GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Catch and Kick on January 16, 2019, 10:43:05 AM

Title: NFL Div 3
Post by: Catch and Kick on January 16, 2019, 10:43:05 AM
Looks like it's going to be a real dog fight with so many Leinster neighbors fighting it out. Great to see Laois punished with a game in Croke Park! You couldn't make it up.
Down and Westmeath favoutites to go up?
Title: Re: NFL Div 3
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2019, 12:12:44 PM
Not sure about that we've 4 away games again  >:( Put up a poll there catch & kick and see what the gaaboard thinks.
Post by: Catch and Kick on January 16, 2019, 12:51:49 PM
Laois didn't deserve any punishment. Sugrue has been very good with clubs. However for Croke Park to give a game in Croke Park as a punishment is taking the biscuit!!
Post by: Owenmoresider on January 16, 2019, 02:34:25 PM
I suppose we'll take another year of keeping heads above water, but it could be harder this time.
Post by: LooseCannon on January 16, 2019, 06:07:38 PM
We should survive anyway. If we had all the lads who were asked in committed, then we'd be looking at division 2. But shur, we'll play with the hand that we're dealt with.
Post by: Give and Go on January 21, 2019, 06:38:17 PM
If pre season competitions are anything to go by Westmeath and Sligo must be favourites for promotion. An O Byrne Cup title must give Westmeath great momentum and confidence. Sligo were edged out by the Rossies who hammered Galway yesterday.
Laois doing well on the challenge game circuit and seem to have a stronger panel than last year - they feel they are a Div 2 team operating below their true status..... time will tell
Post by: giveballaghback on January 23, 2019, 06:50:29 PM
Will be interesting to see what Mr. Maughan "tanman" will do for Offaly. My prediction is that he will lead them out of the 3rd division but it will be down to the 4th he will lead them.
Post by: Rossfan on January 23, 2019, 07:20:21 PM
Will he last beyond Lá 'le Pádraig??
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 25, 2019, 12:31:13 PM
Ok. Here it goes again. I hope to be in Drogheda on Sunday - if only to prove that we are not as bad (even without the Mullinalaghta boys) as we were against Westmeath in O'Byrne Cup.

I think survival in Div 3 is the best we can hope for as we could be missing the Mullinalaghtas well into the campaign.

My predictions

Promoted

Westmeath and Laois

No Change
Longford, Down, Offaly, Louth,

Relegated
Carlow and Sligo

Post by: sligoman2 on January 26, 2019, 12:09:16 AM
Four away games this year for us.  We need a win on Sunday if at all possible, we are a very young team and I like the fact that we are building for the future.  I think we will survive, but it won't be easy. McDonnell is a big loss for us.
Post by: LooseCannon on January 26, 2019, 07:57:54 AM
Strong rumours that Niall McNamee is back. 💪💪💪

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQo1HIcSVtg
Post by: laoislad on January 26, 2019, 08:44:15 PM
Good win for Laois tonight 👍
FT
Laois 2-15
Down 1-12
Post by: SCFC on January 26, 2019, 08:53:44 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 26, 2019, 08:44:15 PM
FT
Laois 2-15
Down 1-12
Great start. Sugrue is a class man manager.
Post by: Owenmoresider on January 27, 2019, 05:16:40 PM
Not much hope for us this year it would seem.
Post by: Blowitupref on January 27, 2019, 05:18:12 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on January 27, 2019, 05:16:40 PM

Hard to know yet. Carlow are still rising though.
Post by: macdanger2 on January 27, 2019, 05:19:44 PM
FT
Laois 2-15
Down 1-12

Down the only team to let me down on a 6 game accumulator. 2/7 at home ffs >:(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 27, 2019, 05:23:47 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on January 27, 2019, 05:19:44 PM
FT
Laois 2-15
Down 1-12

First games of the season are hard to call, I'd a 6 timer bate also, a draw in a hurling game!

Though fancied Monaghan Kerry and Kilkenny as a treble. So not too pissed aff
Post by: Blowitupref on January 27, 2019, 05:27:17 PM
FT
Laois 2-15
Down 1-12

I stand corrected but i think Down are one of those teams with a shocking home record over the last 3 or 4 years.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 27, 2019, 05:34:46 PM
Summary of our win in Drogheda.

Longford were bad............Louth were worse.

Ah no - that's too glib. We just about deserved the win but for the last 10 mins we were 2 players up but still almost conspired not to win it.

A win is a win and we need these wins to survive in Div3. Louth will need to improve or they're heading for the wastelands of Div4.

Offaly at home next weekend. They'll have marked this down as a must-win. They may be too strong for us as we currently stand......
Post by: Rossfan on January 27, 2019, 06:45:51 PM
But Offaly are saddled with Tanman ;)
Post by: MK on January 27, 2019, 07:06:47 PM
FT
Laois 2-15
Down 1-12

2/7 on a team widely available at evens........ :o :o :o
Post by: The Insider on January 27, 2019, 10:18:30 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 27, 2019, 05:34:46 PM

Ah no - that's too glib. We just about deserved the win but for the last 10 mins we were 2 players up but still almost conspired not to win it.

A win is a win and we need these wins to survive in Div3. Louth will need to improve or they're heading for the wastelands of Div4.

Offaly at home next weekend. They'll have marked this down as a must-win. They may be too strong for us as we currently stand......
Seeing that Longford were down the 8 St Columba's players, the exam tied Dessie Reynolds, the injured Pádraig Mc Cormack and Connor Berry and the possible 3 retirees totaling 14 players unavailable it was a great result. Great to see the 3 league debutant as subs all scoring.
Post by: macdanger2 on January 27, 2019, 10:30:21 PM
Quote from: MK on January 27, 2019, 07:06:47 PM
FT
Laois 2-15
Down 1-12

2/7 on a team widely available at evens........ :o :o :o

That's what they were midweek with PP, must have changed after the teams were named
Post by: magpie seanie on January 28, 2019, 08:58:04 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on January 27, 2019, 05:16:40 PM

What did you think this time last year? Keep the faith.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 28, 2019, 11:00:26 AM
Quote from: The Insider on January 27, 2019, 10:18:30 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 27, 2019, 05:34:46 PM

Seeing that Longford were down the 8 St Columba's players, the exam tied Dessie Reynolds, the injured Pádraig Mc Cormack and Connor Berry and the possible 3 retirees totaling 14 players unavailable it was a great result. Great to see the 3 league debutant as subs all scoring.

Apols - of course it was a great win considering the handicap we have started with.

I was remarkign at the game with the new mark if only we had Niall Sheridan adin in the square. He'd make hay.

