo haven't tapped into any sort of sizeable Dublin funds - something alluded to by a member on mayogaablog.com. I would hope more funds can be raised now in Dublin from central fundraising. If I'm wrong I'll gladly stand corrected.
Post by: westmayo on February 09, 2012, 11:31:56 PM
Does Club Mayo Dublin only give funding to issues around the perp of the senior inter county football team? I always assumed they were fundraising on Mayo GAA's behalf, well that's what it looked like to me from here. Do they give similar funding to other teams, u21 football, minor football, junior footballers,  Senior hurlers (who play close enough to as many games as the senior footballers do in a year). If they do fair play and good job.  Because if they don't give it out to all, they are not doing fundraising on behalf of Mayo GAA just one single part of Mayo GAA.
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 11:33:05 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 11:25:41 PM
I'd be looking at the principle of the thing. But " - something alluded to by a member on mayogaablog.com. I would hope more funds can be raised now in Dublin from central fundraising. If I'm wrong I'll gladly stand corrected.

a) what particular principle would you be looking at?
b) "there's also the fact that Club Mayo haven't tapped into any sort of sizeable Dublin funds". Please expand on this....'fact'. A few figures would be helpful.

Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 11:34:57 PM
Quote from: westmayo on February 09, 2012, 11:31:56 PM
Does Club Mayo Dublin only give funding to issues around the perp of the senior inter county football team? I always assumed they were fundraising on Mayo GAA's behalf, well that's what it looked like to me from here. Do they give similar funding to other teams, u21 football, minor football, junior footballers,  Senior hurlers (who play close enough to as many games as the senior footballers do in a year). If they do fair play and good job.  Because if they don't give it out to all, they are not doing fundraising on behalf of Mayo GAA just one single part of Mayo GAA.

You have hit the nail on the head, albeit accidentally.

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2012, 12:11:23 AM
Principle - the one I refer to is what I've mentioned repeatedly - Club Mayo's belief they can selectively choose who they fundraise for. Mayo GAA is made of many parts and I think it is wrong that one group is allowed cherry pick where their fundraising goes. It smacks of 'ah sure let the bucks in the Mayo clubs take care of the shite'.

Re figures, you seem to have a closer insight to Club Mayo than I so you can tell me if the €15k raised last year is representative of other years?
Post by: muppet on February 10, 2012, 12:14:08 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2012, 12:11:23 AM
Principle - the one I refer to is what I've mentioned repeatedly - Club Mayo's belief they can selectively choose who they fundraise for. Mayo GAA is made of many parts and I think it is wrong that one group is allowed cherry pick where their fundraising goes. It smacks of 'ah sure let the bucks in the Mayo clubs take care of the shite'.

Re figures, you seem to have a closer insight to Club Mayo than I so you can tell me if the €15k raised last year is representative of other years?

Yes it is.

Now you tell me, can donors decide where their money goes or is it a question of 'give it to us, or give it to no one'?
Post by: spectator on February 10, 2012, 12:41:37 AM
Quote from: muppet on February 09, 2012, 08:27:40 PM

clubmayo had nothing to do with any proposal for the position of manager. It was a malicious rumour designed to undermine the organisation at home.

So were Club Mayo being asked to fundraise and provide financial support which went outside of their normal remit by that stage, do you reckon?
Post by: muppet on February 10, 2012, 12:48:11 AM
Quote from: spectator on February 10, 2012, 12:41:37 AM
Quote from: muppet on February 09, 2012, 08:27:40 PM

So were Club Mayo being asked to fundraise and provide financial support which went outside of their normal remit by that stage, do you reckon?

