GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: boojangles on December 10, 2008, 06:25:09 PM

Title: Players finally get their Grants
Post by: boojangles on December 10, 2008, 06:25:09 PM
All GPA members would have been notified today that the Grants will be in bank accounts in the next 2-5 working days! Well Done Dessie!!
Title: Re: Players finally get their Grants
Post by: stiffler on December 10, 2008, 06:29:47 PM
Good timing for a christmas rip
Post by: Owenmoresider on December 10, 2008, 07:28:47 PM
So the Government screws so many in the budget, but still lets Dessie and co. get their beloved grants. Marvellous. >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Rossfan on December 10, 2008, 09:26:30 PM
Aye indeed that €2.5m is vitally important in a budget of €50,000,000,000.

May I say I'm delighted for the lads getting some small token for all the hours put in, lost overtime,lost social life etc abuse from so called fans, bad mouthing by backwoods officials etc etc
Post by: thebandit on December 10, 2008, 09:28:11 PM
Who pays the grant for the 6 counties, London and the U.S. (and Warwickshire in hurling too I suppose)?
Post by: Minder on December 10, 2008, 09:29:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 10, 2008, 09:26:30 PM
Aye indeed that €2.5m is vitally important in a budget of €50,000,000,000.

May I say I'm delighted for the lads getting some small token for all the hours put in, lost overtime,lost social life etc abuse from so called fans, bad mouthing by backwoods officials etc etc

If they feel they are not getting enough money at work they could pack the old football/hurling in.
Post by: ardal on December 10, 2008, 09:35:49 PM
Quote from: stiffler on December 10, 2008, 06:29:47 PM
Good timing for a christmas rip off

And non mafiosa members?
Post by: new devil on December 10, 2008, 09:46:21 PM
how much would they get each?
Post by: youngfella on December 11, 2008, 03:14:39 AM
Quote from: stiffler on December 10, 2008, 06:29:47 PM
Good timing for a christmas rip

Its team building, but having read the thread about county get togethers i duno!
Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 08:53:45 AM
How much do each of them get approx?
Post by: phpearse on December 11, 2008, 08:58:02 AM
Interesting to note form the Tyrone County Report that each Tyrone squad player will get near £10,000 each from the county in travel expenses and holiday!!!

...and yet they also need a grant.
Post by: The GAA on December 11, 2008, 10:11:50 AM

Quote from: Owenmoresider on December 10, 2008, 07:28:47 PM
So the Government screws so many in the budget, but still lets Dessie and co. get their beloved grants. Marvellous. >:( >:( >:(

sums up perfectly the attitude of the naysayer.

Quote from: phpearse on December 11, 2008, 08:58:02 AM
Interesting to note form the Tyrone County Report that each Tyrone squad player will get near £10,000 each from the county in travel expenses and holiday!!!

You'd rather they were out of pocket playing the games?
Post by: Hardy on December 11, 2008, 10:16:04 AM
They're the people in the GAA who are least out of pocket due to their involvement in the games.
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 10:18:08 AM
I feel sorry for the Tyrone players - if they were in a lot of other counties, they'd get at least £30k instead of the measly £10k they are getting.
Post by: The GAA on December 11, 2008, 10:20:42 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 11, 2008, 10:16:04 AM
They're the people in the GAA who are least out of pocket due to their involvement in the games.

that's irrelevent to the point.

if a player incurrs a level of expense preparing, training and playing the games, should he not be reimbursed?
Post by: Hardy on December 11, 2008, 10:47:04 AM
They're already reimbursed for their expenses and rightly so. These payments are "grants", paid by the government. Expenses are paid by the GAA.
Post by: phpearse on December 11, 2008, 10:47:40 AM
As Hardy correctly says, county players are the least out of pocket of any group invloved in the GAA. Tyrone county players are most certainly not out of pocket and get very well treated by the county board. In fact the Tyrone county board spent less of games development in the county than they did on the county teams this year. The bill of nearly 3/4 of a million included a £200K fund for the senior football team holiday!!

