Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: omaghjoe on December 15, 2015, 10:52:41 PM

Title: Star Wars
Post by: omaghjoe on December 15, 2015, 10:52:41 PM
No fans on here? Anyone seen/goin to see it?

New one getting some serious positive reviews
Title: Re: Star Wars
Post by: Boycey on December 15, 2015, 10:58:08 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 15, 2015, 10:52:41 PM

There was a thread last week about guilty pleasures, this is sort of the opposite for me I just never got Star Wars...
Post by: JoG2 on December 15, 2015, 10:58:39 PM
Looking forward to it.  It's a 12a, would it be too much for a 7 and a 6 year old? The wife is putting the foot down grrrr
Post by: BennyCake on December 15, 2015, 11:04:21 PM
Never seen any of the Star Wars films. Am I the only one?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 15, 2015, 11:08:43 PM

Saw the first one when it came out, in 77 or 78.  I was 7 years old or so.  Even then I was bored by it.  Tried again in my early 20's, figuring it had just been over my head, but still found it pretty dull.   Like an earlier poster above, I just don't get the whole Star Wars thing.
Post by: The Worker on December 15, 2015, 11:11:49 PM
For geeks and freaks.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 15, 2015, 11:12:33 PM

I'd rather nail my dick to the table.
Post by: rrhf on December 15, 2015, 11:18:02 PM
Nobody ' forces' you guys to watch it. 
Post by: Minder on December 15, 2015, 11:21:37 PM
I was mad into them all as a nipper, had all the figures & toys. All my friends were the same.

Post by: J70 on December 15, 2015, 11:31:57 PM
Was always more of a trekkie myself. Never got the fascination with Star Wars. The first three were decent, enjoyable films, but no more worthy of excitement than numerous other films from the period.

As for the 90s/00s prequels, I sat through the first one, and having been close to walking out after 15 minutes of Jar Jar Binks, I wasn't arsed with the others and never saw them.

I'll give the new one a look when it comes out on demand for tv, but that will be about it.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 15, 2015, 11:34:04 PM
Love Star Wars, always have. My favourite is episode V but I'd watch them all no bother. Looking forward to bringing the young lad to it.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 15, 2015, 11:46:16 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 15, 2015, 11:31:57 PM
Was always more of a trekkie myself. Never got the fascination with Star Wars. The first three were decent, enjoyable films, but no more worthy of excitement than numerous other films from the period.

As for the 90s/00s prequels, I sat through the first one, and having been close to walking out after 15 minutes of Jar Jar Binks, I wasn't arsed with the others and never saw them.

I'll give the new one a look when it comes out on demand for tv, but that will be about it.

Haha watched this a while back... its a JarJarless Phantom Menance, he really didnt bring much to the table did poor old JarJar
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fs5xOdJne_o
Post by: ziggysego on December 16, 2015, 12:05:11 AM
Got tickets for the midnight show in Derry tomorrow (Wednesday night / Thursday morning) Can't wait.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 16, 2015, 02:08:07 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 16, 2015, 12:05:11 AM
Got tickets for the midnight show in Derry tomorrow (Wednesday night / Thursday morning) Can't wait.

Saunder on Ziggy ;D

Not sure when Im gonna get to see it TBH so I'll be looking forward to a full report Thursday
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2015, 02:30:23 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 16, 2015, 02:08:07 AM

Saunder on Ziggy ;D

Not sure when Im gonna get to see it TBH so I'll be looking forward to a full report Thursday

Better not be on here!!!
Post by: heganboy on December 16, 2015, 02:31:07 AM

Also doing the midnight run, with my 9 year old...

Proud geeks
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 16, 2015, 02:49:11 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 15, 2015, 11:12:33 PM

I'd rather nail my dick to the table.

And I'd rather watch you do it. 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 16, 2015, 04:43:22 AM
Always loved it.  Got the comics when I was a youngster. Saw episode IV when it made its TV premiere. I read the comics adaptation of The Empire Strikes Back before I saw the film.  Saw Return of the Jedi in my first ever visit to the cinema at the old ABC in Belfast.  Read spin-off novels when I was a student. Wasn't impressed by the prequels and to this day I refuse to consider them canon. Red Letter Media's demolition of The Phantom Menace is well worth a watch, some good insights into what makes a good or bad film. Can't wait to see the new one.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 16, 2015, 07:45:40 AM
Anyone disses Star Wars on here and I'll nail their cocks to the table...alright 5Sams!!! :P. It was, is and always will be the best, end of story.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on December 16, 2015, 08:05:47 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 15, 2015, 11:04:21 PM

Never watched them either and don't really have any inclination to either, not sure why, they have just never really appealed to me.
Maybe I will give the new one ago and see what the fuss is about
Post by: bennydorano on December 16, 2015, 08:16:03 AM
Not for me either. I would consider myself a Sci Fi fan, i've always thought you can broadly divide sci'fi into 2 areas- stuff that makes you think &  Soap Operas in Space, Star Wars is the later imo.
Post by: ballinaman on December 16, 2015, 08:41:28 AM
(http://memecrunch.com/meme/2MJB9/homer-nerd-buster/image.png)
Post by: nrico2006 on December 16, 2015, 09:11:43 AM
Watched them all 4 or 5 years ago to give them a fair chance and found them pretty boring to be honest.
Post by: johnneycool on December 16, 2015, 09:22:14 AM

Buck Rogers was far better;

(http://imgc.allpostersimages.com/images/P-473-488-90/37/3777/WIGIF00Z/posters/buck-rogers-in-the-25th-century.jpg)
Post by: Canalman on December 16, 2015, 09:25:10 AM
Never saw what the fuss was about.

Walked out of Star Wars 4 after about an hour plus or so. Dung and I wasn't the first to walk out either. Critics were  raving about it at the time.

Presume, just liked the recent Bond movies  (all overrated) the critics and journalists will be raving away. Makes you wonder.
Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 09:25:22 AM
Hopefully a new outbreak of Star Wars fever will lead to remakes of X-Wing and TIE Fighter.
Post by: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 09:29:42 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 15, 2015, 11:04:21 PM

I bet you have - or a fair bit of one or two.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 16, 2015, 09:31:40 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 09:25:22 AM
Hopefully a new outbreak of Star Wars fever will lead to remakes of X-Wing and TIE Fighter.

Lego  is the way to go,  our house is coming down with it,  Santa bringing another 3 sets,  including the Falcon.  Christmas day entertainment sorted!
Post by: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 09:32:35 AM
Agree and even for the girls lego friends!
Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 09:33:41 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 16, 2015, 09:31:40 AM

Lego  is the way to go,  our house is coming down with it,  Santa bringing another 3 sets,  including the Falcon.  Christmas day entertainment sorted!

The computer games, not the toys. Although the little man might find himself with more Star Wars Lego than he can cope with...
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 16, 2015, 09:39:08 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 09:33:41 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 16, 2015, 09:31:40 AM

The computer games, not the toys. Although the little man might find himself with more Star Wars Lego than he can cope with...

Big son has Star Wars Battlefront coming for the XBox so there will be serious action there as well!
Post by: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 09:51:35 AM
What is not to like about star wars. Just the greatest (And I mean the original 3, the 3 prequels are wiped from memory).

Really looking forward to the new one as it goes back to its roots. Me and Bingo Jnr heading to it over the holidays.

I was a massive Ewok junkie and had a vast collection.

My eyes lit up in Smyths recently when I seen the Ewok village in Lego and I will get it when I get the box room sorted and a table in it to put that baby together. Followed by the falcon, the death star......
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 16, 2015, 09:54:26 AM
Quote from: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 09:51:35 AM
What is not to like about star wars. Just the greatest (And I mean the original 3, the 3 prequels are wiped from memory).

Really looking forward to the new one as it goes back to its roots. Me and Bingo Jnr heading to it over the holidays.

My eyes lit up in Smyths recently when I seen the Ewok village in Lego and I will get it when I get the box room sorted and a table in it to put that baby together. Followed by the falcon, the death star......

Ewok village was nearly on Santa's list but like you we really need the room and table sorted.  I'm really tempted to invest in some of this to make sure the Falcon stays in 1 piece!

(http://images.brickimedia.org/thumb/c/c0/Kragle.jpg/250px-Kragle.jpg)
Post by: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 09:58:51 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 16, 2015, 09:54:26 AM
Quote from: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 09:51:35 AM

Ewok village was nearly on Santa's list but like you we really need the room and table sorted.  I'm really tempted to invest in some of this to make sure the Falcon stays in 1 piece!

(http://images.brickimedia.org/thumb/c/c0/Kragle.jpg/250px-Kragle.jpg)

I'll just lock the room and keep the destruction crew out!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 16, 2015, 10:10:16 AM
The embargo on reviews has just lifted.