Pearse Park putting in extra power points to allow Muaghan to top up the tan on Sunday at half time.
Post by: Chrimtain on January 28, 2019, 11:07:20 AM

Pearse Park putting in extra power points to allow Muaghan to top up the tan on Sunday at half time.

Very good.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Unlaoised on January 28, 2019, 09:56:01 PM
Some result for Laois in Newry ...

THats them safe now
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 29, 2019, 10:02:31 AM
Westmeath blitzed the Biffos for the last 20 minutes but were woeful for the other 50, everyone stuck in reverse. Offaly were better than expected but what were they doing taking off Anton O'Sullivan? Need to get Kevin Maguire back into the full back line asap. Good to see Corroon back but it was Luke who made the difference when he came on. Should get a more committed display Saturday against Carlow.
Post by: seafoid on January 30, 2019, 01:11:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 27, 2019, 06:45:51 PM
But Offaly are saddled with Tanman ;)

Offaly boost with Niall McNamee set for return

Offaly manager John Maughan has been dealt a major boost with forward Niall McNamee making a U-turn on his decision to retire from inter-county football.

The Mirror has reported that the 33-year-old, who last played for the county in a qualifier defeat to Cavan in 2017, has returned to the panel and is expected to feature in the coming weeks.

Offaly began their Division Three campaign with a one-point defeat to Westmeath and travel to Pearse Park on Sunday to take on Longford.

McNamee's return will seriously bolster the Faithful attack and the gifted forward won his 10th county medal last year after notching 0-09 against Ferbane.

The former Offaly captain announced his inter-county retirement in August 2017, with a 2006 Leinster final the closet he came to provincial silverware. He was nominated for an All Star that year after a number of sparkling performances in the championship.
Post by: LooseCannon on January 30, 2019, 05:34:49 PM
Still the best footballer in Offaly by some distance.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 31, 2019, 01:30:53 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on January 30, 2019, 05:34:49 PM

Possibly - but is he fit and/or not over the hill?
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2019, 03:14:55 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 31, 2019, 01:30:53 PM

Maybe but the Mullinalaghta boys are otherwise engaged so a few points could be the difference
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2019, 03:34:45 PM

Mick O'Rourke RIP

Nice tribute as Gaeilge

https://mobile.twitter.com/GAA_BEO/status/1090993458095972352
Post by: LooseCannon on January 31, 2019, 04:41:23 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 31, 2019, 01:30:53 PM

Was struggling with an injury, but I wouldn't be surprised to see him in the 26 on Sunday.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 02, 2019, 03:46:16 PM
Half time scores

Louth 3-4 Laois 1-6
Carlow 1-6 Westmeath 1-4
Post by: Blowitupref on February 02, 2019, 04:39:02 PM
Results

Carlow 2-7 Westmeath 1-10
Louth 3-8 Laois 1-9

Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2019, 06:58:21 PM
Very surprised at Louth beating Laois..............astonished even.

Maybe Laois are no effin use cos Louth sure-as-shootin were cat altogether last Sunday.

Westmeath riding their luck...............can't last forever.

Maybe Carlow will be the surprise packet in Div 3 this year.
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2019, 08:47:24 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2019, 06:58:21 PM

Maybe Laois are no effin use cos Louth sure-as-shootin were cat altogether last Sunday.

It suggests that Down are useless, which has to be welcome news.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 03, 2019, 06:31:57 PM
A draw was just about a fair result...slightly entertaining game but it was low on quality played in fairly miserable conditions. Both sides guilty of awful wides.....

Crowd was poor enough but the weather would have kept folks in.

Off to Carlow next week where I'm sure we'll see more sweepers than are employed by Longford County Council.
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 03, 2019, 07:16:52 PM
A right punch in the gut to concede a goal at the death when hanging on for the win, another one to thank our magnificent keeper for. A much improved display from last week in difficult conditions but with nothing to show for it it's looking a tad bleak from here. The red card for Hughes looked rather harsh too, will be a loss given he did reasonably well today.
Post by: Targetman on February 03, 2019, 07:41:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 02, 2019, 08:47:24 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2019, 06:58:21 PM

It suggests that Down are useless, which has to be welcome news.
Were useless last year but we still sorted yous out in Newry!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 04, 2019, 09:52:11 AM
Carlow are the new black death, horrible to play against. We didn't do ourselves any favours, gift wrapped them a goal in the first half and when they were there for the taking in the second half we made some awful decisions in front of goal where a little more composure and shot selection would have seen us comfortably over the finishing line. The Fish caught some fantastic balls out around the middle and needs to be released from the shackles of the full back line. The referee was consistently inconsistent, lost complete control of the match early on. Kieran Martin's first yellow wasn't even a relation of a free, never mind a card, woeful altogether. Hopefully get better officiating next Sat, looking forward to Newry under lights.
Post by: Unlaoised on February 04, 2019, 10:25:14 AM
Laois were guilty of under estimating Louth starting with arguably their bestv5 players on the bench ...
Then they conceded soft goals because of an inexperienced full back line ..Then red card was harsh and meant a comeback would be nigh on impossible .

Louth deserved the win but I'll be very surprised if Laois don't finish 4-6 points in front of them
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 04, 2019, 11:37:16 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 04, 2019, 09:52:11 AM
Hopefully get better officiating next Sat, looking forward to Newry under lights.

Betcha ye get an Ulster ref who will ride ye rotten........
Post by: laoislad on February 10, 2019, 04:37:44 PM
FT
Laois 2-18
Sligo 2-10
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 10, 2019, 05:30:13 PM
Carlow 0-09
Longford 1-11

Longford good value for their win. Carlow will need to seriously look at themselves. Playing a weakened Longford side they decided to play the ball across the pitch back and forth instead of playing man on man where they would surely have won - esp with the strong wind in the first half.

Longford got their goal from a pumped in ball (with the wind) as well as a point that hopped over the bar. Indeed the official match report should put down the scorer as 'An Gaoithe'

We did get the breaks - Carlow missed a penalty - but nobody from Carlow was complaining at the end.

I think we are safe now, barring a disaster - so if we get within a sniff of promotion then that's a bonus.

Down coming to Longford in 2 weeks time but, before that, the Trip to Tipp.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 11, 2019, 10:14:04 AM
Awful football on view in Newry on Saturday night, lovely little stadium though and the locals couldn't have been sounder. Westmeath have gone back to one of their old failings where they always look to take a solo before getting their heads up whereas Down's first inclination was to move the ball on. Was no surprise that a Tally team got 15 behind the ball but after playing Carlow a couple of times already we should be more proficient at playing against this system. The GAA trialled the wrong rule around the handpass, they should have trialled keeping at least 4 bodies inside the oppositions 65 at all times. The crowds are going to fall completely through the floor if this style of football becomes common place.