No grants required in Tyrone (except maybe for the hurlers)
Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 10:52:20 AM
Quote from: phpearse on December 11, 2008, 08:58:02 AM

and £200 for attending underage presentations,
Post by: Final Whistle on December 11, 2008, 10:53:42 AM
QuoteRe: Players finally get their Grants
« Reply #10 on: Today at 08:58:02 AM »   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Interesting to note that not all the players will be accepting their grant as their own and are contributing an overwhelming percentage to their respective clubs!!

I know my club and a few clubs in armagh will have their finances bolstered because of this scheme and the selflessness of their playing members!!
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 10:57:45 AM
Quote from: The GAA on December 11, 2008, 10:20:42 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 11, 2008, 10:16:04 AM

that's irrelevent to the point.

if a player incurrs a level of expense preparing, training and playing the games, should he not be reimbursed?

Are you including club players in that as well ?
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 11:03:44 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 11, 2008, 10:47:04 AM
They're already reimbursed for their expenses and rightly so. These payments are "grants", paid by the government. Expenses are paid by the GAA.

That is quite incorrect
Post by: Hardy on December 11, 2008, 11:13:35 AM
Oh, sorry. They were originally "grants". Then they were re-named "expenses" in a piece of jiggery-pokery that would give a Fianna Fáil councillor a squint. But I'm confused as to what expenses they are, since expenses are already paid by the Co. boards. What are these extra expenses that are not being paid by the county boards and why are they not being paid and are they vouched? I hope they're legitimate documented expenses. Otherwise they'd be classified as income and the revenue would be interested. What really intrigues me is that every county player has exactly the same level of expenses for the level of attainment his team reaches. How can that be?

Actually, they're really grants, aren't they?
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 11:27:07 AM
I can only tell you what they're called and how they had to be justified individually. they are "top up expenses" to cover things which county boards will not. for example, dietry and hydration expenses, travel to non "team training" sessions, etc. each item claimed for had to be individually submitted.

by no means am i perpetuating the myth that this isn't jiggery pokery or window dressing, just pointing out how they are actually justified.

EDIT

on the point about each player having the same level of expense - that isn't the case, just that the ceiling for levels of expenses cuts everyone off at a certain point.
Post by: Sonny Joe on December 11, 2008, 11:37:48 AM
County player why are you even bothering your arse engaging with Hardy. He cant see the forest for the woods. He thinks you should drive the odd 20 mile to do weights in a gym on a saturday morning or Monday night and pay for the petrol yourself. He doesnt see that the boards doesnt pay for that expense. regardless of the fact that your prepared to put more voluntary time into the gaa than anyone else he has met other than another county player for the next 12 months. But hey your in a privledged postion so put up with it.
Post by: Bensars on December 11, 2008, 11:43:30 AM
Quote from: County Player on December 11, 2008, 11:27:07 AM
I can only tell you what they're called and how they had to be justified individually. they are "top up expenses" to cover things which county boards will not. for example, dietry and hydration expenses, travel to non "team training" sessions, etc. each item claimed for had to be individually submitted.

by no means am i perpetuating the myth that this isn't jiggery pokery or window dressing, just pointing out how they are actually justified.

EDIT

on the point about each player having the same level of expense - that isn't the case, just that the ceiling for levels of expenses cuts everyone off at a certain point.

Yous are taking the piss, dietry and hydration expenses ??????

Away and drink a glass of water
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 11:44:31 AM
Do club players get expenses or would they be entitled to expenses ?

They put in a lot of time as well - a lot of voluntary time with no reward usually.

Should club players form a union as well then ?