The consensus is that it's pretty good. Not great. Definitely not bad.
Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 10:19:59 AM
Jedi is a bit rubbish. All Ewoks and Harrison Ford making it painfully obvious that he didn't want to be there. But Star Wars (is it hipster to refer to it as A New Hope or hipster to not refer to it as A New Hope?) and Empire are brilliant. When the likes of Fritz Lang and DW Griffith started mucking around with the new fangled medium, those films were what they had in mind as the end point.
Post by: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 10:50:21 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 10:19:59 AM
Jedi is a bit rubbish. All Ewoks and Harrison Ford making it painfully obvious that he didn't want to be there. But Star Wars (is it hipster to refer to it as A New Hope or hipster to not refer to it as A New Hope?) and Empire are brilliant. When the likes of Fritz Lang and DW Griffith started mucking around with the new fangled medium, those films were what they had in mind as the end point.

>:( wash your mouth out
Post by: ziggysego on December 16, 2015, 11:03:54 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2015, 02:30:23 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 16, 2015, 02:08:07 AM

Saunder on Ziggy ;D

Don't worry Puck. I'm not even going to say if I liked it or not for 4-5 days.

Better not be on here!!!
Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 11:04:22 AM
*waves hand* Return of the Jedi isn't the movie you are looking for
Post by: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 11:05:42 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 11:04:22 AM
*waves hand* Return of the Jedi isn't the movie you are looking for

I sense a disturbance in the force....
Post by: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 11:06:42 AM
Family Guy had their Empire strikes back episode on BBC3 last night.

Its super.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 16, 2015, 12:39:49 PM
I always smile at this...

(http://in1.ccio.co/GR/SM/LO/633545257951222903regretsthosewerethedroidsyouwerelookingfordemotivatorlarge.jpg)
Post by: stpauls on December 16, 2015, 12:54:25 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 11:06:42 AM

Its super.

Blue Harvest (A New Hope) was on Monday night, so can assume the 3rd one will be on tonight!!

EDIT: just checked and It's A Trap (ROTJ) is on tonight at 11pm  :)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2015, 01:23:23 PM
Any of you lads born in the 1970s saying you have never watched any of the original Star Wars trilogy are talking ballix I would say.
Post by: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 01:32:57 PM
Quote from: stpauls on December 16, 2015, 12:54:25 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 16, 2015, 11:06:42 AM

Its super.

Blue Harvest (A New Hope) was on Monday night, so can assume the 3rd one will be on tonight!!

EDIT: just checked and It's A Trap (ROTJ) is on tonight at 11pm  :)

Super, cheers!
Post by: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 01:34:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2015, 01:23:23 PM
Any of you lads born in the 1970s saying you have never watched any of the original Star Wars trilogy are talking ballix I would say.

100% agree, seems to be cool though to say you never saw a very popular show, it's like you made a conscious decision to avoid and look different, as you say - talking ballax!
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2015, 02:48:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 16, 2015, 12:39:49 PM
I always smile at this...

(http://in1.ccio.co/GR/SM/LO/633545257951222903regretsthosewerethedroidsyouwerelookingfordemotivatorlarge.jpg)

And this

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-IwGDXaIRJ2U/VWVJ4_iUm5I/AAAAAAAAApE/gllXIgTkPNY/s1600/star-wars-memes-1.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on December 16, 2015, 02:51:29 PM
I've never watched any of them
Post by: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 02:55:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 16, 2015, 02:51:29 PM
I've never watched any of them

(http://treasure.diylol.com/uploads/post/image/386114/resized_jesus-says-meme-generator-jesus-says-yeah-right-ba9b52.jpg)
Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 02:56:45 PM
Quote from: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 01:34:00 PM

100% agree, seems to be cool though to say you never saw a very popular show, it's like you made a conscious decision to avoid and look different, as you say - talking ballax!

(https://i.imgflip.com/vv64i.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on December 16, 2015, 03:01:55 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 02:56:45 PM
Quote from: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 01:34:00 PM

(https://i.imgflip.com/vv64i.jpg)
He couldn't look any less like me !

No really,I haven't watched any of them.
Post by: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 03:03:28 PM
You have, but no one cares, but you think people do care and makes you look different so you will tell us all a few more times.  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on December 16, 2015, 03:05:37 PM
Quote from: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 03:03:28 PM
You have, but no one cares, but you think people do care and makes you look different so you will tell us all a few more times.  ;)

He *is* different.
Post by: deiseach on December 16, 2015, 03:06:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 16, 2015, 03:01:55 PM
He couldn't look any less like me !

Really? Type laoislad into Google and that's what comes up.
Post by: laoislad on December 16, 2015, 03:12:23 PM
So for someone like me,who has never watched any Star Wars movies, would I want to watch them before I watch this new one?
Post by: ziggysego on December 16, 2015, 03:14:56 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 16, 2015, 03:12:23 PM
So for someone like me,who has never watched any Star Wars movies, would I want to watch them before I watch this new one?

I think it's set up that you don't need to have seen the original trilogy, though I'm sure it would help to have seen it.
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2015, 03:15:34 PM
The real laoislad has probably watched them, so you're covered.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 16, 2015, 03:18:41 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2015, 03:15:34 PM
Nope. I have also never watched them.
Post by: ziggysego on December 16, 2015, 03:20:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 16, 2015, 03:18:41 PM

Wait? Are you two different people?
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2015, 03:22:36 PM

Those Jedi mind tricks won't work on me!
Post by: Green Fields on December 16, 2015, 03:44:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 16, 2015, 03:12:23 PM

You will tell us three more times before the c**k crows!!!
Post by: omaghjoe on December 16, 2015, 04:51:52 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 16, 2015, 03:20:54 PM

Well u tell us, does he have the same IP address?
Post by: easytiger95 on December 16, 2015, 09:13:13 PM
First memory of the cinema is being brought to a double bill in the Adelphi in 1981 of Star Wars/Empire (double bills!!!)

Had every figure I could lay my hands on - now my young fella is just gone 4 and got scared when I brought him to "the Good Dinosaur" (spoiler alert - it is bloody scary!) so I reckon he'll have to wait until this era's Empire to feel the Force.

I would have a go at all the super cool 70s children denying ever seeing any of it ...but I fear if I strike them down they will become more powerful than I could ever imagine...
Post by: J70 on December 16, 2015, 09:20:48 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 15, 2015, 11:46:16 PM

Haha watched this a while back... its a JarJarless Phantom Menance, he really didnt bring much to the table did poor old JarJar
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fs5xOdJne_o

:)
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2015, 09:46:33 PM
For all the family guy fans

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x29y535_blue-harvest_fun

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2bfh2z_family-guy-something-something-something-dark-side_fun

http://www.veoh.com/watch/v20662087gBm5WWAc?h1=Family+Guy+-+It%27s+a+Trap!

Just watched the 3 prequels and will move onto the original trilogy before watching the new one.
Revenge of the sith was actually OK but the other 2 were dreadful. The CGI was unforgivable though considering Lucas actually pioneered so many things to do the first films, it looked like an old playstation game or something. I can see why the new director wanted to go back to 'real' effects and less of the blue screen shite. George Lucas did a fine job at the beginning but those ewoks in Jedi were the beginning of the downfall - should have just done the same film but with wookies.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 16, 2015, 09:48:39 PM
How could you do it with wookies? Sure no wookies lived on Endor? Madness.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2015, 10:02:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 16, 2015, 09:48:39 PM
How could you do it with wookies? Sure no wookies lived on Endor? Madness.

Once chewie had found the planet and told his mates about the forests of endor and their suitable habitat and the huge supply of tasty ewok meat then the wookies would have colonized that place in a flash.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 16, 2015, 10:06:56 PM
The Ewoks would have taken them out with their clever use of stones on rope, pointy sticks and battering rams. The wookies would have been wood hut decorations in no time at all.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2015, 10:17:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 16, 2015, 10:06:56 PM
The Ewoks would have taken them out with their clever use of stones on rope, pointy sticks and battering rams. The wookies would have been wood hut decorations in no time at all.

Ha ha stop it your bringing back too many bad memories. Why could those supposed crack shot storm troopers suddenly not be able to hit anything 5 yards away. I remember a whole company of stormtroopers dying and yet maybe only 1 ewok lol
Post by: ONeill on December 16, 2015, 11:05:24 PM

I'm one of your bollixes. Probably seen bits of them. Can't recall watching one in its entirety. The wife has been educating the son on them over the last few weeks and still no appeal for me to watch them. But then you wouldn't watch the shit I do.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2015, 11:54:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 16, 2015, 11:05:24 PM

I'm one of your bollixes. Probably seen bits of them. Can't recall watching one in its entirety. The wife has been educating the son on them over the last few weeks and still no appeal for me to watch them. But then you wouldn't watch the shit I do.
Come on sit down with the lad and show a bit of interest.
Post by: seafoid on December 17, 2015, 12:04:44 AM
I was in a toy shop with my daughter and the Star wars merchandising was everywhere. Targeting kids. Tsk tsk.
Post by: Minder on December 17, 2015, 12:10:01 AM
Quote from: seafoid on December 17, 2015, 12:04:44 AM
I was in a toy shop with my daughter and the Star wars merchandising was everywhere. Targeting kids. Tsk tsk.