Westmeath have only themselves to blame though, they missed a penalty (was a great save in fairness) and spurned numerous goal and point chances. Strange league so far, we could easily be on 6 points as be on 0 points. 2 weeks to take stock now ahead of Laois.
Post by: Mourne Rover on February 11, 2019, 11:54:58 AM
Croí na hÉireann is completely right about the poor spectacle which county football regularly offers. The restriction on hand passes was probably dropped too soon although it may not have ultimately proved practical.  The next option may well be keeping three men in the opposition half, as the evidence over dropping attendances is truly alarming.

Saturday night in Newry was a fairly typical offering, although it did get exciting in the closing stages when the contest was up for grabs. Westmeath should have been well clear at the break but used their extra player poorly and Tally's game management was exemplary in the second half.

While Down are in a reasonable position in a very tight division, we could just as easily have zero points at this stage.  There are six sides in contention for promotion and it is likely to go to the wire.
Post by: LooseCannon on February 11, 2019, 04:33:51 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on February 11, 2019, 11:54:58 AM
Croí na hÉireann is completely right about the poor spectacle which county football regularly offers. The restriction on hand passes was probably dropped too soon although it may not have ultimately proved practical.  The next option may well be keeping three men in the opposition half, as the evidence over dropping attendances is truly alarming.

Saturday night in Newry was a fairly typical offering, although it did get exciting in the closing stages when the contest was up for grabs. Westmeath should have been well clear at the break but used their extra player poorly and Tally's game management was exemplary in the second half.

While Down are in a reasonable position in a very tight division, we could just as easily have zero points at this stage.  There are six sides in contention for promotion and it is likely to go to the wire.
Whereas arguably, we should have 6, we only have one.🤬🤬🤬
Bottled it v Westmeath
"          " v Louth
Should've won v Longford, by all accounts.
Post by: seafoid on February 11, 2019, 05:27:00 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 11, 2019, 10:14:04 AM
Awful football on view in Newry on Saturday night, lovely little stadium though and the locals couldn't have been sounder. Westmeath have gone back to one of their old failings where they always look to take a solo before getting their heads up whereas Down's first inclination was to move the ball on. Was no surprise that a Tally team got 15 behind the ball but after playing Carlow a couple of times already we should be more proficient at playing against this system. The GAA trialled the wrong rule around the handpass, they should have trialled keeping at least 4 bodies inside the oppositions 65 at all times. The crowds are going to fall completely through the floor if this style of football becomes common place.

Westmeath have only themselves to blame though, they missed a penalty (was a great save in fairness) and spurned numerous goal and point chances. Strange league so far, we could easily be on 6 points as be on 0 points. 2 weeks to take stock now ahead of Laois.

It is an awful mess

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/gaa-should-have-restricted-players-to-just-one-handpass-reckons-dr-pat-oneill-900749.html

"The modern game wants the handpass and those that are making the rules and are responsible for them being implemented have conceded that.
"Being of the old school, I have to think there's far too much handpassing. This was an opportunity to restrict it and return to what the game  is supposed to be — football. It's so much like European Handball now."
As a regular Croke Park matchgoer, O'Neill was alarmed by what he saw last season. "I would go to most of the Championship matches in Croke Park, not just the Dublin games, and I was never as bored as much at a game in my life as I was last summer.
"Some of those games were very pedestrian and they are following a soccer trend when it's so possession-based.
"A different strategy is needed to entertain the public because over the weekend I saw the TV viewing figures from last year and rugby games are higher than the GAA's. When you think that Gaelic football and hurling are our national games and reflect the wider community, that's worrying.

And the former Fancy Dan

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/both-teams-play-better-into-the-wind-as-galway-beat-monaghan-1.3788828
Walsh, pleased to have got the trauma of the previous week's cuffing in Croke Park out of their system, was frank when asked afterwards about the concept of a team's duty to entertain.
"With the amount of work that goes into this now, people are pushing the rules to the limits to the areas where you can take it to - I'm not talking about physicality here, I'm talking about the rules. That's life, if the opinion is that you just want to entertain then that's fine too but you have to try and get results."

Post by: Billys Boots on February 12, 2019, 09:33:24 AM
What's "European Handball"? 
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2019, 10:53:01 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 12, 2019, 09:33:24 AM
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Handball
Handball (also known as team handball, European handball or Olympic handball)[2] is a team sport in which two teams of seven players each (six outcourt players and a goalkeeper) pass a ball using their hands with the aim of throwing it into the goal of the other team. A standard match consists of two periods of 30 minutes, and the team that scores the most goals wins.

The ratio of hand passes to kicks was 3.5:1 in the 2018 all Ireland championship so it's not that far off
Post by: magpie seanie on February 12, 2019, 10:59:09 AM
I think you can see that things are moving on at the top level. Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Monaghan and others are playing good football. The Galways, Fermanaghs and Carlows will catch on eventually but I think Galway especially are a real shame as they have to players to be a really good team if they had a proper tactical approach.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 12, 2019, 11:13:38 AM

Use to play it in school, very enjoyable game to play.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 12, 2019, 11:24:06 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 12, 2019, 11:13:38 AM

I would always have known it as Olympic Handball.  And i would never have considered it boring.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 12, 2019, 11:34:33 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 12, 2019, 11:24:06 AM

I would always have known it as Olympic Handball.  And i would never have considered it boring.

Same as,. Probably a reflection on our poor facilities but as a country we don't seem to embrace indoor team sports the same way as our European Brethren.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 12, 2019, 12:52:25 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 12, 2019, 11:34:33 AM

Same as,. Probably a reflection on our poor facilities but as a country we don't seem to embrace indoor team sports the same way as our European Brethren.

Must be the fantastic weather ...

You can play Futsal, Olympic Handball and Basketball in any hall - should be easier to play (and involve numbers in) these sports at school level than any field sports, if we're honest, if we're to get kids active in sports. 
Post by: magpie seanie on February 12, 2019, 02:10:21 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 12, 2019, 12:52:25 PM

You can play Futsal, Olympic Handball and Basketball in any hall - should be easier to play (and involve numbers in) these sports at school level than any field sports, if we're honest, if we're to get kids active in sports.