I'm amused at the comment about dietary and hydration expenses as well.  ;) ;D
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 11:51:49 AM

personally i think club members should get the same travel expenses. The foundation of the GAA is volunteerism and we should be proud of that. that said, i don't think any of our members should be out of pocket to keep our clubs an games going. that goes right from the phone bill allowance for the club secretary to the 30 cent a mile if a bus can't be organised for an away game.
Post by: Sonny Joe on December 11, 2008, 11:57:21 AM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 11:44:31 AM

They put in a lot of time as well - a lot of voluntary time with no reward usually.

Orangeman club players dont bring millions of pounds in to the GAA. County players do that. That is the defining diffence and if you cant distinguish the difference, well it looks like the GPA has a future.
Post by: southoftheborder on December 11, 2008, 11:59:46 AM
agree with county player the hole way,

I work with a county player, during the months of jan/feb/march/april and may he is on a high protein diet, pure chicken.steak fish 3/4 times aday, now this costs an awful lot more than my paltry ham sandwich

do we begrudge these guys reimbursements of this expenses - he also pays out almost 55quid a month on vitamins!!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 11, 2008, 12:02:34 PM
Quote from: southoftheborder on December 11, 2008, 11:59:46 AM

Freudian slip?  ;)
Post by: Hardy on December 11, 2008, 12:06:46 PM
Quote from: Sonny Joe on December 11, 2008, 11:37:48 AM
County player why are you even bothering your arse engaging with Hardy. He cant see the forest for the woods. He thinks you should drive the odd 20 mile to do weights in a gym on a saturday morning or Monday night and pay for the petrol yourself. He doesnt see that the boards doesnt pay for that expense. regardless of the fact that your prepared to put more voluntary time into the gaa than anyone else he has met other than another county player for the next 12 months. But hey your in a privledged postion so put up with it.

Thank you for telling me what I think. Yo go ahead and post for me from here on then.

Quote from: Sonny Joe on December 11, 2008, 11:57:21 AM
Orangeman club players dont bring millions of pounds in to the GAA. County players do that. That is the defining diffence and if you cant distinguish the difference, well it looks like the GPA has a future.

What do I think of this bullshit?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 11, 2008, 12:10:56 PM
'dietry and hydration expenses' would be a term best avoided to avoid any 'elitist' labelling I'd say, and at the end of the day if it's not the love of the jersey, be that parish, county, province or country that energises the player then they'd be best not pulling on that jersey at all.
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 12:11:59 PM

Late entry for lamest cliche of the year category
Post by: magpie seanie on December 11, 2008, 12:13:06 PM
Quote from: Sonny Joe on December 11, 2008, 11:37:48 AM

You see this is the kind of stuff that really annoys me on here. People making stuff up out of thin are and voicing it as fact. Anyone who has been on this board for any length of time would know that simply does not represent Hardy's opinion at all. Even if you weren't on the board long you could just trawl back a few posts on this thread and see this "They're already reimbursed for their expenses and rightly so" So less of the blatant lies please.

The point Hardy makes is undeniable. County players are the least out of pocket group in the GAA. These grants are payment for playing gaelic games.
Post by: Bensars on December 11, 2008, 12:13:46 PM

I work with a county player, during the months of jan/feb/march/april and may he is on a high protein diet, pure chicken.steak fish 3/4 times aday, now this costs an awful lot more than my paltry ham sandwich

do we begrudge these guys reimbursements of this expenses - he also pays out almost 55quid a month on vitamins!!!

Thats his choice. Nobody is making him eat it. most counties also provide food after training also.
Dont expect everyone else to cover the expenses of your diet, when your eating the best of the best.

Still cant get my head around rehydration expenses. Mr Mc Nulty first brought this little beauty to prominace last year when he was crying about how bad the life was for a county player.

Wrong.  County teams do and have done consistently for many years. If you dont like it, move aside, there will someone to replace you. Therefore it is not the players that people turn out to see, it is the county. When the current crop has retired the support will continue
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 12:16:00 PM

I was of the opinion that we were all equal. Maybe not.