The merchandising is insane since Disney are now involved
Post by: clarshack on December 17, 2015, 03:08:06 AM
Just home from the midnight showing.
Big yes from me.
Post by: annapr on December 17, 2015, 10:15:32 AM
Do the Skelligs feature in it much?
Post by: AZOffaly on December 17, 2015, 10:18:36 AM
About 30 seconds worth I hear.
Post by: ziggysego on December 17, 2015, 10:31:36 AM
I'm at work tired.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 17, 2015, 03:30:09 PM

(https://i.imgflip.com/vxfvt.jpg)
Post by: leenie on December 17, 2015, 04:16:01 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on December 15, 2015, 10:58:39 PM
Looking forward to it.  It's a 12a, would it be too much for a 7 and a 6 year old? The wife is putting the foot down grrrr

I was watching film 2015 last night , and they mentioned about taking their children to see it who loved it .. It's still a Disney so I can't imagine it's too scary,
If  3/4 years old can watch bambi where the mother dies, finding nemo where the mother dies, lion king where the father dies and the hyenas are scary as fck, beauty and beast where the beast gets mauled by wolves and stabbed by gaston, etc I think They're prepared ...

Think children are probably more resilient to 'scary' parts as they have less fear

Also I was 8 years old when I seen gremlins .. Fair enough wasn't fit to go bed without checking under it for about a year, I don't think any harm was done  ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

Post by: JoG2 on December 17, 2015, 04:21:16 PM
Quote from: leenie on December 17, 2015, 04:16:01 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on December 15, 2015, 10:58:39 PM

I was watching film 2015 last night , and they mentioned about taking their children to see it who loved it .. It's still a Disney so I can't imagine it's too scary,
If  3/4 years old can watch bambi where the mother dies, finding nemo where the mother dies, lion king where the father dies and the hyenas are scary as fck, beauty and beast where the beast gets mauled by wolves and stabbed by gaston, etc I think They're prepared ...

Think children are probably more resilient to 'scary' parts as they have less fear

Also I was 8 years old when I seen gremlins .. Fair enough wasn't fit to go bed without checking under it for about a year, I don't think any harm was done  ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

Thanks leenie though I think I may lose this battle with the wife!
Post by: leenie on December 17, 2015, 04:27:21 PM
Sure you can tell her your taking them to do some special Christmas shopping and secretly take them to see it and get them to swear to secrecy ,

But make sure to get her something , cover your tracks ..
Post by: deiseach on December 17, 2015, 04:45:59 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 17, 2015, 03:30:09 PM

(https://i.imgflip.com/vxfvt.jpg)

*uploads Jabba the Hutt image*

Nah, that's too easy.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 17, 2015, 05:03:03 PM
Deiseach, pintsofguinness left the board a long, long time ago and is now in a galaxy far far away!!
Post by: deiseach on December 17, 2015, 05:19:34 PM
(https://i.imgflip.com/vxolg.jpg)
Post by: oakleaflad on December 22, 2015, 01:31:32 PM
What did everyone make of Episode VII? I thought they did a really good job of introducing the new characters and mixing with the old. Funny in parts and decent storyline. So much better than the prequels.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 22, 2015, 01:43:45 PM
Thought it was great, good storyline to follow on from the 'main' films... took my 12 year old daughter and she found it easy enough to get a grip of the storyline having never watched them before (I give her a small synopsis of the previous) and she really enjoyed it, the humour was good and it actually took me back to being a 10 year old again in the cinema and watching the first ones...

It had a sort of storyline that was the same as the originals which was very clever (because it worked so well)..... can't wait till next year!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 22, 2015, 01:51:38 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 22, 2015, 01:43:45 PM
Thought it was great, good storyline to follow on from the 'main' films... took my 12 year old daughter and she found it easy enough to get a grip of the storyline having never watched them before (I give her a small synopsis of the previous) and she really enjoyed it, the humour was good and it actually took me back to being a 10 year old again in the cinema and watching the first ones...

It had a sort of storyline that was the same as the originals which was very clever (because it worked so well)..... can't wait till next year!!
You getting a preview?

Agree with above - a LOT of nods to the originals. Someone described it as the new New Hope which was a good description.
Post by: ziggysego on December 22, 2015, 01:52:55 PM
I thought it was fantastic. Paid tribute to episodes IV,V, VI without over indulging in them. A good mixture of old and new characters. Looking forward to May 2017 for episode VIII.

Back to the cinema tomorrow afternoon to see The Force Awakens for the 2nd viewing.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 22, 2015, 02:51:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 22, 2015, 01:52:55 PM
I thought it was fantastic. Paid tribute to episodes IV,V, VI without over indulging in them. A good mixture of old and new characters. Looking forward to May 2017 for episode VIII.

Back to the cinema tomorrow afternoon to see The Force Awakens for the 2nd viewing.

I agree. I thought it was absolutely brilliant. Will definitely go again over the Christmas and cannot with until May 2017.
Post by: Aristo 60 on December 22, 2015, 03:04:57 PM
Generally thought is was all great-except for Snoke.

Certainly made me realise now that 1,2&3 are not worthy of the franchise.

Will we see a little bit more of Sceilg Mhichíl in the next one?
Post by: seafoid on December 22, 2015, 03:05:25 PM
the Friends Princess Leia episode

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4f9plD-JZsw

the Princess in the original scene

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMUvVvMLVBU

Note the comments
Post by: clarshack on December 22, 2015, 03:08:00 PM
i've seen it twice already and it was even better second time around. going to see it in 3D as well sometime over christmas  ;)
Post by: bennydorano on December 30, 2015, 06:46:13 PM
Took the kids today to watch the movie and all of us thoroughly enjoyed it. It's pretty much a rehash (reboot?) of the original tho??
Post by: omaghjoe on December 31, 2015, 05:55:28 AM
Seen it the day myself as well Benny

Brilliant show, absolutely loved it, has me chomping at the bit for more.

Acting was great, story too, scenes, costumes, it that bit of unkown to the plot which as well which as helped to give it that bit of mystrey.

Less CGI and more proper props gave it a better spectacle and was less sore on the eyes.

A complete success IMO

Roll on the DVD and the next one
Post by: Puckoon on December 31, 2015, 06:30:30 AM
It's top drawer alright. Plenty of nod to the old movies, the right amount of cheese, and some fresh blood. They finally figured out we don't need famous Sith Lords, stupid droids and that there is a harking for the nostalgia of the old movies with new actors and stories. Top drawer.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2015, 07:36:51 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 30, 2015, 06:46:13 PM
Took the kids today to watch the movie and all of us thoroughly enjoyed it. It's pretty much a rehash (reboot?) of the original tho??

I thought exactly the same. Absolutely enjoyed it, has helped banish the memory of the prequels but there's nothing new here. At times it seemed they were painfully aware of how similar it was - NO, REALLY, IT'S NOT A DEATH STAR. LOOK HOW MUCH BIGGER IT IS. Not necessarily a bad thing though.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 31, 2015, 08:27:58 AM
Really enjoyed the film too but it really is a remake more than a sequel but still looking forward to the next one. A few problems with the plot though and not trying to spoil it for anyone but the 'awakening' all seemed to happen a little too fast with zero guidance also kylo ren was awesome unitl he took off his mask at which point from scary bad ass villian who can stop laser beams mid flight he suddenly becomes a moany teenager with virtually no power.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 31, 2015, 09:12:53 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on December 31, 2015, 08:27:58 AM
Really enjoyed the film too but it really is a remake more than a sequel but still looking forward to the next one. A few problems with the plot though and not trying to spoil it for anyone but the 'awakening' all seemed to happen a little too fast with zero guidance also kylo ren was awesome unitl he took off his mask at which point from scary bad ass villian who can stop laser beams mid flight he suddenly becomes a moany teenager with virtually no power.

Ha ha. Thought the same. It was like a collage fancy dress party, and then Tarquin took the huff.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2015, 09:14:04 AM
Aye, I thought he was great until the mask came off and he revealed himself as Severus Snape. Getting his arse handed to him by a couple of rookies weakened him a lot.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 31, 2015, 09:27:09 AM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2015, 09:14:04 AM
Aye, I thought he was great until the mask came off and he revealed himself as Severus Snape. Getting his arse handed to him by a couple of rookies weakened him a lot.

I think that could be the whole point.  We are assuming that the next step will be some redemption etc for him as he has 'issues' about being a dark lord.  I think there may be a bigger twist in this one yet and that the whole 'balance' thing may not be in favour of the good side!
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2015, 09:32:02 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 31, 2015, 09:27:09 AM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2015, 09:14:04 AM

I think that could be the whole point.  We are assuming that the next step will be some redemption etc for him as he has 'issues' about being a dark lord.  I think there may be a bigger twist in this one yet and that the whole 'balance' thing may not be in favour of the good side!

Oh definitely, his whole deal is his struggle to commit fully to the dark side. Still though, a janitor didn't do too badly in a lightsabre fight against a lad trained by a Jedi master.