Absolutely loved playing basketball in my youth, great sport. I'm even playing a bit of Pella indoors...great craic. Loved Olympic Handball but only got to play it a couple of times. On a student exchange in France it was the lunchtime game of choice for everyone except the north Africans. The north Africans played basketball...joined them too.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 12, 2019, 03:07:16 PM
They're all great games, to be honest - have used Olympic Handball in coaching to emphasize moving into position to receive a pass or to generate an opportunity for a team-mate to pass, but it's a great game in its own right.  Played a lot of basketball in my youth as well, another great game. 
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 12, 2019, 04:39:45 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 12, 2019, 12:52:25 PM

100% agree with this. Is there too much emphasis in a lot schools particularly secondary schools on the big 4 field sports?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 12, 2019, 05:54:18 PM
Eh............can we go back to discussing shite Div 3 football please?
Post by: Aristo 60 on February 12, 2019, 09:06:37 PM
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 12, 2019, 09:53:40 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 12, 2019, 05:54:18 PM
While some of us still can  :-[
Post by: Billys Boots on February 13, 2019, 09:15:10 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 12, 2019, 05:54:18 PM

I thought we were - I didn't make up 'European Handball' of out nowhere. 
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 21, 2019, 09:50:15 AM
Ok - and we're back.

Down travel to table topping Longford on Sunday. Longford have a great record against Down and will hope to consolidate their push for promotion. I'm not sure how many of the Mullinalaghtas have made themselves available. This will be clearer later today or tomorrow.

Hope to see a win here and then I can relax a little as the chances of relegation would be slim.........
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 24, 2019, 04:43:05 PM
Didn't travel but, by all accounts, Down were the far better side. Away to Laois next Sat eve. Getting very tight in Div 3.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D0L0nUTWkAEIhej.jpg)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 25, 2019, 04:29:20 AM
That result for us today was scandalous
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 25, 2019, 04:33:16 AM
And if someone can explain the scoring for me, louth go 3-1 up, Sligo get 5 in a row and go 6-3 ahead 20 mins gone, HT  scoreline louth 3-8 Sligo 8pts, how does one make sense of that? Feel sorry for my 70 yr old Dad driving all that way on his own to see that rubbish, absolutely fuming.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 25, 2019, 10:09:43 AM
Really good second half from Westmeath yesterday to turn around the flow of the match after Laois had the better of the first. We were much more direct after half time and we need to employ this approach when not playing one of the 15 behind the ball teams. Laois sending Kingston onto the edge of the square and bringing O'Carroll out to the 40 worked in our favour too. It was nice to see some old style man on man proper defending yesterday. Kevin Maguire played like a man who was never away, while Boidu and Wallace were to the fore too. Laois look to have a corner back every bit as good as Joe Higgins was in Gareth Dillon, looks a class act. If Paddy Holloway could be tempted back it would really tie up the backline.

Up the far end our final pass let us down in the first half, could have been in on goal a couple of times only for poor handling. Passed up an excellent chance at the back post in the second half too. Great to get the win though, puts us back in the promotion race, win our last 3 games and we're guaranteed to go up. 2 of them away so no easy task. Need to win away to a Sligo team fighting for their lives next Sunday.
Post by: WT4E on February 25, 2019, 01:54:41 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on February 25, 2019, 04:33:16 AM
And if someone can explain the scoring for me, louth go 3-1 up, Sligo get 5 in a row and go 6-3 ahead 20 mins gone, HT  scoreline louth 3-8 Sligo 8pts, how does one make sense of that? Feel sorry for my 70 yr old Dad driving all that way on his own to see that rubbish, absolutely fuming.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 03, 2018, 10:17:29 PM
For me the minimum was Div3 status and beat London but this team was capable of more, the manner of how we stayed up wasn't pretty, the manner of our defeat to Galway and Armagh have to be considered.

There was lots of negatives behind the scenes too, that transferred to the pitch, his whole approach was poor, out of his depth. I'm glad he is gone.

Our CB are so poor I don't know what they will come up with next. No self-respecting outside manager will come to us. O Hara/McGowan could be anything from a disaster to great imo.

Just wondering what you think of Cathal Corey now?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 25, 2019, 08:55:13 PM
Quote from: WT4E on February 25, 2019, 01:54:41 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on February 25, 2019, 04:33:16 AM

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 03, 2018, 10:17:29 PM
For me the minimum was Div3 status and beat London but this team was capable of more, the manner of how we stayed up wasn't pretty, the manner of our defeat to Galway and Armagh have to be considered.

There was lots of negatives behind the scenes too, that transferred to the pitch, his whole approach was poor, out of his depth. I'm glad he is gone.

Our CB are so poor I don't know what they will come up with next. No self-respecting outside manager will come to us. O Hara/McGowan could be anything from a disaster to great imo.

Just wondering what you think of Cathal Corey now?
The same, he was poor and should never have been appointed just like Taylor. The panel was a far bit stronger last year in fairness to Taylor. And the only reason we stayed up was 4 home games. If Derry was away we would be div4 already.

What we need is an experienced manager.
Post by: WT4E on February 26, 2019, 09:04:56 PM
Have you ever considered that it may not be the managers fault?
Post by: sligoman on February 26, 2019, 09:44:33 PM
Quote from: WT4E on February 26, 2019, 09:04:56 PM
Have you ever considered that it may not be the managers fault?

For me this is the crux of the matter. We have Div 4 players heading for Div 4 and it's been coming for 2 or 3 years at least.

We've had a few great servants for the county hanging on the last few years who are well, well past their best and they stayed on because we needed them. The likes of Harrison, Egan, Donovan, Marren, Breheny and a few others hung on in there when they were getting nothing out of it and well past their best but they were still invaluable to us staying up.

This year they have all parted ways with the exception of Marren, not sure if Donovan is still involved but he had a bad knee injury last year so he may have had no choice. It's probably something we should have done a few years back and we might have been further down the rebuilding process..

The result Sunday was humiliating but I can't see where this talk is coming about how we should be doing so much better, for me the results tie in with the level of players available to us. On here the past few years, we've seen the criticism the likes of Carew and Corey came under, they kept us in Div 3 with a mix of ageing players past their best and young inexperienced players. David Kelly has not committed now in the past 3 seasons under the last 3 managers, this year as well as the experienced players walking away we are also without the likes of McDonnell, Cian Breheny and Kyle Cawley who would be 3 of our more experienced players now despite being quite young themselves.

There's only about 5 or 6 players of the 20 involved against Louth who would have more than 5 Championship appearances and one is a very flawed keeper who has somehow kept goal for the past 5 seasons under 3 different managers.

For me, this season has been coming for some time and the woes of Sligo in the past few seasons have little to do with management but a complete lack of talent that has come through Sligo football in the past decade. Sligo club football is as low as I can ever remember it and if that is the case how can we expect a manager to come in and achieve something with the playing resources available to him. Hopefully the county board have learned their lesson and we can build towards the future.

Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 27, 2019, 10:27:20 AM
Are Laois any good?
Post by: Laoiseabu on February 27, 2019, 12:39:34 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 27, 2019, 10:27:20 AM
Are Laois any good?
Are Longford any good ?
Post by: Aristo 60 on February 27, 2019, 01:00:39 PM
The league table tells all.
Post by: Gmac on February 27, 2019, 05:18:30 PM
Are Laois any good?
no
Post by: Gmac on February 27, 2019, 05:18:58 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on February 27, 2019, 12:39:34 PM
Are Laois any good?
Are Longford any good ?
no
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 28, 2019, 09:25:09 AM
Are Laois any good?

They're not bad, will be there or thereabouts.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 28, 2019, 03:01:48 PM
I think my question was mis-interpreted as it was phrased rather badly.

I was really asking are they better than the results suggest? I was surprised that they lost to Louth (not so much to Westmeath) and I was wondering are they missing a few lads for one reason or another. To see poor aul Ross Munnelly slaving away when he deserves his retirement suggests a lack of talent coming through.

Laois usually get the better of Longford and Sat will probably be no different. I will head there anyway..........Laoislad never replied to my text asking if he'd meet up for a Chicken burger after!
Post by: Laoiseabu on February 28, 2019, 08:50:09 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 28, 2019, 03:01:48 PM

I was really asking are they better than the results suggest? I was surprised that they lost to Louth (not so much to Westmeath) and I was wondering are they missing a few lads for one reason or another. To see poor aul Ross Munnelly slaving away when he deserves his retirement suggests a lack of talent coming through.

Laois usually get the better of Longford and Sat will probably be no different. I will head there anyway..........Laoislad never replied to my text asking if he'd meet up for a Chicken burger after!
I'll meet up with ye for a chicken burger ? What's the Robbie Smyth situation ? Many mullinalaghta lads commmiting ?
Post by: Smurfy123 on February 28, 2019, 09:08:53 PM
Laois probably the best team Down have come up against this year. Although Down were missing a lot of players for the first few matches. I would expect Laois to take care of Longford with a few to spare. What's Offaly like men? I'm surprised at how well Louth are going.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 28, 2019, 09:33:45 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on February 28, 2019, 09:08:53 PM
Laois probably the best team Down have come up against this year. Although Down were missing a lot of players for the first few matches. I would expect Laois to take care of Longford with a few to spare. What's Offaly like men? I'm surprised at how well Louth are going.

Who's managing Louth these days?
Post by: LooseCannon on February 28, 2019, 11:34:42 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 28, 2019, 09:33:45 PM

Who's managing Louth these days?
Wayne Kierans.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 01, 2019, 01:10:34 AM
Laois probably the best team Down have come up against this year. Although Down were missing a lot of players for the first few matches. I would expect Laois to take care of Longford with a few to spare. What’s Offaly like men? I’m surprised at how well Louth are going.
While Div 2 was a struggle for Louth last year it shouldn't be forgotten that they finished top of Div 3 in 2017.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 02, 2019, 09:54:54 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on February 28, 2019, 08:50:09 PM

I'll meet up with ye for a chicken burger ? What's the Robbie Smyth situation ? Many mullinalaghta lads commmiting ?

May take a rain check on the burger. Laoislad - let me know if you are actually going.
The Robbie Smyth situation is no more or no worse than a lot of lads in his position. Not 100% committed to the cause it seems so he's out. Been carrying an injury as well so not sure if we will see him back for the summer. Maybe losing 3 in a row finals to Mullinalaghta have had an affect.........
Mullinalaghtas are coming back -- 3 were on the pitch last week. Not sure about this eve. 
Post by: laoislad on March 02, 2019, 08:52:52 PM

Apols....I didn't see your first text message...
Mind the speed cameras on the roadworks on the way back up to Dubland.!!
Post by: Ambrose on March 03, 2019, 03:54:25 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D0vqzq_WoAEMFcA?format=jpg&name=medium)

Westmeath up to second with a win over Sligo, who remain the only team in the four divisions without a point and are now relegated with two games still to play.
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 04, 2019, 08:43:32 AM
It must nearly be time to start the if scenarios 😀
So it's Down' s league to lose at this stage and next up for us, the men from Carlow.
Post by: Rossfan on March 04, 2019, 09:34:50 AM
Quote from: Ambrose on March 03, 2019, 03:54:25 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D0vqzq_WoAEMFcA?format=jpg&name=medium)

Westmeath up to second with a win over Sligo, who remain the only team in the four divisions without a point and are now relegated with two games still to play.
What the feck is going on in Sligo at all?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 04, 2019, 10:09:13 AM
It was a good entertaining match in Portlaoise but ultimately Laois deserved the win. Longford had two gilt edged goal changes in the second half but...well....aunt and her balls come to mind.

Promotion is a very long shot but we'll stay mid table - which I will take. I cannot see a dispirited Sligo come away with 2 point in a fortnight from a trip to Longford.

Last game v Westmeath could be one where WH are playing for promotion. It's in Mullingar so it could be a dinger.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 04, 2019, 10:18:42 AM
Sligo are rebuilding, they were competitive enough until Westmeath started converting their goal chances to put daylight between the sides. Our decision making in the final third is letting us down but have to say that two of the goals were extremely well worked, which hopefully is a sign of work on the practice field coming to the fore. There's lots of evidence of work done on kickouts, we have a decent range of options now on that front. Not sure what exactly happened for the Sligo goal but we left the goal completely unprotected and were caught out.

Luke had his best league game so far, O'Toole was excellent up there too. Heslin still rusty but will only get better. Sam is now first choice midfielder and is full of action. Maguire has really tightened up the full back line and Boidu has raised his game too since he's come back. 8 points probably a fair reflection on the gap between the teams and sets us up nicely for a trip to Louth in 2 weeks. Win our last 2 games we'll be promoted, as simple as that.
Post by: The PRO on March 04, 2019, 12:18:17 PM
Us (Laois) and Offaly in Tullamore in two weeks is a huge one now for both teams.

If Offaly lose, they're nearly relegated. If they turn us over, we could be dragged into a relegation tussle with Offaly and potentially Carlow who we play in the last game. But an away win and we could possibly still grab one of the promotion spots.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 04, 2019, 02:59:07 PM
Remaining fixtures are:

Round 6 Offaly 14:00 Laois
Round 6 Longford 14:00 Sligo
Round 6 Louth 14:00 Westmeath
Round 6 Carlow 15:00 Down
Round 7 Sligo 14:00 Offaly
Round 7 Westmeath 14:00 Longford
Round 7 Down 14:00 Louth
Round 7 Laois 14:00 Carlow

Can see Laois making it to 10 points alright, 11 guarantees promotion so should Down win away to Carlow the next day they'll only need a draw against Louth the last day. Longford will beat Sligo and will be pushing us hard to get to 10 points the last day as well. Imperative we beat Louth away the next day, something we haven't managed to do in the league for a number of years. Some awful trips to Haggardstown there a few years ago.
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 05, 2019, 01:03:43 PM
If Down beat Carlow and WM and L draw, Down can relax on the last day.