The grants are essentially payment for playing for playing Gaelic games.
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 12:20:09 PM

The revenue taken from county games is not an issue in this argument imo.

the argument that lads should quit if its costing us money is a nonsense. if you propogate this to its end then we'll simply hve the 15 richest lads representing each county.

there are no government grants - only government expenses.

the only grants i'm aware of are paid out by either the gaa or the gpa.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 11, 2008, 12:24:19 PM
Quotethere are no government grants - only government expenses

Grand so lads. The shops should relable them ould sausages that they haven't thrown out yet and call them steaks and sell away at them!
Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 12:28:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 12:16:00 PM

Here Here, you can dress it up whatever way you want, but at the end of the day it is pay for play,
No county player is ever out of pocket for anything associated with their game,
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 11, 2008, 12:29:59 PM
Quote from: County Player on December 11, 2008, 12:11:59 PM
Late entry for lamest cliche of the year category

Last time I'll offer you any advice!
Post by: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 12:31:56 PM
To be fair lad, County Player is making some valid points.

It is an issue that I am on the fence with. I would be all in support for the expense/grants/insert word here but when someone like Sonny Joe belittles club players like that, it just shifts me towards the other side. Joe's annoying posts aside, why shouldn't they get the grants , it is not as if it is a massive amount.

Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 12:34:56 PM
Quote from: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 12:31:56 PM
To be fair lad, County Player is making some valid points.

It is an issue that I am on the fence with. I would be all in support for the expense/grants/insert word here but when someone like Sonny Joe belittles club players like that, it just shifts me towards the other side. Joe's annoying posts aside, why shouldn't they get the grants , it is not as if it is a massive amount.

You're right - it's not massive - but as you say, it's the annopying distinction that some try to make - if there were no club players or clubs, there'd be nothing, no county teams, no grants, no arguments.

But to try and make a marked difference between club players and county players is wrong.

I can show you examples of where county players can't make their club team !
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 12:35:18 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 12:28:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 12:16:00 PM

Here Here, you can dress it up whatever way you want, but at the end of the day it is pay for play,
No county player is ever out of pocket for anything associated with their game,

The highlighted sentiment is one i frequently come across from people who don't really have a grasp of whats involved but thats an argument that will only be met with the usual "well quit then" response if i make it.

My comment that ms has picked up on was tongue in cheek of course.

Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 12:40:24 PM
I know plenty of county players and i know as fact that they are not out of pocket, any place they go or have to buy, they are sorted out for it. im not disputing the effort they put in, to be honest dont think i would have the commitment for it (Coupled with my skill levels ;) ) but financially they are never out of pocket,

The grants/expenses or whatver you want to call them is simply "pay for play"
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 12:43:45 PM

I don't accept your argument anyway but if i do... you know lads who are all ireland champions. is it the same for tyrone hurlers?
Post by: M.Schofield on December 11, 2008, 02:21:28 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 12:40:24 PM
I know plenty of county players and i know as fact that they are not out of pocket, any place they go or have to buy, they are sorted out for it. im not disputing the effort they put in, to be honest dont think i would have the commitment for it (Coupled with my skill levels ;) ) but financially they are never out of pocket,

The grants/expenses or whatver you want to call them is simply "pay for play"

Didnt want to get involved but just because the players you know are never out of pocket it does not mean that others aren't. I know as a fact there are county players out of pocket. 100% fact.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 02:23:57 PM
Are they out of pocket because of their sport?
Post by: M.Schofield on December 11, 2008, 02:29:38 PM
Yeah soley due to representing their county.  Its not a huge amount and its a small price to pay for the honour. Also I know of many many more club players who are substancially more out of pocket. Its just sweeping statements like no county player is ever out of pocket is what gets to me when I know it simply isn't true.
Post by: Bensars on December 11, 2008, 02:35:50 PM
I know as a fact there are club players out of pocket. 100% fact.
I know as a fact there are club officals out of pocket. 100% fact.