Minor holes and being very picky, but that's all part of the fun of it.
Post by: Syferus on December 31, 2015, 09:42:23 AM
Saw it in the IMAX there yesterday. Really well-made film, totally enjoyable and it captured the spirit of the original trilogy.

That said, it pretty much was a retread of the major story points of A New Hope - Abrams and company played it very safe and weren't confident in their ability to right the Star Wars ship without leaning heavily on the original film's excellent story structure. I only watched A New Hope two days before so the contrast was stark for me.

You can see where this is going too - Rey is probably Luke's daughter, Luke will be her Yoda (just like Luke himself had Yoda in Empire Strikes Back), Kylo Ren will get the full-on Darth Vader prosthetics now and he will likely do something good just before he's finally killed, again like Vader. Finn's the wildcard here - hard to tell what he's going to become at this point, particularly after giving Kylo a good fight with the lightsaber. Basically they need to add their own flavour to Episode VIII or it's almost painfully clear where this is going.

Again I'm saying all that after emensely enjoying The Force Awakens - wonderful blockbuster and Rey is an incredible lead character. The new leads, Rey, Finn and Kylo all are very solid characters. Hopefully they do more with Doe, though, as Issac is a very good actor.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2015, 10:10:01 AM
Yeah, I thought it was very well acted and as you said Rey is incredibly strong as lead character. I think she's more likely to be Han and Leia's daughter then Luke's. Don't think Jedis are supposed to have kids and twins obviously run in the family. I think based on all the quips, Finn will probably be the new Han.

You hit the nail on the head - fun and enjoyable, but they need something new for the next one.
Post by: Syferus on December 31, 2015, 01:47:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2015, 10:10:01 AM
Yeah, I thought it was very well acted and as you said Rey is incredibly strong as lead character. I think she's more likely to be Han and Leia's daughter then Luke's. Don't think Jedis are supposed to have kids and twins obviously run in the family. I think based on all the quips, Finn will probably be the new Han.

You hit the nail on the head - fun and enjoyable, but they need something new for the next one.

Good shout on Rey. It would be attractive for the producers to make the central battle be one of siblings on either side of good and evil alright. They have some explaining to do how Leia and Han lost Rey in that case, though. I was thinking with Luke disappearing her ending up being left on Jakku had a more ready-made reason.

Thought Rey was the total star of the show, much more immediately competent than Luke was at the same stage of his trilogy. Great performance by Riley, good enough to be deserving of an Oscar nomination even.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 31, 2015, 11:02:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 31, 2015, 01:47:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2015, 10:10:01 AM

Good shout on Rey. It would be attractive for the producers to make the central battle be one of siblings on either side of good and evil alright. They have some explaining to do how Leia and Han lost Rey in that case, though. I was thinking with Luke disappearing her ending up being left on Jakku had a more ready-made reason.

Thought Rey was the total star of the show, much more immediately competent than Luke was at the same stage of his trilogy. Great performance by Riley, good enough to be deserving of an Oscar nomination even.

Would say Rey is probably no ones.... maybe a fresh virginance in the force? She may have been the pick of Luke's younglings and he hid her when the jedi academy was disbanded.

Any other theories...
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 01, 2016, 01:21:40 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 31, 2015, 09:42:23 AM
Saw it in the IMAX there yesterday. Really well-made film, totally enjoyable and it captured the spirit of the original trilogy.

That said, it pretty much was a retread of the major story points of A New Hope - Abrams and company played it very safe and weren't confident in their ability to right the Star Wars ship without leaning heavily on the original film's excellent story structure. I only watched A New Hope two days before so the contrast was stark for me.

You can see where this is going too - Rey is probably Luke's daughter, Luke will be her Yoda (just like Luke himself had Yoda in Empire Strikes Back), Kylo Ren will get the full-on Darth Vader prosthetics now and he will likely do something good just before he's finally killed, again like Vader. Finn's the wildcard here - hard to tell what he's going to become at this point, particularly after giving Kylo a good fight with the lightsaber. Basically they need to add their own flavour to Episode VIII or it's almost painfully clear where this is going.

Again I'm saying all that after emensely enjoying The Force Awakens - wonderful blockbuster and Rey is an incredible lead character. The new leads, Rey, Finn and Kylo all are very solid characters. Hopefully they do more with Doe, though, as Issac is a very good actor.

I'm gonna stick my neck out and speculate that Finn is Lando's son. (Where is Lando anyway? I'd like to see him make a comeback in the next film.)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 01, 2016, 01:58:03 AM
Lads don't know what you were watching, for all the over hype, the film is no more than above average, storylines a mess and a repeat of the original star wars, let blow up a planet destroying base? i know we all like retro but that storyline been done already in 1977. Lead bad guy got all the menace of a puff fairy! compared to Vader or Darth maul,  Old hands cameos keep it afloat and new lead girl is good but can beat the bad guy on her first outing with a light saber (boy oh boy). In short plenty of fireworks, quick paced shortline, with little depth to a storyline but not a patch on any of the originals!!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 01, 2016, 10:32:15 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 01, 2016, 01:58:03 AM
Lads don't know what you were watching, for all the over hype, the film is no more than above average, storylines a mess and a repeat of the original star wars, let blow up a planet destroying base? i know we all like retro but that storyline been done already in 1977. Lead bad guy got all the menace of a puff fairy! compared to Vader or Darth maul,  Old hands cameos keep it afloat and new lead girl is good but can beat the bad guy on her first outing with a light saber (boy oh boy). In short plenty of fireworks, quick paced shortline, with little depth to a storyline but not a patch on any of the originals!!

Quiet.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 01, 2016, 10:42:56 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 01, 2016, 01:58:03 AM

We are all wrong, you are right. How could we not see that until now? Thanks 😀😀
Post by: heffo on January 01, 2016, 10:49:28 AM
I really enjoyed it, it has its weaknesses as already mentioned - not least with Paul from the Wonder years as a Dark Jedi but it's sets it up nicely for next movie
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2016, 10:50:37 AM
If only Wildweasel74 had issued this bulletin earlier it could have saved hundreds of millions of man hours and billions of dollars being wasted.
Post by: thewobbler on January 01, 2016, 11:17:48 AM
While trying my best not to sound like a sci-fi nerd, I'd think a lot of the new film's detractors are mistakenly clung to the previously displayed concepts of the force and of a jedi's powers.

The powers of Anakin, Obi Wan, Yoda, Dooku etc in episodes 1-3 are hugely more rounded than anything that has happened since, because:

- they had been training and honing their skills throughout their lives with Jedi / Sith masters.

- a number of them were at the peak of their powers.

- during the Clone wars, they had ample opportunity to test and extend their full range of skills.

Yet it wasn't until thousands of years after Jedis came into being that Qui G'on worked out to communicate from the afterlife.

Which would all suggest that the Force is continually and adapting to the people who use it and abuse it.

And more importantly it would suggest that some people are better at using the force in different ways.

I'd be thinking that Rey's expedited journey through understanding her skills is both related to the unusually strong force running through her, plus the need of the force itself to fast track / protect someone from the light side.

Too much is being made of Ren's inability to beat a young girl in a light sabre duel. Based on how Ren can extrapolate memories from minds, it would suggest that either his training or specialism was more into mind control than hand-to-hand combat. Which would sort of make sense as he wouldn't have had too many Jedis to face over his life.

Yes I'm a nerd.

Absolutely loved the film.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 01, 2016, 06:24:20 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 01, 2016, 10:49:28 AM
I really enjoyed it, it has its weaknesses as already mentioned - not least with Paul from the Wonder years as a Dark Jedi but it's sets it up nicely for next movie

I thought he was more of a Marilyn Manson without the makeup
Post by: omaghjoe on January 01, 2016, 06:31:32 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2016, 10:50:37 AM
If only Wildweasel74 had issued this bulletin earlier it could have saved hundreds of millions of man hours and billions of dollars being wasted.

Precisely... the building of that star killer base must have been a seriously labour intensive exercise
Post by: 5 Sams on January 01, 2016, 07:15:09 PM
This what Roddy Doyle thinks.

-I brought some o' the grandkids to the new Star Wars there earlier.
-Wha' was it like?
-A load o' shite.
-I heard it wasn't too bad.
-It was shite, I'm tellin' yeh. It looked like it was made in the Phoenix Park with a load o' wheelie bins painted white. Absolute fuckin' drivel. It made no fuckin' sense.
-Was Princess Leia in it?
-Yeah - played by Angela Merkel.
-That's alrigh', isn't it? Yeh'd trust Angela to save the world.
-Only if she's playin' Angela in a fillum about Angela. Not in this fuckin' thing. She looks lost. She couldn't handle a fart, let alone the European economy. But the worst bit - .
-Go on.
-They're tryin' to find that irritatin' little p***k from the first fillum. Luke Skypilot. An' d'yeh know where they find him? In all the fuckin' Galaxy an' infinity or wherever. Where do they fuckin' find him?
-Where?
-Kerry.
-Fuckin' Kerry?
-Not even Kerry. A rock off the side o' Kerry. He's been hangin' off a stone in the middle o' the fuckin' Atlantic. Not a Spar or a pub in sight. An' this **** is goin' to save us? For f**k sake.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 01, 2016, 08:03:46 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 01, 2016, 11:17:48 AM

Yet it wasn't until thousands of years after Jedis came into being that Qui G'on worked out to communicate from the afterlife.