Other If statements to follow.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 07, 2019, 01:57:08 PM
Quote from: The PRO on March 04, 2019, 12:18:17 PM
Us (Laois) and Offaly in Tullamore in two weeks is a huge one now for both teams.

If Offaly lose, they're nearly relegated. If they turn us over, we could be dragged into a relegation tussle with Offaly and potentially Carlow who we play in the last game. But an away win and we could possibly still grab one of the promotion spots.
If Offaly beat relegated Sligo in the last round and Carlow don't get points against Down or Leix, that's safety.
Post by: LooseCannon on March 07, 2019, 07:13:46 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on March 07, 2019, 01:57:08 PM

If Offaly beat relegated Sligo in the last round and Carlow don't get points against Down or Leix, that's safety.

We'll surely make life hard for ourselves. 🤞
Post by: Gmac on March 07, 2019, 08:21:57 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on March 07, 2019, 07:13:46 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on March 07, 2019, 01:57:08 PM

We'll surely make life hard for ourselves. 🤞
offaly will make it hard for Laois anyway always a tough spot for Laois to win in over the years
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 14, 2019, 12:06:17 PM
Nice piece in the Irish News yesterday on the Carlow / Down connection.

Never been to Carlow so looking forward to heading down on Saturday. Where do the Carlow folk recommend eating after the match?
Post by: laoislad on March 16, 2019, 04:39:00 PM
Always a good day when you beat the BIFFOs..
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 16, 2019, 05:53:21 PM
Not the worst game ever in Longford......Sligo weren't too bad...as seemed to be their trait they fell away in the second half having led at half time.

Their full fwd getting a second yellow early in the 2nd half didn't help the cause.

Longford deserved their win 2-14 to 0-13.

Glad I made the trip and not sit at home to watch Wales v Ireland.
Post by: Qwerty28 on March 16, 2019, 07:27:27 PM
Seemingly Louth v Westmeath won't be played this weekend so surely this promotion places difficult to to call?
Good win for Longford today, agree with you Shamrock that it was decent games in conditions but don't think we can still go up?
Post by: Javier Peña on March 16, 2019, 07:34:59 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on March 16, 2019, 07:27:27 PM
Seemingly Louth v Westmeath won't be played this weekend so surely this promotion places difficult to to call?
Good win for Longford today, agree with you Shamrock that it was decent games in conditions but don't think we can still go up?

Down look all but certain to go up, it looks like it's between Westmeath, Laois and Louth for the other place.
I'd personally fancy Westmeath, they look a slick outfit and if they beat Louth its theirs to lose.
Post by: Qwerty28 on March 16, 2019, 07:35:37 PM
Shamrock, any idea who the Longford make uisce with number 2 on the back...was patrolling the stand sideline...never stopped roaring...was it Donnellan from Galway who is involved?
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 16, 2019, 08:24:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 16, 2019, 05:53:21 PM
Not the worst game ever in Longford......Sligo weren't too bad...as seemed to be their trait they fell away in the second half having led at half time.

Their full fwd getting a second yellow early in the 2nd half didn't help the cause.

Longford deserved their win 2-14 to 0-13.

Glad I made the trip and not sit at home to watch Wales v Ireland.
Was there too for my sins. First half was good enough from us, some very good play from the forwards. The second....not so good. The double whammy of Hughes getting red and conceding the goal killed us, the outcome was never in doubt after that. Nice to see the stand in PP back in working order.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 16, 2019, 10:22:48 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on March 16, 2019, 07:35:37 PM
Shamrock, any idea who the Longford make uisce with number 2 on the back...was patrolling the stand sideline...never stopped roaring...was it Donnellan from Galway who is involved?

Aye Qwerty - John Donellan, ex-Galway, has a coaching role.

Be interesting to see when Louth v Westmeath can happen...looks a bit of a mess but 'm not surprised as that pitch in Drogheda is a disaster zone.

Post by: The Boy Wonder on March 18, 2019, 09:57:25 AM
Does anyone know why it was not possible to reschedule the postponed Louth-Westmeath match for yesterday or today ?
This was done with Clare-Meath in Div2 yesterday.

Round 7 matches are all fixed for same time, 2pm, next Sunday and all finals schedule for following weekend.
I'm guessing the postponed Louth-Westmeath match will be played next weekend and Round 7 games in Div3 the following weekend ???
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2019, 10:47:02 AM
Problem there Boy Wonder is that the Div 3 final is supposed to be in Croke Park on Sat 30th.

Has to be played somewhere under lights on Wed. Cannot allow the final round of games, with so much on the line for 3-4 teams chasing promotion, to drift.

I don't think there is any mix of results on Sun that would make the Louth v Westmeath game a dead rubber which could be quietly ignored.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 18, 2019, 11:35:20 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2019, 10:47:02 AM
Problem there Boy Wonder is that the Div 3 final is supposed to be in Croke Park on Sat 30th.

Has to be played somewhere under lights on Wed. Cannot allow the final round of games, with so much on the line for 3-4 teams chasing promotion, to drift.

I don't think there is any mix of results on Sun that would make the Louth v Westmeath game a dead rubber which could be quietly ignored.
Wins for Down, Laois and Longford would take care of that I think. Should still be played anyway even if it's just to give panel members a run-out.
Post by: Laois Rising on March 19, 2019, 10:55:23 AM
If Louth's pitch was not deemed playable for any day over the weekend why was game not moved to a nominated neutral venue. Surely the onus is on Louth to provide a playable pitch-every other county in Ireland was able to do so over weekend. When this could not be facilitated move game accordingly.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 19, 2019, 11:31:49 AM
It seems it was nothing to do with the pitch but player work commitments.

Good few Gardai on the teams so they were not available with parades etc.

Anyway we'll know later today what happens.
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 19, 2019, 12:30:08 PM
A totally amateurish  ;)  turn of events!
Post by: The Boy Wonder on March 21, 2019, 01:49:51 PM
The consequences of the decision to long-finger the Louth-Westmeath has been highlighted on Hoganstand and elsewhere
- this match could possibly decide the top 2 positions and in that situation either Louth or Westmeath will have nothing to play for.

Scenario 1:  Louth, Longford and Laois win next Sunday
                  Westmeath would have nothing to play for in postponed game and a Louth win would deny Down promotion

Scenario 2:  Down, Westmeath and Laois win next Sunday
                  Louth would have nothing to play for in postponed game and a Westmeath win would deny Laois promotion

Longford would also be in the running for promotion if they beath Westmeath next Sunday.
The CCCC will be praying that results next Sunday will render Louth-Westmeath match meaningless, otherwise objections could be on the cards.