Are these individuals less worthy of any recognition, as someone sits up in the house on the hill, eating their high protein meal, washed down with a rehydration product before they go for their massage ? ::)
Post by: AFS on December 11, 2008, 02:41:17 PM
What is the rationale behind differentiating county players from club players anyway? There are plenty of club players, such as those from Ballinderry or Crossmaglen who've been on the go solidly for almost 12 months now, that get nothing. While there are county players, such as Leitrim hurlers or Waterford footballers who have been finished up for almost 6 months now, that will receive grants. This doesn't make sense.
Post by: southoftheborder on December 11, 2008, 02:43:17 PM
GPA - pay for play, reimbursing playing expenses, call it what you want, but my mate is taking 3 of us out of the office on the rip the day he gets his grant, so yeeeeeeeeehaaa
Post by: antoinse on December 11, 2008, 02:48:23 PM

Speak for yourself
Post by: Bensars on December 11, 2008, 02:51:55 PM
Quote from: southoftheborder on December 11, 2008, 02:43:17 PM
GPA - pay for play, reimbursing playing expenses, call it what you want, but my mate is taking 3 of us out of the office on the rip the day he gets his grant, so yeeeeeeeeehaaa

Did noone tell you SOTB it performance related. If your mate is a Derry man like yourself, he wont have an awful lot to be throwing it around him.

Just makes a mockery of your previous statement and the hardship of being an inter county footballer !

Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 02:59:19 PM
Quote from: M.Schofield on December 11, 2008, 02:29:38 PM
Yeah soley due to representing their county.  Its not a huge amount and its a small price to pay for the honour. Also I know of many many more club players who are substancially more out of pocket. Its just sweeping statements like no county player is ever out of pocket is what gets to me when I know it simply isn't true.

Club players are unfortunetly different and are not getting grants/expenses,

County players should not be out of pocket fact, their county board should be able to sort them out with whatever they need,
Post by: southoftheborder on December 11, 2008, 03:54:29 PM
Quote from: Bensars on December 11, 2008, 02:51:55 PM
Quote from: southoftheborder on December 11, 2008, 02:43:17 PM

Did noone tell you SOTB it performance related. If your mate is a Derry man like yourself, he wont have an awful lot to be throwing it around him.

Just makes a mockery of your previous statement and the hardship of being an inter county footballer !

A tell u wot, if u cant get wrote off on euro 1450, there is somthing rong pal!!!

GPA the hole way
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 11, 2008, 03:58:33 PM
Quote from: southoftheborder on December 11, 2008, 03:54:29 PM
GPA the hole way

GPA my hole!
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 04:12:28 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 11, 2008, 12:13:06 PM
These grants are payment for playing gaelic games.

The government's vouchered expenses scheme certainly isn't though!

On a general theme, is ths board usually this kneejerk and unsubstantiating its opinions?
Post by: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 04:25:32 PM
Quote from: County Player on December 11, 2008, 04:12:28 PM

On a general theme, is ths board usually this kneejerk and unsubstantiating its opinions?

Yes, yes it is.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 04:34:54 PM
Quote from: County Player on December 11, 2008, 04:12:28 PM

Tell us then what the Vouchered Expenses scheme entails?
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 04:40:04 PM

Quantifiable and approved expenses above and beyond those paid by the county boards. These are expenses incurred through the year that cannot be claimed back and are inspected and signed off on by each individual county board. the government will then reimburse these expenses up to a particular ceiling depending on how far you progressed in the championship.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 04:48:11 PM
Quote from: County Player on December 11, 2008, 04:40:04 PM

Quantifiable and approved expenses above and beyond those paid by the county boards. These are expenses incurred through the year that cannot be claimed back and are inspected and signed off on by each individual county board. the government will then reimburse these expenses up to a particular ceiling depending on how far you progressed in the championship.