I don't understand the thrust of that question. clubmayo never changed their mission statement and it was never a problem until the last four weeks.
Post by: mrhardyannual on February 10, 2012, 02:07:41 AM
This is a simple case of democratic rule. The clubs of the county decided that they (as the county board) have full control of all matters to do with Mayo Gaa. Clubmayo were asked to row in with Cairde Mhaigheo as the umbrella body for all supporters clubs but indicated that they wished to act independently. That is not feasible. If each unit of the Mayo GAA decided that it needed to have autonomy in relation to how the funds it raised were dispensed there would be anarchy.
Nobody denies that Clubmayo did and does great work to support the teams but the tail cannot wag the dog. I dont see there being any case to put before the "wigs". The precedents for the County Board's action are well established.
There are many people within Mayo as well as those in Dublin who would wish to see their donations spent only on county teams. Given that the total cost of running teams is far in excess of the amounts raised by Clubmayo, the Mayo Supporters Club, Mayo Patrons Scheme etc or any other fundraising body, it could be argued that their contributions do go there. But in any organisation there has to be democratic control and ultimately that is what this is about,
For once the Board, but more so the clubs, have got it right. If those involved in Clubmayo have the interests of Mayo GAA at heart ( and I presume they do ) it is not to late to reach an understanding with the Board. The majority of delegates would welcome that move - but only if it allows the ultimate contol of finances to reside where it should... with a democratically elected Board.
Post by: muppet on February 10, 2012, 02:51:41 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on February 10, 2012, 02:07:41 AM
This is a simple case of democratic rule. The clubs of the county decided that they (as the county board) have full control of all matters to do with Mayo Gaa. Clubmayo were asked to row in with Cairde Mhaigheo as the umbrella body for all supporters clubs but indicated that they wished to act independently. That is not feasible. If each unit of the Mayo GAA decided that it needed to have autonomy in relation to how the funds it raised were dispensed there would be anarchy.
Nobody denies that Clubmayo did and does great work to support the teams but the tail cannot wag the dog. I dont see there being any case to put before the "wigs". The precedents for the County Board's action are well established.
There are many people within Mayo as well as those in Dublin who would wish to see their donations spent only on county teams. Given that the total cost of running teams is far in excess of the amounts raised by Clubmayo, the Mayo Supporters Club, Mayo Patrons Scheme etc or any other fundraising body, it could be argued that their contributions do go there. But in any organisation there has to be democratic control and ultimately that is what this is about,
For once the Board, but more so the clubs, have got it right. If those involved in Clubmayo have the interests of Mayo GAA at heart ( and I presume they do ) it is not to late to reach an understanding with the Board. The majority of delegates would welcome that move - but only if it allows the ultimate contol of finances to reside where it should... with a democratically elected Board.

Democratic rule?

Since you dismiss everything on this basis, please demonstrate both the mandate and the rulebook that gives the Mayo County Board absolute control over the donations of clubmayo's members.

Post by: highorlow on February 10, 2012, 08:40:29 AM
Is the point in this debate that is getting missed is that clubmayo was formed for and by supporters living / working in Dublin and to offer help to senior players studying and working in Dublin?

This differs from the clubs within the County Board?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2012, 09:39:02 AM
Quote from: muppet on February 10, 2012, 12:14:08 AM

Yes it is.

Now you tell me, can donors decide where their money goes or is it a question of 'give it to us, or give it to no one'?

Well then my point is valid - the €15k figure is hardly extraordinary. Not to be sniffed at mind, but I still would think that that type of money can be raised in Dublin by a central fund. Surely Club Mayo members can still offer the same level of support to players as they have heretofore or will it be a case, like a leading Club Mayo person said some months ago on local radio, that if they are not allowed to continue with their club status, 'there are plenty of other sporting organisations in Mayo who would welcome our support'. Again, this was handled badly at County Board level but the right outcome has been arrived at.

With regard to donors, of course they can't 'cherry pick' where there money goes. I know if a lot of sponsors and donors in my own club had their way, they'd want all their money pumped into our senior team and seek short term success. But a club, like Mayo GAA, have a wider obligation than that. Underage structures need to be developed, facilities need to be paid for (I'd have my own reservations about McHale Park but sin sceál eile) and the democratically elected officers of the club - and the county board - have the say on where the money goes. If donors are allowed to cherry pick, then we're in trouble.
Post by: muppet on February 10, 2012, 11:55:25 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2012, 09:39:02 AM
Quote from: muppet on February 10, 2012, 12:14:08 AM

Yes it is.

Well then my point is valid - the €15k figure is hardly extraordinary. Not to be sniffed at mind, but I still would think that that type of money can be raised in Dublin by a central fund. Surely Club Mayo members can still offer the same level of support to players as they have heretofore or will it be a case, like a leading Club Mayo person said some months ago on local radio, that if they are not allowed to continue with their club status, 'there are plenty of other sporting organisations in Mayo who would welcome our support'. Again, this was handled badly at County Board level but the right outcome has been arrived at.

