Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Quote from: Jim Bob on March 14, 2024, 07:18:55 PMWhy not just pay an experienced ex county player or manager to write a piece?

At least they have experience in county football and would offer a more informed opinion that someone who has qualified in journalism and has an interest in GAA

Jim Bob, you're taking this article very badly. Should papers just do away with professional journalists? Cahair lives and breathes football, he definitely knows his stuff, but it's just his opinion at the end of the day. You don't have to like it, but no need to dismiss the views because an intercounty player / manager didn't write it.

Also I think he's right. Tyrone should be getting better but it doesn't look like current management are getting them going in that direction. I was surprised they got another term.

Quote from: Jim Bob on March 14, 2024, 07:39:42 AM
Quote from: time ticking away on March 05, 2024, 08:33:40 AM
Quote from: God14 on March 05, 2024, 08:11:11 AM
Quote from: Jerome on March 05, 2024, 08:01:04 AM
Quote from: God14 on March 05, 2024, 07:34:39 AMGood article by Cahir OKane in todays Irish news about the problems with our attack. he's saying essentially the players are there its the shape thats wrong. i would strongly agree with him

He is basically saying Brian Dooher and his coaches aren't up to it.

That might well be the case.

Very good. Strange Cahir wasn't asked to take Derry when Rory Gallagher left

Exactly. You get a job as a reporter and suddenly you are an expert in GAA.

I don't know if this guy played football to any serious level but he starts telling a double all Ireland winner where he is going wrong.

Quintuple all Ireland winner, inc his 2 management wins tbf   ;)

Derryman forever

The fact,so many of you are exercised by his article,shows that  he is doing what he is paid to do. And doing it well.

Knock Yer Mucker In

Well, I have no problem saying our managers are not at the level to built our team to All Ireland level. They inherited a team that Mickey Harte built, a team that had been to an a final 2 seasons before and the addition of a couple of forwards helped. What they did do was take the defensive shackles off that team, and for that they deserve credit and our respect. The team was able to express themselves and the result was an All Ireland.

However building a team on solid defensive and attacking principles is a different thing.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Knock Yer Mucker In on March 15, 2024, 09:27:09 AMWell, I have no problem saying our managers are not at the level to built our team to All Ireland level. They inherited a team that Mickey Harte built, a team that had been to an a final 2 seasons before and the addition of a couple of forwards helped. What they did do was take the defensive shackles off that team, and for that they deserve credit and our respect. The team was able to express themselves and the result was an All Ireland.

However building a team on solid defensive and attacking principles is a different thing.
They pushed on a team that Mickey Harte was holding back and have lost a lot of key players since while others best years are behind them. For that they deserve great credit and a new team doesn't materialise overnight...

MC

That team that Harte was 'holding back' were beaten by Dublin in the semi-finals in 2017; beaten by Dublin in the final in 2018; and beaten by Kerry in the semi-final in 2019 - and after a Covid disrupted championship in 2020 won a final in 2021. I've no problem with a change in manager but do people really think Tyrone lost out on 3 AIs they would or should have won with a different manager? I hope Tyrone are 'held back' this year.

Truthsayer

Quote from: MC on March 15, 2024, 10:14:09 AMThat team that Harte was 'holding back' were beaten by Dublin in the semi-finals in 2017; beaten by Dublin in the final in 2018; and beaten by Kerry in the semi-final in 2019 - and after a Covid disrupted championship in 2020 won a final in 2021. I've no problem with a change in manager but do people really think Tyrone lost out on 3 AIs they would or should have won with a different manager? I hope Tyrone are 'held back' this year.
That's it... didn't beat Dublin, Kerry or Mayo in the championship since 2008.. the two lads came in and with Peter Donnelly, who had left previous set-up, beat Kerry and Mayo and Sam's yer man!

Tyrone became more attacking when they had McKenna & McShane available and in form. Not so much when they lost those 2.
Harte was a big part of having them both on this side of the World.

Quote from: Truthsayer on March 15, 2024, 11:13:04 AM
Quote from: MC on March 15, 2024, 10:14:09 AMThat team that Harte was 'holding back' were beaten by Dublin in the semi-finals in 2017; beaten by Dublin in the final in 2018; and beaten by Kerry in the semi-final in 2019 - and after a Covid disrupted championship in 2020 won a final in 2021. I've no problem with a change in manager but do people really think Tyrone lost out on 3 AIs they would or should have won with a different manager? I hope Tyrone are 'held back' this year.
That's it... didn't beat Dublin, Kerry or Mayo in the championship since 2008.. the two lads came in and with Peter Donnelly, who had left previous set-up, beat Kerry and Mayo and Sam's yer man!

Mayo are a different beast in a final though. All the other games against Mayo were before the final.

How big a loss is McKenna to that team?

MC

I'd say you could only really gripe about 2012 and 2014 as poor years.
...didn't beat Dublin - that was the entire country for eight of those years!

Scoring Zone

Quote from: Jim Bob on March 14, 2024, 07:39:42 AM
Quote from: time ticking away on March 05, 2024, 08:33:40 AM
Quote from: God14 on March 05, 2024, 08:11:11 AM
Quote from: Jerome on March 05, 2024, 08:01:04 AM
Quote from: God14 on March 05, 2024, 07:34:39 AMGood article by Cahir OKane in todays Irish news about the problems with our attack. he's saying essentially the players are there its the shape thats wrong. i would strongly agree with him

He is basically saying Brian Dooher and his coaches aren't up to it.

That might well be the case.

Very good. Strange Cahir wasn't asked to take Derry when Rory Gallagher left

Exactly. You get a job as a reporter and suddenly you are an expert in GAA.

I don't know if this guy played football to any serious level but he starts telling a double all Ireland winner where he is going wrong.

This is standard confirmation bias on GAA reporting (annoying but par for the course) e.g, when Donegal where flying high '11-'16 suddenly that gobshite Devenney was on everything going spouting word salad on defensive systems, now that Derry are going well a Derry journalist is has by default more sway in analysing what Tyrone (and other teams) is doing wrong, he is a journalist re-writing what he is hearing in the stands and press box.

In general the standard of reporting, analysis and use of BS 'Statistics' to validate argument is so so poor in football atm, but I suppose you get that with the extra coverage its getting which has never been better, swings and roundabouts

NotedObserver

Many heading tonight? Any word on mattie Donnelly as not named on the panel

Jim Bob

Quote from: JoG2 on March 14, 2024, 07:36:05 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on March 14, 2024, 07:18:55 PMWhy not just pay an experienced ex county player or manager to write a piece?

At least they have experience in county football and would offer a more informed opinion that someone who has qualified in journalism and has an interest in GAA

Jim Bob, you're taking this article very badly. Should papers just do away with professional journalists? Cahair lives and breathes football, he definitely knows his stuff, but it's just his opinion at the end of the day. You don't have to like it, but no need to dismiss the views because an intercounty player / manager didn't write it.

Well I'm not sitting in the corner crying my eyes out over it

Twobounces

Is Healy Park the worse standard of a pitch for a county ground? State of the pith tonight was a joke but this has been ongoing for years. Was there not work done to the pitch recently or is work meant to be done on it.