Give us some examples of expenses that the county boards dont cover for the players
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 04:53:43 PM

There are already some in this thread if you read very carefully.

however, that is not an easy question to answer. there are county boards who do not meet the basic player welfare guidlines for gear and expenses set out by croke park. trainers for gym and running training, diet supplements, vitamins, proper food, a wolly hat for training, gloves, half days off work for match/training, who knows....
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 05:01:33 PM
County player :

Would you lie to be paid to play inter county football ?

Are you happy with the level of the "grant" at the minute ?

Would you play even without any expenses or a "grant" ?.

What do you believe is the ultimate goal of the GPA ?.

Post by: Onion Bag on December 11, 2008, 05:03:40 PM
To be honest CP

You arent selling it to me, all the players that i know from 2-3 different counties, get all their gear given (Including gloves, boots, wolly hats) to them by their county boards, gyms is sorted, any protein, travelling expenses etc.

In fact there was a lad from my own club and he got a call up to the Mc Kenna cup squad last year, holy f**k you want to see the amount of gear he got, boots, socks (2-3 pair) shorts (2-3 pair) Bottoms, tops, hats gloves etc. he didnt make the league squad,

the expenses you are talking about is wages for pulling on the jersey and playing
Post by: bingobus on December 11, 2008, 05:27:12 PM
Quote from: County Player on December 11, 2008, 04:40:04 PM

Fair play Dessie, great comeback. Why can't the county board pay them then?

I've had two problems with this "grant" from the start and have argued it with a couple of county players.

1 - If these are "Quantifiable and approved expenses above and beyond those paid by the county boards" why is it left to the GOV or the Irish Sports council to pay these expenses? Is it not an GAA issue and expenses that their members are choosing to incur? Call a spade a spade, it is play for pay. The GAA earns €000's on foot of these players but have completely passed the buck to the Gov for this. I don't think the GAA should be paying the money but can't for one reason see why the GOV are footing the bill for so-called expenses. It is totally Irish. I have no doubt that this is going to blow up in the faces of the GAA/Gov/GPA in a few years and thats when the bigger problem will arise. Waht happens if GOV pull the pin, GPA look for more etc.
The fact that many players are giving it to their clubs or taking their mates on the piss with it, says alot.

2 - The GPA should be pursuing more realistic targets and player welfare issues. As a club we have never received anything from them in relation to literature for players, check on facilities, welfare issues etc. These has never been done through a county player or GPA member. I know the Monaghan Hurlers had issues with the County board in relation to getting gear and the GPA washed their hands of it. At the same time, they arranged for a well known Intercounty player to attend a friends business launch and arranged for a bank to pay him €4,000 for the honour. Fair play to him for getting it but that to me is what the GPA are all about. They should be shouting from the roof tops about issues of Gumshields compulsory for all players, fixture congestion, injury funds etc. Rarely hear about these from them and that to me is what they should be about. Or they should change their name to Intercounty Players Ass.
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 05:30:45 PM
The sums spent on IC teams is phenomenal. The benefits they receive are fantastic and fair player to them. They are all well looked after.

The GPA does have a role but I'm not sure it is coming across well.
Post by: tyrone86 on December 11, 2008, 05:34:17 PM
Quote from: County Player on December 11, 2008, 11:51:49 AM

personally i think club members should get the same travel expenses. The foundation of the GAA is volunteerism and we should be proud of that. that said, i don't think any of our members should be out of pocket to keep our clubs an games going. that goes right from the phone bill allowance for the club secretary to the 30 cent a mile if a bus can't be organised for an away game.

Get away out of that. Travel expenses to a game? Jesus H Christ, I've heard it all now. I've no problems with lads getting expenses to come to training if they're traveling 50 or 100 miles, but going to a game, that you profess to enjoy/love, that's just ripping the piss out of the thing.
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 06:12:02 PM

There's a few crossed wires here.

i'm not trying to "sell" anything. i was asked to explain the government's expenses scheme and i did so as i understood them. why that was necessary i don't know as they are transparent and in the public domain. i never said i supported or opposed them.