The Louth-Westmeath match should have been scheduled prior to completion of Round 7.
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 21, 2019, 04:47:47 PM
Every county should have been informed at the start of the league that any postponed fixtures needed to be re-scheduled at the first possible opportunity. The reasons put forward by Louth and Westmeath for not fielding on Sunday the 17th and the holiday on Monday the 18th were less than compelling and they should then have been instructed that Wednesday the 20th was the only other option. If Louth genuinely did not have any venue under floodlights available to cope with what would have been a fairly small attendance, a neutral ground needed to be nominated. We are now left in a position where either Louth or Westmeath, or possibly both, may go into a stand alone game with the huge advantage of knowing exactly the result they must achieve for promotion. There is also every prospect that the D3 final will be delayed until April, a month which was supposed to be reserved for club matches. It all looks like a poor example of forward planning.
Post by: shark on March 21, 2019, 05:17:08 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on March 21, 2019, 04:47:47 PM
Every county should have been informed at the start of the league that any postponed fixtures needed to be re-scheduled at the first possible opportunity. The reasons put forward by Louth and Westmeath for not fielding on Sunday the 17th and the holiday on Monday the 18th were less than compelling and they should then have been instructed that Wednesday the 20th was the only other option. If Louth genuinely did not have any venue under floodlights available to cope with what would have been a fairly small attendance, a neutral ground needed to be nominated. We are now left in a position where either Louth or Westmeath, or possibly both, may go into a stand alone game with the huge advantage of knowing exactly the result they must achieve for promotion. There is also every prospect that the D3 final will be delayed until April, a month which was supposed to be reserved for club matches. It all looks like a poor example of forward planning.

It's a mess. But opposing a re-scheduling for the 17th or 18th (at 24/48 hours notice) was perfectly valid. This is an amateur sport. For example, I know that the Westmeath team has a number of Garda - who were down to work both days.
Wednesday night seemed like a reasonable night to re-schedule for - no idea why that didn't happen.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2019, 07:29:50 AM
It's only Div 3 lads - the big bananas don't care about us.

Betcha this wouldn't be tolerated in Div 1 or 2.

I did ask people I know in Longford Co Board that they insist that final Div 3 games cannot proceed without the Louth Westmeath game being played first. However not sure how that panned out  >:(

That said, looking forward to the trip to Mullingar on Sun. It will be a game played at championship intensity.
Post by: Rossfan on March 22, 2019, 08:51:32 AM
It's just an oul Leinster (rest of ) League so like ye're Championship no one cares in GAA top brass.
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 22, 2019, 09:18:31 AM
Which the Ulster men will win!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 22, 2019, 10:27:30 AM
If Louth didn't have a venue last Sunday morning the game should have been switched to Westmeath if a neutral venue couldn't be quickly arranged. Not like the counties are the opposite ends of the country from each other either. HQ knew games would be in doubt that weekend so should have made contingency plans, particularly with the state of the pitch in Drogeda in mind. The referees's calls in the second half of division 3 matches could be very topical next week.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 22, 2019, 01:27:38 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2019, 07:29:50 AM

It wouldn't happen to elite counties because their players don't work full time jobs.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2019, 03:14:09 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on March 22, 2019, 01:27:38 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2019, 07:29:50 AM

It wouldn't happen to elite counties because their players don't work full time jobs.

Hee hee.
Post by: LooseCannon on March 24, 2019, 03:42:35 PM
https://youtu.be/5Bu6f1W_Yx8
Post by: laoislad on March 24, 2019, 04:07:30 PM
Laois Promoted

Carlow Rising Sinking :D
Post by: LooseCannon on March 24, 2019, 05:32:58 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 24, 2019, 04:07:30 PM
Laois Promoted

Carlow Rising Sinking :D
Thank God. For their crimes against football alone, before taking their antics into account.
Post by: Solo_run on March 24, 2019, 05:37:36 PM
As it stands at the moment then

If Louth wins they take 1st place based on score difference and go up with Laois.
If Westmeath wins they take 1st place based on points difference and go up with Laois.
If Westmeath and Louth draw then it means Laois and Westmeath go up on superior score difference.

So next year Division 3 will have

Louth or Westmeath
Down
Cork
Tipperary
Derry
Leitrim
Offaly
Longford
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 24, 2019, 05:49:49 PM
Delighted Offaly survived and Carlow didn't. Shame that Sligo were doomed and I hope to see them bounce back. They played nice football v us in Longford.

I hope never to see Carlow again. Their brand of football makes you want to cry.

Westmeath well worth their win today. We only had about 5 minutes of control. The rest was Westmeath and should have won by more.

Well done Laois and fair play to Louth. Having seen them the first day I thought they were for the kn**ker's yard.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 24, 2019, 06:14:45 PM
See youse again, sometime.
Post by: Over the Bar on March 24, 2019, 07:36:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 24, 2019, 04:07:30 PM
Laois Promoted

Even shite floats occasionally?
Post by: LooseCannon on March 24, 2019, 10:08:38 PM
An individual involved with Carlow is said to have done something disgusting after their clash against Leix today.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 24, 2019, 10:12:42 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on March 24, 2019, 10:08:38 PM
An individual involved with Carlow is said to have done something disgusting after their clash against Leix today.

Do tell LC. Just don't name him/her. Did they lob a greener at someone?
Post by: Nameless on March 24, 2019, 10:40:59 PM
He did. Everyone likes the lesser counties to do well but the way Carlow have gone about things has left them with few admirers. Especially from counties who've come up against them. A horrible, defensive, cynical and sometimes filthy game plan. This member of their management team is well known and his actions today were disgusting. Not only the aforementioned incident but running onto the pitch to get in the referees face when the game is still ongoing is unacceptable. I'm delighted Carlow have been sent back to division 4, it's where they belong. 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 25, 2019, 09:42:25 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 24, 2019, 05:49:49 PM
Delighted Offaly survived and Carlow didn't. Shame that Sligo were doomed and I hope to see them bounce back. They played nice football v us in Longford.

I hope never to see Carlow again. Their brand of football makes you want to cry.

Westmeath well worth their win today. We only had about 5 minutes of control. The rest was Westmeath and should have won by more.

Well done Laois and fair play to Louth. Having seen them the first day I thought they were for the kn**ker's yard.

Fair summation SS, we were all over the place on kickouts, which gave ye a foothold in the match. We must have lost most of our own in the first half and the few we did retain we invariably lost possession through poor transition into your half. Couldn't believe we didn't push up on your kickouts in the second half and let ye out so easy. Kickouts has been the one area we've really improved on this year, well until yesterday. We passed up an easy opportunity to kill the game early in the second half too before ye broke down the field to equalise, we don't like to make it easy for ourselves.