I'll bet Lucas just went through the whole three prequels and at the end he suddenly remembered "Oh shit, I forgot about about the power of dead Jedi to communicate with the living! Better add a line to Yoda's script and sneak it in there."
Post by: omaghjoe on January 01, 2016, 09:08:32 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 01, 2016, 08:03:46 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 01, 2016, 11:17:48 AM

I'll bet Lucas just went through the whole three prequels and at the end he suddenly remembered "Oh shit, I forgot about about the power of dead Jedi to communicate with the living! Better add a line to Yoda's script and sneak it in there."

Communicate from the afterlife or retain his consciousness in the present?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 01, 2016, 09:38:06 PM
Dunno.
Post by: stew on January 01, 2016, 10:35:46 PM
I loved the original however nothing touches Blake's 7 or Firefly for quality Sci Fi.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 01, 2016, 11:05:10 PM
Stupid question maybe.....

What's the best way to try watching these all again?

In the order in which they were made?

Prequels and sequels and all that.....
Post by: omaghjoe on January 01, 2016, 11:11:06 PM
You could do that or watch them in order......

Although there is more than a few fan edits on youtube condensing I, II & III which cuts out alot of the shite of the prequel series, such as frolicking in the grass in II and Jar Jar Binks in I but leaves the plot and important bits intact.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 01, 2016, 11:24:07 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on January 01, 2016, 11:11:06 PM
You could do that or watch them in order......

Although there is more than a few fan edits on youtube condensing I, II & III which cuts out alot of the shite of the prequel series, such as frolicking in the grass in II and Jar Jar Binks in I but leaves the plot and important bits intact.

Ok...cheers
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 01, 2016, 11:36:04 PM
Quote from: stew on January 01, 2016, 10:35:46 PM
I loved the original however nothing touches Blake's 7 or Firefly for quality Sci Fi.

Someone needs to do with Blakes 7 what they did with Star Trek TOS, and remake all the external space shots with modern effects.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 04, 2016, 07:02:42 PM
I thought it was poor enough, terrible plot and script

Wooden acting for Solo and Leia

Post by: The Iceman on January 04, 2016, 07:37:44 PM
I enjoyed it. It's like many of the remakes being done - they have nostalgia attached to them more than anything else.
It scripted very like episode 4 with some open story lines to be developed going forward.
I wasn't expecting much and got more so I'm happy enough. Good to see it back after all these years.
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on January 05, 2016, 10:12:40 AM
better than any of the other reboots of recent years I feel, much better than Jurassic World anyway. Really enjoyed it
Post by: Na Glinntí Glasa on January 05, 2016, 10:22:26 AM
as a star wars fan i really enjoyed it though i did feel that the story line was a bit so so.

R2-D2 hasnt moved for years yet low and behold he turns on and decides to tell everyone that he has the rest of the map everyone has been looking for? come on ffs!

Also when Kylo Ren took off the mask i was really disappointed. Adam Driver looked like a spotty teenager who was going off on one through puberty and needed a slap lol

But as a die hard fan it was so much better than the first 3 movies and one that i enjoyed watching. I look forward to the next film this christmas 'Rouge One' which will fill the gap until next year when we get Episode VIII
Post by: deiseach on January 05, 2016, 10:34:32 AM
It was okay. The manner in which it hit exactly the same beats as Episode IV was exasperating. How many times will  The Bad Guys waste bazillions of whatever the currency they have in the galaxy far, far away on moon-sized weapons of mass destruction that have an underbelly softer than a marshmallow? Still, it was fun. After the visual assault on the senses that was the prequel trilogy, it looked fantastic. I felt a twinge of patriotic pride at how the Skelligs looked, and I'd pay good money to have a tour of the Millennium Falcon.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 05, 2016, 10:44:14 AM
Lads,  it's not a bloody Dickensian classic with Laurence Olivier narrating it,  it's basically a sci-fi space shoot up!!!  It's not even a sci-fi like 2001 or it's ilk.  It's a cowboy story in space ships.  It has a simple story, great FX and sufficient enough cheese to keep it on a level.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on January 05, 2016, 10:46:28 AM
Im hoping skellig michael gets a bit more air time in the next one. It looked amazing and as soon as I got back from the cinema I had to dig up 15 year old photos from my visit there. I heard they have already filmed scenes there so lets hope we see more than 60 seconds.
Post by: deiseach on January 05, 2016, 10:52:31 AM
I'm all for simple stories told well. If it's going to be the same story with different names though, diminishing returns is going to set in.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 05, 2016, 01:47:04 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 05, 2016, 10:52:31 AM
I'm all for simple stories told well. If it's going to be the same story with different names though, diminishing returns is going to set in.
Not at the box office obviously.

I take it Skellig Michael has a visitor quota for the year as a UNESCO site? This could really send the numbers out of control if they weren't capped.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 05, 2016, 01:57:50 PM
I thought the same. It's actually quite bizarre knowing Luke was hiding out there all the time. I wonder did he row in to training like Mick O'Connell from Valentia?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 05, 2016, 02:57:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 05, 2016, 01:57:50 PM
I thought the same. It's actually quite bizarre knowing Luke was hiding out there all the time. I wonder did he row in to training like Mick O'Connell from Valentia?

Why would he bother rowing? He could just levitate across using the force I'd imagine.
Post by: The Iceman on January 05, 2016, 04:16:38 PM
so whats the theory on Rey? why is she so strong in the force? is she as off the charts as Annakin was? I thought that maybe she was a Solo? Ben's sister? That embrace from the general.... then my brother in law said he read she was Ben Kenobi's grand-daughter...
Post by: magpie seanie on January 05, 2016, 04:21:31 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 05, 2016, 04:16:38 PM
so whats the theory on Rey? why is she so strong in the force? is she as off the charts as Annakin was? I thought that maybe she was a Solo? Ben's sister? That embrace from the general.... then my brother in law said he read she was Ben Kenobi's grand-daughter...

I was thinking Luke's daughter but that's possibly a bit too obvious.
Post by: thewobbler on January 05, 2016, 04:22:36 PM
I'm going to come across as an apologist as well as a nerd but:

- the whole point of kylo Ren looking like a spotty child is that he is a spotty child, except one who through parentage has been given an unusual cocktail of big force and evil callings. All those people who wanted to know why the inexperienced Rey could hold her own against him, should know that above all else he's still a spotty child.

- r2d2 was under instructions from Luke to not reveal the map until the appearance of herself. He wasn't tired, or broken, or broken hearted, just in waiting.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 05, 2016, 04:26:16 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 05, 2016, 04:22:36 PM

- the whole point of kylo Ren looking like a spotty child is that he is a spotty child, except one who through parentage has been given an unusual cocktail of big force and evil callings. All those people who wanted to know why the inexperienced Rey could hold her own against him, should know that above all else he's still a spotty child.

- r2d2 was under instructions from Luke to not reveal the map until the appearance of herself. He wasn't tired, or broken, or broken hearted, just in waiting.

I agree with both of those. I think the casting was supposed to reflect angst ridden, tormented spoilt child. I suspect he will become more bitter and a better villain before the inevitable redemption and/or death.

The R2D2 thing I thought was obvious. Luke was in hiding, so why would R2D2 show the map? If it was time for the Map to be put together, hey presto. It was a very convoluted map to Kerry though. Surely AA Route Planner would have given them a better one, even allowing for a bypass of Adare and Newcastlewest.
Post by: thewobbler on January 05, 2016, 05:51:09 PM
Who is Rey?

Given that the core Star Wars storylines tend to centre around a small bunch of inter-related people, it's unlikely that Rey is being pulled in from left field.

So, seeing as she's a desert-dweller of unusually strong force capabilities, she would have to be from either the Kenobi or Skywalker lineage.

She's not directly from Obi Wan unless he also has somehow learned how to spurt from a vision, and I'd imagine Luke is too much of a pious goodie two shoes Jedi to be bothering with wives and children.

So that really only leaves her as a sister of Kylo Ren, maybe even her twin, or as a niece or granddaughter of Obi Wan (again granddaughter is unlikely as Obi would be too committed to be taking a wife on the side).

The obvious, Star Wars, way would be to have her as Kylo Ren's twin, but that doesn't really fit with her memories of being left behind; he'd have been too young to show the real leaning to the dark side that saw them dump her somewhere safe from Ren (under the watchful eye of whoever it is that's the old friend of the rebellion at the start) and saw Luke f**k off to Skellig to get a breather. So if this is their story, then she'd have to be 2-3 years at least younger than Ren. At which point you've got to think that Ren isn't going to be long working a few things out.