The individual examples that lads on here can cite of player welfare don't make a lie of the statement that a lot of county panels are still poorly looked after and i wish fellas would stop assuming that because tyrone footballers get something then so do wicklow footballers, or tyrone hurlers for that matter. top teams in each code are well catered for with gear, etc.

QuoteIf these are "Quantifiable and approved expenses above and beyond those paid by the county boards" why is it left to the GOV or the Irish Sports council to pay these expenses?

a very good question. it's irrifutible that this is the case as county boards audit extensibly the expense claims submitted and sign off that they have not paid out for these already.

QuoteThe benefits they receive are fantastic

what are they - without citing henry shefflin or sean cavanagh, etc

Quotethe expenses you are talking about is wages for pulling on the jersey and playing

if someone is going to make a statement like that it will require substantiation. otherwise its like stating that the moon is made of cheese.
Post by: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 06:58:57 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 11, 2008, 05:01:33 PM
County player :

Are you happy with the level of the "grant" at the minute ?

Would you play even without any expenses or a "grant" ?.

Just curious about your postion on these points ?.
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 07:29:15 PM

i'd like to be played to go to the cinema and eat popcorn but it's unrealistic and never gonna happen

Are you happy with the level of the "expenses" at the minute ?

absolutely. probably doesn' leave me entirely in credit but its a fair situation in my opinion

Would you play even without any expenses?.

of course

No idea. the end to which i joined the GPA was to improve the support and expense situation for players. i should say that this was primarily with a view to situations in other counties as my own wasn't too bad at the time.
Post by: Rossfan on December 11, 2008, 08:18:04 PM
Quote from: antoinse on December 11, 2008, 02:48:23 PM

Speak for yourself

I always do oul' pal.
Post by: ardal on December 11, 2008, 09:02:19 PM
onion bag,

couldn't be bothered trawling through to find your exact quote, but you basically said something along the lines that county players bring millions into the GAA, and this thus justifies the "pay to play" grant. Fair enough about the money brought in, but don't the clubs nurture these players until the county steals them? Oh, by the way I'm selling a house without foundations, I'm reliably informed that you're gullible enough to buy it
Post by: lfdown2 on December 11, 2008, 09:25:54 PM
county player, you say these are performance related, you then go on to talk about the tyrone hurlers etc, perhaps the lads that are getting them are not the one's in need?
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 09:38:13 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on December 11, 2008, 09:25:54 PM
county player, you say these are performance related, you then go on to talk about the tyrone hurlers etc, perhaps the lads that are getting them are not the one's in need?

quite possibly true
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 09:41:28 PM

if you were out for a full season you wouldn't be part of the panel
Post by: County Player on December 11, 2008, 09:44:04 PM

then they'd get the same as everone else.
Post by: ardal on December 11, 2008, 09:44:37 PM
What would the likes of Toal receive???????????
Post by: County Player on December 12, 2008, 01:07:20 AM

Are you attempting to point to something that contradicts something i've said?
Post by: believebelive on December 12, 2008, 03:18:50 AM
I have a genuine query County Player - are some of these 'expenses' that are paid by the government in the shape of a top-up on your mileage rate which is already paid by the county board
Post by: County Player on December 12, 2008, 08:34:37 AM

I think they give you 5 cent a mile as a top up of what the county board have given you.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 12, 2008, 09:28:54 AM
Quote from: ardal on December 11, 2008, 09:02:19 PM
onion bag,

couldn't be bothered trawling through to find your exact quote, but you basically said something along the lines that county players bring millions into the GAA, and this thus justifies the "pay to play" grant. Fair enough about the money brought in, but don't the clubs nurture these players until the county steals them? Oh, by the way I'm selling a house without foundations, I'm reliably informed that you're gullible enough to buy it

Ardal, i think you should start trawling and find the quote, coz i never mentioned anything about county players bringing in millions, in fact i am totally with you on the whole club players thing, have you got me mixed up with someone else,

Whats this about a house and foundations, no idea what you are talking about!