Great to see Heslin sharpen his edges and return to form, took some lovely points. Ger Egan was exceptional though, as he has been since the first game of the O'Byrne Cup. Being released from the shackles of midfield really suits his game. Boidu settling nicely into the corner back spot now and having Maguire back there beside him is a real assurance. Surprised at Smith going straight into the team but suppose we have to give him a chance, showed good energy. O'Toole is a great little poacher, brilliant awareness on the pitch.

As expected we need a result up in Drogheda, by all accounts Louth were very deserving winners up in Down so we have it all to do. Looking forward to the occasion though, if not the venue.

Like most, glad to see the back of Carlow from division 3 and not surprised to hear reports about the Carlow selector's antics. The worst display I ever witnessed on a sideline was from him 2 years ago in Cusack Park. He should have been put in the stands on numerous occasions, good riddance.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 30, 2019, 03:05:22 PM
Latest in the promotion decider Louth 1-4 Westmeath 1-5. Westmeath take the lead with a penalty. Game on here https://www.facebook.com/Westmeathgaaofficial/videos/401759690620421/
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 30, 2019, 03:42:50 PM
Westmeath promoted with a draw.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 30, 2019, 09:15:04 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 25, 2019, 12:31:13 PM
Ok. Here it goes again. I hope to be in Drogheda on Sunday - if only to prove that we are not as bad (even without the Mullinalaghta boys) as we were against Westmeath in O'Byrne Cup.

I think survival in Div 3 is the best we can hope for as we could be missing the Mullinalaghtas well into the campaign.

My predictions

Promoted

Westmeath and Laois

No Change

Relegated
Carlow and Sligo

Anyone want Lotto numbers?
Post by: LooseCannon on March 30, 2019, 10:33:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 30, 2019, 09:15:04 PM

My predictions

Promoted

Westmeath and Laois

No Change

Relegated
Carlow and Sligo

Anyone want Lotto numbers?
Euromillions, if you have them handy.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 31, 2019, 03:53:33 PM
Well done Westmeath!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 02, 2019, 04:09:49 PM

I see they were up to other antics in the Down game too. No smoke without fire.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 08, 2019, 12:21:23 PM
Great result after a decent performance Saturday, nice to have another trophy for the cabinet, we'll have to invest in another one at this rate. We were very slow out of the blocks, didn't score until the 17th minute and some of our balls inside were very poorly executed. We managed the black cards very well though and upped our work rate for them 20 minutes. When we got back to 15 for the last 15 minutes we were operating at a higher level and our work rate got us home. Passed up a host of chances as well though so loads to work on still. Nice touch with the t-shirts at the end and good speech from the Bear to reference Lee Wallace. We've it all to do now to beat Laois for the third time now in 7 weeks so all thoughts turned towards that now. They missed a host of frees and chances as well so expect to see improved performances from both teams in O'Connor Park.

An Iarmhí Abú
Post by: Gmac on April 08, 2019, 04:58:18 PM

My predictions

Promoted

Westmeath and Laois

No Change

Relegated
Carlow and Sligo
excellent prediction
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 08, 2019, 05:42:20 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 08, 2019, 12:21:23 PM
Great result after a decent performance Saturday, nice to have another trophy for the cabinet, we'll have to invest in another one at this rate. We were very slow out of the blocks, didn't score until the 17th minute and some of our balls inside were very poorly executed. We managed the black cards very well though and upped our work rate for them 20 minutes. When we got back to 15 for the last 15 minutes we were operating at a higher level and our work rate got us home. Passed up a host of chances as well though so loads to work on still. Nice touch with the t-shirts at the end and good speech from the Bear to reference Lee Wallace. We've it all to do now to beat Laois for the third time now in 7 weeks so all thoughts turned towards that now. They missed a host of frees and chances as well so expect to see improved performances from both teams in O'Connor Park.

An Iarmhí Abú

Congrats to Westmeath. Not a bad team ye have assembled there. Play good football.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 09, 2019, 09:21:21 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 08, 2019, 05:42:20 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 08, 2019, 12:21:23 PM

An Iarmhí Abú

Congrats to Westmeath. Not a bad team ye have assembled there. Play good football.

That's generous from a Longford man  ;)

Some very good footballers, particularly in the forwards. Sam Duncan has made a big step up to midfield this year, which in turn has released Ger Egan into the forwards. He's thriving up there and was the top scorer in all the league divisions. Keeping Heslin off the frees too. We prefer to play open football but have got 13 behind the ball when playing the likes of Carlow and Down. Pity the squad isn't that bit stronger, having the likes of Holloway, Sharry and the Connellans would make a difference.
Post by: Taylor on April 09, 2019, 04:28:49 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 02, 2019, 04:09:49 PM

I see they were up to other antics in the Down game too. No smoke without fire.

20 weeks for Turlough for his antics  ???
Post by: bamboo on April 09, 2019, 04:29:46 PM
Carlow boys got big bans after incident at the end of the Down match. Are there charges to be brought from incident at the end of the Laois game too or was that just rumours?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 09, 2019, 06:16:05 PM
Quote from: bamboo on April 09, 2019, 04:29:46 PM
Carlow boys got big bans after incident at the end of the Down match. Are there charges to be brought from incident at the end of the Laois game too or was that just rumours?

The 20 weeks should be doubled for crimes against football in general.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 10, 2019, 08:37:30 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 09, 2019, 06:16:05 PM
Quote from: bamboo on April 09, 2019, 04:29:46 PM

The 20 weeks should be doubled for crimes against football in general.

Hopefully includes media, pain in my hole listening to Turlough 'Chip on his shoulder' O'Brien.
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2019, 09:34:37 AM
I presume the love affair with Carlow is now well and truly ended
Post by: Unlaoised on April 16, 2019, 12:11:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 10, 2019, 09:34:37 AM

It was never there once Poacher came to the fore last year.....

~IF you were at the Kildare v carlow or any of the 3 laois games like i was last year then the Carlow love affair thing was never a goer ...A horrible nasty piece of stuff is Poacher!
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 16, 2019, 01:00:32 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on April 16, 2019, 12:11:11 PM

~IF you were at the Kildare v carlow or any of the 3 laois games like i was last year then the Carlow love affair thing was never a goer ...A horrible nasty piece of stuff is Poacher!

Amen brother.
Post by: Dire Ear on April 16, 2019, 04:40:22 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 16, 2019, 01:00:32 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on April 16, 2019, 12:11:11 PM

Amen brother.
Absolutley, terrible manners has Mr Poacher