Personally I hope they go down the niece-of-Kenobi route. It would give the overall storyline so much greater scope to head off in different directions from the original series. It would open up a story about Obi Wan's lineage. She could be one of many in the family. She could get together with Ren and make and even more confused force-enabled child. Etc.
Post by: Na Glinntí Glasa on January 06, 2016, 10:46:18 AM
Yeah with her having memories of being left behind by her parents she was clearly older that what would be regarded as a baby. Whoever it was left her behind clearly knew she would be in danger and left her as far away from it as possible. Much the same as Leia and Luke were separated at birth by Obi wan to protect them from the empire.

Its clear she will be the main role in the next two film. Im glad to see it as her character is really good and one that will develop into an even stronger one.

Maz Kanata clearly knows the craic and shes holding out on information as to how she got Lukes lightsaber.

Did she survive the attack on the outpost they were in? i cant rem what happened there.
Post by: Syferus on January 06, 2016, 12:00:18 PM
Quote from: Dunloy realist on January 06, 2016, 10:46:18 AM
Yeah with her having memories of being left behind by her parents she was clearly older that what would be regarded as a baby. Whoever it was left her behind clearly knew she would be in danger and left her as far away from it as possible. Much the same as Leia and Luke were separated at birth by Obi wan to protect them from the empire.

Its clear she will be the main role in the next two film. Im glad to see it as her character is really good and one that will develop into an even stronger one.

Maz Kanata clearly knows the craic and shes holding out on information as to how she got Lukes lightsaber.

Did she survive the attack on the outpost they were in? i cant rem what happened there.

I highly doubt they're going to waste time explaining how she got the lightsaber. Luke lost it in Cloud City, it ended up with her. Not much worth telling.
Post by: deiseach on January 06, 2016, 12:13:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 06, 2016, 12:00:18 PM
I highly doubt they're going to waste time explaining how she got the lightsaber. Luke lost it in Cloud City, it ended up with her. Not much worth telling.

QuoteRemove everything that has no relevance to the story. If you say in the first chapter that there is a rifle hanging on the wall, in the second or third chapter it absolutely must go off. If it's not going to be fired, it shouldn't be hanging there - Anton Chekhov
Post by: thebigfella on January 06, 2016, 12:25:00 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 05, 2016, 04:22:36 PM

Agreed. The worst thing is listening to people compare him to Vader and Maul and how he was not as menacing. He has plenty of scope to develop as a character as opposed to the others with complete back stories.
Post by: oakleaflad on January 06, 2016, 12:30:40 PM

I would imagine this will be a story for a book rather than in the next films.

My theory is Rey is so powerful as she has been trained before. Luke wiped her memory and hid her when Kylo Ren turned to the dark side. Luke then went to find the Jedi temple. I think she is most likely Luke's daughter but sure who knows.

Also hope Snoke is Darth Plageuis.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 06, 2016, 12:36:23 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on January 06, 2016, 12:30:40 PM

I would imagine this will be a story for a book rather than in the next films.

My theory is Rey is so powerful as she has been trained before. Luke wiped her memory and hid her when Kylo Ren turned to the dark side. Luke then went to find the Jedi temple. I think she is most likely Luke's daughter but sure who knows.

Also hope Snoke is Darth Plageuis.

Definitely think so.  The final line he says about Ren returning to complete his training shows that there is real scope for there to be a further menacing character development.  My 2 cents worth is that he will learn the skills of resurrection from Snoke/Plageuis and then will ultimately bring his father back to life!
Post by: Syferus on January 06, 2016, 01:03:44 PM
http://comicbook.com/2016/01/06/andy-serkis-confirms-supreme-leader-snoke-is-not-darth-plagueis/
Post by: oakleaflad on January 06, 2016, 01:18:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 06, 2016, 01:03:44 PM
http://comicbook.com/2016/01/06/andy-serkis-confirms-supreme-leader-snoke-is-not-darth-plagueis/
That title is misleading and there is no chance he is 'just Snoke' no matter what Serkis says.
Post by: Syferus on January 06, 2016, 01:20:17 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on January 06, 2016, 01:18:06 PM
That title is misleading and there is no chance he is 'just Snoke' no matter what Serkis says.

Snoke is probably a Sith though. You might be disappointed if you think there's much tie-in with someone from the past.
Post by: oakleaflad on January 06, 2016, 01:26:29 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 06, 2016, 01:20:17 PM

Snoke is probably a Sith though. You might be disappointed if you think there's much tie-in with someone from the past.
Probably will be, I'm not convinced it's him but rather hope that it is as I think it would make for a good story. There are similarities between Reys staff and Plageius's lightsaber, him being 7ft something tall etc. which made me lean in that direction and get thinking.

Yeah Serkis was never going to come out and say Snoke is Darth whoever before the films. I was pretty impressed at how much of the film they managed to keep secret and would hope that they do the same with the coming films.
Post by: Syferus on January 06, 2016, 01:37:44 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on January 06, 2016, 01:26:29 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 06, 2016, 01:20:17 PM

Probably will be, I'm not convinced it's him but rather hope that it is as I think it would make for a good story. There are similarities between Reys staff and Plageius's lightsaber, him being 7ft something tall etc. which made me lean in that direction and get thinking.

Yeah Serkis was never going to come out and say Snoke is Darth whoever before the films. I was pretty impressed at how much of the film they managed to keep secret and would hope that they do the same with the coming films.

It being that Plageius messes up the entire lore of the six films - Anakin was the 'Chosen One', the one who would bring balance to the Force. It should be said Lucas specified that balance is the elimination of the Sith, that the Force's natural state is light. If Palpatine's Sith master was alive all along then Anakin doesn't fulfill the prophecy by killing Palpatine at the end of Jedi.
Post by: Johnnybegood on January 07, 2016, 11:24:50 AM
In simple ger canning language the next 2 movies will continue along the road of rehashing the originals with a variation on a theme
Post by: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 11:46:04 AM
How is that Ger Canning Language? Ger Canning would call characters by their nickname, bore you with pretend analysis and say that the First Order are sending a few 'huge ones' into the Republic penalty area.
Post by: gallsman on January 07, 2016, 11:47:45 AM
He'd get a few of the names wrong, too.
Post by: Johnnybegood on January 07, 2016, 11:55:32 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 11:46:04 AM
How is that Ger Canning Language? Ger Canning would call characters by their nickname, bore you with pretend analysis and say that the First Order are sending a few 'huge ones' into the Republic penalty area.
variation on a theme being one of his fav quotes
Post by: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 11:57:15 AM
Never noticed that. Probably because I try not to listen to him any more :)
Post by: Na Glinntí Glasa on January 07, 2016, 12:01:46 PM
This rouge one star wars film looks interesting. im trying to do the same as the force awakens and not look for information on it to try and not spoil it but i hear that the trailer will tie in with the next captain america film.

Makes sense seeing as Disney owns both franchises and wants to big them both up.
(http://static.srcdn.com/slir/w786-h393-q90-c786:393/wp-content/uploads/Star-Wars-Rogue-One-concept-art1.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 12:06:50 PM
Apparently this movie deals with how Leia came by the plans for the original Death Star, so it's sort of a segue from between Episode III and Episode IV
Post by: magpie seanie on January 07, 2016, 12:08:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 12:06:50 PM
Apparently this movie deals with how Leia came by the plans for the original Death Star, so it's sort of a segue from between Episode III and Episode IV

Cool.
Post by: Na Glinntí Glasa on January 07, 2016, 12:17:00 PM
yeah its a pre 'a new hope' where this group of people steal the plans for the death star and pass it onto Leia. Its a cool concept and any of the set pics ive seen show the original storm troopers in a battle scene.

Def something to fill the gap until the next film in May 17
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 07, 2016, 12:25:58 PM
Yeah looking forward to it,  like the current one it comes out around my birthday so that's my present sorted out!
Post by: Canalman on January 07, 2016, 12:35:16 PM
Quote from: Dunloy realist on January 07, 2016, 12:17:00 PM
yeah its a pre 'a new hope' where this group of people steal the plans for the death star and pass it onto Leia. Its a cool concept and any of the set pics ive seen show the original storm troopers in a battle scene.

Jesus wept. Do we have to go through all the hype again in a few months?

Will never again go to see another SW movie after buying into the hype (sadly again). Current one very very average imo. Ferocious plot holes in it to (re)boot ........... pun intended.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 01:29:07 PM
This won't have the same hype. And I, for 1, love the new movie. It's just a good old fashioned yarn with good guys, bad guys, great battles and a bit of nostalgia thrown in. People are too serious these days. :)
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2016, 01:48:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 11:46:04 AM
How is that Ger Canning Language? Ger Canning would call characters by their nickname ...