With regard to donors, of course they can't 'cherry pick' where there money goes. I know if a lot of sponsors and donors in my own club had their way, they'd want all their money pumped into our senior team and seek short term success. But a club, like Mayo GAA, have a wider obligation than that. Underage structures need to be developed, facilities need to be paid for (I'd have my own reservations about McHale Park but sin sceál eile) and the democratically elected officers of the club - and the county board - have the say on where the money goes. If donors are allowed to cherry pick, then we're in trouble.

This is where we will not agree. You need to think this through a bit more.

If the County Board announces that donations to all clubs, their teams and grounds are now to be re-directed to Cáirde Mhaigheo, how do you think the clubs will like it?
Post by: mrhardyannual on February 10, 2012, 07:49:33 PM
It is you that needs to think it through. The county board is the clubs. The clubs acting as the board has made this decision. In any organisation there must be a controlling authority. Clubmayo was set up as a supporters club. GAA rules state that all supporters clubs are subject to the authority of their county board and all monies raised are to be dispensed at or by the direction of the board. I have no gripe with Clubmayo but the rules back up the position of the board.
Post by: muppet on February 11, 2012, 04:23:56 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on February 10, 2012, 07:49:33 PM
It is you that needs to think it through. The county board is the clubs. The clubs acting as the board has made this decision. In any organisation there must be a controlling authority. Clubmayo was set up as a supporters club. GAA rules state that all supporters clubs are subject to the authority of their county board and all monies raised are to be dispensed at or by the direction of the board. I have no gripe with Clubmayo but the rules back up the position of the board.

If this rule actually exists it is about as enforceable as the non-payment of managers rule.

Neither the Gaa nor the County Board were involved in setting up clubmayo. The County Board and the Gaa can disassociate from any such organisation and they can advise their own members to do the same. But that is it.

clubmayo is bound by its own rules and the basis on which it raised funds is the only basis for it to distribute those funds. Anything else could lead to legal action. The County Board has no claim on those funds and I am astonished to read that they are demanding them to be handed over. At this stage I think clubmayo should disassociate itself from the Gaa, as instructed, and its members should be to decide what to do with their remaining funds.
Post by: muppet on February 11, 2012, 05:07:21 PM
Leaving side the hostility here is what I would guess has happened:

The County Board went to Croke Park cap in hand for a bailout. Croke did what the Troika did and said there would be funds available but one of the conditions would be that any local funds would be exhausted first. For example the Troika didn't want any Irish Government taking money from them while holding funds that could be used in the event of a default on the Troika debt. In that case the funds were those in the National Pension Reserve and those funds were to be spent as part of the bailout terms.

In this case I am guessing Croke Park reasonably offered a bailout on the basis that the CB had no money. What they didn't want was Croke Park bailing them out while the County Board used their own funds to, say, fly first class to Leitrim (a metaphor before anyone thinks that is an accusation).

All of the above would be understandable from Croke Park's point of view. However clubmayo was not set up by the CB and those funds don't belong to them. Croke Park may not be interested in the semantics but there would be a number of solutions available in that case. However the CB appears to me to have gleefully taken the nuclear one.
Post by: m@yoman on February 12, 2012, 11:14:09 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2012, 11:25:41 PM
I'd be looking at the principle of the thing. But there's also the fact that Club Mayo haven't tapped into any sort of sizeable Dublin funds - something alluded to by a member on mayogaablog.com. I would hope more funds can be raised now in Dublin from central fundraising. If I'm wrong I'll gladly stand corrected.

Sizeable Dublin funds?? Mayo have had some terrible Championship runs since Club Mayo was formed culminating in an embarrassing defeat to Longford in 2010...If any Committee member tried selling me membership as I left Pearse Park that day I would have probably laughed at them! coupled with the worst recession in the history of the state, it's not as if lads were queueing up to throw them money?? I know several lads who worked in Dublin in the boom times and have now either came back to Mammys cooking while readin the Mayo News and listening to paul claffey shite on on Mid West or else have emigrated...