Their first name AND their nickname - Han "Bubbles" Solo, Kylo "Brick" Ren.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 01:49:09 PM
And Leia 'Plastic' Organa
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 07, 2016, 02:00:33 PM
Luke 'the Duke' Skywalker

Chew 'carpet' bacca

Post by: magpie seanie on January 07, 2016, 02:37:09 PM
Darth "Asthma" Vader.
Post by: Na Glinntí Glasa on January 07, 2016, 03:10:24 PM
Quote from: Canalman on January 07, 2016, 12:35:16 PM
Quote from: Dunloy realist on January 07, 2016, 12:17:00 PM

Jesus wept. Do we have to go through all the hype again in a few months?

Will never again go to see another SW movie after buying into the hype (sadly again). Current one very very average imo. Ferocious plot holes in it to (re)boot ........... pun intended.

Naw the follow up to the force awakens is in May 17. This Rougue one film will be in Christmas 16. Plenty of time to get hyped up for it lol
Post by: AZOffaly on January 07, 2016, 04:05:26 PM
On a serious note, Carrie Fisher should sue her plastic surgeon. Unless she gave specific instructions that she not be able to smile afterwards of course.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 07, 2016, 11:03:39 PM
Didnt even know about that Rogue One film.

Kinda excited for it but then also kinda disappointed at the same time like the series as being stand alone, hopefully it doesnt interfere with the main series too much.

Its surprising with the sell out to Disney I suppose, they have to make it pay and they will milk the Star Wars brand for everything that its worth now :'(
Post by: oakleaflad on January 08, 2016, 12:29:48 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on January 07, 2016, 11:03:39 PM

Kinda excited for it but then also kinda disappointed at the same time like the series as being stand alone, hopefully it doesnt interfere with the main series too much.

Its surprising with the sell out to Disney I suppose, they have to make it pay and they will milk the Star Wars brand for everything that its worth now :'(
There will be a Star Wars film every year for the foreseeable future. Rogue One and the other anthology films won't interrupt the main series and will likely feature characters from the older films in the main series. 
Post by: gallsman on January 08, 2016, 12:39:32 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on January 07, 2016, 11:03:39 PM

Normally I'd agree, but Lucas had destroyed it enough for years. Someone had to rescue it. I don't think they'll have any issue making the money back at all from what we've seen to date.
Post by: Applesisapples on January 08, 2016, 12:52:33 PM
Old enough to have gone to the first three films when first out. I never really liked the next three, the new one is a throwback to the first I enjoyed it and sure that's what movies are for.
Post by: gallsman on December 15, 2017, 10:41:14 PM
Saw The Last Jedi tonight. Pretty good, at least as good as The Force Awakens.
Post by: heganboy on December 15, 2017, 11:13:09 PM
Better
Post by: gallsman on December 15, 2017, 11:34:09 PM
A bit long, could have been edited better I thought.
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2017, 02:04:28 AM
Still trying to put my thoughts together. 80% godfather 1&2, 20% godfather 3. At the moment.

Wow.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 02:04:35 AM
Better than tfa. I watched tfa again recently and enjoyed it more than when i first saw it. I think if you can overlook the blatant rehash of a new hope then its quite good. The problem wih the new films is a complete lack of a decent bad guy. Hux is a joke. Kylo ren was good until he took his mask off and continues to be annoying in this film. Snoke had potential but for some reason the director decided just to put an end to that. Also that Rose character was awful zero need to have her in it esp when they couldnt be bothered giving us more history on snoke but felt the need to waste time with her. Still enjoyable enough but rogue one was better
Post by: thewobbler on December 16, 2017, 08:09:34 PM
Not so sure about the Last Jedi. It's probably a better story than TFA, but it's just not as enjoyable; it's too long,  has too much dialogue and has a fair number of unnecessary characters. Watchable but not really memorable. As mentioned above, the lack of background to Snoke is a cop out. One would have to assume he had a master at one stage in order to gain full control of his powers. But who?

Rogue One is still by miles the standout since Disney.
Post by: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 08:33:07 PM
I think Rogue One is the best of the lot, period, including the Empire Strikes Back.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2017, 08:46:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 08:33:07 PM
I think Rogue One is the best of the lot, period, including the Empire Strikes Back.
Yes. For me it is:

R1 > 5 > 8 > 4 > 7 > 6 > 1/2/3
Post by: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 08:52:35 PM
Rogue One
Empire Strikes Back
The Last Jedi
A New Hope
The Force Awakens (because it was the exact same film as ANH)
Return of the Jedi
Revenge of the Sith
The Phantom Menace
Attack of the Clones
Post by: Over the Bar on December 16, 2017, 09:06:53 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 08:52:35 PM
Rogue One
Empire Strikes Back
The Last Jedi
A New Hope
Return of the Jedi
Revenge of the Sith
The Phantom Menace
Attack of the Clones

and what order are all of above supposed to fall in in terms of the story?
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 09:15:41 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on December 16, 2017, 09:06:53 PM
Rogue One
Empire Strikes Back
The Last Jedi
A New Hope
Return of the Jedi
Revenge of the Sith
The Phantom Menace
Attack of the Clones

and what order are all of above supposed to fall in in terms of the story?

Menace
Clones
Sith
Rogue
New hope
Empire
Rtn jedi
Force awakens
Last jedi
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 09:24:25 PM
From best to worst
5 > rogue > 4 > 8 > 6 > 7 > 3 > 1 > 2

Attack of the clones really stank, revenge of the sith was ok esp compared to the other prequels. Got a bad feeling about Solo though. A couple of the other actors in the running for the part actually look like a young Harrison unlike the guy they ended up going for doh
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2017, 09:30:03 PM
Rogue One
Empire Strikes Back
The Last Jedi
A New Hope
Return of the Jedi
Revenge of the Sith
The Phantom Menace
Attack of the Clones
I think that is same as me. I don't bother ranking the first 3.
Post by: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 09:36:27 PM
Nah, Revenge of the Sith is definitely better than the other two prequels, which obviously isn't saying much. And not that there's anything definitively better about Phantom Menace but Attack of the Clones was genuinely appalling. That scene with Hayden Christensen woodenly talking about the properties of sand was unforgivable.

Johnny, I'm not sure about Return of the Jedi ahead of The Force Awakens. Ewoks ffs!

Solo I'd have been hopeful of after Rogue One but with Ron Howard involved...
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 09:44:59 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 09:36:27 PM
Nah, Revenge of the Sith is definitely better than the other two prequels, which obviously isn't saying much. And not that there's anything definitively better about Phantom Menace but Attack of the Clones was genuinely appalling. That scene with Hayden Christensen woodenly talking about the properties of sand was unforgivable.

Johnny, I'm not sure about Return of the Jedi ahead of The Force Awakens. Ewoks ffs!

Solo I'd have been hopeful of after Rogue One but with Ron Howard involved...

Agree about the ewoks if it was a bunch of wookies instead then that would have been awesome but Lucas was thinking of the money from all the toys, still ignore those critters and it was a good film. Tfa defo loses marks for being a weird reimagining job rather than out and out sequel.
Post by: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 09:49:36 PM
Think they're taking the piss a little bit with Solo coming out so soon too. Audiences might have a bit of Star Wars fatigue and it could bite them a bit.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 09:59:01 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 09:49:36 PM
Think they're taking the piss a little bit with Solo coming out so soon too. Audiences might have a bit of Star Wars fatigue and it could bite them a bit.

Rogue one was supposed to come out only 6 mths after TFA but got put back so you may find Solo gets nudged back to Dec also. One a year is about right. Disney paid big money for the rights but it really is a license to print money. Expect a follow up trilogy after this one. Bobba fett, Ben kenobi will defo get made and if the interest is still there expect every other character from the original trilogy to get their own film
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 10:01:57 PM
For those who reckon they can handle the prequels then I double dare them to watch both ewok movies and star wars holiday special. If you survive that onslaught of diarrhea then you can handle anything
Post by: thewobbler on December 16, 2017, 10:12:11 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 09:59:01 PM

Rogue one was supposed to come out only 6 mths after TFA but got put back so you may find Solo gets nudged back to Dec also. One a year is about right. Disney paid big money for the rights but it really is a license to print money. Expect a follow up trilogy after this one. Bobba fett, Ben kenobi will defo get made and if the interest is still there expect every other character from the original trilogy to get their own film

They won't make a Boba Fett film. Iconic as he has become, he's a rather boring individual
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 10:29:24 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 16, 2017, 10:12:11 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 09:59:01 PM

They won't make a Boba Fett film. Iconic as he has become, he's a rather boring individual

Maybe but a good bounty hunter story has potential. Rogue one was like the dirty dozen in space boba fett could be a good western in space
Post by: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 10:36:47 PM
Solo is a "Space Western" apparently.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 10:41:08 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 10:36:47 PM

Well then maybe a bobba fett film will be decided by the success or lack of of Solo. Even if solo sucks though the box office will be gold
Post by: clarshack on December 16, 2017, 10:42:30 PM
overall disappointed with the Last Jedi. a couple of 'wow' moments not enough to save it imo.

anyway for me:

ESB
ANH
R1
ROTJ
TFA
TLJ
ROTS
AOTC
TPM

Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 10:43:33 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on December 16, 2017, 10:41:08 PM

Well then maybe a bobba fett film will be decided by the success or lack of of Solo. Even if solo sucks though the box office will be gold

Just a thought though for all I know bobba fett could have a huge role in the solo movie. Anybody heard any rumours?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2017, 10:56:40 PM
Quote from: clarshack on December 16, 2017, 10:42:30 PM
overall disappointed with the Last Jedi. a couple of 'wow' moments not enough to save it imo.

anyway for me:

ESB
ANH
R1
ROTJ
TFA
TLJ
ROTS
AOTC
TPM
Up until the last hour I would have said it was a good addition to the set but the last hour moved it into the "great" category for me.
Post by: laoislad on December 17, 2017, 12:05:16 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2017, 09:30:03 PM
Rogue One
Empire Strikes Back
The Last Jedi
A New Hope
Return of the Jedi
Revenge of the Sith
The Phantom Menace
Attack of the Clones
I think that is same as me. I don't bother ranking the first 3.
They're all shite Tony ya bollix
Post by: gallsman on December 17, 2017, 12:12:31 AM
Sure you've not seen any of them. Too busy drooling over Debbie McGee doing the splits on Strictly  ;)
Post by: Syferus on December 22, 2017, 05:11:00 PM
Just seen The Last Jedi. I'd have pretty high expectations for a Star Wars film, they just mean a lot more to me than something like Marvel, even if it's the marketing media machine those movies aspire to be.

That said, apart from Finn having little of consequence to do I enjoyed it a lot. That whole casino escapade was pointless and stretched the overall running time for little effect. I loved the Rey-Luke-Kylo scenes on Skellig Michael, though. But surprised by death of spoilers ahead Luke while Leia survives, given she really has to die in the final film. Each movie will contain the death of one of the original trio. Maybe that's the point? Given Yoda came back to set fire to a tree, Luke will probably be back in the next film anyways

Some beautiful cinematography, and with TLJ the new trilogy is standing on its own two legs now and well set up for a finale of its own rather than simply aping plot points from the old movies.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on February 05, 2018, 05:01:48 PM
The Solo film looks pretty good, the trailer was worth the wait. Yer main man still looks piss poor though surely there were other actors who looked and sounded a bit like Ford.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K9PkToULL1c
Post by: Syferus on February 05, 2018, 05:03:48 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on February 05, 2018, 05:01:48 PM
The Solo film looks pretty good, the trailer was worth the wait. Yer main man still looks piss poor though surely there were other actors who looked and sounded a bit like Ford.

It looks like a steaming pile of hot garbage.

Those that complained about The Last Jedi are about to see what a bad Star Wars film actually looks like.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on February 05, 2018, 05:20:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 05, 2018, 05:03:48 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on February 05, 2018, 05:01:48 PM

It looks like a steaming pile of hot garbage.

Those that complained about The Last Jedi are about to see what a bad Star Wars film actually looks like.

I though last Jedi was good. I loved rogue one so hoping this is as good. Heard so many negative things about this one can surely only get better
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2018, 05:51:39 PM
Solo looks good so far, despite the negative press surrounding the production.

BTW, ever wonder why the Millenium Falcon looks so strange? Ever wonder how it's a "freighter" despite not having a whole lot of room for cargo? Apparently it was a "tugboat" type of thing. Used for pushing containers.

(http://i.imgur.com/MELrr4h.jpg)

Hence the slot in the middle and cockpit on the side.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2018, 05:54:31 PM

Star Wars worked best when it was a western. Out in the middle of nowhere, lawlessness abounds, gangsters run the place, and galactic politics are far away and only get mentioned in occasional conversation. The prequels got bogged down in politics and that was a major factor in their insufferable boredom.
Post by: Syferus on February 05, 2018, 06:03:37 PM
It was originally designed by the directors as a space comedy (why Kathleen Kennedy expected anything different when she hired the directors of the Lego Movie is beyond me) and this movie is sure to be an absolute tonal mess with Ron Howard tasked to make a conventional action movie out of a film that had shot 95% of its footage when he arrived. It will be fun to try to cherrypick the scenes that are obvious reshoots. Even the trailer was straining itself at the seems trying to make it look halfways serious.

I love Star Wars but anyone not expecting this to be a mess is setting themselves up for a very obvious fall.
Post by: oakleaflad on February 06, 2018, 01:36:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 05, 2018, 06:03:37 PM
It was originally designed by the directors as a space comedy (why Kathleen Kennedy expected anything different when she hired the directors of the Lego Movie is beyond me) and this movie is sure to be an absolute tonal mess with Ron Howard tasked to make a conventional action movie out of a film that had shot 95% of its footage when he arrived. It will be fun to try to cherrypick the scenes that are obvious reshoots. Even the trailer was straining itself at the seems trying to make it look halfways serious.

I love Star Wars but anyone not expecting this to be a mess is setting themselves up for a very obvious fall.
I've read/heard 80% of the film is reshoots so you might be better trying to cherry-pick which parts aren't reshoots. I had next to no expectations for this due to the bad reports but I found the trailer decent and will watch it.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on May 24, 2018, 10:28:35 AM
Saw Solo last night. Not bad considering all the production problems. 7/10. The main guy is badly miscast, its like the adventured of Han Solos shorter brother. Other than that though quite enjoyable. Interesting cameo at the end setting up more sequels for disney
Post by: AZOffaly on May 24, 2018, 10:32:26 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on May 24, 2018, 10:28:35 AM
Saw Solo last night. Not bad considering all the production problems. 7/10. The main guy is badly miscast, its like the adventured of Han Solos shorter brother. Other than that though quite enjoyable. Interesting cameo at the end setting up more sequels for disney

See I can't understand that shite. I love Star Wars, but the suspension of disbelief needed to think this lad is the same Han Solo that appears in IV is just too much. If you're casting for an actor that is supposed to be a younger (but not child!!) version of someone like Harrison Ford, you at least need to have the same height and at least a passing resemblance.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2018, 12:48:50 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 24, 2018, 10:32:26 AM

See I can't understand that shite. I love Star Wars, but the suspension of disbelief needed to think this lad is the same Han Solo that appears in IV is just too much. If you're casting for an actor that is supposed to be a younger (but not child!!) version of someone like Harrison Ford, you at least need to have the same height and at least a passing resemblance.
Are you not already taking quite a leap for the story but the actor's height is a problem  ;D...

Young Han Solo finds adventure when he joins a gang of galactic smugglers, including a 196-year-old Wookie named Chewbacca. Indebted to the gangster Dryden Vos, the crew devises a daring plan to travel to the mining planet Kessel to steal a batch of valuable coaxium. In need of a fast ship, Solo meets Lando Calrissian, the suave owner of the perfect vessel for the dangerous mission -- the Millennium Falcon.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 24, 2018, 12:50:42 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2018, 12:48:50 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 24, 2018, 10:32:26 AM

Are you not already taking quite a leap for the story but the actor's height is a problem  ;D...

Young Han Solo finds adventure when he joins a gang of galactic smugglers, including a 196-year-old Wookie named Chewbacca. Indebted to the gangster Dryden Vos, the crew devises a daring plan to travel to the mining planet Kessel to steal a batch of valuable coaxium. In need of a fast ship, Solo meets Lando Calrissian, the suave owner of the perfect vessel for the dangerous mission -- the Millennium Falcon.

The whole saga is a suspension of disbelief :) But you know what I mean.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2018, 12:51:57 PM
I do. We're planning to see it in the next few days and the missus LOVES Harrison Ford so I'm sure she'll be yapping about this new lad.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 24, 2018, 12:53:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2018, 12:51:57 PM
I do. We're planning to see it in the next few days and the missus LOVES Harrison Ford so I'm sure she'll be yapping about this new lad.

It's worse than when the new Pippa replaced the old Pippa in Neighbours :)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2018, 12:54:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 24, 2018, 12:53:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2018, 12:51:57 PM

It's worse than when the new Pippa replaced the old Pippa in Neighbours :)

That was a traumatic time!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2018, 12:57:07 PM
Getting your Aussie soaps mixed up lads.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on May 24, 2018, 01:06:55 PM
The guy is ok in it just not Ford which is harsh because glover is ok in at as well but looks nothing like Lando but seems to get a bye. They probably should have picked Ingruber who looks and sounds just like a young ford and has already starred as a young Ford in a recent movie. Im guessing though everyone would have then moaned about an impersonator rather than an actor. Maybe we just have to wait a few years for the special edition blue ray with a CGI harrison crowbarred in lol.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 24, 2018, 01:23:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2018, 12:57:07 PM

Sorry, Home and Away :)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2018, 01:42:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 24, 2018, 01:23:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2018, 12:57:07 PM

Sorry, Home and Away :)

Indeed.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 24, 2018, 03:52:23 PM
Would a lifetime of space travel not increase his height due to lack of gravity?

Then again travelling at the speed of light should reduce his height but of course that's all about were we are observing it from

Perhaps technology has allowed the new film to be filmed relative to how we would observe it from earth while the original ones had to be filmed at light speed?